Posts Tagged ‘Blocked Character’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ranx: Malevolent Metropolis  from the DC War of Light set. This randomly selected card is brought to you by DM Retrobox.

Before we get into the game related part of this week’s article, I want to briefly talk about who Ranx is. I’m not that familiar with the DC Universe – or more specifically the Lantern part of it. I had no idea who Ranx was, so I went to Wikipedia for some answers. In short, Ranx is a sentient city that is often viewed as a villain of sorts. It is classified as a planetoid and has many unique abilities, including powers granted to it by the yellow power ring. I found this character to be interesting and if not for Dice Masters, I probably wouldn’t have known Ranx existed.

W Ranx, Malevolent Metropolis

Ruling Ability

Ranx has an ability that can be used during the Assign Blockers part of the Attack Step. Due to the nature of the ability, you may only use the ability if the character is active.

Ranx may block any number of Bolt type character dice that are attacking you. Those characters must be assigned as attackers in order for Ranx to block them. If you choose to use Ranx’s ability to block multiple Bolt characters, you may not block a character that isn’t a Bolt character. Characters with abilities like the one on Ranx may choose to block normally or may use their special blocking ability, but not both.

You may choose to use the ability or choose not to use it for each individual Ranx die that can block.

Standard Sidekick dice are not considered to be any energy type and would not be eligible for Ranx’s ability if you choose to use it. An Ally that is a Bolt type would be eligible.

A Crossover character that has a Bolt in its energy type is considered a Bolt character.

When a character is blocking more than one attacker, you do not get to deal your blocker’s full amount of damage to each blocked character. You can choose to assign all of it to one attacker or divide it among any number of blocked attackers.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ranx is a Shield type character card.
~ It has the Villain and Sinestro Corps affiliations.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #96 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using multiple Ranx dice.

~ I have two level three Ranx dice (4/8) in the Field Zone. My opponent has five Bolt characters, a Mask character, and two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with all five Bolt characters, the one Mask character, and the two Sidekick dice. My opponent moves all the attackers into the Attack Zone to show that they are attacking.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign one Ranx die to block all five Bolt characters, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the five Bolt characters. I assign the second Ranx die to block the Mask character, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the Mask character. The Sidekicks are unblocked.

Example Two:
Assigning damage while blocking two or more characters.

~ I have one level three Ranx die (4/8) in the Field Zone. My opponent has two Hal Jordan dice (level one 3/2 and level two 4/3) and one Sidekick die (1/1) in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with both Hal Jordan dice and the Sidekick die, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign my Ranx die to block both Hal Jordan dice, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the Hal Jordan dice. The Sidekick is unblocked.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Ranx assigns three of its four damage to the level two Hal Jordan die and the last point of damage to the level one Hal Jordan die. This is enough to KO the level two Hal Jordan, but not the level one Hal Jordan. The two Hal Jordan dice assign their combined total of seven damage to Ranx, which is not enough to KO Ranx. The Sidekick die assigns and resolves its one damage to my life total and is then placed Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up) The KO’d Hal Jordan die is placed in the Prep Area. The characters that are not KO’d are moved out of the Attack Zone, back into the Field Zone. All effects end. Dice that are Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about a similar ability, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

I am temporarily removing my ratings from the Confusing Card of the Week articles. I plan to redo my ratings system and improve it!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at the Turtle Van: Basic Action Card from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles box set. This is in celebration of the release of the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half-Shell box set that’s due out tomorrow!

w-turtle-van-bac

Ruling – Ability

Turtle Van is a Continuous Basic Action. If a card ability would affect an Action Die, Turtle Van could be chosen for the effect. One such example is Constantine: Antihero.

Continuous is a keyword found on Action cards. When you use the action die, it is placed in the Field Zone and will remain in the Field Zone until the ability is activated or triggered. Activating or triggering the ability is not considered ‘using’ the die. Using the die is when you move it from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. It can remain in the Field Zone after your turn.

Turtle Van’s ability says that you can send Turtle Van to your Used Pile and prevent all damage to a target blocking character. This ability targets a single character die when you activate it. You may target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice. When activated, the target blocking character die will take no damage from the character it’s blocking. It will also be protected from any Globals or abilities that would damage it after the activation of Turtle Van.

There is a specific timing window for when you can activate Turtle Van. You can only activate the ability on a Turtle Van die after blockers have been assigned, during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step. If you’re the active player, you will have priority to use Actions and Globals. If you’re not the active player, you will have to wait until your opponent passes you priority before you can activate Turtle Van. That means your character can still take ability damage before you’re passed priority and able to activate Turtle Van.

When you activate Turtle Van, it will go directly to the Used Pile, as per the card text.

Turtle Van has a special interaction with Overcrush. Overcrush will only work if all of the attacking character die’s blockers have been KO’d or removed by an effect. If the blocker is still present, but the damage to the blocker is prevented by an ability like Turtle Van, Overcrush will not work.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Turtle Van is a Basic Action with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #58 of 58.

If you purchase the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turltes Box Set, you will have one copy of each card in the entire set, as well as the maximum number of dice for each card.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Turtle Van on your turn.

~ I have one Turtle Van die and a level three Gorilla Grodd: Force of Mind die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Gorilla Grodd as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Grodd, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of my Grodd die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I activate my Turtle Van, targeting my opponent’s Sidekick die and placing my Turtle Van into the Used Pile. The Sidekick will take no damage for the rest of the turn. I don’t activate/use any other Actions or Globals, and my opponent doesn’t use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My Grodd’s seven damage is assigned to the Sidekick, but the Sidekick will take no damage. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Grodd, but it’s not enough to KO him.
~ (Clean Up Step) Both character dice are returned to the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Example Two:
Turtle Van interaction with Overcrush, on your opponent’s turn.

~ I have one Turtle Van die and two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone. My opponent has a level three Gorilla Grodd die in the Field Zone. My opponent has one Bolt energy in the Reserve Pool and has Magic Missile: Basic Action Card.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns Gorilla Grodd as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign both of my Sidekick dice to block Grodd, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of the Grodd die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) My opponent has priority on Actions and Globals, so they use their Bolt energy (moving it Out of Play) to activate the Global on Magic Missile and target one of my blocking Sidekick dice. The Sidekick is KO’d and placed in my Prep Area. My opponent passes priority to me and I activate my Turtle Van, targeting my remaining blocking Sidekick and placing my Turtle Van die in the Used Pile.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Grodd’s seven damage is assigned to the Sidekick, but the Sidekick will take no damage. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Grodd, but it’s not enough to KO him.
~ (Clean Up Step) Both character dice are returned to the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

Overcrush is not a huge deal in the current meta, but as soon as you don’t bring an answer for it, you’ll face off against a rogue Overcrush team. This action isn’t just good for stopping Overcrush, it’s also handy in preventing your opponent’s blocking character from taking damage and getting some crazy effect to go off or even save one of your own blockers from being KO’d. I could see someone adding this to a team if they’re worried about Overcrush and it’s not a terrible card. But since Overcrush isn’t a major meta thing, I can’t give Turtle Van more than a rogue rating. It’s useful for other things besides stopping Overcrush, but there are also tons of other really good BACs out there that someone may want to use instead.

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Play Rating

Turtle Van has been a huge deal in our local Prime meta. Everyone has an Overcrush team of some kind and Turtle Van is a great tech against it. If other meta scenes even slightly resemble ours, then I could see this particular BAC making it onto lots of teams. It’s also great for stopping double damage that a character may be dealing with against Lady Bullseye’s ability. I really like this card and I’d be surprised if it didn’t make at least Prime rogue status, even with the new versions of Polymorph and Magic Missile coming out tomorrow in the new TMNT Box Set.

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I’ve seen this card in lots of casual matches. It’s not a super confusing ability, but the tricks of how to use it against Overcrush are not as apparent to new players. Learning to use the card in that way is something that comes with experience. The one major thing about this card that confuses players is the Continuous part. Even after some explanation, beginners and less experienced players still have a hard time understanding that action dice do not stay in your Reserve Pool – you can’t use action dice on your opponent’s turn. Newer players confuse using an action die with activating an action die’s ability. That’s really the only thing holding Turtle Van back from a five star casual rating. I still recommend this card to our newer players because it’s a great way to learn how to use action dice and how/when to activate Continuous action dice. Don’t discourage new players from Continuous actions just because they can be difficult to understand at first. If you’re a newer player reading this, I encourage you to add at least one Continuous action to your team and play with it. There are lots of great Continuous actions out there, including Turtle Van!

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey from the Marvel Deadpool set.

w-hit-monkey-hes-a-hitman-whos-a-monkey

Ruling – Ability

Hit-Monkey has an ability that can be activated when he’s blocked. When he’s blocked, you may pay a fist energy to assign Hit-Monkey’s combat damage to the defending player as if he wasn’t blocked, but only for that turn.

His combat damage has no effect on the character or characters that block him, because you are using his ability to redirect his combat damage to a different source other than the blockers. Hit-Monkey would not deal damage to his blockers, but they would deal their combat damage to him, possibly KO’ing him.

If you pay the fist to use Hit-Monkey’s ability and an effect would remove his card text, you would no longer be able to assign his damage to your opponent. This is because his card would have been blanked before the Assign Damage portion of the Attack Step. You would only be able to assign damage to the characters blocking Hit-Monkey. You would not get the fist energy spent for his ability back.

It is also important to remember that even though you’re able to assign his combat damage to your opponent, Hit-Monkey is still considered blocked and would gain no benefit from effects that affect unblocked characters.

If the blockers are not able to KO Hit-Monkey, he would return the Field Zone during the Clean Up Step. This is because he was blocked, but not KO’d. It does not matter that he assigned his combat damage somewhere else, only that he was blocked and not KO’d. If he’s KO’d, then he will go to the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey is a Fist Character.
~ He has no affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:
Hit-Monkey blocked and not KO’d.

~ I have one level three Hit-Monkey die in the Field Zone and one fist energy in the Reserve Pool. My opponent has one Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Hit-Monkey as an attacker, placing his die in the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Hit-Monkey, placing it in front of his die in the Attack Zone. Since Hit-Monkey has been blocked, I can now activate his ability. I spend the fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to activate Hit-Monkey’s ability. Hit-Monkey will now be able to assign his combat damage to my opponent instead of the Sidekick.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I do not use any Action dice or Globals. I pass priority to my opponent and they choose not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Hit-Monkey assigns his four damage to my opponent. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Hit-Monkey. Damage resolves simultaneously after it’s been assigned, so my opponent takes four damage and Hit-Monkey takes one damage. Hit-Monkey has a defense of three, so he is not KO’d by the one damage from the Sidekick. The Sidekick is not dealt any damage, so it’s not KO’d.
~ (Clean Up Step) Hit-Monkey is blocked and not KO’d, so he is placed back in the Field Zone. The Sidekick blocked and was not KO’d, so it’s placed back in the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice that are Out of Play are placed in the Used Pile.

Example:
Hit-Monkey blocked and card text is blanked after his ability has been used.

~ I have one level three Hit-Monkey die in the Field Zone. I also have one fist energy and a Flying Car: Buckle Up! action die in the Reserve Pool. My opponent has one Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Hit-Monkey as an attacker, placing his die in the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Hit-Monkey, placing it in front of his die in the Attack Zone. Since Hit-Monkey has been blocked, I can now activate his ability. I spend the fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to activate Hit-Monkey’s ability. Hit-Monkey will now be able to assign his combat damage to my opponent instead of the Sidekick.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Flying Car action to give Hit-Monkey a +3A/+3D, but it removes all of Hit-Monkey’s ability text. I pass priority to my opponent and they choose not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Hit-Monkey assigns his seven damage to Sidekick that’s blocking him. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Hit-Monkey. Damage resolves simultaneously after it’s been assigned, so the Sidekick takes seven damage and Hit-Monkey takes one damage. Hit-Monkey has a defense of six, so he is not KO’d by the one damage from the Sidekick. The Sidekick has one defense and is KO’d by Hit-Monkey’s seven attack.
~ (Clean Up Step) Hit-Monkey is blocked and not KO’d, so he is placed back in the Field Zone. The Sidekick is placed in the Prep Area because it was KO’d. All effects end and all dice that are Out of Play are placed in the Used Pile.

Official Sources

You can find an official ruling about the card on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF), here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

As much as I like this card, I think he’s too difficult to work with in an Unlimited format where there are better cards. His ability is good and I think that the right pilot with the right team build might be able to make him work. It takes special care and specific building to make something like this viable though, so I don’t think he’s a card that will see a lot of Unlimited play in the current meta. He’s still a good card, just not the best choice for this particular format. I don’t think he’s fast enough for the current speed of the meta.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Play Rating

I don’t think this card is getting the recognition it deserves for the Prime format. I think this card may see more play, and even a few top positions in some upcoming PDC events. If it doesn’t, I would be very disappointed, but not surprised since he doesn’t get much love anyway. I could be totally wrong about this card, but it seems like such a good card with the current list of available cards. There are still plenty of build options for using a card like this and not a whole lot of ways around it. I suspect Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” is going to make every team list, but there are ways to play around those. Hit-Monkey may not be everyone’s style, but I think he has great potential and folks would be remiss to not give this card a shot on a team.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey. gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

It’s not often that a card receives a five star rating from me, especially for a beginning or casual player. I don’t think a card ability can be written any more clear than how this one is written. It even has reminder text that helps remind the player that the combat damage is not dealt to the blocking character(s). The confusion around this card begins when you get into more advanced level of play, like the examples in the WORF ruling. But for beginners and casual players that don’t see a lot of the competitive type cards, this is probably one of the best cards to start someone off with. This character’s ability is great to play on its own or with some combo cards, which is one of the reasons it’s such a good card for beginners. I can easily recommend this card for a player of any skill level.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey gets a casual play rating of five out of five stars.
5 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Motorcycle: Vroom! from the Marvel Deadpool set. I get lots of questions about when a player can use an Action die, so I chose one of the newer Non-Basic Actions for this week’s CCW. This is also the only card with a Global Ability on it in the entire Deadpool set.

2-motorcycle-vroom

Ruling – Ability

Motorcycle will give a blocked character that you control +1A and +1D. This bonus will last until the end of turn.

The only time you can use an Action die is during your turn in the Main Step or after blockers have been assigned in the Attack Step. The timing for this die is specific. You must have a blocked character to be able to use this Action die. You can only use this die during the Attack Step, after blockers have been assigned.

You can only target your blocked character with this die. This ability does not allow you to target an opponent’s character. If you were to take control of an opponent’s character die, it would then be a legal target.

Action dice that are not used during the turn will go to the Used Pile during the Clean Up Step. If the Action dice are on an energy face, they stay in the Reserve Pool.

Ruling – Global

The Global Ability says that you can pay a Fist energy to remove a blocked character die from the Attack Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone.

If you do not have a legal target for this Global, you cannot pay the cost for no effect. There must be a blocked attacker in the Attack Zone. The target can be either yours or your opponent’s.

Affiliations and Types

Motorcycle: Vroom! is a Fist Non-Basic Action and does not have an affiliation. This card also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Regular use of the Action ability.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I decide to use my Motorcycle Action and target my blocked Sidekick die, giving it a +1A and +1D. I pass priority to my opponent so that they can use Globals if they can or want to do so. They do not use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals two damage to the blocking Sidekick’s one defense and the blocking Sidekick deals one damage to my Sidekick’s two defense.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My opponent’s Sidekick took enough damage for it to be KO’d and it is sent to the Prep Area.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Sidekick did not take enough damage to get KO’d and will move back into the Field Zone. All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Example Two:
No legal targets for the Action.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent does not assign any blockers.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I cannot use my Motorcycle because I do not have a blocked character to target. I do not use any Globals and neither does my opponent.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals one damage to my opponent’s life total and is moved Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Motorcycle die is moved to the Used Pile. All dice that are Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated). 

Example Three:
Turn player using Global.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my Sidekick. My Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my opponent. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO’d. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Example Four:
Non-Turn player using Global.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) My opponent has a chance to use Actions. They don’t use any. They now can use Globals, but choose not to and pass priority to me. I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my opponent’s Sidekick. Their Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my life total. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO’d. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

You can find the ruling about using a Global for no effect, here.

The picture below is the Turn Order Summary from the back of the Civil War Rulebook.

turn-order

Clean Up Step detailed on page 11-12 of the Civil War Rulebook.

Competitive Play Rating

This card seems to be pretty terrible for competitive play. One might think the Global would make it worthwhile, but even the Global seems poor. We have Distraction and Blink – Transmutation which are much better versions of the Motorcycle Global because they don’t require the character to be blocked in order for you to pull them back. The ability on the card isn’t particularly useful. Unless we have a rotation that includes sets all the way up to Faerûn Under Siege, I don’t see this card making it onto any serious competitive team.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a competitive play rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Motorcycle may not have the most useful ability or Global for the competitive scene, but I could see someone trying to use it on a casual team with the Deadly Keyword. This is great teaching tool for timing, but I can’t recommend this card for a beginner. A player with a better understanding of the turn order could probably find a fun use for this card. I still don’t feel like the card itself is particularly useful with other cards that do similar things or have better versions of the abilities.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!