Dice Masters Confusing Card of the Week #122 – The Hellfire Club: Members Only

Posted: January 30, 2018 in CCW, Competitive vs Casual, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Hellfire Club: Members Only from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W The Hellfire Club, Members Only

Ruling – Ability

If you control the character die with the highest A, KO all other character dice

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step.

“Character dice” refer to the individual character dice and not the character card. For example: I have two Wolverine dice in the Field Zone, one with an attack of six and the other with an attack of two. When I use the Hellfire Club die, it will look at both of my Wolverine dice as separate character dice.

You can only use this die if you have a character die with the highest attack in the Field Zone. If you do not have a character die that has the highest attack, you will not be able to use this die because it will not have an effect.

If you have multiple character dice that are tied for the highest attack, you can still use the Hellfire Club, but you may only keep one of those dice and KO the rest. For example: If I have two Wolverine dice and Batman die in the Field Zone, all tied for the highest attack, I must choose one of them to remain in the Field Zone and KO the rest.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellfire Club is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #77 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I have been trying desperately to get this card to work with Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night. I’m not sure I’ll be able to get that team running as smooth as I’d like, but it’s definitely a fun team to play on a casual night. The Hellfire Club is devastating when your opponent is trying to keep characters active and it’s amazing to see it go off – when it works. There are plenty of great characters that have a high printed attack that are easy to purchase. I think the Hellfire Club is perfect for casual players that want to find a way around some of those pesky characters like Blob and Shriek. Those characters have low attack stats and they can be easily KO’d with Hellfire Club to allow your team some breathing room.

While I’ve been trying to work this team into a meta build, I don’t believe that it’s possible. I think my Jessica Jones team is still too slow and too vulnerable for it to be effective in any kind of major competitive play. I still would like to see this card find its way onto a competitive team because I believe it has potential. But if it doesn’t, it’s still an awesome card for casual play!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Leave a comment