Confusing Card of the Week #100 – Oni: Greater Giant

Posted: August 8, 2017 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Wow! 100 Confusing Card of the Week articles! I’m proud of myself for making it this far and I can’t wait to reach article #200! John P. gave me a great idea for an article and I’m definitely going to work on it. He suggested that I do an article about all the cards with a collector number of 100 and rank them. Turns out, there are 14 cards with the collector number 100 and many of them are actually really good. Then there’s that one… But, what a great idea! So in honor of that idea, I chose a card from that list for this week’s CCW article. Be on the lookout for my Top 100’s article – coming soon!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Oni: Greater Giant from the Dungeons and Dragons: Faerรปn Under Siege set.

W Oni, Greater Giant

Ruling – Ability

Oni has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability can only be used when the character’s die is placed into the field from the Reserve Pool by paying it’s fielding cost, or by an ability that specifically states that the die is ‘fielded’ and not moved, swapped, placed, etc.

Oni’s ability says that when his die is fielded, you may put a target Action die from your opponent’s Field Zone, Prep Area, or Reserve Pool in their Used Pile and cancel any effect that particular die may have had.

This ability targets Action dice and opponents.

This ability is optional, so if you forget to use the ability when you field an Oni die and you begin another game action, you cannot back up.

When you move the die to the Used Pile with Oni’s ability, any effect that the die had is cancelled. If your opponent were to activate a second copy of the same die, that effect is not cancelled. For example: You remove a Lantern Ring from your opponent’s Field Zone. They have a second Lantern Ring active. The effect of the second Lantern Ring die is not cancelled.

His affiliation is Monster – Evil. He is not considered to be a Villain. This is important for cards that reference Villains. Monsters and Villains are not interchangeable affiliations.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Oni is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Monster-Evil affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #100 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Oni for an Action die in the Field Zone and one in the Prep Area on the same turn.

Game State
~ I have two level one Oni dice and two fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has a Lantern Ring action die in the Field Zone and a Big Entrance action die in their Prep Area.
~ It’s during my main step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend one fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to pay the fielding cost for one of my Oni dice, moving it into the Field Zone.
~ I can now trigger Oni’s ability if I choose to do so. I choose to use his ability and I target my opponent’s Lantern Ring that’s in the Field Zone. The Lantern Ring die is moved to the Used Pile and any effect it would have had is cancelled.
~ I spend my last fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to pay the fielding cost for my second Oni die, moving it into the Field Zone.
~ I can now trigger Oni’s ability if I choose to do so. I choose to use his ability and I target my opponent’s Big Entrance that’s in my opponent’s Prep Area. The Big Entrance die is moved to the Used Pile and any current effects of that die are cancelled (which there aren’t any effects for Big Entrance while it’s my turn).
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’ve been an advocate for this card as an anti-action card for a long time. I think the only downside is his fielding cost, but with such a good ability, it’s worth it. You can use him to remove one of the most used Action dice in the game – Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination. It goes away! It leaves the Field Zone and goes directly into the Used Pile. That means your opponent needs to work it back through their bag and roll it on an action face again. Do I think Oni is worth adding to teams? Absolutely – if you’re concerned about Action dice. If your local meta isn’t heavy on Action dice, don’t worry with him.

His purchase cost is good and his stats aren’t terrible overall, but that level three fielding cost can be painful if it hits you at the wrong time. But I do love his die – the light blue and the dark mauve/purple-ish color is a really pretty color combo.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements
Comments
  1. […] Confusing Card of the Week #100 – Oni: Greater Giant […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s