Dice Masters Confusing Card of the Week #124 – Heimdall: The All-Seeing

Posted: February 14, 2018 in CCW, Confusing Card of the Week, Dice Masters, Rules, Strategy
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Heimdall: The All-Seeing from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Heimdall, The All-Seeing

Ruling – Immortal Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page does not have Immortal listed yet. The rule insert has the definition as:
Immortal: When a character die with Immortal would go to the Used Pile (except when it is purchased, swapped, or sent as energy), instead add that character die to its owner’s bag.”

If a character die with Immortal would be placed in the Used Pile, it goes to the player’s bag instead. When a character die with Immortal attacks and is not blocked, it will go Out of Play after damaging the opposing player. But, instead of going to the Used Pile at the end of turn, it will go their owner’s bag instead.

If an ability blanks or removes the Immortal keyword from the character’s card or from the character dice in other areas besides the Field Zone, Immortal will not work.

Immortal is not optional. If a character with Immortal would go to the Used Pile, it will go to the bag instead (except for when it is purchased, swapped, or sent as energy). You cannot choose to leave it in the Used Pile.

Ruling – Ability

“When fielded, draw a die. If it is a character die with Immortal, field it for free at level 1. Otherwise, Prep it.”

Heimdall has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will only trigger when the die with the ability is considered to have been Fielded and not swapped, placed, moved, etc. There are abilities on cards that will tell you to Field a character die, and those abilities will trigger When Fielded abilities.

Heimdall’s ability says that when his die is fielded, you draw a die from your bag. If the die that you draw is a character die and it has the Immortal keyword, you field it for free at level one. If it doesn’t have the Immortal keyword, you place it in your Prep Area.

If you attempt to draw a die and there are no dice in your bag, you refill your bag from your Used Pile.

If you draw a die and it’s a character die that has the Immortal keyword on its card, or has the keyword granted to it by an ability, you must field that die for free at level one.

If the die you drew is not a character die with the Immortal keyword, you must place it in your Prep Area.

If draw an Immortal character die and it has a When Fielded ability, it will trigger because Heimdall’s ability says to field that die.

These abilities are not optional. When Heimdall is fielded, you must draw a die. If you draw an Immortal character die, it must be fielded at level one. If you draw a die that’s not an Immortal character die, you must place it in your Prep Area.

Ruling – Global

“Global: Pay MASK. Once per turn, on your turn, you may Prep 2 Sidekick dice from your Used Pile.”

A Global is available for both players to use. There is no inherent ability to prevent a player from using a Global, though you may be able to use the ability on a card to prevent the use of a Global. For a player to use a Global on their opponent’s team, they must meet the proper requirements. Globals cannot be used for no effect.

Heimdall’s Global requires that a player spend one Mask energy. A player may only activate this Global one time on their turn, because the Global places those limits on its use. However, if you and your opponent both have the same Heimdall card on your teams, you can use each Heimdall’s Global one time on your turn. This is because each Heimdall is a different card, and each Global belongs to a different player.

During your turn, if you use Heimdall’s Global, you may move two Sidekick dice from your Used Pile to your Prep Area. You can still use this Global even if you only have one Sidekick die in your Used Pile. You cannot use the Global if you don’t have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile. If you have two or more Sidekick dice in your Used Pile, you must move two of them. You are not permitted to choose one when there are two available, because the Global specifically says ‘Prep 2 Sidekick dice’ and not ‘Prep up to 2 Sidekick dice’.

Character dice with the Ally keyword are not eligible to be selected as Sidekick dice for this Global ability because Ally character dice are only considered Sidekick dice while in the Field Zone.

Sidekick dice that are spent are not available for Heimdall’s Global on that same turn. Spent dice are Out of Play until the end of turn.

You can only use the Global on your turn, and only once for each Heimdall card.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Heimdall is a Mask type character card.
~ He does not have an affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #24 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

The Immortal ruling can be found, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

PXG has returned as HXG! Credit to Andy and Chris (True Mister Six) from the Ministry of Dice for their acronym. Those two have an awesome podcast that I highly recommend. It’s fun and I always enjoy hearing Andy’s new aka.

But, it’s nice to have a form of PXG back in the game. I was never on the ‘Ban PXG’ bandwagon, because I didn’t think he needed to be banned. I felt he needed a hefty errata, but didn’t deserve a ban. HXG is what PXG should have been to begin with. A once per turn, on your turn Global is more than appropriate. The Global is quite useful, though I’m not certain the rest of his common card is all that useful outside of casual events. You could probably build a casual Immortal team using him, but he won’t be played in the competitive scenes for his ability. Players will definitely look at all the rarities of Heimdall, mainly for the Global.

I wanted to feature an Immortal character this week, and I couldn’t resist choosing Heimdall for Immortal and his Global.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s