Posts Tagged ‘Experience’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Tabaxi Rogue: Greater Lords’ Alliance  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Tabaxi Rogue, Greater Lords' Alliance

Ruling – Experience Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Experience: While a character die with Experience is active, if you KO’d an opposing monster (as noted by the black Monster allegiance banner) during your turn, place one Experience Token on this character die’s card at the end of your turn. Each Experience Token provides each of this card’s dice with +1A and +1D (at each level). A card can only gain 1 Experience Token per turn (unless otherwise stated). Multiple cards can each gain an Experience Token during the same turn. An opposing player KOing their own Monster will not generate Experience Tokens.”

Experience is a keyword ability that functions like a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Experience allows the character(s) with the keyword to gain an Experience Token if at least one opposing Monster (represented by the black Monster Flag) was KO’d during your turn. You can use almost any type of gaming token to represent Experience Tokens. I use a regular die (D6 or D8 usually) but some folks like to use glass beads.

Each Experience Token on a character’s card grants the character dice a +1A and +1D.

KO’ing your own Monsters or Monsters KO’d during your opponent’s turn will not grant you an Experience Token.

You cannot gain more than one Experience Token on any one character card each turn, but multiple characters can each gain an Experience Token.

A character that leaves the Field Zone does not lose their Experience Tokens. Experience Tokens are not removed unless a card or game effect would remove them.

Characters with Experience do not need to be the character that KO’s a Monster; they only need to be active in the Field when the Monster gets KO’d.

Experience Tokens are placed on the characters at the end of turn, so if a character with Experience is KO’d or unblocked, they are no longer active at the end of turn to receive an Experience Token.

Characters with Experience are typically considered Adventurers – though there are several exceptions. Those characters state that they are not Adventurers on their card.

Ruling – Ability

When fielded, move target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone to the Used Pile.”

A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Tabaxi Rogue die, you will move a target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone and place it into the Used Pile.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

If fielding the Tabaxi Rogue’s die triggers a trap, the active player resolves the Tabaxi Rogue’s ability, then the Trap will be able to resolve.

Ruling – Equip Icon

The Tabaxi Rogue has the Equip icon, meaning it can be equipped with Gear.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Equip: When this die is fielded, and at the beginning of each turn that this die is active (any player’s turn), you may attach this die to a character with the Equip icon immediately below their alignment icon. You may switch the attachment from one character die to another. If the character die the equipped die leaves the Field Zone, the equipped die remains in the Field Zone (unattached). As with all non-character dice, Gear dice can’t attack or block.”

When a character that has Gear attached to it leaves the Field Zone, the Gear stays in the Field Zone. It will stay unattached until you could attach it to another character.

If a character would lose the Equip Icon, the Gear would become unattached and stay in the Field Zone until such a time you could attach it to a legal target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Tabaxi Rogue is a Mask type character card.
~ It has the Lords’ Alliance affiliation and has a Neutral alignment.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #83 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card but there is a relevant ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I absolutely disagree with the ruling on Skeleton Key vs Green Devil Mask. The conditions of using a trap require you to send it to the Used Pile. If it’s already there, it shouldn’t be able to resolve if it’s later in the queue. Sorry – Bad ruling in my opinion. But it’s what WORF says and that’s how it must be ruled.

I still like this version of the Tabaxi Rogue for removing all the silly and obnoxious traps that are out there. But you have to dedicate a slot to the Tabaxi Rogue and that takes up a slot something else could go in. Since Traps are not a huge deal in regular constructed play, I can’t see myself slotting this character in for that. It’s a great card for a limited format that uses the Tomb of Annihilation set and I wouldn’t play without it if that’s the case.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Kobold Trap: Greater Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Kobold Trap, Greater Trap

Ruling – Keywords and Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent fields an Adventurer character die.
Effect: Purchase one of your character dice with Swarm for free and place it into your bag.”

Keyword Definitions

Kobold Trap has the Trap keyword.  WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

The definition for Adventurer can be found on the Keywords page:
Adventurer: Any character with the Experience ability.

How To Use/Trigger This Trap

When you use a Trap die, you place it into the Field Zone. This is considered ‘using’ it for card abilities that reference using an action die. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability can remove an action die.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

When an opponent fields any Adventurer character die, you will trigger all of your Kobold Traps in the Field Zone. For each of your Kobold Traps that are triggered, you can purchase a character die for free, so long as it has the Swarm keyword.

The die you purchase must be from one of your cards, and the die is free, meaning you do not need to spend any energy.

After you purchase the character die, you must put that die into your bag.

Kobold Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Kobold Trap.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Kobold Trap is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #74 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I think this card is great if you use it within the set, or even in a limited Dungeons and Dragons event. All three D&D sets are loaded with great Adventurer cards so it’s likely you would get some use from this card within the D&D IP. I’m not certain it’ll be used much outside of limited constructed or sealed/draft type events though. The major meta doesn’t have any highly used Adventurers except for Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim and I’ve seen less of him with the emergence of Shriek: Sonic Beam. I wouldn’t write this card off yet, especially if we see the increase use of an Adventurer card.

We have a limited constructed event coming up this Saturday and the only legal cards for the event are ones from the D&D sets. I’ve been looking at this card for my team so I can use some of the more expensive Swarm characters, like my Stirge: Epic Beast.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I don’t get many requests for specific cards, but when I do, I feature them as soon as possible. Today, we’re going to take a look at Gnome Ranger, Master Lords’ Alliance from the Dungeons and Dragons Faerûn Under Siege Starter Set.

Gnome Ranger, Master Lords' Alliance

Ruling – Experience Ability

Gnome Ranger has the Experience keyword. Experience is a While Active ability, which only works if you have at least one of that character’s dice in the Field Zone. Experience allows the character(s) with the keyword to gain an Experience Token if at least one opposing Monster (represented by the black Monster Flag) was KO’d during your turn. You can use almost any type of gaming token to represent Experience Tokens. I use a regular die (D6 or D8 usually) but some folks like to use glass beads.

Each Experience Token on a character’s card grants the character dice a +1A and +1D.

KO’ing your own Monsters or Monsters KO’d during your opponent’s turn will not grant you an Experience Token.

You cannot gain more than one Experience Token on any one character card each turn, but multiple characters can each gain an Experience Token.

A character that leaves the Field Zone does not lose their Experience Tokens. Experience Tokens are not removed unless a card or game effect would remove them.

Characters with Experience do not need to be the character that KO’s a Monster; they only need to be active in the Field to see the Monster get KO’d.

Experience Tokens are placed on the characters at the end of turn, so if a character with Experience is KO’d or unbloked, they are no longer active at the end of turn to receive an Experience Token.

Characters with Experience are typically considered Adventurers – though there are several exceptions. Those characters state that they are not Adventurers on their card.

Ruling – Ability

Aside from Experience, Gnome Ranger has another ability. It says that as your Gnome Ranger is active, your other attacking character dice gain +1A until end of turn. While Active abilities work like a light switch – they are either on, or off. It does not matter how many Gnome Ranger dice you have in the Field Zone, your other attacking character dice will only gain +1A until end of turn.

This ability only works while your other character dice are attacking. Your character dice will not get a bonus from Gnome Ranger if they’re blocking or just sitting in the Field Zone.

Your Gnome Ranger dice do not need to be attacking to give your other attacking character dice the +1A until end of turn. The attack bonus does not get applied to the attackers until after they are assigned to attack.

Official Sources

There are not any official rulings for this specific card.
You can find some information on Experience here.

Competitive Play Rating

I like this card, and if it wasn’t for Bard being such a huge meta card, I think this card would see a little more competitive play. It’s so nice to have a character that can sit back in the Field Zone and buff your attackers, unlike the Bard that gives the buffs while it attacks. The Gnome Ranger could have problems if you come across Scarecrow, Legion of Doom and you’re using low base attack characters. It’s level three fielding cost is not ideal for how low it’s defense is. With Bard so prevalent in the meta, the Gnome Ranger won’t see higher than a two star rating from me for competitive play. It’s a good card, just not good enough to make it’s way into the major competitive meta.

Gnome Ranger, Master Lords’ Alliance gets a competitive play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Now, for casual settings, this card has the best opportunity to shine. Its buff ability is not overly complicated, but does require strategy at times. This card has the potential to be a great teaching tool about attacking since it does need to be attacking to buff the other dice. It’s also a very inexpensive die to purchase and can be a heavy hitter on it’s level three side. This is a wonderful card for any beginner and it’s even great for the more advanced casual player. I would absolutely recommend this card to any casual player of any skill level. Gnome Ranger can definitely find its way onto some casual teams.

Gnome Ranger, Master Lords’ Alliance gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and DiceMastersDB for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!