Archive for the ‘CCW’ Category

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hawkgirl: Princess of Thanagar from the DC Batman set.

W Hawkgirl, Princess of Thanagar

Ruling – Ability

Hawkgirl has multiple parts to her ability. The first part of Hawkgirl’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

The second part of Hawkgirl’s ability will only apply to characters that are not Villains, and only when they attack. While Hawkgirl is active, when a non-Villain character die attacks (yours or your opponent’s), you may to spin that character die up one level.

This is an optional ability because it says may. This means you do not have to spin your opponent’s non-Villain character die up a level, but you could if you wanted to.

Hawkgirl does not have to attack for you to use her ability on other characters. So long as she’s active, and the attacking character is not a Villain, you can spin that die up one level. You can spin Hawkgirl dice up one level when they attack because her ability says non-Villain character dice, and she’s not a Villain.

If you can remove the Villain affiliation (Ra’s al Ghul Global), you must do so before you attack. Once the character is already assigned to attack, the window to use Hawkgirl’s ability has passed.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hawkgirl is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Justice League affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #96 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
How Hawkgirl’s ability triggers.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one Krypto: Super Dog (2A/2D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s the beginning of my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and Krypto to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, I may spin each die up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and Krypto spins to level two (3A/3D).
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Example Two:
Removing the Villain affiliation before attacking.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one The Riddler: Prince of Puzzles (1A/5D) die in the Field Zone.
~ I also have one Mask energy in my Reserve Pool and Ra’s al Ghul: Mystery and Power is on my team, but he is not active.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend the Mask, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Ra’s al Ghul’s Global and target my Riddler die. His Villain affiliation is now gone until the end of turn.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals. They pass priority back and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and The Riddler to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, they will each get to spin up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and The Riddler spins to level two (2A/6D).
~ The Riddler’s ability will also trigger and his attack and defense values are now swapped, making him a 6A and 2D.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling that applies to the wording of Hawkgirl’s ability, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

What I wouldn’t have given to have this card with my Colossus during the WKO this year in Owensboro! Using her and Blink – Transmutation with Colossus is like a dream team, and that also makes room for a different BAC in place of Polymorph/Mutation. I love Mutation, but there were other BACs I could have used for that particular event.

In a draft, this card is a beast! Using her with Batgirl + Ace, Conner Kent, The Riddler or any other beefy attacker is great, but she is a rare. The chances of getting her are not high, but if you open her, take her and build around her!

For Modern Age, I think she has some potential, especially with the aggressive teams that are shaping the current meta. She’s definitely affordable at a cost of three, and she’s a Mask character which she should fit nicely on some of those more aggressive Mask Ring teams. Her TFC of two isn’t bad at all, and her attack and defense stats are about what you’d expect. She’s a really good card to consider for a competitive team.

I really like her for casual play too. She’s not too overpowered and she’s got stats that are appropriate. She also has the Justice League affiliation which means she can beef up those Golden Age JL teams!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time  from the DC Batman set.

Rip Hunter, Navigate the Sands of Time

 

Ruling – Ability

Rip Hunter’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Rip Hunter’s ability can only be used once during your turn and only during the Clear and Draw Step. Rip Hunter must be active at the start of your turn to be able to use his ability that same turn. To use Rip Hunter’s ability, you draw dice for your Clear and Draw Step, and then you can send any number of those dice to the Used Pile and draw that many dice. You may choose any number of the dice you’ve drawn to go the Used Pile. You do not have to send them all.

The dice that you send to the Used Pile, go directly to the Used Pile and not Out of Play. This is because those dice have not entered the Reserve Pool.

If a card ability would allow you to draw extra dice during the Clear and Draw Step, you can use Rip Hunter’s ability for those dice as well. For example, if you have a Swarm trigger that allowed you to draw an extra die, for a total of five dice, you can send all five dice to the Used Pile and then draw five more dice using Rip Hunter’s ability. If any of those dice have the Swarm keyword and match an active character of the same name, you get to trigger Swarm again.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Rip Hunter is a Shield type character card.
~ He does not have any affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Rip Hunter’s ability.

Game State
~
I have two Rip Hunter dice and a Sidekick die active. I have seven Sidekick dice and one Batman die in my bag.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I don’t have any dice to clear.
~ I draw four Sidekick dice.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability, sending three of my Sidekick dice to the Used Pile and I draw three more dice.
~ I draw two Sidekick dice and my Batman die.

Example Two:
Rip Hunter’s ability with Swarm.

Game State
~ I have one Multiple Man: Pile On! die, one Goblin: Lesser Humanoid die, and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone.
~ I have a Goblin, Multiple Man, and four Sidekick dice in my bag, and two Sidekick dice in my Use Pile.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I draw four dice: one Multiple Man, one Goblin, two Sidekick dice.
~ I trigger the Swarm ability on Multiple Man and Goblin and draw two more dice: two Sidekicks.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability and send Multiple Man and Goblin to the Used Pile.
~ I now draw two more dice, but my bag is empty, so I refill it with the Used Pile (two Sidekicks, Multiple Man, and Goblin). I draw a Goblin and a Sidekick.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Goblin die, drawing one more die – Multiple Man.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Multiple Man die and draw my last die, which is a Sidekick.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ I roll all eight dice and proceed with the rest of my turn.

 

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I will continue to stand by my opinion that the dice moved by Rip Hunter need to go Out of Play. I’ve seen Ultraman abuse this to devastating results, as well as Parademon Swarm Burn. However, I will never rule against anything that’s been officially ruled on by WORF and I completely understand the reasoning behind their ruling. I just think it’s absolutely silly.

That being said, Parademon’s Burning Swarm is a team that Mr. DDK and I have been discussing since before they officially ruled Rip Hunter. I really want to use Darkseid: Force of Entropy with Parademon: Strength in Numbers and a cheap Swarm dude, like Multiple Man: Pile On!, because that’s just too silly. Rip Hunter’s ability can make a team like that more lethal. I’ve already played against someone that’s headed that direction with their team anyway, and the Parademon with Goblin Swarm is bad enough.

Rip Hunter has his benefits outside of breaking things. He’s exceptionally handy in drafts and he makes for a great addition to many teams that are desperately missing their PXG Global. He’s obviously not as good as PXG, but it’s totally better than nothing! I’ve been using the Uncommon Rip Hunter with my New Gods, but I might have to swap him for this version, unless I can speed the team up some other way.

I think that Rip Hunter is a good card in the competitive scene, but he does cost four to purchase. It’s not too much, but it could be too slow to use against some teams. Be sure you’re not adding him to your team as a necessary purchase, because if you’re buying him, you’re not buying your win condition (unless he contributes to that win condition). Your team shouldn’t be relying on him to function. If you’re using the rare Dwarf Wizard, this is probably going to be the character you want to target, unless of course there is a much larger threat at the time. But using DWiz to slow their churn is a really good idea early in the game.

If you’re playing casual, he’s a great addition and I don’t think he should be overlooked. He could help some of those casual teams churn through their dice a little faster to get to the good stuff!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Dove: Danger!  from the DC Batman set.

Dove, Danger

 

Ruling – Ability

Dove has a special ability that does not require her to be active to use. Dove’s ability says that if she’s in your Used Pile and you take damage, you move her die to your Prep Area. Most of the abilities in the game require that the character be active to use their abilities, but her ability does not say While Active.

Dove’s ability is not optional. If you take damage, you must move Dove to your Prep Area.

Dove’s ability will trigger from any kind of damage, like ability or combat. Any ability or effect that makes you lose a life or pay life will not trigger her ability.

Ruling – Global

To use the Global on a card, you only need to pay the cost. The die does not need to be active to use the Global, unless it specifically says so.

Dove’s Global says that an attacking character die will get -1A when you pay a Shield. You can pay for her Global as many times as you have the energy to do so. Each time that you use her Global, the target attacking character die will get a -1 to their attack.

You do not have to target the same character die if you use her Global more than once.

You cannot use her Global during the Main Step, because there aren’t any attacking characters to target.   Her Global can only be used during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step, and only to target an attacking character die. A character that is not attacking cannot be targeted.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Dove is a Shield type character card.
~ She has the Teen Titans affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Dove’s ability used during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have one Dove die in my Used Pile and no character dice in the Field Zone.
~
My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns their Sidekick die to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I do not have any character dice to assign as blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any Actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Because the Sidekick is unblocked, it deals one damage to me and goes Out of Play.
~ Dove’s ability will trigger, allowing me to move her die from the Used Pile to the Prep Area.

Example Two:
Dove’s ability used during the Main Step.

Game State
~ I have one Dove die in my Used Pile, a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool, and Luke Cage: Bulletproof is on my opponent’s team.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I pay a Fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use Luke Cage’s Global, dealing one damage to both players.
~ Dove’s ability triggers, allowing me to move her die from the Used Pile to the Prep Area.

Example Three:
Dove’s Global Timing.

Game State
~ I have a Sidekick in the Field Zone. I have Dove: Danger! on my team, but have not purchased any of her dice yet.
~ My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone and a Shield energy in their Reserve Pool.
~ It’s my turn and we’re headed into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Sidekick.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Actions or Globals.
~ My opponent spends their Shield energy (moving it to their Used Pile) to pay for Dove’s Global and targets my Sidekick. My Sidekick now has a -1 to its attack, making its attack a 0.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

So, I’m brewing a new Teen Titans team and this is one of the Dove cards that I’m considering. I want to pair her with Hawk: Might Makes Right. My only concern in using this particular version of Dove is that my opponent can use her Global against me when I attack with Hawk. I’ve been thinking about adding Raven: Azrath, Metrion, Zinthos! to the team to protect my Teen Titans from Dove’s Global, but I’m not completely sure if want another character that I need to purchase on the team. Using this Dove won’t backfire on me that much though, because my main damage is done during the Main Step – with Hawk’s ability. I use Dove and a Sidekick to Fabricate a Golem and because Dove is KO’d for the Fabricate ability, Hawk’s ability triggers. Dove’s Global is only usable during the Attack Step, and even if it wasn’t, my opponent would still have to wait for me to pass them priority.

I’m just so torn between this Dove and the rare version of her. I like being able to spin her up, but I think I like being able to move her from my Used Pile to my Prep Area better. That makes my opponent think a little harder about swinging with a Sidekick while I have Dove in my Used Pile.

I’m also thinking about ways to utilize her ability that won’t necessarily be accessible to my opponent. For example, Luke Cage is not the character I want to use. I don’t want my opponent having access to a Global like that. I’ve thought about Rocket Raccoon: Not a Raccoon. I think he might be more useful and help me control when I trigger her ability without giving my opponent full access to a burn Global.

I like this Dove and the more I think about it, the more I like her. I don’t think she’ll see much play in the major competitive metas, but for casual play, she’s definitely a great Teen Titan to consider. I can’t wait to finish brewing this team and put it together!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

17 Jessica Jones, Ladies' Night

Ruling – Ability

Although her ability doesn’t say it, it acts as a While Active ability. You can find that ruling here. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Jessica Jones says that whenever one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, she will get +1A and +1D. Her ability is not limited to opposing Globals and character abilities. If you target one of your own character dice, including a Jessica Jones die, her ability will trigger. Her ability does not target, so she would not get additional bonuses from her ability triggering.

Her ability will trigger each time one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, and not just once in a turn.

When Jessica Jones’s ability is triggered, it will apply to each of her dice that are active at the time it was triggered.

Action dice abilities can affect Jessica Jones and characters friendly to her without triggering her ability. Targeting her, or a character friendly to her, with a Global on an Action card will trigger her ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jessica Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Jessica Jones and a friendly character targeted during my opponent’s Main Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level one Shredder: Dining on Turtle Soup in their Reserve Pool and two Bolt energy.
~ It’s during their Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays one energy, sending it Out of Play, to field Shredder.
~ They use Shredder’s ability and target my Sidekick, which is now KO’d and placed in the Prep Area and I lose one life.
~ Because a character die I control was targeted by a character ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My opponent spends their last Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, for the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card. They target my Jessica Jones die.
~ My Jessica Jones die takes one damage from the Global ability, but because a character die that I control was targeted by a Global ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +2A/+2D, making her attack an 8 and her defense a 5. But because that die has taken one damage this turn, she can only take 4 more damage before she’s KO’d.
~ My opponent passes priority to me, but I choose to not use any Globals. I return priority and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns Shredder to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I assign Jessica Jones to block Shredder, moving her die to the Attack Zone in front of Shredder.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Shredder assigns his four damage to Jessica Jones’s remaining defense of four.
~ Jessica Jones assigns her eight damage to Shredder’s defense of four.
~ Both characters are KO’d.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Two:
Jessica Jones die targeted during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. I also have one Fist energy and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent doesn’t have any characters in the Field Zone and no energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ None of my characters stats have been altered.
~ We’re moving into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Jessica Jones die and my Sidekick die to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not assign any blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I spend one Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones takes one damage and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my opponent’s Haymaker Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones gets a +1A from the Haymaker Global and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of a Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +3A/+2D making her attack a 9 and her defense a 5.
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Both of my character dice are unblocked. They each deal their attack directly to my opponent.
~ My opponent is dealt 10 damage and both of my character dice are immediately placed Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities that need the character to be active, but the card doesn’t say While Active, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Out of all the cards in the Defenders Team Pack, this Jessica Jones and Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm are the only cards I like. I went straight for Iron Fist instead of test playing Jessica Jones because I loved his ability. But after playing with him a little and trying to make him work, I think Jessica Jones is the route I need to go.

When playing a card like this, you want to bring Globals that tempt your opponent into using them on your dudes, like Unstable Canister. They can target Jessica Jones as much as they want, but unless they have some other way to deal her damage, she won’t get KO’d by Canister Global strikes alone. Using Haymaker isn’t a bad idea either – or Goliath if you want to use a different Basic Action besides Haymaker. You don’t have to rely on your opponent to use Globals/character abilities on your characters. You could just pump her up on your own and then give her Overcrush for those potential blockers. You could make her unblockable with an ability like the on Silver Sable: Hero for Hire. And because it targets, it buffs her stats too.

For the competitive scenes, I think she might fall just short of being a top tier card. It’s not her purchase cost that’s the issue – I think it’s very reasonable for her ability and stats. There is way too many Cold Guns out there that can take her out. Her ability doesn’t trigger off of Action abilities, just Globals and character abilities. But even if it did trigger off of Action abilities, a Cold Gun shuts her down before she attacks. You would need to put pressure on your opponent with multiple Jessica Jones dice, which can be difficult since she cost five to purchase.

I don’t think she’s too overpowered on her own for a casual setting, but I would be mindful of what your other locals are playing.

I like this card and I think she’s probably the best card in the Team Pack. I can’t wait to give her a go this week! I might even pair her with some of this crazy new Batman stuff. And just because I don’t think she’s good enough for meta competitive play, doesn’t mean I won’t try her!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hellcat: It’s Patsy!  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

07 Hellcat, It's Patsy

Ruling – Ability

Hellcat has two different types of abilities on her card. One is a When Fielded ability and the other is a While Active ability.

Hellcat’s When Fielded Ability

A When Fielded ability only triggers when the character die is placed into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool by paying it’s fielding cost, or by a card ability that specifically says to ‘field’ the character die and not move or place the character die.

Hellcat’s When Fielded ability says that you must name a target opposing non-Sidekick character when you field her die, which will replace any previous choices. Hellcat can only target an opposing non-Sidekick character die that’s in the Field Zone for her ability.

A character with the Ally Keyword can not be targeted by Hellcat because Ally means that the dice is considered a Sidekick while in the Field Zone.

If you field a second Hellcat die while one is still active, you can name the same target opposing character. For example: I field Hellcat and name Batman. In the same turn, I field a second Hellcat and name Batman again.

Hellcat’s When Fielded ability is not optional and must be used if there is a legal target.

Hellcat’s While Active Ability

The second ability on Hellcat is her While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Hellcat’s While Active ability says that your opponent is dealt two damage the first time that they field the named character die. Your opponent will take that two damage each turn, but only the first time they field the character that Hellcat targeted with her When Fielded ability.

Hellcat’s While Active ability is not optional. If Hellcat is active and your opponent fields the named character, they must take two damage. The damage can be redirected, reduced, etc with other game effects or abilities.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellcat is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #7 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:
Using Hellcat.

Game State
~
I have a level one Hellcat die and a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has an Alfred die and a level one Batman: Speedy Recovery die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend my one Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Hellcat’s fielding cost.
~ I move Hellcat to the Field Zone and activate her When Fielded ability.
~ There is only one legal target for her ability, which is Batman. I can’t target Alfred because he’s an Ally and considered a Sidekick.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ I decide not to attack, so the Attack Step is bypassed and we proceed into the Clean Up Step.
(Clean Up Step)
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Now my opponent begins their turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ My opponent moves leftover dice from their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile.
~ My opponent draws four dice; two Sidekicks and two Batman dice.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ My opponent rolls their dice and they get two level one Batman characters, a Fist on a Sidekick die, and a Mask on a Sidekick die.
~ They choose to not reroll any of their dice.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays a Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for one of the Batman’s fielding costs.
~ They field the Batman die and Hellcat’s While Active ability triggers.
~ My opponent takes two damage, which will trigger Batman’s Vengeance ability – “Whenever you take damage, KO a Batman die and return it to the Field Zone at level 2.”
~ My opponent chooses to KO the Batman die they just fielded and then return him to the Field Zone at level two.
~ My opponent pays a Mask energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for the other Batman’s fielding cost.
~ They field the Batman die on his level one side. Hellcat’s ability will not trigger again because my opponent has already fielded a Batman this turn.

As long as Hellcat remains active with Batman as her target, my opponent will take two damage the first time they field a Batman die – every turn.

Official Sources

You can find a ruling about this card here, on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF).

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I was very confused about Hellcat’s While Active ability and took it to WORF – adding in a few other questions about her that the locals were asking too. I’m so glad they returned with an answer as quick as they did. Thanks WizKids!

I do not like her anywhere near as much as Lyssa Drak and as long as Lyssa is in Modern, I don’t see any good reason to use this Hellcat. She’ll likely be the Lyssa replacement when War of Light eventually rotates from Modern. As for Prime, I’m not sure if she’s worth playing or not. She’s worth testing out for Prime, and it will likely come down to the individual’s style of play.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Luke Cage: Harlem Raised  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

22 Luke Cage, Harlem Raised

Ruling – Ability

Luke Cage’s ability triggers only when he is blocked. When he’s blocked, you may reroll him and if he rerolls into a character face, he gains Overcrush. If he rerolls into energy, you put him on his level one face and place him into the Field Zone and he will no longer be attacking.

Luke Cage’s ability says that you may reroll him if he’s blocked. This ability is optional, meaning if he’s blocked, you aren’t required to reroll him. If he’s blocked and you decide to reroll him, he will remain on the character face that you rerolled him on and gain Overcrush.

If you choose to reroll a blocked Luke Cage die and it lands on an energy face, you will have to place his die back into the Field Zone at level one. This will remove him from the Attack Zone and he will no longer be considered attacking. Characters that blocked him will not take damage from him and he will not take damage from the blocking character dice.

It’s worth noting that the normal rules for rerolling a character from the Field/Attack Zone into energy, would move that die to the Reserve Pool. Luke Cage has a special part to his ability that allows him to be placed on his level one side in the Field Zone instead.

Ruling – Overcrush

Overcrush is an ability that allows a blocked attacking character to deal damage to the defending player, so long as it’s attack value is higher than the blocking character’s defense value. If an attacking character has an attack of five and the blocking character has a defense of three, the defending player would take damage equal to the difference. In this example, the defending player would take two damage.

A character with Overcrush that’s blocked can deal damage to the defending player only if all of their blockers are KO’d or REMOVED as blockers by other means. An example of removing the blocker would be the attacking player using an Imprisoned die on blocking characters during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

If a blocking character is removed or KO’d before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, the attacking character with Overcrush would deal their full attack value to the defending player.

Another important aspect about Overcrush that needs to be noted is how the damage is assigned and resolved. The blocking character is assigned the attacker’s full attack value. Overcrush is a special ability that allows the excess damage, the amount greater than the blockers defense, to be dealt to the opponent. For example: I’m attacking with a character that has a seven attack and Overcrush. My opponent blocks with a Sidekick that only has one defense. The Sidekick is assigned seven damage, but Overcrush will allow me to deal six of that to my opponent.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Luke Cage is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Defenders affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #22 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on a character face.

Game State
I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
– We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
– I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
– My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
– Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
– He lands on his level two character face and now has Overcrush.
– He is still attacking and still blocked by the two Sidekicks because he never left the Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
– I do not use any Actions or Globals.
– My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
– Luke Cage must KO all of his blockers in order to deal damage to my opponent.
– Luke Cage assigns one damage to one Sidekick and two damage to the other.
– Both Sidekicks assign their one damage to Luke Cage.
– Both the Sidekicks are KO’d by Luke Cage’s combat damage and will go to the Prep Area.
– Because Luke Cage has Overcrush, the excess damage (greater than the Sidekick’s defense) will be dealt to the defending player.
– My opponent will take one damage.
– Luke Cage will take two damage total from the blockers, but it’s not enough to KO him.
– Luke Cage will return to Field Zone. He does not go Out of Play because he was blocked and not KO’d.

Example Two:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on an energy face.

Game State
I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
– We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
– I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
– My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
– Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
– He lands on the single energy face.
– Luke Cage’s die is now placed in the Field Zone on his level face. He is no longer attacking or blocked.
– The two Sidekick dice return the Field Zone as well, because the blocked character is no longer attacking.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
– I do not use any Actions or Globals.
– My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
– There isn’t any damage to assign or resolve.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Here are all the relevant Overcrush rulings:
Removed Blockers
Assigning Damage and Damage Dealt
Overcrush Clarifications

You can find a relevant rerolling ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m definitely not a fan of this card, but I can see why he appeals some players. There is that possibility of a rolling him onto his level three side with a six attack and Overcrush. But honestly, there are far better characters that just have Overcrush and better level one and level two attack stats. She-Hulk: Sensational is a perfect example. I think Carnage: Sinister and even Hill Giant: Apprentice Giant are better than this Luke Cage. All those example cost the same or less than this Luke Cage. Hill Giant is the only one with really low defense but for a purchase cost of three, he’s still better in my opinion. Folks have mentioned that you can pump his attack with a Global, or spin him up after the reroll with Mutation’s Global, but those are far too unreliable. I think this Luke Cage has a purchase cost that’s too high for his stats and ability, when there are characters that are better with the same purchase cost.

 The image choice for the die is a little odd. There are plenty of folks out there that had no clue it was a flexing arm – including me. I thought it was a wonky heart or a cracked stone of some kind. While a flexing arm is perfect for Luke Cage, I think it could have been executed a little better. The art choice for this card is awesome! I like when they occasionally choose art that shows the more casual side of the characters.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Great Responsibility: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set. This week’s selection is courtesy of the random button from DM Retrobox.

W Great Responsibility, BAC

Ruling – Ability

When you use a Great Responsibility action die, you must also sacrifice a character in order to KO a target opposing character. Sacrificing one of your characters is not optional and the sacrificed character is not being targeted. The opposing character is being targeted, so abilities that redirect or block targeting could be applied.

When you sacrifice a character (or any other die) during your turn, the sacrificed die will go Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. During the Clean Up Step, all dice that are Out of Play will be moved into the Used Pile. When you sacrifice a die during your opponent’s turn, those dice will go directly to the Used Pile.

Great Responsibility can only be used during your turn, but there are several cards with abilities that allow or force you to sacrifice dice during your opponent’s turn. For example, if you have a Blink: Dimension Jumper die in the Field Zone, you could use her ability during your opponent’s turn and she would go to your Used Pile instead of Out of Play. Using Mysterious Shredder Transport would send the opposing die to the Used Pile and the active player’s die Out of Play.

When a character with a When KO’d ability is KO’d by using Great Responsibility, the When KO’d ability will trigger. For example, if Jade: Jennifer-Lynn Hayden is KO’d by Great Responsibility, her owner would get to use her ability allowing them to prep a die from their bag.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Great Responsibility is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #29 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Great Responsibility during the Main Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting Thor. My Sidekick die and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play. Thor is placed in the Prep Area.

Example Two:
Using Great Responsibility during the Attack Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick and Vixen dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Thor die to block my Vixen die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Vixen die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting my opponent’s Thor die. My Sidekick and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play and Thor is placed in the Prep Area.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Vixen was blocked, but does not have Overcrush. She will not deal any damage to my opponent, even though her blocker has been removed. She won’t take any damage and will return to the Field Zone.
~ (Clean Up Step) All effects end unless otherwise stated. Dice Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about Sacrifice, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m not a fan of this week’s card selection. There are better ways to achieve the same result – or a more desirable result. A good example is Mysterious Shredder Transport. Transport works a little different, like you don’t get to target an opposing die, but the die they sacrifice is sacrificed – not KO’d. In a constructed field of play, whether competitive or casual, you’re typically trying to KO your opponent and not their characters. Most of the time, players use characters that have a When KO’d ability or ones that can’t be targeted (all the rage now). It’s also cheaper to purchase than Great Responsibility. I feel like Great Responsibility is too expensive for what it does. If I’m paying five energy for a die that I have cycle and then roll, I don’t want to pay an additional cost (like sacrificing a character) just to get one of their dudes out of the Field. If you’re looking at Great Responsibility for Modern Age, please take a closer look at cards like Mysterious Shredder Transport or even Lethal Blow. I think Lethal Blow is underrated – especially since we have Renet Tilley now to almost guarantee that burst or double burst. I don’t expect that combo to be seen in a competitive setting, but Transport could find it’s way there. Reclaim would pair well with Transport and be way more useful than Great Responsibility.

If you’ve played Great Responsibility and you’ve found a use that I’ve overlooked, please share! I enjoy seeing what other folks come up with – whether it’s casual or competitive, I’m open to all suggestions!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ready to Rocket!: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Age of Ultron Starter set.

W Ready to Rocket, BAC

Ruling – Ability

Ready to Rocket! is a Basic Action Card. When a player uses a Ready to Rocket! Action die, a target character die will get +2A until the end of the turn.

When this Action die is used, it will be placed Out of Play until the Clean Up Step where it will then be moved to the Used Pile.

You can target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice with a Ready to Rocket! action die.

Ruling – Teamwork

When a player uses Ready to Rocket! on a character with an affiliation, they must also use the Teamwork ability if there is another character die of the same affiliation active. This is not an optional ability if there are active character dice with the same affiliation as the initial target.

Similar to the first part of this card’s ability, you can target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice, so long as it shares an affiliation with the initial target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ready to Rocket! is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #32 of 126.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Ready to Rocket! during the Main Step.

~ I have a Ready to Rocket! die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have two Villain character dice and an Avenger character die in my Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use Ready to Rocket! and target one of my Villain dice, giving it +2A. There is another Villain active, which means I must use the Teamwork ability on Ready to Rocket! and give the other Villain +2A as well. The Ready to Rocket! die is place Out of Play.

Example Two:
Using Ready to Rocket! during the Attack Step.

~ I have a Ready to Rocket! die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have two Villain character dice and an Avenger character die in my Field Zone. My opponent has a Villain character die in their Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my three character dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Villain to block my Avenger affiliated die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Avenger affiliated die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Ready to Rocket! die, targeting one of my Villain affiliated dice. There are other Villains active, so I can choose which of the two other Villains to give the +2A from Teamwork to. I choose to give my other Villain character die the +2A. The Ready to Rocket! action die is placed Out of Play.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Well, I didn’t have any requests or rules questions this week, so I hit the random buttons on DM Retrobox. Much to my surprise, the random character was a Rocket Raccoon and Ready to Rocket! was the Basic Action. Seems fitting since Ready to Rocket! is in the Marvel Free Comic Book Day starter, and Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is about to hit theaters. It was like fate reached out and said  – THIS ONE! The Rocket Raccoon was not a good choice for a CCW article, because there wasn’t any text to cover.

Even though the fates directed my random selection this week, they didn’t choose a card that I like. It’s got cute artwork and I’m getting a promo this weekend, but as for being a card I’d play – it’s not. I love to play affiliation teams, but most of the time, those teams need other BACs to help them along. And as I’ve mentioned in previous articles, I don’t like using cards that could benefit my opponent. You always have the option of not using an action die, or not fielding a character, but why would I want to waste a die – even in a casual game. I hate wasting dice more than potentially helping my opponent. There are times where buffing an opposing character’s attack might be useful, like to KO one of your characters with a large defense that also has a KO ability, but there are easier ways to that. That’s especially true for Golden Age, which is the only format Ready to Rocket! is legal in.

RtR Close Up

As you can see in the picture above, the promos are numbered the same as the original from Age of Ultron – meaning these Ready to Rocket! promos are not legal for Modern Age. I don’t see myself playing a lot of Golden Age, but if I put my Guardians of the Galaxy team back together, this card might be kind of useful since I’ll have access to Blue-Eyes as a cost reducer in Golden Age and not need to use Big Entrance.

I don’t mind that WizKids has chosen a Golden Age card as a FCBD promo. I think that’s a good move; showing that they’re still giving some love to Golden Age cards. I hope that WizKids eventually expands their tournament options to Golden Age like they have with the Rainbow Drafts. That would make some of these Golden Age promos a little more desirable.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Bob, Agent of Hydra: The H Stands For Hopeless  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Bob, Agent of Hydra, The H Stands For Hopeless

Ruling – Ability

Bob’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Bob is active, Deadpool affiliated character dice can’t be targeted by opposing actions. Bob’s ability applies to Basic Action dice and Non-Basic Action dice.

An opposing action is an action die that the opponent uses, regardless of which player’s Basic Action card it was purchased from. For example, if I have Unstable Canister as one of my Basic Actions and my opponent buys one of those dice, that action die is considered to be my opponent’s action die for game effects.

As long as Bob is active, an opponent can’t target any Deadpool affiliated characters with any action die. If you have Bob active on your side of the Field and your opponent has a Deadpool affiliated character on their side of the Field, you can’t target their character with any action die. Bob does not only protect your Deadpool affiliated characters; he protects all Deadpool affiliated characters from opposing actions.

Bob’s ability will protect his own dice from being targeting by opposing action dice because he has the Deadpool affiliation and his ability does not say ‘other’ Deadpool character dice’.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Bob, Agent of Hydra is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Deadpool affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #88 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Opponent using a Basic Action purchased from my card.

~ My Basic Actions are Unstable Canister and Reclaim.
~ My opponent’s Basic Actions are Shocking Grasp and Superhero Registration Act.
~ My opponent has an Unstable Canister die showing an action face in their Reserve Pool.
~ I have Bob and Dogpool active.
~ My opponent cannot target Bob or Dogpool with the Unstable Canister die that they purchased from my card because the die is considered to be an opposing action die while my opponent is using it.

Example Two:
Opponent has an active Deadpool affiliated character, I have Bob.

~ My Basic Actions are Unstable Canister and Reclaim.
~ My opponent’s Basic Actions are Shocking Grasp and Superhero Registration Act.
~ I have a Shocking Grasp die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool.
~ I have Bob active.
~ My opponent has Dogpool active.
~ I cannot target Dogpool with the Shocking Grasp die. I can target Bob because the action die is not considered an opposing action die since I control Bob and I’m using the action die.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Opposing Globals relevant ruling, here.

Abilities benefiting or affecting opponent’s characters relevant rulings, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy
I want to take this opportunity to thank a fellow Dice Master for reaching out to me with their question about Bob. They were unclear as to what would qualify as an opposing action. This was an excellent question to ask and I also wanted to mention that the same ruling applies for the use of Globals. The game state only cares about who is using the Action or Global. Thanks for reaching out with your question, because it gave me the perfect card to use for today’s article! I love having inspiration for my articles as opposed to just hitting the random card button in Retrobox, because then I know someone out there is getting some benefit from my article.
I’m not a huge fan of using characters that potential benefit my opponent unless it’s part of my strategy. So far, I haven’t found a good use for this version of Bob. I know there are a few other players out there looking at working with this particular version and I hope that they find a way to make him work for them. In a casual setting, I could see where this version of Bob would make for some interesting games. He’s not an expensive character to purchase and his fielding costs are very good, but his attack and defense are not the best. He’s not a character you’d necessarily want to attack with since his ability requires that he be active, so low attack isn’t really an issue. His defense is lower than what I like for a character with a While Active ability. It makes him an easy target for burn Globals like the one on Unstable Canister. That’s a huge downside if you’re wanting to use Canister and Bob on the same team. It only takes one or two Bolts to be rid of Bob! He’s probably not a character I would choose for one of my teams, and not likely one I’d draft either.
That is just my personal opinion on this version of Bob and just because he’s not my type of card, doesn’t mean he’s bad. Everyone has a different play style and someone out there may have a build using him that works great for them! If you have a team build using him, feel free to share it! It’s fun to see what everyone else is playing with and how other folks build their teams.
Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at War Machine: “Rhodey”  from the Marvel Iron Man and War Machine starter set.

W 23 War Machine, Rhodey

Ruling Fast Keyword

Fast is a keyword ability that several characters have. Fast gives the character the ability to deal their combat damage before other characters without Fast. Fast characters will all deal their damage at the same time. A blocking character with 2A/2D and Fast with still KO and be KO’d by a Fast attacker with 2A/2D.

If you have an attacker with 2A/1D and Fast that’s blocked by a Sidekick without Fast, the attacker will strike the Sidekick before the Sidekick can strike the attacker. This means the Sidekick will be KO’d and not be able to deal it’s damage to the attacker.

Ruling – Ability

When War Machine KO’s an opposing character die with combat damage, you can deal two damage directly to your opponent. War Machine must KO the character die with combat damage. Using an ability to KO an opposing character die will not trigger his ability.

War Machine’s ability is one that can trigger multiple times in a single turn, with the right conditions. If War Machine is blocked by more than one character die and he has enough attack to KO each blocker, your opponent would take two damage for each KO’d blocker.

Special Note – If you give War Machine the Deadly Keyword, it would not trigger his ability. The character dice must be KO’d by combat damage from War Machine, and not by an ability.

War Machine has a burst ability that only works on his level one character side. The burst ability gives him +1A. The burst ability is a static effect and if his card text is blanked, he will lose his +1A on level one. If you have a level one War Machine and a level two War Machine in the Field Zone, only the level one War Machine die will get the +1A, because that’s the only character side with the burst.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ War Machine is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Stark Industries affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #23 of 34.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
War Machine KO’ing multiple blockers.

~ I have a level two War Machine die (3A/4D) in the Field Zone. My opponent has three Sidekick dice.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my War Machine die to attack, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns all three Sidekicks to block War Machine, moving them into the Attack Zone and placing them in front of the War Machine die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I choose not to use any Action dice or Global abilities. My opponent can now use Globals, but also chooses not to.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) War Machine has Fast. He gets to resolve his damage before other characters without Fast. War Machine assigns one damage to each Sidekick die. Each one has a defense of one, and they are all KO’d before they can assign and deal their damage. I deal two damage to my opponent with War Machine’s ability for each of the Sidekicks that War Machine KO’d, for a total of six.

Example Two:
War Machine KO’ing an attacker.

~ I have a level two War Machine die (3A/4D) in the Field Zone. My opponent has a character with 4A and 3D in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns their character to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign my War Machine die to block, moving him into the Attack Zone in front of the attacking die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) My opponent chooses to not use any Action dice or Globals. I also choose to not use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) War Machine has Fast. He gets to resolve his damage before other characters without Fast. War Machine assigns his three points of damage to the attacker’s three defense. This is enough to KO the attacker and the attacking die is KO’d before it can assign and resolve its damage. I deal two damage to my opponent with War Machine’s ability because the attacker was KO’d with combat damage from War Machine.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a relevant ruling about ‘When something happens’ wording, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Rhodey is a force to reckoned with in Modern Age and Prime. I’m not sure how effective he’d be in Golden Age since there are loads of teams that don’t need characters in the field.

“Rhodey” has never been nice to me! I’ve played with him and played against him. When I use him, his dice never want to roll a character face. When I play against him, I only see characters! Mr. DDK has a team with Rhodey and Wasp: Fashionista and the only way to keep Rhodey from smashing your face in is to not field characters he can easily KO, KO him with an ability or action, or blank him. He’s difficult to play around if you aren’t prepared.

If you’re playing with Rhodey, I would definitely use a force block of some kind, like Wasp or Giant Spider: Greater Beast. I would not recommend using a force attack, like Bane: Professional Criminal, because you’re opponent could easily use that against you and force your Rhodey to attack. They would likely not block him just so he has to make his way back through your bag. If you had a way to protect him from being targeted by your opponent, then Bane is fine, but that’s an awful lot of work just to be able to use Bane on the same team. Bane is a popular meta piece though, so having a backup against Bane is a good idea. If you’re using Wasp or Giant Spider, you can just force one of their characters to block, which helps you keep Rhodey active. If you’re worried about your opponent not fielding many characters, bring White Tiger: Mystical Amulet and force them to field a Sidekick. White Tiger is not legal for Prime, but she is Modern Age legal.

Even though Rhodey is a really good card, I would definitely recommend a backup win condition. Mr. DDK and I like to use She-Hulk: Sensational, because she pairs well with Wasp. If She-Hulk isn’t your style, there are plenty of other options out there.

Summary – I like Rhodey for Prime and Modern Age. I don’t think he’s got what it takes to stand up in Golden Age though. He’s a great win condition, but bring a backup!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!