Posts Tagged ‘Action Card’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Free Chimichangas: Delicious from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Free Chimicangas, Delicious

Ruling – Non-Basic Action

Free Chimichangas is a non-basic action card with non-basic action dice. Any card that references an action card or die could affect this card or die. If an ability only references basic action cards or dice, this card and its dice are not affected.

This card takes up a character card slot on your team and the dice count towards your 20 dice maximum. You can only purchase non-basic action dice that are on your team. For example: If I have Free Chimichangas on my team, it’s placed in a character card slot and its dice count toward my 20 dice maximum. My opponent can’t purchase my Free Chimichangas dice.

When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. If you have a any action dice in your Reserve Pool after your Attack Step, those dice are sent to the Used Pile. You can only use action dice on your turn.

Ruling – Keyword Ability: Impulse

We’ll discuss this card’s individual Impulse ability in the Ruling – Ability section below. This section is focusing on the keyword and not the ability granted by the keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Impulse: Impulse abilities happen when you purchase a character die with the Impulse ability.  The character does not need to be already active to use the Impulse ability.”

The description from the WizKids Keywords page is a little dated. It specifically mentions a ‘character die’ with Impulse, but as you can see, other card types can have the Impulse ability.

When you purchase a die with the Impulse ability, you will be able to activate the bonus listed as the Impulse ability. Impulse abilities vary from card to card.

You do not need to have a copy of the die active in the Field Zone (which isn’t possible in some cases), you only need to purchase the die to trigger Impulse.

Ruling – Ability

Impulse – Target character die gets +2D (until end of turn). (Impulse abilities happen when you purchase the character die with Impulse.)

Target character die gets +2D.”

When you trigger the Impulse ability on Free Chimichangas, you target a character die that will get +2D until the end of turn. You must target a character die if there are legal targets available. You can’t trigger the Impulse ability and choose to not use it if there are legal targets. If you don’t have a character die of your own to target, you must target an opposing character die. If there are no character dice to target, you may still purchase a Free Chimichangas die, but the Impulse ability will fizzle.

When you use a Free Chimichangas action die, you target a character die that will get +2D until the end of turn. You must target a character die. If you don’t have a character die of your own to target, you must target an opposing character die. If there are no legal targets for the action die’s ability, you can’t use the action die. Players are not allowed to use an action die for no effect.

Both of these effects give a target character die +2D, until the end of the turn. This is an applied effect. If you were to swap the character’s A and D with another ability, the +2D that was applied will swap to the A.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Free Chimichangas is a Mask type non-basic action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Free Chimichangas is fun in casual and drafts. I don’t think this card would ever have a spot in a competitive meta, which it would only be legal for Golden Age competitive events now.

But for casual play, this is a fun action to use on a team with Ant-Man: Pym Particles from the Uncanny X-Men set. You can use your Free Chimichangas to boost the defense of one of your characters, like any of the Blobs from X-Men First Class, and then swap his attack and defense with Ant-Man’s Global for a super heavy hitting character!

You can use Free Chimichangas to boost the defense of an opposing character so you don’t KO it. If you Polymorph a troublesome character (like Shriek) into the field to prevent your opponent from getting her ability, you don’t want to KO her with a Dragon’s Breath Weapon. Just use Free Chimichangas to boost her defense and an ability to prevent her from blocking, then attack with your dragon!

Free Chimichangas has plenty of uses. It’s really up to each individual player to test it on their various teams or build a team around it to see if the card fits their play style.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Heist: Basic Action Card  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W 07 Heist, BAC

Ruling Using Action Dice

Heist is a Basic Action Card and it’s dice are Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Heist. Basic Action Dice can be purchased by either player.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The die will never enter the Field Zone. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Ability

Target opponent draws 2 dice from their bag. Place one in that opponent’s Prep Area. Roll the other die and place it in your Reserve Pool. At the end of your turn, place the rolled die in your opponent’s Used Pile (regardless of where it is).

You must be able to target an opponent in order to use Heist. If you can’t target an opponent, you will not be able to use Heist because it won’t have any effect. When you use Heist, you place the die Out of Play from your Reserve Pool. The die never enters the Field Zone.

When you use Heist, you target an opponent and they draw two dice from their dice bag. If they can’t draw two dice, they draw as many as they can and then refill their bag from their Used Pile, and finish drawing until they have drawn two dice. If they don’t have any dice in their Used Pile to refill their bag, then they draw as many as they can.

If your opponent can only draw one die and doesn’t have any dice to refill their bag with, they do not take damage. ‘Bag Burn’ is only something that applies during the Clear and Draw Step. Also, if your opponent can only draw one die you complete the remainder of the Heist ability in the order stated on the card. This means you would place that single die in your opponent’s Prep Area and not roll it.

When your opponent draws the two dice, you choose one and it is placed in their Prep Area. You then roll the second die and place it in your Reserve Pool. You now get to use that die on the face it landed on. If you rolled energy, you can use it normally. If you rolled an action face, you use it as intended. For example: A Continuous action die will stay in the Field Zone, but the Heist ability will place it in your opponent’s Used Pile at the end of your turn. You get to use it for that turn. The same would happen with a character die if you rolled a character face. You could field that character and activate any When Fielded abilities, but it would be placed in your opponent’s Used Pile at the end of your turn.

If you have an ability that would allow you to reroll or manipulate the dice in your Reserve Pool after the Roll and Reroll Step, those abilities can be used on the die that was stolen with Heist. For example: If you have Parallax: Source of Terror, you can spend one energy to reroll the die you stole with Heist. You could not use an ability that affects dice during the Roll and Reroll Step for the stolen die because Heist is used after the Roll and Reroll Step has passed.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Heist is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ Heist has a Neutral Alignment (leaf symbol near the purchase cost).
~ It says Use: 3 instead of Max: 3 because you are required to bring exactly three Basic Action Dice for Heist.
~ This card is a Common and is #7 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This card is definitely about more than just potentially stealing some energy. This card can seriously disrupt the flow of your opponent’s bag and also turn an action or character against them for a brief moment. This could also deny them the opportunity to draw that big nasty they had coming next turn. They do get a prepped die from Heist, but I feel like the risk is worth it.

If you don’t get an action or character, you still come out with at least one energy that you can use to make purchases, field characters, activate Globals, etc. I don’t see a huge downside to this card, other than potentially pulling two really good dice and having to put one in your opponent’s Prep Area for next turn. Thinning their bag of Sidekicks is a downside, but it’s not a huge one. Again, the risk is worth the potential reward as long as you’re cautious when using this die. Don’t use it when they have four Sidekicks in their bag and a lot of characters and actions in their Used Pile. You need to keep track of your opponent’s purchases and where the dice are when you play with Heist.

I don’t see this card as a major competitive card, but it’s great for all levels of casual games, and even competitive-casual. Competitive-casual is a mix of competitive and casual play – like a casual setting were everyone is playing semi-competitive, but they don’t bring out the big nasty dudes (like Cube+Pureblood). You also might see someone with a Shriek or a DWiz, but not both. This type of atmosphere breeds creativity and is definitely more fun for folks that don’t dig the hyper competitive scenes, but they still want to play with some of the competitive cards.

I have not looked at this card since the set released, until it popped up as a question from someone. They asked if they could field a character if the die they stole rolled a character face. It’s a tactic that I didn’t think of when I first read the card, but I love the possibilities this card can bring – as well as the chaos that could ensue! I owe that reader a big thank you!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jarnborn: And My Axe  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Jarnborn, And My Axe

Ruling Using Action Dice

Jarnborn is a Non-Basic Action Card and it’s dice are Non-Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Jarnborn. If the text refers to a Basic Action Card or Basic Action Die, it will not affect Jarnborn. Non-Basic Action dice can not be purchased by an opponent, unlike Basic Action dice.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Ability

“Replace target character die’s A with double its printed A (until end of turn).”

In order to use Jarnborn, you must be able to target a character die that’s active in the Field. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Jarnborn.

When you use Jarnborn, you can target a character die that belongs to either player.

When used, Jarnborn’s ability will replace the targeted character die’s current attack value with a value equal to double its printed attack value. If a character has applied bonuses to its attack value, those will not be added and will be lost. Static bonuses will still apply. For example, if I have a character in the Field Zone with a printed attack of 4, when I use Jarnborn, that character’s attack value will now be 8 until the end of my turn.

This effect will last until the end of your turn. Jarnborn does not alter the character die’s printed attack value.

You can use this die during your Main Step or wait until after your opponent assigns blockers and then use it during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step. You can use the die for one of your characters that are blocked or one that is unblocked. You can even use this die on one of your opponent’s dice, whether they’re blocking or not.

If you use a second Jarnborn on the same character die, it will replace that character die’s current attack value with double its printed attack value. Even if the value is unchanged, the effect still happens.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jarnborn is a Fist type Non-Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of 4.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I noticed a few players asking about non-basic actions so I thought I’d pick one that I think is a fantastic tactical card. You can wait and use until the Attack Step, after blockers are assigned, to try and maximize your damage against your opponent. Or you can use it on a character die during the Main Step to entice your opponent to block a particular character. You could even use it to help your opponent’s blocker KO one of your attackers with a When KO’d ability.

I love the versatility of this card and I can’t wait to use it more. I’ve been toying around with a few teams and this is a card that might fit nicely on to some of them. One team in particular has the super rare Mister Miracle on it. While he’s active, your action dice gain the Boomerang keyword. I want to use him, Jarnborn, and a heavy hitter or two and I can’t wait to finish that team!

I also love that my opponent can’t buy it, because it’s not a Basic Action. I can bring this card and know that I’m safe from them using it against me – unless they bring it too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Cosmic Cube, Energy of the Beyonders

Ruling – Ability

Whenever an Action die or character ability deals damage this turn, increase that damage by 2.

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. The effect of the die will remain until end of turn.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is applied to each instance of damage. For example, if a character ability allows you to divide ability damage among two character dice, you will increase the damage dealt to each of those dice by two.

Any time an Action die or character ability deals damage, it will be increased by two for each Cosmic Cube die that was used that turn. For example, if two Cosmic Cube dice were used, damage from an Action die or character ability will be increased by a total of four.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is added to the damage total first, then the damage is applied to the target of the Action die or character ability. Reducing or preventing the initial damage from the Action die or character ability will not prevent the additional damage from Cosmic Cube.

This ability will also apply to any Action die character ability that your opponent can use on your turn. For example: If you you use one Cosmic Cube die and your opponent has Batgirl: Babs active, when you deal damage to her, she will increase her damage by two. Typically, an opponent will not be able to use an action die on your turn, but if they have a way to do so, damage dealt with that action die will also be increased by two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Cosmic Cube is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #86 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There are rulings for this card, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I don’t have much to say about this card, and not because it’s a bad card. There is no denying that this card is super powerful, especially with the new Attune ability that debuted in the Tomb of Annihilation set. There are plenty of crazy builds around this card, and that makes Bishop: Butterfly Effect from the X-Men First Class set a very important character for your team. He will prevent all of the non-combat damage you would be subjected to, until they Shriek him.

I would not recommend using this card in smaller, local scenes that are mostly casual. This is definitely a powerful and meta worthy card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

The Mighty Thor Dice Masters set has released! I unboxed a Draft Pack Display and thought I’d share the breakdown of my pulls. You can see the video on my YouTube channel, here. I will not be featuring favorite cards in this article – be looking for that article in the future!

Each pack’s contents are listed below. Foil cards are in red text. The boxes are listed from the front of the display, to the back of the display.

Rules Insert

Rules Insert

Draft Pack #1

Basic Action Cards
Investigation
Shockwave

Commons
Absorbing Man
Hulk
Jarnbjorn
Loki
Ragnarok
Thor (Male)

Uncommons
Balder
Hulk
Sif
Thor (Male)

Rares
Mjolnir
Punisher

Draft Pack #2

Basic Action Cards
Big Entrance
Surprise Attack

Commons
Balder
Billy Club
Crystal
Odin
Punisher
SP//dr
Samantha Wilson

Uncommons
Hogun
Samantha Wilson
Wrecker

Rares
Fandral
Odin

Draft Pack #3

Basic Action Cards
Don the Helm
Investigation

Commons
Crystal
Jane Foster
Kate Bishop
Nick Fury
Sif
The Bifrost

Uncommons
Destroyer
Jane Foster
Loki
Samantha Wilson

Rares
Jarnbjorn

Kate Bishop

Draft Pack #4

Basic Action Cards
Big Entrance
Released from the Ice

Commons
Absorbing Man
Balder
Chipmunk Hunk
Hulk
Loki
Samantha Wilson
Thor (Male)

Uncommons
Absorbing Man
Jarnbjorn
Surtur

Rares
Daredevil
US Agent

Draft Pack #5

Basic Action Cards
Released from the Ice
Villainous Pact

Commons
Billy Club
Destroyer
Heimdall
Karnak
Thorbuster Iron Man
Volstagg
Wrecker

Uncommons
Fandral
Nick Fury
Pepper Potts

Rares
Iron Man
Sif

Draft Pack #6

Basic Action Cards
Odin’s Fury
Shockwave

Commons
Beta Ray Bill
Fandral
Hogun
Malekith
Mr. Fixit
Pepper Potts
Surtur

Uncommons
Enchantress
Mr. Fixit

Rares
The Bifrost
The Bifrost (Duplicate Rare – no dice)
Earth X Thor (SUPER RARE)

Draft Pack #7

Basic Action Cards
Archnemesis!
Get Thee Hence

Commons
Blackheart
Enchantress
Mjolnir
Punisher
Ragnarok
SP//dr

Uncommons
Punisher
Kate Bishop
The Bifrost
Thor (Female)

Rares
Crystal
SP//dr

Draft Pack #8

Basic Action Cards
Don the Helm
Shockwave

Commons
Daredevil
Hela
Iron Man
Jarnbjorn
Odin
Thor (Female)
US Agent

Uncommons
Crystal
Daredevil
Pepper Potts

Rares
Balder
Thorbuster Iron Man

Note – Draft Pack #6

In Draft Pack number six, I opened two The Bifrost rare cards, but didn’t get four dice in the pack. I went back and examined the dice more closely and discovered I had Odin dice, but no Odin card in that pack. When you look at the breakdown of the packs, you can almost immediately guess that the missing card was supposed to be an uncommon, non-foil Odin.I don’t believe it was a foil because there was already a foil uncommon card and three foils total in the pack. But, because this pack had the super rare in it, it could throw off the regular formula. But I’m certain it was an uncommon Odin because there were only two uncommon cards in the pack and the minimum I’ve seen is three.

That’s not a huge loss when you look at what I got in it’s place – a rare Bifrost. I’m definitely not upset about it, but I do not like that there was a miss-pack like this. This could mean that someone out there is missing a rare Bifrost and got an extra uncommon Odin. Miss-packs are bound to happen, but it’s not pleasant when it goes the other way.

Basic Action Card Reprint/Revamps

I pulled ten of the twelve BACs. Here is a list with a list of their previous versions. The orange cards are the two I did not pull. It appears that all the BACs are reprints or revamped versions of previous BACs.

#1 – Archnemesis!
~ Archnemesis (Amazing Spider-Man): Reprint

#2 – Big Entrance
~ Big Entrance (War of Light): Reprint
~ Promo(s): Reprint

#3 – Don the Helm
~ Transfer Power (Uncanny X-Men): Don the Helm is a revamp of Transfer Power. Don the Helm loses the Global and has updated wording, but is otherwise functionally the same.

#4 – Flying Hammer
~ Smash! (Avengers vs X-Men): Flying Hammer cost one more to purchase but has updated wording and is functionally the same.
~ Smash! (Iron Man War Machine): Flying Hammer cost one more to purchase but is functionally the same.

#5 – Get Thee Hence
~ Dark Avenger (World’s Finest): but the Batman affiliation is replaced with the Immortal keyword. Get Thee Hence is not a direct reprint.

#6 – Investigation
~ Gearing Up (Avengers vs X-Men): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but is worded the same.
~ Superhero Registration Act (Civil War): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but doesn’t have the Enlistment keyword. Otherwise, worded the same.
~ Special Delivery (TMNT Box 1): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but is worded the same.

#7 – Midgard
~ Save Civilians (Justice League): Midgard is a reprint.
~ Save Civilians (Superman Wonder Woman): Midgard is a reprint.

#8 – Odin’s Fury
~ True Believer (Amazing Spider-Man): Odin’s Fury has clarified wording but is functionally the same.

#9 – Released from the Ice
~ Reclaim (Heroes in a Half Shell): Released from the Ice is reworded but functionally the same.

#10 – Shockwave
~ Shockwave (Justice League): Reprint

#11 – Surprise Attack
~ Surprise Attack (Age of Ultron): Surprise Attack from Mighty Thor has updated wording but functionally the same.
~ Surprise Attack (Iron Man War Machine): The version in Mighty Thor is a direct reprint of this version.

#12 – Villainous Pact
~ Villainous Pact (Justice League): Villainous Pact from Mighty Thor has the updated wording but functionally the same.
~ Promo (M2016): Villainous Pact from Mighty Thor has is a direct reprint of this version.

Final Thoughts

It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of the Draft Packs. I don’t like the extra hoops folks need to jump through in order to get all the Basic Actions. There are a total of sixteen BACs in a display – and there is no reason a sealed display shouldn’t have at least one copy of all twelve BACs. It’s bad enough you need a regular and foil set (if you’re collecting a foil set too), but to open a sealed display and still be missing two to three BACs is just silly.

I also don’t like that I end up missing somewhere around fifteen or sixteen uncommons, especially when I get duplicate uncommons, regardless of them being foil duplicates. I ended up with duplicate rares in the D&D display and that was a little frustrating as well. As a collector, I am greatly displeased with the draft packs and there is no way to convince me that they’re equal or better than a feed (for my collecting) – unless they were $15-$20 cheaper than a feed instead of only $10 cheaper. But if you’re only looking for rare cards, you can guarantee two rares or a rare and a super rare from a $10 pack. For that cost, I’d still rather buy a feed and then buy singles, like I’ve been doing since the dawn of Uncanny X-Men (AvX was a little different and harder to collect).

So, I’m very happy there is a gravity available for Mighty Thor. I wish WizKids would have made a BAC pack for folks that only want the regular BACs from the set and don’t want or have access to the Draft Packs. They could have brought back the Collector’s Box and put foil BACs in it with the cool premium dice. I don’t care about characters, character dice, or boosters – I just want the Collector’s Boxes back with foil BACs and premium dice! That would be awesome to have a Collector’s Box for starters and team packs with foil versions of the cards too.

I like the Draft Pack idea for pre-release events or other special sealed type events, but not as a standard product. I’ve heard several of my locals voice this same opinion.

What do you think of the Draft Packs?
Are you finding it difficult to get a full set of the BACs?
Do you like that they’re all reprints or revamped versions of previous BACs?

Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty! Thanks for reading and please remember to like, follow, and subscribe!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Poison Dart Trap: Lesser Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Poison Dart Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling – Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent would roll 2 or more of the same non-NPC character die at the same time.
Effect: Before the roll occurs, place one of those character dice into your opponent’s Used Pile.”

Poison Dart Trap has the Trap keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

Using this die places it into the Field Zone. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability removes an action die.

Poison Dart Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Poison Dart Trap.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

The term non-NPC means non-Sidekick. NPC is the wording on Dungeons and Dragons cards that means Sidekick. This applies to Ally characters, which are considered Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Poison Dart Trap’s trigger is when your opponent would roll two or more of the same character dice, that aren’t Sidekicks. For example, I have an active Poison Dart Trap and my opponent is about roll three Guy Gardner dice. Poison Dart Trap triggers and goes to the Used Pile. I get to choose one of the Guy Gardner dice and it goes to their Used Pile. My opponent gets to roll the other two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Poison Dart Trap is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #35 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I like the new Trap keyword, as well as how they clarified when the trap die is actually used. I would like for other abilities, like the one on Cold Gun, to eventually be worded similar to this. That would clarify a lot of confusion over using action die and activating them.

But as for this card’s ability, it’s great against Swarm! You would be able to reduce the number of dice they roll by one, which could be a big deal. Outside of drafting, I’m not sure how much play this card will see. If Swarm characters are a pain and someone has room, they could add this card to see if it helps. It’s not expensive with a cost of three and it only needs to be in the Field Zone.

I’m don’t think this card will see major meta play, but some casual scenes probably will – especially if Swarm is big. This card could be useful in drafts as well, but only if players are drafting multiple copies of a character and using three or four of that character’s dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Nocturne: Shadowy Lineage from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Nocturne, Shadowy Lineage

Ruling – Ability

While Nocturne is active, the first time your opponent uses an Action die each turn, you may redirect the effect to another legal target.

Nocturne’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Nocturne’s ability will only trigger the first time your opponent uses an action die each turn. Activating an action die’s ability, like Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm”, is not considered the same as using the action die and will not trigger Nocturne’s ability.

Nocturne can only redirect the action die if there is a legal target for the action die’s ability. For example, Betrayal: Basic Action Card says, “Deal 1 damage to target opponent for each character die in their Field Zone.” If that’s the first action die your opponent uses, Nocturne cannot redirect it to your opponent because they are the one using the action die. Betrayal would still deal damage to you for each character die in your Field Zone.

Nocturne can redirect an ability from a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, because her text does not specify a type of action die.

If the action die has multiple legal targets, you may choose any legal target. For example, Power Bolt: Basic Action Card says, Deal 2 damage to one target character or player. If that’s the first action die your opponent uses and they target a character die, Nocturne can redirect the effect to your opponent, another character die, or yourself. Any of those targets are legal targets for the effect of the action die.

Nocturne’s ability is not a mandatory trigger. Because her ability is optional, if you forget to use it when her trigger condition is met, you cannot back up once the game has progressed beyond the resolution of the action die’s ability. Also, if the trigger condition is met, but there are no legal targets, you will not be able to use her ability that turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Nocturne is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Exiles affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #99 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Nocturne, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Nocturne has an interesting ability, but because she requires a ‘legal’ target for the redirect, her ability can easily be avoided. You only need to play an action die that she can’t redirect before you play any other action die. The only difficulty in that strategy is getting multiple action dice on the same turn, unless your team is set up for such plays. She’s not expensive, but her defense is kinda terrible because a Cold Gun can easily blast her out of the field on any of her levels.

I like her for drafts and limited constructed events, but as far as Modern Age or Golden Age constructed, I don’t think she’s as useful as other cards. Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For and Bishop: Butterfly Effect are two highly useful cards that I would use over Nocturne.

Fun fact – Nocturne is from not from Earth 616 (Earth Prime). She’s the daughter of Nightcrawler and Scarlet Witch from Earth 2182.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Kyln: Pangalactic Prison from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W The Kyln, Pangalactic Prison

Ruling – Ability

Continuous: Players must spend [1 Generic Energy] more to purchase each character die for every character die in their Field Zone.”

WizKids Keywords page has the definition for Continuous:

Continuous: Actions with Continuous move from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone and can stay there at the end of the turn. Sometimes they’ll send themselves to the Used Pile for an effect whenever you could use a Global Ability.”

The Kyln does not need to be activated in order to gain the benefit of its ability. Each Kyln die that you have in the Field Zone will automatically apply its ability. For every Kyln die you have in the Field Zone, your opponent will need to pay one additional generic energy for each character die in their Field Zone, when they purchase a character die.

For example: If I have two Kyln dice in the Field Zone and my opponent has three character dice in the Field Zone, they will need to pay an additional six energy to purchase a character die.

The Kyln will apply its ability to both players, not just the opposing player. Generic energy can be paid with any type of energy.

The Kyln dice will not leave the Field Zone on their own. To remove a Kyln die from the Field Zone, a player would need to use an ability on a card like Bleez: Controlled Rage or Oni: Greater Giant.

The Kyln’s ability places something like a tax on the purchase of a character die. This ability does not alter the printed cost of a character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Kyln is a Shield type non-basic card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #37 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for The Kyln, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I do not like playing against this card at all. I would rather play against it than a Bard though! Bards aside, this card is devastating to teams that need character dice in the Field while still trying to purchase more character dice. Just one character on your side and three Kyln on the Field will tax the purchase of a character die for three additional energy, making that two cost Guy Gardner ultimately cost you five instead. That’s really painful and Kyln is only two to purchase. The Kyln is a very nasty card and I wouldn’t be surprised if it showed up on teams in various metas. If someone is trying to make a Satchel team work, Kyln is likely going to be a go-to for that team. For all the nasty that this card brings, you can still play around it by not fielding too many character dice while you’re still trying to purchase character dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Batarang: What Goes Around Comes Around from the DC Batman set.

W Batarang, What Goes Around Comes Around

Ruling – Ability

When you use this action die, you deal three damage to one target Villain character die. If you use a second Batarang die, you can choose to target the same die again if it’s still active in the Field Zone, or you can choose a new Villain to target.

You can target opposing Villains or your own Villains with Batarang action dice.

A Sidekick die or character die that does not have a printed Villain affiliation on their card can be legal targets if they have been given the Villain affiliation through a game effect. For example: Superman is not a Villain. I can pay a Mask energy and a Fist energy for the Global on the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, and target Superman so he gains the Villain affiliation. This makes him a legal target for Batarang.

A character with a printed Villain affiliation can have the Villain affiliation removed by a card effect and no longer be a legal target for Batarang. Removing the Villain affiliation will not affect Batarang dice that have been used prior to the removal of the affiliation. For example: My Joker (Villain), with a defense of six, has been hit with a Batarang for three damage. In the same turn, I can remove his affiliation with Ra’s al Ghul‘s Global and he will still have three damage on him until the Clean Up Step. He can no longer be targeted by Batarang dice this turn, unless he regains the Villain affiliation.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Ruling – Boomerang Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Boomerang: Action dice with boomerang are re-rolled after they’re used. If they reveal an action face, add them to your Prep Area.

 

After you roll the action die, if it shows an action face (non-energy face), you get to add it to your Prep Area. If it shows an energy face, the die will move Out of Play as normal. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Boomerang is mandatory. If you use an Action Die with Boomerang, you must reroll it.

Action and Energy Faces 2

 

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Batarang is a Bolt type non-Basic Action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 124.

Batarang is a special Action called a non-Basic Action. You place this card in a character slot on your team. Your opponent can not purchase your non-Basic Action dice.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Batarang during the Main Step and the Attack Step.

Game State
~ I have two Batarang dice showing action faces in my Reserve Pool. I have a level three Huntress (4A/3D) die and a level three Hawkgirl (4A/4D) die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level three Killer Croc (7A/7D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Batarang dice, targeting my Huntress die. Huntress takes three damage, KO’ing her and sending her to my Prep Area. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an energy face and is placed Out of Play.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they choose to not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ We now move into the Attack Step – or – Skip the Attack Step and go straight to Clean Up. I decide that I want to attack, so we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Hawkgirl to attack, moving her into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Killer Croc to block Hawkgirl, moving Killer Croc into the Attack Zone and placing him in front of Hawkgirl.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I use my second Batarang die and target Killer Croc. Killer Croc takes three damage and since it wasn’t enough to KO him, he remains in the Attack Zone blocking Hawkgirl. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an action face and is added in my Prep Area.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Hawkgirl deals her four attack to Killer Croc’s seven defense, but he already has three damage on him. This will be enough to KO him. Killer Croc deals his seven attack to Hawkgirl’s four defense, which is enough to KO her. They will both go their respective Prep Areas during Clean Up.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. Killer Croc is placed in my opponent’s Prep Area and Hawkgirl is placed in my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I think Boomerang is a really neat ability, but I have yet to play it. I’ve seen plenty of Unstable Miracle teams floating around, but I want to use a die that already has Boomerang, like Batarang. I’ll have to use Batarang if I want to play with Boomerang because it’s the only action card with the Keyword and all three versions have Boomerang.

I am definitely looking forward to adding this to my “FREEZE!” team. While useful against opposing Villains, I think it’ll be much more of an asset when it comes to KO’ing your own Villains that have When Fielded abilities. Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries has a cool When Fielded ability that puts Stun Tokens on your opponent’s character cards. Sometimes, it’s hard to get those type of character dice back into your Prep Area to reuse quickly. Batarang definitely provides a viable option that your opponent won’t have access to, like Unstable Canister. Mr. Freeze has a defense line of 2/3/4, making him a prime target for Batarang. The only level that would give you trouble is level three.

Some other characters that I would love to pair this Batarang with are Huntress: No Rest for the Wicked and Firefly: Ted Carson. I absolutely love the idea of using Huntress to potentially KO their dudes and then field Firefly to blast them for some damage. Batarang would help cycle those two in the early game because they’re both Villains and make for great targets for Batarang.

And if blasting your own Villains into the Prep Area for next turn wasn’t good enough, Batarang has the potential to come back too, thanks to Boomerang!

I think all versions are great for casual level play and especially for drafting. I’m not sure it has what it takes to stand alone in the Modern Age competitive meta, but I’m holding out hope that someone finds a creative way to use this card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

I’ve been super excited about drafting this new Batman set and I was not disappointed.

You can check out our featured matches from this event on my YouTube channel, Dice Dice Kitty.

You can find the videos for the featured matches in the May 27, 2017 Batman Dice Masters Draft playlist. The footage from round one was somehow corrupted by my editing software.

I did a live stream on my Facebook page of my draft picks. You can find the video, here.

My Team

MyBatmanDraftTeam1

I started with what I thought was solid strategy, but ended up having to change it after seeing the spread of dice on the table. I never intended to draft any Parademon cards, but I opened a total of three! I got the uncommon in the first pile of packs and two commons in the second pile. I knew I could guarantee myself two Parademon dice and I didn’t want to let someone else grab them.

I really wanted to try the common Batgirl. I thought she might be decent for a draft, but I forgot all about grabbing another Batman Family character. I waited way too late in the draft picks to start grabbing Ace cards, leaving me with fewer dice than I liked. I’m glad I got at least two dice for Ace because I didn’t want to rely on the Trusted Friend Global to make Batman Family characters.

I really wanted to get more Red Hood dice, but there were only three total. I couldn’t let him get slide by me because someone would certainly take him. Even if I wasn’t going to use him, I didn’t want him used against me – especially if the other Red Hood cards weren’t commons. There was only one Rip Hunter in our five person pod, so when I saw the opportunity to take him, I did. Hawk, Firefly, and Two-Face’s Coin were all picked because I wanted to try them or I didn’t want someone else to have too many of those dice.

I only used Rip Hunter’s ability twice in the entire event, but I like him for drafts. He’s a great way to speed up a team – you just need to buy him and use him. I never bought him in my first match, forgot about his ability almost every turn in my second match, and never fielded him in my third match. I only used Firefly and Two-Face’s coin one time each and only bought them in my second match.

For my Basic Action Cards, I chose Cloudkill and Haymaker. I knew I would need a way to help my Batgirl and Ace dice get past any defenses my opponent had and the Haymaker Global would help boost their attacks.

Round One

In my first match, Batgirl and Ace were definitely my MVPs. I was a little worried when I saw Catwoman (Common), Batgirl (Common), and Nightwing (Rare) all on the same team across the table from me. That’s a ton of cheap characters with mostly decent stats for a draft. I purchased both Ace dice and all three of my Batgirl dice in hopes of racing my opponent. I purchased a Cloudkill as well to help my chances of getting those characters through. Parademon actually came in handy a few times, giving me that one extra die a few times. My opponent would blast him out of the Field when she had a chance to keep me from getting the full benefit from him.

Round Two

My opponent was using the common Rip Hunter with Unstable Canister, in hopes of taking his opponents out with direct damage. If he had rolled his Canisters on Action faces every time he rolled them, I would have lost the match really, really fast. I got extremely lucky in that he only rolled them a third of the time.

Hawk helped me win my second match before he burned me down. His seven attack on level three with the addition of attack boosters is just nasty when your opponent can’t block. Hawk softened up my opponent and then I went in for lethal damage with a field of Batgirl and Ace dice.

Round Three

In round three, I lost rather quickly to the uncommon Hawkgirl (spins up a level when a Sidekick attacks) and common Ace the Bat Hound (Ally) combo. My opponent used the Globals on his Invulnerability and Anger Issues to increase their attack stats and deal lots of damage, rather quickly. I made the mistake of going for Rip Hunter first when I should have been going for Batgirl and my Ace. I didn’t have time to fix it before he got lethal damage in.

Final Thoughts

I ended the night with a record of 2-1-0, which is not bad at all. My Strength of Schedule (SOS), or tiebreakers as they’re often called, boosted me to second place. My only loss was to Joey, who took first place. His Hawkgirl and Ace combo was just too fast to deal with!

While I was drafting, I was looking at the cards and trying to decide if I wanted a card to use it, or wanted it so someone else couldn’t use it against me. This set is a really good draft set. It forces players to make difficult decisions on the fly, without having all the information they want.

“Do I take this character with beefy stats, or do I take the character with weaker stats but decent ability and try to build off of it?”

“This card has a really good ability but doesn’t go with my current strategy. Do I pass it to someone else that can potentially use it against me, or do I take it just so they can’t?”

“I don’t see anymore cards for my current strategy and we’re almost done with the first pack. Can I afford to swap to something else?”

“I really want this rare/foil for my set, but I think I could use this common that I already have ten of. Which do I take?”

In the gravity feed that Mr. DDK and I opened, we actually pulled a foil rare Big Barda. I really wanted to draft the foil rare Big Barda that I saw, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. She could have been a great addition instead of Two-Face’s Coin. I just couldn’t take her. If you watch the draft video, I think it shows where I almost take her, but I chose a different card. I didn’t think it would be fair to the other players to take a card I knew I wouldn’t need for my collection even though I fully intended on using her for my draft team. Even though she would have been better for my team, she wouldn’t have changed the outcome of the one match I lost.

I will sometimes draft for my collection (rare/foil-drafting) and sometimes I draft to win. I don’t have any issues with other players rare-drafting or foil-drafting, even if that’s what I’m doing in the same pod. In this particular draft, I wanted to win because there were additional packs as prizes and I wanted to win some of those!

The feedback I got from all the players in our draft was that they love the set for all levels of play and they all had a lot of fun drafting. I can easily echo their feedback. I’m really digging this set and I can’t wait to draft it more!

How do you draft – Aggro, Control, etc?
Do you like to draft to win, or draft to collect?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!