Posts Tagged ‘Out of Play’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jarnborn: And My Axe  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Jarnborn, And My Axe

Ruling Using Action Dice

Jarnborn is a Non-Basic Action Card and it’s dice are Non-Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Jarnborn. If the text refers to a Basic Action Card or Basic Action Die, it will not affect Jarnborn. Non-Basic Action dice can not be purchased by an opponent, unlike Basic Action dice.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Ability

“Replace target character die’s A with double its printed A (until end of turn).”

In order to use Jarnborn, you must be able to target a character die that’s active in the Field. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Jarnborn.

When you use Jarnborn, you can target a character die that belongs to either player.

When used, Jarnborn’s ability will replace the targeted character die’s current attack value with a value equal to double its printed attack value. If a character has applied bonuses to its attack value, those will not be added and will be lost. Static bonuses will still apply. For example, if I have a character in the Field Zone with a printed attack of 4, when I use Jarnborn, that character’s attack value will now be 8 until the end of my turn.

This effect will last until the end of your turn. Jarnborn does not alter the character die’s printed attack value.

You can use this die during your Main Step or wait until after your opponent assigns blockers and then use it during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step. You can use the die for one of your characters that are blocked or one that is unblocked. You can even use this die on one of your opponent’s dice, whether they’re blocking or not.

If you use a second Jarnborn on the same character die, it will replace that character die’s current attack value with double its printed attack value. Even if the value is unchanged, the effect still happens.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jarnborn is a Fist type Non-Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of 4.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I noticed a few players asking about non-basic actions so I thought I’d pick one that I think is a fantastic tactical card. You can wait and use until the Attack Step, after blockers are assigned, to try and maximize your damage against your opponent. Or you can use it on a character die during the Main Step to entice your opponent to block a particular character. You could even use it to help your opponent’s blocker KO one of your attackers with a When KO’d ability.

I love the versatility of this card and I can’t wait to use it more. I’ve been toying around with a few teams and this is a card that might fit nicely on to some of them. One team in particular has the super rare Mister Miracle on it. While he’s active, your action dice gain the Boomerang keyword. I want to use him, Jarnborn, and a heavy hitter or two and I can’t wait to finish that team!

I also love that my opponent can’t buy it, because it’s not a Basic Action. I can bring this card and know that I’m safe from them using it against me – unless they bring it too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Spidey’s Last Stand: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set.

Spidey's last stand BAC

Ruling – Ability

“Sacrifice a character to draw and roll 2 dice (sacrificed characters are placed in the Used Pile).”

WizKids Keywords Page:

Sacrifice: Sacrificed characters are moved from the Field Zone to the Used Pile (often as a cost or penalty).”

When you use this action die, you must sacrifice a character die as part of the cost to using the die. If you can’t sacrifice a character die, you can’t use the action die because you wouldn’t be able to pay the cost to use it. You can’t redirect the cost to a different character die.

When you use this die, you sacrifice a character die, then you draw two dice from your bag and roll them. Those dice are then placed into your Reserve Pool. Dice drawn from this ability are not considered to be drawn during your Roll and Reroll Step, even if you use this action die directly after your Roll and Reroll Step. You do not get to reroll the dice rolled from this ability. Dice are used normally after they’re placed in the Reserve Pool.

If you cannot draw two dice for this ability, you draw as many as you can, then refill your bag and finish drawing until you have drawn two dice.

An ability like Back for More would not trigger if the dice you roll from this ability have the Keyword. The dice drawn and rolled from this ability never enter the Prep Area.

If you have more than one die of the same character in the Field Zone, you do not have to sacrifice all copies of that character. You only need to sacrifice one character die.

When you sacrifice a character die, that die will go to the Used Pile instead of the Prep Area. Sacrificed character dice are not considered to be KO’d and will not trigger When KO’d abilities. If you sacrifice a character die during your turn, that die will go Out of Play first, then to Used Pile during the Clean Up Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Spidey’s Last Stand is a Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It says Use: 3 instead of Max: 3 because you are required to use exactly three Basic Action Dice for this card.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 142.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

Spidey’s Last Stand and Storm: Weather Witch Ruling

There are a few additional Sacrifice rulings:
Used vs Out of Play
Sacrifice for No Effect
Sacrifice and KO Abilities

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Well, this card is not terrible, but it’s not good either. I featured it because I’ve seen and heard lots of players asking how the Sacrifice ability works. I had a message about this specific card as well because it says character and not character die. This is one of those older cards with wonky wording is all. No, you don’t have to blow up all five of your Sidekick dice in the Field Zone, just to draw and roll two dice. I say it’s not a good card only because it’s not good for meta play – and it’ll be rotating soon too.

The reason that I say this isn’t a terrible card is because it’s a useful card for a more casual setting or a limited format. I wish it only cost two to buy though. I think I would actually use this card a lot if it only cost two. It’s easy to get a few Sidekicks in the Field that you can use as fodder for this card. And you’re opponent is less likely to buy this die. This card may not see competitive play, but there are plenty of casual options and fun options!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Great Responsibility: Basic Action Card  from the Marvel Amazing Spider-Man Starter set. This week’s selection is courtesy of the random button from DM Retrobox.

W Great Responsibility, BAC

Ruling – Ability

When you use a Great Responsibility action die, you must also sacrifice a character in order to KO a target opposing character. Sacrificing one of your characters is not optional and the sacrificed character is not being targeted. The opposing character is being targeted, so abilities that redirect or block targeting could be applied.

When you sacrifice a character (or any other die) during your turn, the sacrificed die will go Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. During the Clean Up Step, all dice that are Out of Play will be moved into the Used Pile. When you sacrifice a die during your opponent’s turn, those dice will go directly to the Used Pile.

Great Responsibility can only be used during your turn, but there are several cards with abilities that allow or force you to sacrifice dice during your opponent’s turn. For example, if you have a Blink: Dimension Jumper die in the Field Zone, you could use her ability during your opponent’s turn and she would go to your Used Pile instead of Out of Play. Using Mysterious Shredder Transport would send the opposing die to the Used Pile and the active player’s die Out of Play.

When a character with a When KO’d ability is KO’d by using Great Responsibility, the When KO’d ability will trigger. For example, if Jade: Jennifer-Lynn Hayden is KO’d by Great Responsibility, her owner would get to use her ability allowing them to prep a die from their bag.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Great Responsibility is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #29 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Great Responsibility during the Main Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting Thor. My Sidekick die and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play. Thor is placed in the Prep Area.

Example Two:
Using Great Responsibility during the Attack Step.

~ I have a Great Responsibility die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool. I have a Sidekick and a level two Vixen die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Thor die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick and Vixen dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Thor die to block my Vixen die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Vixen die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Great Responsibility die, sacrificing my Sidekick and targeting my opponent’s Thor die. My Sidekick and Great Responsibility are placed Out of Play and Thor is placed in the Prep Area.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Vixen was blocked, but does not have Overcrush. She will not deal any damage to my opponent, even though her blocker has been removed. She won’t take any damage and will return to the Field Zone.
~ (Clean Up Step) All effects end unless otherwise stated. Dice Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about Sacrifice, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m not a fan of this week’s card selection. There are better ways to achieve the same result – or a more desirable result. A good example is Mysterious Shredder Transport. Transport works a little different, like you don’t get to target an opposing die, but the die they sacrifice is sacrificed – not KO’d. In a constructed field of play, whether competitive or casual, you’re typically trying to KO your opponent and not their characters. Most of the time, players use characters that have a When KO’d ability or ones that can’t be targeted (all the rage now). It’s also cheaper to purchase than Great Responsibility. I feel like Great Responsibility is too expensive for what it does. If I’m paying five energy for a die that I have cycle and then roll, I don’t want to pay an additional cost (like sacrificing a character) just to get one of their dudes out of the Field. If you’re looking at Great Responsibility for Modern Age, please take a closer look at cards like Mysterious Shredder Transport or even Lethal Blow. I think Lethal Blow is underrated – especially since we have Renet Tilley now to almost guarantee that burst or double burst. I don’t expect that combo to be seen in a competitive setting, but Transport could find it’s way there. Reclaim would pair well with Transport and be way more useful than Great Responsibility.

If you’ve played Great Responsibility and you’ve found a use that I’ve overlooked, please share! I enjoy seeing what other folks come up with – whether it’s casual or competitive, I’m open to all suggestions!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

This is the corrected article. Thanks to Michaela for making me think about my original ruling and dig a little deeper!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Howard Stark: Expert Businessman  from the Marvel Iron Man and War Machine Starter set.

w-02-howard-stark-expert-businessman

Ruling – Ally

Ally is a keyword that means the character will count as a Sidekick in addition to any other type that it currently has, but only while the character is active in the Field Zone. A character with the Ally keyword does not count as a Sidekick in the bag, Prep Area, Reserve Pool, etc.

A character with Ally will become a Sidekick the very moment that it enters the Field Zone. This is not an optional keyword and you cannot trigger it because it applies the instant the character is fielded. This matters specifically for abilities like the one on Punisher: War Journal.

Ruling – Ability

Howard Stark’s ability is definitely a interesting one. You can only use it at the beginning of your turn, before you start your Clear and Draw Step. You can sacrifice a Howard Stark die to give the characters your active characters that you control a +2A for the rest of the turn. You may sacrifice any number of Howard Stark dice and each will give a +2A, but you must do it before your Clear and Draw Step. This ability is optional to use. If you start your Clear and Draw Step and didn’t sacrifice a Howard Stark die first, you cannot back up because you missed the timing window for his ability.

When you sacrifice a character die, that die goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step where it then goes to the Used Pile. When a die is Out of Play, game effects cannot affect those dice. Examples – Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants Global cannot be used on Sidekicks Out of Play and Reclaim cannot be used to get a Howard Stark die into the Prep Area on the same turn it was sacrificed.

The buff that Howard Stark’s effect gives affects all characters you have active in the Field Zone at the time you sacrifice his die. Each of his dice that you sacrifice will give your active characters a +2A. If you sacrifice two Howard Stark dice, you characters that are in the Field Zone will get a +4A until the end of your turn. This type of ability is an applied bonus.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Howard Stark is a Mask Character.
~ He has the S.H.I.E.L.D. affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #2 of 34.

If you purchase the Iron Man and War Machine starter set, you will get all the cards, but not maximum dice for each character. You will need two starters for maximum character dice because those dice are not available in any other set.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Sacrificing more than one Howard Stark.

~ I have two level one Howard Stark dice and three Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ I begin my turn by sacrificing one of my Howard Stark dice. This will give my three Sidekick dice a +2A until end of turn. I sacrifice my second Howard Stark die, giving my Sidekick dice an additional +2A for a total of +4A until end of turn.
~ (Clear and Draw Step) I clear any dice remaining in my Reserve Pool from the previous turn and draw four dice from my bag. Any character dice that I draw, roll, and field, will not get the +4A buff.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find an Ally ruling in the Punisher: War Journal ruling, and many other rulings, here.

You can find a ruling about Sacrifice, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

While I think this card is quite good, I don’t see anyone playing it unless Bard gets an errata or somehow makes the banned list (not likely). He costs one less than Bard, but you have to sacrifice him for his ability. Someone like me would try to use Stark in a major event, but I don’t see him making many team lists out there. There are better options for his type of ability – the big one being Bard. He does have the advantage of getting around Cold Guns though, so he’s not a card I’d forget about anytime soon just on the chance that we see a WizKids rotation that hits Bard.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Play Rating

I think this card is great for Prime, but I don’t expect a lot of folks to play him if they aren’t using Overcrush. He’s got great fielding costs, especially since you may be sacrificing him! But if you’re using Reclaim, he could easily be churned many times over for some pretty devastating results. Just remember that you don’t want a Reclaim die the same turn you sacrifice him, because he’ll be Out of Play on the turn he’s sacrificed. I have the perfect place for this card on my Grodd team and I can’t wait to try him out.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a Prime rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Howard Stark’s ability is absolutely confusing. I’m not sure why I thought it was a static type bonus, but he had all of us here confused. Thankfully, Michaela mentioned that it might be applied and not static, which got me to thinking and digging deeper. Glad she said something! So, Stark is lucky I don’t knock him down to a three for causing so much confusion. The needed knowledge for sacrifice can be obtained easily if the player is looking for it. Some new players may confuse sacrificing for KO’ing, but once they know the difference, it’s not usually an issue. Lots of players forget or don’t know that sacrificed characters go Out of Play instead of the directly to the Used Pile. It’s a common mistake among players of all skill levels. I can still easily recommend Howard Stark for players of all skill levels, even with his earlier confusion. He’s a great card, and he offers a great way to showcase the rarely used game mechanic, sacrifice.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Mistakes Were Made!

And this goes to show everyone – I absolutely do make mistakes. I’m definitely not perfect and for all my understanding of the game, this one card tripped me up today. I’m a one person operation here, but I will usually consult with Mr. DDK and a few of the other locals that are more competitive for their opinions, just to be sure I’ve got my interpretation right. Very rarely do we have this issue, but Howard Stark had all of us fooled today! But I’m still so glad I picked him for the Confusing Card of the Week. Never be afraid to question things you think may not be accurate. You could save someone a world of problems, like Michaela did for me today! And don’t be ashamed or embarrassed by a mistake. Admit the mistake, pick yourself up, and roll on!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at the Turtle Van: Basic Action Card from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles box set. This is in celebration of the release of the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half-Shell box set that’s due out tomorrow!

w-turtle-van-bac

Ruling – Ability

Turtle Van is a Continuous Basic Action. If a card ability would affect an Action Die, Turtle Van could be chosen for the effect. One such example is Constantine: Antihero.

Continuous is a keyword found on Action cards. When you use the action die, it is placed in the Field Zone and will remain in the Field Zone until the ability is activated or triggered. Activating or triggering the ability is not considered ‘using’ the die. Using the die is when you move it from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. It can remain in the Field Zone after your turn.

Turtle Van’s ability says that you can send Turtle Van to your Used Pile and prevent all damage to a target blocking character. This ability targets a single character die when you activate it. You may target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice. When activated, the target blocking character die will take no damage from the character it’s blocking. It will also be protected from any Globals or abilities that would damage it after the activation of Turtle Van.

There is a specific timing window for when you can activate Turtle Van. You can only activate the ability on a Turtle Van die after blockers have been assigned, during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step. If you’re the active player, you will have priority to use Actions and Globals. If you’re not the active player, you will have to wait until your opponent passes you priority before you can activate Turtle Van. That means your character can still take ability damage before you’re passed priority and able to activate Turtle Van.

When you activate Turtle Van, it will go directly to the Used Pile, as per the card text.

Turtle Van has a special interaction with Overcrush. Overcrush will only work if all of the attacking character die’s blockers have been KO’d or removed by an effect. If the blocker is still present, but the damage to the blocker is prevented by an ability like Turtle Van, Overcrush will not work.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Turtle Van is a Basic Action with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #58 of 58.

If you purchase the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turltes Box Set, you will have one copy of each card in the entire set, as well as the maximum number of dice for each card.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Turtle Van on your turn.

~ I have one Turtle Van die and a level three Gorilla Grodd: Force of Mind die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Gorilla Grodd as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Grodd, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of my Grodd die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I activate my Turtle Van, targeting my opponent’s Sidekick die and placing my Turtle Van into the Used Pile. The Sidekick will take no damage for the rest of the turn. I don’t activate/use any other Actions or Globals, and my opponent doesn’t use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My Grodd’s seven damage is assigned to the Sidekick, but the Sidekick will take no damage. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Grodd, but it’s not enough to KO him.
~ (Clean Up Step) Both character dice are returned to the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Example Two:
Turtle Van interaction with Overcrush, on your opponent’s turn.

~ I have one Turtle Van die and two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone. My opponent has a level three Gorilla Grodd die in the Field Zone. My opponent has one Bolt energy in the Reserve Pool and has Magic Missile: Basic Action Card.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns Gorilla Grodd as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign both of my Sidekick dice to block Grodd, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of the Grodd die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) My opponent has priority on Actions and Globals, so they use their Bolt energy (moving it Out of Play) to activate the Global on Magic Missile and target one of my blocking Sidekick dice. The Sidekick is KO’d and placed in my Prep Area. My opponent passes priority to me and I activate my Turtle Van, targeting my remaining blocking Sidekick and placing my Turtle Van die in the Used Pile.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Grodd’s seven damage is assigned to the Sidekick, but the Sidekick will take no damage. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Grodd, but it’s not enough to KO him.
~ (Clean Up Step) Both character dice are returned to the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

Overcrush is not a huge deal in the current meta, but as soon as you don’t bring an answer for it, you’ll face off against a rogue Overcrush team. This action isn’t just good for stopping Overcrush, it’s also handy in preventing your opponent’s blocking character from taking damage and getting some crazy effect to go off or even save one of your own blockers from being KO’d. I could see someone adding this to a team if they’re worried about Overcrush and it’s not a terrible card. But since Overcrush isn’t a major meta thing, I can’t give Turtle Van more than a rogue rating. It’s useful for other things besides stopping Overcrush, but there are also tons of other really good BACs out there that someone may want to use instead.

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Play Rating

Turtle Van has been a huge deal in our local Prime meta. Everyone has an Overcrush team of some kind and Turtle Van is a great tech against it. If other meta scenes even slightly resemble ours, then I could see this particular BAC making it onto lots of teams. It’s also great for stopping double damage that a character may be dealing with against Lady Bullseye’s ability. I really like this card and I’d be surprised if it didn’t make at least Prime rogue status, even with the new versions of Polymorph and Magic Missile coming out tomorrow in the new TMNT Box Set.

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I’ve seen this card in lots of casual matches. It’s not a super confusing ability, but the tricks of how to use it against Overcrush are not as apparent to new players. Learning to use the card in that way is something that comes with experience. The one major thing about this card that confuses players is the Continuous part. Even after some explanation, beginners and less experienced players still have a hard time understanding that action dice do not stay in your Reserve Pool – you can’t use action dice on your opponent’s turn. Newer players confuse using an action die with activating an action die’s ability. That’s really the only thing holding Turtle Van back from a five star casual rating. I still recommend this card to our newer players because it’s a great way to learn how to use action dice and how/when to activate Continuous action dice. Don’t discourage new players from Continuous actions just because they can be difficult to understand at first. If you’re a newer player reading this, I encourage you to add at least one Continuous action to your team and play with it. There are lots of great Continuous actions out there, including Turtle Van!

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Punisher: War Journal from the Marvel Civil War set.

I’m also adding a new Prime Rating to each of my Confusing Card of the Week articles. They will follow the same rating system as the Unlimited Competitive Rating, since Prime is also a competitive format. You can find a breakdown of how I choose my ratings on my sticky article, Helpful Sites and About this Blog.

w-punisher-war-journal

Ruling – Ability

Punisher has a When Fielded ability. This type of ability only works when you move the character die into field either from your Reserve Pool by paying its fielding cost or by an ability that specifically tells you to field the character die. Swapping the die into the Field Zone or moving/placing the die by other means will not allow you to use the When Fielded ability.

“Field a character at level one from Used Pile.” This type of wording would allow you to use the When Fielded ability.

“Move a character from your Used Pile to the Field Zone at level one.” This type of wording does not allow you to use the When Fielded ability.

Punisher says when you field his die, each non-Sidekick character die that you field for the rest of the turn gains the keyword, Intimidate. Each non-Sidekick character that enters the Field Zone after Punisher will be able to use Intimidate.

Intimidate is a When Fielded ability that allows that character to remove another character die from the Field Zone until end of turn. You can target an opposing character die or one of your own character dice. The removed character die is placed to the side next to your character cards, but do not place it on the character cards. Nothing else can effect the removed dice because they are no longer in the play area.

At the end of turn, the removed character dice will return to the Field Zone at the level they were on when they were removed. These dice do not return until the Clean Up Step, so they will not be eligible as blockers during the Attack Step.

When a character with a When Fielded ability is returned to the Field Zone after being removed by Intimidate, you do not get to activate that ability. The returning character dice are not being fielded.

A character with the Ally keyword would not be able to use the Intimidate granted by Punisher’s ability. When a character with Ally is fielded, they are considered a Sidekick as long as they are in the Field Zone. You are not able to use Intimidate on your characters until they are fielded. If Ally were a triggered ability, like a When Fielded ability, you would be able to choose the order in which they triggered. Ally is a static type effect that happens as soon as the conditions are met. This does not give you a window to use Intimidate.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Punisher: War Journal is a Fist Character.
~ He has the Thunderbolts affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #92 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:

~ I have a Punisher die, a Sidekick die, an Alfred die, a Wolverine die, an Oracle die, and four fist energy in my Reserve Pool (all my character dice are level one). My opponent has a level three Hulk die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I spend one fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to pay Punisher’s fielding cost, and then field my Punisher die. All non-Sidekick characters that I field for the rest of the turn will gain Intimidate.
~ (Main Step) I spend one fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Anger Issues and target my Punisher die to give him +1A (for a current total of 5A).
~ (Main Step) I field my Sidekick. The Sidekick does not get to use Intimidate.
~ (Main Step) I field my Alfred. He is an Ally as he enters the Field Zone, so he does not get to use Intimidate.
~ (Main Step) I spend one fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to field my Wolverine die. He is not a Sidekick, so he gets to use Intimidate. I target my opponent’s Hulk die and my opponent moves that die next to my character cards, showing that it’s removed from play.
~ (Main Step) I field my Oracle die. She is not a Sidekick, so she gets to use Intimidate. I target my opponent’s Sidekick die and place it next to their Hulk die.
~ (Main Step) I pass priority to my opponent. My opponent does not use any Globals, and passes priority back.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Punisher, Wolverine, and Sidekick as attackers.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent does not have any characters to block with.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I spend my last fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Anger Issues and target my Punisher die to give him +1A (for a total of 6A). I pass priority to my opponent to give them an opportunity to use Globals. They do not use any and pass priority back to me.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) All of my attackers are unblocked and assign their damage to my opponent. Punisher would deal six damage, Wolverine would deal four damage, and the Sidekick would deal one damage, for a total of eleven damage. These unblocked characters are now placed Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up Step) All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile. All effects end (unless otherwise stated). The two characters removed from play by Intimidate are placed back in the Field Zone on their previous levels.


Official Sources

You can find an official ruling about the card on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF), here.

You can find an official definition for Intimidate on the Keywords Page.

You can find additional information on Intimidate in The Reserve Pool’s Lexicon page, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

I do not see this character making it onto any competitive unlimited team. He cost high, his TFC isn’t good for what his ability does, and he is conditional. I say he’s conditional because there are plenty of competitive teams that don’t need active character dice and not many (if any) of your own characters that benefit from returning to play without being ‘fielded’. Vicious Struggle teams don’t normally field any characters. Other teams would likely not be threatened by the temporary removal of their characters. It might be an annoyance for the one turn, but then you would need to cycle Punisher, and any other characters you’re using with him. If WizKids rules that you can use Allies with Punisher, then that may make him a little better, but still not a card I’d consider for a competitive format.

Punisher: War Journal gets a rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Prime Play Rating

With the loss of Elf Thief and the lack of cost reduction, this card does not seem very useful in Prime. I will admit, he’s more appealing for a Prime format where you’ll likely see more teams with characters that stay fielded, but you still need to work hard – probably harder – to get this crazy combo to go off. I wouldn’t expect to see him in any top teams in the Prime format either. There are still much better options for crazy combos, and even fun combos that require much less work and are not as frustrating to get functioning.

Punisher: War Journal gets a Prime rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating

I don’t particularly like Punisher for casual play either. His ability can be confusing and difficult to use in a casual setting. A more experienced player could use this card as a teaching tool, but I think there are better alternatives for that. I think the right pilot could run a team with him and cheap fielding characters effectively, but it still would require specific card choices and a really good understanding of the game. If you’re playing in a casual setting and you want to try something different, then maybe this card could give you that. I can’t recommend this card for a brand new player, but more experienced players might be able to build a fun team with him.

Punisher: War Journal gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I finally had an opportunity to purchase a T1 Roll Master Playmat. We recently made a trip to Comic Cellar in Memphis and while browsing the store, we came across a box of playmats. As I glanced over them, my eyes fell upon the familiar designs of the Roll Master mat. It was as if the clouds of heaven had parted and a band of pony angels descended, singing the most glorious of tunes. My search was over and I was no longer upset about passing on one of these mats at Origins.

But angelic ponies aside, if you’re not familiar with Turn One Gaming Supplies, you should check out their site. They have goodies for lots of different gamers out there, as well as a variety of accessories for different games.

roll-master-mat

Art and Color Scheme

The art on the playmat is very fun and appropriately designed for a mostly comic book themed, dice game. I especially like that there aren’t pictures on the card spaces. This sometimes bothers me about custom playmats because when you place your cards on the mat, they cover the art.

The bomb and Kaboom! on the Used Pile fits perfect with the theme of the game and function of the Used Pile, just like the hand in the Transit Zone that appears to be sinking into the Used Pile. The tumbling dice in the Reserve Poll are fun, and I like that they don’t have numbers or pips on them. I prefer the blank dice with the giant Roll! in the Reserve Pool. The character falling from the window in KO area and the hero swinging into action in Prep Area are perfect fits in those areas as well. I especially like the Batman nod with the hero and the T1 spotlight. The Field Zone looks as if a huge character just landed in that area and the Pow! in the Attack Zone is just glorious! I love the color scheme for the life tracker and how the bursts change shape size just ever so slightly as the numbers decrease.

What I Would Change

I don’t see much of anything that needs to be changed with the art or color schemes. They’re all amazing, bright, and lots of fun! The only suggestion I have is maybe the addition of a small design or watermark type detail on the white area. It doesn’t need to be super fancy, maybe just comic dots, swirls, or lines of some sort. I would love to see the addition of a girly color scheme mat at some point in the future but that’s not a change to the current mat – it’s an addition to the line of awesome mats T1 offers.

Design and Layout

One of the biggest issues that I have with the WizKids playmats is that the life tracker is at the bottom of the mat. This really bugs me – a lot. I feel like it’s wasted at the bottom of the mat and moving it to the top makes it easier for both players to see, and eliminates most of those accidental bumps. This is a great change that T1 did with their mat.

Another issue I have with WizKids mats – which is definitely a problem now – the absence of the Out of Play or Transit Zone. The Transit Zone (Out of Play) has been a functional part of the game since the second set and T1 fixed that problem with this mat. At first, I was not excited about it being above the Used Pile but that’s only because I got used to using the Dice Bag section on the WizKids mat as a Transit Zone. But after test playing on my new mat, I found it to be very useful above the Used Pile and not below it or the Reserve Pool.

I love these two major changes that T1 made on their mats. I like the other minor changes they made too. The dice placement is above the character card instead of beside it which allows for more play area space. This also means that the card space is slightly larger than the cards, but it’s not a big deal when you realize how much additional space you have in play area. In the picture below, you can see just how much larger the play area is on the T1 playmat. T1 really fixed all the major design and layout flaws of the standard Dice Masters playmat and I absolutely love playing on this mat.

roll-master-play-area

Speaking of extra size, the T1 mat is just a little bigger than my WizKids TMNT mat. I like my new extra space! The picture below shows the extra space when the TMNT mat is placed flush with the top of the T1 mat.

roll-master-size

The one thing missing from the Roll Master playmat that’s on every WizKids mat is the Turn Order text. While this text comes in handy during demos and teaching, it’s not something I desperately have to have on my playmat and I don’t mind that it was left off of the Roll Master playmat.

turn-order-text

What I Would Change

They’ve done such an amazing job on these mats and I hate to sound like I’m looking for something to complain about, but the separate KO area throws me off a little while playing. I feel like they could have left the K.O. text at the top of the Prep Area box, as one box and not two, and it would be perfect. Sorry to sound so nit-picky with such an amazing design. But other than that, the Basic Actions only need three dice squares and that would allow them to make those spots more snug with the card size. Everything else is perfect though and like I mentioned, those are only minor issues and not serious functional issues.

Quality

I have a lot of playmats. I’m serious. I played the WoW TCG and I have all the playmats from the Epic Collections (similar to the Collector’s Boxes), which is quite a few just with those. I’ve also got five official WizKids Dice Masters playmats. Other than WoW and Dice Masters playmats, I have loads of MtG and Pokemon playmats as well as tons of other miscellaneous fantasy art playmats. So when I make this next statement, I want you to understand, I have lots of different comparable material. This playmat is the thickest and most durable of all the playmats I own. I’m fairly certain that it wouldn’t be smart to try to wash most of the mats I own, but the T1 mat is machine washable. This is very handy since accidents happen! I’ve got several mats that someone has either spilled a drink on, marked on (accidentally), or gotten dirty and I’m way too afraid to put them in the washer. Knowing that I can wash this mat, makes me feel more secure in my playmat investment.

The picture below is the best picture I could get of the thickness comparison but I tried, and it does not do justice to the T1 playmat. I promise you, it’s thicker than it looks. It also feels more firm than other playmats.

roll-master-thickness

I love the way my dice roll on this playmat too. I’m not sure if they’re statistically rolling better or if it’s my imagination, but the dice don’t seem to fly all over the place either. I think the firmness and thickness has something to do with that.

Price vs Quality

The price vs quality of this mat is amazing. T1 shows an MSRP of $19.95 for all their standard sized playmats. That’s about the same price as the WizKids playmats as well as most other gaming mats. I usually don’t like spending $20 on a mass produced playmat, but the Roll Master playmat from T1 is well worth the money. You would expect a playmat of this quality to cost more than $20.

What I Would Change

I can’t think of anything I would change with the quality of this playmat. It’s the highest quality mat I own and it costs roughly the same as all of the standard playmats out there (prices do vary at some locations).

Final Thoughts

I just can’t say enough about this playmat to adequately show just how great this playmat is. I don’t have much to say in my final thoughts because I feel like I covered everything as thoroughly as I could in the article. If you have any questions about the playmat, feel free to message me or comment here. I am very pleased with this purchase and would highly recommend the Roll Master playmat for every Dice Master out there!

The Reserve Pool also did a review of the Roll Master playmat and you can find it here.

Turn One Gaming Supplies Links

Website
Playmats
Ordering Info

Be sure to drop by their website and check out all their accessories. I would love to check out the Kaboom! sleeves for my Dice Masters teams. If I can find them locally, I will most definitely purchase a pack and review them.

Comic Cellar Info

Comic Cellar FB
Comic Cellar Website

Address and Phone
3620 Austin Peay Hwy Ste 2
Memphis, TN 38128
(901) 382-8623

If you live in or around the Memphis area, this store is more than willing and happy to host Dice Masters events. There are a few locals there that I’m sure would be thrilled to have more folks on a regular basis. This venue has plenty of space for folks to play, it’s comfortable and clean, easy to get to, and it’s close to food (always a plus when food is near). Stop by Comic Cellar and let them know you’re a Dice Master! I also want to say that the locals that were there playing other games were very courteous as well. I want to send thanks to Comic Cellar for having us and being very accommodating.

Do you have a favorite playmat?
What do you think of the Roll Master playmat?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site!

Roll on, Dice Masters!