Posts Tagged ‘Ability’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Bronze Dragon: Apprentice Dragon from the Dungeons and Dragons Faerûn Under Siege Starter set.

W 02 Bronze Dragon, Apprentice Dragon

Ruling – Anti-Breath Weapon Ability

“When a character die with Breath Weapon X attacks, you may pay X energy to prevent that damage.”

Breath Weapon:
“When a character die with Breath Weapon X attacks, you may pay X energy. Deal X damage to your opponent and all of their character dice. You may use multiple Breath Weapons in a turn, but only one per character (no matter how many copies of that die are attacking).”

This ability is a reactive type ability, meaning it can only be used if the triggering effect has been used. Anti-Breath Weapons will only work if a Breath Weapon has been activated by a player. You can use an Anti-Breath Weapon on your own Breath Weapon attack.

The energy used to pay for the Anti-Breath Weapon does not need to be a specific type. You can use any energy to activate this ability, unless a card effect would state otherwise.

You can use this ability as many times as you have the energy to pay for it. Unlike Breath Weapon, Anti-Breath Weapon does not state that it can’t be used more than once from a single character die.

When a character die with Breath Weapon attacks, you must be able to match the amount of energy to prevent that damage. For example, if my opponent attacks with a character die that has Breath Weapon 2 and activates it, I must be able to pay two energy to activate my Anti-Breath Weapon. If I only have one energy, I can’t activate my character die’s Anti-Breath Weapon against a Breath Weapon 2.

You can’t spend more than the amount spent on the Breath Weapon for Anti-Breath Weapon. For example, if I have two mask energy in my Reserve Pool and my opponent activates a Breath Weapon 1, I can only spend one of my mask energy for Anti-Breath Weapon. The only exception to this are dice that are not able to spin down to a single energy face, such as a basic action die’s generic energy face. You would use one of that energy for the Anti-Breath Weapon and the other energy would be lost because the die can’t spin down. However, you could use both of the energy for multiple Anti-Breath Weapon abilities if there are multiple Breath Weapon abilities activated. For example, I have a basic action die showing two generic energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent attacks and activates two different Breath Weapon 1 abilities. I can spend the two generic energy to activate my Anti-Breath Weapon ability twice.

Ruling – Ability

Bronze Dragon has an additional ability that could affect the amount of energy you have to spend to activate Anti-Breath Weapon for your Bronze Dragon die. The ability is a burst ability, and it’s only found on the level three face of Bronze Dragon’s die.

Any level three Bronze Dragon die will allow you to pay one less energy to activate their Anti-Breath Weapon ability. For example, A Bronze Dragon with the burst showing, will allow you to spend one energy instead of two to activate their Anti-Breath Weapon 2.

If the Breath Weapon is a Breath Weapon 1 and you have a Bronze Dragon die on a burst face, you do not need to pay to activate that die’s Anti-Breath Weapon.

This ability is not optional and will automatically reduce the amount of the Anti-Breath Weapon.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Bronze Dragon is a Mask type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #2 of 142.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I don’t think Anti-Breath Weapon gets the love it deserves and that’s likely because Breath Weapon is not widely used. If there were meta teams that actively used Breath Weapon, we would see an increase in the use of Anti-Breath Weapon. Maybe the upcoming D&D set will feature some nastier Breath Weapon dudes, or more versatile Anti-Breath Weapon dudes.

Overall, the die stats for Bronze Dragon aren’t the terrible and the purchase cost is average for a character with beefy defense. This particular version is from the FUS Starter, but there is another version in the set. That cost one more, but in a D&D draft, he’s almost a must have. There are too many viable dragons with Breath Weapon in both sets to pass up the Bronze Dragon from the set.

If you’re playing a D&D only type format, I would highly recommend adding this card to your team, for all the reasons stated above.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Angela: Art of the Hunt from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Angela, Art of the Hunt

Ruling – Infiltrate Ability

“When a character die with Infiltrate attacks and is not blocked, you may choose to remove that character die from combat and not deal combat damage to your opponent. If you do, that character die deals 1 damage to your opponent and the die remains in your Field Zone instead of going to your Used Pile.”

Infiltrate is an ability that allows you to choose between dealing combat damage as normal, or keeping your character active in the field and only dealing one ability damage to your opponent instead.

Infiltrate damage is dealt after blockers are assigned during the Attack Step. After blockers are assigned, you can choose to activate the Infiltrate ability on each character die that has Infiltrate. When you activate the Infiltrate ability, the dice are immediately removed from the Attack Zone and placed in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is still part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking dice are placed here to show they are in combat.

Infiltrate damage is considered ability damage and not combat damage. If another ability would affect damage being dealt to a player, this damage can be affected. If the ability specifies combat damage, Infiltrate damage cannot be affected by that ability.

If a character die is blocked, they cannot use their Infiltrate ability, even if the blocker is removed prior to combat damage being resolve. Once a character is blocked, they are considered to be blocked for that entire combat.

If a character die is not blocked, that die can use it’s Infiltrate ability to deal one damage directly to the opponent. If they do, that die does not deal any combat damage.

Example:
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ This is where attacking dice are assigned.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ This is where blocking dice are assigned.
~ Any dice with Infiltrate can be activated in this step after all blockers have been assigned and those dice with Infiltrate are not blocked.
~ Once activated, the dice will be removed from the Attack Zone, remaining in the Field Zone, and your opponent will take one damage from each dice with Infiltrate. Those dice are no longer considered to be attacking.

Ruling – Ability

Angela has an additional ability on her card that affects her Infiltrate ability. Her additional ability allows her to deal an additional damage with her Infiltrate ability when she uses it.

If Angela is not blocked, she can use Infiltrate. When she uses Infiltrate, she can deal two damage instead of one and she remains in the Field Zone.

Example:
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ A level three Angela die is assigned to attack.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ There are no blockers assigned.
~ Angela uses her Infiltrate ability and is removed from the Attack Zone. She will deal two damage instead of one to the opposing player.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Angela is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Guardians of the Galaxy affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #43 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m really digging this new Infiltrate ability and I like the characters that enhance the ability a lot. I like the super rare version, Angela: Hunter of Demons. She makes your characters with Infiltrate unblockable, and she also has Infiltrate. The downside is that she also makes it so your characters with Infiltrate can’t deal combat damage.

The version of Angela in this article is a great draft pick. I also like her because I still have the choice of dealing combat damage or using the Infiltrate ability. She also does an additional point of damage if she uses Infiltrate, making her damage two instead of one. If you get several of her dice in the field, she could possibly be doing a decent amount of damage when she’s not blocked.

I like the offensive nature of Infiltrate characters, but they are great control pieces too. Your opponent has to think a little harder about how they block or don’t block when these guys are running around. Characters that use Infiltrate when not blocked will remain in the field as potential blockers. Infiltrate is definitely better than I initially thought and this particular Angela is a great character to play around with.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Logo

A new set has just released and it’s loaded with characters that are here to either save the galaxy or destroy it! Guardians of the Galaxy is now available in the US!

You can find the checklist for Guardians of the Galaxy, here.

Box

Promo Card and Pack Insert

W Star-Lord, Let's Dance

This time around, we don’t get a blank sketch variant. We have an alternate art version of the uncommon Star-Lord: Let’s Dance from the set. I’m a huge fan of the blank sketch cards and I was surprised to see the alt art instead. It’s still cool and neat looking and it’s nice of WizKids to give us these alt art cards as a thank you for buying full gravity feeds.

Rules Insert

You can find the Rules Insert online, here. Make sure to check the WizKids Keywords page to see the current and updated wording on Keyword Abilities.

Gravity Feed
Commons

We pulled 112 common cards; 9 of our commons were foil. We didn’t get any duplicate foil commons. I highlighted the ones we pulled foils of with red text, and the total includes the foil version.

x4     #01     Adam Warlock
x2     #02     Agent Venom
x3     #03     Angela
x3     #04     Beta Ray Bill
x3     #05     Black Widow
x3     #06     Captain America
x3     #07     Captain Marvel
x3     #08     Cosmic Cube
x3     #09     Cosmo, Space Dog
x2     #10     Daisy Johnson
x3     #11     Drax
x2     #12     Dum Dum Dugan
x3     #13     Gamora
x4     #14     Ghost Rider
x2     #15     Groot
x2     #16     Hulk
x2     #17     Ironheart
x3     #18     Knowhere
x2     #19     Madame Masque
x2     #20     Madame Web
x3     #21     Mantis
x3     #22     Moondragon
x3     #23     Nebula
x2     #24     Norman Osborn
x3     #25     Nova Corps Uniform
x3     #26     Nova Prime
x3     #27     Quasar
x3     #28     Ricochet
x3     #29     Rocket Raccoon
x2     #30     Ronan the Accuser
x4     #31     S.W.O.R.D. Agent
x2     #32     Squirrel Girl
x4     #33     Star-Lord
x2     #34     Stick
x3     #35     Thanos
x3     #36     The Collector
x3     #37     The Kyln
x3     #38     The Spot
x3     #39     Yellow Jacket
x3     #40     Yondu

Uncommons

We pulled 50 uncommon cards; 9 of our uncommons were foil. We pulled all but one of the uncommons and none of our foils were duplicates.

x1     #41     Adam Warlock
x1     #42     Agent Venom
x1     #43     Angela
x1     #44     Beta Ray Bill
x1     #45     Black Widow
x1     #46     Captain America
x1     #47     Captain Marvel
x2     #48     Cosmic Cube
x1     #49     Cosmo, Space Dog
x2     #50     Daisy Johnson
x1     #51     Drax
x1     #52     Dum Dum Dugan
x1     #53     Gamora
x2     #54     Ghost Rider
x1     #55     Groot
x1     #56     Hulk
x2     #57     Ironheart
x2     #58     Knowhere
x1     #59     Madame Masque
x1     #60     Madame Web
x1     #61     Mantis
x1     #62     Moondragon
x2     #63     Nebula
x2     #64     Norman Osborn
x1     #65     Nova Corps Uniform
x1     #66     Nova Prime
x2     #67     Quasar
x1     #68     Ricochet
x2     #69     Rocket Raccoon
x1     #70     Ronan the Accuser
x1     #71     S.W.O.R.D. Agent
x0     #72     Squirrel Girl
x1     #73     Star-Lord
x1     #74     Stick
x1     #75     Thanos
x1     #76     The Collector
x1     #77     The Kyln
x3     #78     The Spot
x1     #79     Yellow Jacket
x1     #80     Yondu

Rares and Super Rares

You won’t get all the rares in one feed, but you get a good amount of them. We pulled 16 rares and none of them were duplicates; 4 of our rares were foil. We also pulled two Super Rares, which are foil.

#82     Agent Venom
#84     Black Widow
#85     Captain Marvel
#87     Cosmo, Space Dog
#92     Ghost Rider
#93     Groot
#94     Hulk
#101     Nebula
#102     Nova Corps Uniform
#105     Ricochet
#106     Rocket Raccoon
#107     Ronan the Accuser
#108     S.W.O.R.D. Agent
#112     The Collector
#113     The Kyln
#114     The Spot

#122     Groot Thor (Super Rare)
#124     Punisher Sorcerer Supreme
(Super Rare)

New Ability Keywords

Call Out – When a character die with Call Out attacks, you target an opposing character die. The targeted die can only legally block the attacking die that used Call Out on it, and no other die can legally blocked the die that used Call Out. If the die that used Call Out cannot legally be blocked for any reason (an effect made it unblockable, two different dice chose the same target for their Call Out, the die targeted with Call Out was KO’d, etc.) then the effect of Call Out is cancelled.

I like that WizKids is putting a great bit of thought into the details of keywords now. Most of the questions I have are answered just by reading the keyword description on their site. Call Out seems like an interesting control ability that I will definitely need to play around with. Using Call Out is a great way to get around particular blockers to allow your other characters to deal their damage or use an ability that requires the character to be unblocked.

Infiltrate – When a character die with Infiltrate attacks and is not blocked, you may choose to remove them from combat and not deal combat damage to your opponent. If you do, they deal 1 damage to your opponent, and return to your Field Zone.

I’m loving Infiltrate and some of the cards that enhance Infiltrate or help characters with this keyword, like a character with Call Out. Characters that use Infiltrate are dealing ability damage to your opponent – not combat damage. That is very important to remember because ability damage is not the same as combat damage. I really like that I can attack with a character that has Infiltrate, use the ability to deal one damage to my opponent, and still have that character to use as a blocker. This ability was made for players like me that love control pieces and play control teams, but still have that bit of aggro in our blood. I hope this ability works as well as I think it will, and I can’t wait to test it out!

Returning Keywords

Remember to always check WizKids Keywords page for the most recent and updated definitions.

Aftershock
Ally
Continuous
Deadly

Fast
Intimidate
Overcrush

Underdog

Affiliations

There are several returning affiliations and no new affiliations. Inhumans and Mystics only on one character each. King Black Bolt is an Inhuman and Villain. Punisher Sorcerer Supreme is Marvel Knights and Mystics.

Avengers
Guardians of the Galaxy
Inhumans
Marvel Knights
Mystics
Spider-Friends
S.H.I.E.L.D.
Villains

Favorites

Here are several of my favorite cards from my Gravity Feed. Be sure to check out my Gravity Feed Unboxing video to see all of our pulls!

 

Blog Faves 1

Mantis: Celestial Madonna (left) – I loved using Zatanna: Zatanna Zatara from the Justice League set and I miss her, but her replacement has finally arrived! I know Jade from War of Light has a similar ability, but she’s a Bolt character and I wanted a Mask character. I like having a blocker that I don’t mind KO’ing, and sometimes, that stops my opponent from attacking frivolously. She cost three to purchase and has a TFC of one, which is great for her ability.

Nebula: The Family Business (center) – This Nebula has a superb defense across all levels for the fielding cost. Her purchase cost is on point for her ability and stats, making her a great choice for a variety of teams. She’s a nice control piece that will likely yield decent results and possibly be enough of a threat for an opponent to waste a Shriek or DWiz on.

Quasar: Protector of the Universe (right) – A character that cost four to purchase, has a TFC of three with decent attack, and can also go to your Prep instead of Used Pile after smacking your opponent – Yes, please! I love this card! And one of the most awesome things about her? She’s got the Guardians of the Galaxy affiliation! I want to rebuild my GotG team and this is likely going to be one of the first cards I select – unless I see a better version.

Blog Faves 2

The Spot: Dr. Jonathan Ohnn (left) – The Spot is one of my favorite Spider-Man villains, second only to Hobgoblin. I know that many folks out there don’t like him, but I always thought his powers and abilities were interesting. I was super excited to see him in this set and even more excited to see how thematic his abilities are on all versions. But sometimes, it’s the simple things that are most appealing, and The Spot with Infiltrate is my favorite version. It fits him so well! He cost two to purchase and has a TFC of two. His stats aren’t very high, but with Infiltrate, you don’t need high stats.

Adam Warlock: Standing Watch Over Infinity (center) – This card is like Imprisoned, but pumped up and with legs. All you need to do is force several opposing characters to block him and make sure he’ll get KO’d, swipe those dudes and never field Adam Warlock again! Those dudes are forever trapped! This is a ridiculously good control card that’s easily paired with Wasp: Fashionista from the Civil War starter. Being a heavy control player, I’m star-struck by Adam Warlock!

Angela: Art of the Hunt (right) – I’m digging the Infiltrate keyword and here’s a character that gets to do two damage instead of one when she uses Infiltrate. I like her stats and purchase cost and she’s a GotG affiliated character. I can’t wait to get this GotG team put together!

Blog Faves 3

Captain America: Chemistry Project (left) – I’m a control player at heart, but I like these type of cards that allow me to do direct damage to my opponent. Captain America allows me to deal damage and keep my dude too. This helps put my mind at ease about attacking because this is another card I could easily pair with Wasp: Fashionista from the Civil War starter. There are also plenty of ways to prevent lethal damage to character dice, making this card very appealing to me! His dice stats are really good for his ability and his TFC of five shouldn’t be an issue since you don’t want him to leave the field. I also love the new red/white swirl with the blue accents.

Cosmic Cube: Beyond Imagination (center) – Wow! This Cosmic Cube is begging to be added to Satchel teams! You could easily purchase several different action dice in one turn thanks to this card. It only cost two to purchase and would also be an asset to Front Line teams that need to purchase their Front Line dice. You would want to purchase a cheaper action die first, then you can get the three energy discount on the Front Line, making it cost two. Seems like a good idea to me!

Groot: The Monster from Planet X (right) – This Groot has awesome defense stats on level two and three for his ability. He cost four to purchase, but that’s not bad at all for what he does. I am not a fan of his Global because most of my teams are control teams that slowly deal damage and this Global would give my opponent an opportunity to come back. If I were going to use this Groot, I would put him on a team that doesn’t deal much damage until it’s ready for the killing blow. If not for that Global, he would likely have been my favorite card in the entire set! But it is nice to see a Global that helps you gain life without a silly restriction on it, like the one Pizza has. I don’t mind the Once Per Turn limitation, though. I think it’s actually a necessary limitation for any life gain Global.

Blog Faves 4

Quasar: Might of the Quantum Bands (left) – Here’s another great Quasar card! Now I don’t know which one I want to use. This one is more control than the other, but I like the other too. They both have the same purchase cost, so I guess I’ll have to see how my GotG team starts to come together before choosing a Quasar card. I really like this ability though, because it could potentially stifle my opponent’s ability to purchase something that they need. Quasar’s stats are good for a character that needs to stay active.

Thanos: Throwing Down the Gauntlet (center) – I read this card and laughed out loud. This is the perfect anti-Swarm and anti-Rush card! Thanos is such a beast and I love him! The only thing I don’t like is his purchase cost. It’s a justifiable purchase cost, but it’s very hard to play cards that cost six or more and utilize them effectively. I should know – I play Grodd and I played Colossus: Piotr Rasputin at the Owensboro WKO this last time. Colossus got me into top eight, but it was a struggle. I will most likely try to find a way to play with this card. It has DDK written all over it. I love taking near-impossible-to-play cards and finding a way to make them work, at least a casual format.

Black Widow: Spider’s Bite (right) – So, this Black Widow just made me love Infiltrate even more! My Angela can now do three damage when using Infiltrate. And Black Widow is a While Active ability, so I don’t have to attack with her if I think she could be blocked or KO’d when she attacks. WizKids, you really do love your Black Widows, don’t you? I have yet to come across a set with a Black Widow that I didn’t like.

Blog Faves 5

Groot: Growing Pains (left) – I like this Groot because he makes your opponent think long and hard about KO’ing your characters. There is a possibility that this Groot could change the way your opponent would have blocked, which could give you an advantage and a lead in life total. If you load up your Prep Area with character dice, they surely won’t want to Canister that Shriek or DWiz and then KO Groot because then they could be looking at a hoard of level two dudes! Groot is difficult to KO, unless he’s on level one, or you have a way to force a blocker on him and pump that blocker’s attack up. You could even damage your Groot enough with your own Globals/Abilities so when they do block, it KO’s him and you get his ability. He’s definitely an interesting card.

Nova Corps Uniform: A Symbol of Order (center) – I like that this can be equipped to any of your character dice, including that one Sidekick that always wants to be a Sidekick and never rolls energy. Nova Corps Uniform is a great way to clear those pesky Sidekick walls out of the way too. It cost three to purchase, but it’s a decent action die all around. It can be used on any character die, has an useful ability for any character die it’s equipped to, or can be used as energy if you don’t roll the action face.

The Collector: Taneleer Tivan (right) – This card makes my head hurt. You can steal your opponent’s win condition or control piece and use it against them, which seems cool, but it’s not so cool if you’re staring at a Collector on the other side of the board. It’s also a little confusing. What is considered an ‘unpurchased character die’? Is it any target die that’s still on the card or is it a character whose dice have not been purchased at all yet? I’m fairly certain it’s not the latter. I could see where this card could be super useful and it’s a very nice ability to use against someone, but I feel sorry for all the newer players out there that read this card and instantly develop a headache from trying to understand it. I also feel like this card is a little overpowered for his purchase cost.

Blog Faves 6

Groot Thor: I Am Thor! (left) – What I love the most about Groot Thor’s ability is the forethought that WizKids put into the wording. “Prevent all effects that would copy Groot Thor’s abilities, even if he is not in the Field Zone.” Thank you WizKids, thank you so much for this. I think that ability needs it’s own Keyword. That ability makes me love Groot Thor, but his other ability to copy When Fielded effects from active dice is not a favorite of mine – especially not for his cost and purchase conditions. His die is super cute though.

Punisher Sorcerer Supreme: Calm. Dust. (right) – Oh my goodness. I really like this card. Even with the purchase conditions, this card is a wrecking ball! You may not get to pick the character when he’s fielded, but you do when he attacks, so long as it’s got the lowest attack. This still targets your characters, but if you’re running a team that thrives off of KO’ing it’s own characters, this guy could be a option. You can always Blink-Transmutation him back from the Attack Zone to utilize him on a later turn, or use Wasp: Fashionista’s Global to force a dude to block this tank. I love his die too!

Final Thoughts

So far, the internal synergy of this set is looking good for drafts! I’m excited to see how well this set works outside of drafting and I’m totally excited to be able to rebuild a GotG team! I’ve missed playing my old team, but it’s mostly Golden Age now, except for the Drax from Amazing Spider-Man. I like the Drax cards in this set much more. I’m really excited to try Infiltrate and Call Out. They might seem like totally aggressive abilities at first, but they can fit well on a control team. Call Out is especially good for a control team that has problems with opposing characters being in the Field.

I’m not sure what my overall favorite card is yet, but I think The Spot is my favorite thematic card. My favorite dice from the set are pictured below: Angela for her colors,  Captain America for his colors, Daisy Johnson for her die image and colors, and Ironheart for her colors.

Fave Dice

I think there are few meta cards that could potential shake things up, like The Collector and his silliness. I think Infiltrate and Call Out might be something if they work as well as I think they do. Cosmic Cube and The Kyln have some crazy cards too that might see some competitive play on various teams.

This set has something for everyone. There are cards that appeal to all different types of players in both casual and competitive play. I can’t wait to see some of these cards in action!

What are some of your favorite cards in the set?
How do you think the meta will shift, if at all?
What cards are you excited to try in a casual setting?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at
Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Colossus: Armored Up from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Colossus, Armored Up

Ruling – Ability

Colossus has a When Attacks ability. This type of ability will trigger only when the character’s die is assigned as an attacker and will also trigger from each of that character’s attacking dice. For example: I attack with two Colossus dice. Each die trigger’s the When Attacks ability.

Colossus’s ability says that when his die attacks, any character that would be assigned to block, must first take two damage.

This ability has a very odd timing window in regards to how the Attack Step works. In the Attack Step, you assign your attackers first and after each attacker has been assigned, any When Attacks abilities will trigger. This is where Colossus’s ability will trigger. However, the damage will not be dealt at this time.

After assigning attackers, blockers are assigned. Because of Colossus’s ability, before a character die can be assigned to block, it must first take two damage. The defending player will choose a character die that they want to assign as a blocker, but before assigning that die, it’s dealt two damage. If the die survives the two damage, the defending player can then assign it to an attacking character die as a blocker.

Damage accumulates on character dice and when they have accumulated damage equal to or greater than their defense, the die is KO’d. Damage does not reduce the character die’s defense value.

Colossus’s ability does not target and it does not deal damage to all dice in the Field Zone. It only affects a die that would be assigned as a blocker – not dice that could be assigned as blockers.

Colossus’s ability is not optional. It automatically triggers when he attacks and will automatically affect any die that would later be assigned as a blocker.

Colossus’s damage will happen before the blocker can be assigned. When Blocks abilities will not trigger until the character that’s being assigned to block has survived the damage from Colossus and is then assigned as a blocker.

Character dice that are being assigned as blockers do not need to block Colossus specifically. His ability says it affects any character die that would be assigned to block – meaning his ability would affect a die that is being assigned to block any attacking character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Colossus is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the X-Men affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #89 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Attacking with two Colossus dice.

Game State
~ I have two level one Colossus dice (5A/5D) in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a Sidekick and a level two character with 1A/6D in the Field Zone.
~ I am entering into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my two Colossus dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Colossus’ When Attacks ability is triggered. Damage is not done to any dice yet.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent chooses to block with their Sidekick and their other character die, but before they can be assigned as blockers, they must each take two damage from each Colossus die.
~ The Sidekick takes four damage and is KO’d. My opponent places the die in their Prep Area.
~ Their other character die (1A/6D) will also take four damage, two from each Colossus die. Their character is not KO’d and can now be assigned as a blocker.
~ My opponent assigns their remaining character to block one of my Colossus dice. They move their blocker to the Attack Zone and place it in front of the attacking Colossus they want to block.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ My blocked Colossus die will assign five damage to the character die blocking it. That character has previously accumulated four damage and it will be KO’d.
~ The blocking character assigns one damage to the Colossus it’s blocking. This is not enough to KO my Colossus die.
~ My unblocked Colossus die will deal five damage to my opponent’s life total and then move Out of Play.
(Clean Up)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. My opponent’s blocker will be moved to their Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone. My Colossus die will be removed from the Attack Zone and placed back into the area labeled as the Field Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Mr. DDK brought this card up to me in a conversation a week or so ago. I thought is was a very interesting card and I realized just how weird and confusing his ability could be. While I like this ability, it could be a problem against certain characters that have abilities that trigger from them being damaged, like Babs, Hulk, or cards with the Vengeance Keyword. This is definitely not my type of card, but Mr. DDK thought it was kinda neat. It practically shuts down the Sidekick blocker walls.

I don’t think this card has a place in the major metas, mainly because of his cost, but also largely because his ability could backfire on you if your opponent has a card like Babs (which is very popular!). I would love to see someone come up with an interesting use for this card and if you do or you already have, please feel free to share!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m still excited over reaching the triple digits in my Confusing Card of the Week articles! I decided to continue the #100 trend this week and cover one of the cards that I used on my team this past weekend.

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Killer Croc: Out of the Depths from the DC Batman set.

W Killer Croc, Out of the Depths

Ruling – Ability

Killer Croc’s ability is a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability can only be used when the character’s die is placed into the field from the Reserve Pool by paying it’s fielding cost, or by an ability that specifically states that the die is ‘fielded’ and not moved, swapped, placed, etc.

When Killer Croc is fielded, any level one and/or level two character die with an attack lower than his, will be KO’d. This will include your character dice as well as your opponent’s because his ability does not specify ‘opposing’ character dice.

Dice Levels

In the picture above, you can see the sides of the dice as shown on the bottom of Captain America’s card. All character dice levels are displayed in the same place on character cards. The first three images are of the energy faces and do not have levels. The first character face is Level 1, the second character face is Level 2, and the third character face is Level 3. This is the same for all character dice, except for basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice don’t have a character card and while they are in the Field Zone, they’re only Level 1.

Character dice may be spun up or have their attack increased prior to fielding Killer Croc in order to keep them from being KO’d by Killer Croc’s ability. The opposing player will not have an opportunity to use Globals unless the active player passes them priority before they field Killer Croc.

If a level one or two character die has an attack equal to Killer Croc’s, they will not be KO’d by his ability. The attack must be lower than Killer Croc’s.

Killer Croc’s ability does not target. Abilities that protect characters from being targeted will not have any effect against Killer Croc’s ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Killer Croc is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #100 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using a Global to spin a character die up, then fielding Killer Croc.

Game State
~ I have a level two Killer Croc and three fist energy in my Reserve Pool. I have a level two Red Hood (3A/3D) in my Field Zone. I have Giganta: Standing Tall on my team. Her Global says: “Pay [FIST]. Spin target character die up 1 level.”
~ My opponent has a Sidekick and a level two character with 4A in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my main step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend a fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use the Global on Giganta and target my Red Hood die. Red Hood spins up to level three (5A/5D).
~ I spend two fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to pay for Killer Croc’s fielding cost.
~ Killer Croc is then moved into the Field Zone from my Reserve Pool and his ability triggers as he’s fielded. My Red Hood is level three and is not affected. My opponent’s Sidekick and level two character are both KO’d because they level one and level two, and their attack values are lower than Killer Croc’s.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I used Killer Croc and Small Step for Man: Basic Action Card on my team this past Saturday. I love the combo idea, but I’m running into problems with purchasing Killer Croc. I play Grodd a lot and don’t have this issue, so I’m not sure what the problem is. The game I won, I won with Red Hood and didn’t even purchase Killer Croc. For a Johnny like me, that’s no fun at all. But the Spike in me couldn’t pass up the chance at victory. While I won a match, I wasn’t happy with how I won it. I really wanted my combo to go off. I got it to work – once. But it didn’t lead me to victory because I bought Killer Croc too early and couldn’t get a decent bag flow established. I still like this card and I plan to adjust the team by taking off Batcave and adding Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time.

I definitely don’t see this card being a meta card for competitive play, but for casual level events or store level events, he could be fun – if you like the silly combos like I do!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jervis Tetch: Malice in Wonderland from the DC Batman set.

W Jervis Tetch, Malice in Wonderland

Ruling – Ability

Jervis’s ability is a When Attacks ability. His ability will trigger for each of his dice that attack.

When Jervis attacks, you gain control of a target opposing character die with a purchase cost of four or less. That character die is required to attack, if they’re able, on this same turn.

When a Jervis die attacks, you can target any character die with a purchase cost of four or less, which includes basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice are considered level one characters with a purchase cost of zero while they are in the Field Zone.

The targeted die is then moved into the Attack Zone with Jervis to show that both of the dice are attacking.

IMG_5594

When the control of the die ends at the end of turn or when the controlling die is KO’d, you must return the controlled die to the area you took it from. You can use an ability like the Global on Blink – Transmutation (during the Attack Step) to move a Jervis die back to your Field Zone and the controlled die will still be attacking.

If the controlled die would be placed in your Used Pile or Prep Area, it goes to your opponent’s Prep Area instead.

If you control a die that is the same die of a character on your team, the controlled die will reference your opponent’s character card.

Normally, a controlling die cannot attack but because Jervis is required to attack in order to control a die, he is an exception.

Jervis’s ability is not optional. You must take control of a character die with a purchase cost of four or less when you attack with Jervis (if there is a legal target). That die is also assigned to attack, which is not optional.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jervis Tetch is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #99 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Attacking with multiple Jervis dice.

Game State
~ I have two level two Jervis Tetch (2A/1D) dice in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level three Red Hood: Jason Todd (5A/5D) die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ The turn is moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign both of my Jervis dice to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
~ Both of their abilities are triggered simultaneously when they attack.
~ The first Jervis die will gain control over my opponent’s Sidekick die, moving it to the Attack Zone on my side.
~ The second Jervis die will gain control over my opponent’s Red Hood die, moving it to the Attack Zone on my side.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not have any characters to assign as blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I choose not to use any Actions or Globals. (This would be the moment that I could use the Global on Blink – Transmutation to push my Jervis back to my Field Zone and not lose control over the controlled dice.)
~ My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Since none of the characters were blocked, they will all deal their attack value in combat damage to my opponent’s life total. Red Hood is going to deal 5, each Jervis will deal 2 each, and the Sidekick will deal 1 – for a total of 10 damage.
~ As soon as the character dice damage my opponent, they move Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ Dice that are Out of Play will move into the Used Pile. My opponent’s Red Hood and Sidekick die will go to my opponent’s Prep Area instead of the Used Pile.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
I have a pending question with WORF in regards to the Jervis Tetch cards. There are no official rulings at the time this article was written. I will update with red text when I see an official ruling.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I really don’t like the wording on any of the Jervis cards. And until there is an official ruling, my ruling is how we will be playing it locally. I wanted to wait for the official ruling before doing a CCW on any Jervis, but I’ve been getting several requests and questions about him. This prompted me to sit down and really pour over rulebooks and WORF posts in an effort to decipher how this obscenely confusing card is supposed to work.

If/when WORF gives us a ruling, I will most definitely update this article, or post a corrected article if need be. I’ve never claimed to be an expert and if you have a different way you think he should be handled, I’m totally up for discussion!

As far as the ability, it can devastating, for sure. He can easily remove parts of that wall to allow for some damage to get through, or take all their characters from the field and smack them with them. I would not use Blink or Distraction Globals because that could hinder your overall goal if your opponent uses those Globals to push their stolen characters back so they get them back.

I think this guy has potential in drafts for sure, but because there isn’t a solid ruling from WORF on him, I’m not planning on testing him in Modern Age or Golden Age.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Captain America: Anti-Reg from the Marvel Civil War Starter set. I wanted to go with a patriotic theme since today is Independence Day here in the US, and what better character to choose than Captain America himself!

04 Captain America, Anti-Reg

Ruling – Resistance Ability

Resistance is a keyword that can be found in the Civil War set. A character with Resistance will grant you some kind of benefit if a character you control was KO’d. These benefits from the different Resistance abilities will vary and the keyword can be found on characters, Basic Actions, and non-Basic Actions.

Any game effect that KO’s a character could trigger a Resistance ability. For example, Fabricate – if you have Captain America active and you Fabricate two characters, you will gain the benefit from his Resistance ability and gain one life at the end of your turn. Another example would be if your opponent used the Unstable Canister Global during your turn to KO one of your Sidekick dice while you have Captain America active.

When you Sacrifice a character die, that is not the same as KO’ing them, which will not trigger a Resistance ability.

If a character with Regenerate is successful in regenerating, you will not gain the Resistance ability. Regenerate is a considered a KO replacement effect.

Captain America’s Resistance ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Captain America’s Resistance ability says that as long as he’s active at the end of your turn, if a character die you control was KO’d this turn, you gain one life. This ability only checks that the requirements were met and not how many times they were met.

This ability is not optional and you must gain life if the Resistance ability was triggered. You cannot go above 20 life, so if you’re already at 20 life, you will not gain life.

Ruling – Ability

Captain America has a second ability on his card and it is also a While Active ability. At the end of your turn, as long as Captain America is active, you spin each of your Captain America dice up one level.

Dice Levels

In the picture above, you can see the sides of the dice as shown on the bottom of Captain America’s card. All character dice levels are displayed in the same place on character cards. The first three images are of the energy faces and do not have levels. The first character face is Level 1, the second character face is Level 2, and the third character face is Level 3. This is the same for all character dice, except for basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice don’t have a character card and while they are in the Field Zone, they’re only Level 1.

If an ability instructs you to spin a character die to a different level, always reference the character card to confirm the correct level, then spin that character die accordingly. Basic Sidekick dice do not have multiple levels and they cannot spin to a different level.

This ability is not an optional ability. At the end of your turn, you must spin all of your active Captain America dice up one level from their current level. A level two Captain America die will spin up to level three and a level one die will spin up to level two. Any level three Captain America dice will not be affected by this ability because they are at the maximum level for a character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Captain America is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Triggering Captain America’s abilities.

Game State
~ I have a level one and a level two Captain America die in the Field Zone. I also have a Sidekick die.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ My Attack Step has just begun.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Sidekick die and my level one Captain America die to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent decides to block with both of their Sidekick dice.
~ My opponent assigns the first Sidekick to block my attacking Sidekick, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my attacking Sidekick.
~ My opponent assigns the second Sidekick to block my attacking Captain America die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my attacking Captain America die.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ My Sidekick deals one damage to the blocking Sidekick and the blocking Sidekick deals one damage to my Sidekick. Both will be KO’d.
~ My Captain America die deals two damage to the Sidekick die that’s blocking him, and that Sidekick deals one damage to Captain America. Captain America has a defense of four, so that one damage will not KO him. The Sidekick will be KO’d because it only has a defense of one.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. My opponents two Sidekick dice go to their Prep Area and my Sidekick goes to my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared, so Captain America will no longer have the one damage from the Sidekick.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve. Captain America’s Resistance ability will trigger and allow me to gain one life if my life total is below 20 because a character that I control was KO’d this turn. His other ability triggers as well and my level one Captain America die spins up to level two and my level two Captain America die spins up to level three. Since both abilities happen at the same time and I control both abilities, I can choose the order in which they resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

This is one of my favorite Captain America cards that is currently legal for Modern Age. I love the art, love the die, and really dig the ability on it. There are plenty of ways to KO your Sidekick dice, like a force block Global, Fabricate, or even a burn Global. Captain America is one of those cards that just dares your opponent to Unstable Canister Global your little dudes. When they do and Cap sees it happen, you gain life back! I have yet to really be able to play with this card outside of Limited constructed events that we held for Civil War. I think I may try to add him onto a current Lockout League build I’m working on for Saturday. I don’t think he’s necessarily worthy of a competitive team spot, but I’ve seen much less deserving cards on highly successful teams in the past. I hope someone sees what a gem this guy can be and tries using him. His major downside is that atrocious fielding cost, but at least he’s not really expensive to purchase. A four cost character that just needs to stay in the Field is not a terrible purchase. I think the best place for this Cap to shine is in the casual and Limited areas.

I also want to take a moment to say Happy Independence Day to all my fellow Dice Masters here in the US. I hope that everyone has a safe and fun holiday!

captain-america-wwii-pose-with-flag-5469

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time  from the DC Batman set.

Rip Hunter, Navigate the Sands of Time

 

Ruling – Ability

Rip Hunter’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Rip Hunter’s ability can only be used once during your turn and only during the Clear and Draw Step. Rip Hunter must be active at the start of your turn to be able to use his ability that same turn. To use Rip Hunter’s ability, you draw dice for your Clear and Draw Step, and then you can send any number of those dice to the Used Pile and draw that many dice. You may choose any number of the dice you’ve drawn to go the Used Pile. You do not have to send them all.

The dice that you send to the Used Pile, go directly to the Used Pile and not Out of Play. This is because those dice have not entered the Reserve Pool.

If a card ability would allow you to draw extra dice during the Clear and Draw Step, you can use Rip Hunter’s ability for those dice as well. For example, if you have a Swarm trigger that allowed you to draw an extra die, for a total of five dice, you can send all five dice to the Used Pile and then draw five more dice using Rip Hunter’s ability. If any of those dice have the Swarm keyword and match an active character of the same name, you get to trigger Swarm again.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Rip Hunter is a Shield type character card.
~ He does not have any affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Rip Hunter’s ability.

Game State
~
I have two Rip Hunter dice and a Sidekick die active. I have seven Sidekick dice and one Batman die in my bag.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I don’t have any dice to clear.
~ I draw four Sidekick dice.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability, sending three of my Sidekick dice to the Used Pile and I draw three more dice.
~ I draw two Sidekick dice and my Batman die.

Example Two:
Rip Hunter’s ability with Swarm.

Game State
~ I have one Multiple Man: Pile On! die, one Goblin: Lesser Humanoid die, and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone.
~ I have a Goblin, Multiple Man, and four Sidekick dice in my bag, and two Sidekick dice in my Use Pile.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I draw four dice: one Multiple Man, one Goblin, two Sidekick dice.
~ I trigger the Swarm ability on Multiple Man and Goblin and draw two more dice: two Sidekicks.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability and send Multiple Man and Goblin to the Used Pile.
~ I now draw two more dice, but my bag is empty, so I refill it with the Used Pile (two Sidekicks, Multiple Man, and Goblin). I draw a Goblin and a Sidekick.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Goblin die, drawing one more die – Multiple Man.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Multiple Man die and draw my last die, which is a Sidekick.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ I roll all eight dice and proceed with the rest of my turn.

 

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I will continue to stand by my opinion that the dice moved by Rip Hunter need to go Out of Play. I’ve seen Ultraman abuse this to devastating results, as well as Parademon Swarm Burn. However, I will never rule against anything that’s been officially ruled on by WORF and I completely understand the reasoning behind their ruling. I just think it’s absolutely silly.

That being said, Parademon’s Burning Swarm is a team that Mr. DDK and I have been discussing since before they officially ruled Rip Hunter. I really want to use Darkseid: Force of Entropy with Parademon: Strength in Numbers and a cheap Swarm dude, like Multiple Man: Pile On!, because that’s just too silly. Rip Hunter’s ability can make a team like that more lethal. I’ve already played against someone that’s headed that direction with their team anyway, and the Parademon with Goblin Swarm is bad enough.

Rip Hunter has his benefits outside of breaking things. He’s exceptionally handy in drafts and he makes for a great addition to many teams that are desperately missing their PXG Global. He’s obviously not as good as PXG, but it’s totally better than nothing! I’ve been using the Uncommon Rip Hunter with my New Gods, but I might have to swap him for this version, unless I can speed the team up some other way.

I think that Rip Hunter is a good card in the competitive scene, but he does cost four to purchase. It’s not too much, but it could be too slow to use against some teams. Be sure you’re not adding him to your team as a necessary purchase, because if you’re buying him, you’re not buying your win condition (unless he contributes to that win condition). Your team shouldn’t be relying on him to function. If you’re using the rare Dwarf Wizard, this is probably going to be the character you want to target, unless of course there is a much larger threat at the time. But using DWiz to slow their churn is a really good idea early in the game.

If you’re playing casual, he’s a great addition and I don’t think he should be overlooked. He could help some of those casual teams churn through their dice a little faster to get to the good stuff!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Dove: Danger!  from the DC Batman set.

Dove, Danger

 

Ruling – Ability

Dove has a special ability that does not require her to be active to use. Dove’s ability says that if she’s in your Used Pile and you take damage, you move her die to your Prep Area. Most of the abilities in the game require that the character be active to use their abilities, but her ability does not say While Active.

Dove’s ability is not optional. If you take damage, you must move Dove to your Prep Area.

Dove’s ability will trigger from any kind of damage, like ability or combat. Any ability or effect that makes you lose a life or pay life will not trigger her ability.

Ruling – Global

To use the Global on a card, you only need to pay the cost. The die does not need to be active to use the Global, unless it specifically says so.

Dove’s Global says that an attacking character die will get -1A when you pay a Shield. You can pay for her Global as many times as you have the energy to do so. Each time that you use her Global, the target attacking character die will get a -1 to their attack.

You do not have to target the same character die if you use her Global more than once.

You cannot use her Global during the Main Step, because there aren’t any attacking characters to target.   Her Global can only be used during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step, and only to target an attacking character die. A character that is not attacking cannot be targeted.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Dove is a Shield type character card.
~ She has the Teen Titans affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Dove’s ability used during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have one Dove die in my Used Pile and no character dice in the Field Zone.
~
My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns their Sidekick die to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I do not have any character dice to assign as blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any Actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Because the Sidekick is unblocked, it deals one damage to me and goes Out of Play.
~ Dove’s ability will trigger, allowing me to move her die from the Used Pile to the Prep Area.

Example Two:
Dove’s ability used during the Main Step.

Game State
~ I have one Dove die in my Used Pile, a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool, and Luke Cage: Bulletproof is on my opponent’s team.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I pay a Fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use Luke Cage’s Global, dealing one damage to both players.
~ Dove’s ability triggers, allowing me to move her die from the Used Pile to the Prep Area.

Example Three:
Dove’s Global Timing.

Game State
~ I have a Sidekick in the Field Zone. I have Dove: Danger! on my team, but have not purchased any of her dice yet.
~ My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone and a Shield energy in their Reserve Pool.
~ It’s my turn and we’re headed into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Sidekick.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Actions or Globals.
~ My opponent spends their Shield energy (moving it to their Used Pile) to pay for Dove’s Global and targets my Sidekick. My Sidekick now has a -1 to its attack, making its attack a 0.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

So, I’m brewing a new Teen Titans team and this is one of the Dove cards that I’m considering. I want to pair her with Hawk: Might Makes Right. My only concern in using this particular version of Dove is that my opponent can use her Global against me when I attack with Hawk. I’ve been thinking about adding Raven: Azrath, Metrion, Zinthos! to the team to protect my Teen Titans from Dove’s Global, but I’m not completely sure if want another character that I need to purchase on the team. Using this Dove won’t backfire on me that much though, because my main damage is done during the Main Step – with Hawk’s ability. I use Dove and a Sidekick to Fabricate a Golem and because Dove is KO’d for the Fabricate ability, Hawk’s ability triggers. Dove’s Global is only usable during the Attack Step, and even if it wasn’t, my opponent would still have to wait for me to pass them priority.

I’m just so torn between this Dove and the rare version of her. I like being able to spin her up, but I think I like being able to move her from my Used Pile to my Prep Area better. That makes my opponent think a little harder about swinging with a Sidekick while I have Dove in my Used Pile.

I’m also thinking about ways to utilize her ability that won’t necessarily be accessible to my opponent. For example, Luke Cage is not the character I want to use. I don’t want my opponent having access to a Global like that. I’ve thought about Rocket Raccoon: Not a Raccoon. I think he might be more useful and help me control when I trigger her ability without giving my opponent full access to a burn Global.

I like this Dove and the more I think about it, the more I like her. I don’t think she’ll see much play in the major competitive metas, but for casual play, she’s definitely a great Teen Titan to consider. I can’t wait to finish brewing this team and put it together!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

17 Jessica Jones, Ladies' Night

Ruling – Ability

Although her ability doesn’t say it, it acts as a While Active ability. You can find that ruling here. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Jessica Jones says that whenever one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, she will get +1A and +1D. Her ability is not limited to opposing Globals and character abilities. If you target one of your own character dice, including a Jessica Jones die, her ability will trigger. Her ability does not target, so she would not get additional bonuses from her ability triggering.

Her ability will trigger each time one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, and not just once in a turn.

When Jessica Jones’s ability is triggered, it will apply to each of her dice that are active at the time it was triggered.

Action dice abilities can affect Jessica Jones and characters friendly to her without triggering her ability. Targeting her, or a character friendly to her, with a Global on an Action card will trigger her ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jessica Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Jessica Jones and a friendly character targeted during my opponent’s Main Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level one Shredder: Dining on Turtle Soup in their Reserve Pool and two Bolt energy.
~ It’s during their Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays one energy, sending it Out of Play, to field Shredder.
~ They use Shredder’s ability and target my Sidekick, which is now KO’d and placed in the Prep Area and I lose one life.
~ Because a character die I control was targeted by a character ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My opponent spends their last Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, for the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card. They target my Jessica Jones die.
~ My Jessica Jones die takes one damage from the Global ability, but because a character die that I control was targeted by a Global ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +2A/+2D, making her attack an 8 and her defense a 5. But because that die has taken one damage this turn, she can only take 4 more damage before she’s KO’d.
~ My opponent passes priority to me, but I choose to not use any Globals. I return priority and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns Shredder to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I assign Jessica Jones to block Shredder, moving her die to the Attack Zone in front of Shredder.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Shredder assigns his four damage to Jessica Jones’s remaining defense of four.
~ Jessica Jones assigns her eight damage to Shredder’s defense of four.
~ Both characters are KO’d.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Two:
Jessica Jones die targeted during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. I also have one Fist energy and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent doesn’t have any characters in the Field Zone and no energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ None of my characters stats have been altered.
~ We’re moving into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Jessica Jones die and my Sidekick die to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not assign any blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I spend one Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones takes one damage and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my opponent’s Haymaker Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones gets a +1A from the Haymaker Global and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of a Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +3A/+2D making her attack a 9 and her defense a 5.
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Both of my character dice are unblocked. They each deal their attack directly to my opponent.
~ My opponent is dealt 10 damage and both of my character dice are immediately placed Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities that need the character to be active, but the card doesn’t say While Active, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Out of all the cards in the Defenders Team Pack, this Jessica Jones and Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm are the only cards I like. I went straight for Iron Fist instead of test playing Jessica Jones because I loved his ability. But after playing with him a little and trying to make him work, I think Jessica Jones is the route I need to go.

When playing a card like this, you want to bring Globals that tempt your opponent into using them on your dudes, like Unstable Canister. They can target Jessica Jones as much as they want, but unless they have some other way to deal her damage, she won’t get KO’d by Canister Global strikes alone. Using Haymaker isn’t a bad idea either – or Goliath if you want to use a different Basic Action besides Haymaker. You don’t have to rely on your opponent to use Globals/character abilities on your characters. You could just pump her up on your own and then give her Overcrush for those potential blockers. You could make her unblockable with an ability like the on Silver Sable: Hero for Hire. And because it targets, it buffs her stats too.

For the competitive scenes, I think she might fall just short of being a top tier card. It’s not her purchase cost that’s the issue – I think it’s very reasonable for her ability and stats. There is way too many Cold Guns out there that can take her out. Her ability doesn’t trigger off of Action abilities, just Globals and character abilities. But even if it did trigger off of Action abilities, a Cold Gun shuts her down before she attacks. You would need to put pressure on your opponent with multiple Jessica Jones dice, which can be difficult since she cost five to purchase.

I don’t think she’s too overpowered on her own for a casual setting, but I would be mindful of what your other locals are playing.

I like this card and I think she’s probably the best card in the Team Pack. I can’t wait to give her a go this week! I might even pair her with some of this crazy new Batman stuff. And just because I don’t think she’s good enough for meta competitive play, doesn’t mean I won’t try her!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!