Posts Tagged ‘Distraction’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

We had a constructed event with a twist for tonight’s OP Event. Everyone was required to play a ‘Cold’ themed character or Non-BAC on their team. I chose to add Killer Frost: Coldsnap to my Gandhi team for this event.

My Team

my-team-12-17-17

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I love my Gandhi team because if it works the way it should, the characters on this team never attack. I’ve had this team for a long time now, just tweaking a few things here and there. Rip, PXG, and Blue-Eyes are all utility cards. Colossus is my win condition and Wonder Woman helps the win condition along. Elf Thief is a cheap Mask character that has an awesome ability, makes for great BEWD food, and can also feed Wonder Woman’s ability. I added Killer Frost for tonight and never had a chance to use her. I had hoped that she would come in handy to force a troublesome character into my opponent’s bag. I originally was going to use either Beast: Genetic Expert or Bane for his taunt, but when I thought about it, Multiple Man seemed like a better idea. His purchase cost, Swarm, and Max Dice were all major bonuses. Blink is on the team for the Global, to push back those heavy hitting characters and since this team isn’t concerned with attacking, it’s really only me that benefits from the Global. Big Entrance was just a default choice for me and could possibly help me get my Colossus a little cheaper. It would also help me get my Multiple Man dice for one Mask energy and add them to my bag.

Round One

round-1-12-17-16

Round one I had to face off against a Guy Rush team. I was fairly certain I wouldn’t win this match, but it wasn’t as much of a train wreck as I thought it would be for me. The Multiple Man dice that I kept on energy faces helped me Blink his Guy’s back and keep them in check while I tried to build up to my Colossus. I was able to defend myself really well with blockers and Blink and it came down to a single turn. I was at two life and my opponent was at twelve. I rolled all but one of the characters I needed for Colossus’s ability. My opponent was at two life now along with me. It came down to my opponent’s last turn. He needed to roll several characters to get past my blockers and Blink energy. He rolled plenty of characters and then purchased a Morphing Jar and fielded a Miri to add that extra punch. It was such a close game and without Blink, I would have been annihilated early on. I didn’t think my team would do well against an aggro team since it’s much slower. I was very pleased with the performance of my team.

Record after Round One: 0-1-0

Round Two

round-2-12-17-16

I knew just by looking at this team that I was probably in for a world of pain. I felt like I possibly had a chance defending myself with Blink. Blink is the bane of any Overcrush team, and it was definitely my savior here. My opponent had several rough turns where his Wolverine dice refused to roll character faces for him, but he played around it really well by KO’ing his Lady Bullseye and using Beholder’s Global to keep his Hulk Out stashed. The pressure he was putting on me kept me from being able to purchase extra characters, like Killer Frost. Every time I wanted to buy one, I couldn’t because I knew I’d need the Masks I had for Blink. It came down to the wire with this game too, but in the end I rolled up the characters I needed for Colossus’s ability to gain me a victory. This game was all about blocking vs not blocking and what characters to Blink. There were a few times I considered keeping a Bolt to KO the character that Lady Bullseye targeted, or even KO a character that was forced to block so that I wouldn’t get hit with a trillion bazillion damage.

Record after Round Two: 1-1-0

Round Three

round-3-12-17-16

Once again, I found myself sitting across from Mr. DDK. We always seem to end up playing against each other, and this game was possibly going to decide first place. He was the only player that was undefeated and I was 1-1 with decent tie-breakers. But I knew I had an uphill battle against his Bat-Bomb team. He had built it as a Prime team, but forgot one of his BACs. I know how good Bat-Bomb can be so I knew what I needed to do – buy all the Multiple Man dice and Blink his Dick Grayson back. Oracle was such a pain! It took me forever to get my purchases set up, but I had all six Multiple Man dice cycling through my bag or fielded. Even with Oracle, I was able to Blink Dick Grayson while blocking other characters, and still PXG once or twice. That was definitely thanks to Multiple Man who was my MVP for this event (excluding Colossus – since he is the reason I won twice). Mr. DDK would KO Alfred with my BEWD and use Bruce Wayne’s ability to take out my Multiple Man dice so that I couldn’t benefit from Swarm all the time. That was definitely a good move for him, but I did eventually end up winning with five Multiple Man dice at level two or higher with a level two Colossus in the Field Zone.

Record after Round Three: 2-1-0
Final Standing: 1st

Final Thoughts

My tie-breakers boosted me to first place tonight, but every game was down to the wire and every game demanded a strategic plan just to stay alive. One mistake and that would be it – game over. I made a few mistakes in my first match and it cost me dearly. Killer Frost would have been a huge benefit in that particular game and I never purchased her. I love my Gandhi team and I wish I could make it work in a more serious competitive like a WKO, but it won’t work because of how slow it is to set up. I don’t know when I’ll play this team again, but it’ll likely go through another minor change or two between now and then. I’m thinking about keeping Multiple Man on the team and putting Oracle: Master Investigator in the place of Killer Frost. I hate playing the Lottery, so I definitely don’t want to put Parallax on this team. I already rely too much on Globals to make this team work, so I don’t want to add another. I just love playing a team that never attacks and never uses Actions to damage my opponent. Colossus is a unique character and I’m just happy I can make him work in a casual setting.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Motorcycle: Vroom! from the Marvel Deadpool set. I get lots of questions about when a player can use an Action die, so I chose one of the newer Non-Basic Actions for this week’s CCW. This is also the only card with a Global Ability on it in the entire Deadpool set.

2-motorcycle-vroom

Ruling – Ability

Motorcycle will give a blocked character that you control +1A and +1D. This bonus will last until the end of turn.

The only time you can use an Action die is during your turn in the Main Step or after blockers have been assigned in the Attack Step. The timing for this die is specific. You must have a blocked character to be able to use this Action die. You can only use this die during the Attack Step, after blockers have been assigned.

You can only target your blocked character with this die. This ability does not allow you to target an opponent’s character. If you were to take control of an opponent’s character die, it would then be a legal target.

Action dice that are not used during the turn will go to the Used Pile during the Clean Up Step. If the Action dice are on an energy face, they stay in the Reserve Pool.

Ruling – Global

The Global Ability says that you can pay a Fist energy to remove a blocked character die from the Attack Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone.

If you do not have a legal target for this Global, you cannot pay the cost for no effect. There must be a blocked attacker in the Attack Zone. The target can be either yours or your opponent’s.

Affiliations and Types

Motorcycle: Vroom! is a Fist Non-Basic Action and does not have an affiliation. This card also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Regular use of the Action ability.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I decide to use my Motorcycle Action and target my blocked Sidekick die, giving it a +1A and +1D. I pass priority to my opponent so that they can use Globals if they can or want to do so. They do not use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals two damage to the blocking Sidekick’s one defense and the blocking Sidekick deals one damage to my Sidekick’s two defense.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My opponent’s Sidekick took enough damage for it to be KO’d and it is sent to the Prep Area.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Sidekick did not take enough damage to get KO’d and will move back into the Field Zone. All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Example Two:
No legal targets for the Action.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent does not assign any blockers.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I cannot use my Motorcycle because I do not have a blocked character to target. I do not use any Globals and neither does my opponent.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals one damage to my opponent’s life total and is moved Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Motorcycle die is moved to the Used Pile. All dice that are Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated). 

Example Three:
Turn player using Global.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my Sidekick. My Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my opponent. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO’d. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Example Four:
Non-Turn player using Global.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) My opponent has a chance to use Actions. They don’t use any. They now can use Globals, but choose not to and pass priority to me. I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my opponent’s Sidekick. Their Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my life total. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO’d. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

You can find the ruling about using a Global for no effect, here.

The picture below is the Turn Order Summary from the back of the Civil War Rulebook.

turn-order

Clean Up Step detailed on page 11-12 of the Civil War Rulebook.

Competitive Play Rating

This card seems to be pretty terrible for competitive play. One might think the Global would make it worthwhile, but even the Global seems poor. We have Distraction and Blink – Transmutation which are much better versions of the Motorcycle Global because they don’t require the character to be blocked in order for you to pull them back. The ability on the card isn’t particularly useful. Unless we have a rotation that includes sets all the way up to Faerûn Under Siege, I don’t see this card making it onto any serious competitive team.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a competitive play rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Motorcycle may not have the most useful ability or Global for the competitive scene, but I could see someone trying to use it on a casual team with the Deadly Keyword. This is great teaching tool for timing, but I can’t recommend this card for a beginner. A player with a better understanding of the turn order could probably find a fun use for this card. I still don’t feel like the card itself is particularly useful with other cards that do similar things or have better versions of the abilities.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Distraction, Basic Action Card from the Marvel Avengers vs X-Men Starter set.

        Distraction

Ruling – Ability

The ability part of Distraction says that your opponent targets two of their characters and those characters can’t block this turn. In order to use this ability, you must have rolled an Action Face with the Basic Action Icon on it.

When you use this Action’s ability, you want to use it in your Main Step, before you start your Attack Step. This is because once you attack, you will not have an opportunity to use Actions or Globals until after blockers are assigned. I’ve outlined the basic steps in the Attack Step below.

Attack Step
~ Assign Attackers
~ Assign Blockers
~ Attacking player can use Actions
~ Both players can use Globals
~ Assign and resolve damage

Let’s say you roll two Distraction Action Dice and both land on an Action Face. Your opponent has four characters in the Field Zone and you use your first Distraction. Your opponent picks Character A and Character B. When you use your second Distraction, your opponent can choose Character A and Character B again because Distraction doesn’t say that the character chosen must be able to block.

 Ruling – Global

Distraction’s Global says that you can pay a Mask Energy and remove an attacker from the Attack Zone, back to the Field Zone. This means that you can pay a Mask and force an attacker to stop attacking. Any abilities that trigger when a character attacks will still happen, like Cheetah, Cursed Archaeologist.

Using this Global will stop a character from doing damage to you or your blockers. Like the action ability, this Global has a specific time for its use. You must use it after blockers are assigned because there are no legal targets during the Main Step. After blockers are assigned, you can use this Global as many times as you have energy to do so and you can target any attacking character – even your own.

You can attack with a character that has an ability that triggers when it attacks, like Cheetah, and after your opponent assigns blockers, you can use the Distraction Global to push your character back to the Field Zone. This gives you a chance to use it for it’s ability again on your next turn.

A attacker that is blocked, but then pushed back with Distraction’s Global, will deal no combat damage and will not be dealt combat damage by the blocker. The attacker is also no longer considered engaged with the blocker.

Competitive Play Rating
This is a great action for many competitive teams. The only major issue with it is that the Global can be used against you at the worst times. You just have to plan accordingly. While this Basic Action is great for most teams, it’s not one that you want to put on your team without serious consideration. The potential for the Global to backfire is high, so you have to know what you’re doing with this card. Personally, I only use it on one team and it has a very low chance to backfire for me. You just have to be careful with this card because I’ve seen it cost a player the game on more than one occasion.

Distraction, Basic Action Card gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating
For casual play, this Basic Action is great. It helps with teaching beginners about the different steps and when to use and not use Globals or Actions. I don’t feel this Global is too powerful or too advanced for beginners and the Action part is easily explained. The most confusing part of this Basic Action is about its strategy and when to use the action ability and Global. If you’re an advanced player, make sure any beginners you’re playing know how this card works before they purchase the Action Dice. If you’re a beginner using this card, make sure you know how it works. Ask your opponent or a judge if you have any questions regarding this card.

Distraction, Basic Action Card gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!