Posts Tagged ‘Common’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Captain America: Anti-Reg from the Marvel Civil War Starter set. I wanted to go with a patriotic theme since today is Independence Day here in the US, and what better character to choose than Captain America himself!

04 Captain America, Anti-Reg

Ruling – Resistance Ability

Resistance is a keyword that can be found in the Civil War set. A character with Resistance will grant you some kind of benefit if a character you control was KO’d. These benefits from the different Resistance abilities will vary and the keyword can be found on characters, Basic Actions, and non-Basic Actions.

Any game effect that KO’s a character could trigger a Resistance ability. For example, Fabricate – if you have Captain America active and you Fabricate two characters, you will gain the benefit from his Resistance ability and gain one life at the end of your turn. Another example would be if your opponent used the Unstable Canister Global during your turn to KO one of your Sidekick dice while you have Captain America active.

When you Sacrifice a character die, that is not the same as KO’ing them, which will not trigger a Resistance ability.

If a character with Regenerate is successful in regenerating, you will not gain the Resistance ability. Regenerate is a considered a KO replacement effect.

Captain America’s Resistance ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Captain America’s Resistance ability says that as long as he’s active at the end of your turn, if a character die you control was KO’d this turn, you gain one life. This ability only checks that the requirements were met and not how many times they were met.

This ability is not optional and you must gain life if the Resistance ability was triggered. You cannot go above 20 life, so if you’re already at 20 life, you will not gain life.

Ruling – Ability

Captain America has a second ability on his card and it is also a While Active ability. At the end of your turn, as long as Captain America is active, you spin each of your Captain America dice up one level.

Dice Levels

In the picture above, you can see the sides of the dice as shown on the bottom of Captain America’s card. All character dice levels are displayed in the same place on character cards. The first three images are of the energy faces and do not have levels. The first character face is Level 1, the second character face is Level 2, and the third character face is Level 3. This is the same for all character dice, except for basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice don’t have a character card and while they are in the Field Zone, they’re only Level 1.

If an ability instructs you to spin a character die to a different level, always reference the character card to confirm the correct level, then spin that character die accordingly. Basic Sidekick dice do not have multiple levels and they cannot spin to a different level.

This ability is not an optional ability. At the end of your turn, you must spin all of your active Captain America dice up one level from their current level. A level two Captain America die will spin up to level three and a level one die will spin up to level two. Any level three Captain America dice will not be affected by this ability because they are at the maximum level for a character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Captain America is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Triggering Captain America’s abilities.

Game State
~ I have a level one and a level two Captain America die in the Field Zone. I also have a Sidekick die.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ My Attack Step has just begun.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Sidekick die and my level one Captain America die to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent decides to block with both of their Sidekick dice.
~ My opponent assigns the first Sidekick to block my attacking Sidekick, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my attacking Sidekick.
~ My opponent assigns the second Sidekick to block my attacking Captain America die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my attacking Captain America die.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ My Sidekick deals one damage to the blocking Sidekick and the blocking Sidekick deals one damage to my Sidekick. Both will be KO’d.
~ My Captain America die deals two damage to the Sidekick die that’s blocking him, and that Sidekick deals one damage to Captain America. Captain America has a defense of four, so that one damage will not KO him. The Sidekick will be KO’d because it only has a defense of one.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. My opponents two Sidekick dice go to their Prep Area and my Sidekick goes to my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared, so Captain America will no longer have the one damage from the Sidekick.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve. Captain America’s Resistance ability will trigger and allow me to gain one life if my life total is below 20 because a character that I control was KO’d this turn. His other ability triggers as well and my level one Captain America die spins up to level two and my level two Captain America die spins up to level three. Since both abilities happen at the same time and I control both abilities, I can choose the order in which they resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

This is one of my favorite Captain America cards that is currently legal for Modern Age. I love the art, love the die, and really dig the ability on it. There are plenty of ways to KO your Sidekick dice, like a force block Global, Fabricate, or even a burn Global. Captain America is one of those cards that just dares your opponent to Unstable Canister Global your little dudes. When they do and Cap sees it happen, you gain life back! I have yet to really be able to play with this card outside of Limited constructed events that we held for Civil War. I think I may try to add him onto a current Lockout League build I’m working on for Saturday. I don’t think he’s necessarily worthy of a competitive team spot, but I’ve seen much less deserving cards on highly successful teams in the past. I hope someone sees what a gem this guy can be and tries using him. His major downside is that atrocious fielding cost, but at least he’s not really expensive to purchase. A four cost character that just needs to stay in the Field is not a terrible purchase. I think the best place for this Cap to shine is in the casual and Limited areas.

I also want to take a moment to say Happy Independence Day to all my fellow Dice Masters here in the US. I hope that everyone has a safe and fun holiday!

captain-america-wwii-pose-with-flag-5469

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time  from the DC Batman set.

Rip Hunter, Navigate the Sands of Time

 

Ruling – Ability

Rip Hunter’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Rip Hunter’s ability can only be used once during your turn and only during the Clear and Draw Step. Rip Hunter must be active at the start of your turn to be able to use his ability that same turn. To use Rip Hunter’s ability, you draw dice for your Clear and Draw Step, and then you can send any number of those dice to the Used Pile and draw that many dice. You may choose any number of the dice you’ve drawn to go the Used Pile. You do not have to send them all.

The dice that you send to the Used Pile, go directly to the Used Pile and not Out of Play. This is because those dice have not entered the Reserve Pool.

If a card ability would allow you to draw extra dice during the Clear and Draw Step, you can use Rip Hunter’s ability for those dice as well. For example, if you have a Swarm trigger that allowed you to draw an extra die, for a total of five dice, you can send all five dice to the Used Pile and then draw five more dice using Rip Hunter’s ability. If any of those dice have the Swarm keyword and match an active character of the same name, you get to trigger Swarm again.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Rip Hunter is a Shield type character card.
~ He does not have any affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Rip Hunter’s ability.

Game State
~
I have two Rip Hunter dice and a Sidekick die active. I have seven Sidekick dice and one Batman die in my bag.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I don’t have any dice to clear.
~ I draw four Sidekick dice.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability, sending three of my Sidekick dice to the Used Pile and I draw three more dice.
~ I draw two Sidekick dice and my Batman die.

Example Two:
Rip Hunter’s ability with Swarm.

Game State
~ I have one Multiple Man: Pile On! die, one Goblin: Lesser Humanoid die, and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone.
~ I have a Goblin, Multiple Man, and four Sidekick dice in my bag, and two Sidekick dice in my Use Pile.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I draw four dice: one Multiple Man, one Goblin, two Sidekick dice.
~ I trigger the Swarm ability on Multiple Man and Goblin and draw two more dice: two Sidekicks.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability and send Multiple Man and Goblin to the Used Pile.
~ I now draw two more dice, but my bag is empty, so I refill it with the Used Pile (two Sidekicks, Multiple Man, and Goblin). I draw a Goblin and a Sidekick.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Goblin die, drawing one more die – Multiple Man.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Multiple Man die and draw my last die, which is a Sidekick.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ I roll all eight dice and proceed with the rest of my turn.

 

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I will continue to stand by my opinion that the dice moved by Rip Hunter need to go Out of Play. I’ve seen Ultraman abuse this to devastating results, as well as Parademon Swarm Burn. However, I will never rule against anything that’s been officially ruled on by WORF and I completely understand the reasoning behind their ruling. I just think it’s absolutely silly.

That being said, Parademon’s Burning Swarm is a team that Mr. DDK and I have been discussing since before they officially ruled Rip Hunter. I really want to use Darkseid: Force of Entropy with Parademon: Strength in Numbers and a cheap Swarm dude, like Multiple Man: Pile On!, because that’s just too silly. Rip Hunter’s ability can make a team like that more lethal. I’ve already played against someone that’s headed that direction with their team anyway, and the Parademon with Goblin Swarm is bad enough.

Rip Hunter has his benefits outside of breaking things. He’s exceptionally handy in drafts and he makes for a great addition to many teams that are desperately missing their PXG Global. He’s obviously not as good as PXG, but it’s totally better than nothing! I’ve been using the Uncommon Rip Hunter with my New Gods, but I might have to swap him for this version, unless I can speed the team up some other way.

I think that Rip Hunter is a good card in the competitive scene, but he does cost four to purchase. It’s not too much, but it could be too slow to use against some teams. Be sure you’re not adding him to your team as a necessary purchase, because if you’re buying him, you’re not buying your win condition (unless he contributes to that win condition). Your team shouldn’t be relying on him to function. If you’re using the rare Dwarf Wizard, this is probably going to be the character you want to target, unless of course there is a much larger threat at the time. But using DWiz to slow their churn is a really good idea early in the game.

If you’re playing casual, he’s a great addition and I don’t think he should be overlooked. He could help some of those casual teams churn through their dice a little faster to get to the good stuff!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

17 Jessica Jones, Ladies' Night

Ruling – Ability

Although her ability doesn’t say it, it acts as a While Active ability. You can find that ruling here. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Jessica Jones says that whenever one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, she will get +1A and +1D. Her ability is not limited to opposing Globals and character abilities. If you target one of your own character dice, including a Jessica Jones die, her ability will trigger. Her ability does not target, so she would not get additional bonuses from her ability triggering.

Her ability will trigger each time one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, and not just once in a turn.

When Jessica Jones’s ability is triggered, it will apply to each of her dice that are active at the time it was triggered.

Action dice abilities can affect Jessica Jones and characters friendly to her without triggering her ability. Targeting her, or a character friendly to her, with a Global on an Action card will trigger her ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jessica Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Jessica Jones and a friendly character targeted during my opponent’s Main Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level one Shredder: Dining on Turtle Soup in their Reserve Pool and two Bolt energy.
~ It’s during their Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays one energy, sending it Out of Play, to field Shredder.
~ They use Shredder’s ability and target my Sidekick, which is now KO’d and placed in the Prep Area and I lose one life.
~ Because a character die I control was targeted by a character ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My opponent spends their last Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, for the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card. They target my Jessica Jones die.
~ My Jessica Jones die takes one damage from the Global ability, but because a character die that I control was targeted by a Global ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +2A/+2D, making her attack an 8 and her defense a 5. But because that die has taken one damage this turn, she can only take 4 more damage before she’s KO’d.
~ My opponent passes priority to me, but I choose to not use any Globals. I return priority and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns Shredder to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I assign Jessica Jones to block Shredder, moving her die to the Attack Zone in front of Shredder.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Shredder assigns his four damage to Jessica Jones’s remaining defense of four.
~ Jessica Jones assigns her eight damage to Shredder’s defense of four.
~ Both characters are KO’d.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Two:
Jessica Jones die targeted during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. I also have one Fist energy and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent doesn’t have any characters in the Field Zone and no energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ None of my characters stats have been altered.
~ We’re moving into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Jessica Jones die and my Sidekick die to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not assign any blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I spend one Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones takes one damage and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my opponent’s Haymaker Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones gets a +1A from the Haymaker Global and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of a Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +3A/+2D making her attack a 9 and her defense a 5.
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Both of my character dice are unblocked. They each deal their attack directly to my opponent.
~ My opponent is dealt 10 damage and both of my character dice are immediately placed Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities that need the character to be active, but the card doesn’t say While Active, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Out of all the cards in the Defenders Team Pack, this Jessica Jones and Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm are the only cards I like. I went straight for Iron Fist instead of test playing Jessica Jones because I loved his ability. But after playing with him a little and trying to make him work, I think Jessica Jones is the route I need to go.

When playing a card like this, you want to bring Globals that tempt your opponent into using them on your dudes, like Unstable Canister. They can target Jessica Jones as much as they want, but unless they have some other way to deal her damage, she won’t get KO’d by Canister Global strikes alone. Using Haymaker isn’t a bad idea either – or Goliath if you want to use a different Basic Action besides Haymaker. You don’t have to rely on your opponent to use Globals/character abilities on your characters. You could just pump her up on your own and then give her Overcrush for those potential blockers. You could make her unblockable with an ability like the on Silver Sable: Hero for Hire. And because it targets, it buffs her stats too.

For the competitive scenes, I think she might fall just short of being a top tier card. It’s not her purchase cost that’s the issue – I think it’s very reasonable for her ability and stats. There is way too many Cold Guns out there that can take her out. Her ability doesn’t trigger off of Action abilities, just Globals and character abilities. But even if it did trigger off of Action abilities, a Cold Gun shuts her down before she attacks. You would need to put pressure on your opponent with multiple Jessica Jones dice, which can be difficult since she cost five to purchase.

I don’t think she’s too overpowered on her own for a casual setting, but I would be mindful of what your other locals are playing.

I like this card and I think she’s probably the best card in the Team Pack. I can’t wait to give her a go this week! I might even pair her with some of this crazy new Batman stuff. And just because I don’t think she’s good enough for meta competitive play, doesn’t mean I won’t try her!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Logo

The Batman is here! I was excited for this set because of the characters that it could potentially bring. I wanted a Batwoman card, really bad, and we have her in this set! The Batman set does not have a starter or collector’s box – only a gravity feed. Here’s my review and pull list from the new DC Batman set!

You can find a checklist for the set, here. I like printing mine so I have them handy during drafts.

Batman Box

Promo Card and Pack Insert

W Batgirl, Carrying the Mantle

WizKids has been offering a blank sketch card with their Gravity Feeds recently. The promo for this set is Batgirl: Carrying the Mantle. I really like that they’re offering a variant incentive for large sealed product purchases. Since it’s only a variant, players that only want functional copies of cards won’t feel like they’re missing something. For collectors, this is a great incentive for them to make a larger purchase.

They chose a card that’s also the participation prize in The Animated Series OP Kit, which I thought was a little disappointing. But, it is a free ‘thank you’ incentive for buying a whole feed and I don’t want to seem ungrateful, so it’s the most minor of complaints.

Rules Insert

I much prefer the rules insert to the WIN promotional card. You can find the insert online, here. Make sure to check the WizKids Keywords page to see the current and updated wording on Keyword Abilities. My only real issue with this particular insert is that they put Swarm on the card and not Boomerang. Swarm has already been featured outside of the D&D sets and I didn’t think it needed to be on the insert, but Boomerang definitely does!

Gravity Feed
Commons

We pulled 112 common cards; 9 of our commons were foil. We didn’t get any duplicate foil commons. I highlighted the ones we pulled foils of with red text, and the total includes the foil version.

x2     #01     Ace the Bat Hound
x2     #02     Bane
x3     #03     Bat Signal
x2     #04     Batarang
x3     #05     Batgirl
x3     #06     Batman
x4     #07     Batwoman
x4     #08     Big Barda
x3     #09     Catwoman
x3     #10     Commissioner Gordon
x3     #11     Conner Kent
x3     #12     Darkseid
x1     #13     Dove
x3     #14     Firefly
x3     #15     Harley Quinn
x3     #16     Hawk
x3     #17     Hawkgirl
x3     #18     Huntress
x3     #19     Hush
x3     #20     Jervis Tetch
x3     #21     Killer Croc
x2     #22     Mister Miracle
x3     #23     Mr. Freeze
x3     #24     Nightwing
x2     #25     Orion
x3     #26     Owlman
x3     #27     Parademon
x3     #28     Ra’s al Ghul
x3     #29     Red Hood
x2     #30     Rip Hunter
x3     #31     Robin
x3     #32     Talia al Ghul
x2     #33     The Joker
x4     #34     The Penguin
x3     #35     The Question
x2     #36     The Riddler
x2     #37     Thomas Wayne
x3     #38     Two-Face’s Coin
x3     #39     Two-Face
x3     #40     Utility Belt

Uncommons

We pulled 50 uncommon cards; 9 of our uncommons were foil. We pulled all but three of the uncommons and none of our foils were duplicates.

x2     #41     Ace the Bat Hound
x1     #42     Bane
x2     #43     Bat Signal
x0     #44     Batarang
x1     #45     Batgirl
x2     #46     Batman
x0     #47     Batwoman
x1     #48     Big Barda
x1     #49     Catwoman
x2     #50     Commissioner Gordon
x1     #51     Conner Kent
x2     #52     Darkseid
x1     #53     Dove
x1     #54     Firefly
x2     #55     Harley Quinn
x1     #56     Hawk
x2     #57     Hawkgirl
x1     #58     Huntress
x1     #59     Hush
x1     #60     Jervis Tetch
x1     #61     Killer Croc
x1     #62     Mister Miracle
x1     #63     Mr. Freeze
x1     #64     Nightwing
x1     #65     Orion
x1     #66     Owlman
x3     #67     Parademon
x1     #68     Ra’s al Ghul
x0     #69     Red Hood
x1     #70     Rip Hunter
x1     #71     Robin
x1     #72     Talia al Ghul
x1     #73     The Joker
x1     #74     The Penguin
x2     #75     The Question
x1     #76     The Riddler
x1     #77     Thomas Wayne
x2     #78     Two-Face’s Coin
x2     #79     Two-Face
x2     #80     Utility Belt

Rares and Super Rares

You won’t get all the rares in one feed, but you get a good amount of them. We pulled 16 rares and none of them were duplicates; 4 of our rares were foil. We also pulled two Super Rares, which are foil.

#84     Batarang
#87     Batwoman
#88     Big Barda
#89     Catwoman
#91     Conner Kent
#92     Dove
#95     Hawk
#96     Hawkgirl
#98     Hush
#99     Jervis Tetch
#100     Killer Croc
#102     Nightwing
#104     Parademon
#109     Talia al Ghul
#113     Thomas Wayne
#116     Utility Belt

#120     The Joker (Super Rare)
#124     White Lantern Superman
(Super Rare)

New Ability Keywords

Boomerang – Action dice with boomerang are re-rolled after they’re used. If they reveal an action face, add them to your Prep Area.

I really like this ability. You have a fifty-fifty chance at getting to add that action you just used to your Prep Area to roll next turn! There is a huge opportunity for this ability to do some pretty cool stuff with other abilities like Back for More from the Deadpool set. It just depends on what Back for More ability you use.

Common Ground – When a character with Common Ground attacks with at least one Villain character die, you get to use their Common Ground ability.

So I think this particular mechanic is going to be a lot of fun in casual settings. I don’t think there will be a huge showing in the competitive metas, but I like how Common Ground works and seems like it might be a lot of fun to use with the Flip cards like the common Catwoman and rare Nightwing.

Flip – Character cards with Flip have two different faces, with different affiliations and abilities. All dice in all zones are represented by the face up side of the card, regardless of which face the card was on when the die was fielded or purchased. At the beginning of each of your turns, you may flip any card with the flip keyword to its other face. There also may be game effects that direct you to flip cards. Only cards with two faces may be flipped.

I think this particular mechanic has huge, and I mean HUGE, potential. We have a good spread of it here in its debut set with lots of casual level cards, but the potential that some of these Flip cards have is so awesome. There are definitely some Flip cards that should be carefully considered for meta teams. I’m excited to see how folks build with them and build around them too!

Gadgeteer – When a character die with Gadgeteer attacks, you may roll an action die with a Continuous effect in your Used Pile. If you roll an action face, you may move it into your Field Zone.

So, I really like Boomerang, but Gadgeteer is super amazing! I would love to be able to get a Cold Gun back into my Field Zone instead of having it cycle through my bag. I think this is a really useful ability and I love that WizKids did two different abilities for Continuous and non-Continuous Actions.

Stun Token – Certain characters let you place Stun tokens on cards. While a card has a Stun Token on it, its dice cannot attack or block. The owner of the card with a Stun Token on it may pay two generic energy at any time they could use a Global Ability to destroy the token.

Now this is super cool and super thematic for Mr. Freeze and he should have had this ability a long time ago! It won’t remove text, but it could compliment the rare Cold Gun on a team. You could Cold Gun a character with troublesome text and put the Stun Token on the character that needs to attack or block to activate their ability. I love control cards and the Stun Token is a new mechanic I will totally be testing with.

Returning Keywords

Ally
Continuous

Fast
Intimidate

Regenerate
Suit Up (Not currently listed in TRP’s Lexicon.)
Swarm

New Affiliations

There are several returning affiliations like Villains, Batman Family, etc, but this is a brand new affiliation!

New Gods Affiliation
New Gods

Favorites

Here are several of my favorite cards from my Gravity Feed. Be sure to check out my Gravity Feed Unboxing video to see all of our pulls! Sorry about that video being backwards though… We didn’t realize that flipping the camera view on the phone would literally flip the image.

Favorites 1

Firefly: Ted Carson (left) – It’s no secret that I like using direct damage (Nova and Colossus rares from AvX) to KO my opponent, so Firefly is definitely high up on my list. There are plenty of good, cheap Bolt type characters over all of the sets to make this card a star on a variety of teams. There are also lots of Bolt characters in this set that would make this particular card a really good draft pick. His purchase cost is only three, meaning you could easily buy him on your first turn. You just need to be sure you grab enough of those other Bolt dudes!

Huntress: No Rest for the Wicked (center) – Here’s another direct damage type card, but I chose this one as a favorite because she deals her damage to a character instead. I really like that she only cost one energy to field on her level two and level three sides. I think she would go well on a draft team with Firefly since she’s a Bolt character and she only cost three to purchase!

Orion: God of War (right) – So this guy – he doesn’t really go away. There aren’t many cards that remove characters without KO’ing them, but there are a few. This dude has got some pretty awesome stats and a decent ability for his purchase cost. I’m not sure how good he’d be in draft, but a casual team would show him the love he deserves! I already have a New Gods team that I’m cooking and this is one of my picks for that team.

Favorites 2

Red Hood: Jason Todd (left) – Wow… this is familiar… where have I seen this before? Oh – Guy Gardner! But what’s this? He doesn’t have to attack each turn! Sure, he costs one more… but that’s just one more and he has better stats on level two and three. This is definitely one to watch for in a draft and also in the Modern Age and Prime metas.

Two-Face: Two Sides of the Same Coin (center, side a; right, side b) – My locals know how much I love my WF Two-Face, but this one actually gives him a run for his money. With Fast showing up on more cards and possibly becoming more popular, Two-Face’s Side A is really good. It even says ‘opposing’ and it’s not limited to an affiliation or lack of one! But if you’re against a team that’s not using Fast or Regenerate, no big deal! You just flip him over to Side B and he has Fast AND Regenerate! Crazy! Something else that’s crazy is that he’s a Bat-Family affiliated character on one side and a Villain on the other. This is such a fun looking card and I really want to try him out. He has the same dice stats as the WF Two-Face and also cost five to purchase, but that’s okay with me! He may get picked up really quick in a draft too – so be on the lookout for him. If you don’t get him, someone might use him against you!

Favorites 3

Utility Belt (left, side a; center, side b) – Here’s another Flip card, but this time it’s a non-basic action card. The Utility Belt has to start the game with Side B down, but when you activate the ability on any burst face, you can flip it from Side A to Side B. It’s a Continuous action on both sides too, so if you don’t have a legal target when you roll it, you can field it and activate it later. I like the Utility Belt for it’s… utility. It’s a great way to boost your Bat-Family character’s stats and it only cost three energy to purchase. For a Continuous stat booster, I think that’s more than fair! You do need to send it to the Used Pile in order to activate it, but that’s why you should think about some Gadgeteer dudes.

Hawk: Might Makes Right (right) – I love this Hawk. Imagine a team with him, Dove, and Fabricate. You can increase Hawk’s attack stat and then Fabricate Dove for a little extra damage. Not that he really needs a stat boost. He’s an attack beast on level two and three. He’s still manageable for someone looking across the table at him, because his defense is only a 2/2/4. A Cold Gun can handle him on two sides, and then a Cold Gun plus a blast from an Unstable Canister Global. He’s not overpowered, but he is really awesome! He’s absolutely my kind of card!

Favorites 4

Parademon: Strength in Numbers (left) – If I didn’t throw this guy in my favorites, then what kind of Swarm lover would I be? This is by far, my favorite Swarm character! I can use a whole team of Swarm dudes and just deal damage to my opponent when I draw a Multiple Man, Parademon, Mindless One, and whatever I can find with Swarm from FUS that’s still Modern Age. Those all have to be Swarm triggered draws, so I need at least one of each in the Field to get the full benefit of this ability. Like most other Swarm dudes, their defense isn’t the best. This poor Parademon only has a 1/2/2, but regardless, I still love him! It’s what’s on the inside that counts!

Ra’s al Ghul: Fighting Death Himself (center) – Ra’s has a pretty good ability, but I like him mainly for his Global. He shuts down those nasty Villain teams by removing what brings harmony to their strategy – their affiliation! This is the first affiliation removing Global and I love it! If Villains are an issue in your meta, throw this guy on your team! His ability works fairly well with his Global and like I mentioned before – it’s pretty good. I like control pieces, but I don’t like paying six energy for them. But he does have some fairly beefy stats too, making that purchase cost more justifiable.

Rip Hunter: Through the Vanishing Point (right) – Oh my Pinkie Pie. What’s happened here!?!!? This guy is ridiculous! He guarantees you the chance at that game winning piece and not just once, but every single time you draw it! No more botched rolls for that die, so long as Rip Hunter is in the Field. This card is absolutely ridiculous, especially for his stats and purchase cost too. It takes some effort to get rid of him and I expect that this dude is possibly going to see some major meta play. Control players like me will most definitely be looking into this guy.

Favorites 5

Dove: The Light of Order (left) – We saw Hawk earlier, so here’s Dove! I absolutely love this Dove. All of her versions cost four so there isn’t a cheaper one that’s better to pair with the uncommon Hawk. This one helps a lot while you’re building up to buying Hawk. When your opponent attacks, they are attacking into an eight defense character. If you take damage from any source, you get to spin all of your Dove dice to level three. You can very easily have a wall of level three Doves by the time you’re able to purchase Hawk. I can’t wait to try this team out! It just seems like loads of fun!

Nightwing: Protector of Blüdhaven (center, side a; right, side b) – This Nightwing is just too good. It’s easy to put an Alfred in the Field so Nightwing can attack, and his stats are really good for a two cost character. While drafting, a common Catwoman is a must have for this particular card. She makes it that much easier to attack with Nightwing on either side. You could get a lot of damage in very early in the game. If you’re drafting and you see this dude – don’t pass him up!

Final Thoughts

With the lingering disappointment of the Defenders Team Pack, I really needed this set to be super awesome amazing fantastic, in order to bring my spirits up. WizKids did not let me down at all! I think it more than makes up for it. I can’t wait to start integrating these cards and begin my prep for Origins. I won’t be playing in Nationals, but I was thinking about playing in the World’s Qualifiers, just for fun. Using newer cards that haven’t been fully tested in a competitive meta is always fun!

This set looks like it will be so much fun to draft! I had loads of fun drafting Deadpool, even though many folks outside of our local meta don’t care for it. But Batman looks to be even more fun and super exciting! There are plenty of low cost characters as well as characters with decent or really good abilities that will make that first pick really difficult.

The foils in this set are absolutely gorgeous! Of the foils I’ve seen so far, the Joker is my favorite. He’s got some cool, crazy eyes! I can’t wait to get more of this set and I’m excited for the upcoming foil hunt for this set.

What are some of your favorite cards in the set?
How do you think the meta will shift, if at all?
What cards are you excited to try in a casual setting?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at
Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hellcat: It’s Patsy!  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

07 Hellcat, It's Patsy

Ruling – Ability

Hellcat has two different types of abilities on her card. One is a When Fielded ability and the other is a While Active ability.

Hellcat’s When Fielded Ability

A When Fielded ability only triggers when the character die is placed into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool by paying it’s fielding cost, or by a card ability that specifically says to ‘field’ the character die and not move or place the character die.

Hellcat’s When Fielded ability says that you must name a target opposing non-Sidekick character when you field her die, which will replace any previous choices. Hellcat can only target an opposing non-Sidekick character die that’s in the Field Zone for her ability.

A character with the Ally Keyword can not be targeted by Hellcat because Ally means that the dice is considered a Sidekick while in the Field Zone.

If you field a second Hellcat die while one is still active, you can name the same target opposing character. For example: I field Hellcat and name Batman. In the same turn, I field a second Hellcat and name Batman again.

Hellcat’s When Fielded ability is not optional and must be used if there is a legal target.

Hellcat’s While Active Ability

The second ability on Hellcat is her While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Hellcat’s While Active ability says that your opponent is dealt two damage the first time that they field the named character die. Your opponent will take that two damage each turn, but only the first time they field the character that Hellcat targeted with her When Fielded ability.

Hellcat’s While Active ability is not optional. If Hellcat is active and your opponent fields the named character, they must take two damage. The damage can be redirected, reduced, etc with other game effects or abilities.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellcat is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #7 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:
Using Hellcat.

Game State
~
I have a level one Hellcat die and a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has an Alfred die and a level one Batman: Speedy Recovery die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend my one Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Hellcat’s fielding cost.
~ I move Hellcat to the Field Zone and activate her When Fielded ability.
~ There is only one legal target for her ability, which is Batman. I can’t target Alfred because he’s an Ally and considered a Sidekick.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ I decide not to attack, so the Attack Step is bypassed and we proceed into the Clean Up Step.
(Clean Up Step)
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Now my opponent begins their turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ My opponent moves leftover dice from their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile.
~ My opponent draws four dice; two Sidekicks and two Batman dice.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ My opponent rolls their dice and they get two level one Batman characters, a Fist on a Sidekick die, and a Mask on a Sidekick die.
~ They choose to not reroll any of their dice.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays a Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for one of the Batman’s fielding costs.
~ They field the Batman die and Hellcat’s While Active ability triggers.
~ My opponent takes two damage, which will trigger Batman’s Vengeance ability – “Whenever you take damage, KO a Batman die and return it to the Field Zone at level 2.”
~ My opponent chooses to KO the Batman die they just fielded and then return him to the Field Zone at level two.
~ My opponent pays a Mask energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for the other Batman’s fielding cost.
~ They field the Batman die on his level one side. Hellcat’s ability will not trigger again because my opponent has already fielded a Batman this turn.

As long as Hellcat remains active with Batman as her target, my opponent will take two damage the first time they field a Batman die – every turn.

Official Sources

You can find a ruling about this card here, on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF).

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I was very confused about Hellcat’s While Active ability and took it to WORF – adding in a few other questions about her that the locals were asking too. I’m so glad they returned with an answer as quick as they did. Thanks WizKids!

I do not like her anywhere near as much as Lyssa Drak and as long as Lyssa is in Modern, I don’t see any good reason to use this Hellcat. She’ll likely be the Lyssa replacement when War of Light eventually rotates from Modern. As for Prime, I’m not sure if she’s worth playing or not. She’s worth testing out for Prime, and it will likely come down to the individual’s style of play.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

It’s been too long since my last Card Comparison article. I love doing these, even though I’ve only done a few. In the Card Comparison articles, I take a look at all the different versions of a character from one set and give the pros and cons of each one. In the end, I reveal my favorite and leave it to you to decide which one you prefer.

Every card has its own strengths and weaknesses. Some cards just have weaknesses, especially compared to their other set versions. But those versions that aren’t as good as the others still come packaged with that character’s die, so they are still good for obtaining those extra dice!

For this article, we’re going to be comparing the common, uncommon, and rare versions of Gorilla Grodd from the DC Green Arrow and The Flash set.

Gorilla Grodd: Supplanting Solovar – Common

I also want to take a look at the character’s subtitles and where they may have come from. Supplanting basically means to supersede or replace, and Solovar is the name of the ruler of Gorilla City. Solovar was a peaceful leader and he was overthrown by Grodd during Flashpoint. Both Grodd and Solovar are supporting characters in The Flash comics, but they also appear in other DC comics from time to time.

W Gorilla Grodd

This version of Grodd has both the Villain and Legion of Doom affiliations. The Legion of Doom is subgroup of villains that work together to accomplish a common goal. There are several Legion of Doom affiliated characters in Dice Masters, but as far as I can find, Lex Luthor: Legion of Doom is the only one with a tribal ability. A tribal ability is one that affects cards that have the same affiliation. There are a few cards that reference card names or subtitles that are considered tribal abilities, but tribal abilities primarily reference affiliations. WizKids does not officially recognize the use of the phrase ‘tribal ability’ for Dice Masters on the Keywords page. It’s primarily used by players.

His affiliations are both pros and cons. There aren’t many cool gimmicks with Legion of Doom characters, but Villains are always finding ways to buff themselves. If you’re using Villains, it could also work against you. There are plenty of anti-Villain cards in the game, but not any anti-Legion of Doom cards.

Another pro for Grodd that really stands out is his fielding costs and his stats. He has a TFC (Total Fielding Cost) of four! With his defense matching his attack on every level, this is one nasty dude. The purchase cost fits in with the pros for his stats too. Characters with large attack stats are usually expensive to purchase and field, but this particular Grodd only cost five energy to purchase and can easily be fielded on any level and is worth the fielding cost.

This Grodd doesn’t have text which is a pro and a con. “Wait a minute…” you might say, “How is that a pro?” Well, with text blanking cards being so popular, it doesn’t hurt to look at these blank cards that have a decent purchase cost and beastly stats. If you’re playing in a casual setting, this dude is actually a really good card! If you’re looking at a more competitive setting, he’s not terrible, but there are better options out there. He could be a great win condition in a draft though.

Gorilla Grodd: Force of Mind – Uncommon

Grodd isn’t just a gorilla – he’s a psionic gorilla that gained his powers by different means in different continuities. Force of Mind is likely a reference to the different psionic abilities that Grodd possesses.

w-gorilla-grodd-force-of-mind

As for the affiliations, they are the same as his common version, with the same pros and cons.

The main differences between the common and uncommon are the purchase cost and the card text. This Grodd has a purchase of seven – wow! That’s a little expensive, until you factor in his fielding costs, stats, and then his ability text.

His ability text is really good, in my opinion. You only need one of his dice in the Field Zone and he grants all of your character dice the Overcrush ability, including himself! If that wasn’t good enough, he can empower your other character dice by giving them a +1A. He doesn’t benefit from the attack buff, but all your other dice do, meaning that Sidekick just got a +1A and Overcrush.

One of the major cons to this version is that he can be blasted with a burst or double burst Cold Gun and lose his text. His ability is not an applied ability so if his text is removed, his static ability goes away too. Not that exciting to think about – seeing your big seven purchase cost character getting blanked and becoming useless for turn by a three cost Continuous Action die.

This card is a powerful card, for sure. The only real negative is his purchase cost, but he kind of deserves it. It just makes him harder to play in the faster metas with any kind of rush or aggro teams. I definitely consider his purchase cost to be a con, because I think a six cost would have been appropriate. I think he’s almost too powerful for a casual setting, but he has a chance to shine in the Modern Age and Prime competitive scenes.

Gorilla Grodd: Brains and Brawn – Rare

I love this subtitle. I’m sure you’ve heard the saying “brains over brawn” which is encouraging folks to think first before using force, or that intelligence is preferred to physical abilities. But with Grodd, it’s brains and brawn, meaning he has the intelligence and physical strength. Why not both, right?

W Gorilla Grodd, Brains and Brawn

This version of Grodd also has the same affiliations as the common and uncommon.

The main differences with this version are, again, the purchase cost and ability text. This version has a purchase cost of six, which is definitely appropriate and not really a pro or a con.

When you look at the ability text on this Grodd, he says that only Crossover character dice can block him. I think that’s a good thematic ability for Grodd as well as a decent character ability in the game. There are not a ton of Crossover characters being played in the major metas, so this guy has a chance to shine. But a huge con is that he falls victim to the same major meta card as the uncommon Grodd – the Cold Gun. If you blank this guy’s text, any non-Crossover character can block him.

This Grodd also has a Global ability on his card. You can spin a Sidekick from your Field Zone to its single fist energy side at a cost of zero! This is a particularly useful Global in any meta, but it is a Global ability, meaning your opponent can use it too. That’s the downside to any Global ability, and one this good could potentially bite you back!

DDK’s Pick!

I like the common and even the rare Grodd for casual play. But those are not my favorites at all.

I absolutely love the uncommon Grodd. His major cons are his purchase cost and that his static ability can be easily blanked by a Cold Gun or other blanking type effect. It’s not easy, but you can work around those blanking cards and effectively take your opponent down with Grodd being the key piece to your win condition. He can easily be paired with cards like Lady Bullseye: Attack on Two Fronts or Guy Gardner: Blinding Rage. He buffs Sidekicks too, so if your opponent blocks your Sidekick with one of theirs, they’re still taking one damage! You can use a force block Global, like the one on Wasp: Fashionista, to help ensure some of your attackers make it back into the Field Zone. One of my favorite things about the uncommon Grodd is that he doesn’t have to attack to buff your other characters. If you attack with him, your opponent is likely to let him through just to get him cycling through your bag and slow you down. But with his ability, you only need to attack with your other characters.

My pick is easily Force of Mind, the uncommon Gorilla Grodd. How about you? Is the choice easy for you or are you torn between different Grodds?

I would love to hear your thoughts on Gorilla Grodd.
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!
You can also find me on Twitter and Instagram.
Thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Great Responsibility: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set. This week’s selection is courtesy of the random button from DM Retrobox.

W Great Responsibility, BAC

Ruling – Ability

When you use a Great Responsibility action die, you must also sacrifice a character in order to KO a target opposing character. Sacrificing one of your characters is not optional and the sacrificed character is not being targeted. The opposing character is being targeted, so abilities that redirect or block targeting could be applied.

When you sacrifice a character (or any other die) during your turn, the sacrificed die will go Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. During the Clean Up Step, all dice that are Out of Play will be moved into the Used Pile. When you sacrifice a die during your opponent’s turn, those dice will go directly to the Used Pile.

Great Responsibility can only be used during your turn, but there are several cards with abilities that allow or force you to sacrifice dice during your opponent’s turn. For example, if you have a Blink: Dimension Jumper die in the Field Zone, you could use her ability during your opponent’s turn and she would go to your Used Pile instead of Out of Play. Using Mysterious Shredder Transport would send the opposing die to the Used Pile and the active player’s die Out of Play.

When a character with a When KO’d ability is KO’d by using Great Responsibility, the When KO’d ability will trigger. For example, if Jade: Jennifer-Lynn Hayden is KO’d by Great Responsibility, her owner would get to use her ability allowing them to prep a die from their bag.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Great Responsibility is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #29 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Great Responsibility during the Main Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting Thor. My Sidekick die and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play. Thor is placed in the Prep Area.

Example Two:
Using Great Responsibility during the Attack Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick and Vixen dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Thor die to block my Vixen die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Vixen die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting my opponent’s Thor die. My Sidekick and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play and Thor is placed in the Prep Area.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Vixen was blocked, but does not have Overcrush. She will not deal any damage to my opponent, even though her blocker has been removed. She won’t take any damage and will return to the Field Zone.
~ (Clean Up Step) All effects end unless otherwise stated. Dice Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about Sacrifice, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m not a fan of this week’s card selection. There are better ways to achieve the same result – or a more desirable result. A good example is Mysterious Shredder Transport. Transport works a little different, like you don’t get to target an opposing die, but the die they sacrifice is sacrificed – not KO’d. In a constructed field of play, whether competitive or casual, you’re typically trying to KO your opponent and not their characters. Most of the time, players use characters that have a When KO’d ability or ones that can’t be targeted (all the rage now). It’s also cheaper to purchase than Great Responsibility. I feel like Great Responsibility is too expensive for what it does. If I’m paying five energy for a die that I have cycle and then roll, I don’t want to pay an additional cost (like sacrificing a character) just to get one of their dudes out of the Field. If you’re looking at Great Responsibility for Modern Age, please take a closer look at cards like Mysterious Shredder Transport or even Lethal Blow. I think Lethal Blow is underrated – especially since we have Renet Tilley now to almost guarantee that burst or double burst. I don’t expect that combo to be seen in a competitive setting, but Transport could find it’s way there. Reclaim would pair well with Transport and be way more useful than Great Responsibility.

If you’ve played Great Responsibility and you’ve found a use that I’ve overlooked, please share! I enjoy seeing what other folks come up with – whether it’s casual or competitive, I’m open to all suggestions!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ready to Rocket!: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Age of Ultron Starter set.

W Ready to Rocket, BAC

Ruling – Ability

Ready to Rocket! is a Basic Action Card. When a player uses a Ready to Rocket! Action die, a target character die will get +2A until the end of the turn.

When this Action die is used, it will be placed Out of Play until the Clean Up Step where it will then be moved to the Used Pile.

You can target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice with a Ready to Rocket! action die.

Ruling – Teamwork

When a player uses Ready to Rocket! on a character with an affiliation, they must also use the Teamwork ability if there is another character die of the same affiliation active. This is not an optional ability if there are active character dice with the same affiliation as the initial target.

Similar to the first part of this card’s ability, you can target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice, so long as it shares an affiliation with the initial target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ready to Rocket! is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #32 of 126.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Ready to Rocket! during the Main Step.

~ I have a Ready to Rocket! die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have two Villain character dice and an Avenger character die in my Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use Ready to Rocket! and target one of my Villain dice, giving it +2A. There is another Villain active, which means I must use the Teamwork ability on Ready to Rocket! and give the other Villain +2A as well. The Ready to Rocket! die is place Out of Play.

Example Two:
Using Ready to Rocket! during the Attack Step.

~ I have a Ready to Rocket! die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have two Villain character dice and an Avenger character die in my Field Zone. My opponent has a Villain character die in their Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my three character dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Villain to block my Avenger affiliated die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Avenger affiliated die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Ready to Rocket! die, targeting one of my Villain affiliated dice. There are other Villains active, so I can choose which of the two other Villains to give the +2A from Teamwork to. I choose to give my other Villain character die the +2A. The Ready to Rocket! action die is placed Out of Play.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Well, I didn’t have any requests or rules questions this week, so I hit the random buttons on DM Retrobox. Much to my surprise, the random character was a Rocket Raccoon and Ready to Rocket! was the Basic Action. Seems fitting since Ready to Rocket! is in the Marvel Free Comic Book Day starter, and Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is about to hit theaters. It was like fate reached out and said  – THIS ONE! The Rocket Raccoon was not a good choice for a CCW article, because there wasn’t any text to cover.

Even though the fates directed my random selection this week, they didn’t choose a card that I like. It’s got cute artwork and I’m getting a promo this weekend, but as for being a card I’d play – it’s not. I love to play affiliation teams, but most of the time, those teams need other BACs to help them along. And as I’ve mentioned in previous articles, I don’t like using cards that could benefit my opponent. You always have the option of not using an action die, or not fielding a character, but why would I want to waste a die – even in a casual game. I hate wasting dice more than potentially helping my opponent. There are times where buffing an opposing character’s attack might be useful, like to KO one of your characters with a large defense that also has a KO ability, but there are easier ways to that. That’s especially true for Golden Age, which is the only format Ready to Rocket! is legal in.

RtR Close Up

As you can see in the picture above, the promos are numbered the same as the original from Age of Ultron – meaning these Ready to Rocket! promos are not legal for Modern Age. I don’t see myself playing a lot of Golden Age, but if I put my Guardians of the Galaxy team back together, this card might be kind of useful since I’ll have access to Blue-Eyes as a cost reducer in Golden Age and not need to use Big Entrance.

I don’t mind that WizKids has chosen a Golden Age card as a FCBD promo. I think that’s a good move; showing that they’re still giving some love to Golden Age cards. I hope that WizKids eventually expands their tournament options to Golden Age like they have with the Rainbow Drafts. That would make some of these Golden Age promos a little more desirable.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!


For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Donatello: Intellectually Inclined  from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell box set.

I’ve now included an updated Rating System that covers all the competitive formats – Golden Age, Modern Age, and Prime. While Golden Age is not going to be a highly supported format in the official WizKids scenes, I imagine many areas will continue using it as their competitive format. Casual will remain different because casual players usually look at cards differently and I rate them on their ease of use more than playability.

w-07-donatello-intellectually-inclined

Ruling – Ability

Donatello has a When Attacks ability. These type of abilities trigger for each of those character’s dice that attack. Donatello’s ability has a cost associated with it. You must pay this cost at the time his dice are assigned to attack. You must also pay for each die that attacks that you want to use the ability on. You may only pay for each attacking die’s ability one time.

When Donatello attacks, you may pay a Bolt energy to deal two damage directly to your opponent or a target character die. This ability targets and can be redirected, reduced, or negated with other abilities or effects that affect damage.

Using this ability is optional. If you do not pay for the ability when the die is assigned to attack, you cannot go back to pay for it later. For example, if you attack and don’t pay the Bolt energy to use his ability and you move into the Assign Blockers portion of the Attack Step, you cannot pay the Bolt energy for his ability.

If Donatello is KO’d or removed from the Field Zone during the Action and Global portion of the Attack Step, it will not affect the damage that was done with his ability because it’s already resolved.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Donatello is a Bolt Character.
~ He has the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #7 of 58.

If you purchase either of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Box Sets, you will have one copy of each card in the entire set, as well as the maximum number of dice for each card.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Attacking with one Donatello die.

~ I have one level one Donatello die and two Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Donatello die to attack by moving it into the Attack Zone. I choose to use his ability by paying a Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play). I choose to target my opponent because they do not have any characters in the Field Zone. My opponent takes two damage.
~ The rest of the Attack Step continues as normal.

Example Two:
Attacking with multiple Donatello dice.

~ I have three level one Donatello die and three Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I tell my opponent that I  am going to assign each of my Donatello dice to attack, but I do it one at a time so that I can resolve each of their abilities as they are assigned to attack.
– I assign the first die to attack, pay a Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play), and deal two damage to my opponent.
– I assign the second die to attack, pay a Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play), and deal two damage to my opponent.
– I assign the third die to attack, pay a Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play), and deal two damage to my opponent. The total amount of damage done to my opponent is six.
~ The rest of the Attack Step continues as normal.

Example Three:
Attacking with Donatello that gets KO’d after attacking.

~ I have one level three Donatello die and two Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” on a burst side in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Donatello die to attack by moving it into the Attack Zone. I choose to use his ability by paying a Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play). I choose to target my opponent because they do not have any characters in the Field Zone. My opponent takes two damage.
~  (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent doesn’t assign any blockers.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I do not use any Actions or Globals and pass priority to my opponent. My opponent decides to activate their Cold Gun die. They target my Donatello die, dealing him three damage and it blanks the text from the die until the end of turn.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) I assign Donatello’s five damage to my opponent.
~ The rest of the turn continues as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Golden Age Rating

The only reason I think this card might have a use is because of Iceman: Too Cool for Words. You could use all three Donatello dice to attack with and with Iceman, almost always have the right energy for his abilities. But that’s only if someone didn’t want to use Cheetah: Cursed Archaeologist for some reason or another. I unfortunately don’t think Donnie is gonna see any kind of competitive Golden Age play.

Donatello: Intellectually Inclined gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Modern Age Rating

Without Cheetah in the format, Donnie should be the dude, right? I don’t think so. It pains me to say it, but I think a five cost character with a When Attacks ability that you have to pay for is too much even for Modern. While Modern is a slower format, there are still brighter stars in the sky.

Donatello: Intellectually Inclined gets a rating of one out of five stars.1 Star


Prime Rating

I think Prime is the place that Donnie has the best chance to make an appearance, as far as competitive scenes go. I still don’t think anyone is going to try to do too much with him though. His cost is still high for his ability, but he’s not completely bad. There could be a rogue team that surfaces with him on it, but I don’t think it’s likely.

Donatello: Intellectually Inclined gets a rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Casual Play Rating

The major issue with Donnie is that some players aren’t sure about how many times they can pay to activate his ability. Once it’s explained that you can only pay for it once for each of his dice, it’s a little more easy to understand and use. I really like this card for casual play because it is very easy to explain to new players and not difficult to use. Donnie’s ability isn’t too shabby either for a beginner or casual player. I could easily recommend this card for any player of any skill level.

Donatello: Intellectually Inclined gets a rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

This is the corrected article. Thanks to Michaela for making me think about my original ruling and dig a little deeper!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Howard Stark: Expert Businessman  from the Marvel Iron Man and War Machine Starter set.

w-02-howard-stark-expert-businessman

Ruling – Ally

Ally is a keyword that means the character will count as a Sidekick in addition to any other type that it currently has, but only while the character is active in the Field Zone. A character with the Ally keyword does not count as a Sidekick in the bag, Prep Area, Reserve Pool, etc.

A character with Ally will become a Sidekick the very moment that it enters the Field Zone. This is not an optional keyword and you cannot trigger it because it applies the instant the character is fielded. This matters specifically for abilities like the one on Punisher: War Journal.

Ruling – Ability

Howard Stark’s ability is definitely a interesting one. You can only use it at the beginning of your turn, before you start your Clear and Draw Step. You can sacrifice a Howard Stark die to give the characters your active characters that you control a +2A for the rest of the turn. You may sacrifice any number of Howard Stark dice and each will give a +2A, but you must do it before your Clear and Draw Step. This ability is optional to use. If you start your Clear and Draw Step and didn’t sacrifice a Howard Stark die first, you cannot back up because you missed the timing window for his ability.

When you sacrifice a character die, that die goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step where it then goes to the Used Pile. When a die is Out of Play, game effects cannot affect those dice. Examples – Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants Global cannot be used on Sidekicks Out of Play and Reclaim cannot be used to get a Howard Stark die into the Prep Area on the same turn it was sacrificed.

The buff that Howard Stark’s effect gives affects all characters you have active in the Field Zone at the time you sacrifice his die. Each of his dice that you sacrifice will give your active characters a +2A. If you sacrifice two Howard Stark dice, you characters that are in the Field Zone will get a +4A until the end of your turn. This type of ability is an applied bonus.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Howard Stark is a Mask Character.
~ He has the S.H.I.E.L.D. affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #2 of 34.

If you purchase the Iron Man and War Machine starter set, you will get all the cards, but not maximum dice for each character. You will need two starters for maximum character dice because those dice are not available in any other set.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Sacrificing more than one Howard Stark.

~ I have two level one Howard Stark dice and three Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ I begin my turn by sacrificing one of my Howard Stark dice. This will give my three Sidekick dice a +2A until end of turn. I sacrifice my second Howard Stark die, giving my Sidekick dice an additional +2A for a total of +4A until end of turn.
~ (Clear and Draw Step) I clear any dice remaining in my Reserve Pool from the previous turn and draw four dice from my bag. Any character dice that I draw, roll, and field, will not get the +4A buff.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find an Ally ruling in the Punisher: War Journal ruling, and many other rulings, here.

You can find a ruling about Sacrifice, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

While I think this card is quite good, I don’t see anyone playing it unless Bard gets an errata or somehow makes the banned list (not likely). He costs one less than Bard, but you have to sacrifice him for his ability. Someone like me would try to use Stark in a major event, but I don’t see him making many team lists out there. There are better options for his type of ability – the big one being Bard. He does have the advantage of getting around Cold Guns though, so he’s not a card I’d forget about anytime soon just on the chance that we see a WizKids rotation that hits Bard.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Play Rating

I think this card is great for Prime, but I don’t expect a lot of folks to play him if they aren’t using Overcrush. He’s got great fielding costs, especially since you may be sacrificing him! But if you’re using Reclaim, he could easily be churned many times over for some pretty devastating results. Just remember that you don’t want a Reclaim die the same turn you sacrifice him, because he’ll be Out of Play on the turn he’s sacrificed. I have the perfect place for this card on my Grodd team and I can’t wait to try him out.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a Prime rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Howard Stark’s ability is absolutely confusing. I’m not sure why I thought it was a static type bonus, but he had all of us here confused. Thankfully, Michaela mentioned that it might be applied and not static, which got me to thinking and digging deeper. Glad she said something! So, Stark is lucky I don’t knock him down to a three for causing so much confusion. The needed knowledge for sacrifice can be obtained easily if the player is looking for it. Some new players may confuse sacrificing for KO’ing, but once they know the difference, it’s not usually an issue. Lots of players forget or don’t know that sacrificed characters go Out of Play instead of the directly to the Used Pile. It’s a common mistake among players of all skill levels. I can still easily recommend Howard Stark for players of all skill levels, even with his earlier confusion. He’s a great card, and he offers a great way to showcase the rarely used game mechanic, sacrifice.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Mistakes Were Made!

And this goes to show everyone – I absolutely do make mistakes. I’m definitely not perfect and for all my understanding of the game, this one card tripped me up today. I’m a one person operation here, but I will usually consult with Mr. DDK and a few of the other locals that are more competitive for their opinions, just to be sure I’ve got my interpretation right. Very rarely do we have this issue, but Howard Stark had all of us fooled today! But I’m still so glad I picked him for the Confusing Card of the Week. Never be afraid to question things you think may not be accurate. You could save someone a world of problems, like Michaela did for me today! And don’t be ashamed or embarrassed by a mistake. Admit the mistake, pick yourself up, and roll on!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!