Posts Tagged ‘Direct Damage’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Dragon Statue Trap: Lesser Trap  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Dragon Statue Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling Using Action Dice

Dragon Statue Trap is a non-Basic Action Card and it’s dice are non-Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Dragon Statue Trap. Non-Basic Action Dice can not be purchased by an opposing player.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The die will never enter the Field Zone. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear or a Trap, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Trap Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.

Each Trap has its own Trigger and Effect. A Trap is sent directly to the Used Pile when it’s triggered, and this is not optional. Once the trigger condition is met, the trap will go to the Used Pile, whether you can use the effect or not.

The Gadgeteer keyword works with Traps.

Ruling – Trigger

Trigger: An opponent attacks you.”

The Trigger is a condition that must be met for the trap to activate. As soon as the condition is met, the trap will ‘trigger’ and go to the Used Pile. You can use the effect of the trap only when it’s triggered.

For Dragon Statue Trap, the Trigger is when an opponent attacks you. The moment an opponent finishes assigning their attackers, the Dragon Statue Trap’s trigger is met. Character dice that are attacking are all assigned at the same time, so your opponent will be able to assign all character dice they wish to attack with before your trap triggers. This means all of your opponent’s ‘When Attacks’ abilities will be able to trigger before your Dragon Statue Trap triggers. This is because they are the active player and all active player abilities trigger first.

The trigger on Dragon Statue Trap will grant you the effect before blockers are assigned.

Ruling – Effect

Effect: You may pay X [Energy] to deal X damage to all opposing character die.”

~ I believe there is a typo on the card. Where it says ‘opposing character die‘, I believe it’s supposed to say, ‘opposing character dice‘ instead.

The Effect of a trap is what happens when the Trigger condition is met. The Effect on Dragon Statue Trap is an optional ability because it says ‘you may’.

If you choose to use the effect on your triggered Dragon Statue Trap, you can pay any amount of energy to deal that much damage to all of your opponent’s character dice. You can use any type of energy in any combination for this effect.

The opposing character dice do not need to be attacking, only active in the Field Zone.

If attacking character dice are KO’d by this effect, they are no longer attacking and you will not be able to assign blockers to them.

This effect is not a targeting effect. Characters that are protected from being targeted can be damaged by this effect.

Example

Game State
I have a Dragon Statue Trap and a Sidekick (1A/1D) in my Field Zone. I have one Bolt and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has two Sidekicks (1A/1D) and character die with 2A/3D in their Field Zone. We are moving into their Attack Step.
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ My opponent assigns their 2A/3D character and one Sidekick as their attackers.
~ My opponent does not have any When Attacks abilities.
~ My Dragon Statue Trap triggers and is sent to the Used Pile.
~ I use the Effect of my trap and spend the Bolt and Fist energy (moving them to my Used Pile), to deal two damage to all of my opponent’s character dice.
~ Their two Sidekick dice are KO’d and placed in their Prep Area. Their 2A/3D character die is still attacking, but now it can only take one more damage before it’s KO’d.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ I assign my Sidekick die to block the remaining attacking character die. Doing this will KO the attacker in the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step and my Sidekick will also be KO’d.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Dragon Statue Trap is a Shield type non-basic action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Neutral Alignment (leaf symbol near the purchase cost).
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #25 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

The ruling for Gadgeteer and Traps can be found, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I think the Dragon Statue Trap is incredibly useful against teams that utilize those annoying characters that can’t be targeted. And there are plenty of those pesky characters around in Golden Age and Modern Age. Raven: Azarath, Metrion, Zinthos! is the first one that comes to mind and probably the most used one. Even with her in the field, you can still damage your opponent’s Mask and Teen Titans dice because Dragon Statue Trap’s effect is not targeting them – it’s like a blanket covering their side of the field.

Dragon Statue Trap could also be extremely useful against teams that depend on rushing their opponent with lots of smaller characters, like a Bard Blitz or Guy Rush team. A well placed Dragon Statue Trap and force attack Global and they’re in a world of hurt!

One of the major down sides that I can see to this type of trap is that once it’s triggered, it’s gone until you can get it back through your bag. This leaves you vulnerable and gives your opponent a chance to build up their field if they trigger the trap at the right time. Another issue you could run into is your opponent triggering it when you don’t have any energy to use for the effect. The trap is still triggered when they attack and sent to the Used Pile – regardless if you can activate the effect or not.

Gadgeteer is a nice keyword to pair with Dragon Statue Trap. You could get your traps back much quicker with one of these type of characters. What ever you do, don’t give them Boomerang! That’s not a good idea if you want your traps in the field.

I’ve been looking at building a Trap based team, I just haven’t had the chance to put it together yet. I think it would be fun and interesting for our casual scene.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Scorching Ray: Basic Action Card from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

scorching ray

Ruling – Ability

Draw a die from your bag. Deal damage to target character die or player equal to its purchase cost. Return the die to your bag.

Scorching Ray is a Basic Action. Anything that can affect an Action could effect Scorching Ray. If a card specifically states that it affects a Basic Action, then it could affect Scorching Ray.

Scorching Ray does not have the Continuous keyword. When this die is used, it goes immediately Out of Play and never enters the Field Zone in any way. This is important for cards with abilities like Blob: Appetite for Destruction. Blob’s ability would prevent the purchase of Scorching Ray, but not the use of the die.

When you use this action die, you draw one die from your bag. If your bag is empty, you refill your bag from your Used Pile. If there are no dice in your Used Pile to refill your bag with, you will not be able to use this action die because it will not have an effect. You can’t use an action die for no effect.

After you draw the die, you target a character die or a player and deal damage to that target equal to the purchase cost of the die you drew. You can target one of your character dice, an opponent’s character die, yourself, or your opponent with this ability. Sidekick dice have a purchase cost of zero, so you would deal zero damage to the target if you drew a Sidekick die.

You must be able to target the character die or player to be able to use this action die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use the action die.

To determine the amount of damage, you will look at the die you drew and determine what its purchase cost is. The drawn die does not need to be a specific type of die, like a character die or action die. Any die you draw will work for this ability.

After you deal damage (or zero damage) to the target, the die you drew will be returned to its bag.

This ability is not optional. If you use the action die, you must deal the damage (or deal zero damage) to a target character die or player, even if the only legal target is one of your character dice or yourself.

If you choose to not use an action die, it will go to your Used Pile at the end of the turn. Action dice do not remain in your Reserve Pool beyond your turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Scorching Ray is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It has the Neutral affiliation.
~ It has Use: 3, instead of Max: 3 because you must use three dice with this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #12 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Scorching Ray is fun to play with, but only on a casual level. The timing for a competitive team is much more difficult to pull off and there are far more effective ways to deal direct damage to character dice or your opponent.

This is a great card for limited and sealed events. It cost four energy to purchase, but if you’ve got several three or four cost dice in your dice pool, you might gain from this card. The addition of Heimdall and his Global to the team helps to minimize your chances of drawing a Sidekick die. Unfortunately, you won’t have access to Heimdall in a D&D sealed event. Using the Global on the Create Food and Water: Basic Action Card could help thin your bag by a die before you try using Scorching Ray.

There are plenty of ways to build around this card is a casual setting, but I’m not sure Scorching Ray has a spot in the competitive meta with cards like Yuan-Ti and Cosmic Cube floating around.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Punisher: Bringing Down The Exchange from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Punisher, Bringing Down The Exchange

Ruling – Ability

While Punisher is active, each time a character die you control is damaged during an opponent’s turn, deal 1 damage to target opponent.

Punisher’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Punisher’s ability will only trigger while she’s active during an opponent’s turn and only when a friendly character die is dealt damage. For example: I have two Punisher dice and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone on my opponent’s turn. My opponent uses a Global ability to deal two damage to one of my Sidekick dice. My opponent will be dealt one damage.

Punisher’s ability will trigger for each instance of damage to each character die, not necessarily for each point of damage. For example: My opponent has a Force Beam basic action die with a burst. They use it on their turn to deal two damage to all three of my character dice. I have an active Punisher die and three character dice that are damaged. Punisher will deal three damage to my opponent. If my opponent had used Force Beam without the burst, the damage that Punisher would deal would still have been three damage.

Even if Punisher is KO’d by damage, her ability will still trigger. This is because she was still active when her ability was triggered.

Punisher’s ability is not optional and will trigger each time one of your character dice are dealt damage during an opponent’s turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Punisher is a Bolt type character card.
~ She does not have an affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #119 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities triggering when the character is KO’d, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Pairing this card with Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders could be a very nasty combo. But, I don’t think this particular combo will see any kind of competitive play because Cube teams usually work much, much faster. Punisher’s purchase cost is the biggest drawback for competitive play. I wouldn’t be surprised if it popped up in some local scenes though. I also would not be surprised to see folks using Punisher as a Cube-deterrent card either. Why would I want to use my Cube while my opponent has an active Punisher, just to help kill myself?! You aren’t really relying on your opponent to damage your characters with that type of strategy. You would want to save energy for Globals that deal damage to target character dice, and damage your own characters during the turn your opponent used a Cube or two.

If Babs or Hulk: Green Goliath were still major contenders in the competitive scene, I’d say Punisher might have a place. Most major competitive scenes have drifted towards direct damage to the player instead of going for the character dice. Punisher’s defense leaves something to be desired for a character that has a While Active ability because she can be very easily KO’d. She’s also an easy target for DWiz, Cold Gun, Shriek, and even Blob.

Most casual scenes don’t see those crazy blanking cards, so Punisher definitely has a chance to see some play in those areas. Give her a try some time on a casual team!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at War Machine: “Rhodey”  from the Marvel Iron Man and War Machine starter set.

W 23 War Machine, Rhodey

Ruling Fast Keyword

Fast is a keyword ability that several characters have. Fast gives the character the ability to deal their combat damage before other characters without Fast. Fast characters will all deal their damage at the same time. A blocking character with 2A/2D and Fast with still KO and be KO’d by a Fast attacker with 2A/2D.

If you have an attacker with 2A/1D and Fast that’s blocked by a Sidekick without Fast, the attacker will strike the Sidekick before the Sidekick can strike the attacker. This means the Sidekick will be KO’d and not be able to deal it’s damage to the attacker.

Ruling – Ability

When War Machine KO’s an opposing character die with combat damage, you can deal two damage directly to your opponent. War Machine must KO the character die with combat damage. Using an ability to KO an opposing character die will not trigger his ability.

War Machine’s ability is one that can trigger multiple times in a single turn, with the right conditions. If War Machine is blocked by more than one character die and he has enough attack to KO each blocker, your opponent would take two damage for each KO’d blocker.

Special Note – If you give War Machine the Deadly Keyword, it would not trigger his ability. The character dice must be KO’d by combat damage from War Machine, and not by an ability.

War Machine has a burst ability that only works on his level one character side. The burst ability gives him +1A. The burst ability is a static effect and if his card text is blanked, he will lose his +1A on level one. If you have a level one War Machine and a level two War Machine in the Field Zone, only the level one War Machine die will get the +1A, because that’s the only character side with the burst.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ War Machine is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Stark Industries affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #23 of 34.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
War Machine KO’ing multiple blockers.

~ I have a level two War Machine die (3A/4D) in the Field Zone. My opponent has three Sidekick dice.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my War Machine die to attack, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns all three Sidekicks to block War Machine, moving them into the Attack Zone and placing them in front of the War Machine die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I choose not to use any Action dice or Global abilities. My opponent can now use Globals, but also chooses not to.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) War Machine has Fast. He gets to resolve his damage before other characters without Fast. War Machine assigns one damage to each Sidekick die. Each one has a defense of one, and they are all KO’d before they can assign and deal their damage. I deal two damage to my opponent with War Machine’s ability for each of the Sidekicks that War Machine KO’d, for a total of six.

Example Two:
War Machine KO’ing an attacker.

~ I have a level two War Machine die (3A/4D) in the Field Zone. My opponent has a character with 4A and 3D in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns their character to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign my War Machine die to block, moving him into the Attack Zone in front of the attacking die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) My opponent chooses to not use any Action dice or Globals. I also choose to not use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) War Machine has Fast. He gets to resolve his damage before other characters without Fast. War Machine assigns his three points of damage to the attacker’s three defense. This is enough to KO the attacker and the attacking die is KO’d before it can assign and resolve its damage. I deal two damage to my opponent with War Machine’s ability because the attacker was KO’d with combat damage from War Machine.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a relevant ruling about ‘When something happens’ wording, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Rhodey is a force to reckoned with in Modern Age and Prime. I’m not sure how effective he’d be in Golden Age since there are loads of teams that don’t need characters in the field.

“Rhodey” has never been nice to me! I’ve played with him and played against him. When I use him, his dice never want to roll a character face. When I play against him, I only see characters! Mr. DDK has a team with Rhodey and Wasp: Fashionista and the only way to keep Rhodey from smashing your face in is to not field characters he can easily KO, KO him with an ability or action, or blank him. He’s difficult to play around if you aren’t prepared.

If you’re playing with Rhodey, I would definitely use a force block of some kind, like Wasp or Giant Spider: Greater Beast. I would not recommend using a force attack, like Bane: Professional Criminal, because you’re opponent could easily use that against you and force your Rhodey to attack. They would likely not block him just so he has to make his way back through your bag. If you had a way to protect him from being targeted by your opponent, then Bane is fine, but that’s an awful lot of work just to be able to use Bane on the same team. Bane is a popular meta piece though, so having a backup against Bane is a good idea. If you’re using Wasp or Giant Spider, you can just force one of their characters to block, which helps you keep Rhodey active. If you’re worried about your opponent not fielding many characters, bring White Tiger: Mystical Amulet and force them to field a Sidekick. White Tiger is not legal for Prime, but she is Modern Age legal.

Even though Rhodey is a really good card, I would definitely recommend a backup win condition. Mr. DDK and I like to use She-Hulk: Sensational, because she pairs well with Wasp. If She-Hulk isn’t your style, there are plenty of other options out there.

Summary – I like Rhodey for Prime and Modern Age. I don’t think he’s got what it takes to stand up in Golden Age though. He’s a great win condition, but bring a backup!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Storm: Extra Lightning  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Storm, Extra Lightning

Ruling Ability

Storm has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Storm’s ability will deal one damage to an opponent or a character die when you use an action die. This will only happen while Storm is active in the Field Zone.

Using an action die is different from activating an ability on a Continuous action die. Continuous action dice are ‘used’ when they are moved from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone. A Continuous action die that has a second ability, like Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” will not trigger Storm’s ability when you activate the second ability. For example, placing the Cold Gun in the Field from the Reserve Pool is considered ‘using’ the action die. That will allow you to use Storm’s ability. If you move the die to your Used Pile to deal three damage to a character, you will not be allowed to use Storm’s ability. You are activating an ability and not using the die.

You can use this ability as many times in a single turn as you have action dice to use. You can use this ability each time you use an action die, even if you’ve used one of the same action dice previously in the turn. For example, I use Reclaim in my Main Step. I get to use Storm’s ability. I use a second Reclaim die in the same Main Step. I get to use Storm’s ability.

Storm’s ability is considered a targeting ability. Cards that prevent targeting or redirect abilities, can be used against Storm’s ability.

The damage from Storm’s ability is considered ‘ability damage’ and not combat damage. This type of damage is sometimes called direct damage or burn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Storm is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the X-Men affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #114 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Storm’s ability.

~ I have two Storm dice in my Field Zone. I also have one Captain Cold’s Cold Gun die and one Reclaim die, both showing an action face, in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I use my Cold Gun die and place it into the Field Zone. I choose to have Storm deal one damage to my opponent.
~ (Main Step) I use my Reclaim die, moving it Out of Play, to move a Sidekick die from my Used Pile to my Prep Area. I choose to have Storm deal one damage to my opponent.
~ (Main Step) I activate my Cold Gun, dealing three damage to my opponent’s Sidekick die. Storm does get to deal damage because I’m not ‘using’ the die, only activating the ability on it.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

I am temporarily removing my ratings from the Confusing Card of the Week articles. I plan to redo my ratings system and improve it!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!