Posts Tagged ‘Equip’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Tabaxi Rogue: Greater Lords’ Alliance  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Tabaxi Rogue, Greater Lords' Alliance

Ruling – Experience Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Experience: While a character die with Experience is active, if you KO’d an opposing monster (as noted by the black Monster allegiance banner) during your turn, place one Experience Token on this character die’s card at the end of your turn. Each Experience Token provides each of this card’s dice with +1A and +1D (at each level). A card can only gain 1 Experience Token per turn (unless otherwise stated). Multiple cards can each gain an Experience Token during the same turn. An opposing player KOing their own Monster will not generate Experience Tokens.”

Experience is a keyword ability that functions like a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Experience allows the character(s) with the keyword to gain an Experience Token if at least one opposing Monster (represented by the black Monster Flag) was KO’d during your turn. You can use almost any type of gaming token to represent Experience Tokens. I use a regular die (D6 or D8 usually) but some folks like to use glass beads.

Each Experience Token on a character’s card grants the character dice a +1A and +1D.

KO’ing your own Monsters or Monsters KO’d during your opponent’s turn will not grant you an Experience Token.

You cannot gain more than one Experience Token on any one character card each turn, but multiple characters can each gain an Experience Token.

A character that leaves the Field Zone does not lose their Experience Tokens. Experience Tokens are not removed unless a card or game effect would remove them.

Characters with Experience do not need to be the character that KO’s a Monster; they only need to be active in the Field when the Monster gets KO’d.

Experience Tokens are placed on the characters at the end of turn, so if a character with Experience is KO’d or unblocked, they are no longer active at the end of turn to receive an Experience Token.

Characters with Experience are typically considered Adventurers – though there are several exceptions. Those characters state that they are not Adventurers on their card.

Ruling – Ability

When fielded, move target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone to the Used Pile.”

A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Tabaxi Rogue die, you will move a target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone and place it into the Used Pile.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

If fielding the Tabaxi Rogue’s die triggers a trap, the active player resolves the Tabaxi Rogue’s ability, then the Trap will be able to resolve.

Ruling – Equip Icon

The Tabaxi Rogue has the Equip icon, meaning it can be equipped with Gear.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Equip: When this die is fielded, and at the beginning of each turn that this die is active (any player’s turn), you may attach this die to a character with the Equip icon immediately below their alignment icon. You may switch the attachment from one character die to another. If the character die the equipped die leaves the Field Zone, the equipped die remains in the Field Zone (unattached). As with all non-character dice, Gear dice can’t attack or block.”

When a character that has Gear attached to it leaves the Field Zone, the Gear stays in the Field Zone. It will stay unattached until you could attach it to another character.

If a character would lose the Equip Icon, the Gear would become unattached and stay in the Field Zone until such a time you could attach it to a legal target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Tabaxi Rogue is a Mask type character card.
~ It has the Lords’ Alliance affiliation and has a Neutral alignment.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #83 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card but there is a relevant ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I absolutely disagree with the ruling on Skeleton Key vs Green Devil Mask. The conditions of using a trap require you to send it to the Used Pile. If it’s already there, it shouldn’t be able to resolve if it’s later in the queue. Sorry – Bad ruling in my opinion. But it’s what WORF says and that’s how it must be ruled.

I still like this version of the Tabaxi Rogue for removing all the silly and obnoxious traps that are out there. But you have to dedicate a slot to the Tabaxi Rogue and that takes up a slot something else could go in. Since Traps are not a huge deal in regular constructed play, I can’t see myself slotting this character in for that. It’s a great card for a limited format that uses the Tomb of Annihilation set and I wouldn’t play without it if that’s the case.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Troll: Minion Humanoid  from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

W 19 Troll, Minion Humanoid

Ruling – Keyword Ability

Regenerate (reroll when knocked out)”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Regenerate: If this character would be KO’d, roll it. If you roll a character face, return it to the field on the rolled face (but not the Attack Zone). Otherwise, move the die to your Prep Area.”

Regenerate is considered to be a KO replacement effect. This means that if a character would be KO’d and you roll a character face, it is not KO’d and returns to the Field Zone on the face that was rolled, and all damage is cleared from that die. If the character fails to Regenerate because it rolled onto an energy face, the die is considered to be KO’d and placed in the Prep Area.

If an ability would require you to KO a character die as part of a cost, such as Fabricate or Enlistment, you may select a character die with Regenerate as part of the cost. The first ability must fully resolve before you can roll your character die with Regenerate.

For example: I want to KO my Troll that has Regenerate and another character die to purchase one of my Flash Golem dice using its Fabricate. Fabricate: Characters with Fabricate will have 2 numbers (X-Y).  If you KO X characters with total purchase cost Y or more, you can purchase the die with Fabricate X-Y for free.” I would select my two character dice for Fabricate and purchase my Flesh Golem (placing the Flesh Golem die in the Used Pile). Once I have completed the Fabricate ability, I can then resolve the Regenerate on my Troll die. If the Troll successfully Regenerates, it returns to the Field on the rolled level. If it does not, it continues to the Prep Area. A successful Regenerate does not affect the use of Fabricate.

If a character die with Regenerate is KO’d while blocking, it will not return to the Attack Zone if it successfully Regenerates. It is placed in the Field Zone and is no longer blocking. If the attacking character has Overcrush, it will still apply the difference in damage to the defending player. You compare the difference between the attacker’s attack value the blocker’s defense value before it Regenerates, not after.

If an effect is placed on a die, if that die successfully Regenerates, it would retain the affects of that effect. For example: I use a Global to give my Troll the Villain affiliation until the end of the turn. In the same turn, my Troll die would be KO’d, but it instead Regenerates. The Troll keeps the Villain affiliation. This is because the die was never KO’d.

Regenerate is not an optional ability. If one of your dice with Regenerate would be KO’d, you must roll it to see if it returns as a character or is placed in the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Troll is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has the Equip icon.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #19 of 138.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find clarifications on Regenerate, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the Regenerate ability, but I’m not a huge fan of this card. I chose this particular card because it only has Regenerate and no other abilities, and I wanted to focus this article on the Regenerate keyword. Tarrasque: Epic Aberration, Troll: Apprentice Humanoid, Black Adam: Teth Adam, Lady Deadpool: Deadpool Family Values, and Zombie: Greater Undead all have fun and useful abilities that either work with Regenerate or they benefit from having Regenerate.

If you want your character dice to stay in the Field, finding a way to give them Regenerate could be highly beneficial. It’s not a guarantee that the die will return to the Field, but you don’t lose anything if they don’t because they still go to the Prep Area if they fail to Regenerate. I don’t feel like Regenerate is used near as much as it could be. That could be due to the lack of competitive cards with the keyword, or maybe folks just haven’t realized that it’s worth playing with from time to time.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Question: Find the Answers from the DC Batman set.

W The Question, Find the Answers

Ruling – Gadgeteer Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Gadgeteer: When a character die with Gadgeteer attacks, you may roll a gear die or an action die with the Continuous keyword in your Used Pile.  If you roll a non-energy face, you may move it unto your Field Zone.  Otherwise, return it to your Used Pile.

I think there is a typo in on the WizKids Keywords page. Where it says ‘you may move it unto your Field Zone’, I think it’s supposed to say into and not unto. But I’m certain we all know what they mean.

Gadgeteer is a new Keyword in the Batman set. This ability only works when the character with Gadgeteer attacks and only if you have a Gear or Continuous action die in your Used Pile. Gear dice will have the Equip Keyword on their card.

You cannot use the Gadgeteer ability for a non-Continuous action die.

When your Gadgeteer character attacks, you get to choose a qualifying action die from your Used Pile and roll it. It can be a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, so long as it’s Gear or has the Continuous keyword.

After you roll the action die, if it shows an Action face (non-energy face), you get to move it into your Field Zone. Moving a die is not the same as using it, much like moving a character die is not the same as fielding it. If it shows an energy face, you must return it to the Used Pile. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Action and Energy Faces

This ability is optional and not mandatory because it uses ‘may’ in the text. If your Gadgeteer character attacks and you have a Continuous die in your Used Pile, you are not required to use the Gadgeteer ability. If you forget to use it and the Attack Step has moved into the Assign Blockers portion, you have missed your opportunity to use Gadgeteer.

Ruling – Ability

The Question’s other ability works like a While Active ability even though it doesn’t say While Active. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

 

while-active-light

Whenever you use an action die, The Question gains +1A and +1D until the end of the turn. You can use multiple action dice on the same turn and his ability will trigger for each one.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Question is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Justice League affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #75 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Gadgeteer and Using Action Dice.

Game State
~ I have one level three Question (2A/4D) die in the Field Zone. I also have two Kryptonite: Green Death dice, one Unstable Canister die, and one Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” die, all showing action faces, in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Kryptonite dice, moving it Out of Play, and target one of my opponent’s Sidekick dice. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D.
~ I use my other Kryptonite die, moving it Out of Play, and target my opponent’s Sidekick die again. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +2A and +2D.
~ I use my Unstable Canister die, moving it Out of Play, and target that same Sidekick die which KO’s it. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +3A and +3D.
~ I use my Cold Gun die, moving it to the Field Zone. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +4A and +4D.
~ I activate my Cold Gun die, moving it Out of Play, to target my opponent’s second Sidekick die which KO’s it. This does not trigger Question’s ability.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Question (6A/8D) to attack, moving him to the Attack Zone.
~ The Question’s Gadgeteer ability triggers when he attacks and I check my Used Pile for Continuous action dice. I have one Turtle Van and one Bat-Signal die in my Used Pile and I choose the Turtle Van Basic Action and roll it. It lands on an Action face and I move it into my Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not have any blockers to assign.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Action Dice or Globals.
~ My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ The Question assigns all six of his attack to my opponent and my opponent loses six life. The Question die is immediately moved Out of Play because he attacked and was not blocked.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability). The Question will lose all of the +1A and +1D bonuses he gained this turn.
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like this version of Question better than the other two versions. It’s easy to build up lots of action dice for a single turn with Boomerang or even Scarlet Witch: Hex Bolts from the Doctor Strange Team Pack. Since I love Overcrush so much, using Proton Cannon just makes sense, because his stats can become massive! I love that he has Gadgeteer too, which can help you get your Continuous action die back in play. He’s got a great purchase cost and while his attack stats are not the best, his stats can get a boost and even be swapped with Kal-L’s Global. I think this card is great for casual play and possibly good for a rogue team in Modern Age competitive play too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

We played a limited event this past Saturday and this type of format is becoming a local favorite. Each player pays a $10.00 entry fee and they are allowed to choose ten boosters from any set that the store has in stock. Players can mix and match if they choose, but the best strategy is usually to choose ten from the same set. We had Battle for Faerûn, World’s Finest, Green Arrow and The Flash, and Deadpool in stock.

My Team

my-team-12-10-16

You can find my team here, on DM Retrobox.

I chose all ten packs from Deadpool. When I opened my packs, the cards I saw that stood out were several Deadpool affiliated characters, and one Lady Bullseye. I was definitely hoping for at least two of her dice, but I only pulled one, so I had to figure out something else. I volunteered to run the store that night so that the owner could spend some time with his family at a Christmas party. When you’re working and trying to build a team, you don’t always get the same amount of time as others to build. I threw a bunch of dudes together and hoped for the best! I picked all the Deadpool folks – without reading them, Free Chimichangas because it gives a defense boost and Deadly, Multiple Man because he has Swarm and I had two dice for him, and Lady Bullseye because – why not? Knowing my time was extremely limited on building, I grabbed Hulk Out and Resurrection for my two Basic Actions. I knew I couldn’t go wrong with a little ramp and Hulk Out to go with Lady Bullseye isn’t a bad idea.

Round One

round-1-12-10-16

My round one opponent had decided to build from the D&D stock. I loved having both Resurrection Globals to use, and that definitely helped me. I was not excited to see that Magic Helmet on my opponent’s team. It was a great counter piece to my Dogpool. I realized I had made a mistake when building my team by adding Outlaw. I only had one die for her, which made her a totally useless character. I could always use her for fodder, but her ability was bunk for me. I also made a huge mistake during this match. I was so focused on buying all of my Deadpool characters (except for Outlaw), that I neglected to buy any of my Hulk Out dice. This gave my opponent an opportunity to use his Big Entrance die and the three energy he rolled to buy all three of my Hulk Out dice at once. I didn’t think I was going to be able to pull off a victory in this match when he started fielding big characters, like his Minotaur, but some well placed blockers and well timed attacks left him practically defenseless. My characters were beefy on defense and heavy on attack stats, helping me find a path to victory. It was a glorious game of agonizing over when to attack and how to block. These are the games that make you feel good, regardless of who won and who lost.

Record after Round One: 1-0-0

Round Two

round-2-12-10-16

I found myself sitting across the table from Mr. DDK in round two. I always have the hardest time defeating him in any game, constructed or otherwise. I was fortunate though, that he missed my Resurrection Global for a turn or two because he didn’t notice it, which I feel slowed him down a little. He hit me pretty hard with a level three Angel Dust, but I blocked most of his other attackers. Letting Angel Dust through was a good choice because she went to the Used Pile and she had to cycle back through his bag. I only needed my Kidpool this game, because my opponent brought that glorious Anger Issues Global. Add a Hulk Out or two into that mix and it was game over for Mr. DDK. I considered myself very lucky that some of his dice didn’t roll for him and most of mine rolled on the side I needed or a side that I could use. He did some major damage though, so it wasn’t a cake walk. I did feel like I could lose the game on any turn if he rolled what he needed. That’s the nature of the game though. It was still a fun match with some back and forth and attacking/blocking strategy.

Record after Round Two: 2-0-0

Round Three

round-3-12-10-16

I apologize for the picture. I totally forgot to snap a picture before we packed up, but he was kind enough to unpack his stuff before he left so that I could at least get a pick of his cards. It was totally my fault that I didn’t get the picture I wanted and I have to thank my opponent again for doing this for me.

This game was incredible. I was fielding characters left and right, and he was constantly attacking me with his Purple Worm. It was pretty intense for several turns, because one misplaced blocker could have put either of us in jeopardy. I took a chance on one of my last turns and attacked when he had several characters. I knew he couldn’t clear my field completely so I’d have some blockers left if he rolled his characters back up. My two Deadly Deadpool dice were very useful this entire match, and even more on this particular attack. I was left with several character dice after the combat was done and my opponent was rolling all of those characters I KO’d on his turn. I was hoping only one or two would roll. He rolled his dice and none were characters. He rerolled the character dice, and luck was on my side – they all came up energy! I will not turn down a victory, but I do not like winning when my opponent has no options and can’t defend themselves – even if it’s because of a bad roll. But aside from how the game ended, the rest of the game was tons of fun. I’m very happy my opponent came to play and he ended up in third place for the event.

Record after Round Three: 3-0-0
Final Standing: 1st

Final Thoughts

We only used ten packs for our first sealed event a while back, and part of me thought that ten packs wasn’t enough. After playing this format a second time with only ten packs, I think ten is probably going to be the magic number. Some players will end up pulling great cards that have wonderful synergy together, and some won’t pull anything that works together at all. It’s not what you pull, but how you use it – with a bit of luck. I definitely had some luck on my side for this event. My team did not have anything that actually worked together for a super cool effect. Lady Deadpool and Kidpool were about all I had, and Lady Deadpool’s ability only made her cheaper to buy – nothing else after you had her. Kidpool worked with any of my Deadpool characters. You don’t have to have a team that functions like a constructed team in an event like this. Everyone is working with what they’ve pulled so everyone is kinda on the same page. Even pulling a Super Rare doesn’t guarantee you win – I had one rare (Dogpool) and I didn’t use his ability a single time. The rest of my team was common and uncommon, and I just threw everything together without really reading most of the cards. In my opinion, the Deadpool set is really good for limited events like sealed and drafts. Everyone is so used to drafting with sets that have cards with crazy good Globals or they play way too much constructed, that they don’t see how much fun this set is. I’m so glad I picked Deadpool to use in the sealed and I would totally do it again.

What are some changes you’d make without changing the spirit of the team?
Have a build you like better?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Flaming Sword, Basic Action Card from the Dungeons and Dragons Faerûn Under Siege Set. This is a whopper of an article today!

Flaming Sword

Ruling – Ability

Flaming Sword has several abilities on it. The first ability is Equip, which allows a player to attach (or Equip) this Action Die to a character with the Equip icon. You can attach Gear when you field it or at the beginning of any turn that the die is active. Bonuses from Gear do not stack; it acts as a While Active ability. You may also switch the die to another character with the Equip icon at any time you could normally attach the die.

When a character that has Gear attached to it leaves the Field Zone, the Gear stay in the Field Zone. It will stay unattached until you could attach it to normally another character. When a character with Gear attached to it is captured, the Gear will go with it. When the captured character returns, the Gear will return with it, still attached to the character.

If a character would lose the Equip Icon, the Gear would become unattached and stay in the Field Zone until such a time you could attach it to a legal target.

The next ability on Flaming Sword says that the equipped character gets a +2A and +2D. The moment you attach the Flaming Sword to a character, the attack and defense of that character will each increase by two.

The next part of the ability says that the Flaming Sword deals one damage to character dice that are blocking or blocked by the character that’s equipped with the Flaming Sword. This damage is considered ability damage and the Flaming Sword is the source of the damage, not the character it’s attached to. This damage is done after blockers are declared and before the Action/Global part of the Attack Step. This is important because the damage could KO characters with the damage, or even trigger certain abilities. If the equipped character attacks and is blocked by three characters, each of those three characters will take one damage from the Flaming Sword. If the equipped character blocks an attacking character, the attacker will take one damage from the Flaming Sword. This ability is not optional.

The next portion of the ability says that the Flaming Sword counts as Gear. This means that any card or ability that would affect or target Gear, can affect or target the Basic Action Dice representing the Flaming Sword.

The last part of the ability says “It can’t be ignored.” I would assume this to be referencing the previous sentence and means that Flaming Sword can’t lose the ability to be Gear.

*** NOTE ***
This cannot be ignored.
– There isn’t an official ruling as to what the sentence is specifically referring to on the card. I have ruled at my local venue that the sentence directly refers to the sentence before it: This die counts as Gear. Make sure you check with your local venue as to how they are ruling it.

Examples

Example One:
Flaming Sword’s Direct Damage
vs Blockers

~ I have a Gnome Ranger, Minion Harper with a Flaming Sword equipped.
~ My opponent has three Sidekicks in the Field Zone.
~ At the beginning of the Attack Step, I declare my attack with my Gnome Ranger.
~ My opponent declares all three Sidekicks as blockers and blocks my Gnome Ranger with all three Sidekicks.
~ Abilities that trigger after blockers are assigned will trigger here, so Flaming Sword’s special ability will trigger. All three Sidekicks will take one damage each.
~ The three Sidekicks will be KO’d and placed into the Prep Area.
~ During the Action/Global part of the Attack Step, neither player uses a Global and I do not use any Action Dice.
~ Damage is now assigned. My Gnome Ranger was blocked, but there are no longer any blocking characters to assign damage to so the Gnome Ranger doesn’t assign any damage. The Gnome Ranger does not damage my opponent with it’s attack.
~ My Gnome Ranger will return to the Field Zone because it was blocked.

Example Two:
Flaming Sword’s Direct Damage vs Attacker with High Defense

~ I have a level one Gnome Ranger, Minion Harper (3A, 1D) with a Flaming Sword equipped which increases my Gnome Ranger’s attack and defense to 5A, 3D.
~ My opponent has three Sidekicks and a level three Glabrezu, Minion Fiend (5A, 6D) in the Field Zone.
~ At the beginning of the Attack Step, my opponent declares an attack with all three Sidekicks and the Glabrezu.
~ I declare my Gnome Ranger as a blocker and block the Glabrezu.
~ Abilities that trigger after blockers are assigned will trigger here, so Flaming Sword’s special ability will trigger and the Glabrezu takes one damage. This means the Glabrezu can only take five more damage before it’s KO’d.
~ During the Action/Global part of the Attack Step, neither player uses a Global and my opponent does not use any Action Dice.
~ Damage is now assigned. My Gnome Ranger and the Glabrezu do their attack value (with bonuses) to each other and the three Sidekicks deal their attack value to my life total.
~ My Gnome Ranger will be KO’d and placed in the Prep Area, while the Flaming Sword remains unattached in the Field Zone. My opponent’s Glabrezu will also be placed in the Prep Area because Gnome Ranger did five damage to his remaining defense which was enough to KO him.
~ The unblocked Sidekicks go out of play until the Clean Up Step, where they will then go to the Used Pile.

Example Three:
Flaming Sword’s Direct Damage vs Attacker with Low Defense

~ I have a level one Gnome Ranger, Minion Harper (3A, 1D) with a Flaming Sword equipped which increases my Gnome Ranger’s attack and defense to 5A, 3D.
~ My opponent has three Sidekicks and a level one Goblin, Lesser Humanoid (2A, 1D) in the Field Zone.
~ At the beginning of the Attack Step, my opponent declares an attack with all three Sidekicks and the Goblin.
~ I declare my Gnome Ranger as a blocker and block the Goblin.
~ Abilities that trigger after blockers are assigned will trigger here, so Flaming Sword’s special ability will trigger, and the Goblin will take one damage.
~ The Goblin is KO’d and put in the Prep Area.
~ During the Action/Global part of the Attack Step, neither player uses a Global and my opponent  does not use any Action Dice.
~ Damage is now assigned. My Gnome Ranger is not currently assigned to an attacking character so she doesn’t do any combat damage but the three Sidekicks deal their attack value to my life total.
~ My Gnome Ranger is not KO’d by any attacking character because the attacker that was blocked was KO’d before the Assign Damage part of the Attack Step.
~ The unblocked Sidekicks go out of play until the Clean Up Step, where they will then go to the Used Pile.

Official Sources

There are no official sources specifically for Flaming Sword. There are a few about Gear that apply.

You can find the official ruling for multiple copies (stacking) here.
You can find the official ruling for targeting here.
You can find the official ruling about characters losing the Equip Icon here.
You can find the official ruling about captured equipped dice here.

The Faerûn Under Siege Rulebook has the definition of Equip on page 26.

Competitive Play Rating

For the competitive scene, there are far too many other Basic Action Cards that are better than Flaming Sword. Even if you were to build a competitive Gear focused team, there are other Gear cards that would be more useful. The card itself isn’t terrible, it’s just not as good as other Gear cards. With some meta cards, like Hulk, Green Goliath, you do not want to use a card like this. Until the meta changes either by a ban list or set rotation, I don’t see this card making any competitive list as a utilized card.

Flaming Sword, Basic Action Card gets a competitive play rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Giving this card a two out of five stars does not mean this card is bad for casual play. It means the card can be very confusing and not very easy to work with. Flaming Sword requires at least one other card on your team be a specific type of card. Cards that have strict limits like this are not usually ones I recommend for beginners. My ratings are also based off of a Constructed format, which would include all sets and not just the set a card is in. If you’re playing with nothing but Dungeons and Dragons cards, you don’t have anything to worry about here. There are loads of great casual characters that can have Gear attached to them.

I do feel that Flaming Sword, along with other Equip/Gear cards are great teaching tools and are not seen near enough. If you build a team tailored for Gear, this card would be a great option and I would highly recommend this card for consideration on a Gear centered team for a more advanced player to use as a teaching tool.

Flaming Sword, Basic Action Card gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Reader Questions

I had a few specific questions asked about this card, so I thought I would add them in here even if they’re covered in the article.

Question:
What is the nature of the damage done by the sword? Is it combat damage?
Answer:
The direct damage done by the Flaming Sword is ability damage. It’s not considered Combat Damage.

Question:
When does the damage apply?Answer:
The Flaming Sword’s ability damage is triggered after blockers are assigned during the Attack Step, but before the Action/Global part.

Question:
Can I field the Flaming Sword Basic Action Die as though it were gear?
Answer:
Yes. The card states that the dice count as Gear. All game rules that apply to Gear, apply to these dice as well.

Question:
How does Blue Dragon, Apprentice Dragon ability interact with this card?
Answer:
When you use this particular Action Die, you place it in the Field Zone (References: FUS Rulebook Page 12 and here). As long as the Blue Dragon is active, when you place this Gear die in the Field Zone, you get to choose a character and that character can’t block for the turn.

Question:
How do cards like this interact with Beholder, Master Aberration?
Answer:
I don’t have an official answer for this one. I can only answer with the way I’ve ruled it at my local venue. This does not mean that I’m right, it’s just my perspective, so you should check with your local TO on how they plan to rule an ability like this.

Beholder’s ability allows you to use Basic Actions as though you had rolled them. The most important text is “as though you had rolled them” and means that you must have a legal target for the ability as well as be legally able to complete the action. Beholder must have been assigned to attack to use his ability which means you wouldn’t be able to field a Sidekick that rolled by using Resurrection because you’re already in the Attack Step and beyond the point that you could field a character (unless otherwise stated in the card ability). You can use Resurrection with Beholder’s ability to roll any die from your Used Pile, but rolling a character side is not helpful.

To be able to use Flaming Sword’s ability with Beholder, I would check to see if I had a legal target for the Basic Action Die’s ability. Beholder says to use the ability as though you had just rolled it, so if I had just rolled the Action Die, can I Equip the die? If not, then you would not legally be able to use the ability.  Normally you can’t use Action Dice before the Action/Global part of the Attack Step, but the Beholder allows you to bypass that and use the ability as though you had just rolled it. I would rule that Beholder would allow you to use the Flaming Sword, so long as you had a character than can be equipped with it.

I don’t see any reason as to why you wouldn’t be able to grant the ability to a character that can use Gear, because with Beholder’s ability you get to use the Basic Action Die which would mean that you could Equip it as you played it as per the Equip rules. Until end of turn, you would have a character with a ghostly Flaming Sword (at least at my venue – remember that this is not official and to check with your TO).

Question:
How does Beholder and Blue Dragon together, interact with the Flaming Sword?
Answer:
Provided that your local TO rules the way I do on Beholder, if you have a character that can use the Flaming Sword, the following would happen (starting at the Attack Step):

  1. I declare my attackers – Beholder and Gnome Ranger (not attacking with my Blue Dragon).
  2. When Attacks abilities will trigger. I can choose to use all of the Basic Actions as though I had rolled them (for the sake of example, we’ll pretend that I’m not able to use three of the Basic Actions).
  3. I use the Flaming Sword Basic Action with my Beholder and Equip it to the Gnome Ranger.
  4. After using the Flaming Sword and Equipping it to the Gnome Ranger, Blue Dragon allows me to choose an opposing character that can’t block this turn. I choose my opponent’s only character in the Field Zone.
  5. If there are any legal blockers, they can now be assigned. In this example, there are no legal blockers.
  6. When Blocking/Blocked abilities would trigger, but there aren’t any in this example.
  7. If I had any Action Dice in my Reserve Pool, I could use them now.
  8. If either player wanted to use any Globals, they could be used now.
  9. We would assign damage at this point, which would be zero to me and my characters. My opponent would take my characters’ full attack values as combat damage which would include my Gnome Ranger’s additional +2A from Flaming Sword.
  10. Unblocked characters go out of play.
  11. Clean Up starts – effects and damage are cleared from character dice (including the Flaming Sword from Beholder if the Gnome Ranger had stayed in the Field Zone); all out of play dice are moved to the Use Pile; the active player’s turn ends.

* Please keep in mind that some of these responses are based off of my understanding of the game and my interpretation of the cards and rules. I do understand that there are opinions that are different from mine and I don’t mind discussion, but please do not respond in a hateful or negative way to me or anyone that comments on my articles. Thanks!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!