Posts Tagged ‘Cost’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Crush Card Virus: Basic Action Card  from the Yu-Gi-Oh! Starter set.

W Crush Card Virus, BAC

Ruling – Ability

Knock out one of your monsters in the field to knock out an opponent’s monster up to 1 level higher than yours.

Cards from the Yu-Gi-Oh! set use the term monster instead of character. Monster from Yu-Gi-Oh! and character are synonymous.

When you use this action die, you must be able to target an opponent’s character die that is the same level or one level higher than your character die that you KO. If you can’t target an opponent’s character die or there isn’t an opposing character die to KO, you can’t use this action die. You can’t use an action die for no effect.

When you KO one of your character dice to use this ability, it is considered to be part of the cost to using this action die. If you are not able to use the action die, you will not be able to KO one of your character dice. If you don’t have a character die to KO, you can’t use this action die.

When you use this action die, if the character die you KO has a When KO’d ability or a keyword that triggers when the character die is KO’d, those abilities will trigger. If you KO an opponent’s die that has a When KO’d ability or a keyword that triggers when the character die is KO’d, those abilities will trigger as well.

Sidekick dice are considered level one character dice. If you KO a Sidekick as part of the cost to play Crush Card Virus, you can target an opposing character die of level one or level two.

Special note about Regenerate – This is a KO replacement effect. If you attempt to use Crush Card Virus and choose one of your character dice with Regenerate and it regenerates successfully, you will not be able to choose an opposing character die to KO. This is because the additional cost of KO’ing a character die was not paid. The action die would be placed Out of Play and not back into your Reserve Pool, because you attempted to activate it and it ‘fizzled’ due to a replacement effect. There isn’t an official ruling for this.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Crush Card Virus is a Basic Action Card and does not have an energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It does not have a Max Dice number, instead it says Use: 3 which means you must use exactly three dice for this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #112 of 120.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling about Crush Card Virus, here.

You can find the Cross-IP Compatibility Wording information, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I remember back in the good old days, we would use this card on teams with big When KO’d abilities that we didn’t want to use Blue-Eyes White Dragon on. Bringing BEWD meant we were potentially helping our opponent with the discount Global. Sure, BEWD was way more convenient, but this card could easily tip the scales against players that didn’t bring BEWD but hoped their opponents did.

In the current card pool for Golden Age, I’m not sure if this card would still hold it’s shine against something like BEWD. It possibly could, especially if you’re also using Mister Miracle: Show Must Go On. While he’s active, he gives your action dice the Boomerang keyword, which is really handy at times! It would depend on what other action dice you were using. If you’re using lots of Gear or Continuous action dice, then Mister Miracle probably is not a good idea.

I think it still has some playablility on particular teams, but I believe they need to be specific builds. Also, BEWD Global is still great in Golden Age for its cost reduction and it tends to pull the attention away from these other, more gimmicky type cards. But don’t count Crush Card Virus out completely! If you want a card that can KO your dudes for a When KO’d ability, see if this one works for you.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Spidey’s Last Stand: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set.

Spidey's last stand BAC

Ruling – Ability

“Sacrifice a character to draw and roll 2 dice (sacrificed characters are placed in the Used Pile).”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Sacrifice: Sacrificed characters are moved from the Field Zone to the Used Pile (often as a cost or penalty).”

When you use this action die, you must sacrifice a character die as part of the cost to using the die. If you can’t sacrifice a character die, you can’t use the action die because you wouldn’t be able to pay the cost to use it. You can’t redirect the cost to a different character die.

When you use this die, you sacrifice a character die, then you draw two dice from your bag and roll them. Those dice are then placed into your Reserve Pool. Dice drawn from this ability are not considered to be drawn during your Roll and Reroll Step, even if you use this action die directly after your Roll and Reroll Step. You do not get to reroll the dice rolled from this ability. Dice are used normally after they’re placed in the Reserve Pool.

If you cannot draw two dice for this ability, you draw as many as you can, then refill your bag and finish drawing until you have drawn two dice.

An ability like Back for More would not trigger if the dice you roll from this ability have the Keyword. The dice drawn and rolled from this ability never enter the Prep Area.

If you have more than one die of the same character in the Field Zone, you do not have to sacrifice all copies of that character. You only need to sacrifice one character die.

When you sacrifice a character die, that die will go to the Used Pile instead of the Prep Area. Sacrificed character dice are not considered to be KO’d and will not trigger When KO’d abilities. If you sacrifice a character die during your turn, that die will go Out of Play first, then to Used Pile during the Clean Up Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Spidey’s Last Stand is a Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It says Use: 3 instead of Max: 3 because you are required to use exactly three Basic Action Dice for this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 142.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

Spidey’s Last Stand and Storm: Weather Witch Ruling

There are a few additional Sacrifice rulings:
Used vs Out of Play
Sacrifice for No Effect
Sacrifice and KO Abilities

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Well, this card is not terrible, but it’s not good either. I featured it because I’ve seen and heard lots of players asking how the Sacrifice ability works. I had a message about this specific card as well because it says character and not character die. This is one of those older cards with wonky wording is all. No, you don’t have to blow up all five of your Sidekick dice in the Field Zone, just to draw and roll two dice. I say it’s not a good card only because it’s not good for meta play – and it’ll be rotating soon too.

The reason that I say this isn’t a terrible card is because it’s a useful card for a more casual setting or a limited format. I wish it only cost two to buy though. I think I would actually use this card a lot if it only cost two. It’s easy to get a few Sidekicks in the Field that you can use as fodder for this card. And you’re opponent is less likely to buy this die. This card may not see competitive play, but there are plenty of casual options and fun options!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!