Posts Tagged ‘Effect’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Dragon Statue Trap: Lesser Trap  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Dragon Statue Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling Using Action Dice

Dragon Statue Trap is a non-Basic Action Card and it’s dice are non-Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Dragon Statue Trap. Non-Basic Action Dice can not be purchased by an opposing player.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The die will never enter the Field Zone. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear or a Trap, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Trap Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.

Each Trap has its own Trigger and Effect. A Trap is sent directly to the Used Pile when it’s triggered, and this is not optional. Once the trigger condition is met, the trap will go to the Used Pile, whether you can use the effect or not.

The Gadgeteer keyword works with Traps.

Ruling – Trigger

Trigger: An opponent attacks you.”

The Trigger is a condition that must be met for the trap to activate. As soon as the condition is met, the trap will ‘trigger’ and go to the Used Pile. You can use the effect of the trap only when it’s triggered.

For Dragon Statue Trap, the Trigger is when an opponent attacks you. The moment an opponent finishes assigning their attackers, the Dragon Statue Trap’s trigger is met. Character dice that are attacking are all assigned at the same time, so your opponent will be able to assign all character dice they wish to attack with before your trap triggers. This means all of your opponent’s ‘When Attacks’ abilities will be able to trigger before your Dragon Statue Trap triggers. This is because they are the active player and all active player abilities trigger first.

The trigger on Dragon Statue Trap will grant you the effect before blockers are assigned.

Ruling – Effect

Effect: You may pay X [Energy] to deal X damage to all opposing character die.”

~ I believe there is a typo on the card. Where it says ‘opposing character die‘, I believe it’s supposed to say, ‘opposing character dice‘ instead.

The Effect of a trap is what happens when the Trigger condition is met. The Effect on Dragon Statue Trap is an optional ability because it says ‘you may’.

If you choose to use the effect on your triggered Dragon Statue Trap, you can pay any amount of energy to deal that much damage to all of your opponent’s character dice. You can use any type of energy in any combination for this effect.

The opposing character dice do not need to be attacking, only active in the Field Zone.

If attacking character dice are KO’d by this effect, they are no longer attacking and you will not be able to assign blockers to them.

This effect is not a targeting effect. Characters that are protected from being targeted can be damaged by this effect.

Example

Game State
I have a Dragon Statue Trap and a Sidekick (1A/1D) in my Field Zone. I have one Bolt and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has two Sidekicks (1A/1D) and character die with 2A/3D in their Field Zone. We are moving into their Attack Step.
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ My opponent assigns their 2A/3D character and one Sidekick as their attackers.
~ My opponent does not have any When Attacks abilities.
~ My Dragon Statue Trap triggers and is sent to the Used Pile.
~ I use the Effect of my trap and spend the Bolt and Fist energy (moving them to my Used Pile), to deal two damage to all of my opponent’s character dice.
~ Their two Sidekick dice are KO’d and placed in their Prep Area. Their 2A/3D character die is still attacking, but now it can only take one more damage before it’s KO’d.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ I assign my Sidekick die to block the remaining attacking character die. Doing this will KO the attacker in the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step and my Sidekick will also be KO’d.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Dragon Statue Trap is a Shield type non-basic action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Neutral Alignment (leaf symbol near the purchase cost).
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #25 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

The ruling for Gadgeteer and Traps can be found, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I think the Dragon Statue Trap is incredibly useful against teams that utilize those annoying characters that can’t be targeted. And there are plenty of those pesky characters around in Golden Age and Modern Age. Raven: Azarath, Metrion, Zinthos! is the first one that comes to mind and probably the most used one. Even with her in the field, you can still damage your opponent’s Mask and Teen Titans dice because Dragon Statue Trap’s effect is not targeting them – it’s like a blanket covering their side of the field.

Dragon Statue Trap could also be extremely useful against teams that depend on rushing their opponent with lots of smaller characters, like a Bard Blitz or Guy Rush team. A well placed Dragon Statue Trap and force attack Global and they’re in a world of hurt!

One of the major down sides that I can see to this type of trap is that once it’s triggered, it’s gone until you can get it back through your bag. This leaves you vulnerable and gives your opponent a chance to build up their field if they trigger the trap at the right time. Another issue you could run into is your opponent triggering it when you don’t have any energy to use for the effect. The trap is still triggered when they attack and sent to the Used Pile – regardless if you can activate the effect or not.

Gadgeteer is a nice keyword to pair with Dragon Statue Trap. You could get your traps back much quicker with one of these type of characters. What ever you do, don’t give them Boomerang! That’s not a good idea if you want your traps in the field.

I’ve been looking at building a Trap based team, I just haven’t had the chance to put it together yet. I think it would be fun and interesting for our casual scene.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Poison Dart Trap: Lesser Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Poison Dart Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling – Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent would roll 2 or more of the same non-NPC character die at the same time.
Effect: Before the roll occurs, place one of those character dice into your opponent’s Used Pile.”

Poison Dart Trap has the Trap keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

Using this die places it into the Field Zone. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability removes an action die.

Poison Dart Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Poison Dart Trap.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

The term non-NPC means non-Sidekick. NPC is the wording on Dungeons and Dragons cards that means Sidekick. This applies to Ally characters, which are considered Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Poison Dart Trap’s trigger is when your opponent would roll two or more of the same character dice, that aren’t Sidekicks. For example, I have an active Poison Dart Trap and my opponent is about roll three Guy Gardner dice. Poison Dart Trap triggers and goes to the Used Pile. I get to choose one of the Guy Gardner dice and it goes to their Used Pile. My opponent gets to roll the other two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Poison Dart Trap is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #35 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I like the new Trap keyword, as well as how they clarified when the trap die is actually used. I would like for other abilities, like the one on Cold Gun, to eventually be worded similar to this. That would clarify a lot of confusion over using action die and activating them.

But as for this card’s ability, it’s great against Swarm! You would be able to reduce the number of dice they roll by one, which could be a big deal. Outside of drafting, I’m not sure how much play this card will see. If Swarm characters are a pain and someone has room, they could add this card to see if it helps. It’s not expensive with a cost of three and it only needs to be in the Field Zone.

I’m don’t think this card will see major meta play, but some casual scenes probably will – especially if Swarm is big. This card could be useful in drafts as well, but only if players are drafting multiple copies of a character and using three or four of that character’s dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!