Posts Tagged ‘Evil’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Troll: Minion Humanoid  from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

W 19 Troll, Minion Humanoid

Ruling – Keyword Ability

Regenerate (reroll when knocked out)”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Regenerate: If this character would be KO’d, roll it. If you roll a character face, return it to the field on the rolled face (but not the Attack Zone). Otherwise, move the die to your Prep Area.”

Regenerate is considered to be a KO replacement effect. This means that if a character would be KO’d and you roll a character face, it is not KO’d and returns to the Field Zone on the face that was rolled, and all damage is cleared from that die. If the character fails to Regenerate because it rolled onto an energy face, the die is considered to be KO’d and placed in the Prep Area.

If an ability would require you to KO a character die as part of a cost, such as Fabricate or Enlistment, you may select a character die with Regenerate as part of the cost. The first ability must fully resolve before you can roll your character die with Regenerate.

For example: I want to KO my Troll that has Regenerate and another character die to purchase one of my Flash Golem dice using its Fabricate. Fabricate: Characters with Fabricate will have 2 numbers (X-Y).  If you KO X characters with total purchase cost Y or more, you can purchase the die with Fabricate X-Y for free.” I would select my two character dice for Fabricate and purchase my Flesh Golem (placing the Flesh Golem die in the Used Pile). Once I have completed the Fabricate ability, I can then resolve the Regenerate on my Troll die. If the Troll successfully Regenerates, it returns to the Field on the rolled level. If it does not, it continues to the Prep Area. A successful Regenerate does not affect the use of Fabricate.

If a character die with Regenerate is KO’d while blocking, it will not return to the Attack Zone if it successfully Regenerates. It is placed in the Field Zone and is no longer blocking. If the attacking character has Overcrush, it will still apply the difference in damage to the defending player. You compare the difference between the attacker’s attack value the blocker’s defense value before it Regenerates, not after.

If an effect is placed on a die, if that die successfully Regenerates, it would retain the affects of that effect. For example: I use a Global to give my Troll the Villain affiliation until the end of the turn. In the same turn, my Troll die would be KO’d, but it instead Regenerates. The Troll keeps the Villain affiliation. This is because the die was never KO’d.

Regenerate is not an optional ability. If one of your dice with Regenerate would be KO’d, you must roll it to see if it returns as a character or is placed in the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Troll is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has the Equip icon.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #19 of 138.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find clarifications on Regenerate, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the Regenerate ability, but I’m not a huge fan of this card. I chose this particular card because it only has Regenerate and no other abilities, and I wanted to focus this article on the Regenerate keyword. Tarrasque: Epic Aberration, Troll: Apprentice Humanoid, Black Adam: Teth Adam, Lady Deadpool: Deadpool Family Values, and Zombie: Greater Undead all have fun and useful abilities that either work with Regenerate or they benefit from having Regenerate.

If you want your character dice to stay in the Field, finding a way to give them Regenerate could be highly beneficial. It’s not a guarantee that the die will return to the Field, but you don’t lose anything if they don’t because they still go to the Prep Area if they fail to Regenerate. I don’t feel like Regenerate is used near as much as it could be. That could be due to the lack of competitive cards with the keyword, or maybe folks just haven’t realized that it’s worth playing with from time to time.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m back! I hope that everyone had a wonderful holiday season and started the new year off in good spirits! Now, it’s back to work and back to my regularly scheduled Confusing Card of the Week articles. I want to start the year off with a monster that will hopefully keep the bad spirits away for the entire year!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Basilisk: Greater Monstrosity from the Dungeons and Dragons Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Basilisk, Greater Monstrosity

Ruling – Deadly Ability

WizKids Keywords page:
Deadly: Character dice that are engaged with a character die that has Deadly are KO’d at the end of the turn (even if the character with Deadly has been KO’d or leaves the Field Zone).

Supplemental Definition:
Engaged: A character blocking or being blocked is engaged with the opposing character.”

Any character die that blocks or is blocked by a character die with the Deadly keyword, will be KO’d at the end of the turn, during the Clean Up Step. This applies to all character dice that are engaged with a Deadly character die.

If the blocked/blocking character die with Deadly is KO’d or removed, the character dice that were engaged with it are still KO’d at the end of turn.

For Example:
I have a single level one Basilisk die in my Field Zone. If I attack with that die and it’s blocked by three character dice, all three of those dice will be KO’d at the end of turn. Even if my Basilisk die is KO’d, all three of those blocking character dice are still KO’d at the end of turn.

Ruling – Ability

Basilisk has an additional ability on its card that says:
“When Basilisk attacks, target opposing character die must block this turn (if able).”

This ability triggers for each individual Basilisk die that attacks, but only when they attack. When a Basilisk die attacks, it will target one opposing character die and that die must block the Basilisk die.

If an ability would prevent a character die from being able to block, then it does not block the Basilisk. This falls under the general game rule of “can’t beats can”, which means any ability that prevents something from happening will overrule an ability that tries to force it to happen.

The Basilisk’s ability does not prevent the opponent from choosing additional blockers. The opponent can choose other blockers to block the Basilisk aside from the forced blocker, but all the blockers will be KO’d at the end of turn because of the Deadly keyword on the Basilisk’s card.

This ability is not optional. If there are legal targets to choose from, the Basilisk must choose a target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Basilisk is a Bolt type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The Basilisk is a nasty dude. If you pull him in a draft or use him in a limited type event, he could be very problematic for your opponent. He can take out the biggest threat in your opponent’s field, thanks to the Deadly keyword. One downside to this guy is that your opponent will get the chance to reroll the guys you just KO’d on their next turn. When using the Basilisk to clear dice from the field, you want to be sure you’ll benefit from it without helping your opponent – if possible. Letting them reroll a Shriek or DWiz might not be a good idea, depending on what their targets were to begin with.

Basilisk is not expensive to buy, which makes him great for drafts. He’s also got decent defense overall, but that fielding cost is not the best for a character that’s likely going to need to be fielded a few different times in a game. I still think he’s a great draft pick, and possibly even decent for a limited format that uses only D&D sets. His fielding cost is what will likely keep him from seeing a lot of major meta play, but seeing him across from you is not out of the realm of possibility!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Yuan-Ti Pureblood: Epic Humanoid from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Yuan-Ti Pureblood, Epic Humanoid

Ruling – Attune Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:

Attune: While a character you control with Attune is active, when you use an action die, that character deals 1 damage to target player or character die (no matter how many of that character’s dice are active).”

Attune is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Attune triggers when you use any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die. Using a Continuous type action die requires you to place the die in the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool. If you activate a Continuous die’s ability from the Field Zone, this is not considered using it. For example, activating a Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” after it’s in the Field Zone is not considered to be the same as using it. Using it would be placing the Cold Gun die into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool.

While a character die with Attune is active, when you use an action die, the character die with Attune will deal one damage to a target character die or player. For example, if you have three Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone when you use an action die, your Yuan-ti Pureblood will deal only one damage total (not three damage) to a target character die or player.

Attune abilities are mandatory and not optional. When you have an active character with Attune and you use an action die, you must deal one damage to target player or character die, even if you would be forced to target one of your character dice or yourself.

Ruling – Ability

“While Yuan-ti Pureblood is active, when you purchase an action die, trigger the Attune ability of all active character dice.”

Yuan-ti Pureblood’s ability is a While Active ability. While you have at least one Yuan-ti Pureblood die in the Field Zone, you will trigger her ability when you purchase an action die. Her ability triggers when you purchase any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die.

When you purchase an action die while you have an active Yuan-ti Pureblood character die, you will trigger each character die’s Attune ability. Attune abilities will only trigger once for each character, regardless of how many of that character’s dice are in the Field Zone, because Attune is a While Active ability.

For example, if you have three Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone, and purchase an action die, you will trigger the Attune ability of your Yuan-ti Pureblood. You will deal one damage (not three damage) to target player or character die. This is because all three dice are from the same character – your Yuan-ti Pureblood. Her Attune ability can only be triggered once, per instance, while there are any of her dice active in the Field Zone. If you were to purchase another action die, you would trigger her Attune ability a second time and deal one damage again.

This ability will also trigger the Attune ability on your opponent’s character dice. If your opponent has the same Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone, you still trigger her Attune ability as well as yours, because the two character cards are considered to be different characters. One is your Yuan-ti Pureblood, and the other is your opponent’s Yuan-ti Pureblood, making them different characters for game effects such as this ability.

If you trigger an opponent’s Attune ability, you do not get to choose the target of that ability because you are not in control of the ability. Triggering an ability is not the same as controlling or using the ability.

Yuan-ti Pureblood’s ability is mandatory. If you purchase an action die while she’s active, you must trigger the Attune abilities on all active character dice with Attune.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Yuan-ti Pureblood is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Monster affiliation and the Evil alignment.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Super Rare and is #132 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Yuan-ti Pureblood: Epic Humanoid, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Yuan-ti Pureblood is great for action centered teams, but if your opponent is using characters with Attune, her ability could become a nuisance for you. Her ability is still great and definitely worth trying out. She only cost two energy to purchase, but she can be blasted out of the Field Zone very easily. She’s got a defense of one on level one and level two, making her an easy target for Unstable Canister‘s Global. Her level three side is slightly safer with a defense of three, but she still falls victim to uncommon and rare Cold Guns.

I think she’ll be fun in casual play with the Satchel teams I’ve seen floating around, and she might even have a place in the major competitive meta, even though she could be troublesome against a similar team. I’m not sure I’d recommend using her as a main win condition in a draft, only because there are plenty of other characters out there with Attune and her ability could cost you in the end. But at the same time, because she’s so inexpensive, she could allow you to race your opponent to victory!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Red Dragon: Greater Dragon  from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

red-dragon-greater-dragon

Ruling – Keyword and Ability

Red Dragon has the Breath Weapon Keyword. Breath Weapons have a number with them, like the Breath Weapon 2 on Red Dragon: Greater Dragon. When you attack with any number of Red Dragon dice, you can pay two energy (any type of energy) to have your Red Dragon deal two damage to your opponent and each of their dice in the Field Zone.

You can’t use a Breath Weapon for each individual Red Dragon die because Breath Weapon acts as a While Active ability. While Active abilities act like a light – either they’re on, or they’re off. Breath Weapons are also once per turn, per character abilities. If you have three Red Dragons, two Blue Dragons, and one Green Dragon, you will only be able to activate each Breath Weapon once for a total of three Breath Weapons.

Breath Weapons are activated when the die attacks, so the damage will happen before blockers are assigned. If a character is KO’d from Breath Weapon damage, they go to the Prep Area before the Assign Blockers part of the Attack Step, meaning they can’t be assigned as a blocker.

Red Dragon has an additional effect and this particular one relates to his Breath Weapon. It says that you can pay two life instead of paying two energy to activate your Red Dragon’s Breath Weapon. Paying life is not the same as taking damage, so any abilities on other characters that redirect damage or reduce damage will not have any interaction with this ability.

Ruling – Global

Red Dragon has a Global ability that says, once per turn, you can pay a Bolt energy and when you purchase your next Action Die, it costs two less and you deal one damage to your opponent.

Red Dragon’s Global does not limit you to only Basic Action Dice. You may use this ability to reduce the cost of Non-Basic Action Dice as well. When you reduce the cost of any die, unless the card specifically says so, you must always pay at least one energy to buy it.

The damage part of the Global only happens if you purchase an Action Die after using the Global. You must purchase the Action Die in order to deal the damage, and the damage is not optional. If you purchase the Action Die, you must do the damage.

This type of Global allows you to pay a Bolt energy for the effect, which you can choose to use at any time during your turn, but you are not required to purchase an Action Die.

Red Dragon’s Global says that you may only use it once per turn. If you and your opponent both have a Red Dragon on your teams, you can use each of the Globals because they are considered to be different Globals.

Affiliations and Types

Red Dragon: Greater Dragon is a Bolt Character and has the Monster and Evil affiliations.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
R
ed Dragon Breath Weapon use.

~  I have two level one Red Dragon dice (5/5) and one level three Red Dragon die (8/8) in the Field Zone and two Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (
Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign all three Red Dragon dice to attack. I must use my Red Dragon’s Breath Weapon when I assign them to attack.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I spend the two Fist energy (moving them Out of Play) for Red Dragon’s Breath Weapon. Red Dragon deals two damage to all my opponent’s characters in the Field Zone and any that are KO’d go to the Prep Area. My opponent takes two damage from the Breath Weapon.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent can now assign blockers if they have any characters in the Field Zone after the Breath Weapon damage is dealt. My opponent uses a level three Oracle (2/5) to block a level three Red Dragon dice.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My blocked Red Dragon deals eight damage to Oracle, who only has three defense left, which will KO her and send her to the Prep Area. My other two Red Dragon dice deal their total of ten damage directly to my opponent.

Example Two:
Red Dragon Global normal use.

~ (Main Step) I have a Bolt energy and a Wild energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I spend a Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play) to use Red Dragon’s Global.
~ (Main Step) I can now purchase an Action Die at any time during my Main Step for two less, and deal one damage to my opponent when I do.
~ (Main Step) I spend the Wild energy (placing it Out of Play) to purchase one of my Polymorph dice (placing it in the Used Pile) and my opponent takes one damage.

Example Three:
Red Dragon Global on both teams.

~ (Main Step) I have two Bolt energy and two Wild energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play) to use my opponent’s Red Dragon Global.
~ (Main Step) I can now purchase an Action Die at any time during my Main Step for two less, and deal one damage to my opponent when I do.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Wild energy (placing it Out of Play) to purchase one of my Polymorph dice (placing it in the Used Pile) and my opponent takes one damage.
~ (Main Step) I spend my last Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play) to use my Red Dragon’s Global.
~ (Main Step) I can now purchase an Action Die at any time during my Main Step for two less, and deal one damage to my opponent when I do.
~ (Main Step) I spend my last Wild energy (placing it Out of Play) to purchase one of my Kryptonite: Green Death dice (placing it in the Used Pile) and my opponent takes one damage.

Example Four:
Red Dragon Global without purchasing an Action Die.

~ (Main Step) I have a Bolt energy and a Wild energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I spend a Bolt energy (placing it Out of Play) to use Red Dragon’s Global.
~ (Main Step) I can now purchase an Action Die at any time during my Main Step for two less, and deal one damage to my opponent when I do.
~ (Main Step) I pass priority to my opponent. They don’t have anything they want to do, so they pass priority back. I decide not to do anything else during my Main Step, which will advance my turn into my Attack Step if I choose to attack. If not, my turn skips my Attack Step and advances into the Clean Up Step.
~ (Clean Up Step) I decide not to attack, so my turn enters the Clean Up Step.
Because I didn’t buy an Action Die, my opponent will not take damage.

Official Sources

The official ruling for using the same Once Per Turn Globals can be found here.
The official ruling on Red Dragon’s Global damage can be found here.

Page 17 of the Battle For Faerûn rulebook – Shorthand Card Abilities under the Breath Weapon X, it explains in detail about Breath Weapon abilities.

Page 26 of the Faerun Under Siege rulebook – Lexicon under Breath Weapon, it gives a brief description of Breath Weapon.

Competitive Play Rating

This card is a key component for any competitive team that uses Action Dice as major parts of the team. This isn’t a die you want to purchase, unless something weird happens; this is a card that you bring for the Global. Even if your team isn’t Action heavy, you may want to add Red Dragon to help you get that Polymorph or Big Entrance while getting an extra point of damage in too. It’s particularly useful if you’re playing Vicious Struggle and get to go first. That dishes out two damage total and gets you two Vicious Struggle dice on your first turn, which is just ridiculous (provided you and your opponent both have the Global).

Red Dragon: Greater Dragon gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I love any of the Red Dragon versions for casual play. Casual play actually sees more purchases of high cost characters like these, and they’re all unique to play style. I really like that they all have something different that they can do, but I love that they all offer the same awesome Global. That’s a major plus for me. Sure, the fielding costs are a little on the beefy side, but it’s not a huge deal for casual play where you’re buying dudes like this. The Global is a great teaching tool for Once per Turn Globals when you both have the Global. I love this card for both competitive and casual play and recommend it for any team that would possibly purchase Action Dice.

Red Dragon: Greater Dragon gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!