Posts Tagged ‘Alignment’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Tyrannosaurus Zombie: Lesser Undead  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Tyrannosaurus Zombie, Lesser Undead

Ruling – Ability

When fielded, field all Zombie character dice in your Used Pile at level 2.

A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Tyrannosaurus Zombie die, you will take all the Zombie character dice from your Used Pile and field them on their level two face. The Zombie dice can only have “Zombie” as their title, and nothing else. You would not be able to field a “Tyrannosaurus Zombie” at level two with this card’s ability, because the title contains an additional word. This card will only check the title of the card that the dice came from, and not the subtitle, affiliation, or any other part of the card.

When you field the Zombie dice from your Used Pile with the Tyrannosaurus Zombie’s ability, each of those Zombie dice will trigger any abilities that check for a character or character die being ‘Fielded’.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Tyrannosaurus Zombie is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Neutral alignment.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #47 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I chose this card because I’ve actually had someone ask about it recently. And also, it’s Halloween! I had to pick a monster, zombie, vampire, or some kind of Halloween themed card.

Okay, so lots of folks (including myself), really wanted this card to function like the Half-Dragon in this ruling, here. But honestly, I knew deep down that it wasn’t going to be like that – regardless of how much I wanted it. They did capitalize the name ‘Zombie’ on the card, so that was what tipped me off that it wasn’t like Half-Dragon.

As much fun as it would be to flood the field with a bunch of level two Zombies, I don’t think this card is worth its cost of six – at least not in a competitive type format. Now, for fun monster theme games, or Halloween theme games, this card is awesome! Luckily, you don’t need to buy all four of the Tyrannosaurus Zombie dice for it to be fun and useful in a casual game. I’d use Tyrannosaurus Zombie with the Zombie: Lesser Undead from the TOA set. He says, “When Zombie KOs an NPC character die, choose one: (1) Field a Zombie character die in your Used Pile at level 2. (2) Spin all of your active Zombie character Dice up 1 level.” You can use a force block ability, or a force attack ability, on a Sidekick and use your level two Zombie to KO it. Then you can choose to spin your Zombies up a level, since they’re probably all in the Field Zone already. I encourage folks to have a Halloween or Monster Mash event and try out some of these cards!

Happy Halloween and Happy Nightmare Night!

happy-nightmare-night

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Tabaxi Rogue: Greater Lords’ Alliance  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Tabaxi Rogue, Greater Lords' Alliance

Ruling – Experience Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Experience: While a character die with Experience is active, if you KO’d an opposing monster (as noted by the black Monster allegiance banner) during your turn, place one Experience Token on this character die’s card at the end of your turn. Each Experience Token provides each of this card’s dice with +1A and +1D (at each level). A card can only gain 1 Experience Token per turn (unless otherwise stated). Multiple cards can each gain an Experience Token during the same turn. An opposing player KOing their own Monster will not generate Experience Tokens.”

Experience is a keyword ability that functions like a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Experience allows the character(s) with the keyword to gain an Experience Token if at least one opposing Monster (represented by the black Monster Flag) was KO’d during your turn. You can use almost any type of gaming token to represent Experience Tokens. I use a regular die (D6 or D8 usually) but some folks like to use glass beads.

Each Experience Token on a character’s card grants the character dice a +1A and +1D.

KO’ing your own Monsters or Monsters KO’d during your opponent’s turn will not grant you an Experience Token.

You cannot gain more than one Experience Token on any one character card each turn, but multiple characters can each gain an Experience Token.

A character that leaves the Field Zone does not lose their Experience Tokens. Experience Tokens are not removed unless a card or game effect would remove them.

Characters with Experience do not need to be the character that KO’s a Monster; they only need to be active in the Field when the Monster gets KO’d.

Experience Tokens are placed on the characters at the end of turn, so if a character with Experience is KO’d or unblocked, they are no longer active at the end of turn to receive an Experience Token.

Characters with Experience are typically considered Adventurers – though there are several exceptions. Those characters state that they are not Adventurers on their card.

Ruling – Ability

When fielded, move target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone to the Used Pile.”

A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Tabaxi Rogue die, you will move a target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone and place it into the Used Pile.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

If fielding the Tabaxi Rogue’s die triggers a trap, the active player resolves the Tabaxi Rogue’s ability, then the Trap will be able to resolve.

Ruling – Equip Icon

The Tabaxi Rogue has the Equip icon, meaning it can be equipped with Gear.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Equip: When this die is fielded, and at the beginning of each turn that this die is active (any player’s turn), you may attach this die to a character with the Equip icon immediately below their alignment icon. You may switch the attachment from one character die to another. If the character die the equipped die leaves the Field Zone, the equipped die remains in the Field Zone (unattached). As with all non-character dice, Gear dice can’t attack or block.”

When a character that has Gear attached to it leaves the Field Zone, the Gear stays in the Field Zone. It will stay unattached until you could attach it to another character.

If a character would lose the Equip Icon, the Gear would become unattached and stay in the Field Zone until such a time you could attach it to a legal target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Tabaxi Rogue is a Mask type character card.
~ It has the Lords’ Alliance affiliation and has a Neutral alignment.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #83 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card but there is a relevant ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I absolutely disagree with the ruling on Skeleton Key vs Green Devil Mask. The conditions of using a trap require you to send it to the Used Pile. If it’s already there, it shouldn’t be able to resolve if it’s later in the queue. Sorry – Bad ruling in my opinion. But it’s what WORF says and that’s how it must be ruled.

I still like this version of the Tabaxi Rogue for removing all the silly and obnoxious traps that are out there. But you have to dedicate a slot to the Tabaxi Rogue and that takes up a slot something else could go in. Since Traps are not a huge deal in regular constructed play, I can’t see myself slotting this character in for that. It’s a great card for a limited format that uses the Tomb of Annihilation set and I wouldn’t play without it if that’s the case.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Troll: Minion Humanoid  from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

W 19 Troll, Minion Humanoid

Ruling – Keyword Ability

Regenerate (reroll when knocked out)”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Regenerate: If this character would be KO’d, roll it. If you roll a character face, return it to the field on the rolled face (but not the Attack Zone). Otherwise, move the die to your Prep Area.”

Regenerate is considered to be a KO replacement effect. This means that if a character would be KO’d and you roll a character face, it is not KO’d and returns to the Field Zone on the face that was rolled, and all damage is cleared from that die. If the character fails to Regenerate because it rolled onto an energy face, the die is considered to be KO’d and placed in the Prep Area.

If an ability would require you to KO a character die as part of a cost, such as Fabricate or Enlistment, you may select a character die with Regenerate as part of the cost. The first ability must fully resolve before you can roll your character die with Regenerate.

For example: I want to KO my Troll that has Regenerate and another character die to purchase one of my Flash Golem dice using its Fabricate. Fabricate: Characters with Fabricate will have 2 numbers (X-Y).  If you KO X characters with total purchase cost Y or more, you can purchase the die with Fabricate X-Y for free.” I would select my two character dice for Fabricate and purchase my Flesh Golem (placing the Flesh Golem die in the Used Pile). Once I have completed the Fabricate ability, I can then resolve the Regenerate on my Troll die. If the Troll successfully Regenerates, it returns to the Field on the rolled level. If it does not, it continues to the Prep Area. A successful Regenerate does not affect the use of Fabricate.

If a character die with Regenerate is KO’d while blocking, it will not return to the Attack Zone if it successfully Regenerates. It is placed in the Field Zone and is no longer blocking. If the attacking character has Overcrush, it will still apply the difference in damage to the defending player. You compare the difference between the attacker’s attack value the blocker’s defense value before it Regenerates, not after.

If an effect is placed on a die, if that die successfully Regenerates, it would retain the affects of that effect. For example: I use a Global to give my Troll the Villain affiliation until the end of the turn. In the same turn, my Troll die would be KO’d, but it instead Regenerates. The Troll keeps the Villain affiliation. This is because the die was never KO’d.

Regenerate is not an optional ability. If one of your dice with Regenerate would be KO’d, you must roll it to see if it returns as a character or is placed in the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Troll is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has the Equip icon.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #19 of 138.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find clarifications on Regenerate, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the Regenerate ability, but I’m not a huge fan of this card. I chose this particular card because it only has Regenerate and no other abilities, and I wanted to focus this article on the Regenerate keyword. Tarrasque: Epic Aberration, Troll: Apprentice Humanoid, Black Adam: Teth Adam, Lady Deadpool: Deadpool Family Values, and Zombie: Greater Undead all have fun and useful abilities that either work with Regenerate or they benefit from having Regenerate.

If you want your character dice to stay in the Field, finding a way to give them Regenerate could be highly beneficial. It’s not a guarantee that the die will return to the Field, but you don’t lose anything if they don’t because they still go to the Prep Area if they fail to Regenerate. I don’t feel like Regenerate is used near as much as it could be. That could be due to the lack of competitive cards with the keyword, or maybe folks just haven’t realized that it’s worth playing with from time to time.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Dragon Statue Trap: Lesser Trap  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Dragon Statue Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling Using Action Dice

Dragon Statue Trap is a non-Basic Action Card and it’s dice are non-Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Dragon Statue Trap. Non-Basic Action Dice can not be purchased by an opposing player.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The die will never enter the Field Zone. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear or a Trap, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Trap Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.

Each Trap has its own Trigger and Effect. A Trap is sent directly to the Used Pile when it’s triggered, and this is not optional. Once the trigger condition is met, the trap will go to the Used Pile, whether you can use the effect or not.

The Gadgeteer keyword works with Traps.

Ruling – Trigger

Trigger: An opponent attacks you.”

The Trigger is a condition that must be met for the trap to activate. As soon as the condition is met, the trap will ‘trigger’ and go to the Used Pile. You can use the effect of the trap only when it’s triggered.

For Dragon Statue Trap, the Trigger is when an opponent attacks you. The moment an opponent finishes assigning their attackers, the Dragon Statue Trap’s trigger is met. Character dice that are attacking are all assigned at the same time, so your opponent will be able to assign all character dice they wish to attack with before your trap triggers. This means all of your opponent’s ‘When Attacks’ abilities will be able to trigger before your Dragon Statue Trap triggers. This is because they are the active player and all active player abilities trigger first.

The trigger on Dragon Statue Trap will grant you the effect before blockers are assigned.

Ruling – Effect

Effect: You may pay X [Energy] to deal X damage to all opposing character die.”

~ I believe there is a typo on the card. Where it says ‘opposing character die‘, I believe it’s supposed to say, ‘opposing character dice‘ instead.

The Effect of a trap is what happens when the Trigger condition is met. The Effect on Dragon Statue Trap is an optional ability because it says ‘you may’.

If you choose to use the effect on your triggered Dragon Statue Trap, you can pay any amount of energy to deal that much damage to all of your opponent’s character dice. You can use any type of energy in any combination for this effect.

The opposing character dice do not need to be attacking, only active in the Field Zone.

If attacking character dice are KO’d by this effect, they are no longer attacking and you will not be able to assign blockers to them.

This effect is not a targeting effect. Characters that are protected from being targeted can be damaged by this effect.

Example

Game State
I have a Dragon Statue Trap and a Sidekick (1A/1D) in my Field Zone. I have one Bolt and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has two Sidekicks (1A/1D) and character die with 2A/3D in their Field Zone. We are moving into their Attack Step.
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ My opponent assigns their 2A/3D character and one Sidekick as their attackers.
~ My opponent does not have any When Attacks abilities.
~ My Dragon Statue Trap triggers and is sent to the Used Pile.
~ I use the Effect of my trap and spend the Bolt and Fist energy (moving them to my Used Pile), to deal two damage to all of my opponent’s character dice.
~ Their two Sidekick dice are KO’d and placed in their Prep Area. Their 2A/3D character die is still attacking, but now it can only take one more damage before it’s KO’d.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ I assign my Sidekick die to block the remaining attacking character die. Doing this will KO the attacker in the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step and my Sidekick will also be KO’d.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Dragon Statue Trap is a Shield type non-basic action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Neutral Alignment (leaf symbol near the purchase cost).
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #25 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

The ruling for Gadgeteer and Traps can be found, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I think the Dragon Statue Trap is incredibly useful against teams that utilize those annoying characters that can’t be targeted. And there are plenty of those pesky characters around in Golden Age and Modern Age. Raven: Azarath, Metrion, Zinthos! is the first one that comes to mind and probably the most used one. Even with her in the field, you can still damage your opponent’s Mask and Teen Titans dice because Dragon Statue Trap’s effect is not targeting them – it’s like a blanket covering their side of the field.

Dragon Statue Trap could also be extremely useful against teams that depend on rushing their opponent with lots of smaller characters, like a Bard Blitz or Guy Rush team. A well placed Dragon Statue Trap and force attack Global and they’re in a world of hurt!

One of the major down sides that I can see to this type of trap is that once it’s triggered, it’s gone until you can get it back through your bag. This leaves you vulnerable and gives your opponent a chance to build up their field if they trigger the trap at the right time. Another issue you could run into is your opponent triggering it when you don’t have any energy to use for the effect. The trap is still triggered when they attack and sent to the Used Pile – regardless if you can activate the effect or not.

Gadgeteer is a nice keyword to pair with Dragon Statue Trap. You could get your traps back much quicker with one of these type of characters. What ever you do, don’t give them Boomerang! That’s not a good idea if you want your traps in the field.

I’ve been looking at building a Trap based team, I just haven’t had the chance to put it together yet. I think it would be fun and interesting for our casual scene.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Poison Dart Trap: Lesser Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Poison Dart Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling – Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent would roll 2 or more of the same non-NPC character die at the same time.
Effect: Before the roll occurs, place one of those character dice into your opponent’s Used Pile.”

Poison Dart Trap has the Trap keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

Using this die places it into the Field Zone. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability removes an action die.

Poison Dart Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Poison Dart Trap.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

The term non-NPC means non-Sidekick. NPC is the wording on Dungeons and Dragons cards that means Sidekick. This applies to Ally characters, which are considered Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Poison Dart Trap’s trigger is when your opponent would roll two or more of the same character dice, that aren’t Sidekicks. For example, I have an active Poison Dart Trap and my opponent is about roll three Guy Gardner dice. Poison Dart Trap triggers and goes to the Used Pile. I get to choose one of the Guy Gardner dice and it goes to their Used Pile. My opponent gets to roll the other two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Poison Dart Trap is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #35 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I like the new Trap keyword, as well as how they clarified when the trap die is actually used. I would like for other abilities, like the one on Cold Gun, to eventually be worded similar to this. That would clarify a lot of confusion over using action die and activating them.

But as for this card’s ability, it’s great against Swarm! You would be able to reduce the number of dice they roll by one, which could be a big deal. Outside of drafting, I’m not sure how much play this card will see. If Swarm characters are a pain and someone has room, they could add this card to see if it helps. It’s not expensive with a cost of three and it only needs to be in the Field Zone.

I’m don’t think this card will see major meta play, but some casual scenes probably will – especially if Swarm is big. This card could be useful in drafts as well, but only if players are drafting multiple copies of a character and using three or four of that character’s dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!