Posts Tagged ‘Keyword’

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

Welcome to the next installment of my HeroClix Figure Spotlight series! For this month’s article, I chose a piece from one of my favorite sets, Andorian (TREK:TOS 013) from the Star Trek Away Team: The Original Series set!

Find all the rules you need on this page, here. Here is direct link to the current (at time of writing) PAC, here.

013
What I Don’t Like

I like to start with the negative and finish with the positive!

There isn’t a lot that I don’t like about this piece, but there are a few things I would rather have seen on his card. He’s got four clicks for 35 points, which isn’t horrible, but as a filler piece, there are much better pieces for 35 points or less. I would rather his points been 30 points or maybe 40 points with a fifth click. He’s a tad squishy with only four clicks, even in casual settings. I think he should have had a trait with Toughness, Combat Reflexes on all clicks, and possibly a 10 attack on all four clicks. That might have made him worth the 35 points and four clicks. But then again, he is just a common piece.

What I Like

There are a lot of things I like about this guy. I love Charge – or any move plus attack power. He’s also got Close Combat Expert on all four clicks, which you can’t use with Charge, but it’s excellent for the turns following a Charge. He’s a versatile attacker because he starts off with Ranged Combat Expert and Close Combat Expert. If the opposing pieces have Combat Reflexes, I use his Ranged Combat Expert for attacking those pieces. If those pieces have Energy Shield Deflection then I move him in for Close Combat Expert attacks.

He’s got Toughness on his first two clicks and Combat Reflexes on his last two. I like both abilities and if you play this piece effectively, you can get good use of them. You have to be very careful with how you position this piece because he is still squishy, even with Toughness. But he can be a great piece for inflicting that little bit of extra damage you need to KO a dude or soften up a piece for an attack from your bigger pieces.

He has the Warrior keyword and that could help him find a spot on a Warrior theme team. Since it’s a generic keyword, you won’t get the benefit of Theme Team Probability Control, but you will get the bonus to initiative. This is a good filler piece for casual games of all varieties, but I don’t think he’s got what it takes to see competitive play. He’s a little too costly and too squishy for the competitive scene. I still love him on my Star Trek teams though!

What do you think of this figure?
Do you have a figure you would use in place of this one?
Is there a figure you would like me to Spotlight?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and sub for more HeroClix content!

     LLAPLive long, and Prob it!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ant-Man: Through the Cracks  from the Marvel Justice Like Lightning Team Pack.

W Ant-Man, Through the Cracks

Ruling – Amplify Keyword Ability

“Amplify: When you use an action die, spin this character up 1 level.”

Amplify will trigger when you use any kind of action die. Using a Continuous action die, a Trap, Gear, or any other action die that remains in the Field Zone or elsewhere in play (ex: Imprisoned) will also trigger Amplify, but only when those dice are moved from the Reserve Pool. Activating a Continuous action die’s ability in the Field Zone is not the same as using the die and it will not trigger the Amplify ability.

Anytime you use an action die, each character die with Amplify in the Field Zone will spin up one level (if able).

If the character die is already at its maximum level, then the character die will not be able to use Amplify and will not be able to spin up. Effects that trigger from a die spinning up will not be triggered if the die does not spin up.

If you use more than one action die in a turn, a character die with Amplify will spin up one level each time. Example: I use Thrown Brick and resolve it’s effect. My level one Ant-Man will spin up to level two. I then use Big Entrance and resolve its effect. My level two Ant-Man now spins to up to level three. Because Ant-Man is now level three, if I use any more action dice, he will not spin up any more.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ant-Man is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Thunderbolts and Avengers affiliations.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #2 of 24.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the idea of using this Ant-Man with some actions that give him Overcrush or makes him unblockable. He looks like he’d be lots of fun in Golden Age, but not sure if he’s viable yet in Modern Age. Fielding him on level one or two and then spinning him to level three doesn’t seem like a stretch for a fun casual team and his stats aren’t terrible for an attacker. His defense is not good at all, but defense isn’t that important for an attacker, unless you want that attacker to survive being blocked. A character with high attack and low defense is great to give Overcrush to.

This Ant-Man uses the exact same die as the one from Uncanny X-Men, so if your local venue is okay with it, you could substitute the dice or add more without having to purchase another Team Pack. Check with your TO first!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Multiple Man: Duplicitous Nature  from the Marvel Deapool set.

W Multiple Man, Duplicitous Nature

Ruling – Ability and Keyword

Underdog – When fielded, move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to the Field Zone.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Underdog: This ability can be used when you have fewer character dice fielded than your opponent. Sometimes the character won’t need to be fielded.”

Underdog is a special keyword that checks to see if you have fewer character dice in the Field Zone, counting any newly fielded Underdog die, and then grants you the use of the ability listed on the card. As long as you have fewer character dice (including Sidekicks) in the Field Zone than your opponent has, you can use the Underdog ability on the character card.

Underdog abilities vary from card to card and there could be other conditions that need to met before you can use an Underdog ability. For example: Multiple Man’s Underdog says: When fielded, move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to the Field Zone. This means, Multiple Man must be fielded in order to use his Underdog ability, and you must still have fewer character dice in the Field Zone than your opponent, including the Multiple Man die that you just fielded.

Multiple Man’s Underdog ability is a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Multiple Man die, if you meet the requirements for Underdog after fielding his die, you must move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile and place it on its character face in the Field Zone.

Moving the Sidekick die with Multiple Man’s Underdog ability is not the same as fielding it. Any abilities that trigger from a Sidekick or a character being fielded, will not trigger when the Sidekick is moved.

His ability is not optional, so if you meet the Underdog requirements and you have a Sidekick die in your Used Pile, you must field a Sidekick die from your Used Pile.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Multiple Man is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the X-Men affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #29 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Everyone overlooks the common and uncommon Multiple Man, but that’s because the super rare is that much better than the other versions. Honestly, if you’re playing a Golden Age event and you’re using a Multiple Man card, it’s likely going to be the super rare. There are folks that don’t like Swarm though, and those are the folks you’re more likely to see using this version. But, I feel like Underdog is a very under powered ability. There are so many other things that could have been done with this power and it’s another missed opportunity by WizKids. There are some decent Underdog abilities, but it’s a difficult to use ability as well. This is definitely not a card I would use if the super rare, or even the uncommon, is available for use.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Triceraton: Loyal to a Fault  from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell set.

W 48 Triceraton, Loyal to a Fault

Ruling – Overcrush Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Overcrush: When attacking, if this character KOs all of its blockers (or they are removed for other reasons), it deals any remaining damage to your opponent.”

An attacking character die must have been blocked by another character die for it to deal its combat damage as ‘Overcrush damage’. If the attacker was not blocked, the damage is not ‘Overcrush damage’. Overcrush damage isn’t a different type of damage, just a different means of how combat damage is being dealt.

If the character dice blocking the attacker are KO’d by the attacker’s combat damage, the remaining damage is dealt to the opponent. For example: If I attack with a level three Triceraton and my opponent blocks with two 1A/1D Sidekick dice, my Triceraton can deal one damage to each Sidekick die to KO them and then deal the remaining three damage to my opponent.

If the blocker(s) are KO’d or removed before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, the attacker will deal it’s full attack value in combat damage to the defending player. For example: I attack with my level three Triceraton and my opponent blocks with a 1A/1D Sidekick die. I use the Global on Unstable Canister to deal one damage to the blocking Sidekick die. Because my Triceraton was blocked and it’s blocker is no longer blocking the Triceraton, it deals its full attack value of five to my opponent.

All character dice that are blocking an attacking die with Overcrush must be KO’d or removed in order for the attacker to deal any Overcrush damage to the defending player.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Triceraton is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Villain affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #48 of 58.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find some Overcrush rulings here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I really wanted to cover Overcrush again, because I’ve recently heard players saying that the blockers have to be KO’d before you can do Overcrush damage. That’s only partly correct. As long as the blocker(s) is KO’d or removed as a blocker, the attacker gets its Overcrush. Removed blockers usually enable an attacking die with Overcrush to deal their full attack value to the defending player, which is a major benefit of removing those blockers as opposed to letting them get KO’d by the attacker. It really bothers me when folks leave out that part about removing blockers, because it’s part of the ability description.

Overcrush is a nasty and effective ability. I love Overcrush and I build around it when I’m able to do so. I usually try to use characters that have additional abilities or abilities that compliment their Overcrush. Using a character that only has Overcrush, like this Triceraton, is not something I would recommend. I only chose this card for this week so I could focus on Overcrush.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Troll: Minion Humanoid  from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

W 19 Troll, Minion Humanoid

Ruling – Keyword Ability

Regenerate (reroll when knocked out)”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Regenerate: If this character would be KO’d, roll it. If you roll a character face, return it to the field on the rolled face (but not the Attack Zone). Otherwise, move the die to your Prep Area.”

Regenerate is considered to be a KO replacement effect. This means that if a character would be KO’d and you roll a character face, it is not KO’d and returns to the Field Zone on the face that was rolled, and all damage is cleared from that die. If the character fails to Regenerate because it rolled onto an energy face, the die is considered to be KO’d and placed in the Prep Area.

If an ability would require you to KO a character die as part of a cost, such as Fabricate or Enlistment, you may select a character die with Regenerate as part of the cost. The first ability must fully resolve before you can roll your character die with Regenerate.

For example: I want to KO my Troll that has Regenerate and another character die to purchase one of my Flash Golem dice using its Fabricate. Fabricate: Characters with Fabricate will have 2 numbers (X-Y).  If you KO X characters with total purchase cost Y or more, you can purchase the die with Fabricate X-Y for free.” I would select my two character dice for Fabricate and purchase my Flesh Golem (placing the Flesh Golem die in the Used Pile). Once I have completed the Fabricate ability, I can then resolve the Regenerate on my Troll die. If the Troll successfully Regenerates, it returns to the Field on the rolled level. If it does not, it continues to the Prep Area. A successful Regenerate does not affect the use of Fabricate.

If a character die with Regenerate is KO’d while blocking, it will not return to the Attack Zone if it successfully Regenerates. It is placed in the Field Zone and is no longer blocking. If the attacking character has Overcrush, it will still apply the difference in damage to the defending player. You compare the difference between the attacker’s attack value the blocker’s defense value before it Regenerates, not after.

If an effect is placed on a die, if that die successfully Regenerates, it would retain the affects of that effect. For example: I use a Global to give my Troll the Villain affiliation until the end of the turn. In the same turn, my Troll die would be KO’d, but it instead Regenerates. The Troll keeps the Villain affiliation. This is because the die was never KO’d.

Regenerate is not an optional ability. If one of your dice with Regenerate would be KO’d, you must roll it to see if it returns as a character or is placed in the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Troll is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has the Equip icon.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #19 of 138.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find clarifications on Regenerate, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the Regenerate ability, but I’m not a huge fan of this card. I chose this particular card because it only has Regenerate and no other abilities, and I wanted to focus this article on the Regenerate keyword. Tarrasque: Epic Aberration, Troll: Apprentice Humanoid, Black Adam: Teth Adam, Lady Deadpool: Deadpool Family Values, and Zombie: Greater Undead all have fun and useful abilities that either work with Regenerate or they benefit from having Regenerate.

If you want your character dice to stay in the Field, finding a way to give them Regenerate could be highly beneficial. It’s not a guarantee that the die will return to the Field, but you don’t lose anything if they don’t because they still go to the Prep Area if they fail to Regenerate. I don’t feel like Regenerate is used near as much as it could be. That could be due to the lack of competitive cards with the keyword, or maybe folks just haven’t realized that it’s worth playing with from time to time.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

Welcome to the next installment of my HeroClix Figure Spotlight series! For this month’s article, I chose one of the Bombshells, Batgirl (037) from Harley Quinn and the Gotham Girls!

Batgirl 037

Figure Information

Point Value: 75 points
Dial Depth: 6 Clicks
Keywords: Bombshells, Suicide Squad, Monster

Team Ability
None

Standard Powers/Abilities
They will be listed as Power: Click Number(s). This list does not include traited powers and abilities.

Movement
Charge: 1-2
Hypersonic Speed: 3-6

Attack
Blades/Claws/Fangs: 1-2
Precision Strike: 3-6

Defense
Impervious: 1-2
Super Senses: 4-6 (part of a special ability)

Damage
Exploit Weakness: 1-2
Perplex: 5-6

Improved Abilities, Traits, and Special Powers
Batgirl has two Traits.

Trait:
Bombshell
When Batgirl makes an attack targeting an opposing character, give her a Bombshell token. FREE: If she has two action tokens, remove two Bombshell tokens, then make a close attack.

Trait:
Bloody Belle of the Bog
Steal Energy, Stealth. Batgirl starts the game on click #3. When Batgirl uses Steal Energy, she may heal past her starting line.

Special Defense Power:
WWI Flying Ace: 3-6
Super Senses. When attacked by a character with [FLIGHT], modify Batgirl’s defense +3.

Opinion and Strategy

Batgirl is a fun and powerful Bombshell character. She’s always the first character I choose when putting together a 300 or 400 point Bombshell team. Zatanna is usually my second choice, and then I fill out the rest of the team around those two. Batgirl is not Indomitable, but I think she’d be a little too powerful if she was. You have to play her with caution until you get her past her starting line, because as great as Super Senses is, it doesn’t always roll! Once she reaches her second click after healing, she can charge in, and use Exploit Weakness to hit them for a whopping four damage! She also has Blades/Claws/Fangs, but with a printed damage of four, I don’t usually go with BCF unless they’ve used Outwit to get rid of her Exploit Weakness. When they try to hit her, they have to get around her Impervious on her top two clicks. She can be a very formidable opponent once she’s healed into click one or two.

I also like using her with a generic Monster team. One of my all time favorite builds for 400 points is:

(75) Batgirl
(100) Rat King #24 Rare TMNT2
(80) Death #16 Rare Undead
(125) Monsterex #22 Rare TMNT1
(5) Professor X ID for Professor X #37a Xavier’s School (75 point call in)
Total: 385

I know I’m playing 15 points under, but I like the team and it plays well for me in a casual setting. I also can’t find a 15 point Monster that I like. Rat King helps me beat on their own team while Batgirl is trying to heal up into her top two clicks. Monsterex makes for a terrific, versatile distraction. Death has helped me KO characters in the past with his Trait: Harbinger of Death. It’s handy when you’re one damage shy of KO’ing a dude. He’s also got traited Blades/Claws/Fangs with Giant Reach of 2.

When I play a 300 point Monster team, I like using this build:

(75) Batgirl
(100) Horta #35 Rare ST:TOS
(125) Monsterex #22 Rare TMNT1
Total: 300

I’m a sucker for a full point Horta and I love Monsterex’s versatility. This team really depends on map choice and if I win, I typically choose the Horta’s home turf – Underground Cavern (ST:TOS). This map gives my Horta an advantage and also helps Batgirl and Monsterex position themselves safely. With cavern walls as cover, this team can be lethal if you’re not paying attention and Batgirl is the deadliest!

What do you think of this figure?
Do you have a figure you would use in place of this one?
Is there a figure you would like me to Spotlight?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and sub for more HeroClix content!

     LLAPLive long, and Prob it!

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

Welcome to the next installment of my HeroClix Figure Spotlight series! For this month’s article, I chose a figure that I’ve used many times over to teach new players – Hulk #106 from The Mighty Thor starter!

Hulk TMT Starter

Figure Information

Point Value: 100/50 points
Dial Depth: 7 Clicks, 1-7 for 100 points and 5-7 for 50 points
Keywords: Avengers, Brute

Team Ability
AVENGERS:
When this character is given a MOVE action, modify speed +1.

Standard Powers/Abilities
They will be listed as Power: Click Number(s). This list does not include traited powers and abilities.

Movement
Leap/Climb: 1-7

Attack
Super Strength: 1-2, 5-7

Defense
Invincible: 1-3
Impervious: 4-7

Damage
Exploit Weakness: 3-4

Improved Abilities, Traits, and Special Powers
Hulk has one Trait.

Trait:
Hulk Smash
When Hulk moves, after resolutions he can use Quake at no cost.

Opinion and Strategy

There is something to be said for the simpler pieces. This particular piece has probably seen more play with my locals than any other individual piece. Now, this Hulk isn’t a super big meta piece, but he’s a great casual piece for all kinds of players. He’s got a nice 100 point dial, and his 50 point is okay, but there are better casual pieces for the same amount of points.

This is one of my favorite pieces to use when teaching new players. He doesn’t have a bunch of crazy abilities on him, but he has a really awesome Trait. He’s a great piece for beginners to use and learn about Traits and actions at ‘no cost’. His Leap/Climb is perfect for his Trait as well, and helps me to teach new players about Breakaway tactics.

I love that he has Invincible and Impervious because this is a great opportunity to show a new player the difference between the two – in action! His Exploit Weakness is great as well, though I wish he had it on his 50 point dial too. Super Strength is also very useful in teaching players about using Objects in a game and Knockback from an attack. Being able to knock a character back could set you up for a future Leap/Climb + Quake!

I can’t say enough good things about this particular Hulk. I like to pair him with the Iron Man from the Sidekick kit (100 points) and Hercules from The Mighty Thor starter (100 points) for a 300 point tutorial team.

Using two pieces from the same starter and a piece from the Sidekick kit has been very effective for me in introducing new players to HeroClix. They get a Sidekick set during the Sidekick event and then purchase a starter and now they have several possible team combinations for Avengers theme teams. If the Sidekick kits are no longer available, there is a Thor in the Starter that works too, but he has more special powers than I like for a teaching team. But Hulk is always the center focus for my teaching teams because he’s incredible!

What do you think of this figure?
Do you have a figure you would use in place of this one?
Is there a figure you would like me to Spotlight?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and sub for more HeroClix content!

     LLAPLive long, and Prob it!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Captain America: Superhero  from the Marvel Uncanny X-Men set.

W Captain America, Superhero

Ruling – Keyword

Heroic: When fielded, Captain America may pair up with a different Heroic character until the start of your next turn.”

WizKids Keywords Page:
Heroic: Dice with Heroic can pair up with other dice (different character) that you control that have the Heroic ability. Place paired up dice side by side. Heroic takes place at the same time a character is fielded. Dice may only be paired up with one other die (the new partner replaces the old one). They attack and block separately. 

Heroic acts as a When Fielded ability. When you field a character die with the Heroic keyword, you get to use that ability. Characters can be fielded by paying their fielding cost and moving them from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by an ability that uses the term ‘field’ instead of swap, move, place, etc.

When you field a Captain America die, you may choose a different character die you control to be paired up with Captain America. The chosen die must also have the Heroic keyword.

If a character die is already paired with a different Heroic character die, the new pairing replaces the previous one, ending any static abilities from the previous pairing.

Each paired die may choose to attack or block and does not require the other die to attack or block (unless the ability would state otherwise).

The Heroic ability will only apply to the two character dice that paired up. Other copies of the same character dice in the Field Zone will not be affected when you use the Heroic ability on a different die. For example: I have two Storm dice with Heroic in the Field Zone. When I field a Captain America die, he can choose one of the Storm dice to pair up with. The Storm die that was not chosen will not get the benefit of being paired.

If one of the paired dice leave the Field Zone, the other die looses any static bonus for being paired up because the paired die is no longer in the Field Zone. Any applied effects would remain.

Unless otherwise stated, the Heroic pairing lasts until the start of your next turn. Using the Heroic keyword is optional.

Ruling – Ability (From Being Paired)

While Captain America is paired up, he and his partner each gain +4A and +4D.

When you field Captain America and choose to pair him with another Heroic character, each of those two dice will have +4A and +4D until your next turn begins. For example: I have a level one Storm die (2A/1D) with Heroic in the Field Zone. I field a level two Captain America (5A/4D) and pair his die with my Storm die. They both gain +4A and +4D until the start of my next turn.

This Heroic bonus is a static bonus. If one of the paired dice leave the Field Zone before the effect ends, the bonus will end.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Captain America is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #100 of 126.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a rulings for Heroic, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I went old-school this week, back to Golden Age stuff! Interesting facts – there are only 13 characters with the Heroic keyword in the entire game and they’re all from Uncanny X-Men.

I realized I had never featured a Heroic character… there’s a reason for that. I know there are folks out there that have tried their hardest to make Heroic work. It’s an ability that sounds awesome on paper but is so very terrible in execution. I wanted Heroic to be cool and I tried so hard… but it’s not good for constructed casual events and certainly not for any Golden Age competitive formats. It’s not even good in an Uncanny X-Men sealed event. But, I’ve had some newer players ask about some older cards and Heroic popped up.

Out of all the 13 Heroic dudes out there, Captain America and Storm are probably the better ones. And for all my trying with Heroic, back in the Uncanny X-Men days, it was never fun to use. This keyword caused me so much frustration and irritation. It didn’t feel worth it to try and make it work because of all the frustration.

But everyone has to try at least once. Go ahead and check out all 13 Heroic dudes and find at least two that you like (because you literally have to have two of them and at least one in the Field to even kick-start this ability). Give them a go and let me know how it turns out!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m back! I hope that everyone had a wonderful holiday season and started the new year off in good spirits! Now, it’s back to work and back to my regularly scheduled Confusing Card of the Week articles. I want to start the year off with a monster that will hopefully keep the bad spirits away for the entire year!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Basilisk: Greater Monstrosity from the Dungeons and Dragons Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Basilisk, Greater Monstrosity

Ruling – Deadly Ability

WizKids Keywords page:
Deadly: Character dice that are engaged with a character die that has Deadly are KO’d at the end of the turn (even if the character with Deadly has been KO’d or leaves the Field Zone).

Supplemental Definition:
Engaged: A character blocking or being blocked is engaged with the opposing character.”

Any character die that blocks or is blocked by a character die with the Deadly keyword, will be KO’d at the end of the turn, during the Clean Up Step. This applies to all character dice that are engaged with a Deadly character die.

If the blocked/blocking character die with Deadly is KO’d or removed, the character dice that were engaged with it are still KO’d at the end of turn.

For Example:
I have a single level one Basilisk die in my Field Zone. If I attack with that die and it’s blocked by three character dice, all three of those dice will be KO’d at the end of turn. Even if my Basilisk die is KO’d, all three of those blocking character dice are still KO’d at the end of turn.

Ruling – Ability

Basilisk has an additional ability on its card that says:
“When Basilisk attacks, target opposing character die must block this turn (if able).”

This ability triggers for each individual Basilisk die that attacks, but only when they attack. When a Basilisk die attacks, it will target one opposing character die and that die must block the Basilisk die.

If an ability would prevent a character die from being able to block, then it does not block the Basilisk. This falls under the general game rule of “can’t beats can”, which means any ability that prevents something from happening will overrule an ability that tries to force it to happen.

The Basilisk’s ability does not prevent the opponent from choosing additional blockers. The opponent can choose other blockers to block the Basilisk aside from the forced blocker, but all the blockers will be KO’d at the end of turn because of the Deadly keyword on the Basilisk’s card.

This ability is not optional. If there are legal targets to choose from, the Basilisk must choose a target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Basilisk is a Bolt type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The Basilisk is a nasty dude. If you pull him in a draft or use him in a limited type event, he could be very problematic for your opponent. He can take out the biggest threat in your opponent’s field, thanks to the Deadly keyword. One downside to this guy is that your opponent will get the chance to reroll the guys you just KO’d on their next turn. When using the Basilisk to clear dice from the field, you want to be sure you’ll benefit from it without helping your opponent – if possible. Letting them reroll a Shriek or DWiz might not be a good idea, depending on what their targets were to begin with.

Basilisk is not expensive to buy, which makes him great for drafts. He’s also got decent defense overall, but that fielding cost is not the best for a character that’s likely going to need to be fielded a few different times in a game. I still think he’s a great draft pick, and possibly even decent for a limited format that uses only D&D sets. His fielding cost is what will likely keep him from seeing a lot of major meta play, but seeing him across from you is not out of the realm of possibility!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Kobold Trap: Greater Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Kobold Trap, Greater Trap

Ruling – Keywords and Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent fields an Adventurer character die.
Effect: Purchase one of your character dice with Swarm for free and place it into your bag.”

Keyword Definitions

Kobold Trap has the Trap keyword.  WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

The definition for Adventurer can be found on the Keywords page:
Adventurer: Any character with the Experience ability.

How To Use/Trigger This Trap

When you use a Trap die, you place it into the Field Zone. This is considered ‘using’ it for card abilities that reference using an action die. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability can remove an action die.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

When an opponent fields any Adventurer character die, you will trigger all of your Kobold Traps in the Field Zone. For each of your Kobold Traps that are triggered, you can purchase a character die for free, so long as it has the Swarm keyword.

The die you purchase must be from one of your cards, and the die is free, meaning you do not need to spend any energy.

After you purchase the character die, you must put that die into your bag.

Kobold Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Kobold Trap.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Kobold Trap is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #74 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I think this card is great if you use it within the set, or even in a limited Dungeons and Dragons event. All three D&D sets are loaded with great Adventurer cards so it’s likely you would get some use from this card within the D&D IP. I’m not certain it’ll be used much outside of limited constructed or sealed/draft type events though. The major meta doesn’t have any highly used Adventurers except for Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim and I’ve seen less of him with the emergence of Shriek: Sonic Beam. I wouldn’t write this card off yet, especially if we see the increase use of an Adventurer card.

We have a limited constructed event coming up this Saturday and the only legal cards for the event are ones from the D&D sets. I’ve been looking at this card for my team so I can use some of the more expensive Swarm characters, like my Stirge: Epic Beast.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!