Posts Tagged ‘Batman’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m still excited over reaching the triple digits in my Confusing Card of the Week articles! I decided to continue the #100 trend this week and cover one of the cards that I used on my team this past weekend.

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Killer Croc: Out of the Depths from the DC Batman set.

W Killer Croc, Out of the Depths

Ruling – Ability

Killer Croc’s ability is a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability can only be used when the character’s die is placed into the field from the Reserve Pool by paying it’s fielding cost, or by an ability that specifically states that the die is ‘fielded’ and not moved, swapped, placed, etc.

When Killer Croc is fielded, any level one and/or level two character die with an attack lower than his, will be KO’d. This will include your character dice as well as your opponent’s because his ability does not specify ‘opposing’ character dice.

Dice Levels

In the picture above, you can see the sides of the dice as shown on the bottom of Captain America’s card. All character dice levels are displayed in the same place on character cards. The first three images are of the energy faces and do not have levels. The first character face is Level 1, the second character face is Level 2, and the third character face is Level 3. This is the same for all character dice, except for basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice don’t have a character card and while they are in the Field Zone, they’re only Level 1.

Character dice may be spun up or have their attack increased prior to fielding Killer Croc in order to keep them from being KO’d by Killer Croc’s ability. The opposing player will not have an opportunity to use Globals unless the active player passes them priority before they field Killer Croc.

If a level one or two character die has an attack equal to Killer Croc’s, they will not be KO’d by his ability. The attack must be lower than Killer Croc’s.

Killer Croc’s ability does not target. Abilities that protect characters from being targeted will not have any effect against Killer Croc’s ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Killer Croc is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #100 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using a Global to spin a character die up, then fielding Killer Croc.

Game State
~ I have a level two Killer Croc and three fist energy in my Reserve Pool. I have a level two Red Hood (3A/3D) in my Field Zone. I have Giganta: Standing Tall on my team. Her Global says: “Pay [FIST]. Spin target character die up 1 level.”
~ My opponent has a Sidekick and a level two character with 4A in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my main step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend a fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use the Global on Giganta and target my Red Hood die. Red Hood spins up to level three (5A/5D).
~ I spend two fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to pay for Killer Croc’s fielding cost.
~ Killer Croc is then moved into the Field Zone from my Reserve Pool and his ability triggers as he’s fielded. My Red Hood is level three and is not affected. My opponent’s Sidekick and level two character are both KO’d because they level one and level two, and their attack values are lower than Killer Croc’s.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I used Killer Croc and Small Step for Man: Basic Action Card on my team this past Saturday. I love the combo idea, but I’m running into problems with purchasing Killer Croc. I play Grodd a lot and don’t have this issue, so I’m not sure what the problem is. The game I won, I won with Red Hood and didn’t even purchase Killer Croc. For a Johnny like me, that’s no fun at all. But the Spike in me couldn’t pass up the chance at victory. While I won a match, I wasn’t happy with how I won it. I really wanted my combo to go off. I got it to work – once. But it didn’t lead me to victory because I bought Killer Croc too early and couldn’t get a decent bag flow established. I still like this card and I plan to adjust the team by taking off Batcave and adding Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time.

I definitely don’t see this card being a meta card for competitive play, but for casual level events or store level events, he could be fun – if you like the silly combos like I do!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Huntress: Cry for Blood from the DC Batman set.

W Huntress, Cry for Blood

Huntress has two abilities. One is the Flip Keyword and the other says that she can’t be blocked by Sidekicks. I want to go over the second ability first.

Ruling – Ability

Both sides of Huntress’s card says that Sidekicks can’t block her. Regardless of which side she’s showing, Sidekicks will not be able to block her when she attacks. This include characters that have the Ally Keyword, because while those dice are in the Field Zone, they are considered to be Sidekicks. Ally characters are only considered Sidekicks in the Field Zone and nowhere else.

The Attack Zone is still considered to be part of the Field Zone, so while an die that has the Ally Keyword is attacking or blocking, they are still considered to be a Sidekick.

Ruling – Flip Mechanic and Flip Keyword

The Flip keyword allows you to flip that character’s card to it’s other side at the start of your turn. Only cards that have the Flip keyword can be flipped at the beginning of your turn.

The Flip Icon shows that the cards has two sides. Some cards have the Flip Icon but not the Keyword. These cards have a specific trigger or specific timing that they can be flipped. Below is a picture of the Flip Icon, which can be found on the left top corner of the text box on Flip cards.

Flip Icon

Dice will reference the card’s current side, even if it was flipped by another game effect during the turn. The card face that is currently showing will reflect how the die works.

Some characters have different affiliations and different abilities on each side of their card. It’s very important to check your Flip cards at the start of your turn, before your Clear and Draw Step. Once you clear your Reserve Pool and draw your four dice for the turn, it’s too late to flip any of your cards with the Flip keyword.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Huntress is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Batman Family affiliation on Side A and the Villain affiliation on Side B.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #97a and #97b of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Flipping Huntress.

Game State
~ I have one level three Huntress (4A/3D) die in the Field Zone and her card is on Side A. I also have a level three Batwoman: Code of Honor (5A/4D) die in the Field Zone and her card in on Side A (Common Ground – Batwoman can’t be blocked if she attacks with at least one Villain character die.).
~ My opponent has one Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s the very beginning of my turn, before my Clear and Draw Step.
(Beginning of Turn)
~ I look at my characters with the Flip keyword and decide if I want to flip any of them.
~ I decide to Flip my Huntress to Side B where she has the Villain affiliation, because I can attack with her and Batwoman later in my turn and my opponent won’t be able to block either of them.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I now clear dice from my Reserve Pool and draw four dice from my bag.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I really like this Huntress with the uncommon Batwoman because they can get through those Sidekick walls fairly easily. It limits your opponent’s blocking options too and gives you a better idea of how they’ll block. The flip cards are definitely more interesting and more useful than I had anticipated. I like that Huntress isn’t expensive and can potentially be a turn one purchase if you don’t have any other options. She’s cheap enough to buy multiples of her die too, making her a force to reckoned with if your opponent is relying on Sidekicks and Ally characters to be blockers. Huntress is really great in drafts and casual play. I think she might have a place on some teams out there, but I don’t think she’s a must have for the competitive meta. If you see her across the table from you, be sure you keep something else besides a Sidekick or Ally to block with – or she’s most likely going to hit you. She may not hit hard on her own, but add them up and throw in another character like Batwoman and you might be in trouble!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jervis Tetch: Malice in Wonderland from the DC Batman set.

W Jervis Tetch, Malice in Wonderland

Ruling – Ability

Jervis’s ability is a When Attacks ability. His ability will trigger for each of his dice that attack.

When Jervis attacks, you gain control of a target opposing character die with a purchase cost of four or less. That character die is required to attack, if they’re able, on this same turn.

When a Jervis die attacks, you can target any character die with a purchase cost of four or less, which includes basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice are considered level one characters with a purchase cost of zero while they are in the Field Zone.

The targeted die is then moved into the Attack Zone with Jervis to show that both of the dice are attacking.

IMG_5594

When the control of the die ends at the end of turn or when the controlling die is KO’d, you must return the controlled die to the area you took it from. You can use an ability like the Global on Blink – Transmutation (during the Attack Step) to move a Jervis die back to your Field Zone and the controlled die will still be attacking.

If the controlled die would be placed in your Used Pile or Prep Area, it goes to your opponent’s Prep Area instead.

If you control a die that is the same die of a character on your team, the controlled die will reference your opponent’s character card.

Normally, a controlling die cannot attack but because Jervis is required to attack in order to control a die, he is an exception.

Jervis’s ability is not optional. You must take control of a character die with a purchase cost of four or less when you attack with Jervis (if there is a legal target). That die is also assigned to attack, which is not optional.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jervis Tetch is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #99 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Attacking with multiple Jervis dice.

Game State
~ I have two level two Jervis Tetch (2A/1D) dice in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level three Red Hood: Jason Todd (5A/5D) die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ The turn is moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign both of my Jervis dice to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
~ Both of their abilities are triggered simultaneously when they attack.
~ The first Jervis die will gain control over my opponent’s Sidekick die, moving it to the Attack Zone on my side.
~ The second Jervis die will gain control over my opponent’s Red Hood die, moving it to the Attack Zone on my side.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not have any characters to assign as blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I choose not to use any Actions or Globals. (This would be the moment that I could use the Global on Blink – Transmutation to push my Jervis back to my Field Zone and not lose control over the controlled dice.)
~ My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Since none of the characters were blocked, they will all deal their attack value in combat damage to my opponent’s life total. Red Hood is going to deal 5, each Jervis will deal 2 each, and the Sidekick will deal 1 – for a total of 10 damage.
~ As soon as the character dice damage my opponent, they move Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ Dice that are Out of Play will move into the Used Pile. My opponent’s Red Hood and Sidekick die will go to my opponent’s Prep Area instead of the Used Pile.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
I have a pending question with WORF in regards to the Jervis Tetch cards. There are no official rulings at the time this article was written. I will update with red text when I see an official ruling.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I really don’t like the wording on any of the Jervis cards. And until there is an official ruling, my ruling is how we will be playing it locally. I wanted to wait for the official ruling before doing a CCW on any Jervis, but I’ve been getting several requests and questions about him. This prompted me to sit down and really pour over rulebooks and WORF posts in an effort to decipher how this obscenely confusing card is supposed to work.

If/when WORF gives us a ruling, I will most definitely update this article, or post a corrected article if need be. I’ve never claimed to be an expert and if you have a different way you think he should be handled, I’m totally up for discussion!

As far as the ability, it can devastating, for sure. He can easily remove parts of that wall to allow for some damage to get through, or take all their characters from the field and smack them with them. I would not use Blink or Distraction Globals because that could hinder your overall goal if your opponent uses those Globals to push their stolen characters back so they get them back.

I think this guy has potential in drafts for sure, but because there isn’t a solid ruling from WORF on him, I’m not planning on testing him in Modern Age or Golden Age.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Batarang: What Goes Around Comes Around from the DC Batman set.

W Batarang, What Goes Around Comes Around

Ruling – Ability

When you use this action die, you deal three damage to one target Villain character die. If you use a second Batarang die, you can choose to target the same die again if it’s still active in the Field Zone, or you can choose a new Villain to target.

You can target opposing Villains or your own Villains with Batarang action dice.

A Sidekick die or character die that does not have a printed Villain affiliation on their card can be legal targets if they have been given the Villain affiliation through a game effect. For example: Superman is not a Villain. I can pay a Mask energy and a Fist energy for the Global on the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, and target Superman so he gains the Villain affiliation. This makes him a legal target for Batarang.

A character with a printed Villain affiliation can have the Villain affiliation removed by a card effect and no longer be a legal target for Batarang. Removing the Villain affiliation will not affect Batarang dice that have been used prior to the removal of the affiliation. For example: My Joker (Villain), with a defense of six, has been hit with a Batarang for three damage. In the same turn, I can remove his affiliation with Ra’s al Ghul‘s Global and he will still have three damage on him until the Clean Up Step. He can no longer be targeted by Batarang dice this turn, unless he regains the Villain affiliation.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Ruling – Boomerang Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Boomerang: Action dice with boomerang are re-rolled after they’re used. If they reveal an action face, add them to your Prep Area.

 

After you roll the action die, if it shows an action face (non-energy face), you get to add it to your Prep Area. If it shows an energy face, the die will move Out of Play as normal. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Boomerang is mandatory. If you use an Action Die with Boomerang, you must reroll it.

Action and Energy Faces 2

 

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Batarang is a Bolt type non-Basic Action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 124.

Batarang is a special Action called a non-Basic Action. You place this card in a character slot on your team. Your opponent can not purchase your non-Basic Action dice.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Batarang during the Main Step and the Attack Step.

Game State
~ I have two Batarang dice showing action faces in my Reserve Pool. I have a level three Huntress (4A/3D) die and a level three Hawkgirl (4A/4D) die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level three Killer Croc (7A/7D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Batarang dice, targeting my Huntress die. Huntress takes three damage, KO’ing her and sending her to my Prep Area. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an energy face and is placed Out of Play.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they choose to not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ We now move into the Attack Step – or – Skip the Attack Step and go straight to Clean Up. I decide that I want to attack, so we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Hawkgirl to attack, moving her into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Killer Croc to block Hawkgirl, moving Killer Croc into the Attack Zone and placing him in front of Hawkgirl.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I use my second Batarang die and target Killer Croc. Killer Croc takes three damage and since it wasn’t enough to KO him, he remains in the Attack Zone blocking Hawkgirl. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an action face and is added in my Prep Area.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Hawkgirl deals her four attack to Killer Croc’s seven defense, but he already has three damage on him. This will be enough to KO him. Killer Croc deals his seven attack to Hawkgirl’s four defense, which is enough to KO her. They will both go their respective Prep Areas during Clean Up.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. Killer Croc is placed in my opponent’s Prep Area and Hawkgirl is placed in my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I think Boomerang is a really neat ability, but I have yet to play it. I’ve seen plenty of Unstable Miracle teams floating around, but I want to use a die that already has Boomerang, like Batarang. I’ll have to use Batarang if I want to play with Boomerang because it’s the only action card with the Keyword and all three versions have Boomerang.

I am definitely looking forward to adding this to my “FREEZE!” team. While useful against opposing Villains, I think it’ll be much more of an asset when it comes to KO’ing your own Villains that have When Fielded abilities. Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries has a cool When Fielded ability that puts Stun Tokens on your opponent’s character cards. Sometimes, it’s hard to get those type of character dice back into your Prep Area to reuse quickly. Batarang definitely provides a viable option that your opponent won’t have access to, like Unstable Canister. Mr. Freeze has a defense line of 2/3/4, making him a prime target for Batarang. The only level that would give you trouble is level three.

Some other characters that I would love to pair this Batarang with are Huntress: No Rest for the Wicked and Firefly: Ted Carson. I absolutely love the idea of using Huntress to potentially KO their dudes and then field Firefly to blast them for some damage. Batarang would help cycle those two in the early game because they’re both Villains and make for great targets for Batarang.

And if blasting your own Villains into the Prep Area for next turn wasn’t good enough, Batarang has the potential to come back too, thanks to Boomerang!

I think all versions are great for casual level play and especially for drafting. I’m not sure it has what it takes to stand alone in the Modern Age competitive meta, but I’m holding out hope that someone finds a creative way to use this card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m going to keep it short today. You can find all of the featured matches on my YouTube channel in the July 15, 2017 playlist.

You can even my draft pick video there! This video was streamed live to Facebook from my phone. Sorry about the terrible skinny view on YouTube, but I can’t change that.

I was not drafting to win this event. I was drafting mainly for cards that I need for my collection, as were several other folks. Here is the team I put together from my draft picks.

My Team 71517

I chose Unstable Canister and Cloudkill as my Basic Actions. Unstable Canister was a huge help in all of my games, mainly for its Global. Using the Global helped me get attackers through to hit my opponent’s life total. I was able to get a partial flow with Rip Hunter in one game where I cycled the dice I drew in hopes of pulling my Unstable Canister dice. The primary focus of the team was Red Hood and Cloudkill with a bunch of cheap dudes, but I never got that work for me.

I ended up taking second place, missing first place due to tiebreakers. I had fun, but I think Rip Hunter with Unstable Canister is a really silly way to earn your victories. I wanted to try it for myself just to see how silly it was. While it’s a viable strategy, it really is no fun being on the receiving end. You can try to buy up all of their Canister dice, but in doing so, you put your own strategy in jeopardy – which is how I won my second match. This is not a draft strategy I plan to use in the future because it’s not really my style.

What’s your favorite Batman draft combo?
Have a suggestion for a ‘must-pick’ card?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks for reading and watching and please remember to subscribe, like, and follow my social media pages. I cherish all my fellow Dice Masters and want to stay connected!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Question: Find the Answers from the DC Batman set.

W The Question, Find the Answers

Ruling – Gadgeteer Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Gadgeteer: When a character die with Gadgeteer attacks, you may roll a gear die or an action die with the Continuous keyword in your Used Pile.  If you roll a non-energy face, you may move it unto your Field Zone.  Otherwise, return it to your Used Pile.

I think there is a typo in on the WizKids Keywords page. Where it says ‘you may move it unto your Field Zone’, I think it’s supposed to say into and not unto. But I’m certain we all know what they mean.

Gadgeteer is a new Keyword in the Batman set. This ability only works when the character with Gadgeteer attacks and only if you have a Gear or Continuous action die in your Used Pile. Gear dice will have the Equip Keyword on their card.

You cannot use the Gadgeteer ability for a non-Continuous action die.

When your Gadgeteer character attacks, you get to choose a qualifying action die from your Used Pile and roll it. It can be a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, so long as it’s Gear or has the Continuous keyword.

After you roll the action die, if it shows an Action face (non-energy face), you get to move it into your Field Zone. Moving a die is not the same as using it, much like moving a character die is not the same as fielding it. If it shows an energy face, you must return it to the Used Pile. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Action and Energy Faces

This ability is optional and not mandatory because it uses ‘may’ in the text. If your Gadgeteer character attacks and you have a Continuous die in your Used Pile, you are not required to use the Gadgeteer ability. If you forget to use it and the Attack Step has moved into the Assign Blockers portion, you have missed your opportunity to use Gadgeteer.

Ruling – Ability

The Question’s other ability works like a While Active ability even though it doesn’t say While Active. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

 

while-active-light

Whenever you use an action die, The Question gains +1A and +1D until the end of the turn. You can use multiple action dice on the same turn and his ability will trigger for each one.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Question is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Justice League affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #75 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Gadgeteer and Using Action Dice.

Game State
~ I have one level three Question (2A/4D) die in the Field Zone. I also have two Kryptonite: Green Death dice, one Unstable Canister die, and one Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” die, all showing action faces, in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Kryptonite dice, moving it Out of Play, and target one of my opponent’s Sidekick dice. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D.
~ I use my other Kryptonite die, moving it Out of Play, and target my opponent’s Sidekick die again. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +2A and +2D.
~ I use my Unstable Canister die, moving it Out of Play, and target that same Sidekick die which KO’s it. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +3A and +3D.
~ I use my Cold Gun die, moving it to the Field Zone. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +4A and +4D.
~ I activate my Cold Gun die, moving it Out of Play, to target my opponent’s second Sidekick die which KO’s it. This does not trigger Question’s ability.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Question (6A/8D) to attack, moving him to the Attack Zone.
~ The Question’s Gadgeteer ability triggers when he attacks and I check my Used Pile for Continuous action dice. I have one Turtle Van and one Bat-Signal die in my Used Pile and I choose the Turtle Van Basic Action and roll it. It lands on an Action face and I move it into my Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not have any blockers to assign.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Action Dice or Globals.
~ My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ The Question assigns all six of his attack to my opponent and my opponent loses six life. The Question die is immediately moved Out of Play because he attacked and was not blocked.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability). The Question will lose all of the +1A and +1D bonuses he gained this turn.
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like this version of Question better than the other two versions. It’s easy to build up lots of action dice for a single turn with Boomerang or even Scarlet Witch: Hex Bolts from the Doctor Strange Team Pack. Since I love Overcrush so much, using Proton Cannon just makes sense, because his stats can become massive! I love that he has Gadgeteer too, which can help you get your Continuous action die back in play. He’s got a great purchase cost and while his attack stats are not the best, his stats can get a boost and even be swapped with Kal-L’s Global. I think this card is great for casual play and possibly good for a rogue team in Modern Age competitive play too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

My FLGS (Friendly Local Game Store) finally got the new Batman: The Animated Series Villains OP Kit in. This OP Kit was due out on June 28, 2017 according to the WizKids Solicits page. I highly suggest bookmarking that page! You can keep up to date on the most accurate release info because it comes straight from WizKids. It’s not always perfect, but it’s far more accurate than asking the distributors. Our OP Kit was delayed due to an internal error with the distributor. But now that we have it in hand, I want to do a short review for it and show folks these cool cards that they could get!

Organized Play Kits

An Organized Play Kit (OP Kit), is a package of special promotional prize cards that stores can purchase to use as prize support for their local level events. These kits are paid for by stores, so most events that have OP prize support will have a small entry fee or require players to purchase a small amount of product as an entry fee. My FLGS asks players to to purchase at least two booster packs of Dice Masters or pay one dollar for their entry fee. If a player were to purchase a starter, that would cover the entry fee and they wouldn’t be required to purchase the boosters as well. This type of entry requirement works great for our locals. Different venues may have different requirements so check with your FLGS to see what they require for their entry fees.

Most OP Kits come with twenty participation prizes, five fellowship cards, and five first place prize cards. The kit is set up to support four-five weeks of organized play.

OP events are suggested to be run as Rainbow Drafts, but our locals could not do a Rainbow Draft for each week of the entire kit. Most of our local events are constructed, but we try to get drafts in where we can. Be sure to check with your FLGS to see what formats they host for their OP events.

Participation Prize

Participation cards are usually given to all players that participate in the event. I usually give out the participation prizes to all players, even if they received one from the previous OP event. This may be different at each venue based on how many players and kits the store has available.

W 01 Harley Quinn, Tough Cookie

Harley Quinn: Tough Cookie

This is the participation prize for the Batman TAS Villains Kit – and yes! That’s an alternate art version of the rare Harley Quinn from the Batman set! That’s so awesome that such a great card is the participation prize! You only need to attend an event to get one of these cards.

While she’s active, at the beginning of your turn, if you control at least two different Villain character dice, your opponent loses one life and you gain one life. This is such a good ability because she makes your opponent lose life and not take damage. Losing life is different from taking damage and while damage can be negated by many card abilities, losing life usually can’t. And you gain life too, which is also great! Villains are very strong in Golden Age, and this card helps boost them a little in Modern Age. She’s not expensive to purchase, her fielding stats are great, and her combat stats aren’t too bad, but her defense stats are the important ones and they’re decent. You probably aren’t going to attack with her since you want her active at the beginning of your turn.

First Place Prize

The first place cards are given to the player that wins the event. These cards are typically new cards and not alternate art or reprint cards.

W 02 The Riddler, If You're So Smart, Why Aren't You Rich

The Riddler: If You’re So Smart, Why Aren’t You Rich?

Wow, what a sub-name but I totally love this Riddler’s ability! While he’s active, when your opponent’s Sidekick dice roll a Wild energy, they must reroll them. This card denies your opponent all their Wild energy so long as he’s active. That’s so crazy! Especially since he only cost four energy to purchase! He uses the Riddler dice from the Batman set and his stats are really good for a character with a While Active ability. I can’t wait to get this guy on a team with Harley Quinn: Tough Cookie. I’m such a sucker for these control type cards.

Fellowship Prize

The Fellowship Prize is an additional prize for a player, usually one that hasn’t won another prize yet. We used to take votes, but that took way too long. Now, we have each player (except the first place player) roll a D20 in the order of their standings and the player that rolls the highest number, gets the Fellowship card. We also require that players be present to be able to roll for the Fellowship Prize. Some stores give the Fellowship Prize to the player in last place and I’ve even seen stores draw names from a bucket. How you determine the Fellowship player is different for each venue so check with your FLGS to see how they choose their Fellowship player. 

 

The Joker: The Laughing Fish

I like that the Fellowship cards aren’t typically ‘must have’ cards in regards to abilities. That’s mainly because most Fellowship Prizes are given out randomly and are not always easy to obtain. I love the Batman Family affiliated side (side b), because it helps you field Batman for free since he’s got some awful fielding costs. The Villain side (side a) lets you field Harley for free which isn’t that exciting because she’s got really good fielding stats to begin with. This card is still really cool and definitely worth having for casual Batman Family teams that use a high fielding cost Batman. His defense is great for a While Active ability so you don’t have to worry too much about him getting taken out easily. He also pairs well with the Harley Quinn from this OP kit, since you can Flip the Joker to suit what’s going on with team’s current state. This card uses the Joker dice from the Batman set.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I love this OP kit. It’s got unique character abilities that can be fun to use in both casual and competitive atmospheres. Harley and Riddler make a great pair for a control player like myself. I love silly card combinations, even if they don’t make up my win condition. I got to play against someone using the rare Harley from the set and she definitely adds another level of concern for the player sitting across from her. The Riddler is just silly and is a super awesome control card. He could potentially make your opponent waste a DWiz or Shriek on him while your other pieces are wreaking havoc. The Joker could find his way onto some Batman teams if there’s room for him.

I love the art on the cards because they’re screenshots from Batman: The Animated Series, well, except for the Harley card art. That art is more in the style of The New Batman Adventures. I couldn’t find the exact image in a brief Google search, so I can’t confirm that it’s a screenshot, but it appears to be.

Harley and Ivy

Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn in Batman: The Animated Series

While Poison Ivy obviously looks different, Harley Quinn looks much the same. I still like the art on the card, but I definitely wish it had been consistent with OP Kit’s theme of Batman: TAS. In the end, it’s a minor issue that doesn’t really affect much of anything. It’s just something I thought I should note for those that notice this type of stuff.

However, There is a misprint on the Harley Quinn card with her set number. Her number in the set is #94, yet the OP card has #95 which is actually Hawk: The Agent of Chaos. WizKids might announce an errata for her promo card number since it could matter later on, or they may not say anything about it at all. In the end, we all know exactly what card it’s supposed to be, so don’t be silly about it.

I give major kudos to WizKids for this awesome OP Kit. The last few kits have been fairly good with playable, but not overpowered, cards and abilities. I’m really impressed with how they’re handling all the aspects of the kits. I know that our locals definitely prefer this style of kit as opposed to the original AvX story line kits. My players are very excited for this event to start at our local venue!

What do you think about the kit overall?
Which card is your favorite?
Leave me a comment here or on my Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and let me know!

Thanks so much for reading and please remember to subscribe!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries from the DC Batman set.

W Mr. Freeze, Dr. Victor Fries

Ruling – Ability

Mr. Freeze has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will trigger when that character die is ‘fielded’ either by paying its fielding cost and placing it into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool, or when an ability allows you to ‘field’ that character die. An ability that swaps, moves, places, etc. will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

Mr. Freeze’s ability allows you to put a Stun Token on an opposing character card. That character does not need to be active in order to use his When Fielded ability on a character card.

Ruling – Stun Tokens

Stun Tokens prevent a character’s dice from attacking or blocking. If a character card has any number Stun Tokens on it, none of those character dice can attack or block.

A character card can have more than one Stun Token on it. Stun Tokens can be removed, but the owner of the character card must pay two generic energy each. Removing a Stun Token can be done at any time the player could use a Global.

Removing a Stun Token during the Attack Step must be done during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step, after the Assign Blockers portion. This means the character that just had all their Stun Tokens removed has missed the opportunity to block that same turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Mr. Freeze is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #23 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Mr. Freeze’s ability.

Game State
~ I have a level one Mr. Freeze die and a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent does not have any character dice in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Mr. Freeze’s fielding cost.
~ I then field Mr. Freeze’s die by moving it from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone and his When Fielded ability triggers.
~ I choose any character card on my opponent’s team and place a Stun Token on that card.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Example Two:
Removing multiple Stun Tokens.

Game State
~ I have a level one character die in my Field Zone and that character’s card has two Stun Tokens on it.
~ I have two Bolt energy, one Mask energy, and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ It’s the end of my opponent’s Main Step and they have passed me priority.
(Main Step)
~ I spend one Mask and one Fist energy, moving them to the Used Pile, to remove one of the Stun Tokens on my character’s card.
~ I spend my two Bolt energy, moving them to the Used Pile, to remove the second Stun Token from my character’s card.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The more I read this card, the more I really like him. Using him with Parallax and Fabricate could be a great way to get multiple Stun Tokens on several character cards, forcing your opponent to waste precious resources to free up those characters. I really love the idea of Stun Tokens too, and I think it’s really silly that they can stack! It’s not over powered though because Mr. Freeze is a five cost character (the cheapest one too) and his fielding cost is one on all levels. It balances out a little and makes you work for those Stun Tokens, but if you can get a good flow going, you could lock down your opponent’s team and then attack with your Mr. Freeze dice for a chilling victory!

Yes, I went there.

How could I not when my favorite Mr. Freeze of all time is the Arnold Schwarzenegger?! I know… everyone hates him except for me, but I don’t care! I want an alt art Arnold Freeze card!

Arnold Freeze

Arnold aside – This Mr. Freeze card has lots of potential in Modern Age and casual play, but I think it may be just a bit too slow for Golden Age. I could be surprised though and someone could find a team build that works. As far as drafts go, this guy is ridiculous. I’ve not had the opportunity to use him, but I’ve seen him in action, and folks that use him have an easier time against those troublesome Red Hoods.

I have a Modern Age team build that I want to test with this particular version of Freeze, and I’m itching to try it. I’ve been too busy trying to make my Jessica Jones/Goliath/Proton Canon work and I need to move on to something else. I would totally recommend this card for other players to test in Modern Age and play around with in casual settings.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hawkgirl: Princess of Thanagar from the DC Batman set.

W Hawkgirl, Princess of Thanagar

Ruling – Ability

Hawkgirl has multiple parts to her ability. The first part of Hawkgirl’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

The second part of Hawkgirl’s ability will only apply to characters that are not Villains, and only when they attack. While Hawkgirl is active, when a non-Villain character die attacks (yours or your opponent’s), you may to spin that character die up one level.

This is an optional ability because it says may. This means you do not have to spin your opponent’s non-Villain character die up a level, but you could if you wanted to.

Hawkgirl does not have to attack for you to use her ability on other characters. So long as she’s active, and the attacking character is not a Villain, you can spin that die up one level. You can spin Hawkgirl dice up one level when they attack because her ability says non-Villain character dice, and she’s not a Villain.

If you can remove the Villain affiliation (Ra’s al Ghul Global), you must do so before you attack. Once the character is already assigned to attack, the window to use Hawkgirl’s ability has passed.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hawkgirl is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Justice League affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #96 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
How Hawkgirl’s ability triggers.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one Krypto: Super Dog (2A/2D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s the beginning of my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and Krypto to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, I may spin each die up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and Krypto spins to level two (3A/3D).
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Example Two:
Removing the Villain affiliation before attacking.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one The Riddler: Prince of Puzzles (1A/5D) die in the Field Zone.
~ I also have one Mask energy in my Reserve Pool and Ra’s al Ghul: Mystery and Power is on my team, but he is not active.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend the Mask, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Ra’s al Ghul’s Global and target my Riddler die. His Villain affiliation is now gone until the end of turn.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals. They pass priority back and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and The Riddler to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, they will each get to spin up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and The Riddler spins to level two (2A/6D).
~ The Riddler’s ability will also trigger and his attack and defense values are now swapped, making him a 6A and 2D.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling that applies to the wording of Hawkgirl’s ability, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

What I wouldn’t have given to have this card with my Colossus during the WKO this year in Owensboro! Using her and Blink – Transmutation with Colossus is like a dream team, and that also makes room for a different BAC in place of Polymorph/Mutation. I love Mutation, but there were other BACs I could have used for that particular event.

In a draft, this card is a beast! Using her with Batgirl + Ace, Conner Kent, The Riddler or any other beefy attacker is great, but she is a rare. The chances of getting her are not high, but if you open her, take her and build around her!

For Modern Age, I think she has some potential, especially with the aggressive teams that are shaping the current meta. She’s definitely affordable at a cost of three, and she’s a Mask character which she should fit nicely on some of those more aggressive Mask Ring teams. Her TFC of two isn’t bad at all, and her attack and defense stats are about what you’d expect. She’s a really good card to consider for a competitive team.

I really like her for casual play too. She’s not too overpowered and she’s got stats that are appropriate. She also has the Justice League affiliation which means she can beef up those Golden Age JL teams!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time  from the DC Batman set.

Rip Hunter, Navigate the Sands of Time

 

Ruling – Ability

Rip Hunter’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Rip Hunter’s ability can only be used once during your turn and only during the Clear and Draw Step. Rip Hunter must be active at the start of your turn to be able to use his ability that same turn. To use Rip Hunter’s ability, you draw dice for your Clear and Draw Step, and then you can send any number of those dice to the Used Pile and draw that many dice. You may choose any number of the dice you’ve drawn to go the Used Pile. You do not have to send them all.

The dice that you send to the Used Pile, go directly to the Used Pile and not Out of Play. This is because those dice have not entered the Reserve Pool.

If a card ability would allow you to draw extra dice during the Clear and Draw Step, you can use Rip Hunter’s ability for those dice as well. For example, if you have a Swarm trigger that allowed you to draw an extra die, for a total of five dice, you can send all five dice to the Used Pile and then draw five more dice using Rip Hunter’s ability. If any of those dice have the Swarm keyword and match an active character of the same name, you get to trigger Swarm again.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Rip Hunter is a Shield type character card.
~ He does not have any affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Rip Hunter’s ability.

Game State
~
I have two Rip Hunter dice and a Sidekick die active. I have seven Sidekick dice and one Batman die in my bag.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I don’t have any dice to clear.
~ I draw four Sidekick dice.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability, sending three of my Sidekick dice to the Used Pile and I draw three more dice.
~ I draw two Sidekick dice and my Batman die.

Example Two:
Rip Hunter’s ability with Swarm.

Game State
~ I have one Multiple Man: Pile On! die, one Goblin: Lesser Humanoid die, and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone.
~ I have a Goblin, Multiple Man, and four Sidekick dice in my bag, and two Sidekick dice in my Use Pile.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I draw four dice: one Multiple Man, one Goblin, two Sidekick dice.
~ I trigger the Swarm ability on Multiple Man and Goblin and draw two more dice: two Sidekicks.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability and send Multiple Man and Goblin to the Used Pile.
~ I now draw two more dice, but my bag is empty, so I refill it with the Used Pile (two Sidekicks, Multiple Man, and Goblin). I draw a Goblin and a Sidekick.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Goblin die, drawing one more die – Multiple Man.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Multiple Man die and draw my last die, which is a Sidekick.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ I roll all eight dice and proceed with the rest of my turn.

 

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I will continue to stand by my opinion that the dice moved by Rip Hunter need to go Out of Play. I’ve seen Ultraman abuse this to devastating results, as well as Parademon Swarm Burn. However, I will never rule against anything that’s been officially ruled on by WORF and I completely understand the reasoning behind their ruling. I just think it’s absolutely silly.

That being said, Parademon’s Burning Swarm is a team that Mr. DDK and I have been discussing since before they officially ruled Rip Hunter. I really want to use Darkseid: Force of Entropy with Parademon: Strength in Numbers and a cheap Swarm dude, like Multiple Man: Pile On!, because that’s just too silly. Rip Hunter’s ability can make a team like that more lethal. I’ve already played against someone that’s headed that direction with their team anyway, and the Parademon with Goblin Swarm is bad enough.

Rip Hunter has his benefits outside of breaking things. He’s exceptionally handy in drafts and he makes for a great addition to many teams that are desperately missing their PXG Global. He’s obviously not as good as PXG, but it’s totally better than nothing! I’ve been using the Uncommon Rip Hunter with my New Gods, but I might have to swap him for this version, unless I can speed the team up some other way.

I think that Rip Hunter is a good card in the competitive scene, but he does cost four to purchase. It’s not too much, but it could be too slow to use against some teams. Be sure you’re not adding him to your team as a necessary purchase, because if you’re buying him, you’re not buying your win condition (unless he contributes to that win condition). Your team shouldn’t be relying on him to function. If you’re using the rare Dwarf Wizard, this is probably going to be the character you want to target, unless of course there is a much larger threat at the time. But using DWiz to slow their churn is a really good idea early in the game.

If you’re playing casual, he’s a great addition and I don’t think he should be overlooked. He could help some of those casual teams churn through their dice a little faster to get to the good stuff!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!