Archive for the ‘Confusing Card of the Week’ Category

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Thor: A God Amongst Men from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Thor, A God Amongst Men

Ruling – Ability

While Thor is active, when you would take damage, redirect that damage to Thor.

Thor’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While you have at least one Thor die in the Field Zone, when you would take damage, you must redirect that damage to Thor. Redirecting damage changes the intended target of the damage to Thor, but it does not change the source of the damage. For example: My opponent uses a Get Thee Hence action die and targets me. I would take one damage, but it is instead redirected to one of my Thor dice instead.

If you have more than one Thor die in the Field Zone and a source would deal more than one damage to you, you would choose one Thor die to redirect that source’s damage to. You can’t split a source’s damage unless an ability or effect specifically tells you that you can.

If there are multiple sources dealing damage to you simultaneously, such as from unblocked attackers, you would redirect all of that damage to your Thor die. If you had multiple Thor dice in the Field Zone, you can choose a different Thor die for a different source. For example: My opponent is attacking me with a Hulk (7A), another Hulk (6A), and a Sidekick (1A). I have two Thor dice in the Field Zone on level one (6D) and level two (8D). I do not block so that all of the attackers would deal damage to me. I now redirect that damage from each source to whichever Thor die I choose for that source’s damage. I redirect the seven damage from one Hulk to the level one Thor die. I redirect the six damage from the other Hulk to my level two Thor die. I then redirect the one damage from the Sidekick to my level one Thor die. Now that I have redirected the damage, it resolves simultaneously. My level one Thor die will take eight damage and be KO’d, and my level two Thor die will take six damage but not be KO’d. I could have redirected all three sources of damage to one Thor die, or redirected the damage to both Thor dice in such a way that they would both be KO’d.

When you redirect damage from an attacker that’s not blocked, it does not become blocked. The attacker is still unblocked and will go Out of Play when the damage is resolved, then to the Used Pile during Clean Up.

Attacking characters that are not blocked will not take damage from Thor because he’s not blocking those characters. The damage is being moved from the player to Thor.

Thor can redirect any type of damage, but he can’t redirect loss of life. Losing life and paying life are not considered damage.

Thor’s ability is not optional. When you take damage – any damage – it is redirected to a Thor die. Thor’s ability would have the word ‘may’ in it if it were optional to use.

Ruling – Global

Global: Pay [Bolt] [Bolt]. Once per turn, deal 1 damage to target character die.”

Thor’s Global is only able to be used once per turn, per Thor card. If you and your opponent both have the same Thor card, you may use each Global once.

To use this Global, you must spend two Bolt energy. You may spend one die showing two Bolts or two dice showing any combination of Bolt and Wild energy. Energy spent for this Global on your turn will go Out of Play. Energy spent for this Global on your opponent’s turn will go to your Used Pile.

Thor’s Global can only target a character die, unless an effect says otherwise. This Global does target, so if an ability prevents a character die from being targeted, you can not target that character die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Thor’s Global, because you can’t use a Global for no effect.

Thor’s Global will deal one damage to a target character die. If the character’s defense is one, then the die is KO’d when it’s damaged by this Global.

This Global can be used by either player during the Main Step or during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Thor is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #87 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Relevant Rulebook Text on Redirecting:
“Other powers redirect a game effect (usually damage). When an effect is redirected, the target of the effect changes from its original target to the new one as described in the game text…”

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This is a whopper of character and I thought he’d be a great feature this week since I’ve seen some discussion about him recently. His Global is a little lack luster when compared to other Globals that deal direct damage to characters, because his has a ‘once per turn’ limitation and it cost two Bolt energy. Unstable Canister outshines his Global, so it’s safe to say that we won’t be seeing him on teams for that reason – unless he’s the only option for that type of Global.

But that ability of his is just silly. His ability is like a supercharged Ronin: Between Employers. Ronin can only redirect one source per turn, but he is much cheaper at a cost of three versus Thor’s seven. Thor’s purchase cost is appropriate for his ability, but it’s still a little expensive for competitive play. If you have a way to effectively ramp up to seven energy to buy Thor, I would have to wonder why you’re buying him and not a win condition. If you’re playing casual settings, you may see some folks playing this card. I highly doubt we’ll be seeing him outside of the casual scene, even though he’s got an ability worthy of a Norse God.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Heimdall: The All-Seeing from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Heimdall, The All-Seeing

Ruling – Immortal Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page does not have Immortal listed yet. The rule insert has the definition as:
Immortal: When a character die with Immortal would go to the Used Pile (except when it is purchased), instead add that character die to its owner’s bag.”

If a character die with Immortal would be placed in the Used Pile, for any reason, it goes to the player’s bag instead. This counts for abilities that swap character dice, like Mutation: Basic Action Card. For example: If I use Mutation to swap my active Heimdall character die in the Field Zone with a Batman character die in my Used Pile, Batman will be placed in the Field Zone on level one and Heimdall will go to my bag instead of my Used Pile.

When a character die with Immortal attacks and is not blocked, it will go Out of Play after damaging the opposing player. But, instead of going to the Used Pile at the end of turn, it will go their owner’s bag instead.

If an ability blanks or removes the Immortal keyword from the character’s card or from the character dice in other areas besides the Field Zone, Immortal will not work.

Immortal is not optional. If a character with Immortal would go to the Used Pile, it will go to the bag instead. You cannot choose to leave it in the Used Pile.

Ruling – Ability

“When fielded, draw a die. If it is a character die with Immortal, field it for free at level 1. Otherwise, Prep it.”

Heimdall has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will only trigger when the die with the ability is considered to have been Fielded and not swapped, placed, moved, etc. There are abilities on cards that will tell you to Field a character die, and those abilities will trigger When Fielded abilities.

Heimdall’s ability says that when his die is fielded, you draw a die from your bag. If the die that you draw is a character die and it has the Immortal keyword, you field it for free at level one. If it doesn’t have the Immortal keyword, you place it in your Prep Area.

If you attempt to draw a die and there are no dice in your bag, you refill your bag from your Used Pile.

If you draw a die and it’s a character die that has the Immortal keyword on its card, or has the keyword granted to it by an ability, you must field that die for free at level one.

If the die you drew is not a character die with the Immortal keyword, you must place it in your Prep Area.

If draw an Immortal character die and it has a When Fielded ability, it will trigger because Heimdall’s ability says to field that die.

These abilities are not optional. When Heimdall is fielded, you must draw a die. If you draw an Immortal character die, it must be fielded at level one. If you draw a die that’s not an Immortal character die, you must place it in your Prep Area.

Ruling – Global

“Global: Pay MASK. Once per turn, on your turn, you may Prep 2 Sidekick dice from your Used Pile.”

A Global is available for both players to use. There is no inherent ability to prevent a player from using a Global, though you may be able to use the ability on a card to prevent the use of a Global. For a player to use a Global on their opponent’s team, they must meet the proper requirements. Globals cannot be used for no effect.

Heimdall’s Global requires that a player spend one Mask energy. A player may only activate this Global one time on their turn, because the Global places those limits on its use. However, if you and your opponent both have the same Heimdall card on your teams, you can use each Heimdall’s Global one time on your turn. This is because each Heimdall is a different card, and each Global belongs to a different player.

During your turn, if you use Heimdall’s Global, you may move two Sidekick dice from your Used Pile to your Prep Area. You can still use this Global even if you only have one Sidekick die in your Used Pile. You cannot use the Global if you don’t have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile. If you have two or more Sidekick dice in your Used Pile, you must move two of them. You are not permitted to choose one when there are two available, because the Global specifically says ‘Prep 2 Sidekick dice’ and not ‘Prep up to 2 Sidekick dice’.

Character dice with the Ally keyword are not eligible to be selected as Sidekick dice for this Global ability because Ally character dice are only considered Sidekick dice while in the Field Zone.

Sidekick dice that are spent are not available for Heimdall’s Global on that same turn. Spent dice are Out of Play until the end of turn.

You can only use the Global on your turn, and only once for each Heimdall card.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Heimdall is a Mask type character card.
~ He does not have an affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #24 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

PXG has returned as HXG! Credit to Andy and Chris (True Mister Six) from the Ministry of Dice for their acronym. Those two have an awesome podcast that I highly recommend. It’s fun and I always enjoy hearing Andy’s new aka.

But, it’s nice to have a form of PXG back in the game. I was never on the ‘Ban PXG’ bandwagon, because I didn’t think he needed to be banned. I felt he needed a hefty errata, but didn’t deserve a ban. HXG is what PXG should have been to begin with. A once per turn, on your turn Global is more than appropriate. The Global is quite useful, though I’m not certain the rest of his common card is all that useful outside of casual events. You could probably build a casual Immortal team using him, but he won’t be played in the competitive scenes for his ability. Players will definitely look at all the rarities of Heimdall, mainly for the Global.

I wanted to feature an Immortal character this week, and I couldn’t resist choosing Heimdall for Immortal and his Global.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Valindra Shadowmantle: Scholarly Wizard from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Valindra Shadowmantle, Scholarly Wizard

Ruling – Energy Drain Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page:
Energy Drain: After blockers are assigned, spin each character engaged with a character die with Energy Drain down one level. Character dice at level 1 can’t be spun down.”

Energy Drain will trigger after blockers have been assigned, and before the Global portion of the Attack Step.

Attack Step:
~ Assign Attackers
~ Assign Blockers
~ Energy Drain
~ Active player uses actions (if any)
~ Players use Globals
~ Assign and Resolve Damage

The term ‘engaged’ is defined on the WizKids Keywords page as, “a character blocking or being blocked is engaged with the opposing character.” Any character dice that block or are blocked by Valindra Shadowmantle, are considered to be engaged with her. Multiple character dice can be engaged with a single character at one time.

When a character die is engaged with Valindra Shadowmantle, her Energy Drain will trigger and cause that character die to spin down one level. If a character die is already level one, it can’t spin down. If a character die can’t spin down, Energy Drain has no effect on it. For example: Basic Sidekick dice are level one when they’re in the Field Zone on a character face. If a Sidekick die is engaged with Valindra Shadowmantle, Energy Drain has no effect on it.

After a character die is spun down, there is a chance it could be KO’d if it was dealt damage previously in the turn (or an effect is reducing the defense of character dice). If a character die with three defense has two damage on it already, and is spun down to a side with two or less defense, that character die will be KO’d. If that character was blocking, the blocked die is still considered blocked, but won’t deal or be dealt combat damage by the KO’d character die. This is because the KO’d character was KO’d before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step.

Energy Drain is not optional and it will spin down each character die engaged with Valindra Shadowmantle.

Ruling – Attune Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page:
Attune: While a character you control with Attune is active, when you use an action die, that character deals 1 damage to target player or character die (no matter how many of that character’s dice are active).”

Attune is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Attune triggers when you use any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die. Using a Continuous type action die requires you to place the die in the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool. If you activate a Continuous die’s ability from the Field Zone, this is not considered using it. For example, activating a Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” after it’s in the Field Zone is not considered to be the same as using it. Using it would be placing the Cold Gun die into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool.

While a character die with Attune is active, when you use an action die, the character die with Attune will deal one damage to a target character die or player. For example, if you have three Valindra Shadowmantle dice in the Field Zone when you use an action die, your Valindra Shadowmantle will deal only one damage total (not three damage) to a target character die or player.

Attune abilities are mandatory and not optional. When you have an active character with Attune and you use an action die, you must deal one damage to target player or character die, even if you would be forced to target one of your character dice or yourself.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Valindra Shadowmantle is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Evil affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #48 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Someone recently asked me how Energy Drain worked, and I had to go look up the keyword. In my local area, it’s not an ability that’s used much. I thought I would feature a recent card with Energy Drain, just in case there are other folks that don’t use it much and need a refresher on how it works. I also noticed the definition for Energy Drain on WizKids Keywords page is missing a word that’s crucial to how the ability functions. It says, “spin each character engaged with a character die” and it should say, “spin each character DIE engaged with a character die“. I hope WizKids updates their definition.

I like this card for drafts and casual play, but she’s not one I’d pick for a major meta team. If she had a purchase cost of four instead of five, then I would say she’d be worth considering. Her Attune can be useful against troublesome characters or be used to deal damage directly to your opponent. After dealing damage to a die, you can use a force block, like Giant Spider: Greater Beast, to spin a die down to a lower level in order to KO it. This character has many uses and is a great way to introduce some advanced strategy to players that are moving beyond the beginner level.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Hellfire Club: Members Only from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W The Hellfire Club, Members Only

Ruling – Ability

If you control the character die with the highest A, KO all other character dice

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step.

“Character dice” refer to the individual character dice and not the character card. For example: I have two Wolverine dice in the Field Zone, one with an attack of six and the other with an attack of two. When I use the Hellfire Club die, it will look at both of my Wolverine dice as separate character dice.

You can only use this die if you have a character die with the highest attack in the Field Zone. If you do not have a character die that has the highest attack, you will not be able to use this die because it will not have an effect.

If you have multiple character dice that are tied for the highest attack, you can still use the Hellfire Club, but you may only keep one of those dice and KO the rest. For example: If I have two Wolverine dice and Batman die in the Field Zone, all tied for the highest attack, I must choose one of them to remain in the Field Zone and KO the rest.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellfire Club is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #77 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I have been trying desperately to get this card to work with Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night. I’m not sure I’ll be able to get that team running as smooth as I’d like, but it’s definitely a fun team to play on a casual night. The Hellfire Club is devastating when your opponent is trying to keep characters active and it’s amazing to see it go off – when it works. There are plenty of great characters that have a high printed attack that are easy to purchase. I think the Hellfire Club is perfect for casual players that want to find a way around some of those pesky characters like Blob and Shriek. Those characters have low attack stats and they can be easily KO’d with Hellfire Club to allow your team some breathing room.

While I’ve been trying to work this team into a meta build, I don’t believe that it’s possible. I think my Jessica Jones team is still too slow and too vulnerable for it to be effective in any kind of major competitive play. I still would like to see this card find its way onto a competitive team because I believe it has potential. But if it doesn’t, it’s still an awesome card for casual play!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Cosmic Cube, Energy of the Beyonders

Ruling – Ability

Whenever an Action die or character ability deals damage this turn, increase that damage by 2.

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. The effect of the die will remain until end of turn.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is applied to each instance of damage. For example, if a character ability allows you to divide ability damage among two character dice, you will increase the damage dealt to each of those dice by two.

Any time an Action die or character ability deals damage, it will be increased by two for each Cosmic Cube die that was used that turn. For example, if two Cosmic Cube dice were used, damage from an Action die or character ability will be increased by a total of four.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is added to the damage total first, then the damage is applied to the target of the Action die or character ability. Reducing or preventing the initial damage from the Action die or character ability will not prevent the additional damage from Cosmic Cube.

This ability will also apply to any Action die character ability that your opponent can use on your turn. For example: If you you use one Cosmic Cube die and your opponent has Batgirl: Babs active, when you deal damage to her, she will increase her damage by two. Typically, an opponent will not be able to use an action die on your turn, but if they have a way to do so, damage dealt with that action die will also be increased by two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Cosmic Cube is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #86 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There are rulings for this card, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I don’t have much to say about this card, and not because it’s a bad card. There is no denying that this card is super powerful, especially with the new Attune ability that debuted in the Tomb of Annihilation set. There are plenty of crazy builds around this card, and that makes Bishop: Butterfly Effect from the X-Men First Class set a very important character for your team. He will prevent all of the non-combat damage you would be subjected to, until they Shriek him.

I would not recommend using this card in smaller, local scenes that are mostly casual. This is definitely a powerful and meta worthy card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Create Food and Water: Basic Action Card from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Create Food and Water, BAC

Ruling – Ability

“Draw dice from your bag until you draw a non-NPC die or your bag is empty. Prep all dice drawn this way.”

The die for this card is a basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step.

This card makes a reference to ‘non-NPC’ dice. NPC is the term that Dungeons and Dragons cards use for Sidekicks. Non-NPC die means non-Sidekick die.

The ability says that you draw dice until one of two different conditions are met. If the one or both of the conditions are met prior to drawing the first die, you will not be able to use the die because it will not have an effect. For example, if you want to use this die and your bag is already empty, you can’t use it.

If you use this die and begin drawing dice, you will continue to draw dice until you draw a die that’s not a Sidekick, or until your bag is empty, whichever occurs first. If you have five Sidekick dice in your bag when you use this die, you will end up drawing all five of those dice and you will not refill your bag to continue drawing. The dice you draw will go to the Prep Area.

Ruling – Global Ability

“Global: Pay 1. Once per turn, draw a die from your bag. Return it to your bag or add it to your Used Pile.”

Pay 1 means that you can pay one of any type of energy. You may only use this Global once per turn. You can use it once on your turn and once on your opponent’s turn because the Global does not say it can only be used on your turn.

When you pay for the ability, you draw one die from your bag. After you draw the die, you can decide if you want to return it to your bag or add it to your Used Pile.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Create Food and Water is a basic action card with no energy type.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ You must use three dice, which is why it says Use and not Max.
~ This card is an Common and is #4 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

So, I’m still not completely sure how I feel about this card. The Global helps prevent a dead roll on the action die, and it’s also useful in that it can be used on your turn as well as your opponent’s turn. But I’m scared to use this card for the same reason I’m scared of using Reclaim – my opponent could steal them and benefit from them too.

I think this die could be beneficial for churn and ramp, but only if you play a team that doesn’t rely on cycling non-Sidekicks a lot. Using this die and then drawing another action or character die just kills the momentum of it. I believe it will see lots of casual play and very possibly some competitive play as well.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

There has been an errata!

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

I will strikeout text that does not follow this errata and make any corrections needed. The corrections will be in red.

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Bifrost: Bridge Between Realms from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W The Bifrost, Bridge Between Realms

Ruling – Ability

“When you field a character die, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free.”

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

When you use this action die, it will go out of play, but the effect will remain until the end of your turn.

Fielding a character die is when you pay the fielding cost and move a character from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. Characters can also be fielded by other means, such as character abilities or action dice, but they are only considered ‘fielded’ if the wording on the card specifically says to ‘field’ the character die.

When you field a character die while this effect is active, you have the option of fielding a character die from your Used Pile. You will be able to field the character die from your Used Pile for free, meaning you will not have to pay the fielding cost associated with the character’s level. For example, if the character die you field is level three, the character die you field from your Used Pile will also be fielded at level three and not cost any energy to field.

Fielding a Sidekick will allow you to field a character die from your Used Pile at level one, because Sidekicks only have one level. However, you cannot field a Sidekick from your Used Pile with this ability because Sidekick dice are not character dice while in the Used Pile.

Fielding a character from your Used Pile with The Bifrost’s ability will trigger any When Fielded abilities, including this ability. The Bifrost’s ability will only trigger from character dice that you field from your Reserve Pool. This ability is optional because the card uses the word ‘may’. Even if the ability is triggered, you are not required to activate the ability.

Ruling – Global Ability

The Bifrost has a Global ability on its card that says:
“Global: Pay 0. Once per turn on your turn, spin one of your Sidekick character dice to its [SHIELD] face.”

This Global does not cost anything to activate. You only need to state that you are using the Global.

When you activate this Global, you choose one of your Sidekick dice in your Field Zone or Reserve Pool that’s showing a Sidekick character face, and then spin that die to its Shield energy face.

You can spin an Ally character to a single Shield energy face. The Ally character die must have a Shield energy face and also be in the Field Zone. Unlike Sidekick dice in the Reserve Pool, an Ally is only considered a Sidekick character while in the Field Zone.

This Global does not target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Bifrost is a Shield type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #124 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

There is a ruling for a Global similar to The Bifrost’s Global, and you can find it, here.
There is a ruling about spinning Ally character dice to energy faces, here.
There is an errata for this card and you can find it, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I know lots of folks are going completely bonkers for this card and many believe this card is very over powered. I do not believe this card is the meta buster that lots of folks think it is.  If the goal is to use The Bifrost for the When Fielded abilities on characters being fielded from the Used Pile, then Wonder Woman: Reflections is a solid counter. The Bifrost is a four cost non-basic action, and most of the meta worthy When Fielded type cards are three or four to purchase as well, which means you can cycle those dice before ever buying The Bifrost. I know some folks in the groups have mentioned using it with a Guy Rush type build, but I believe The Bifrost is not necessary for those builds. I think it would clunk up the bag too much and slow the team down.

There are lots of folks calling for an errata but it really doesn’t need it. In practice, this card works well when you happen to have lots of characters in your Used Pile. But the setup to get those dice in position is no easy feat. I think we’ll see this card in major competitive scenes as folks try their hardest to break it and exploit it. This card is fun in draft and likely going to be fun in casual play as well. I think it might become a nuisance in Golden Age play if used with the right cards, but I don’t think it’s powerful enough that it needs an errata or a ban – yet. There could be another perfect storm, like Bard Blitz, waiting for its time to shine, but only time will tell.

If you have a build that you think is perfect for this card, I’d love to see it and try it! This card seems like it would be lots of fun to use with the right team, but I don’t plan to build around it myself. But I’m definitely open to seeing builds and trying them out. I’d also love to see what others think about this card, so please, leave me a comment!

~ If an errata or ruling should happen, I’ll most definitely add it to this article!

And – the errata happened. I believe it only happened because the ability wasn’t functioning the way they truly intended it. Now, the card is definitely not a meta-buster. I don’t think we’ll see this card much, if at all, in major competitive play now.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m back! I hope that everyone had a wonderful holiday season and started the new year off in good spirits! Now, it’s back to work and back to my regularly scheduled Confusing Card of the Week articles. I want to start the year off with a monster that will hopefully keep the bad spirits away for the entire year!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Basilisk: Greater Monstrosity from the Dungeons and Dragons Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Basilisk, Greater Monstrosity

Ruling – Deadly Ability

WizKids Keywords page:
Deadly: Character dice that are engaged with a character die that has Deadly are KO’d at the end of the turn (even if the character with Deadly has been KO’d or leaves the Field Zone).

Supplemental Definition:
Engaged: A character blocking or being blocked is engaged with the opposing character.”

Any character die that blocks or is blocked by a character die with the Deadly keyword, will be KO’d at the end of the turn, during the Clean Up Step. This applies to all character dice that are engaged with a Deadly character die.

If the blocked/blocking character die with Deadly is KO’d or removed, the character dice that were engaged with it are still KO’d at the end of turn.

For Example:
I have a single level one Basilisk die in my Field Zone. If I attack with that die and it’s blocked by three character dice, all three of those dice will be KO’d at the end of turn. Even if my Basilisk die is KO’d, all three of those blocking character dice are still KO’d at the end of turn.

Ruling – Ability

Basilisk has an additional ability on its card that says:
“When Basilisk attacks, target opposing character die must block this turn (if able).”

This ability triggers for each individual Basilisk die that attacks, but only when they attack. When a Basilisk die attacks, it will target one opposing character die and that die must block the Basilisk die.

If an ability would prevent a character die from being able to block, then it does not block the Basilisk. This falls under the general game rule of “can’t beats can”, which means any ability that prevents something from happening will overrule an ability that tries to force it to happen.

The Basilisk’s ability does not prevent the opponent from choosing additional blockers. The opponent can choose other blockers to block the Basilisk aside from the forced blocker, but all the blockers will be KO’d at the end of turn because of the Deadly keyword on the Basilisk’s card.

This ability is not optional. If there are legal targets to choose from, the Basilisk must choose a target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Basilisk is a Bolt type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The Basilisk is a nasty dude. If you pull him in a draft or use him in a limited type event, he could be very problematic for your opponent. He can take out the biggest threat in your opponent’s field, thanks to the Deadly keyword. One downside to this guy is that your opponent will get the chance to reroll the guys you just KO’d on their next turn. When using the Basilisk to clear dice from the field, you want to be sure you’ll benefit from it without helping your opponent – if possible. Letting them reroll a Shriek or DWiz might not be a good idea, depending on what their targets were to begin with.

Basilisk is not expensive to buy, which makes him great for drafts. He’s also got decent defense overall, but that fielding cost is not the best for a character that’s likely going to need to be fielded a few different times in a game. I still think he’s a great draft pick, and possibly even decent for a limited format that uses only D&D sets. His fielding cost is what will likely keep him from seeing a lot of major meta play, but seeing him across from you is not out of the realm of possibility!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Angela: Hunter of Demons from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Z1 Angela, Hunter of Demons

Ruling – Infiltrate Ability

WizKids Keywords page:
“When a character die with Infiltrate attacks and is not blocked, you may choose to remove that character die from combat and not deal combat damage to your opponent. If you do, that character die deals 1 damage to your opponent and the die remains in your Field Zone instead of going to your Used Pile.”

Infiltrate is an ability that allows you to choose between dealing combat damage as normal, or keeping your character active in the field and only dealing one ability damage to your opponent instead.

Infiltrate damage is dealt after blockers are assigned during the Attack Step. After blockers are assigned, you can choose to activate the Infiltrate ability on each character die that has Infiltrate. When you activate the Infiltrate ability, the dice are immediately removed from the Attack Zone and placed in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is still part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking dice are placed here to show they are in combat.

Infiltrate damage is considered ability damage and not combat damage. If another ability would affect damage being dealt to a player, this damage can be affected. If the ability specifies combat damage, Infiltrate damage cannot be affected by that ability.

If a character die is blocked, they cannot use their Infiltrate ability, even if the blocker is removed prior to combat damage being resolve. Once a character is blocked, they are considered to be blocked for that entire combat.

If a character die is not blocked, that die can use it’s Infiltrate ability to deal one damage directly to the opponent. If they do, that die does not deal any combat damage.

Example:
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ This is where attacking dice are assigned.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ This is where blocking dice are assigned.
~ Any dice with Infiltrate can be activated in this step after all blockers have been assigned and those dice with Infiltrate are not blocked.
~ Once activated, the dice will be removed from the Attack Zone, remaining in the Field Zone, and your opponent will take one damage from each dice with Infiltrate. Those dice are no longer considered to be attacking.

Ruling – Ability

Angela has an additional ability on her card that says:
While Angela is active, your character dice with Infiltrate cannot be blocked and deal no combat damage.

Angela’s second ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Angela is active, any character dice that have the Infiltrate keyword will not be able to deal combat damage. This means that any of your dice that have Infiltrate will not deal damage to a character die that they’re blocking. The dice with Infiltrate will still take combat damage from any dice they block.

You will also not be able to deal combat damage to your opponent with any character dice that have Infiltrate. You can choose to not activate a character die’s Infiltrate ability while Angela is active. If you choose not to activate Infiltrate, that character die will deal zero combat damage to your opponent and then go Out of Play.

Example:
I have one level two Angela (4A/3D) and one level three The Spot: Dr. Jonathan Ohnn (2A/3D) in the Field Zone. Angela and The Spot have Infiltrate.
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ I assign The Spot to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ The Spot cannot be blocked because of Angela’s ability.
~ I now choose if I want to activate Infiltrate.
~ If I choose to activate Infiltrate, The Spot will be removed from the Attack Zone and he’ll deal one damage to my opponent.
~ If I choose not to activate Infiltrate, we move to the next portion of the Attack Step.
Assign and Resolve Damage
~ If The Spot’s Infiltrate was activated, then there isn’t anything to assign or resolve in this step.
~ If I didn’t activate Infiltrate, The Spot will assign and deal zero damage (not 2, because of Angela’s ability) to my opponent and immediately be placed Out of Play.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Angela is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Guardians of the Galaxy affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Super Rare and is #117 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I featured Angela: Art of the Hunt (uncommon) a little while back, but I noticed several questions popping up about this specific Angela, so I decided to feature her this week.

I know that a lot of folks get nervous when they can’t deal combat damage to their opponent or even to blocked attackers. But, this Angela guarantees that you can get your Infiltrate damage done. And with cards like Black Widow: Spider’s Bite out there, I think it’s a fair trade off. There are a few inexpensive Infiltrate dudes that can help you get more dice in the Field quicker than trying to buy multiples of Angela or Black Widow.

I’ve played a team using Angela, Black Widow, and The Spot – and I love that team! I haven’t played it much lately, but I need to revisit it now that a bazillion more sets have dropped in the last few months. It can be a very deadly combo if played effectively and that’s what I’m working on now!

There is a decent combo using Angela and True Believer’s Global too. The idea is that your attackers will be unblockable because they have Infiltrate. Once you get to the Globals part of the Attack Step, you use the Global on Angela and now your unblocked attackers can deal their combat damage to your opponent for a finishing blow.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Kobold Trap: Greater Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Kobold Trap, Greater Trap

Ruling – Keywords and Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent fields an Adventurer character die.
Effect: Purchase one of your character dice with Swarm for free and place it into your bag.”

Keyword Definitions

Kobold Trap has the Trap keyword.  WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

The definition for Adventurer can be found on the Keywords page:
Adventurer: Any character with the Experience ability.

How To Use/Trigger This Trap

When you use a Trap die, you place it into the Field Zone. This is considered ‘using’ it for card abilities that reference using an action die. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability can remove an action die.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

When an opponent fields any Adventurer character die, you will trigger all of your Kobold Traps in the Field Zone. For each of your Kobold Traps that are triggered, you can purchase a character die for free, so long as it has the Swarm keyword.

The die you purchase must be from one of your cards, and the die is free, meaning you do not need to spend any energy.

After you purchase the character die, you must put that die into your bag.

Kobold Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Kobold Trap.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Kobold Trap is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #74 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I think this card is great if you use it within the set, or even in a limited Dungeons and Dragons event. All three D&D sets are loaded with great Adventurer cards so it’s likely you would get some use from this card within the D&D IP. I’m not certain it’ll be used much outside of limited constructed or sealed/draft type events though. The major meta doesn’t have any highly used Adventurers except for Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim and I’ve seen less of him with the emergence of Shriek: Sonic Beam. I wouldn’t write this card off yet, especially if we see the increase use of an Adventurer card.

We have a limited constructed event coming up this Saturday and the only legal cards for the event are ones from the D&D sets. I’ve been looking at this card for my team so I can use some of the more expensive Swarm characters, like my Stirge: Epic Beast.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!