Posts Tagged ‘Bolt Card’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Cosmic Cube, Energy of the Beyonders

Ruling – Ability

Whenever an Action die or character ability deals damage this turn, increase that damage by 2.

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. The effect of the die will remain until end of turn.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is applied to each instance of damage. For example, if a character ability allows you to divide ability damage among two character dice, you will increase the damage dealt to each of those dice by two.

Any time an Action die or character ability deals damage, it will be increased by two for each Cosmic Cube die that was used that turn. For example, if two Cosmic Cube dice were used, damage from an Action die or character ability will be increased by a total of four.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is added to the damage total first, then the damage is applied to the target of the Action die or character ability. Reducing or preventing the initial damage from the Action die or character ability will not prevent the additional damage from Cosmic Cube.

This ability will also apply to any Action die character ability that your opponent can use on your turn. For example: If you you use one Cosmic Cube die and your opponent has Batgirl: Babs active, when you deal damage to her, she will increase her damage by two. Typically, an opponent will not be able to use an action die on your turn, but if they have a way to do so, damage dealt with that action die will also be increased by two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Cosmic Cube is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #86 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There are rulings for this card, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I don’t have much to say about this card, and not because it’s a bad card. There is no denying that this card is super powerful, especially with the new Attune ability that debuted in the Tomb of Annihilation set. There are plenty of crazy builds around this card, and that makes Bishop: Butterfly Effect from the X-Men First Class set a very important character for your team. He will prevent all of the non-combat damage you would be subjected to, until they Shriek him.

I would not recommend using this card in smaller, local scenes that are mostly casual. This is definitely a powerful and meta worthy card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Batarang: What Goes Around Comes Around from the DC Batman set.

W Batarang, What Goes Around Comes Around

Ruling – Ability

When you use this action die, you deal three damage to one target Villain character die. If you use a second Batarang die, you can choose to target the same die again if it’s still active in the Field Zone, or you can choose a new Villain to target.

You can target opposing Villains or your own Villains with Batarang action dice.

A Sidekick die or character die that does not have a printed Villain affiliation on their card can be legal targets if they have been given the Villain affiliation through a game effect. For example: Superman is not a Villain. I can pay a Mask energy and a Fist energy for the Global on the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, and target Superman so he gains the Villain affiliation. This makes him a legal target for Batarang.

A character with a printed Villain affiliation can have the Villain affiliation removed by a card effect and no longer be a legal target for Batarang. Removing the Villain affiliation will not affect Batarang dice that have been used prior to the removal of the affiliation. For example: My Joker (Villain), with a defense of six, has been hit with a Batarang for three damage. In the same turn, I can remove his affiliation with Ra’s al Ghul‘s Global and he will still have three damage on him until the Clean Up Step. He can no longer be targeted by Batarang dice this turn, unless he regains the Villain affiliation.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Ruling – Boomerang Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Boomerang: Action dice with boomerang are re-rolled after they’re used. If they reveal an action face, add them to your Prep Area.

 

After you roll the action die, if it shows an action face (non-energy face), you get to add it to your Prep Area. If it shows an energy face, the die will move Out of Play as normal. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Boomerang is mandatory. If you use an Action Die with Boomerang, you must reroll it.

Action and Energy Faces 2

 

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Batarang is a Bolt type non-Basic Action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 124.

Batarang is a special Action called a non-Basic Action. You place this card in a character slot on your team. Your opponent can not purchase your non-Basic Action dice.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Batarang during the Main Step and the Attack Step.

Game State
~ I have two Batarang dice showing action faces in my Reserve Pool. I have a level three Huntress (4A/3D) die and a level three Hawkgirl (4A/4D) die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level three Killer Croc (7A/7D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Batarang dice, targeting my Huntress die. Huntress takes three damage, KO’ing her and sending her to my Prep Area. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an energy face and is placed Out of Play.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they choose to not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ We now move into the Attack Step – or – Skip the Attack Step and go straight to Clean Up. I decide that I want to attack, so we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Hawkgirl to attack, moving her into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Killer Croc to block Hawkgirl, moving Killer Croc into the Attack Zone and placing him in front of Hawkgirl.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I use my second Batarang die and target Killer Croc. Killer Croc takes three damage and since it wasn’t enough to KO him, he remains in the Attack Zone blocking Hawkgirl. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an action face and is added in my Prep Area.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Hawkgirl deals her four attack to Killer Croc’s seven defense, but he already has three damage on him. This will be enough to KO him. Killer Croc deals his seven attack to Hawkgirl’s four defense, which is enough to KO her. They will both go their respective Prep Areas during Clean Up.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. Killer Croc is placed in my opponent’s Prep Area and Hawkgirl is placed in my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I think Boomerang is a really neat ability, but I have yet to play it. I’ve seen plenty of Unstable Miracle teams floating around, but I want to use a die that already has Boomerang, like Batarang. I’ll have to use Batarang if I want to play with Boomerang because it’s the only action card with the Keyword and all three versions have Boomerang.

I am definitely looking forward to adding this to my “FREEZE!” team. While useful against opposing Villains, I think it’ll be much more of an asset when it comes to KO’ing your own Villains that have When Fielded abilities. Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries has a cool When Fielded ability that puts Stun Tokens on your opponent’s character cards. Sometimes, it’s hard to get those type of character dice back into your Prep Area to reuse quickly. Batarang definitely provides a viable option that your opponent won’t have access to, like Unstable Canister. Mr. Freeze has a defense line of 2/3/4, making him a prime target for Batarang. The only level that would give you trouble is level three.

Some other characters that I would love to pair this Batarang with are Huntress: No Rest for the Wicked and Firefly: Ted Carson. I absolutely love the idea of using Huntress to potentially KO their dudes and then field Firefly to blast them for some damage. Batarang would help cycle those two in the early game because they’re both Villains and make for great targets for Batarang.

And if blasting your own Villains into the Prep Area for next turn wasn’t good enough, Batarang has the potential to come back too, thanks to Boomerang!

I think all versions are great for casual level play and especially for drafting. I’m not sure it has what it takes to stand alone in the Modern Age competitive meta, but I’m holding out hope that someone finds a creative way to use this card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!