Posts Tagged ‘Action’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Poison Dart Trap: Lesser Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Poison Dart Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling – Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent would roll 2 or more of the same non-NPC character die at the same time.
Effect: Before the roll occurs, place one of those character dice into your opponent’s Used Pile.”

Poison Dart Trap has the Trap keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

Using this die places it into the Field Zone. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability removes an action die.

Poison Dart Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Poison Dart Trap.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

The term non-NPC means non-Sidekick. NPC is the wording on Dungeons and Dragons cards that means Sidekick. This applies to Ally characters, which are considered Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Poison Dart Trap’s trigger is when your opponent would roll two or more of the same character dice, that aren’t Sidekicks. For example, I have an active Poison Dart Trap and my opponent is about roll three Guy Gardner dice. Poison Dart Trap triggers and goes to the Used Pile. I get to choose one of the Guy Gardner dice and it goes to their Used Pile. My opponent gets to roll the other two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Poison Dart Trap is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #35 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I like the new Trap keyword, as well as how they clarified when the trap die is actually used. I would like for other abilities, like the one on Cold Gun, to eventually be worded similar to this. That would clarify a lot of confusion over using action die and activating them.

But as for this card’s ability, it’s great against Swarm! You would be able to reduce the number of dice they roll by one, which could be a big deal. Outside of drafting, I’m not sure how much play this card will see. If Swarm characters are a pain and someone has room, they could add this card to see if it helps. It’s not expensive with a cost of three and it only needs to be in the Field Zone.

I’m don’t think this card will see major meta play, but some casual scenes probably will – especially if Swarm is big. This card could be useful in drafts as well, but only if players are drafting multiple copies of a character and using three or four of that character’s dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Nocturne: Shadowy Lineage from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Nocturne, Shadowy Lineage

Ruling – Ability

While Nocturne is active, the first time your opponent uses an Action die each turn, you may redirect the effect to another legal target.

Nocturne’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Nocturne’s ability will only trigger the first time your opponent uses an action die each turn. Activating an action die’s ability, like Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm”, is not considered the same as using the action die and will not trigger Nocturne’s ability.

Nocturne can only redirect the action die if there is a legal target for the action die’s ability. For example, Betrayal: Basic Action Card says, “Deal 1 damage to target opponent for each character die in their Field Zone.” If that’s the first action die your opponent uses, Nocturne cannot redirect it to your opponent because they are the one using the action die. Betrayal would still deal damage to you for each character die in your Field Zone.

Nocturne can redirect an ability from a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, because her text does not specify a type of action die.

If the action die has multiple legal targets, you may choose any legal target. For example, Power Bolt: Basic Action Card says, Deal 2 damage to one target character or player. If that’s the first action die your opponent uses and they target a character die, Nocturne can redirect the effect to your opponent, another character die, or yourself. Any of those targets are legal targets for the effect of the action die.

Nocturne’s ability is not a mandatory trigger. Because her ability is optional, if you forget to use it when her trigger condition is met, you cannot back up once the game has progressed beyond the resolution of the action die’s ability. Also, if the trigger condition is met, but there are no legal targets, you will not be able to use her ability that turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Nocturne is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Exiles affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #99 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Nocturne, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Nocturne has an interesting ability, but because she requires a ‘legal’ target for the redirect, her ability can easily be avoided. You only need to play an action die that she can’t redirect before you play any other action die. The only difficulty in that strategy is getting multiple action dice on the same turn, unless your team is set up for such plays. She’s not expensive, but her defense is kinda terrible because a Cold Gun can easily blast her out of the field on any of her levels.

I like her for drafts and limited constructed events, but as far as Modern Age or Golden Age constructed, I don’t think she’s as useful as other cards. Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For and Bishop: Butterfly Effect are two highly useful cards that I would use over Nocturne.

Fun fact – Nocturne is from not from Earth 616 (Earth Prime). She’s the daughter of Nightcrawler and Scarlet Witch from Earth 2182.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Kyln: Pangalactic Prison from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W The Kyln, Pangalactic Prison

Ruling – Ability

Continuous: Players must spend [1 Generic Energy] more to purchase each character die for every character die in their Field Zone.”

WizKids Keywords page has the definition for Continuous:

Continuous: Actions with Continuous move from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone and can stay there at the end of the turn. Sometimes they’ll send themselves to the Used Pile for an effect whenever you could use a Global Ability.”

The Kyln does not need to be activated in order to gain the benefit of its ability. Each Kyln die that you have in the Field Zone will automatically apply its ability. For every Kyln die you have in the Field Zone, your opponent will need to pay one additional generic energy for each character die in their Field Zone, when they purchase a character die.

For example: If I have two Kyln dice in the Field Zone and my opponent has three character dice in the Field Zone, they will need to pay an additional six energy to purchase a character die.

The Kyln will apply its ability to both players, not just the opposing player. Generic energy can be paid with any type of energy.

The Kyln dice will not leave the Field Zone on their own. To remove a Kyln die from the Field Zone, a player would need to use an ability on a card like Bleez: Controlled Rage or Oni: Greater Giant.

The Kyln’s ability places something like a tax on the purchase of a character die. This ability does not alter the printed cost of a character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Kyln is a Shield type non-basic card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #37 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for The Kyln, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I do not like playing against this card at all. I would rather play against it than a Bard though! Bards aside, this card is devastating to teams that need character dice in the Field while still trying to purchase more character dice. Just one character on your side and three Kyln on the Field will tax the purchase of a character die for three additional energy, making that two cost Guy Gardner ultimately cost you five instead. That’s really painful and Kyln is only two to purchase. The Kyln is a very nasty card and I wouldn’t be surprised if it showed up on teams in various metas. If someone is trying to make a Satchel team work, Kyln is likely going to be a go-to for that team. For all the nasty that this card brings, you can still play around it by not fielding too many character dice while you’re still trying to purchase character dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Scarlet Witch, Careful What You Wish For

Ruling – Ability

“While Scarlet Witch is active, during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, your opponent must reroll any Action dice that land on an Action face and cannot reroll any Action dice on energy faces.”

Scarlet Witch’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Scarlet Witch is active, only during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, if they roll any action dice and those dice land on an action face, they must choose to reroll them. They are not able to choose to reroll any action dice that show an energy face.

Scarlet Witch’s ability applies to all action dice: basic action dice, non-basic action dice, equipment, etc. Anything that is considered to be an action die will be affected by her effect.

If you have Scarlet Witch active, any action dice that show an action face after your opponent rolls their dice during the Roll and Reroll Step, must be chosen by the opponent to be rerolled. They can choose any other dice, except action dice showing an energy face, to reroll with the chosen action dice.

If the rerolled action dice land on an action face after they are rerolled, your opponent does not have to reroll them again. Scarlet Witch’s ability only forces them to choose to reroll them once during the Roll and Reroll Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Scarlet Witch is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants and Villain affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a ruling for Scarlet Witch, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

This Scarlet Witch could be powerful in almost any format where action dice are highly utilized. She’s a great soft counter for action dice teams or even a team that only uses one really powerful action die, like Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination. With Scarlet Witch active, your opponent would essentially need to roll their action dice on an action face twice to keep them. Any action dice that are rolled on an energy face are stuck that way. Cards like Parallax will come in handy against Scarlet Witch, so if you’re using Scarlet Witch, don’t bring Parallax too!

I’m highly considering a spot for her on my Modern Age constructed team, mainly because there are so many good action dice out there that could be a problem. I plan to do some test playing with her very soon. It’s so difficult to test play right now because there are still so many sets scheduled for release and there could be something new or something better that would just take her place or make her obsolete.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Batarang: What Goes Around Comes Around from the DC Batman set.

W Batarang, What Goes Around Comes Around

Ruling – Ability

When you use this action die, you deal three damage to one target Villain character die. If you use a second Batarang die, you can choose to target the same die again if it’s still active in the Field Zone, or you can choose a new Villain to target.

You can target opposing Villains or your own Villains with Batarang action dice.

A Sidekick die or character die that does not have a printed Villain affiliation on their card can be legal targets if they have been given the Villain affiliation through a game effect. For example: Superman is not a Villain. I can pay a Mask energy and a Fist energy for the Global on the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, and target Superman so he gains the Villain affiliation. This makes him a legal target for Batarang.

A character with a printed Villain affiliation can have the Villain affiliation removed by a card effect and no longer be a legal target for Batarang. Removing the Villain affiliation will not affect Batarang dice that have been used prior to the removal of the affiliation. For example: My Joker (Villain), with a defense of six, has been hit with a Batarang for three damage. In the same turn, I can remove his affiliation with Ra’s al Ghul‘s Global and he will still have three damage on him until the Clean Up Step. He can no longer be targeted by Batarang dice this turn, unless he regains the Villain affiliation.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Ruling – Boomerang Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Boomerang: Action dice with boomerang are re-rolled after they’re used. If they reveal an action face, add them to your Prep Area.

 

After you roll the action die, if it shows an action face (non-energy face), you get to add it to your Prep Area. If it shows an energy face, the die will move Out of Play as normal. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Boomerang is mandatory. If you use an Action Die with Boomerang, you must reroll it.

Action and Energy Faces 2

 

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Batarang is a Bolt type non-Basic Action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 124.

Batarang is a special Action called a non-Basic Action. You place this card in a character slot on your team. Your opponent can not purchase your non-Basic Action dice.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Batarang during the Main Step and the Attack Step.

Game State
~ I have two Batarang dice showing action faces in my Reserve Pool. I have a level three Huntress (4A/3D) die and a level three Hawkgirl (4A/4D) die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level three Killer Croc (7A/7D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Batarang dice, targeting my Huntress die. Huntress takes three damage, KO’ing her and sending her to my Prep Area. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an energy face and is placed Out of Play.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they choose to not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ We now move into the Attack Step – or – Skip the Attack Step and go straight to Clean Up. I decide that I want to attack, so we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Hawkgirl to attack, moving her into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Killer Croc to block Hawkgirl, moving Killer Croc into the Attack Zone and placing him in front of Hawkgirl.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I use my second Batarang die and target Killer Croc. Killer Croc takes three damage and since it wasn’t enough to KO him, he remains in the Attack Zone blocking Hawkgirl. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an action face and is added in my Prep Area.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Hawkgirl deals her four attack to Killer Croc’s seven defense, but he already has three damage on him. This will be enough to KO him. Killer Croc deals his seven attack to Hawkgirl’s four defense, which is enough to KO her. They will both go their respective Prep Areas during Clean Up.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. Killer Croc is placed in my opponent’s Prep Area and Hawkgirl is placed in my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I think Boomerang is a really neat ability, but I have yet to play it. I’ve seen plenty of Unstable Miracle teams floating around, but I want to use a die that already has Boomerang, like Batarang. I’ll have to use Batarang if I want to play with Boomerang because it’s the only action card with the Keyword and all three versions have Boomerang.

I am definitely looking forward to adding this to my “FREEZE!” team. While useful against opposing Villains, I think it’ll be much more of an asset when it comes to KO’ing your own Villains that have When Fielded abilities. Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries has a cool When Fielded ability that puts Stun Tokens on your opponent’s character cards. Sometimes, it’s hard to get those type of character dice back into your Prep Area to reuse quickly. Batarang definitely provides a viable option that your opponent won’t have access to, like Unstable Canister. Mr. Freeze has a defense line of 2/3/4, making him a prime target for Batarang. The only level that would give you trouble is level three.

Some other characters that I would love to pair this Batarang with are Huntress: No Rest for the Wicked and Firefly: Ted Carson. I absolutely love the idea of using Huntress to potentially KO their dudes and then field Firefly to blast them for some damage. Batarang would help cycle those two in the early game because they’re both Villains and make for great targets for Batarang.

And if blasting your own Villains into the Prep Area for next turn wasn’t good enough, Batarang has the potential to come back too, thanks to Boomerang!

I think all versions are great for casual level play and especially for drafting. I’m not sure it has what it takes to stand alone in the Modern Age competitive meta, but I’m holding out hope that someone finds a creative way to use this card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Question: Find the Answers from the DC Batman set.

W The Question, Find the Answers

Ruling – Gadgeteer Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Gadgeteer: When a character die with Gadgeteer attacks, you may roll a gear die or an action die with the Continuous keyword in your Used Pile.  If you roll a non-energy face, you may move it unto your Field Zone.  Otherwise, return it to your Used Pile.

I think there is a typo in on the WizKids Keywords page. Where it says ‘you may move it unto your Field Zone’, I think it’s supposed to say into and not unto. But I’m certain we all know what they mean.

Gadgeteer is a new Keyword in the Batman set. This ability only works when the character with Gadgeteer attacks and only if you have a Gear or Continuous action die in your Used Pile. Gear dice will have the Equip Keyword on their card.

You cannot use the Gadgeteer ability for a non-Continuous action die.

When your Gadgeteer character attacks, you get to choose a qualifying action die from your Used Pile and roll it. It can be a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, so long as it’s Gear or has the Continuous keyword.

After you roll the action die, if it shows an Action face (non-energy face), you get to move it into your Field Zone. Moving a die is not the same as using it, much like moving a character die is not the same as fielding it. If it shows an energy face, you must return it to the Used Pile. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Action and Energy Faces

This ability is optional and not mandatory because it uses ‘may’ in the text. If your Gadgeteer character attacks and you have a Continuous die in your Used Pile, you are not required to use the Gadgeteer ability. If you forget to use it and the Attack Step has moved into the Assign Blockers portion, you have missed your opportunity to use Gadgeteer.

Ruling – Ability

The Question’s other ability works like a While Active ability even though it doesn’t say While Active. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

 

while-active-light

Whenever you use an action die, The Question gains +1A and +1D until the end of the turn. You can use multiple action dice on the same turn and his ability will trigger for each one.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Question is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Justice League affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #75 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Gadgeteer and Using Action Dice.

Game State
~ I have one level three Question (2A/4D) die in the Field Zone. I also have two Kryptonite: Green Death dice, one Unstable Canister die, and one Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” die, all showing action faces, in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Kryptonite dice, moving it Out of Play, and target one of my opponent’s Sidekick dice. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D.
~ I use my other Kryptonite die, moving it Out of Play, and target my opponent’s Sidekick die again. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +2A and +2D.
~ I use my Unstable Canister die, moving it Out of Play, and target that same Sidekick die which KO’s it. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +3A and +3D.
~ I use my Cold Gun die, moving it to the Field Zone. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +4A and +4D.
~ I activate my Cold Gun die, moving it Out of Play, to target my opponent’s second Sidekick die which KO’s it. This does not trigger Question’s ability.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Question (6A/8D) to attack, moving him to the Attack Zone.
~ The Question’s Gadgeteer ability triggers when he attacks and I check my Used Pile for Continuous action dice. I have one Turtle Van and one Bat-Signal die in my Used Pile and I choose the Turtle Van Basic Action and roll it. It lands on an Action face and I move it into my Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not have any blockers to assign.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Action Dice or Globals.
~ My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ The Question assigns all six of his attack to my opponent and my opponent loses six life. The Question die is immediately moved Out of Play because he attacked and was not blocked.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability). The Question will lose all of the +1A and +1D bonuses he gained this turn.
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like this version of Question better than the other two versions. It’s easy to build up lots of action dice for a single turn with Boomerang or even Scarlet Witch: Hex Bolts from the Doctor Strange Team Pack. Since I love Overcrush so much, using Proton Cannon just makes sense, because his stats can become massive! I love that he has Gadgeteer too, which can help you get your Continuous action die back in play. He’s got a great purchase cost and while his attack stats are not the best, his stats can get a boost and even be swapped with Kal-L’s Global. I think this card is great for casual play and possibly good for a rogue team in Modern Age competitive play too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

I’ve been super excited about drafting this new Batman set and I was not disappointed.

You can check out our featured matches from this event on my YouTube channel, Dice Dice Kitty.

You can find the videos for the featured matches in the May 27, 2017 Batman Dice Masters Draft playlist. The footage from round one was somehow corrupted by my editing software.

I did a live stream on my Facebook page of my draft picks. You can find the video, here.

My Team

MyBatmanDraftTeam1

I started with what I thought was solid strategy, but ended up having to change it after seeing the spread of dice on the table. I never intended to draft any Parademon cards, but I opened a total of three! I got the uncommon in the first pile of packs and two commons in the second pile. I knew I could guarantee myself two Parademon dice and I didn’t want to let someone else grab them.

I really wanted to try the common Batgirl. I thought she might be decent for a draft, but I forgot all about grabbing another Batman Family character. I waited way too late in the draft picks to start grabbing Ace cards, leaving me with fewer dice than I liked. I’m glad I got at least two dice for Ace because I didn’t want to rely on the Trusted Friend Global to make Batman Family characters.

I really wanted to get more Red Hood dice, but there were only three total. I couldn’t let him get slide by me because someone would certainly take him. Even if I wasn’t going to use him, I didn’t want him used against me – especially if the other Red Hood cards weren’t commons. There was only one Rip Hunter in our five person pod, so when I saw the opportunity to take him, I did. Hawk, Firefly, and Two-Face’s Coin were all picked because I wanted to try them or I didn’t want someone else to have too many of those dice.

I only used Rip Hunter’s ability twice in the entire event, but I like him for drafts. He’s a great way to speed up a team – you just need to buy him and use him. I never bought him in my first match, forgot about his ability almost every turn in my second match, and never fielded him in my third match. I only used Firefly and Two-Face’s coin one time each and only bought them in my second match.

For my Basic Action Cards, I chose Cloudkill and Haymaker. I knew I would need a way to help my Batgirl and Ace dice get past any defenses my opponent had and the Haymaker Global would help boost their attacks.

Round One

In my first match, Batgirl and Ace were definitely my MVPs. I was a little worried when I saw Catwoman (Common), Batgirl (Common), and Nightwing (Rare) all on the same team across the table from me. That’s a ton of cheap characters with mostly decent stats for a draft. I purchased both Ace dice and all three of my Batgirl dice in hopes of racing my opponent. I purchased a Cloudkill as well to help my chances of getting those characters through. Parademon actually came in handy a few times, giving me that one extra die a few times. My opponent would blast him out of the Field when she had a chance to keep me from getting the full benefit from him.

Round Two

My opponent was using the common Rip Hunter with Unstable Canister, in hopes of taking his opponents out with direct damage. If he had rolled his Canisters on Action faces every time he rolled them, I would have lost the match really, really fast. I got extremely lucky in that he only rolled them a third of the time.

Hawk helped me win my second match before he burned me down. His seven attack on level three with the addition of attack boosters is just nasty when your opponent can’t block. Hawk softened up my opponent and then I went in for lethal damage with a field of Batgirl and Ace dice.

Round Three

In round three, I lost rather quickly to the uncommon Hawkgirl (spins up a level when a Sidekick attacks) and common Ace the Bat Hound (Ally) combo. My opponent used the Globals on his Invulnerability and Anger Issues to increase their attack stats and deal lots of damage, rather quickly. I made the mistake of going for Rip Hunter first when I should have been going for Batgirl and my Ace. I didn’t have time to fix it before he got lethal damage in.

Final Thoughts

I ended the night with a record of 2-1-0, which is not bad at all. My Strength of Schedule (SOS), or tiebreakers as they’re often called, boosted me to second place. My only loss was to Joey, who took first place. His Hawkgirl and Ace combo was just too fast to deal with!

While I was drafting, I was looking at the cards and trying to decide if I wanted a card to use it, or wanted it so someone else couldn’t use it against me. This set is a really good draft set. It forces players to make difficult decisions on the fly, without having all the information they want.

“Do I take this character with beefy stats, or do I take the character with weaker stats but decent ability and try to build off of it?”

“This card has a really good ability but doesn’t go with my current strategy. Do I pass it to someone else that can potentially use it against me, or do I take it just so they can’t?”

“I don’t see anymore cards for my current strategy and we’re almost done with the first pack. Can I afford to swap to something else?”

“I really want this rare/foil for my set, but I think I could use this common that I already have ten of. Which do I take?”

In the gravity feed that Mr. DDK and I opened, we actually pulled a foil rare Big Barda. I really wanted to draft the foil rare Big Barda that I saw, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. She could have been a great addition instead of Two-Face’s Coin. I just couldn’t take her. If you watch the draft video, I think it shows where I almost take her, but I chose a different card. I didn’t think it would be fair to the other players to take a card I knew I wouldn’t need for my collection even though I fully intended on using her for my draft team. Even though she would have been better for my team, she wouldn’t have changed the outcome of the one match I lost.

I will sometimes draft for my collection (rare/foil-drafting) and sometimes I draft to win. I don’t have any issues with other players rare-drafting or foil-drafting, even if that’s what I’m doing in the same pod. In this particular draft, I wanted to win because there were additional packs as prizes and I wanted to win some of those!

The feedback I got from all the players in our draft was that they love the set for all levels of play and they all had a lot of fun drafting. I can easily echo their feedback. I’m really digging this set and I can’t wait to draft it more!

How do you draft – Aggro, Control, etc?
Do you like to draft to win, or draft to collect?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Great Responsibility: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set. This week’s selection is courtesy of the random button from DM Retrobox.

W Great Responsibility, BAC

Ruling – Ability

When you use a Great Responsibility action die, you must also sacrifice a character in order to KO a target opposing character. Sacrificing one of your characters is not optional and the sacrificed character is not being targeted. The opposing character is being targeted, so abilities that redirect or block targeting could be applied.

When you sacrifice a character (or any other die) during your turn, the sacrificed die will go Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. During the Clean Up Step, all dice that are Out of Play will be moved into the Used Pile. When you sacrifice a die during your opponent’s turn, those dice will go directly to the Used Pile.

Great Responsibility can only be used during your turn, but there are several cards with abilities that allow or force you to sacrifice dice during your opponent’s turn. For example, if you have a Blink: Dimension Jumper die in the Field Zone, you could use her ability during your opponent’s turn and she would go to your Used Pile instead of Out of Play. Using Mysterious Shredder Transport would send the opposing die to the Used Pile and the active player’s die Out of Play.

When a character with a When KO’d ability is KO’d by using Great Responsibility, the When KO’d ability will trigger. For example, if Jade: Jennifer-Lynn Hayden is KO’d by Great Responsibility, her owner would get to use her ability allowing them to prep a die from their bag.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Great Responsibility is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #29 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Great Responsibility during the Main Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting Thor. My Sidekick die and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play. Thor is placed in the Prep Area.

Example Two:
Using Great Responsibility during the Attack Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick and Vixen dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Thor die to block my Vixen die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Vixen die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting my opponent’s Thor die. My Sidekick and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play and Thor is placed in the Prep Area.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Vixen was blocked, but does not have Overcrush. She will not deal any damage to my opponent, even though her blocker has been removed. She won’t take any damage and will return to the Field Zone.
~ (Clean Up Step) All effects end unless otherwise stated. Dice Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about Sacrifice, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m not a fan of this week’s card selection. There are better ways to achieve the same result – or a more desirable result. A good example is Mysterious Shredder Transport. Transport works a little different, like you don’t get to target an opposing die, but the die they sacrifice is sacrificed – not KO’d. In a constructed field of play, whether competitive or casual, you’re typically trying to KO your opponent and not their characters. Most of the time, players use characters that have a When KO’d ability or ones that can’t be targeted (all the rage now). It’s also cheaper to purchase than Great Responsibility. I feel like Great Responsibility is too expensive for what it does. If I’m paying five energy for a die that I have cycle and then roll, I don’t want to pay an additional cost (like sacrificing a character) just to get one of their dudes out of the Field. If you’re looking at Great Responsibility for Modern Age, please take a closer look at cards like Mysterious Shredder Transport or even Lethal Blow. I think Lethal Blow is underrated – especially since we have Renet Tilley now to almost guarantee that burst or double burst. I don’t expect that combo to be seen in a competitive setting, but Transport could find it’s way there. Reclaim would pair well with Transport and be way more useful than Great Responsibility.

If you’ve played Great Responsibility and you’ve found a use that I’ve overlooked, please share! I enjoy seeing what other folks come up with – whether it’s casual or competitive, I’m open to all suggestions!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Storm: Extra Lightning  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Storm, Extra Lightning

Ruling Ability

Storm has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Storm’s ability will deal one damage to an opponent or a character die when you use an action die. This will only happen while Storm is active in the Field Zone.

Using an action die is different from activating an ability on a Continuous action die. Continuous action dice are ‘used’ when they are moved from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone. A Continuous action die that has a second ability, like Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” will not trigger Storm’s ability when you activate the second ability. For example, placing the Cold Gun in the Field from the Reserve Pool is considered ‘using’ the action die. That will allow you to use Storm’s ability. If you move the die to your Used Pile to deal three damage to a character, you will not be allowed to use Storm’s ability. You are activating an ability and not using the die.

You can use this ability as many times in a single turn as you have action dice to use. You can use this ability each time you use an action die, even if you’ve used one of the same action dice previously in the turn. For example, I use Reclaim in my Main Step. I get to use Storm’s ability. I use a second Reclaim die in the same Main Step. I get to use Storm’s ability.

Storm’s ability is considered a targeting ability. Cards that prevent targeting or redirect abilities, can be used against Storm’s ability.

The damage from Storm’s ability is considered ‘ability damage’ and not combat damage. This type of damage is sometimes called direct damage or burn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Storm is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the X-Men affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #114 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Storm’s ability.

~ I have two Storm dice in my Field Zone. I also have one Captain Cold’s Cold Gun die and one Reclaim die, both showing an action face, in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I use my Cold Gun die and place it into the Field Zone. I choose to have Storm deal one damage to my opponent.
~ (Main Step) I use my Reclaim die, moving it Out of Play, to move a Sidekick die from my Used Pile to my Prep Area. I choose to have Storm deal one damage to my opponent.
~ (Main Step) I activate my Cold Gun, dealing three damage to my opponent’s Sidekick die. Storm does get to deal damage because I’m not ‘using’ the die, only activating the ability on it.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

I am temporarily removing my ratings from the Confusing Card of the Week articles. I plan to redo my ratings system and improve it!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Nefarious Broadcast: Basic Action Card  from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell Box set.

w-nefarious-broadcast-bac

Ruling Ability

Nefarious Broadcast is a Basic Action. If a card ability would affect an Action Die, Nefarious Broadcast could be chosen for the effect. One such example is Constantine: Antihero.

When you use a Nefarious Broadcast action die, it will cancel any Global effect that is currently still in effect and prevent the use of any Global ability after its use. Global abilities that have a lingering active effect are the only ones that will be affected by Nefarious Broadcast. Examples include the Globals on Transfer Power and Bane.

Certain Globals that are used before Nefarious Broadcast will not be reversed by its use. This is because the effect is not an ongoing or active effect. Examples include the Globals on Professor X and Unstable Canister.

As soon as a player uses Nefarious Broadcast, neither player will be able to use any Global abilities until the next turn.

Nefarious Broadcast can be used in the Main Step or during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Nefarious Braodcast is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have any affiliations.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #54 of 58.

If you purchase either of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Box Sets, you will have one copy of each card in the entire set, as well as the maximum number of dice for each card.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Nefarious Broadcast during your Main Step.

~ I have a Nefarious Broadcast die in my Reserve Pool and a Sidekick in my Field Zone. My opponent has one Fist energy in their Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) After completing all the game actions I want to do at this time in the Main Step, I pass priority to my opponent so that they can use Global Abilities. They spend their Fist energy to use the Global on Bane. They target my Sidekick with the Global, which will make my Sidekick attack this turn.
~ (Main Step) My opponent passes priority back to me and I use my Nefarious Broadcast die. This will remove the active effect from Bane’s Global that would force my Sidekick to attack. My Sidekick no longer has to attack. Neither player can play Globals until the next turn.

Example Two:
Using Nefarious Broadcast during your Attack Step.

~ I have a Nefarious Broadcast die and two Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. I also have a Sidekick in my Field Zone. My opponent has one Fist energy in their Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) After completing all the game actions I want to do at this time in the Main Step, I pass priority to my opponent so that they can use Global Abilities. They spend their Fist energy to use the Global on Bane. They target my Sidekick with the Global, which will make my Sidekick attack this turn. My opponent passes priority back to me, and I decline to do any further game actions in the Main Step.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I must assign my Sidekick as an attacker. I move my Sidekick die into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent doesn’t have any characters to assign as blockers.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I am able to use Action Dice and Globals at this time. I decide to use my Nefarious Broadcast die (sending it Out of Play). This removes all active effects of Globals, but there currently aren’t any. Neither player can use Globals until the next turn. I was saving my two Fist energy for the Global on Anger Issues, but now I can’t use it.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My Sidekick will deal one damage to my opponent. My Sidekick is moved Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up) All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile. All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

You can find a guide to my ratings, here.
These are personal opinion of the card being showcased and not an official reflection of current major meta.

Golden Age Rating

Nefarious Broadcast is definitely not a plug-and-play type of card. It needs a team built specifically around not using Globals, or using a minimal amount of Globals. You also need to time the use of this die just right or you could make some serious misplays. I think I might be a little generous with the rogue rating in Golden Age, but I bet there are enough talented pilots out there that they may be able to find a way to make this card useful in format dominated by Globals.

Nefarious Broadcast: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Modern Age Rating

Modern Age isn’t as Global heavy as Golden Age, but it has its fair share of decent Globals. Nefarious Broadcast still needs to have a team built around it to be most effective. I think Nefarious Broadcast will see more use in Modern Age than Golden Age, but because of its need for a particular team build, it’s still just a rogue card.

Nefarious Broadcast: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Rating

Prime’s lack of dominating Globals leaves Nefarious Broadcast in the collector box for me. There are definitely good Globals, but none that would warrant putting Nefarious Broadcast on your team instead of another critical BAC. I’ve stopped using Oracle: Master Investigator in Prime, because she’s not that useful in this format. I don’t think Global-hate is very useful at this particular time in Prime.

Nefarious Broadcast: Basic Action Card gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating

I think this card is a little more confusing than it needs to be. I’m not sure if it’s because folks are overthinking how it works or if WizKids needs to clarify the wording a little more. Trying to explain Globals to a new player can be challenging in itself, and then when you throw in the active effects and instant effects, it could leave their head spinning. But once a player has a better understanding of the game, I don’t think this card would be a big issue. I wouldn’t recommend a beginner use this card, but players at the advanced skill level and higher shouldn’t have too much trouble with understanding this card. This card is a great teaching tool to teach players about active effects and instant effects.

Nefarious Broadcast: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!