Review! Handcrafted Wooden Dice Tray

Posted: July 30, 2017 in Accessories, Dice Masters, HeroClix, Review
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice and Clix Fans!

 

A friend of mine that plays Dice Masters decided he would try his crafty hands as making dice trays. While I’m more of a tower person, I’m totally not opposed to using a dice tray for the other various games I play, like HeroClix and Dragoborne. Dice trays are super convenient and very mobile, where towers need assembly or careful transport.

I can honestly say that I was impressed with the quality and speed of his work. He uses various types of wood and can stain or paint the dice trays to suit. He stained the one for me and then coated it with a beeswax finish. Oh my goodness! It’s so soft, I almost want to cuddle it like a stuffed toy! I would most certainly recommend staining as opposed to painting because it looks so natural and it’s just gorgeous!

 

 

Details

These are the details on the dice tray you see in the pictures. Measurements are not going to be exact as this is handmade and not mass produced, so each dice tray will be slightly different. The measurements will all be very close though.

Dimensions (Inches):
Outside Wall – 6 3/4′ x 6 1/8′
Floor (Inside Wall) – 5 1/2′ x 6′
Outside Height – 1 1/2′
Inside Height – 1′

I took some pictures for size references. That is a Skyscraper Wonder Woman HeroClix figure that’s standing in the tray. These trays would make for a great HeroClix box to transport your pieces between matches, and also roll your dice in!

 

 

Stain Color: Cabernet

Finish: Beeswax

Floor Cover: Bare

Price:
For a dice tray identical to this one (stains can possibly be interchanged), he charges around $20 not including shipping. Shipping prices will likely vary, so be sure to check with him on the shipping.

If you want a dice tray that’s sanded and ready to be stained or painted, he charges around $15 not including shipping. Now, that’s just a bare bones tray – no paint, no stain, no finish – just assembled and sanded. It’s stain and paint ready though, so if you want to get crafty on your tray, you can!

Additions

Normally, the sound of dice rolling on wood can be loud and distracting, but this dice tray has a nice, soft sound to it. I still wanted to add felt to the floor for that additional sound buffer, and also to help that gorgeous stain color stand out. I grabbed a few sample colors to see which one I would prefer:

 

 

I couldn’t possibly decide between them so I made three floor covers that I can change out. I actually like all three colors equally. They all have their own charm about them. And the felt fits so well because of the size of the tray, that I don’t have to glue it. It doesn’t move or buckle when the dice roll across it.

 

 

Craig also told me that he can do wood burning as well, so he can burn designs into the sides of the tray or into the floor of the tray and seal it. Anything extra that he does will increase the price of the tray.

Contact Info and Ordering

Craig just recently created a Facebook page so that players from across the country can get in touch with him to place an order or ask him about making a custom piece. You can find it listed under Daten’s Game Supplies.

If you want a dice tray with different dimensions or a completely different custom item, you will have to discuss the pricing with Craig.

Final Thoughts

Even though I prefer towers to trays, I have discovered that I actually can use a tray like this in a variety of games. This tray made for a great HeroClix team tray to carry my team around between matches and as a dice tray to roll my dice in during the matches. I even plan to use it when I play Dragoborne, to roll my three tiny dice in. I can roll them, then set the tray to the side until I’m ready to assign the dice. This tray will definitely come in handy! Mr. DDK is absolutely tickled with it. He told me that he was feeling a little accessory neglected because I had a tower and he didn’t, but he’s totally a tray person so everything works out! He used the tray and put it over his Reserve Pool while he was playing and it kept everything neat and tidy.

One of the things I love most about this accessory is that it’s all hand crafted and all the materials are local materials. He uses beeswax from a local beekeeper and he uses mostly aged and reclaimed wood. He is very good at his work and he aims to please his customers!

If you would like to see it in action, check out these two videos from our Saturday Dice Masters featured matches, Round Two and Round Three.

What do you think of the Dice Tray?
Are you a Tray or Tower person?

Do you have a unique accessory or an accessory you adore?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

As always, thank you for reading and watching. I wouldnโ€™t be doing this without all of you out there that are reading my articles and watching my videos. Youโ€™re all awesome!

Roll on Dice Masters!
Clix, may your crits never be misses and your probs never wasted!

Leave a Reply

