Posts Tagged ‘Fist Character’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Tyrannosaurus Zombie: Lesser Undead  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Tyrannosaurus Zombie, Lesser Undead

Ruling – Ability

When fielded, field all Zombie character dice in your Used Pile at level 2.

A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Tyrannosaurus Zombie die, you will take all the Zombie character dice from your Used Pile and field them on their level two face. The Zombie dice can only have “Zombie” as their title, and nothing else. You would not be able to field a “Tyrannosaurus Zombie” at level two with this card’s ability, because the title contains an additional word. This card will only check the title of the card that the dice came from, and not the subtitle, affiliation, or any other part of the card.

When you field the Zombie dice from your Used Pile with the Tyrannosaurus Zombie’s ability, each of those Zombie dice will trigger any abilities that check for a character or character die being ‘Fielded’.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Tyrannosaurus Zombie is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Neutral alignment.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #47 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I chose this card because I’ve actually had someone ask about it recently. And also, it’s Halloween! I had to pick a monster, zombie, vampire, or some kind of Halloween themed card.

Okay, so lots of folks (including myself), really wanted this card to function like the Half-Dragon in this ruling, here. But honestly, I knew deep down that it wasn’t going to be like that – regardless of how much I wanted it. They did capitalize the name ‘Zombie’ on the card, so that was what tipped me off that it wasn’t like Half-Dragon.

As much fun as it would be to flood the field with a bunch of level two Zombies, I don’t think this card is worth its cost of six – at least not in a competitive type format. Now, for fun monster theme games, or Halloween theme games, this card is awesome! Luckily, you don’t need to buy all four of the Tyrannosaurus Zombie dice for it to be fun and useful in a casual game. I’d use Tyrannosaurus Zombie with the Zombie: Lesser Undead from the TOA set. He says, “When Zombie KOs an NPC character die, choose one: (1) Field a Zombie character die in your Used Pile at level 2. (2) Spin all of your active Zombie character Dice up 1 level.” You can use a force block ability, or a force attack ability, on a Sidekick and use your level two Zombie to KO it. Then you can choose to spin your Zombies up a level, since they’re probably all in the Field Zone already. I encourage folks to have a Halloween or Monster Mash event and try out some of these cards!

Happy Halloween and Happy Nightmare Night!

happy-nightmare-night

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ant-Man: Through the Cracks  from the Marvel Justice Like Lightning Team Pack.

W Ant-Man, Through the Cracks

Ruling – Amplify Keyword Ability

“Amplify: When you use an action die, spin this character up 1 level.”

Amplify will trigger when you use any kind of action die. Using a Continuous action die, a Trap, Gear, or any other action die that remains in the Field Zone or elsewhere in play (ex: Imprisoned) will also trigger Amplify, but only when those dice are moved from the Reserve Pool. Activating a Continuous action die’s ability in the Field Zone is not the same as using the die and it will not trigger the Amplify ability.

Anytime you use an action die, each character die with Amplify in the Field Zone will spin up one level (if able).

If the character die is already at its maximum level, then the character die will not be able to use Amplify and will not be able to spin up. Effects that trigger from a die spinning up will not be triggered if the die does not spin up.

If you use more than one action die in a turn, a character die with Amplify will spin up one level each time. Example: I use Thrown Brick and resolve it’s effect. My level one Ant-Man will spin up to level two. I then use Big Entrance and resolve its effect. My level two Ant-Man now spins to up to level three. Because Ant-Man is now level three, if I use any more action dice, he will not spin up any more.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ant-Man is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Thunderbolts and Avengers affiliations.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #2 of 24.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the idea of using this Ant-Man with some actions that give him Overcrush or makes him unblockable. He looks like he’d be lots of fun in Golden Age, but not sure if he’s viable yet in Modern Age. Fielding him on level one or two and then spinning him to level three doesn’t seem like a stretch for a fun casual team and his stats aren’t terrible for an attacker. His defense is not good at all, but defense isn’t that important for an attacker, unless you want that attacker to survive being blocked. A character with high attack and low defense is great to give Overcrush to.

This Ant-Man uses the exact same die as the one from Uncanny X-Men, so if your local venue is okay with it, you could substitute the dice or add more without having to purchase another Team Pack. Check with your TO first!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Triceraton: Loyal to a Fault  from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell set.

W 48 Triceraton, Loyal to a Fault

Ruling – Overcrush Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Overcrush: When attacking, if this character KOs all of its blockers (or they are removed for other reasons), it deals any remaining damage to your opponent.”

An attacking character die must have been blocked by another character die for it to deal its combat damage as ‘Overcrush damage’. If the attacker was not blocked, the damage is not ‘Overcrush damage’. Overcrush damage isn’t a different type of damage, just a different means of how combat damage is being dealt.

If the character dice blocking the attacker are KO’d by the attacker’s combat damage, the remaining damage is dealt to the opponent. For example: If I attack with a level three Triceraton and my opponent blocks with two 1A/1D Sidekick dice, my Triceraton can deal one damage to each Sidekick die to KO them and then deal the remaining three damage to my opponent.

If the blocker(s) are KO’d or removed before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, the attacker will deal it’s full attack value in combat damage to the defending player. For example: I attack with my level three Triceraton and my opponent blocks with a 1A/1D Sidekick die. I use the Global on Unstable Canister to deal one damage to the blocking Sidekick die. Because my Triceraton was blocked and it’s blocker is no longer blocking the Triceraton, it deals its full attack value of five to my opponent.

All character dice that are blocking an attacking die with Overcrush must be KO’d or removed in order for the attacker to deal any Overcrush damage to the defending player.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Triceraton is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Villain affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #48 of 58.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find some Overcrush rulings here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I really wanted to cover Overcrush again, because I’ve recently heard players saying that the blockers have to be KO’d before you can do Overcrush damage. That’s only partly correct. As long as the blocker(s) is KO’d or removed as a blocker, the attacker gets its Overcrush. Removed blockers usually enable an attacking die with Overcrush to deal their full attack value to the defending player, which is a major benefit of removing those blockers as opposed to letting them get KO’d by the attacker. It really bothers me when folks leave out that part about removing blockers, because it’s part of the ability description.

Overcrush is a nasty and effective ability. I love Overcrush and I build around it when I’m able to do so. I usually try to use characters that have additional abilities or abilities that compliment their Overcrush. Using a character that only has Overcrush, like this Triceraton, is not something I would recommend. I only chose this card for this week so I could focus on Overcrush.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Troll: Minion Humanoid  from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

W 19 Troll, Minion Humanoid

Ruling – Keyword Ability

Regenerate (reroll when knocked out)”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Regenerate: If this character would be KO’d, roll it. If you roll a character face, return it to the field on the rolled face (but not the Attack Zone). Otherwise, move the die to your Prep Area.”

Regenerate is considered to be a KO replacement effect. This means that if a character would be KO’d and you roll a character face, it is not KO’d and returns to the Field Zone on the face that was rolled, and all damage is cleared from that die. If the character fails to Regenerate because it rolled onto an energy face, the die is considered to be KO’d and placed in the Prep Area.

If an ability would require you to KO a character die as part of a cost, such as Fabricate or Enlistment, you may select a character die with Regenerate as part of the cost. The first ability must fully resolve before you can roll your character die with Regenerate.

For example: I want to KO my Troll that has Regenerate and another character die to purchase one of my Flash Golem dice using its Fabricate. Fabricate: Characters with Fabricate will have 2 numbers (X-Y).  If you KO X characters with total purchase cost Y or more, you can purchase the die with Fabricate X-Y for free.” I would select my two character dice for Fabricate and purchase my Flesh Golem (placing the Flesh Golem die in the Used Pile). Once I have completed the Fabricate ability, I can then resolve the Regenerate on my Troll die. If the Troll successfully Regenerates, it returns to the Field on the rolled level. If it does not, it continues to the Prep Area. A successful Regenerate does not affect the use of Fabricate.

If a character die with Regenerate is KO’d while blocking, it will not return to the Attack Zone if it successfully Regenerates. It is placed in the Field Zone and is no longer blocking. If the attacking character has Overcrush, it will still apply the difference in damage to the defending player. You compare the difference between the attacker’s attack value the blocker’s defense value before it Regenerates, not after.

If an effect is placed on a die, if that die successfully Regenerates, it would retain the affects of that effect. For example: I use a Global to give my Troll the Villain affiliation until the end of the turn. In the same turn, my Troll die would be KO’d, but it instead Regenerates. The Troll keeps the Villain affiliation. This is because the die was never KO’d.

Regenerate is not an optional ability. If one of your dice with Regenerate would be KO’d, you must roll it to see if it returns as a character or is placed in the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Troll is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has the Equip icon.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #19 of 138.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find clarifications on Regenerate, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the Regenerate ability, but I’m not a huge fan of this card. I chose this particular card because it only has Regenerate and no other abilities, and I wanted to focus this article on the Regenerate keyword. Tarrasque: Epic Aberration, Troll: Apprentice Humanoid, Black Adam: Teth Adam, Lady Deadpool: Deadpool Family Values, and Zombie: Greater Undead all have fun and useful abilities that either work with Regenerate or they benefit from having Regenerate.

If you want your character dice to stay in the Field, finding a way to give them Regenerate could be highly beneficial. It’s not a guarantee that the die will return to the Field, but you don’t lose anything if they don’t because they still go to the Prep Area if they fail to Regenerate. I don’t feel like Regenerate is used near as much as it could be. That could be due to the lack of competitive cards with the keyword, or maybe folks just haven’t realized that it’s worth playing with from time to time.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Wrecker: Enchanted Crowbar  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Wrecker, Enchanted Crowbar

Ruling – Ability

“While Wrecker is active, players can only use the Global Abilities of active characters.”

Wrecker’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While there is at least one Wrecker die in the Field Zone, players can’t use any Global unless it’s on a character that’s active in the Field Zone.

This ability applies to all players, and is not an optional ability. If a Wrecker die is active, his ability is in effect and applies to all players.

Players can not use the Global abilities on Actions. Wrecker specifically states that players can only use the Globals on active ‘characters’. Continuous action dice are not characters.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Wrecker is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #128 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Wrecker, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I understand why folks may have been confused about Wrecker’s ability, given WizKids track record. For example – The Bifrost. I had been putting off featuring Wrecker because I thought they might errata him, and it wasn’t until Mr. DDK brought him up again that I decided to go ahead and feature him – potential errata or no. Luckily for me, WizKids answered a question about him earlier in the week that matches my initial ruling for Wrecker. Now I’m kicking myself for not posting the article sooner.

Wrecker has a really great ability that someone can easily build around. There are lots of popular Globals on actions that would be rendered useless when he hits the Field. Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard, True Believer, Unstable Canister, Villainous Pact, and Resurrection to name a few. Even with rotation that was just announced, most of those are still Modern Age legal, with the exception of True Believer. There is a similar Global on Odin’s Fury. And now, if someone brought Heimdall or Ra’s al Ghul only for their Globals, they’re gonna have to buy those dice and get the characters active in order to use them.

In Golden Age formats, this guy is a beast. He stops BEWD, Red Dragon, PXG, and all those utility type Globals on characters unless the player buys those dice. Wrecker is gonna wreck someone’s day if they aren’t prepared to deal with him. He can be easily dealt with, with a Shriek or DWiz. But, if someone is wasting a control resource on him, they aren’t using it on something more important – like a win condition.

Wrecker’s purchase cost is only four energy, he has a fielding cost of one on all levels, and his lowest defense is three. That’s actually really good for he does and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him pop up in a competitive event somewhere. He may not fit every team, but there are teams that he can work well on. And don’t be surprised to see him in casual events either. He’s a great card that’s not getting the love he deserves.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Casey Jones: Lunatic Vigilante from the first Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles box set.

W 12 Casey Jones, Lunatic Vigilante

Ruling – Ability

Casey Jones has an ability that says he cannot be blocked by Sidekicks or Villain character dice. This ability works only when Casey Jones is attacking and it applies to each of his attacking character dice.

A die can be given the Villain affiliation through a card effect, and that would make that die unable to block. This will only work if the die is given the Villain affiliation during the Main Step, before Casey Jones attacks. If a character die is given the Villain affiliation after they are assigned as a blocker, it will have no effect on that die being able to block.

Character dice with the Ally Keyword cannot block Casey Jones because they are considered to be Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Villain Affiliation

The Villain affiliation has two different affiliation icons. One is a red Hydra logo, commonly found in Marvel sets. The other is a stylized V, commonly found in DC sets and the TMNT sets. There have been Marvel sets that featured the V on their Villain cards.

Marvel Villain Affiliation     DC Villain Affiliation

Both of these symbols have the exact same meaning and are interchangeable. If a card has the V in the text box, like Casey Jones, it applies to characters with the Hydra logo as well.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Casey Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ He does not have an affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #12 of 58.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card, but you can find the cross-IP terminology, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like characters that can’t be blocked because it puts pressure on your opponent to find a way to stay alive long enough to get their team to go off. I like Casey Jones because he’s a cheaper character with a good ability, and his stats aren’t terrible. I like using him and characters like him as a back up, in case my original plan goes wrong or doesn’t work. He tends to scare some folks when they’re using mostly Villains and Sidekicks/Allies. There are also Globals that can make a character die into a Villain so they can’t block. He’s best paired with a Global like the one on Lantern Power Ring: Energy Projection in Golden Age. For Modern Age, you have to use the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, because it’s the only card with a Global that grants the Villain affiliation. It works, but not as well because it requires a Mask and Fist energy where all the other Villain making Globals require one energy.

He seems fun to pair with Batwoman: Code of Honor. You make him a Villain and both of them are practically unblockable while attacking together. It’s a combo I’ve been thinking about and I hope to put it into action soon to see if it works well enough in a casual setting.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Colossus: Armored Up from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Colossus, Armored Up

Ruling – Ability

Colossus has a When Attacks ability. This type of ability will trigger only when the character’s die is assigned as an attacker and will also trigger from each of that character’s attacking dice. For example: I attack with two Colossus dice. Each die trigger’s the When Attacks ability.

Colossus’s ability says that when his die attacks, any character that would be assigned to block, must first take two damage.

This ability has a very odd timing window in regards to how the Attack Step works. In the Attack Step, you assign your attackers first and after each attacker has been assigned, any When Attacks abilities will trigger. This is where Colossus’s ability will trigger. However, the damage will not be dealt at this time.

After assigning attackers, blockers are assigned. Because of Colossus’s ability, before a character die can be assigned to block, it must first take two damage. The defending player will choose a character die that they want to assign as a blocker, but before assigning that die, it’s dealt two damage. If the die survives the two damage, the defending player can then assign it to an attacking character die as a blocker.

Damage accumulates on character dice and when they have accumulated damage equal to or greater than their defense, the die is KO’d. Damage does not reduce the character die’s defense value.

Colossus’s ability does not target and it does not deal damage to all dice in the Field Zone. It only affects a die that would be assigned as a blocker – not dice that could be assigned as blockers.

Colossus’s ability is not optional. It automatically triggers when he attacks and will automatically affect any die that would later be assigned as a blocker.

Colossus’s damage will happen before the blocker can be assigned. When Blocks abilities will not trigger until the character that’s being assigned to block has survived the damage from Colossus and is then assigned as a blocker.

Character dice that are being assigned as blockers do not need to block Colossus specifically. His ability says it affects any character die that would be assigned to block – meaning his ability would affect a die that is being assigned to block any attacking character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Colossus is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the X-Men affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #89 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Attacking with two Colossus dice.

Game State
~ I have two level one Colossus dice (5A/5D) in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a Sidekick and a level two character with 1A/6D in the Field Zone.
~ I am entering into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my two Colossus dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Colossus’ When Attacks ability is triggered. Damage is not done to any dice yet.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent chooses to block with their Sidekick and their other character die, but before they can be assigned as blockers, they must each take two damage from each Colossus die.
~ The Sidekick takes four damage and is KO’d. My opponent places the die in their Prep Area.
~ Their other character die (1A/6D) will also take four damage, two from each Colossus die. Their character is not KO’d and can now be assigned as a blocker.
~ My opponent assigns their remaining character to block one of my Colossus dice. They move their blocker to the Attack Zone and place it in front of the attacking Colossus they want to block.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ My blocked Colossus die will assign five damage to the character die blocking it. That character has previously accumulated four damage and it will be KO’d.
~ The blocking character assigns one damage to the Colossus it’s blocking. This is not enough to KO my Colossus die.
~ My unblocked Colossus die will deal five damage to my opponent’s life total and then move Out of Play.
(Clean Up)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. My opponent’s blocker will be moved to their Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone. My Colossus die will be removed from the Attack Zone and placed back into the area labeled as the Field Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Mr. DDK brought this card up to me in a conversation a week or so ago. I thought is was a very interesting card and I realized just how weird and confusing his ability could be. While I like this ability, it could be a problem against certain characters that have abilities that trigger from them being damaged, like Babs, Hulk, or cards with the Vengeance Keyword. This is definitely not my type of card, but Mr. DDK thought it was kinda neat. It practically shuts down the Sidekick blocker walls.

I don’t think this card has a place in the major metas, mainly because of his cost, but also largely because his ability could backfire on you if your opponent has a card like Babs (which is very popular!). I would love to see someone come up with an interesting use for this card and if you do or you already have, please feel free to share!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

17 Jessica Jones, Ladies' Night

Ruling – Ability

Although her ability doesn’t say it, it acts as a While Active ability. You can find that ruling here. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Jessica Jones says that whenever one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, she will get +1A and +1D. Her ability is not limited to opposing Globals and character abilities. If you target one of your own character dice, including a Jessica Jones die, her ability will trigger. Her ability does not target, so she would not get additional bonuses from her ability triggering.

Her ability will trigger each time one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, and not just once in a turn.

When Jessica Jones’s ability is triggered, it will apply to each of her dice that are active at the time it was triggered.

Action dice abilities can affect Jessica Jones and characters friendly to her without triggering her ability. Targeting her, or a character friendly to her, with a Global on an Action card will trigger her ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jessica Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Jessica Jones and a friendly character targeted during my opponent’s Main Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level one Shredder: Dining on Turtle Soup in their Reserve Pool and two Bolt energy.
~ It’s during their Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays one energy, sending it Out of Play, to field Shredder.
~ They use Shredder’s ability and target my Sidekick, which is now KO’d and placed in the Prep Area and I lose one life.
~ Because a character die I control was targeted by a character ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My opponent spends their last Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, for the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card. They target my Jessica Jones die.
~ My Jessica Jones die takes one damage from the Global ability, but because a character die that I control was targeted by a Global ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +2A/+2D, making her attack an 8 and her defense a 5. But because that die has taken one damage this turn, she can only take 4 more damage before she’s KO’d.
~ My opponent passes priority to me, but I choose to not use any Globals. I return priority and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns Shredder to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I assign Jessica Jones to block Shredder, moving her die to the Attack Zone in front of Shredder.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Shredder assigns his four damage to Jessica Jones’s remaining defense of four.
~ Jessica Jones assigns her eight damage to Shredder’s defense of four.
~ Both characters are KO’d.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Two:
Jessica Jones die targeted during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. I also have one Fist energy and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent doesn’t have any characters in the Field Zone and no energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ None of my characters stats have been altered.
~ We’re moving into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Jessica Jones die and my Sidekick die to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not assign any blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I spend one Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones takes one damage and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my opponent’s Haymaker Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones gets a +1A from the Haymaker Global and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of a Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +3A/+2D making her attack a 9 and her defense a 5.
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Both of my character dice are unblocked. They each deal their attack directly to my opponent.
~ My opponent is dealt 10 damage and both of my character dice are immediately placed Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities that need the character to be active, but the card doesn’t say While Active, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Out of all the cards in the Defenders Team Pack, this Jessica Jones and Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm are the only cards I like. I went straight for Iron Fist instead of test playing Jessica Jones because I loved his ability. But after playing with him a little and trying to make him work, I think Jessica Jones is the route I need to go.

When playing a card like this, you want to bring Globals that tempt your opponent into using them on your dudes, like Unstable Canister. They can target Jessica Jones as much as they want, but unless they have some other way to deal her damage, she won’t get KO’d by Canister Global strikes alone. Using Haymaker isn’t a bad idea either – or Goliath if you want to use a different Basic Action besides Haymaker. You don’t have to rely on your opponent to use Globals/character abilities on your characters. You could just pump her up on your own and then give her Overcrush for those potential blockers. You could make her unblockable with an ability like the on Silver Sable: Hero for Hire. And because it targets, it buffs her stats too.

For the competitive scenes, I think she might fall just short of being a top tier card. It’s not her purchase cost that’s the issue – I think it’s very reasonable for her ability and stats. There is way too many Cold Guns out there that can take her out. Her ability doesn’t trigger off of Action abilities, just Globals and character abilities. But even if it did trigger off of Action abilities, a Cold Gun shuts her down before she attacks. You would need to put pressure on your opponent with multiple Jessica Jones dice, which can be difficult since she cost five to purchase.

I don’t think she’s too overpowered on her own for a casual setting, but I would be mindful of what your other locals are playing.

I like this card and I think she’s probably the best card in the Team Pack. I can’t wait to give her a go this week! I might even pair her with some of this crazy new Batman stuff. And just because I don’t think she’s good enough for meta competitive play, doesn’t mean I won’t try her!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Luke Cage: Harlem Raised  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

22 Luke Cage, Harlem Raised

Ruling – Ability

Luke Cage’s ability triggers only when he is blocked. When he’s blocked, you may reroll him and if he rerolls into a character face, he gains Overcrush. If he rerolls into energy, you put him on his level one face and place him into the Field Zone and he will no longer be attacking.

Luke Cage’s ability says that you may reroll him if he’s blocked. This ability is optional, meaning if he’s blocked, you aren’t required to reroll him. If he’s blocked and you decide to reroll him, he will remain on the character face that you rerolled him on and gain Overcrush.

If you choose to reroll a blocked Luke Cage die and it lands on an energy face, you will have to place his die back into the Field Zone at level one. This will remove him from the Attack Zone and he will no longer be considered attacking. Characters that blocked him will not take damage from him and he will not take damage from the blocking character dice.

It’s worth noting that the normal rules for rerolling a character from the Field/Attack Zone into energy, would move that die to the Reserve Pool. Luke Cage has a special part to his ability that allows him to be placed on his level one side in the Field Zone instead.

Ruling – Overcrush

Overcrush is an ability that allows a blocked attacking character to deal damage to the defending player, so long as it’s attack value is higher than the blocking character’s defense value. If an attacking character has an attack of five and the blocking character has a defense of three, the defending player would take damage equal to the difference. In this example, the defending player would take two damage.

A character with Overcrush that’s blocked can deal damage to the defending player only if all of their blockers are KO’d or REMOVED as blockers by other means. An example of removing the blocker would be the attacking player using an Imprisoned die on blocking characters during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

If a blocking character is removed or KO’d before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, the attacking character with Overcrush would deal their full attack value to the defending player.

Another important aspect about Overcrush that needs to be noted is how the damage is assigned and resolved. The blocking character is assigned the attacker’s full attack value. Overcrush is a special ability that allows the excess damage, the amount greater than the blockers defense, to be dealt to the opponent. For example: I’m attacking with a character that has a seven attack and Overcrush. My opponent blocks with a Sidekick that only has one defense. The Sidekick is assigned seven damage, but Overcrush will allow me to deal six of that to my opponent.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Luke Cage is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Defenders affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #22 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on a character face.

Game State
I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
– We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
– I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
– My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
– Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
– He lands on his level two character face and now has Overcrush.
– He is still attacking and still blocked by the two Sidekicks because he never left the Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
– I do not use any Actions or Globals.
– My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
– Luke Cage must KO all of his blockers in order to deal damage to my opponent.
– Luke Cage assigns one damage to one Sidekick and two damage to the other.
– Both Sidekicks assign their one damage to Luke Cage.
– Both the Sidekicks are KO’d by Luke Cage’s combat damage and will go to the Prep Area.
– Because Luke Cage has Overcrush, the excess damage (greater than the Sidekick’s defense) will be dealt to the defending player.
– My opponent will take one damage.
– Luke Cage will take two damage total from the blockers, but it’s not enough to KO him.
– Luke Cage will return to Field Zone. He does not go Out of Play because he was blocked and not KO’d.

Example Two:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on an energy face.

Game State
I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
– We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
– I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
– My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
– Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
– He lands on the single energy face.
– Luke Cage’s die is now placed in the Field Zone on his level face. He is no longer attacking or blocked.
– The two Sidekick dice return the Field Zone as well, because the blocked character is no longer attacking.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
– I do not use any Actions or Globals.
– My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
– There isn’t any damage to assign or resolve.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Here are all the relevant Overcrush rulings:
Removed Blockers
Assigning Damage and Damage Dealt
Overcrush Clarifications

You can find a relevant rerolling ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m definitely not a fan of this card, but I can see why he appeals some players. There is that possibility of a rolling him onto his level three side with a six attack and Overcrush. But honestly, there are far better characters that just have Overcrush and better level one and level two attack stats. She-Hulk: Sensational is a perfect example. I think Carnage: Sinister and even Hill Giant: Apprentice Giant are better than this Luke Cage. All those example cost the same or less than this Luke Cage. Hill Giant is the only one with really low defense but for a purchase cost of three, he’s still better in my opinion. Folks have mentioned that you can pump his attack with a Global, or spin him up after the reroll with Mutation’s Global, but those are far too unreliable. I think this Luke Cage has a purchase cost that’s too high for his stats and ability, when there are characters that are better with the same purchase cost.

 The image choice for the die is a little odd. There are plenty of folks out there that had no clue it was a flexing arm – including me. I thought it was a wonky heart or a cracked stone of some kind. While a flexing arm is perfect for Luke Cage, I think it could have been executed a little better. The art choice for this card is awesome! I like when they occasionally choose art that shows the more casual side of the characters.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Iron Spider: Waldoes  from the Iron Man and War Machine Starter set.

W 11 Iron Spider, Waldoes

Ruling – Suit Up Keyword

Suit Up is a new Keyword in the Iron Man and War Machine starter. Suit Up is an optional ability that allows you to field a die you just purchased by KO’ing another die. Suit Up only works for specific characters listed after the Suit Up keyword. For example, Iron Spider has Suit Up – Iron Spider or Spider-Man. When you purchase an Iron Spider die, you can KO an active Iron Spider die or a Spider-Man die to field the newly purchased die at level two. You can only KO character dice that you control for Suit Up.

A die that you field using Suit Up counts as being fielded for abilities that reference fielding.

The die you KO for a Suit Up ability counts as being KO’d for abilities that reference a character die being KO’d. Example: Vibranium Shield: Deflecting Bullets‘s ability would trigger when an Iron Spider or Spider-Man is KO’d for Iron Spider’s Suit Up.

The character die that is KO’d for the Suit Up ability must match the name. For example, you couldn’t KO an Iron Spidey die for Iron Spider’s Suit Up. Also, you wouldn’t be able to KO a Space Armor Iron Man for Suit Up – Iron Man.

* Note! *
You can use both Iron Spidey and Iron Spider on the same team. You cannot use Iron Spidey for Suit Up – Iron Spider. Iron Spidey is a different name from Iron Spider.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Iron Spider is a Fist Character.
~ He has the Stark Industries and Spider-Friends affiliations.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #11 of 34.

If you purchase the Iron Man and War Machine starter set, you will get all the cards, but not maximum dice for each character. You will need two starters for maximum character dice because those dice are not available in any other set.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Suit Up.

~ I have one level two Iron Spidey and one level one Iron Spider die in the Field Zone. At the beginning of my Main Step, I have a Sidekick, two Fist energy, and a Mask energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I decide to field my Sidekick by moving it from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone. The fielding cost is zero, so I do not need to pay energy to field the Sidekick.
~ (Main Step) I decide to purchase another Iron Spider die. I spend all three of my energy (moving it Out of Play). I decide to use Suit Up on Iron Spider. I KO my level one Iron Spider die that’s in the Field Zone and then field my newly purchased Iron Spider at level two.

Example Two:
Missing the Suit Up window.

~ I have one level two Iron Spidey and one level one Iron Spider die in the Field Zone. At the beginning of my Main Step, I have a Sidekick, two Fist energy, and a Mask energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I decide to purchase another Iron Spider die. I spend all three of my energy (moving it Out of Play) and placing the Iron Spider die in my Used Pile.
~ (Main Step) I decide to field my Sidekick by moving it from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone. The fielding cost is zero, so I do not need to pay energy to field the Sidekick. I realize that I forgot to use Suit Up on Iron Spider. I have to use Suit Up at the time I purchase the die, meaning the window to use Suit Up has passed. I am not allowed to use Suit Up and must continue with my turn.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a relevant ruling regarding character names, here.

*EDIT*
New ruling from WORF today, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

You can find a guide to my ratings, here.
These are personal opinion of the card being showcased and not an official reflection of current major meta.

Golden Age Rating

While this ability is definitely unique and interesting, this is not a card I see being used in Golden Age. He’s a cheaper character with big attack stats, but his defense could get him blown up quickly and he doesn’t have any other benefit, like Fast. With Bard being the big dog in Golden Age, this card just doesn’t have its own place. It could be used on Bard teams, for that extra pow, but his fielding costs are a whole other issue. Bard teams like cheap to buy and cheap to field. He doesn’t quite fit the bill for Golden Age.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Modern Age Rating

I don’t know if this card can find a place in Modern Age either. I think if someone is going to use Suit Up, it’s going to be on a different card, like Rescue or Space Armor Iron Man. He is a cheaper character, but we do have Unstable Canister in Modern. His highest defense is three – totally in the range to be blown up, which is very possible since Superwoman is a Modern Age card. There are still cheap cards in Modern Age with better stats and just as useful or better abilities that you could put in place of this particular card.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Rating

As the pool of cards narrows, this card begins to look better, but still not completely awesome. Cheaper characters with decent abilities begin to get scarce when you approach Prime. One of the unfortunate things about this card for Prime is that there aren’t any decent Spider-Man characters to pair him with. We are limited to the three from Civil War and they aren’t the greatest with two of them being five costs and one being a four cost character. His stats aren’t any better than Iron Spider’s either. While I still don’t like him for Prime, he’s got the best chance in this format to make it on a competitive team.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating

Suit Up has a well written description on most of the Suit Up cards. I don’t think it’s too confusing of an ability, but many players do ask about using characters like Iron Spidey for Suit Up – Iron Spider and Space Armor Iron Man for Suit Up – Iron Man. After explaining that the names on the cards must match the names on the ability, players usually don’t have any further issues with it. I really like this card for casual play. He’s cheap and has big attack stats. That’s something that appeals to many beginners, and he also has a cool ability that could easily be used as a teaching tool for strategy and tactics. I can easily recommend this card for players of all skill levels.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!