Posts Tagged ‘NECA’

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

If you know me, then you know how much I love my TMNT Clix and that’s mostly all I play with. There are a few exceptions, like Doctor Strange and the DC Bombshells, but I play with what I like to play with. I have always loved the Tactics sets, but since they aren’t legal for regular events, like Modern Age stuff, I never get to play with them. I’m a huge Star Trek fan, Next Generation being my favorite, but I love the property as a whole. When I saw there was going to be an actual set, with actual dudes, I got super excited! WizKids was really nice to me and sent me the Starter and Dice & Token Pack for a preview article (here). I pre-ordered a brick of the boosters and anxiously awaited its release. Well, that happened yesterday!

I did a very clumsy (but fun!) unboxing video, which you can find on my YouTube channel, here.

Out of my brick, I pulled all of the commons and all but one uncommon. I also got six rares, three super rares, and one chase figure. I got several common and uncommon duplicates but I didn’t get duplicates of anything rare or better.

Scans

I scanned all the individually numbered cards, which you can see below. Just click on the image for a better view.

Favorites

I’m totally a Klingon at heart, so of course the Klingon pieces are going to be some of my favorites, even if they are afflicted with the Qu’Vat virus. I won’t talk about these pieces much since I’ll likely do articles on them later. Kor is probably my favorite piece out of my entire brick. I also really like the Klingon’s team ability, Klingon Empire.

Naked Time Sulu is pretty awesome, and totally playable as a regular team piece or from your Sideline. There are so many great Starfleet pieces and with the team ability, United Federation of Planets, they all get that additional +1 to their speed when they take a move action. One of my other favorite Starfleet pieces is Yeoman Rand. She is unique for good reason! Being able to give her a power action to remove an action token from an adjacent friendly Starfleet dude of 100 points or less is great! She’s only 25 points and has Willpower on her first click.

But aside from those two factions, we also have Romulans who have the team ability Romulan Star Empire. That gives them Stealth, which is very much like a Romulan, to hide and sneak around. I noticed that none of the pieces I pulled have an improved movement though. This makes it very inconvenient to hide them in hindering terrain… unless you’re using the Romulan Lieutenant! His star trait gives all friendly characters that are adjacent or have the Romulan keyword the ability to move unhindered through hindering terrain.

There are lots of generic aliens that look like loads of fun to play with. I love using Mind Control and the Orion Female has Mind Control as a star trait, plus a bonus! The target has to reduce its defense for each Seduction token on its card. They get those from the Orion Female’s other star trait which is a free action to put a Seduction token on a character within four squares and line of fine. I can’t wait to try out this piece! And everyone has likely seen the Tribbles before today. They’re just silly fun, but as a Klingon, I hope I never face them in battle!

Final Thoughts

As a Star Trek fan, this set is very thematic and should be lots of fun to play within itself. I’m not versed well enough in the current meta to know if anything is going to make a splash or not, but I’m not overly concerned with that aspect. I want to play HeroClix and I want to use pieces that are of familiar characters and that I love. Sure, superheroes are cool and I have plenty of those pieces that I like, but I absolutely love these type of sets – the ones that break away from the normal drone of ‘Superhero’ and ‘comic book’. Yes, I’m aware that Star Trek has comics too – I have quite a few Gold Key issues. But these pieces are straight from the TV show and I love that! I really hope we get sets for each of the shows.

While I understand that this set won’t be for everyone, I encourage players to try some of the pieces, even if it’s just in a sealed event. Or maybe sit down with your Trekkie friend(s) and introduce them to Clix. I have a friend that’s never bought a HeroClix product in his life – until yesterday. He bought an entire case, starter, and Dice & Token pack, just so he could learn the game and play Clix with the Star Trek dudes he loves. So, if you aren’t a fan of Star Trek, please, don’t discourage fans from checking it out. Use their love of the property to get them into this amazing world of HeroClix!

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to subscribe, like, and follow!

Live long and Prob it!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Yuan-Ti Pureblood: Epic Humanoid from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Yuan-Ti Pureblood, Epic Humanoid

Ruling – Attune Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:

Attune: While a character you control with Attune is active, when you use an action die, that character deals 1 damage to target player or character die (no matter how many of that character’s dice are active).”

Attune is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Attune triggers when you use any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die. Using a Continuous type action die requires you to place the die in the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool. If you activate a Continuous die’s ability from the Field Zone, this is not considered using it. For example, activating a Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” after it’s in the Field Zone is not considered to be the same as using it. Using it would be placing the Cold Gun die into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool.

While a character die with Attune is active, when you use an action die, the character die with Attune will deal one damage to a target character die or player. For example, if you have three Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone when you use an action die, your Yuan-ti Pureblood will deal only one damage total (not three damage) to a target character die or player.

Attune abilities are mandatory and not optional. When you have an active character with Attune and you use an action die, you must deal one damage to target player or character die, even if you would be forced to target one of your character dice or yourself.

Ruling – Ability

“While Yuan-ti Pureblood is active, when you purchase an action die, trigger the Attune ability of all active character dice.”

Yuan-ti Pureblood’s ability is a While Active ability. While you have at least one Yuan-ti Pureblood die in the Field Zone, you will trigger her ability when you purchase an action die. Her ability triggers when you purchase any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die.

When you purchase an action die while you have an active Yuan-ti Pureblood character die, you will trigger each character die’s Attune ability. Attune abilities will only trigger once for each character, regardless of how many of that character’s dice are in the Field Zone, because Attune is a While Active ability.

For example, if you have three Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone, and purchase an action die, you will trigger the Attune ability of your Yuan-ti Pureblood. You will deal one damage (not three damage) to target player or character die. This is because all three dice are from the same character – your Yuan-ti Pureblood. Her Attune ability can only be triggered once, per instance, while there are any of her dice active in the Field Zone. If you were to purchase another action die, you would trigger her Attune ability a second time and deal one damage again.

This ability will also trigger the Attune ability on your opponent’s character dice. If your opponent has the same Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone, you still trigger her Attune ability as well as yours, because the two character cards are considered to be different characters. One is your Yuan-ti Pureblood, and the other is your opponent’s Yuan-ti Pureblood, making them different characters for game effects such as this ability.

If you trigger an opponent’s Attune ability, you do not get to choose the target of that ability because you are not in control of the ability. Triggering an ability is not the same as controlling or using the ability.

Yuan-ti Pureblood’s ability is mandatory. If you purchase an action die while she’s active, you must trigger the Attune abilities on all active character dice with Attune.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Yuan-ti Pureblood is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Monster affiliation and the Evil alignment.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Super Rare and is #132 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Yuan-ti Pureblood: Epic Humanoid, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Yuan-ti Pureblood is great for action centered teams, but if your opponent is using characters with Attune, her ability could become a nuisance for you. Her ability is still great and definitely worth trying out. She only cost two energy to purchase, but she can be blasted out of the Field Zone very easily. She’s got a defense of one on level one and level two, making her an easy target for Unstable Canister‘s Global. Her level three side is slightly safer with a defense of three, but she still falls victim to uncommon and rare Cold Guns.

I think she’ll be fun in casual play with the Satchel teams I’ve seen floating around, and she might even have a place in the major competitive meta, even though she could be troublesome against a similar team. I’m not sure I’d recommend using her as a main win condition in a draft, only because there are plenty of other characters out there with Attune and her ability could cost you in the end. But at the same time, because she’s so inexpensive, she could allow you to race your opponent to victory!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Nocturne: Shadowy Lineage from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Nocturne, Shadowy Lineage

Ruling – Ability

While Nocturne is active, the first time your opponent uses an Action die each turn, you may redirect the effect to another legal target.

Nocturne’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Nocturne’s ability will only trigger the first time your opponent uses an action die each turn. Activating an action die’s ability, like Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm”, is not considered the same as using the action die and will not trigger Nocturne’s ability.

Nocturne can only redirect the action die if there is a legal target for the action die’s ability. For example, Betrayal: Basic Action Card says, “Deal 1 damage to target opponent for each character die in their Field Zone.” If that’s the first action die your opponent uses, Nocturne cannot redirect it to your opponent because they are the one using the action die. Betrayal would still deal damage to you for each character die in your Field Zone.

Nocturne can redirect an ability from a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, because her text does not specify a type of action die.

If the action die has multiple legal targets, you may choose any legal target. For example, Power Bolt: Basic Action Card says, Deal 2 damage to one target character or player. If that’s the first action die your opponent uses and they target a character die, Nocturne can redirect the effect to your opponent, another character die, or yourself. Any of those targets are legal targets for the effect of the action die.

Nocturne’s ability is not a mandatory trigger. Because her ability is optional, if you forget to use it when her trigger condition is met, you cannot back up once the game has progressed beyond the resolution of the action die’s ability. Also, if the trigger condition is met, but there are no legal targets, you will not be able to use her ability that turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Nocturne is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Exiles affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #99 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Nocturne, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Nocturne has an interesting ability, but because she requires a ‘legal’ target for the redirect, her ability can easily be avoided. You only need to play an action die that she can’t redirect before you play any other action die. The only difficulty in that strategy is getting multiple action dice on the same turn, unless your team is set up for such plays. She’s not expensive, but her defense is kinda terrible because a Cold Gun can easily blast her out of the field on any of her levels.

I like her for drafts and limited constructed events, but as far as Modern Age or Golden Age constructed, I don’t think she’s as useful as other cards. Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For and Bishop: Butterfly Effect are two highly useful cards that I would use over Nocturne.

Fun fact – Nocturne is from not from Earth 616 (Earth Prime). She’s the daughter of Nightcrawler and Scarlet Witch from Earth 2182.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Kyln: Pangalactic Prison from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W The Kyln, Pangalactic Prison

Ruling – Ability

Continuous: Players must spend [1 Generic Energy] more to purchase each character die for every character die in their Field Zone.”

WizKids Keywords page has the definition for Continuous:

Continuous: Actions with Continuous move from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone and can stay there at the end of the turn. Sometimes they’ll send themselves to the Used Pile for an effect whenever you could use a Global Ability.”

The Kyln does not need to be activated in order to gain the benefit of its ability. Each Kyln die that you have in the Field Zone will automatically apply its ability. For every Kyln die you have in the Field Zone, your opponent will need to pay one additional generic energy for each character die in their Field Zone, when they purchase a character die.

For example: If I have two Kyln dice in the Field Zone and my opponent has three character dice in the Field Zone, they will need to pay an additional six energy to purchase a character die.

The Kyln will apply its ability to both players, not just the opposing player. Generic energy can be paid with any type of energy.

The Kyln dice will not leave the Field Zone on their own. To remove a Kyln die from the Field Zone, a player would need to use an ability on a card like Bleez: Controlled Rage or Oni: Greater Giant.

The Kyln’s ability places something like a tax on the purchase of a character die. This ability does not alter the printed cost of a character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Kyln is a Shield type non-basic card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #37 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for The Kyln, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I do not like playing against this card at all. I would rather play against it than a Bard though! Bards aside, this card is devastating to teams that need character dice in the Field while still trying to purchase more character dice. Just one character on your side and three Kyln on the Field will tax the purchase of a character die for three additional energy, making that two cost Guy Gardner ultimately cost you five instead. That’s really painful and Kyln is only two to purchase. The Kyln is a very nasty card and I wouldn’t be surprised if it showed up on teams in various metas. If someone is trying to make a Satchel team work, Kyln is likely going to be a go-to for that team. For all the nasty that this card brings, you can still play around it by not fielding too many character dice while you’re still trying to purchase character dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Scarlet Witch, Careful What You Wish For

Ruling – Ability

“While Scarlet Witch is active, during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, your opponent must reroll any Action dice that land on an Action face and cannot reroll any Action dice on energy faces.”

Scarlet Witch’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Scarlet Witch is active, only during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, if they roll any action dice and those dice land on an action face, they must choose to reroll them. They are not able to choose to reroll any action dice that show an energy face.

Scarlet Witch’s ability applies to all action dice: basic action dice, non-basic action dice, equipment, etc. Anything that is considered to be an action die will be affected by her effect.

If you have Scarlet Witch active, any action dice that show an action face after your opponent rolls their dice during the Roll and Reroll Step, must be chosen by the opponent to be rerolled. They can choose any other dice, except action dice showing an energy face, to reroll with the chosen action dice.

If the rerolled action dice land on an action face after they are rerolled, your opponent does not have to reroll them again. Scarlet Witch’s ability only forces them to choose to reroll them once during the Roll and Reroll Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Scarlet Witch is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants and Villain affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a ruling for Scarlet Witch, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

This Scarlet Witch could be powerful in almost any format where action dice are highly utilized. She’s a great soft counter for action dice teams or even a team that only uses one really powerful action die, like Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination. With Scarlet Witch active, your opponent would essentially need to roll their action dice on an action face twice to keep them. Any action dice that are rolled on an energy face are stuck that way. Cards like Parallax will come in handy against Scarlet Witch, so if you’re using Scarlet Witch, don’t bring Parallax too!

I’m highly considering a spot for her on my Modern Age constructed team, mainly because there are so many good action dice out there that could be a problem. I plan to do some test playing with her very soon. It’s so difficult to test play right now because there are still so many sets scheduled for release and there could be something new or something better that would just take her place or make her obsolete.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jubilee: A Real Firecracker from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Jubilee, A Real Firecracker

Ruling – Ability

“When an opposing character die is KO’d, spin this character up 1 level.”

When an opposing character die is KO’d, each active Jubilee die on your side will spin up one level. Dice that are removed, swapped, sacrificed, etc. are not considered KO’d. The card ability must say that the die is KO’d. For example, Lethal Blow: Basic Action Card says, “Move target level 1 character die from the Field Zone to the Prep Area.” This is not the same as KO’ing that die and will not allow Jubilee to spin up a level.

The opposing character die can be KO’d by combat damage from blocking or being blocked and Jubilee will spin up a level. You can KO an opposing character with non-combat damage and it will allow Jubilee to spin up a level. For example, the Global on Unstable Canister: Basic Action Card says, Pay [BOLT]. Deal 1 damage to target character die.” If you use that Global to deal enough damage to KO an opposing character die, Jubilee will spin up a level.

And example of a card ability that KO’s a character die without dealing damage can be found on Smash!: Basic Action Card. It says, Knock out a target level 1 character. This type of ability would allow Jubilee to spin up a level.

Character dice can’t spin beyond level three or below level one, unless otherwise stated in a card ability.

This ability is not optional. Each time an opposing character die is KO’d, all active Jubilee dice on your side will spin up one level.

Ruling – Awaken Keyword

Awaken Keyword Definition:
“When a die with Awaken spins up 1 or more levels, you may use its Awaken effect. You get to use the effect for each individual die that spins up, so if you have two copies of the same die active and they both spin up, you will get two instances of the effect.”

Jubilee’s Awaken:
“Deal 1 damage to target opponent.”

Each instance that Jubilee would spin up one or more levels, you will get to use her Awaken effect. Each of her dice that spin up will deal one damage to your opponent.

If Jubilee is level one and an effect spins her up to level three, she will only deal one damage. For example, With Great Power…: Basic Action Card says, “Spin all of your character dice up 1 level. [BURST][BURST] Instead spin all of your character dice to level 3.” If you use a With Great Power action die that’s showing a double burst face to spin Jubilee from level one to level three, she will only deal one damage and not two damage. 

If Jubilee is level one and an effect spins her up to level two, she deals one damage. In the same turn, if an effect spins her from level two to level three in a separate instance, she deals one damage to your opponent again. For example, Giganta: Standing Tall has a Global ability that says,Pay [FIST]. Spin target character die up 1 level.” If you use that Global to spin Jubilee from level one to level two, she deals one damage to your opponent. If you use the Global a second time in the same turn to spin Jubilee from level two to level three, she deals one damage to your opponent.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jubilee is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the X-Men affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #57 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There are no official rulings for this card yet.

Page 11 of the Superman Wonder Woman Rulebook has the most up to date info on the progression through the Attack Step.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I can’t wait to play with this card! I really love building and playing around combo cards and this card screams “Combo!” I really love cards that have a built in function for a keyword or other ability, just like Jubilee! She has her own spin trigger that can be easily used with a variety of cards. This makes her Awaken ability really good for various levels of play. She’s got a great purchase cost of two energy and her level one and two fielding costs are good. Her level three fielding cost isn’t horrible, but two is pricey if you’re trying to use that energy for other things. Her defense tops out at three which can be a problem against the uncommon and rare Cold Guns. She’s a great addition for teams that need a way to deal damage early game. I think she’s going to be a super powerful card in drafts because of Unstable Canister and Magic Missile. I think this is a great card for players of all skill levels as well.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Wonder Woman: Reflections from the DC Superman Wonder Woman set.

W 24 Wonder Woman, Reflections

 

Ruling – Ability

“While Wonder Woman is active, “When fielded” and “When attacks” abilities are ignored.”

Wonder Woman’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While there is at least one Wonder Woman die in the Field Zone, all When Fielded and When Attacks abilities will be ignored. This ability will apply to both your opponent’s characters and your own characters and this ability is not optional.

Wonder Woman’s ability will not affect keyword abilities that have a When Fielded or When Attacks effect. For example, Wonder Woman’s ability will not affect Intimidate or Call Out.

Wonder Woman’s ability does not blank the text from the card. Her ability ignores the effects of the ability without blanking the text.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Wonder Woman is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Justice League affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #24 of 34.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a ruling for this card, here and here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I fell in love with this card the moment I saw it. I knew she was the answer to many of the more troublesome cards, like Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance and Green Goblin: “Gobby”. She’s an absolute treasure in Golden Age events and very likely in future Modern Age events as well. with the release of Norman Osborn: Don’t Call Me “Gobby”! from the Guardians of the Galaxy set, she’s already a card that should be considered for your teams. She’s not too difficult to purchase even for a five cost and her stats are very good for a character that needs to stay in the Field Zone. Most folks worry about Shriek hitting her card before they can buy and field her, but a well placed Captain Cold’s Cold Gun (uncommon or rare) will dispose of Shriek dice and then she won’t be able to blank Wonder Woman again without help. I think she’s worth heavy consideration for any team, and she could be a very valuable asset.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Angela: Art of the Hunt from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Angela, Art of the Hunt

Ruling – Infiltrate Ability

“When a character die with Infiltrate attacks and is not blocked, you may choose to remove that character die from combat and not deal combat damage to your opponent. If you do, that character die deals 1 damage to your opponent and the die remains in your Field Zone instead of going to your Used Pile.”

Infiltrate is an ability that allows you to choose between dealing combat damage as normal, or keeping your character active in the field and only dealing one ability damage to your opponent instead.

Infiltrate damage is dealt after blockers are assigned during the Attack Step. After blockers are assigned, you can choose to activate the Infiltrate ability on each character die that has Infiltrate. When you activate the Infiltrate ability, the dice are immediately removed from the Attack Zone and placed in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is still part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking dice are placed here to show they are in combat.

Infiltrate damage is considered ability damage and not combat damage. If another ability would affect damage being dealt to a player, this damage can be affected. If the ability specifies combat damage, Infiltrate damage cannot be affected by that ability.

If a character die is blocked, they cannot use their Infiltrate ability, even if the blocker is removed prior to combat damage being resolve. Once a character is blocked, they are considered to be blocked for that entire combat.

If a character die is not blocked, that die can use it’s Infiltrate ability to deal one damage directly to the opponent. If they do, that die does not deal any combat damage.

Example:
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ This is where attacking dice are assigned.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ This is where blocking dice are assigned.
~ Any dice with Infiltrate can be activated in this step after all blockers have been assigned and those dice with Infiltrate are not blocked.
~ Once activated, the dice will be removed from the Attack Zone, remaining in the Field Zone, and your opponent will take one damage from each dice with Infiltrate. Those dice are no longer considered to be attacking.

Ruling – Ability

Angela has an additional ability on her card that affects her Infiltrate ability. Her additional ability allows her to deal an additional damage with her Infiltrate ability when she uses it.

If Angela is not blocked, she can use Infiltrate. When she uses Infiltrate, she can deal two damage instead of one and she remains in the Field Zone.

Example:
Attack Step – Assign Attackers
~ A level three Angela die is assigned to attack.
Attack Step – Assign Blockers
~ There are no blockers assigned.
~ Angela uses her Infiltrate ability and is removed from the Attack Zone. She will deal two damage instead of one to the opposing player.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Angela is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Guardians of the Galaxy affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #43 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m really digging this new Infiltrate ability and I like the characters that enhance the ability a lot. I like the super rare version, Angela: Hunter of Demons. She makes your characters with Infiltrate unblockable, and she also has Infiltrate. The downside is that she also makes it so your characters with Infiltrate can’t deal combat damage.

The version of Angela in this article is a great draft pick. I also like her because I still have the choice of dealing combat damage or using the Infiltrate ability. She also does an additional point of damage if she uses Infiltrate, making her damage two instead of one. If you get several of her dice in the field, she could possibly be doing a decent amount of damage when she’s not blocked.

I like the offensive nature of Infiltrate characters, but they are great control pieces too. Your opponent has to think a little harder about how they block or don’t block when these guys are running around. Characters that use Infiltrate when not blocked will remain in the field as potential blockers. Infiltrate is definitely better than I initially thought and this particular Angela is a great character to play around with.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Casey Jones: Lunatic Vigilante from the first Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles box set.

W 12 Casey Jones, Lunatic Vigilante

Ruling – Ability

Casey Jones has an ability that says he cannot be blocked by Sidekicks or Villain character dice. This ability works only when Casey Jones is attacking and it applies to each of his attacking character dice.

A die can be given the Villain affiliation through a card effect, and that would make that die unable to block. This will only work if the die is given the Villain affiliation during the Main Step, before Casey Jones attacks. If a character die is given the Villain affiliation after they are assigned as a blocker, it will have no effect on that die being able to block.

Character dice with the Ally Keyword cannot block Casey Jones because they are considered to be Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Villain Affiliation

The Villain affiliation has two different affiliation icons. One is a red Hydra logo, commonly found in Marvel sets. The other is a stylized V, commonly found in DC sets and the TMNT sets. There have been Marvel sets that featured the V on their Villain cards.

Marvel Villain Affiliation     DC Villain Affiliation

Both of these symbols have the exact same meaning and are interchangeable. If a card has the V in the text box, like Casey Jones, it applies to characters with the Hydra logo as well.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Casey Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ He does not have an affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #12 of 58.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card, but you can find the cross-IP terminology, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like characters that can’t be blocked because it puts pressure on your opponent to find a way to stay alive long enough to get their team to go off. I like Casey Jones because he’s a cheaper character with a good ability, and his stats aren’t terrible. I like using him and characters like him as a back up, in case my original plan goes wrong or doesn’t work. He tends to scare some folks when they’re using mostly Villains and Sidekicks/Allies. There are also Globals that can make a character die into a Villain so they can’t block. He’s best paired with a Global like the one on Lantern Power Ring: Energy Projection in Golden Age. For Modern Age, you have to use the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, because it’s the only card with a Global that grants the Villain affiliation. It works, but not as well because it requires a Mask and Fist energy where all the other Villain making Globals require one energy.

He seems fun to pair with Batwoman: Code of Honor. You make him a Villain and both of them are practically unblockable while attacking together. It’s a combo I’ve been thinking about and I hope to put it into action soon to see if it works well enough in a casual setting.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Huntress: Cry for Blood from the DC Batman set.

W Huntress, Cry for Blood

Huntress has two abilities. One is the Flip Keyword and the other says that she can’t be blocked by Sidekicks. I want to go over the second ability first.

Ruling – Ability

Both sides of Huntress’s card says that Sidekicks can’t block her. Regardless of which side she’s showing, Sidekicks will not be able to block her when she attacks. This include characters that have the Ally Keyword, because while those dice are in the Field Zone, they are considered to be Sidekicks. Ally characters are only considered Sidekicks in the Field Zone and nowhere else.

The Attack Zone is still considered to be part of the Field Zone, so while an die that has the Ally Keyword is attacking or blocking, they are still considered to be a Sidekick.

Ruling – Flip Mechanic and Flip Keyword

The Flip keyword allows you to flip that character’s card to it’s other side at the start of your turn. Only cards that have the Flip keyword can be flipped at the beginning of your turn.

The Flip Icon shows that the cards has two sides. Some cards have the Flip Icon but not the Keyword. These cards have a specific trigger or specific timing that they can be flipped. Below is a picture of the Flip Icon, which can be found on the left top corner of the text box on Flip cards.

Flip Icon

Dice will reference the card’s current side, even if it was flipped by another game effect during the turn. The card face that is currently showing will reflect how the die works.

Some characters have different affiliations and different abilities on each side of their card. It’s very important to check your Flip cards at the start of your turn, before your Clear and Draw Step. Once you clear your Reserve Pool and draw your four dice for the turn, it’s too late to flip any of your cards with the Flip keyword.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Huntress is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Batman Family affiliation on Side A and the Villain affiliation on Side B.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #97a and #97b of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Flipping Huntress.

Game State
~ I have one level three Huntress (4A/3D) die in the Field Zone and her card is on Side A. I also have a level three Batwoman: Code of Honor (5A/4D) die in the Field Zone and her card in on Side A (Common Ground – Batwoman can’t be blocked if she attacks with at least one Villain character die.).
~ My opponent has one Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s the very beginning of my turn, before my Clear and Draw Step.
(Beginning of Turn)
~ I look at my characters with the Flip keyword and decide if I want to flip any of them.
~ I decide to Flip my Huntress to Side B where she has the Villain affiliation, because I can attack with her and Batwoman later in my turn and my opponent won’t be able to block either of them.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I now clear dice from my Reserve Pool and draw four dice from my bag.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
WORF doesn’t have an official ruling on this card yet.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I really like this Huntress with the uncommon Batwoman because they can get through those Sidekick walls fairly easily. It limits your opponent’s blocking options too and gives you a better idea of how they’ll block. The flip cards are definitely more interesting and more useful than I had anticipated. I like that Huntress isn’t expensive and can potentially be a turn one purchase if you don’t have any other options. She’s cheap enough to buy multiples of her die too, making her a force to reckoned with if your opponent is relying on Sidekicks and Ally characters to be blockers. Huntress is really great in drafts and casual play. I think she might have a place on some teams out there, but I don’t think she’s a must have for the competitive meta. If you see her across the table from you, be sure you keep something else besides a Sidekick or Ally to block with – or she’s most likely going to hit you. She may not hit hard on her own, but add them up and throw in another character like Batwoman and you might be in trouble!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!