Archive for the ‘Strategy’ Category

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Heimdall: The All-Seeing from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Heimdall, The All-Seeing

Ruling – Immortal Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page does not have Immortal listed yet. The rule insert has the definition as:
Immortal: When a character die with Immortal would go to the Used Pile (except when it is purchased), instead add that character die to its owner’s bag.”

If a character die with Immortal would be placed in the Used Pile, for any reason, it goes to the player’s bag instead. This counts for abilities that swap character dice, like Mutation: Basic Action Card. For example: If I use Mutation to swap my active Heimdall character die in the Field Zone with a Batman character die in my Used Pile, Batman will be placed in the Field Zone on level one and Heimdall will go to my bag instead of my Used Pile.

When a character die with Immortal attacks and is not blocked, it will go Out of Play after damaging the opposing player. But, instead of going to the Used Pile at the end of turn, it will go their owner’s bag instead.

If an ability blanks or removes the Immortal keyword from the character’s card or from the character dice in other areas besides the Field Zone, Immortal will not work.

Immortal is not optional. If a character with Immortal would go to the Used Pile, it will go to the bag instead. You cannot choose to leave it in the Used Pile.

Ruling – Ability

“When fielded, draw a die. If it is a character die with Immortal, field it for free at level 1. Otherwise, Prep it.”

Heimdall has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will only trigger when the die with the ability is considered to have been Fielded and not swapped, placed, moved, etc. There are abilities on cards that will tell you to Field a character die, and those abilities will trigger When Fielded abilities.

Heimdall’s ability says that when his die is fielded, you draw a die from your bag. If the die that you draw is a character die and it has the Immortal keyword, you field it for free at level one. If it doesn’t have the Immortal keyword, you place it in your Prep Area.

If you attempt to draw a die and there are no dice in your bag, you refill your bag from your Used Pile.

If you draw a die and it’s a character die that has the Immortal keyword on its card, or has the keyword granted to it by an ability, you must field that die for free at level one.

If the die you drew is not a character die with the Immortal keyword, you must place it in your Prep Area.

If draw an Immortal character die and it has a When Fielded ability, it will trigger because Heimdall’s ability says to field that die.

These abilities are not optional. When Heimdall is fielded, you must draw a die. If you draw an Immortal character die, it must be fielded at level one. If you draw a die that’s not an Immortal character die, you must place it in your Prep Area.

Ruling – Global

“Global: Pay MASK. Once per turn, on your turn, you may Prep 2 Sidekick dice from your Used Pile.”

A Global is available for both players to use. There is no inherent ability to prevent a player from using a Global, though you may be able to use the ability on a card to prevent the use of a Global. For a player to use a Global on their opponent’s team, they must meet the proper requirements. Globals cannot be used for no effect.

Heimdall’s Global requires that a player spend one Mask energy. A player may only activate this Global one time on their turn, because the Global places those limits on its use. However, if you and your opponent both have the same Heimdall card on your teams, you can use each Heimdall’s Global one time on your turn. This is because each Heimdall is a different card, and each Global belongs to a different player.

During your turn, if you use Heimdall’s Global, you may move two Sidekick dice from your Used Pile to your Prep Area. You can still use this Global even if you only have one Sidekick die in your Used Pile. You cannot use the Global if you don’t have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile. If you have two or more Sidekick dice in your Used Pile, you must move two of them. You are not permitted to choose one when there are two available, because the Global specifically says ‘Prep 2 Sidekick dice’ and not ‘Prep up to 2 Sidekick dice’.

Character dice with the Ally keyword are not eligible to be selected as Sidekick dice for this Global ability because Ally character dice are only considered Sidekick dice while in the Field Zone.

Sidekick dice that are spent are not available for Heimdall’s Global on that same turn. Spent dice are Out of Play until the end of turn.

You can only use the Global on your turn, and only once for each Heimdall card.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Heimdall is a Mask type character card.
~ He does not have an affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #24 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

PXG has returned as HXG! Credit to Andy and Chris (True Mister Six) from the Ministry of Dice for their acronym. Those two have an awesome podcast that I highly recommend. It’s fun and I always enjoy hearing Andy’s new aka.

But, it’s nice to have a form of PXG back in the game. I was never on the ‘Ban PXG’ bandwagon, because I didn’t think he needed to be banned. I felt he needed a hefty errata, but didn’t deserve a ban. HXG is what PXG should have been to begin with. A once per turn, on your turn Global is more than appropriate. The Global is quite useful, though I’m not certain the rest of his common card is all that useful outside of casual events. You could probably build a casual Immortal team using him, but he won’t be played in the competitive scenes for his ability. Players will definitely look at all the rarities of Heimdall, mainly for the Global.

I wanted to feature an Immortal character this week, and I couldn’t resist choosing Heimdall for Immortal and his Global.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

The Exiles are a group of various time displaced characters that are trying to correct issues that have occurred in the various timelines. I’m not a huge fan of time travel, time displacement, etc, but I like many of the characters associated with the Exiles. I know very little about the affiliation or what those characters have done while part of the Exiles.

Participation Prize – Blink: Warp-Powered Crystals

Participation cards are usually given to all players that participate in the event. I usually give out the participation prizes to all players, even if they received one from the previous OP event. This may be different at each venue based on how many players and kits the store has available.

W Blink, Warp-Powered Crystals

This is a direct reprint of the common card from the X-Men First Class set. Blink: Warp-Powered Crystals is somewhat pricey for what her ability does. Her ability requires you to pay a Mask to use it, which is appropriate. I just wish she had a purchase cost of four instead. If her ability didn’t have a cost associated with it, then the purchase cost of five would feel more appropriate.

Her ability makes her a great blocker, because if she’s KO’d, you can bring her right back. You need to keep a Mask in your Reserve Pool for her ability, but it’s not stretch with all the ways there are to manipulate dice. Having her around could make your opponent think twice about attacking. They could lose their character die while yours comes right back. I think she’s a good Participation Prize and I also think she’s a decent card choice for a newer player to experiment with. I don’t think she has the potential to make her way into any major meta scenes at the moment.

Fellowship Prize – Morph: Exile

The Fellowship Prize is an additional prize for a player, usually one that hasn’t won another prize yet. We used to take votes, but that took way too long. Now, we have each player (except the first place player) roll a D20 in the order of their standings and the player that rolls the highest number, gets the Fellowship card. We also require that players be present to be able to roll for the Fellowship Prize. Some stores give the Fellowship Prize to the player in last place and I’ve even seen stores draw names from a bucket. How you determine the Fellowship player is different for each venue so check with your FLGS to see how they choose their Fellowship player. 

W Morph, Exile

Morph: Exile is a brand new card, and you can find his dice in the X-Men First Class set. This guy is a great way to protect your Mimic: Borrowed Talent dice from being pinged out of the Field! Lots of folks like to use Mimic with their Sidekick dice for ramp, but that means Mimic is a 1A/1D die – making him easy to get rid of. With this Morph, that’s no longer as big an issue! Morph can absorb two or three times as much damage as Mimic if he copied a Sidekick die. Not only is he Mimic’s protector, but he can protect your Blink if you don’t have a Mask to bring her back with.

First Place Prize – Sabretooth: Exile

The first place cards are given to the player that wins the event. These cards are typically new cards and not alternate art or reprint cards.

W Sabretooth, Exile

Sabretooth: Exile is also a brand new card and you can find his dice in the X-Men First Class set. I love that he only cost four to purchase, especially since you need him to boost your other Exiles attack and defense. I have never liked expensive boost characters. I like being able a character like this without needing to ramp up for it. Sabretooth is super awesome because he not only boosts your other Exiles, but he gives the bonus to himself as well! It’s a While Active, so only one Sabretooth die is needed in the Field Zone. But, combine him with a card that gives him Overcrush and you’ve got a heavy hitting dude! You could even use Mimic to copy him and then you’ve got more heavy hitting dudes with Morph to protect them.

Conclusion

These cards are all pretty or cool looking, and they all have decent abilities, especially Morph and Sabretooth for an Exiles team. I’m pretty sure you won’t see these cards much in competitive play, but I think they have the best chance to shine in casual. I want to build an Exiles team with Sabretooth, Morph, Mimic, and Sasquatch! But I have to get my hands on Morph and Sabretooth first.

If you want to play with any of these cards, you should check your FLGS for events! I definitely recommend playing to try and get these cards because they are worth having, especially if you like building fun teams!

Thanks for reading and be sure to follow me on social media and YouTube!
Need to look up a card? Check out DM RetroBox for all you card searching needs!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Valindra Shadowmantle: Scholarly Wizard from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Valindra Shadowmantle, Scholarly Wizard

Ruling – Energy Drain Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page:
Energy Drain: After blockers are assigned, spin each character engaged with a character die with Energy Drain down one level. Character dice at level 1 can’t be spun down.”

Energy Drain will trigger after blockers have been assigned, and before the Global portion of the Attack Step.

Attack Step:
~ Assign Attackers
~ Assign Blockers
~ Energy Drain
~ Active player uses actions (if any)
~ Players use Globals
~ Assign and Resolve Damage

The term ‘engaged’ is defined on the WizKids Keywords page as, “a character blocking or being blocked is engaged with the opposing character.” Any character dice that block or are blocked by Valindra Shadowmantle, are considered to be engaged with her. Multiple character dice can be engaged with a single character at one time.

When a character die is engaged with Valindra Shadowmantle, her Energy Drain will trigger and cause that character die to spin down one level. If a character die is already level one, it can’t spin down. If a character die can’t spin down, Energy Drain has no effect on it. For example: Basic Sidekick dice are level one when they’re in the Field Zone on a character face. If a Sidekick die is engaged with Valindra Shadowmantle, Energy Drain has no effect on it.

After a character die is spun down, there is a chance it could be KO’d if it was dealt damage previously in the turn (or an effect is reducing the defense of character dice). If a character die with three defense has two damage on it already, and is spun down to a side with two or less defense, that character die will be KO’d. If that character was blocking, the blocked die is still considered blocked, but won’t deal or be dealt combat damage by the KO’d character die. This is because the KO’d character was KO’d before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step.

Energy Drain is not optional and it will spin down each character die engaged with Valindra Shadowmantle.

Ruling – Attune Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page:
Attune: While a character you control with Attune is active, when you use an action die, that character deals 1 damage to target player or character die (no matter how many of that character’s dice are active).”

Attune is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Attune triggers when you use any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die. Using a Continuous type action die requires you to place the die in the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool. If you activate a Continuous die’s ability from the Field Zone, this is not considered using it. For example, activating a Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” after it’s in the Field Zone is not considered to be the same as using it. Using it would be placing the Cold Gun die into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool.

While a character die with Attune is active, when you use an action die, the character die with Attune will deal one damage to a target character die or player. For example, if you have three Valindra Shadowmantle dice in the Field Zone when you use an action die, your Valindra Shadowmantle will deal only one damage total (not three damage) to a target character die or player.

Attune abilities are mandatory and not optional. When you have an active character with Attune and you use an action die, you must deal one damage to target player or character die, even if you would be forced to target one of your character dice or yourself.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Valindra Shadowmantle is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Evil affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #48 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Someone recently asked me how Energy Drain worked, and I had to go look up the keyword. In my local area, it’s not an ability that’s used much. I thought I would feature a recent card with Energy Drain, just in case there are other folks that don’t use it much and need a refresher on how it works. I also noticed the definition for Energy Drain on WizKids Keywords page is missing a word that’s crucial to how the ability functions. It says, “spin each character engaged with a character die” and it should say, “spin each character DIE engaged with a character die“. I hope WizKids updates their definition.

I like this card for drafts and casual play, but she’s not one I’d pick for a major meta team. If she had a purchase cost of four instead of five, then I would say she’d be worth considering. Her Attune can be useful against troublesome characters or be used to deal damage directly to your opponent. After dealing damage to a die, you can use a force block, like Giant Spider: Greater Beast, to spin a die down to a lower level in order to KO it. This character has many uses and is a great way to introduce some advanced strategy to players that are moving beyond the beginner level.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

The newest set for HeroClix is going to be X-Men Xavier’s School, due out in February of 2018. You can pre-order this set at your FLGS and I highly recommend that you look into it! There are already lots of great pieces that have been spoiled and the set is definitely looking like lots of fun!

WizKids sent me some spoilers to preview and share. Thank you, WizKids! You are super awesome for allowing me to share these powerful new pieces with the Clix community!

Preview #1 – Chamber (Rare)

This guy is really cool looking!

041_Chamber_Figure_Preview

He’s got the Generation X and X-Men keywords and he’s 70 points. He has two star trait abilities. The first is “Generation X – POWER: Move up to 5 squares, then make a close attack.” I can’t tell you how many times I’ve used an ability, like Sidestep or Charge, and been just out of reach of being able to attack an opposing piece, and then lose those abilities without being able to make good use of them. Well, Chamber has this as a trait, so he won’t get damaged out of it!

If that’s not cool enough for you, how does a traited Poison sound? “A Living Psionic Furnace – Poison. When he uses it, he deals penetrating damage to opposing characters of less points.” This makes him well worth the 70 points because there are lots of popular pieces less than 70 points.

I also like that he has Force Blast on all five of his clicks and he gets Regenerate on his last click. Penetrating/Psychic Blast for three damage on his first three clicks is also nice. I like the idea of using Chamber with some other ranged characters that have Penetrating/Psychic Blast because of his Enhancement ability, which would increase that damage by one if they’re adjacent to Chamber when they attack.

This piece is only a rare and has some really great abilities. I can’t wait to see him in action!

Preview #2 – Dust (Super Rare)

This is a very ‘unique’ character and her sculpt is gorgeous!

056_Dust_Figure_Preview

She’s got the Hellions and X-Men keywords and she’s only 50 points. She also has two star trait abilities. The first trait says, “X-Student – When this character’s or an adjacent friendly character’s attack roll includes exactly one [5], modify one target’s defense -1.” I love this trait! I roll at least one five, a lot. But I usually roll a one or two on the other die and sometimes, I’m one short of hitting the target with that roll. Dust’s ability could help me a great deal, because it could be the difference between a hit and a miss!

Her second trait ability says, “Scouring Sands – Smoke Cloud as FREE, but only to place 4 markers. At the end of each opponent’s turn, deal 1 damage to each opposing character occupying or adjacent to a Smoke Cloud marker placed by Dust.” This is a great ability to use against characters that are pushed or characters that your opponent doesn’t want to push. It’s also a great way to box in a piece and force your opponent to waste and action moving a dude that they didn’t want to use that turn. You could also use this ability to possibly encourage your opponent to move a dude that’s adjacent to Dust. This is such a great ability!

Dust also has a special power on her defense for the first three clicks called Swirling Sands. It says, “Swirling Sands – Super Senses. Dust modifies defense +1 for each adjacent Smoke Cloud marker placed by her.” This special power is crazy good, especially since she already has a 17 and 16 for her defense totals. Even with the ‘rule of three’, she’ll still have a 20 and 19 respectively. And let’s not forget that this special power also gives her Super Senses. If an opponent manages a non-critical hit against her massive defense, Dust still has a chance to evade it.

Dust can also use the X-Men team ability, and with Regeneration on clicks four and five, that’s pretty useful! Her Sidestep and Precision Strike are also very useful for a character like this. Her abilities are worthy of her super rare status and I hope I manage to get one!

Preview #3 – Jean Grey (Chase)

You’ll want to ‘chase’ this Jean Grey down for your team!

065_Jean_Grey_Figure_Preview

Jean Grey has the Age of Apocalypse and X-Men keywords. and she has two different starting clicks at 90 and 60 points. Jean Grey has one star trait ability that says, “Survivor of the Age of Apocalypse… For Now – When Jean Grey is damaged by an opposing character, give that character a Revenge token. When Jean Grey attacks a character with one or more tokens named “Revenge”, modify attack and damage +1. When Jean Grey is KO’d, you may choose an opposing character with a token named “Revenge” and remove all of those tokens and roll that many d6s. For each roll, [5]-[6]: Deal that character 1 penetrating damage.” Wow, that’s a lot to take in. I like this ability because the Revenge tokens increase your chances of hitting, and increase your damage too. I also like that you still have an opportunity to deal damage to characters that have Revenge tokens even if she’s KO’d.

Jean Grey has a special attack power on her first three clicks. If you play her at 90 points, you get three clicks of her special. If you play her at 60 points, you only get one click. Her special attack power says, “Telepathic Tempest – Penetrating/Psychic Blast. Telekinesis, normally or as FREE. If Jean Grey uses Telekinesis as FREE, her range value becomes 3 and replace “6” with “3” in the text of the power.” This power could be incredibly useful because you could use Telekinesis as a free action against an opposing character that’s adjacent to her, and if it succeeds, you can blast them for three or four penetrating damage! This is crazy cool! I don’t mind that the range is reduced, because you only need them far enough away to make ranged attack.

If all that just wasn’t enough, Jean Grey has a special defense power on click four thru six. It says, “Shield Them From Nuclear Winter – Regeneration. Barrier as FREE but only to place 1 marker.” So once she’s beyond the point that she can she throw her opponents around and blast them with her psychic abilities, she can then place a barrier between her and an opposing character that might be shooting at her and heal herself! She could also use that barrier to protect a team mate from being a potential target and still heal herself. And she has the X-Men team ability, so if she takes damage from using the team ability, she can heal herself on her next turn.

Final Thoughts

Jean Grey is a bag full of tricks and I absolutely love it! From what I’ve seen so far, she is likely going to the be one of the pieces I want the most. Not to mention, that sculpt is kinda cool. I could easily use her on her 60 point starting click, but I like the idea of having those extra two clicks of pushing folks around while still being able to blast them with her mind powers! I really like Dust too because of her Smoke Cloud and all the shenanigans she can do because of it. It seems like this set is going to be a lot of fun to play, both in sealed and constructed. Be sure you sign up for the pre-release events that are popping up and hopefully you can get your hands on some of these powerful X-Men!

Which figure are you most looking forward to?
What do you think of the abilities on these figures?
Let me know in a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks again to WizKids! And thank you, to all of you who are reading and sharing this article. I appreciate it very much and would also be very grateful if you remember to like, follow, and subscribe to my pages.

     LLAP
Live long, and Prob it!

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

I’ve decided to introduce a new monthly article series called HeroClix Figure Spotlight! In this article series, I want to showcase a figure that I enjoy playing with and think other players might enjoy as well. I want to keep the choices Modern Age, but I might occasionally throw in an older piece here or there. All the showcased figures will be pieces I’ve used multiple times in various types of games, unless stated otherwise. I want to help fellow players and I’m hoping that this article series is helpful for a variety of players!

Welcome to my first article of HeroClix Figure Spotlight! I had a very difficult time choosing the figure I wanted to highlight for this article. I decided to go with a figure from the Star Trek Away Team: The Original Series set, Lt. Uhura!

029

Figure Information

Point Value: 40 points
Dial Depth: 4 Clicks
Keywords: Starfleet

Team Ability
United Federation of Planets:
When this character is given a MOVE action, modify speed +1.

Standard Powers/Abilities
They will be listed as Power: Click Number(s).

Movement
Sidestep: 1, 2, 3, and 4

Defense
Defend: 3 and 4

Damage
Perplex: 4 – Also 1, 2, and 3, but with a special power.

Traits and Special Powers/Abilities
Lt. Uhura has one trait and one special damage power.

Trait:
Communications Officer
At the beginning of the game, you may choose a copyable team ability that an opposing character can use. As long as Lt. Uhura is on the map, adjacent friendly characters and friendly characters with the Starfleet keyword can use that team ability.

Damage Special: 1, 2, and 3
Monitoring All Channels, Captain
Perplex. When Lt. Uhura uses it, she has a range value of 10 and can use [Improved Targeting][Hindering][Blocking][Elevated].

Opinion and Strategy

Back when I did my review of the Star Trek Away Team Starter, I was test playing those pieces against some of the locals and their Modern Age casual teams. The starter plays well on its own, but since the set released, I’ve played several variations of Starfleet themed teams and this Uhura is the usually the first piece I choose. Uhura is only 40 points, which leaves plenty of room on a 300 or 400 point team for plenty of other pieces.

I love using this piece because she can use Perplex with a range of 10 and she can see through almost anything (except characters). She’s easy to keep hidden from the enemy’s line of fire but can still benefit her own team. She has Defend on her last two clicks, which I haven’t found very useful yet. Sidestep is invaluable when trying to move her into a more favorable position.

One of my favorite teams to play using this piece is:
(40) Lt. Uhura (Rare) #29
(100) Captain Kirk (Rare – Title) #26
(45) Dr. McCoy (Uncommon) #20
(15) Nurse Chapel (Common) #9
(50) Mr. Scott (Starter) #103
(50) Lt. Sulu (Chase) #50
(300 points)

I know that some folks think two Support pieces is too many, but I’ve found them to be very useful in my local meta. This is not a team I’d take to a WKO or ROC, but it’s great for our local play. Kirk can pull in Starfleet Security Officers (Common #3) so they can take a KO, or Yeoman Rand (Uncommon #22), whichever I need at the time. I will sometimes substitute Dr. McCoy for Ensign Chekov (Common #7) so I have Probability Control, but it depends on who is playing and what they’re playing. I typically only swap those two if folks say they’re using Prob pieces. I don’t like using Prob when nobody else is in small local games.

Uhura has been invaluable on all my Starfleet builds, because my opponent is usually tied up with Kirk or Sulu or trying to kill my healers and they neglect to pay Uhura any attention. All the while, she’s buffing someone’s combat values and making it that much harder to hit Sulu, or giving that extra bit of damage or attack to Kirk. I’ve even used her to buff McCoy’s speed so he could get in base contact with Kirk, who was one square away from where McCoy would have stopped. I also love that Uhura can use her special Perplex on opposing figures too, because it doesn’t say that she can’t!

She also has the ability to give all your Starfleet dudes a copied opposing Team Ability. That’s pretty handy with ones that give Stealth or Improved Targeting into Hindering terrain, which is really nice to have with Kirk’s first two clicks.

What do you think of this figure?
Do you have a figure you would use in place of this one?
Is there a figure you would like me to Spotlight?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and sub for more HeroClix content!

 LLAPLive long, and Prob it!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Create Food and Water: Basic Action Card from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Create Food and Water, BAC

Ruling – Ability

“Draw dice from your bag until you draw a non-NPC die or your bag is empty. Prep all dice drawn this way.”

The die for this card is a basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step.

This card makes a reference to ‘non-NPC’ dice. NPC is the term that Dungeons and Dragons cards use for Sidekicks. Non-NPC die means non-Sidekick die.

The ability says that you draw dice until one of two different conditions are met. If the one or both of the conditions are met prior to drawing the first die, you will not be able to use the die because it will not have an effect. For example, if you want to use this die and your bag is already empty, you can’t use it.

If you use this die and begin drawing dice, you will continue to draw dice until you draw a die that’s not a Sidekick, or until your bag is empty, whichever occurs first. If you have five Sidekick dice in your bag when you use this die, you will end up drawing all five of those dice and you will not refill your bag to continue drawing. The dice you draw will go to the Prep Area.

Ruling – Global Ability

“Global: Pay 1. Once per turn, draw a die from your bag. Return it to your bag or add it to your Used Pile.”

Pay 1 means that you can pay one of any type of energy. You may only use this Global once per turn. You can use it once on your turn and once on your opponent’s turn because the Global does not say it can only be used on your turn.

When you pay for the ability, you draw one die from your bag. After you draw the die, you can decide if you want to return it to your bag or add it to your Used Pile.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Create Food and Water is a basic action card with no energy type.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ You must use three dice, which is why it says Use and not Max.
~ This card is an Common and is #4 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

So, I’m still not completely sure how I feel about this card. The Global helps prevent a dead roll on the action die, and it’s also useful in that it can be used on your turn as well as your opponent’s turn. But I’m scared to use this card for the same reason I’m scared of using Reclaim – my opponent could steal them and benefit from them too.

I think this die could be beneficial for churn and ramp, but only if you play a team that doesn’t rely on cycling non-Sidekicks a lot. Using this die and then drawing another action or character die just kills the momentum of it. I believe it will see lots of casual play and very possibly some competitive play as well.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

There has been an errata!

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

I will strikeout text that does not follow this errata and make any corrections needed. The corrections will be in red.

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Bifrost: Bridge Between Realms from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W The Bifrost, Bridge Between Realms

Ruling – Ability

“When you field a character die, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free.”

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

When you use this action die, it will go out of play, but the effect will remain until the end of your turn.

Fielding a character die is when you pay the fielding cost and move a character from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. Characters can also be fielded by other means, such as character abilities or action dice, but they are only considered ‘fielded’ if the wording on the card specifically says to ‘field’ the character die.

When you field a character die while this effect is active, you have the option of fielding a character die from your Used Pile. You will be able to field the character die from your Used Pile for free, meaning you will not have to pay the fielding cost associated with the character’s level. For example, if the character die you field is level three, the character die you field from your Used Pile will also be fielded at level three and not cost any energy to field.

Fielding a Sidekick will allow you to field a character die from your Used Pile at level one, because Sidekicks only have one level. However, you cannot field a Sidekick from your Used Pile with this ability because Sidekick dice are not character dice while in the Used Pile.

Fielding a character from your Used Pile with The Bifrost’s ability will trigger any When Fielded abilities, including this ability. The Bifrost’s ability will only trigger from character dice that you field from your Reserve Pool. This ability is optional because the card uses the word ‘may’. Even if the ability is triggered, you are not required to activate the ability.

Ruling – Global Ability

The Bifrost has a Global ability on its card that says:
“Global: Pay 0. Once per turn on your turn, spin one of your Sidekick character dice to its [SHIELD] face.”

This Global does not cost anything to activate. You only need to state that you are using the Global.

When you activate this Global, you choose one of your Sidekick dice in your Field Zone or Reserve Pool that’s showing a Sidekick character face, and then spin that die to its Shield energy face.

You can spin an Ally character to a single Shield energy face. The Ally character die must have a Shield energy face and also be in the Field Zone. Unlike Sidekick dice in the Reserve Pool, an Ally is only considered a Sidekick character while in the Field Zone.

This Global does not target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Bifrost is a Shield type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #124 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

There is a ruling for a Global similar to The Bifrost’s Global, and you can find it, here.
There is a ruling about spinning Ally character dice to energy faces, here.
There is an errata for this card and you can find it, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I know lots of folks are going completely bonkers for this card and many believe this card is very over powered. I do not believe this card is the meta buster that lots of folks think it is.  If the goal is to use The Bifrost for the When Fielded abilities on characters being fielded from the Used Pile, then Wonder Woman: Reflections is a solid counter. The Bifrost is a four cost non-basic action, and most of the meta worthy When Fielded type cards are three or four to purchase as well, which means you can cycle those dice before ever buying The Bifrost. I know some folks in the groups have mentioned using it with a Guy Rush type build, but I believe The Bifrost is not necessary for those builds. I think it would clunk up the bag too much and slow the team down.

There are lots of folks calling for an errata but it really doesn’t need it. In practice, this card works well when you happen to have lots of characters in your Used Pile. But the setup to get those dice in position is no easy feat. I think we’ll see this card in major competitive scenes as folks try their hardest to break it and exploit it. This card is fun in draft and likely going to be fun in casual play as well. I think it might become a nuisance in Golden Age play if used with the right cards, but I don’t think it’s powerful enough that it needs an errata or a ban – yet. There could be another perfect storm, like Bard Blitz, waiting for its time to shine, but only time will tell.

If you have a build that you think is perfect for this card, I’d love to see it and try it! This card seems like it would be lots of fun to use with the right team, but I don’t plan to build around it myself. But I’m definitely open to seeing builds and trying them out. I’d also love to see what others think about this card, so please, leave me a comment!

~ If an errata or ruling should happen, I’ll most definitely add it to this article!

And – the errata happened. I believe it only happened because the ability wasn’t functioning the way they truly intended it. Now, the card is definitely not a meta-buster. I don’t think we’ll see this card much, if at all, in major competitive play now.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I have a ‘mighty’ cool treat for you today, courtesy of WizKids! In celebration of the release of The Mighty Thor set, they’ve sent me a few ‘worthy’ card scans to share! And before you start wondering when you can get your hands on this set, it’s available right now! You can find foil booster packs and draft packs at your friendly local game store.

Preview #1 – Beta Ray Bill: A Worthy Opponent

First up, we’ve got a Guardians of the Galaxy affiliated character, Beta Ray Bill: A Worthy Opponent.

MDM9 Cards Reg95

This is a whopper of a character! He’s got some huge defense stats and his attack is sure to pack a punch! As an added bonus to his glorious stats, when Beta Ray Bill attacks, he can KO a Bolt character die that’s the same level or lower as his die. If you have multiple Beta Ray Bill dice to attack with, each one gets to KO a Bolt character that’s equal or lower level than their level. I know his purchase cost is high, but there are plenty of ways to lower that purchase cost a little. One way is to use Big Entrance: Basic Action Card. Using that action die will reduce his cost by one and also put him in your bag when you buy him. You could get lucky and find a Big Entrance card in one of The Mighty Thor draft packs!

Preview #2 – Enchantress: Fatal Attraction

Next up, we have an addition to the Mystics affiliation, Enchantress: Fatal Attraction.

MDM9 Cards Reg102

If simple brute force isn’t what you want, Enchantress is a card you might want to look at. She’s got a high purchase cost, but just like Beta Ray Bill, you can reduce it with cards like Big Entrance. Her ability is a really good one if she’s on your side! She’s got the ability to tax your opponents when they try to use a Global Ability or an action die. Her ability doesn’t say basic action die, which means she forces them to pay that one extra energy for ANY action die they try to use! She also taxes the Global Abilities they try to use too, which could give you an advantage if your opponent is relying heavily on Globals or action dice. If your opponent isn’t using a lot of Globals or action dice, Enchantress can still deal a decent amount of damage to them with her high attack stats. She’s got the wit and the muscle!

Preview #3 – Hela: Even in Death…

Next up is a very menacing looking Villain, Hela: Even in Death….

MDM9 Cards Reg105

Hela is a super tough character with her huge stats, so it makes perfect sense for her to have a While Active ability. She’s a really useful character if your opponent is using Immortal characters.

Immortal: Except when purchased, when this die would go to the Used Pile, instead add it your bag.”

When an opposing character with the Immortal keyword is KO’d, you get to Prep a die from your bag. It’s usually beneficial to roll more than four dice at the start of your turn, because this gives you more opportunities to purchase crucial elements of your win condition or it can provide the energy you need for a super important Global Ability, like Hela’s. Hela’s Global is a double edged sword though. You need a loophole to prevent your dice from being chosen by your opponent. One way is be sure all of the dice you don’t want back on their cards are in your bag or Reserve Pool before using her Global. Another is with the Global on True Believer: Basic Action Card from the Amazing Spider-Man Starter. This will only help one of your character dice in the Field Zone, but that may be all you need!

W True Believer, BAC

Preview #4 – Pepper Potts: Behind Every Great Man

With this next card, we see the return of the Stark Industries affiliation. I’m super excited about this because it’s the first set we’re seeing it in, outside of the Iron Man and War Machine Starter! Thank you, Pepper Potts: Behind Every Great Man, you are my hero today!

MDM9 Cards Reg118

Rescue: Resilient and Rescue: Catching a Jet needed a new Pepper Potts and I’m so glad we’re getting her! This Pepper Potts is particularly handy while you have Iron Man active. Her stats get a nice boost as long as Iron Man is also in the Field Zone. She’ll become a 4A/4D on level one, 4A/6D on level two, and 5A/5D on level three – all with a zero fielding cost! You just need to be sure to bring an Iron Man – in case your opponent didn’t bring Iron Man to the battle. I like Iron Man: Secretary of Defense because his Enlistment ability puts your opponent in a tough spot!

W Iron Man, Secretary of Defense

Conclusion

While I’m not a fan of the more expensive characters, I totally have my eye on that Enchantress and Hela for her Global! I’m a control player and they’re both my type of cards. My favorite of all four of these cards is most definitely Pepper Potts! I can’t wait to get my hands on one and build a team with her, Iron Man, and Rescue. Now, we need a new Iron Man! I’m super excited to see what I get from my draft pack display that I’ll be picking up from FLGS later today. I’ll be posting an article with my pulls and an unboxing video soon! Keep an eye on my YouTube channel for it.

Huge thanks go to WizKids for allowing me to bring you these previews and I hope that you’re just as excited as I am for what The Mighty Thor set will bring to the game!

Thanks so much for reading and remember folks, if you like the content I provide, be sure to click that like button! Every follower and subscription matters!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m back! I hope that everyone had a wonderful holiday season and started the new year off in good spirits! Now, it’s back to work and back to my regularly scheduled Confusing Card of the Week articles. I want to start the year off with a monster that will hopefully keep the bad spirits away for the entire year!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Basilisk: Greater Monstrosity from the Dungeons and Dragons Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Basilisk, Greater Monstrosity

Ruling – Deadly Ability

WizKids Keywords page:
Deadly: Character dice that are engaged with a character die that has Deadly are KO’d at the end of the turn (even if the character with Deadly has been KO’d or leaves the Field Zone).

Supplemental Definition:
Engaged: A character blocking or being blocked is engaged with the opposing character.”

Any character die that blocks or is blocked by a character die with the Deadly keyword, will be KO’d at the end of the turn, during the Clean Up Step. This applies to all character dice that are engaged with a Deadly character die.

If the blocked/blocking character die with Deadly is KO’d or removed, the character dice that were engaged with it are still KO’d at the end of turn.

For Example:
I have a single level one Basilisk die in my Field Zone. If I attack with that die and it’s blocked by three character dice, all three of those dice will be KO’d at the end of turn. Even if my Basilisk die is KO’d, all three of those blocking character dice are still KO’d at the end of turn.

Ruling – Ability

Basilisk has an additional ability on its card that says:
“When Basilisk attacks, target opposing character die must block this turn (if able).”

This ability triggers for each individual Basilisk die that attacks, but only when they attack. When a Basilisk die attacks, it will target one opposing character die and that die must block the Basilisk die.

If an ability would prevent a character die from being able to block, then it does not block the Basilisk. This falls under the general game rule of “can’t beats can”, which means any ability that prevents something from happening will overrule an ability that tries to force it to happen.

The Basilisk’s ability does not prevent the opponent from choosing additional blockers. The opponent can choose other blockers to block the Basilisk aside from the forced blocker, but all the blockers will be KO’d at the end of turn because of the Deadly keyword on the Basilisk’s card.

This ability is not optional. If there are legal targets to choose from, the Basilisk must choose a target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Basilisk is a Bolt type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The Basilisk is a nasty dude. If you pull him in a draft or use him in a limited type event, he could be very problematic for your opponent. He can take out the biggest threat in your opponent’s field, thanks to the Deadly keyword. One downside to this guy is that your opponent will get the chance to reroll the guys you just KO’d on their next turn. When using the Basilisk to clear dice from the field, you want to be sure you’ll benefit from it without helping your opponent – if possible. Letting them reroll a Shriek or DWiz might not be a good idea, depending on what their targets were to begin with.

Basilisk is not expensive to buy, which makes him great for drafts. He’s also got decent defense overall, but that fielding cost is not the best for a character that’s likely going to need to be fielded a few different times in a game. I still think he’s a great draft pick, and possibly even decent for a limited format that uses only D&D sets. His fielding cost is what will likely keep him from seeing a lot of major meta play, but seeing him across from you is not out of the realm of possibility!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Angela: Hunter of Demons from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Z1 Angela, Hunter of Demons

Ruling – Infiltrate Ability

WizKids Keywords page:
“When a character die with Infiltrate attacks and is not blocked, you may choose to remove that character die from combat and not deal combat damage to your opponent. If you do, that character die deals 1 damage to your opponent and the die remains in your Field Zone instead of going to your Used Pile.”

Infiltrate is an ability that allows you to choose between dealing combat damage as normal, or keeping your character active in the field and only dealing one ability damage to your opponent instead.

Infiltrate damage is dealt after blockers are assigned during the Attack Step. After blockers are assigned, you can choose to activate the Infiltrate ability on each character die that has Infiltrate. When you activate the Infiltrate ability, the dice are immediately removed from the Attack Zone and placed in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is still part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking dice are placed here to show they are in combat.

Infiltrate damage is considered ability damage and not combat damage. If another ability would affect damage being dealt to a player, this damage can be affected. If the ability specifies combat damage, Infiltrate damage cannot be affected by that ability.

If a character die is blocked, they cannot use their Infiltrate ability, even if the blocker is removed prior to combat damage being resolve. Once a character is blocked, they are considered to be blocked for that entire combat.

If a character die is not blocked, that die can use it’s Infiltrate ability to deal one damage directly to the opponent. If they do, that die does not deal any combat damage.

Example:
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ This is where attacking dice are assigned.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ This is where blocking dice are assigned.
~ Any dice with Infiltrate can be activated in this step after all blockers have been assigned and those dice with Infiltrate are not blocked.
~ Once activated, the dice will be removed from the Attack Zone, remaining in the Field Zone, and your opponent will take one damage from each dice with Infiltrate. Those dice are no longer considered to be attacking.

Ruling – Ability

Angela has an additional ability on her card that says:
While Angela is active, your character dice with Infiltrate cannot be blocked and deal no combat damage.

Angela’s second ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Angela is active, any character dice that have the Infiltrate keyword will not be able to deal combat damage. This means that any of your dice that have Infiltrate will not deal damage to a character die that they’re blocking. The dice with Infiltrate will still take combat damage from any dice they block.

You will also not be able to deal combat damage to your opponent with any character dice that have Infiltrate. You can choose to not activate a character die’s Infiltrate ability while Angela is active. If you choose not to activate Infiltrate, that character die will deal zero combat damage to your opponent and then go Out of Play.

Example:
I have one level two Angela (4A/3D) and one level three The Spot: Dr. Jonathan Ohnn (2A/3D) in the Field Zone. Angela and The Spot have Infiltrate.
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ I assign The Spot to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ The Spot cannot be blocked because of Angela’s ability.
~ I now choose if I want to activate Infiltrate.
~ If I choose to activate Infiltrate, The Spot will be removed from the Attack Zone and he’ll deal one damage to my opponent.
~ If I choose not to activate Infiltrate, we move to the next portion of the Attack Step.
Assign and Resolve Damage
~ If The Spot’s Infiltrate was activated, then there isn’t anything to assign or resolve in this step.
~ If I didn’t activate Infiltrate, The Spot will assign and deal zero damage (not 2, because of Angela’s ability) to my opponent and immediately be placed Out of Play.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Angela is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Guardians of the Galaxy affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Super Rare and is #117 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I featured Angela: Art of the Hunt (uncommon) a little while back, but I noticed several questions popping up about this specific Angela, so I decided to feature her this week.

I know that a lot of folks get nervous when they can’t deal combat damage to their opponent or even to blocked attackers. But, this Angela guarantees that you can get your Infiltrate damage done. And with cards like Black Widow: Spider’s Bite out there, I think it’s a fair trade off. There are a few inexpensive Infiltrate dudes that can help you get more dice in the Field quicker than trying to buy multiples of Angela or Black Widow.

I’ve played a team using Angela, Black Widow, and The Spot – and I love that team! I haven’t played it much lately, but I need to revisit it now that a bazillion more sets have dropped in the last few months. It can be a very deadly combo if played effectively and that’s what I’m working on now!

There is a decent combo using Angela and True Believer’s Global too. The idea is that your attackers will be unblockable because they have Infiltrate. Once you get to the Globals part of the Attack Step, you use the Global on Angela and now your unblocked attackers can deal their combat damage to your opponent for a finishing blow.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!