Posts Tagged ‘Draw’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Silver Sable: Outlaw  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man set.

W 15 Silver Sable, Outlaw

Ruling – Ability

When Silver Sable attacks, add a die from your bag to your Prep Area. If it is a Sidekick, Silver Sable is unblockable.

Silver Sable’s ability is a When Attacks ability. When Attacks abilities trigger simultaneously when all attackers have been assigned. If there are multiple When Attacks abilities on the active player’s side, the active player resolves them in the order they choose.

When a Silver Sable die attacks, you take a die from your bag and place it in your Prep Area. This is not the same as drawing a die, so you do not get to refill an empty bag when using this ability. Only abilities that instruct you to draw a die will trigger a bag refill.

If the die you add to your Prep Area is a Sidekick die, the Silver Sable die that triggered that ability will be unblockable. Ally dice are only considered to be Sidekick dice while they are on a character face and in the Field Zone. If you add a die with Ally to your Prep Area with this ability, Silver Sable will not be unblockable.

Silver Sable’s ability is not optional. When each of your Silver Sable dice attack, you must add a die from your bag to your Prep Area. If you can’t, this ability does nothing. You will not take damage if you can’t add a die to your Prep Area because Bag Burn only happens during your Clear and Draw step while drawing your four dice for the turn.

Each of your Silver Sable dice that attack will trigger this ability. Each trigger of the ability will only apply to the Silver Sable die that triggered it. For example: I have two Silver Sable dice in the Field Zone. I decide to attack with both, so I assign both as attackers. Both abilities trigger simultaneously, but I resolve them individually. I add a die to my Prep Area from my bag for the first Silver Sable die. The die I added to my Prep Area is not a Sidekick, so the first Silver Sable die is still able to be blocked. I add a die to my Prep Area from my bag for the second Silver Sable die and it’s a Sidekick, so my second Silver Sable die is unblockable. My first Silver Sable die is still able to be blocked because she didn’t add a Sidekick to my Prep Area – only the second one did.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Silver Sable is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Spider-Friends affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common from the Starter and is #15 of 142.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I know a lot of folks don’t care for the Amazing Spider-Man set, but I have loads of fun playing with cards from this set. This is one of those cards. I love using Silver Sable with The Front Line: Basic Action Card, and keeping my bag full of Sidekicks. This is a great concept to build around for casual play because it’s not super serious broken, and it’s not super difficult to set up. She’s got a little bit of higher purchase cost than I like, but with a few well placed Front Line dice with a bag loaded with Sidekicks, you could be punching someone in the face for a quite a bit of damage. She’s a 0/1/1 to field, so she’s not too high on fielding costs, and her attack is 3/4/4. When you drop two Front Line dice on her, she becomes a 9/10/10, that’s also potentially unblockable.

I recently had someone ask about attacking with multiples of her dice, and I realized that I hadn’t featured her for an article yet. I also thought that now would be a good time to feature her, because I’ve had lots of inquiries about cultivating casual-competitive scenes. This is the perfect card for that type of scene!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Heist: Basic Action Card  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W 07 Heist, BAC

Ruling Using Action Dice

Heist is a Basic Action Card and it’s dice are Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Heist. Basic Action Dice can be purchased by either player.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The die will never enter the Field Zone. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Ability

Target opponent draws 2 dice from their bag. Place one in that opponent’s Prep Area. Roll the other die and place it in your Reserve Pool. At the end of your turn, place the rolled die in your opponent’s Used Pile (regardless of where it is).

You must be able to target an opponent in order to use Heist. If you can’t target an opponent, you will not be able to use Heist because it won’t have any effect. When you use Heist, you place the die Out of Play from your Reserve Pool. The die never enters the Field Zone.

When you use Heist, you target an opponent and they draw two dice from their dice bag. If they can’t draw two dice, they draw as many as they can and then refill their bag from their Used Pile, and finish drawing until they have drawn two dice. If they don’t have any dice in their Used Pile to refill their bag, then they draw as many as they can.

If your opponent can only draw one die and doesn’t have any dice to refill their bag with, they do not take damage. ‘Bag Burn’ is only something that applies during the Clear and Draw Step. Also, if your opponent can only draw one die you complete the remainder of the Heist ability in the order stated on the card. This means you would place that single die in your opponent’s Prep Area and not roll it.

When your opponent draws the two dice, you choose one and it is placed in their Prep Area. You then roll the second die and place it in your Reserve Pool. You now get to use that die on the face it landed on. If you rolled energy, you can use it normally. If you rolled an action face, you use it as intended. For example: A Continuous action die will stay in the Field Zone, but the Heist ability will place it in your opponent’s Used Pile at the end of your turn. You get to use it for that turn. The same would happen with a character die if you rolled a character face. You could field that character and activate any When Fielded abilities, but it would be placed in your opponent’s Used Pile at the end of your turn.

If you have an ability that would allow you to reroll or manipulate the dice in your Reserve Pool after the Roll and Reroll Step, those abilities can be used on the die that was stolen with Heist. For example: If you have Parallax: Source of Terror, you can spend one energy to reroll the die you stole with Heist. You could not use an ability that affects dice during the Roll and Reroll Step for the stolen die because Heist is used after the Roll and Reroll Step has passed.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Heist is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ Heist has a Neutral Alignment (leaf symbol near the purchase cost).
~ It says Use: 3 instead of Max: 3 because you are required to bring exactly three Basic Action Dice for Heist.
~ This card is a Common and is #7 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This card is definitely about more than just potentially stealing some energy. This card can seriously disrupt the flow of your opponent’s bag and also turn an action or character against them for a brief moment. This could also deny them the opportunity to draw that big nasty they had coming next turn. They do get a prepped die from Heist, but I feel like the risk is worth it.

If you don’t get an action or character, you still come out with at least one energy that you can use to make purchases, field characters, activate Globals, etc. I don’t see a huge downside to this card, other than potentially pulling two really good dice and having to put one in your opponent’s Prep Area for next turn. Thinning their bag of Sidekicks is a downside, but it’s not a huge one. Again, the risk is worth the potential reward as long as you’re cautious when using this die. Don’t use it when they have four Sidekicks in their bag and a lot of characters and actions in their Used Pile. You need to keep track of your opponent’s purchases and where the dice are when you play with Heist.

I don’t see this card as a major competitive card, but it’s great for all levels of casual games, and even competitive-casual. Competitive-casual is a mix of competitive and casual play – like a casual setting were everyone is playing semi-competitive, but they don’t bring out the big nasty dudes (like Cube+Pureblood). You also might see someone with a Shriek or a DWiz, but not both. This type of atmosphere breeds creativity and is definitely more fun for folks that don’t dig the hyper competitive scenes, but they still want to play with some of the competitive cards.

I have not looked at this card since the set released, until it popped up as a question from someone. They asked if they could field a character if the die they stole rolled a character face. It’s a tactic that I didn’t think of when I first read the card, but I love the possibilities this card can bring – as well as the chaos that could ensue! I owe that reader a big thank you!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Spidey’s Last Stand: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set.

Spidey's last stand BAC

Ruling – Ability

“Sacrifice a character to draw and roll 2 dice (sacrificed characters are placed in the Used Pile).”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Sacrifice: Sacrificed characters are moved from the Field Zone to the Used Pile (often as a cost or penalty).”

When you use this action die, you must sacrifice a character die as part of the cost to using the die. If you can’t sacrifice a character die, you can’t use the action die because you wouldn’t be able to pay the cost to use it. You can’t redirect the cost to a different character die.

When you use this die, you sacrifice a character die, then you draw two dice from your bag and roll them. Those dice are then placed into your Reserve Pool. Dice drawn from this ability are not considered to be drawn during your Roll and Reroll Step, even if you use this action die directly after your Roll and Reroll Step. You do not get to reroll the dice rolled from this ability. Dice are used normally after they’re placed in the Reserve Pool.

If you cannot draw two dice for this ability, you draw as many as you can, then refill your bag and finish drawing until you have drawn two dice.

An ability like Back for More would not trigger if the dice you roll from this ability have the Keyword. The dice drawn and rolled from this ability never enter the Prep Area.

If you have more than one die of the same character in the Field Zone, you do not have to sacrifice all copies of that character. You only need to sacrifice one character die.

When you sacrifice a character die, that die will go to the Used Pile instead of the Prep Area. Sacrificed character dice are not considered to be KO’d and will not trigger When KO’d abilities. If you sacrifice a character die during your turn, that die will go Out of Play first, then to Used Pile during the Clean Up Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Spidey’s Last Stand is a Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It says Use: 3 instead of Max: 3 because you are required to use exactly three Basic Action Dice for this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 142.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

Spidey’s Last Stand and Storm: Weather Witch Ruling

There are a few additional Sacrifice rulings:
Used vs Out of Play
Sacrifice for No Effect
Sacrifice and KO Abilities

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Well, this card is not terrible, but it’s not good either. I featured it because I’ve seen and heard lots of players asking how the Sacrifice ability works. I had a message about this specific card as well because it says character and not character die. This is one of those older cards with wonky wording is all. No, you don’t have to blow up all five of your Sidekick dice in the Field Zone, just to draw and roll two dice. I say it’s not a good card only because it’s not good for meta play – and it’ll be rotating soon too.

The reason that I say this isn’t a terrible card is because it’s a useful card for a more casual setting or a limited format. I wish it only cost two to buy though. I think I would actually use this card a lot if it only cost two. It’s easy to get a few Sidekicks in the Field that you can use as fodder for this card. And you’re opponent is less likely to buy this die. This card may not see competitive play, but there are plenty of casual options and fun options!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Scorching Ray: Basic Action Card from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

scorching ray

Ruling – Ability

Draw a die from your bag. Deal damage to target character die or player equal to its purchase cost. Return the die to your bag.

Scorching Ray is a Basic Action. Anything that can affect an Action could effect Scorching Ray. If a card specifically states that it affects a Basic Action, then it could affect Scorching Ray.

Scorching Ray does not have the Continuous keyword. When this die is used, it goes immediately Out of Play and never enters the Field Zone in any way. This is important for cards with abilities like Blob: Appetite for Destruction. Blob’s ability would prevent the purchase of Scorching Ray, but not the use of the die.

When you use this action die, you draw one die from your bag. If your bag is empty, you refill your bag from your Used Pile. If there are no dice in your Used Pile to refill your bag with, you will not be able to use this action die because it will not have an effect. You can’t use an action die for no effect.

After you draw the die, you target a character die or a player and deal damage to that target equal to the purchase cost of the die you drew. You can target one of your character dice, an opponent’s character die, yourself, or your opponent with this ability. Sidekick dice have a purchase cost of zero, so you would deal zero damage to the target if you drew a Sidekick die.

You must be able to target the character die or player to be able to use this action die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use the action die.

To determine the amount of damage, you will look at the die you drew and determine what its purchase cost is. The drawn die does not need to be a specific type of die, like a character die or action die. Any die you draw will work for this ability.

After you deal damage (or zero damage) to the target, the die you drew will be returned to its bag.

This ability is not optional. If you use the action die, you must deal the damage (or deal zero damage) to a target character die or player, even if the only legal target is one of your character dice or yourself.

If you choose to not use an action die, it will go to your Used Pile at the end of the turn. Action dice do not remain in your Reserve Pool beyond your turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Scorching Ray is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It has the Neutral affiliation.
~ It has Use: 3, instead of Max: 3 because you must use three dice with this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #12 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Scorching Ray is fun to play with, but only on a casual level. The timing for a competitive team is much more difficult to pull off and there are far more effective ways to deal direct damage to character dice or your opponent.

This is a great card for limited and sealed events. It cost four energy to purchase, but if you’ve got several three or four cost dice in your dice pool, you might gain from this card. The addition of Heimdall and his Global to the team helps to minimize your chances of drawing a Sidekick die. Unfortunately, you won’t have access to Heimdall in a D&D sealed event. Using the Global on the Create Food and Water: Basic Action Card could help thin your bag by a die before you try using Scorching Ray.

There are plenty of ways to build around this card is a casual setting, but I’m not sure Scorching Ray has a spot in the competitive meta with cards like Yuan-Ti and Cosmic Cube floating around.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!