Archive for the ‘Competitive vs Casual’ Category

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Silver Sable: Outlaw  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man set.

W 15 Silver Sable, Outlaw

Ruling – Ability

When Silver Sable attacks, add a die from your bag to your Prep Area. If it is a Sidekick, Silver Sable is unblockable.

Silver Sable’s ability is a When Attacks ability. When Attacks abilities trigger simultaneously when all attackers have been assigned. If there are multiple When Attacks abilities on the active player’s side, the active player resolves them in the order they choose.

When a Silver Sable die attacks, you take a die from your bag and place it in your Prep Area. This is not the same as drawing a die, so you do not get to refill an empty bag when using this ability. Only abilities that instruct you to draw a die will trigger a bag refill.

If the die you add to your Prep Area is a Sidekick die, the Silver Sable die that triggered that ability will be unblockable. Ally dice are only considered to be Sidekick dice while they are on a character face and in the Field Zone. If you add a die with Ally to your Prep Area with this ability, Silver Sable will not be unblockable.

Silver Sable’s ability is not optional. When each of your Silver Sable dice attack, you must add a die from your bag to your Prep Area. If you can’t, this ability does nothing. You will not take damage if you can’t add a die to your Prep Area because Bag Burn only happens during your Clear and Draw step while drawing your four dice for the turn.

Each of your Silver Sable dice that attack will trigger this ability. Each trigger of the ability will only apply to the Silver Sable die that triggered it. For example: I have two Silver Sable dice in the Field Zone. I decide to attack with both, so I assign both as attackers. Both abilities trigger simultaneously, but I resolve them individually. I add a die to my Prep Area from my bag for the first Silver Sable die. The die I added to my Prep Area is not a Sidekick, so the first Silver Sable die is still able to be blocked. I add a die to my Prep Area from my bag for the second Silver Sable die and it’s a Sidekick, so my second Silver Sable die is unblockable. My first Silver Sable die is still able to be blocked because she didn’t add a Sidekick to my Prep Area – only the second one did.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Silver Sable is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Spider-Friends affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common from the Starter and is #15 of 142.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I know a lot of folks don’t care for the Amazing Spider-Man set, but I have loads of fun playing with cards from this set. This is one of those cards. I love using Silver Sable with The Front Line: Basic Action Card, and keeping my bag full of Sidekicks. This is a great concept to build around for casual play because it’s not super serious broken, and it’s not super difficult to set up. She’s got a little bit of higher purchase cost than I like, but with a few well placed Front Line dice with a bag loaded with Sidekicks, you could be punching someone in the face for a quite a bit of damage. She’s a 0/1/1 to field, so she’s not too high on fielding costs, and her attack is 3/4/4. When you drop two Front Line dice on her, she becomes a 9/10/10, that’s also potentially unblockable.

I recently had someone ask about attacking with multiples of her dice, and I realized that I hadn’t featured her for an article yet. I also thought that now would be a good time to feature her, because I’ve had lots of inquiries about cultivating casual-competitive scenes. This is the perfect card for that type of scene!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Wrecker: Enchanted Crowbar  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Wrecker, Enchanted Crowbar

Ruling – Ability

“While Wrecker is active, players can only use the Global Abilities of active characters.”

Wrecker’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While there is at least one Wrecker die in the Field Zone, players can’t use any Global unless it’s on a character that’s active in the Field Zone.

This ability applies to all players, and is not an optional ability. If a Wrecker die is active, his ability is in effect and applies to all players.

Players can not use the Global abilities on Actions. Wrecker specifically states that players can only use the Globals on active ‘characters’. Continuous action dice are not characters.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Wrecker is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #128 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Wrecker, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I understand why folks may have been confused about Wrecker’s ability, given WizKids track record. For example – The Bifrost. I had been putting off featuring Wrecker because I thought they might errata him, and it wasn’t until Mr. DDK brought him up again that I decided to go ahead and feature him – potential errata or no. Luckily for me, WizKids answered a question about him earlier in the week that matches my initial ruling for Wrecker. Now I’m kicking myself for not posting the article sooner.

Wrecker has a really great ability that someone can easily build around. There are lots of popular Globals on actions that would be rendered useless when he hits the Field. Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard, True Believer, Unstable Canister, Villainous Pact, and Resurrection to name a few. Even with rotation that was just announced, most of those are still Modern Age legal, with the exception of True Believer. There is a similar Global on Odin’s Fury. And now, if someone brought Heimdall or Ra’s al Ghul only for their Globals, they’re gonna have to buy those dice and get the characters active in order to use them.

In Golden Age formats, this guy is a beast. He stops BEWD, Red Dragon, PXG, and all those utility type Globals on characters unless the player buys those dice. Wrecker is gonna wreck someone’s day if they aren’t prepared to deal with him. He can be easily dealt with, with a Shriek or DWiz. But, if someone is wasting a control resource on him, they aren’t using it on something more important – like a win condition.

Wrecker’s purchase cost is only four energy, he has a fielding cost of one on all levels, and his lowest defense is three. That’s actually really good for he does and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him pop up in a competitive event somewhere. He may not fit every team, but there are teams that he can work well on. And don’t be surprised to see him in casual events either. He’s a great card that’s not getting the love he deserves.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Spidey’s Last Stand: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set.

Spidey's last stand BAC

Ruling – Ability

“Sacrifice a character to draw and roll 2 dice (sacrificed characters are placed in the Used Pile).”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Sacrifice: Sacrificed characters are moved from the Field Zone to the Used Pile (often as a cost or penalty).”

When you use this action die, you must sacrifice a character die as part of the cost to using the die. If you can’t sacrifice a character die, you can’t use the action die because you wouldn’t be able to pay the cost to use it. You can’t redirect the cost to a different character die.

When you use this die, you sacrifice a character die, then you draw two dice from your bag and roll them. Those dice are then placed into your Reserve Pool. Dice drawn from this ability are not considered to be drawn during your Roll and Reroll Step, even if you use this action die directly after your Roll and Reroll Step. You do not get to reroll the dice rolled from this ability. Dice are used normally after they’re placed in the Reserve Pool.

If you cannot draw two dice for this ability, you draw as many as you can, then refill your bag and finish drawing until you have drawn two dice.

An ability like Back for More would not trigger if the dice you roll from this ability have the Keyword. The dice drawn and rolled from this ability never enter the Prep Area.

If you have more than one die of the same character in the Field Zone, you do not have to sacrifice all copies of that character. You only need to sacrifice one character die.

When you sacrifice a character die, that die will go to the Used Pile instead of the Prep Area. Sacrificed character dice are not considered to be KO’d and will not trigger When KO’d abilities. If you sacrifice a character die during your turn, that die will go Out of Play first, then to Used Pile during the Clean Up Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Spidey’s Last Stand is a Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It says Use: 3 instead of Max: 3 because you are required to use exactly three Basic Action Dice for this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 142.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

Spidey’s Last Stand and Storm: Weather Witch Ruling

There are a few additional Sacrifice rulings:
Used vs Out of Play
Sacrifice for No Effect
Sacrifice and KO Abilities

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Well, this card is not terrible, but it’s not good either. I featured it because I’ve seen and heard lots of players asking how the Sacrifice ability works. I had a message about this specific card as well because it says character and not character die. This is one of those older cards with wonky wording is all. No, you don’t have to blow up all five of your Sidekick dice in the Field Zone, just to draw and roll two dice. I say it’s not a good card only because it’s not good for meta play – and it’ll be rotating soon too.

The reason that I say this isn’t a terrible card is because it’s a useful card for a more casual setting or a limited format. I wish it only cost two to buy though. I think I would actually use this card a lot if it only cost two. It’s easy to get a few Sidekicks in the Field that you can use as fodder for this card. And you’re opponent is less likely to buy this die. This card may not see competitive play, but there are plenty of casual options and fun options!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Scorching Ray: Basic Action Card from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

scorching ray

Ruling – Ability

Draw a die from your bag. Deal damage to target character die or player equal to its purchase cost. Return the die to your bag.

Scorching Ray is a Basic Action. Anything that can affect an Action could effect Scorching Ray. If a card specifically states that it affects a Basic Action, then it could affect Scorching Ray.

Scorching Ray does not have the Continuous keyword. When this die is used, it goes immediately Out of Play and never enters the Field Zone in any way. This is important for cards with abilities like Blob: Appetite for Destruction. Blob’s ability would prevent the purchase of Scorching Ray, but not the use of the die.

When you use this action die, you draw one die from your bag. If your bag is empty, you refill your bag from your Used Pile. If there are no dice in your Used Pile to refill your bag with, you will not be able to use this action die because it will not have an effect. You can’t use an action die for no effect.

After you draw the die, you target a character die or a player and deal damage to that target equal to the purchase cost of the die you drew. You can target one of your character dice, an opponent’s character die, yourself, or your opponent with this ability. Sidekick dice have a purchase cost of zero, so you would deal zero damage to the target if you drew a Sidekick die.

You must be able to target the character die or player to be able to use this action die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use the action die.

To determine the amount of damage, you will look at the die you drew and determine what its purchase cost is. The drawn die does not need to be a specific type of die, like a character die or action die. Any die you draw will work for this ability.

After you deal damage (or zero damage) to the target, the die you drew will be returned to its bag.

This ability is not optional. If you use the action die, you must deal the damage (or deal zero damage) to a target character die or player, even if the only legal target is one of your character dice or yourself.

If you choose to not use an action die, it will go to your Used Pile at the end of the turn. Action dice do not remain in your Reserve Pool beyond your turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Scorching Ray is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It has the Neutral affiliation.
~ It has Use: 3, instead of Max: 3 because you must use three dice with this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #12 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Scorching Ray is fun to play with, but only on a casual level. The timing for a competitive team is much more difficult to pull off and there are far more effective ways to deal direct damage to character dice or your opponent.

This is a great card for limited and sealed events. It cost four energy to purchase, but if you’ve got several three or four cost dice in your dice pool, you might gain from this card. The addition of Heimdall and his Global to the team helps to minimize your chances of drawing a Sidekick die. Unfortunately, you won’t have access to Heimdall in a D&D sealed event. Using the Global on the Create Food and Water: Basic Action Card could help thin your bag by a die before you try using Scorching Ray.

There are plenty of ways to build around this card is a casual setting, but I’m not sure Scorching Ray has a spot in the competitive meta with cards like Yuan-Ti and Cosmic Cube floating around.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Thor: A God Amongst Men from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Thor, A God Amongst Men

Ruling – Ability

While Thor is active, when you would take damage, redirect that damage to Thor.

Thor’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While you have at least one Thor die in the Field Zone, when you would take damage, you must redirect that damage to Thor. Redirecting damage changes the intended target of the damage to Thor, but it does not change the source of the damage. For example: My opponent uses a Get Thee Hence action die and targets me. I would take one damage, but it is instead redirected to one of my Thor dice instead.

If you have more than one Thor die in the Field Zone and a source would deal more than one damage to you, you would choose one Thor die to redirect that source’s damage to. You can’t split a source’s damage unless an ability or effect specifically tells you that you can.

If there are multiple sources dealing damage to you simultaneously, such as from unblocked attackers, you would redirect all of that damage to your Thor die. If you had multiple Thor dice in the Field Zone, you can choose a different Thor die for a different source. For example: My opponent is attacking me with a Hulk (7A), another Hulk (6A), and a Sidekick (1A). I have two Thor dice in the Field Zone on level one (6D) and level two (8D). I do not block so that all of the attackers would deal damage to me. I now redirect that damage from each source to whichever Thor die I choose for that source’s damage. I redirect the seven damage from one Hulk to the level one Thor die. I redirect the six damage from the other Hulk to my level two Thor die. I then redirect the one damage from the Sidekick to my level one Thor die. Now that I have redirected the damage, it resolves simultaneously. My level one Thor die will take eight damage and be KO’d, and my level two Thor die will take six damage but not be KO’d. I could have redirected all three sources of damage to one Thor die, or redirected the damage to both Thor dice in such a way that they would both be KO’d.

When you redirect damage from an attacker that’s not blocked, it does not become blocked. The attacker is still unblocked and will go Out of Play when the damage is resolved, then to the Used Pile during Clean Up.

Attacking characters that are not blocked will not take damage from Thor because he’s not blocking those characters. The damage is being moved from the player to Thor.

Thor can redirect any type of damage, but he can’t redirect loss of life. Losing life and paying life are not considered damage.

Thor’s ability is not optional. When you take damage – any damage – it is redirected to a Thor die. Thor’s ability would have the word ‘may’ in it if it were optional to use.

Ruling – Global

Global: Pay [Bolt] [Bolt]. Once per turn, deal 1 damage to target character die.”

Thor’s Global is only able to be used once per turn, per Thor card. If you and your opponent both have the same Thor card, you may use each Global once.

To use this Global, you must spend two Bolt energy. You may spend one die showing two Bolts or two dice showing any combination of Bolt and Wild energy. Energy spent for this Global on your turn will go Out of Play. Energy spent for this Global on your opponent’s turn will go to your Used Pile.

Thor’s Global can only target a character die, unless an effect says otherwise. This Global does target, so if an ability prevents a character die from being targeted, you can not target that character die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Thor’s Global, because you can’t use a Global for no effect.

Thor’s Global will deal one damage to a target character die. If the character’s defense is one, then the die is KO’d when it’s damaged by this Global.

This Global can be used by either player during the Main Step or during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Thor is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #87 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Relevant Rulebook Text on Redirecting:
“Other powers redirect a game effect (usually damage). When an effect is redirected, the target of the effect changes from its original target to the new one as described in the game text…”

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This is a whopper of character and I thought he’d be a great feature this week since I’ve seen some discussion about him recently. His Global is a little lack luster when compared to other Globals that deal direct damage to characters, because his has a ‘once per turn’ limitation and it cost two Bolt energy. Unstable Canister outshines his Global, so it’s safe to say that we won’t be seeing him on teams for that reason – unless he’s the only option for that type of Global.

But that ability of his is just silly. His ability is like a supercharged Ronin: Between Employers. Ronin can only redirect one source per turn, but he is much cheaper at a cost of three versus Thor’s seven. Thor’s purchase cost is appropriate for his ability, but it’s still a little expensive for competitive play. If you have a way to effectively ramp up to seven energy to buy Thor, I would have to wonder why you’re buying him and not a win condition. If you’re playing casual settings, you may see some folks playing this card. I highly doubt we’ll be seeing him outside of the casual scene, even though he’s got an ability worthy of a Norse God.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

The Exiles are a group of various time displaced characters that are trying to correct issues that have occurred in the various timelines. I’m not a huge fan of time travel, time displacement, etc, but I like many of the characters associated with the Exiles. I know very little about the affiliation or what those characters have done while part of the Exiles.

Participation Prize – Blink: Warp-Powered Crystals

Participation cards are usually given to all players that participate in the event. I usually give out the participation prizes to all players, even if they received one from the previous OP event. This may be different at each venue based on how many players and kits the store has available.

W Blink, Warp-Powered Crystals

This is a direct reprint of the common card from the X-Men First Class set. Blink: Warp-Powered Crystals is somewhat pricey for what her ability does. Her ability requires you to pay a Mask to use it, which is appropriate. I just wish she had a purchase cost of four instead. If her ability didn’t have a cost associated with it, then the purchase cost of five would feel more appropriate.

Her ability makes her a great blocker, because if she’s KO’d, you can bring her right back. You need to keep a Mask in your Reserve Pool for her ability, but it’s not stretch with all the ways there are to manipulate dice. Having her around could make your opponent think twice about attacking. They could lose their character die while yours comes right back. I think she’s a good Participation Prize and I also think she’s a decent card choice for a newer player to experiment with. I don’t think she has the potential to make her way into any major meta scenes at the moment.

Fellowship Prize – Morph: Exile

The Fellowship Prize is an additional prize for a player, usually one that hasn’t won another prize yet. We used to take votes, but that took way too long. Now, we have each player (except the first place player) roll a D20 in the order of their standings and the player that rolls the highest number, gets the Fellowship card. We also require that players be present to be able to roll for the Fellowship Prize. Some stores give the Fellowship Prize to the player in last place and I’ve even seen stores draw names from a bucket. How you determine the Fellowship player is different for each venue so check with your FLGS to see how they choose their Fellowship player. 

W Morph, Exile

Morph: Exile is a brand new card, and you can find his dice in the X-Men First Class set. This guy is a great way to protect your Mimic: Borrowed Talent dice from being pinged out of the Field! Lots of folks like to use Mimic with their Sidekick dice for ramp, but that means Mimic is a 1A/1D die – making him easy to get rid of. With this Morph, that’s no longer as big an issue! Morph can absorb two or three times as much damage as Mimic if he copied a Sidekick die. Not only is he Mimic’s protector, but he can protect your Blink if you don’t have a Mask to bring her back with.

First Place Prize – Sabretooth: Exile

The first place cards are given to the player that wins the event. These cards are typically new cards and not alternate art or reprint cards.

W Sabretooth, Exile

Sabretooth: Exile is also a brand new card and you can find his dice in the X-Men First Class set. I love that he only cost four to purchase, especially since you need him to boost your other Exiles attack and defense. I have never liked expensive boost characters. I like being able a character like this without needing to ramp up for it. Sabretooth is super awesome because he not only boosts your other Exiles, but he gives the bonus to himself as well! It’s a While Active, so only one Sabretooth die is needed in the Field Zone. But, combine him with a card that gives him Overcrush and you’ve got a heavy hitting dude! You could even use Mimic to copy him and then you’ve got more heavy hitting dudes with Morph to protect them.

Conclusion

These cards are all pretty or cool looking, and they all have decent abilities, especially Morph and Sabretooth for an Exiles team. I’m pretty sure you won’t see these cards much in competitive play, but I think they have the best chance to shine in casual. I want to build an Exiles team with Sabretooth, Morph, Mimic, and Sasquatch! But I have to get my hands on Morph and Sabretooth first.

If you want to play with any of these cards, you should check your FLGS for events! I definitely recommend playing to try and get these cards because they are worth having, especially if you like building fun teams!

Thanks for reading and be sure to follow me on social media and YouTube!
Need to look up a card? Check out DM RetroBox for all you card searching needs!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Hellfire Club: Members Only from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W The Hellfire Club, Members Only

Ruling – Ability

If you control the character die with the highest A, KO all other character dice

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step.

“Character dice” refer to the individual character dice and not the character card. For example: I have two Wolverine dice in the Field Zone, one with an attack of six and the other with an attack of two. When I use the Hellfire Club die, it will look at both of my Wolverine dice as separate character dice.

You can only use this die if you have a character die with the highest attack in the Field Zone. If you do not have a character die that has the highest attack, you will not be able to use this die because it will not have an effect.

If you have multiple character dice that are tied for the highest attack, you can still use the Hellfire Club, but you may only keep one of those dice and KO the rest. For example: If I have two Wolverine dice and Batman die in the Field Zone, all tied for the highest attack, I must choose one of them to remain in the Field Zone and KO the rest.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellfire Club is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #77 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I have been trying desperately to get this card to work with Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night. I’m not sure I’ll be able to get that team running as smooth as I’d like, but it’s definitely a fun team to play on a casual night. The Hellfire Club is devastating when your opponent is trying to keep characters active and it’s amazing to see it go off – when it works. There are plenty of great characters that have a high printed attack that are easy to purchase. I think the Hellfire Club is perfect for casual players that want to find a way around some of those pesky characters like Blob and Shriek. Those characters have low attack stats and they can be easily KO’d with Hellfire Club to allow your team some breathing room.

While I’ve been trying to work this team into a meta build, I don’t believe that it’s possible. I think my Jessica Jones team is still too slow and too vulnerable for it to be effective in any kind of major competitive play. I still would like to see this card find its way onto a competitive team because I believe it has potential. But if it doesn’t, it’s still an awesome card for casual play!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

There has been an errata!

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

I will strikeout text that does not follow this errata and make any corrections needed. The corrections will be in red.

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Bifrost: Bridge Between Realms from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W The Bifrost, Bridge Between Realms

Ruling – Ability

“When you field a character die, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free.”

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

When you use this action die, it will go out of play, but the effect will remain until the end of your turn.

Fielding a character die is when you pay the fielding cost and move a character from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. Characters can also be fielded by other means, such as character abilities or action dice, but they are only considered ‘fielded’ if the wording on the card specifically says to ‘field’ the character die.

When you field a character die while this effect is active, you have the option of fielding a character die from your Used Pile. You will be able to field the character die from your Used Pile for free, meaning you will not have to pay the fielding cost associated with the character’s level. For example, if the character die you field is level three, the character die you field from your Used Pile will also be fielded at level three and not cost any energy to field.

Fielding a Sidekick will allow you to field a character die from your Used Pile at level one, because Sidekicks only have one level. However, you cannot field a Sidekick from your Used Pile with this ability because Sidekick dice are not character dice while in the Used Pile.

Fielding a character from your Used Pile with The Bifrost’s ability will trigger any When Fielded abilities, including this ability. The Bifrost’s ability will only trigger from character dice that you field from your Reserve Pool. This ability is optional because the card uses the word ‘may’. Even if the ability is triggered, you are not required to activate the ability.

Ruling – Global Ability

The Bifrost has a Global ability on its card that says:
“Global: Pay 0. Once per turn on your turn, spin one of your Sidekick character dice to its [SHIELD] face.”

This Global does not cost anything to activate. You only need to state that you are using the Global.

When you activate this Global, you choose one of your Sidekick dice in your Field Zone or Reserve Pool that’s showing a Sidekick character face, and then spin that die to its Shield energy face.

You can spin an Ally character to a single Shield energy face. The Ally character die must have a Shield energy face and also be in the Field Zone. Unlike Sidekick dice in the Reserve Pool, an Ally is only considered a Sidekick character while in the Field Zone.

This Global does not target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Bifrost is a Shield type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #124 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

There is a ruling for a Global similar to The Bifrost’s Global, and you can find it, here.
There is a ruling about spinning Ally character dice to energy faces, here.
There is an errata for this card and you can find it, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I know lots of folks are going completely bonkers for this card and many believe this card is very over powered. I do not believe this card is the meta buster that lots of folks think it is.  If the goal is to use The Bifrost for the When Fielded abilities on characters being fielded from the Used Pile, then Wonder Woman: Reflections is a solid counter. The Bifrost is a four cost non-basic action, and most of the meta worthy When Fielded type cards are three or four to purchase as well, which means you can cycle those dice before ever buying The Bifrost. I know some folks in the groups have mentioned using it with a Guy Rush type build, but I believe The Bifrost is not necessary for those builds. I think it would clunk up the bag too much and slow the team down.

There are lots of folks calling for an errata but it really doesn’t need it. In practice, this card works well when you happen to have lots of characters in your Used Pile. But the setup to get those dice in position is no easy feat. I think we’ll see this card in major competitive scenes as folks try their hardest to break it and exploit it. This card is fun in draft and likely going to be fun in casual play as well. I think it might become a nuisance in Golden Age play if used with the right cards, but I don’t think it’s powerful enough that it needs an errata or a ban – yet. There could be another perfect storm, like Bard Blitz, waiting for its time to shine, but only time will tell.

If you have a build that you think is perfect for this card, I’d love to see it and try it! This card seems like it would be lots of fun to use with the right team, but I don’t plan to build around it myself. But I’m definitely open to seeing builds and trying them out. I’d also love to see what others think about this card, so please, leave me a comment!

~ If an errata or ruling should happen, I’ll most definitely add it to this article!

And – the errata happened. I believe it only happened because the ability wasn’t functioning the way they truly intended it. Now, the card is definitely not a meta-buster. I don’t think we’ll see this card much, if at all, in major competitive play now.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Colossus: Armored Up from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Colossus, Armored Up

Ruling – Ability

Colossus has a When Attacks ability. This type of ability will trigger only when the character’s die is assigned as an attacker and will also trigger from each of that character’s attacking dice. For example: I attack with two Colossus dice. Each die trigger’s the When Attacks ability.

Colossus’s ability says that when his die attacks, any character that would be assigned to block, must first take two damage.

This ability has a very odd timing window in regards to how the Attack Step works. In the Attack Step, you assign your attackers first and after each attacker has been assigned, any When Attacks abilities will trigger. This is where Colossus’s ability will trigger. However, the damage will not be dealt at this time.

After assigning attackers, blockers are assigned. Because of Colossus’s ability, before a character die can be assigned to block, it must first take two damage. The defending player will choose a character die that they want to assign as a blocker, but before assigning that die, it’s dealt two damage. If the die survives the two damage, the defending player can then assign it to an attacking character die as a blocker.

Damage accumulates on character dice and when they have accumulated damage equal to or greater than their defense, the die is KO’d. Damage does not reduce the character die’s defense value.

Colossus’s ability does not target and it does not deal damage to all dice in the Field Zone. It only affects a die that would be assigned as a blocker – not dice that could be assigned as blockers.

Colossus’s ability is not optional. It automatically triggers when he attacks and will automatically affect any die that would later be assigned as a blocker.

Colossus’s damage will happen before the blocker can be assigned. When Blocks abilities will not trigger until the character that’s being assigned to block has survived the damage from Colossus and is then assigned as a blocker.

Character dice that are being assigned as blockers do not need to block Colossus specifically. His ability says it affects any character die that would be assigned to block – meaning his ability would affect a die that is being assigned to block any attacking character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Colossus is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the X-Men affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #89 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Attacking with two Colossus dice.

Game State
~ I have two level one Colossus dice (5A/5D) in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a Sidekick and a level two character with 1A/6D in the Field Zone.
~ I am entering into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my two Colossus dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Colossus’ When Attacks ability is triggered. Damage is not done to any dice yet.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent chooses to block with their Sidekick and their other character die, but before they can be assigned as blockers, they must each take two damage from each Colossus die.
~ The Sidekick takes four damage and is KO’d. My opponent places the die in their Prep Area.
~ Their other character die (1A/6D) will also take four damage, two from each Colossus die. Their character is not KO’d and can now be assigned as a blocker.
~ My opponent assigns their remaining character to block one of my Colossus dice. They move their blocker to the Attack Zone and place it in front of the attacking Colossus they want to block.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ My blocked Colossus die will assign five damage to the character die blocking it. That character has previously accumulated four damage and it will be KO’d.
~ The blocking character assigns one damage to the Colossus it’s blocking. This is not enough to KO my Colossus die.
~ My unblocked Colossus die will deal five damage to my opponent’s life total and then move Out of Play.
(Clean Up)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. My opponent’s blocker will be moved to their Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone. My Colossus die will be removed from the Attack Zone and placed back into the area labeled as the Field Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Mr. DDK brought this card up to me in a conversation a week or so ago. I thought is was a very interesting card and I realized just how weird and confusing his ability could be. While I like this ability, it could be a problem against certain characters that have abilities that trigger from them being damaged, like Babs, Hulk, or cards with the Vengeance Keyword. This is definitely not my type of card, but Mr. DDK thought it was kinda neat. It practically shuts down the Sidekick blocker walls.

I don’t think this card has a place in the major metas, mainly because of his cost, but also largely because his ability could backfire on you if your opponent has a card like Babs (which is very popular!). I would love to see someone come up with an interesting use for this card and if you do or you already have, please feel free to share!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m still excited over reaching the triple digits in my Confusing Card of the Week articles! I decided to continue the #100 trend this week and cover one of the cards that I used on my team this past weekend.

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Killer Croc: Out of the Depths from the DC Batman set.

W Killer Croc, Out of the Depths

Ruling – Ability

Killer Croc’s ability is a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability can only be used when the character’s die is placed into the field from the Reserve Pool by paying it’s fielding cost, or by an ability that specifically states that the die is ‘fielded’ and not moved, swapped, placed, etc.

When Killer Croc is fielded, any level one and/or level two character die with an attack lower than his, will be KO’d. This will include your character dice as well as your opponent’s because his ability does not specify ‘opposing’ character dice.

Dice Levels

In the picture above, you can see the sides of the dice as shown on the bottom of Captain America’s card. All character dice levels are displayed in the same place on character cards. The first three images are of the energy faces and do not have levels. The first character face is Level 1, the second character face is Level 2, and the third character face is Level 3. This is the same for all character dice, except for basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice don’t have a character card and while they are in the Field Zone, they’re only Level 1.

Character dice may be spun up or have their attack increased prior to fielding Killer Croc in order to keep them from being KO’d by Killer Croc’s ability. The opposing player will not have an opportunity to use Globals unless the active player passes them priority before they field Killer Croc.

If a level one or two character die has an attack equal to Killer Croc’s, they will not be KO’d by his ability. The attack must be lower than Killer Croc’s.

Killer Croc’s ability does not target. Abilities that protect characters from being targeted will not have any effect against Killer Croc’s ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Killer Croc is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #100 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using a Global to spin a character die up, then fielding Killer Croc.

Game State
~ I have a level two Killer Croc and three fist energy in my Reserve Pool. I have a level two Red Hood (3A/3D) in my Field Zone. I have Giganta: Standing Tall on my team. Her Global says: “Pay [FIST]. Spin target character die up 1 level.”
~ My opponent has a Sidekick and a level two character with 4A in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my main step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend a fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use the Global on Giganta and target my Red Hood die. Red Hood spins up to level three (5A/5D).
~ I spend two fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to pay for Killer Croc’s fielding cost.
~ Killer Croc is then moved into the Field Zone from my Reserve Pool and his ability triggers as he’s fielded. My Red Hood is level three and is not affected. My opponent’s Sidekick and level two character are both KO’d because they level one and level two, and their attack values are lower than Killer Croc’s.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I used Killer Croc and Small Step for Man: Basic Action Card on my team this past Saturday. I love the combo idea, but I’m running into problems with purchasing Killer Croc. I play Grodd a lot and don’t have this issue, so I’m not sure what the problem is. The game I won, I won with Red Hood and didn’t even purchase Killer Croc. For a Johnny like me, that’s no fun at all. But the Spike in me couldn’t pass up the chance at victory. While I won a match, I wasn’t happy with how I won it. I really wanted my combo to go off. I got it to work – once. But it didn’t lead me to victory because I bought Killer Croc too early and couldn’t get a decent bag flow established. I still like this card and I plan to adjust the team by taking off Batcave and adding Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time.

I definitely don’t see this card being a meta card for competitive play, but for casual level events or store level events, he could be fun – if you like the silly combos like I do!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!