Posts Tagged ‘Max Dice’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Free Chimichangas: Delicious from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Free Chimicangas, Delicious

Ruling – Non-Basic Action

Free Chimichangas is a non-basic action card with non-basic action dice. Any card that references an action card or die could affect this card or die. If an ability only references basic action cards or dice, this card and its dice are not affected.

This card takes up a character card slot on your team and the dice count towards your 20 dice maximum. You can only purchase non-basic action dice that are on your team. For example: If I have Free Chimichangas on my team, it’s placed in a character card slot and its dice count toward my 20 dice maximum. My opponent can’t purchase my Free Chimichangas dice.

When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. If you have a any action dice in your Reserve Pool after your Attack Step, those dice are sent to the Used Pile. You can only use action dice on your turn.

Ruling – Keyword Ability: Impulse

We’ll discuss this card’s individual Impulse ability in the Ruling – Ability section below. This section is focusing on the keyword and not the ability granted by the keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Impulse: Impulse abilities happen when you purchase a character die with the Impulse ability.  The character does not need to be already active to use the Impulse ability.”

The description from the WizKids Keywords page is a little dated. It specifically mentions a ‘character die’ with Impulse, but as you can see, other card types can have the Impulse ability.

When you purchase a die with the Impulse ability, you will be able to activate the bonus listed as the Impulse ability. Impulse abilities vary from card to card.

You do not need to have a copy of the die active in the Field Zone (which isn’t possible in some cases), you only need to purchase the die to trigger Impulse.

Ruling – Ability

Impulse – Target character die gets +2D (until end of turn). (Impulse abilities happen when you purchase the character die with Impulse.)

Target character die gets +2D.”

When you trigger the Impulse ability on Free Chimichangas, you target a character die that will get +2D until the end of turn. You must target a character die if there are legal targets available. You can’t trigger the Impulse ability and choose to not use it if there are legal targets. If you don’t have a character die of your own to target, you must target an opposing character die. If there are no character dice to target, you may still purchase a Free Chimichangas die, but the Impulse ability will fizzle.

When you use a Free Chimichangas action die, you target a character die that will get +2D until the end of turn. You must target a character die. If you don’t have a character die of your own to target, you must target an opposing character die. If there are no legal targets for the action die’s ability, you can’t use the action die. Players are not allowed to use an action die for no effect.

Both of these effects give a target character die +2D, until the end of the turn. This is an applied effect. If you were to swap the character’s A and D with another ability, the +2D that was applied will swap to the A.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Free Chimichangas is a Mask type non-basic action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Free Chimichangas is fun in casual and drafts. I don’t think this card would ever have a spot in a competitive meta, which it would only be legal for Golden Age competitive events now.

But for casual play, this is a fun action to use on a team with Ant-Man: Pym Particles from the Uncanny X-Men set. You can use your Free Chimichangas to boost the defense of one of your characters, like any of the Blobs from X-Men First Class, and then swap his attack and defense with Ant-Man’s Global for a super heavy hitting character!

You can use Free Chimichangas to boost the defense of an opposing character so you don’t KO it. If you Polymorph a troublesome character (like Shriek) into the field to prevent your opponent from getting her ability, you don’t want to KO her with a Dragon’s Breath Weapon. Just use Free Chimichangas to boost her defense and an ability to prevent her from blocking, then attack with your dragon!

Free Chimichangas has plenty of uses. It’s really up to each individual player to test it on their various teams or build a team around it to see if the card fits their play style.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hal Jordan: Green Lantern’s Light  from the DC Green Arrow and The Flash set.

W Hal Jordan, Green Lantern's Light

Ruling – Crossover Cards

Crossover: Crossover characters have two or more types of energy. To purchase them you’ll need to spend at least one of each type of energy they require. You won’t be able to reduce their cost to avoid paying each type of energy to purchase their dice. They count as every type of energy you must spend to purchase their die.

Crossover cards are cards (characters or non-basic actions) that have two or more energy types included in their purchase requirements. Hal Jordan cost a total of two energy to purchase and his energy requirements are one Mask and one Bolt. You can use Wild energy to pay the purchase cost if you don’t have a Mask and/or Bolt. For example: I have two Wild energy in my Reserve Pool. I can spend both Wild energy to purchase one Hal Jordan die.

Some Crossover cards have purchase restrictions on them, such as: “You may not use Wild energy to purchase this die, this text may not be ignored.This only applies to the Crossover cards with the restriction listed in the card’s text box. If this type of restriction is not in the card’s text box, you may use Wild energy to purchase that Crossover die.

Crossover cards are considered to be all energy types listed on their card. A Crossover card with all four energy types is considered to be a Mask, Bolt, Fist, and Shield type character or action card. Hal Jordan is considered to be a Mask character and a Bolt character. Anything that affects a Mask character will effect Hal Jordan. The same is true for Bolt characters, because he is also a Bolt character.

When a Crossover die is on a dual energy face, you may spend one of the energy types and spin the die down to the one generic energy face. Whichever energy type you didn’t use will no longer be available; you will only have the one generic energy remaining. For example: If you have a Hal Jordan die showing a Bolt/Mask energy face, you can spend the Mask energy for the Global on Heimdall and spin your Hal Jordan die to the single generic energy face. You can no longer use the Bolt energy that was previously on the Bolt/Mask face, as a Bolt energy.

If you want to use both energy as their types, you must spend the energy collectively. For example: If you have a Hal Jordan die showing a Bolt/Mask energy face, you can spend the Mask energy for the Global on Heimdall and the Bolt energy for the Global on Unstable Canister, but you must announce that you’re doing that and place both energy Out of Play. You then resolve each Global in the order you announced them and you may not do anything else until you have resolved both Globals.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hal Jordan is a Mask and a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Green Lantern affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #20 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I am literally at the convention hall for Origins at the time this article is posting! I scheduled this article to post so that those who didn’t attend the convention would still have something to read. I get lots of questions about how to purchase Crossover cards and how to use their energy faces. Like the Troll from last week, I wanted to feature a card that focused solely on that aspect without the distraction of an additional ability. What better Crossover card to pick that Hal Jordan?!

I’ve seen that there is still much disagreement over how to use the energy from a Crossover character, but I have always ruled it the way I’ve described in this article and will continue to rule it that way until WORF states otherwise. You are able to collectively spend generic energy from basic action dice to purchase a character die and use a Global, so there is no reason it shouldn’t work for Crossover dice.

Crossover cards can definitely come in handy, but they can be difficult to utilize depending on the card. There are definitely some Crossover cards that are better than others, but there are lots of great cards too that fit better on some teams than others. It really all comes down to how you build your team and what your play style is.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

I want to wish much luck to all of the players that are participating in Nationals Qualifiers this year at Origins! I hope everyone has fun and I’m sorry that I won’t be playing Dice Masters with any of you this year, but I have lots of work to do this year at Origins – and I’m probably doing it right now!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Troll: Minion Humanoid  from the Dungeons and Dragons Battle for Faerûn set.

W 19 Troll, Minion Humanoid

Ruling – Keyword Ability

Regenerate (reroll when knocked out)”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Regenerate: If this character would be KO’d, roll it. If you roll a character face, return it to the field on the rolled face (but not the Attack Zone). Otherwise, move the die to your Prep Area.”

Regenerate is considered to be a KO replacement effect. This means that if a character would be KO’d and you roll a character face, it is not KO’d and returns to the Field Zone on the face that was rolled, and all damage is cleared from that die. If the character fails to Regenerate because it rolled onto an energy face, the die is considered to be KO’d and placed in the Prep Area.

If an ability would require you to KO a character die as part of a cost, such as Fabricate or Enlistment, you may select a character die with Regenerate as part of the cost. The first ability must fully resolve before you can roll your character die with Regenerate.

For example: I want to KO my Troll that has Regenerate and another character die to purchase one of my Flash Golem dice using its Fabricate. Fabricate: Characters with Fabricate will have 2 numbers (X-Y).  If you KO X characters with total purchase cost Y or more, you can purchase the die with Fabricate X-Y for free.” I would select my two character dice for Fabricate and purchase my Flesh Golem (placing the Flesh Golem die in the Used Pile). Once I have completed the Fabricate ability, I can then resolve the Regenerate on my Troll die. If the Troll successfully Regenerates, it returns to the Field on the rolled level. If it does not, it continues to the Prep Area. A successful Regenerate does not affect the use of Fabricate.

If a character die with Regenerate is KO’d while blocking, it will not return to the Attack Zone if it successfully Regenerates. It is placed in the Field Zone and is no longer blocking. If the attacking character has Overcrush, it will still apply the difference in damage to the defending player. You compare the difference between the attacker’s attack value the blocker’s defense value before it Regenerates, not after.

If an effect is placed on a die, if that die successfully Regenerates, it would retain the affects of that effect. For example: I use a Global to give my Troll the Villain affiliation until the end of the turn. In the same turn, my Troll die would be KO’d, but it instead Regenerates. The Troll keeps the Villain affiliation. This is because the die was never KO’d.

Regenerate is not an optional ability. If one of your dice with Regenerate would be KO’d, you must roll it to see if it returns as a character or is placed in the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Troll is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has the Equip icon.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #19 of 138.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find clarifications on Regenerate, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I like the Regenerate ability, but I’m not a huge fan of this card. I chose this particular card because it only has Regenerate and no other abilities, and I wanted to focus this article on the Regenerate keyword. Tarrasque: Epic Aberration, Troll: Apprentice Humanoid, Black Adam: Teth Adam, Lady Deadpool: Deadpool Family Values, and Zombie: Greater Undead all have fun and useful abilities that either work with Regenerate or they benefit from having Regenerate.

If you want your character dice to stay in the Field, finding a way to give them Regenerate could be highly beneficial. It’s not a guarantee that the die will return to the Field, but you don’t lose anything if they don’t because they still go to the Prep Area if they fail to Regenerate. I don’t feel like Regenerate is used near as much as it could be. That could be due to the lack of competitive cards with the keyword, or maybe folks just haven’t realized that it’s worth playing with from time to time.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Absorbing Man: Harold’s Ice Cream from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Absorbing Man, Harold's Ice Cream

Ruling – Ability

“While Absorbing Man is active, when a “when KO’d” effect is used, you may use a copy of that effect.”

Absorbing Man’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Absorbing Man is active, if a “When KO’d” effect is used, he may use a copy of that effect. This ability is optional and not mandatory, and you only get one copy of a ‘When KO’d’ ability, regardless of how many Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone. If a second copy of a character die is KO’d that turn, you can copy that ability again, but only once regardless of the number of Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone.

If you copy a “When KO’d” ability from another character, Absorbing Man does not have to be KO’d for you to copy that effect.

You can copy the “When KO’d” effect from one of your characters or one of your opponent’s characters, but the ability must be used for you to be able to copy it. If the ‘When KO’d’ ability is optional and they do not use it, you can’t copy it.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Absorbing Man is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Absorbing Man has a pretty cool ability that you can easily build around. In Golden Age, this guy is loads of fun for casual events. I think he may be a little more difficult to build around in Modern Age. In Golden Age, there are lots of different ‘When KO’d’ abilities that would be great to copy, especially when you have Blue-Eyes White Dragon’s Global to KO your own character dice. But, you aren’t limited to your own dice abilities. You can copy opposing ‘When KO’d’ abilities which adds to his usefulness in Golden Age.

I like that Absorbing Man is not expensive to purchase, so you can keep several in the Field. His stats are not terrible, but he’s manageable if you’re trying to get around him.

I saw the question pop up on WORF about this card and the rare version of Absorbing Man and I thought this would be a good one to cover this week. Newer and inexperienced players don’t realize that you can use his ability to copy an opposing character’s ‘When KO’d‘ ability. As regular players, and a more experienced players, we sometimes forget that these abilities aren’t as obvious to other players of different skill levels. I like when WORF answers questions like this because it helps me choose CCW cards that would be more appealing to the newer players – which are my target audience.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Madame Masque: Nefaria’s Schemes  from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Madame Masque, Nefaria's Schemes

Ruling – Ability

While Madame Masque is active, your opponent’s “When fielded” abilities do not trigger.”

Madame Masque’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

 

You must have at least one Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone to gain the benefits of her ability. Having more than one will not affect how her ability functions.

While you have a Madame Masque die in the Field Zone, your opponent can’t use any abilities that say ‘When Fielded’. This does not apply to keywords that function like a When Fielded ability. For example: Intimidate acts like a When Fielded ability, but Madame Masque won’t stop it because the character’s ability does not say When Fielded. Reminder text in parentheses is not considered to be the character’s actual ability, only a reminder of how the ability works.

If your opponent has a Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone, and you try to borrow one of their characters (via an ability like the one on Collector: Tanaleer Tivan) with a When Fielded ability, you will not get to use that ability. When you borrow the die, it’s temporarily yours for game effects.

Madame Masque’s ability is not optional. You can’t pick and chose which ability is ignored and which isn’t.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Madame Mask is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Villain affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #59 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Madame Masque, here.

You can find a ruling about ‘When Fielded’ abilities being ignored, here.

You can find a ruling about Keyword abilities vs ‘When Fielded’ abilities here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I totally understand the confusion with this card, especially for newer players. I’ve gotten a few questions about her ability vs Keywords as well as the Collector question. Before they ruled on her officially, I was using the Global ruling as a basis for my ruling – which they used as well. When you use a Global on an opponent’s card, it’s not your opponent’s Global when you use it – you are the one using it. Same applies to borrowing character dice.

I’ve heard lots of argument on both sides for using Madame Masque over Wonder Woman: Reflections. There are lots of pros and cons and each player should weigh them individually for their own team and play style. Wonder Woman costs one more to purchase, but she also shuts down When Attacks abilities, like the nasty Bard and Guy Gardner. Wonder Woman has better stats, but does cost one more to field on level three. They’re both Mask characters. Madame Masque is a Villain and there are plenty of anti Villain cards. Wonder Woman has the Justice League affiliation, which really doesn’t matter in Modern Age, but you could loosely build around it in Golden Age.

Personally, I prefer Wonder Woman over Madame Masque, but each player should look at both of them and decide for themselves which they prefer. Madame Masque has her uses. She could be invaluable for a Villain only event!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jarnborn: And My Axe  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Jarnborn, And My Axe

Ruling Using Action Dice

Jarnborn is a Non-Basic Action Card and it’s dice are Non-Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Jarnborn. If the text refers to a Basic Action Card or Basic Action Die, it will not affect Jarnborn. Non-Basic Action dice can not be purchased by an opponent, unlike Basic Action dice.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Ability

“Replace target character die’s A with double its printed A (until end of turn).”

In order to use Jarnborn, you must be able to target a character die that’s active in the Field. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Jarnborn.

When you use Jarnborn, you can target a character die that belongs to either player.

When used, Jarnborn’s ability will replace the targeted character die’s current attack value with a value equal to double its printed attack value. If a character has applied bonuses to its attack value, those will not be added and will be lost. Static bonuses will still apply. For example, if I have a character in the Field Zone with a printed attack of 4, when I use Jarnborn, that character’s attack value will now be 8 until the end of my turn.

This effect will last until the end of your turn. Jarnborn does not alter the character die’s printed attack value.

You can use this die during your Main Step or wait until after your opponent assigns blockers and then use it during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step. You can use the die for one of your characters that are blocked or one that is unblocked. You can even use this die on one of your opponent’s dice, whether they’re blocking or not.

If you use a second Jarnborn on the same character die, it will replace that character die’s current attack value with double its printed attack value. Even if the value is unchanged, the effect still happens.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jarnborn is a Fist type Non-Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of 4.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I noticed a few players asking about non-basic actions so I thought I’d pick one that I think is a fantastic tactical card. You can wait and use until the Attack Step, after blockers are assigned, to try and maximize your damage against your opponent. Or you can use it on a character die during the Main Step to entice your opponent to block a particular character. You could even use it to help your opponent’s blocker KO one of your attackers with a When KO’d ability.

I love the versatility of this card and I can’t wait to use it more. I’ve been toying around with a few teams and this is a card that might fit nicely on to some of them. One team in particular has the super rare Mister Miracle on it. While he’s active, your action dice gain the Boomerang keyword. I want to use him, Jarnborn, and a heavy hitter or two and I can’t wait to finish that team!

I also love that my opponent can’t buy it, because it’s not a Basic Action. I can bring this card and know that I’m safe from them using it against me – unless they bring it too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Captain America: Superhero  from the Marvel Uncanny X-Men set.

W Captain America, Superhero

Ruling – Keyword

Heroic: When fielded, Captain America may pair up with a different Heroic character until the start of your next turn.”

WizKids Keywords Page:
Heroic: Dice with Heroic can pair up with other dice (different character) that you control that have the Heroic ability. Place paired up dice side by side. Heroic takes place at the same time a character is fielded. Dice may only be paired up with one other die (the new partner replaces the old one). They attack and block separately. 

Heroic acts as a When Fielded ability. When you field a character die with the Heroic keyword, you get to use that ability. Characters can be fielded by paying their fielding cost and moving them from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by an ability that uses the term ‘field’ instead of swap, move, place, etc.

When you field a Captain America die, you may choose a different character die you control to be paired up with Captain America. The chosen die must also have the Heroic keyword.

If a character die is already paired with a different Heroic character die, the new pairing replaces the previous one, ending any static abilities from the previous pairing.

Each paired die may choose to attack or block and does not require the other die to attack or block (unless the ability would state otherwise).

The Heroic ability will only apply to the two character dice that paired up. Other copies of the same character dice in the Field Zone will not be affected when you use the Heroic ability on a different die. For example: I have two Storm dice with Heroic in the Field Zone. When I field a Captain America die, he can choose one of the Storm dice to pair up with. The Storm die that was not chosen will not get the benefit of being paired.

If one of the paired dice leave the Field Zone, the other die looses any static bonus for being paired up because the paired die is no longer in the Field Zone. Any applied effects would remain.

Unless otherwise stated, the Heroic pairing lasts until the start of your next turn. Using the Heroic keyword is optional.

Ruling – Ability (From Being Paired)

While Captain America is paired up, he and his partner each gain +4A and +4D.

When you field Captain America and choose to pair him with another Heroic character, each of those two dice will have +4A and +4D until your next turn begins. For example: I have a level one Storm die (2A/1D) with Heroic in the Field Zone. I field a level two Captain America (5A/4D) and pair his die with my Storm die. They both gain +4A and +4D until the start of my next turn.

This Heroic bonus is a static bonus. If one of the paired dice leave the Field Zone before the effect ends, the bonus will end.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Captain America is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #100 of 126.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a rulings for Heroic, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I went old-school this week, back to Golden Age stuff! Interesting facts – there are only 13 characters with the Heroic keyword in the entire game and they’re all from Uncanny X-Men.

I realized I had never featured a Heroic character… there’s a reason for that. I know there are folks out there that have tried their hardest to make Heroic work. It’s an ability that sounds awesome on paper but is so very terrible in execution. I wanted Heroic to be cool and I tried so hard… but it’s not good for constructed casual events and certainly not for any Golden Age competitive formats. It’s not even good in an Uncanny X-Men sealed event. But, I’ve had some newer players ask about some older cards and Heroic popped up.

Out of all the 13 Heroic dudes out there, Captain America and Storm are probably the better ones. And for all my trying with Heroic, back in the Uncanny X-Men days, it was never fun to use. This keyword caused me so much frustration and irritation. It didn’t feel worth it to try and make it work because of all the frustration.

But everyone has to try at least once. Go ahead and check out all 13 Heroic dudes and find at least two that you like (because you literally have to have two of them and at least one in the Field to even kick-start this ability). Give them a go and let me know how it turns out!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Wrecker: Enchanted Crowbar  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Wrecker, Enchanted Crowbar

Ruling – Ability

“While Wrecker is active, players can only use the Global Abilities of active characters.”

Wrecker’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While there is at least one Wrecker die in the Field Zone, players can’t use any Global unless it’s on a character that’s active in the Field Zone.

This ability applies to all players, and is not an optional ability. If a Wrecker die is active, his ability is in effect and applies to all players.

Players can not use the Global abilities on Actions. Wrecker specifically states that players can only use the Globals on active ‘characters’. Continuous action dice are not characters.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Wrecker is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #128 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Wrecker, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I understand why folks may have been confused about Wrecker’s ability, given WizKids track record. For example – The Bifrost. I had been putting off featuring Wrecker because I thought they might errata him, and it wasn’t until Mr. DDK brought him up again that I decided to go ahead and feature him – potential errata or no. Luckily for me, WizKids answered a question about him earlier in the week that matches my initial ruling for Wrecker. Now I’m kicking myself for not posting the article sooner.

Wrecker has a really great ability that someone can easily build around. There are lots of popular Globals on actions that would be rendered useless when he hits the Field. Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard, True Believer, Unstable Canister, Villainous Pact, and Resurrection to name a few. Even with rotation that was just announced, most of those are still Modern Age legal, with the exception of True Believer. There is a similar Global on Odin’s Fury. And now, if someone brought Heimdall or Ra’s al Ghul only for their Globals, they’re gonna have to buy those dice and get the characters active in order to use them.

In Golden Age formats, this guy is a beast. He stops BEWD, Red Dragon, PXG, and all those utility type Globals on characters unless the player buys those dice. Wrecker is gonna wreck someone’s day if they aren’t prepared to deal with him. He can be easily dealt with, with a Shriek or DWiz. But, if someone is wasting a control resource on him, they aren’t using it on something more important – like a win condition.

Wrecker’s purchase cost is only four energy, he has a fielding cost of one on all levels, and his lowest defense is three. That’s actually really good for he does and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him pop up in a competitive event somewhere. He may not fit every team, but there are teams that he can work well on. And don’t be surprised to see him in casual events either. He’s a great card that’s not getting the love he deserves.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Punisher: Bringing Down The Exchange from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Punisher, Bringing Down The Exchange

Ruling – Ability

While Punisher is active, each time a character die you control is damaged during an opponent’s turn, deal 1 damage to target opponent.

Punisher’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Punisher’s ability will only trigger while she’s active during an opponent’s turn and only when a friendly character die is dealt damage. For example: I have two Punisher dice and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone on my opponent’s turn. My opponent uses a Global ability to deal two damage to one of my Sidekick dice. My opponent will be dealt one damage.

Punisher’s ability will trigger for each instance of damage to each character die, not necessarily for each point of damage. For example: My opponent has a Force Beam basic action die with a burst. They use it on their turn to deal two damage to all three of my character dice. I have an active Punisher die and three character dice that are damaged. Punisher will deal three damage to my opponent. If my opponent had used Force Beam without the burst, the damage that Punisher would deal would still have been three damage.

Even if Punisher is KO’d by damage, her ability will still trigger. This is because she was still active when her ability was triggered.

Punisher’s ability is not optional and will trigger each time one of your character dice are dealt damage during an opponent’s turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Punisher is a Bolt type character card.
~ She does not have an affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #119 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities triggering when the character is KO’d, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Pairing this card with Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders could be a very nasty combo. But, I don’t think this particular combo will see any kind of competitive play because Cube teams usually work much, much faster. Punisher’s purchase cost is the biggest drawback for competitive play. I wouldn’t be surprised if it popped up in some local scenes though. I also would not be surprised to see folks using Punisher as a Cube-deterrent card either. Why would I want to use my Cube while my opponent has an active Punisher, just to help kill myself?! You aren’t really relying on your opponent to damage your characters with that type of strategy. You would want to save energy for Globals that deal damage to target character dice, and damage your own characters during the turn your opponent used a Cube or two.

If Babs or Hulk: Green Goliath were still major contenders in the competitive scene, I’d say Punisher might have a place. Most major competitive scenes have drifted towards direct damage to the player instead of going for the character dice. Punisher’s defense leaves something to be desired for a character that has a While Active ability because she can be very easily KO’d. She’s also an easy target for DWiz, Cold Gun, Shriek, and even Blob.

Most casual scenes don’t see those crazy blanking cards, so Punisher definitely has a chance to see some play in those areas. Give her a try some time on a casual team!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

WizKids has released its second Team Pack, The Defenders. I hope they plan to release some DC Team Packs at some point, but so far there have only been the two Marvel ones, and another Marvel one scheduled for release later this year.

Logo

I did an unboxing video for The Defenders Team Pack and you can find it on YouTube, here. I goofed toward the end of the video though. I meant to say, “check out my review article” – not “check out my review video” – Oops!

Team Pack

02 Team Pack

Pack Contents

~ 24 Character Cards
~ 16 Dice

Keywords

There is one returning keyword in this set, and no new ones.

Returning Keywords:
Overcrush

Affiliations

There is a new affiliation and a returning affiliation.

New!
Defenders

Returning

Villains

Characters

Clea

Star Crossed has a ruling on WORF in regards to Overcrush – which is important to mention here. A character with Overcrush that is ‘blocked’ with Clea’s ability will deal it’s full damage to the defending player. Don’t use Clea’s ability to ‘block’ a character with Overcrush unless you want to take the full amount of damage. Since that character is declared blocked, it would also remain in the Field Zone. Not sure I like Star Crossed much and I don’t like Mistress of the Dark Dimension‘s ability that much either. On Stranger Tides is the only version of Clea I like, but at a cost of six, I don’t think she’ll be making any of my casual teams – especially since every version of Doctor Strange is also expensive to purchase.

Doctor Strange

I was desperately hoping for a cheaper Doctor Strange. There are now nine versions of Doctor Strange in Dice Masters. Three of them have a purchase cost of six and the the remaining six have a purchase cost of seven. Why can’t I have a five cost Doctor Strange. Hulk has a five cost version! I mean, is that too much to ask? He doesn’t need to have the incredible stats that both dice versions have. He’s a powerful character, sure, but there can be versions with less attack and defense if it means a cheaper purchase cost.

As for the abilities, Book of the Vishanti – thank you WizKids for the wording clarification! I would like the ability if we didn’t already have Lady Deadpool that’s cheaper (by two!) and does almost the same thing for a Bolt. The Doctor is In feels like an ability that belongs in AvX or Uncanny X-Men. But not every card should have a super awesome ability. Shields of the Seraphim would have been cool, if we didn’t already have a three cost Scarlet Witch (purchase cost of FOUR) that puts a die in the Prep Area at the cost of one energy. I do love the art choice for this card though – that’s something at least.

Hellcat

Thank goodness – a character cheaper than five! It’s Patsy! is a lesser version of Lyssa Drak from War of Light. For anyone tinkering with Lyssa Drak, this would be her replacement when WoL eventually rotates to Golden Age. Hell’s Belle – I love this card. I didn’t care for her ability at first, until I realized that I have various ways to get her into my Prep Area. She’s only a purchase cost of three as well, so you could buy multiples of her and keep them cycling – preventing your opponent from potentially purchasing their win condition. Demon Sight for Sore Eyes has a cool ability, but it’s way too conditional for a competitive format, and even more so for casual. I’m not sure she would be worth teching into a team build with the current metas. I like this artwork as well, and I know very little about Hellcat. This card kinda makes me want to check her out books.

Hulk

I just don’t like any of these Hulk cards. If I had to choose one, I’d probably choose All the Rage, but his purchase cost and fielding cost is way too expensive for that. You also want to keep him active, meaning you’re not getting the full benefit of his beefy attack stat. I guess the others have their place on various team builds, but not for me.

Iron Fist

I read Healing Hands first and thought, “Cool. I like this ability, but may be difficult to manage each time I’m ready to attack with him.” I was a little disappointed to see his purchase cost was five, but at least he’s under six! Then I read Pulling Punches and thought, “Now this is unique and interesting. I like this one better.” There are ways to force Sidekicks into your opponent’s Field Zone so you could always get at least one damage on your opponent with this ability. Not too bad for a five cost, but still, he could have had a purchase cost of four and been fine. Then I read Holding Back the Storm. My eyes lit up. It felt like this card was made for me – a DDK kind of card. It’s really easy to not field any characters. His attack stats then become 6, 7, 9. Holy stat increase Batman! Give him Overcrush or make him unblockable and he’s a beast! Sounds like the perfect gimmick combo team for me to build! His purchase cost of five is totally justifiable for his ability and stats – which also makes it a DDK card. I don’t usually build teams with win conditions that have a purchase cost less than five.

Jessica Jones

Mother of the Year Award – not the worst, but no. Not worth it for a character with a purchase cost of five and low defense. She can be blasted out of the Field with an uncommon Cold Gun on any level. No thanks – next. Ladies’ Night – this could be somewhat usable. It doesn’t specify opposing Globals or opposing character abilities and it doesn’t say ‘other’ character dice. You could target her with a stat increasing Global and get double what you pay for. I think I like this one a little. This sounds like another DDK gimmick combo card! Redeemed is okay too. She’s not the best, but not awful. You can give her Overcrush and your opponent can’t Blink her back. They can still Cold Gun her though! That’s why I don’t like her near as much. Ladies’ Night can stand up to a Cold Gun blast on your turn, after you get the use of her ability. She may get blanked, but she keeps those applied bonuses!

Loki

And here we have… a VillainWhat? Why on Earth 616 is there a Villain in the DEFENDERS Team Pack? I’m all for diversifying affiliations in certain releases, but with such a limited number of cards in the Team Pack, don’t do that. I’d rather have had a half-way decent Daredevil or a better Moon Knight! *Sigh*

The only Loki that I feel has a remotely decent ability is Master of Delusion. But because of his purchase cost, and because he needs to be fielded to use his ability, he’s not that great. I’m not impressed at all with any of the Loki cards. I definitely would have rather had a four cost Daredevil or Moon Knight in this spot.

Luke Cage

Harlem Raised – the only card with a bolded Keyword on it. And the funny thing is, he doesn’t just have it. You have to reroll him – if he’s blocked – to give him Overcrush. And if he lands on level one or two, congratulations, he now has a two or three attack and Overcrush! I wish you could see my face right now… I’m very confused and trying to understand WizKids’ choices for many things in this Team Pack.

But there is a glimmer of hope. Always Forward can buff your other Defenders, which is awesome. But he has to be active, and he has a purchase cost of five. The upside to his purchase cost being five is that you probably only need one of him because with a defense line of 5, 6, 6, he’s probably not getting blasted out the Field anytime soon. I look at Street Sweeper and I’m a little happier, but then I see his purchase cost and I’m not happy anymore. If I’m going to buy a cost reducer of any kind, it’s not going to be one that costs the same or one less than a die it’s reducing the cost of. He’s got that additional ability that lets you prep a die when you field a Defender character die, but I’d rather have had a three or four cost Street Sweeper with just the cost reducer on it.

Positive note – I absolutely love the art on this card. At least Daredevil was in this Team Pack somewhere!

Character Thoughts

Oh boy…These characters are all so expensive, except for Hellcat, and most of the abilities on the all the cards are underwhelming. It’s a rare occasion when I can’t find something in a starter or team pack that I really like. I just don’t know what to say about this Team Pack. I don’t think this is the best Team Pack for a beginner and I don’t think many advanced level players are going to find these cards useful or even fun to play with. The overly expensive characters are not fun – they’re frustrating. You typically just waste a spot on your team for them because most games are done, or close to being done, long before you get to purchase those characters.

I’ve heard TRP say this and I agree with them – if a character costs six or seven energy to purchase, it better be winning you the game. None – zero – zip – of these expensive characters do that.

Character Dice

You only get two of each character die in the Team Pack. If you’re wanting to put three or four dice on a particular character, you will need to buy a second Team Pack (or trade, exchange, etc.). It’s never a bad thing to have duplicates of the character cards, but I’d rather just have max dice in one purchase.

03 Dice

I like the image and color choices for the Iron Fist die and the color of the Doctor Strange die. Clea’s die has the ‘shimmer swirl’ look to it, so it’s pretty as well and I love Hellcat’s kitty image. But of all the dice, Loki’s is definitely my favorite. But I want to talk about Luke Cage’s die for a moment.

04 Luke Cage With Markers

After filming the unboxing video, I asked the owner of my FLGS (Jeff), if he knew what the image on Luke Cage’s die might be. He studied it for a minute or two and concluded that he wasn’t sure what it was. We continued looking at this image for the better part of ten minutes, trying to figure out what it was. We didn’t think it was a flexing arm at first because we were both looking at the shoulder as the fist. I’m sure it was a sight to see us both flexing and trying to recreate the backward view we were seeing. We decided it couldn’t be an arm – it had to be a cracked stone or a wonky heart of some kind. We were searching any mental knowledge that we had of Luke Cage for a heart or stone reference and came up empty handed. I was about to leave when it suddenly hit me. We were looking at the arm backward. *Sigh*

WizKids, you have successfully trolled me, and Jeff, whether you meant to or not. Nice one. You’ve apparently claimed a few other victims too as most of the folks that have commented on my social media pictures also thought it was a weird heart of some kind.

It did give me a giggle on my way home from my FLGS last night. When I got home, I showed the die to Mr. DDK and asked what he thought it was. He quickly – without any hesitation – responded, “It’s an arm. It’s flexing, like this. See, here’s the fist.”

I felt even more silly than before. But I see it now!

Final Thoughts

I’m so disappointed in this Team Pack. I know this article probably sounds like one long rant, but I’m not going to sugarcoat how I feel or curb my opinions to appeal to the masses – or WizKids. I love WizKids and Dice Masters, but I want to give an honest opinion on their products. We’re all entitled to our own opinions and if you disagree with me, that’s totally fine. Maybe you see something that I don’t, or maybe most of these cards fit your style of play, but for me, this was a wash. Hellcat is the best character in the Team Pack. Is it worth buying the Team Pack just for her? In my opinion – No. Sorry, WizKids, but I’m not a fan of this Team Pack.

I know this is a broken record type statement, but less than max dice in the Team Pack is still an issue. That’s all I’ll say about it because I’ve complained about this particular topic on more than just a few occasions.

Just because I personally don’t like the Team Pack overall, doesn’t mean I won’t be tinkering with some of the cards. I like Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm. That’s totally a DDK type of card. I don’t mind that he costs five to purchase because he has great stats and his ability is really nice too. I will most definitely be tinkering and brewing with Holding Back the Storm. I think he’ll be fun to play around with. I need to buy another Team Pack though, just in case I want to use four dice for Iron Fist or Hellcat.

What are your favorite cards?
What cards do you think will make it into Modern Age or Prime metas?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to WizKids and The Reserve Pool for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!