Posts Tagged ‘Redirect’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Thor: A God Amongst Men from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Thor, A God Amongst Men

Ruling – Ability

While Thor is active, when you would take damage, redirect that damage to Thor.

Thor’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While you have at least one Thor die in the Field Zone, when you would take damage, you must redirect that damage to Thor. Redirecting damage changes the intended target of the damage to Thor, but it does not change the source of the damage. For example: My opponent uses a Get Thee Hence action die and targets me. I would take one damage, but it is instead redirected to one of my Thor dice instead.

If you have more than one Thor die in the Field Zone and a source would deal more than one damage to you, you would choose one Thor die to redirect that source’s damage to. You can’t split a source’s damage unless an ability or effect specifically tells you that you can.

If there are multiple sources dealing damage to you simultaneously, such as from unblocked attackers, you would redirect all of that damage to your Thor die. If you had multiple Thor dice in the Field Zone, you can choose a different Thor die for a different source. For example: My opponent is attacking me with a Hulk (7A), another Hulk (6A), and a Sidekick (1A). I have two Thor dice in the Field Zone on level one (6D) and level two (8D). I do not block so that all of the attackers would deal damage to me. I now redirect that damage from each source to whichever Thor die I choose for that source’s damage. I redirect the seven damage from one Hulk to the level one Thor die. I redirect the six damage from the other Hulk to my level two Thor die. I then redirect the one damage from the Sidekick to my level one Thor die. Now that I have redirected the damage, it resolves simultaneously. My level one Thor die will take eight damage and be KO’d, and my level two Thor die will take six damage but not be KO’d. I could have redirected all three sources of damage to one Thor die, or redirected the damage to both Thor dice in such a way that they would both be KO’d.

When you redirect damage from an attacker that’s not blocked, it does not become blocked. The attacker is still unblocked and will go Out of Play when the damage is resolved, then to the Used Pile during Clean Up.

Attacking characters that are not blocked will not take damage from Thor because he’s not blocking those characters. The damage is being moved from the player to Thor.

Thor can redirect any type of damage, but he can’t redirect loss of life. Losing life and paying life are not considered damage.

Thor’s ability is not optional. When you take damage – any damage – it is redirected to a Thor die. Thor’s ability would have the word ‘may’ in it if it were optional to use.

Ruling – Global

Global: Pay [Bolt] [Bolt]. Once per turn, deal 1 damage to target character die.”

Thor’s Global is only able to be used once per turn, per Thor card. If you and your opponent both have the same Thor card, you may use each Global once.

To use this Global, you must spend two Bolt energy. You may spend one die showing two Bolts or two dice showing any combination of Bolt and Wild energy. Energy spent for this Global on your turn will go Out of Play. Energy spent for this Global on your opponent’s turn will go to your Used Pile.

Thor’s Global can only target a character die, unless an effect says otherwise. This Global does target, so if an ability prevents a character die from being targeted, you can not target that character die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Thor’s Global, because you can’t use a Global for no effect.

Thor’s Global will deal one damage to a target character die. If the character’s defense is one, then the die is KO’d when it’s damaged by this Global.

This Global can be used by either player during the Main Step or during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Thor is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #87 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Relevant Rulebook Text on Redirecting:
“Other powers redirect a game effect (usually damage). When an effect is redirected, the target of the effect changes from its original target to the new one as described in the game text…”

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This is a whopper of character and I thought he’d be a great feature this week since I’ve seen some discussion about him recently. His Global is a little lack luster when compared to other Globals that deal direct damage to characters, because his has a ‘once per turn’ limitation and it cost two Bolt energy. Unstable Canister outshines his Global, so it’s safe to say that we won’t be seeing him on teams for that reason – unless he’s the only option for that type of Global.

But that ability of his is just silly. His ability is like a supercharged Ronin: Between Employers. Ronin can only redirect one source per turn, but he is much cheaper at a cost of three versus Thor’s seven. Thor’s purchase cost is appropriate for his ability, but it’s still a little expensive for competitive play. If you have a way to effectively ramp up to seven energy to buy Thor, I would have to wonder why you’re buying him and not a win condition. If you’re playing casual settings, you may see some folks playing this card. I highly doubt we’ll be seeing him outside of the casual scene, even though he’s got an ability worthy of a Norse God.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Nocturne: Shadowy Lineage from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Nocturne, Shadowy Lineage

Ruling – Ability

While Nocturne is active, the first time your opponent uses an Action die each turn, you may redirect the effect to another legal target.

Nocturne’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Nocturne’s ability will only trigger the first time your opponent uses an action die each turn. Activating an action die’s ability, like Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm”, is not considered the same as using the action die and will not trigger Nocturne’s ability.

Nocturne can only redirect the action die if there is a legal target for the action die’s ability. For example, Betrayal: Basic Action Card says, “Deal 1 damage to target opponent for each character die in their Field Zone.” If that’s the first action die your opponent uses, Nocturne cannot redirect it to your opponent because they are the one using the action die. Betrayal would still deal damage to you for each character die in your Field Zone.

Nocturne can redirect an ability from a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, because her text does not specify a type of action die.

If the action die has multiple legal targets, you may choose any legal target. For example, Power Bolt: Basic Action Card says, Deal 2 damage to one target character or player. If that’s the first action die your opponent uses and they target a character die, Nocturne can redirect the effect to your opponent, another character die, or yourself. Any of those targets are legal targets for the effect of the action die.

Nocturne’s ability is not a mandatory trigger. Because her ability is optional, if you forget to use it when her trigger condition is met, you cannot back up once the game has progressed beyond the resolution of the action die’s ability. Also, if the trigger condition is met, but there are no legal targets, you will not be able to use her ability that turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Nocturne is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Exiles affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #99 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Nocturne, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Nocturne has an interesting ability, but because she requires a ‘legal’ target for the redirect, her ability can easily be avoided. You only need to play an action die that she can’t redirect before you play any other action die. The only difficulty in that strategy is getting multiple action dice on the same turn, unless your team is set up for such plays. She’s not expensive, but her defense is kinda terrible because a Cold Gun can easily blast her out of the field on any of her levels.

I like her for drafts and limited constructed events, but as far as Modern Age or Golden Age constructed, I don’t think she’s as useful as other cards. Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For and Bishop: Butterfly Effect are two highly useful cards that I would use over Nocturne.

Fun fact – Nocturne is from not from Earth 616 (Earth Prime). She’s the daughter of Nightcrawler and Scarlet Witch from Earth 2182.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey from the Marvel Deadpool set.

w-hit-monkey-hes-a-hitman-whos-a-monkey

Ruling – Ability

Hit-Monkey has an ability that can be activated when he’s blocked. When he’s blocked, you may pay a fist energy to assign Hit-Monkey’s combat damage to the defending player as if he wasn’t blocked, but only for that turn.

His combat damage has no effect on the character or characters that block him, because you are using his ability to redirect his combat damage to a different source other than the blockers. Hit-Monkey would not deal damage to his blockers, but they would deal their combat damage to him, possibly KO’ing him.

If you pay the fist to use Hit-Monkey’s ability and an effect would remove his card text, you would no longer be able to assign his damage to your opponent. This is because his card would have been blanked before the Assign Damage portion of the Attack Step. You would only be able to assign damage to the characters blocking Hit-Monkey. You would not get the fist energy spent for his ability back.

It is also important to remember that even though you’re able to assign his combat damage to your opponent, Hit-Monkey is still considered blocked and would gain no benefit from effects that affect unblocked characters.

If the blockers are not able to KO Hit-Monkey, he would return the Field Zone during the Clean Up Step. This is because he was blocked, but not KO’d. It does not matter that he assigned his combat damage somewhere else, only that he was blocked and not KO’d. If he’s KO’d, then he will go to the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey is a Fist Character.
~ He has no affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:
Hit-Monkey blocked and not KO’d.

~ I have one level three Hit-Monkey die in the Field Zone and one fist energy in the Reserve Pool. My opponent has one Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Hit-Monkey as an attacker, placing his die in the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Hit-Monkey, placing it in front of his die in the Attack Zone. Since Hit-Monkey has been blocked, I can now activate his ability. I spend the fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to activate Hit-Monkey’s ability. Hit-Monkey will now be able to assign his combat damage to my opponent instead of the Sidekick.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I do not use any Action dice or Globals. I pass priority to my opponent and they choose not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Hit-Monkey assigns his four damage to my opponent. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Hit-Monkey. Damage resolves simultaneously after it’s been assigned, so my opponent takes four damage and Hit-Monkey takes one damage. Hit-Monkey has a defense of three, so he is not KO’d by the one damage from the Sidekick. The Sidekick is not dealt any damage, so it’s not KO’d.
~ (Clean Up Step) Hit-Monkey is blocked and not KO’d, so he is placed back in the Field Zone. The Sidekick blocked and was not KO’d, so it’s placed back in the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice that are Out of Play are placed in the Used Pile.

Example:
Hit-Monkey blocked and card text is blanked after his ability has been used.

~ I have one level three Hit-Monkey die in the Field Zone. I also have one fist energy and a Flying Car: Buckle Up! action die in the Reserve Pool. My opponent has one Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Hit-Monkey as an attacker, placing his die in the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Hit-Monkey, placing it in front of his die in the Attack Zone. Since Hit-Monkey has been blocked, I can now activate his ability. I spend the fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to activate Hit-Monkey’s ability. Hit-Monkey will now be able to assign his combat damage to my opponent instead of the Sidekick.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Flying Car action to give Hit-Monkey a +3A/+3D, but it removes all of Hit-Monkey’s ability text. I pass priority to my opponent and they choose not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Hit-Monkey assigns his seven damage to Sidekick that’s blocking him. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Hit-Monkey. Damage resolves simultaneously after it’s been assigned, so the Sidekick takes seven damage and Hit-Monkey takes one damage. Hit-Monkey has a defense of six, so he is not KO’d by the one damage from the Sidekick. The Sidekick has one defense and is KO’d by Hit-Monkey’s seven attack.
~ (Clean Up Step) Hit-Monkey is blocked and not KO’d, so he is placed back in the Field Zone. The Sidekick is placed in the Prep Area because it was KO’d. All effects end and all dice that are Out of Play are placed in the Used Pile.

Official Sources

You can find an official ruling about the card on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF), here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

As much as I like this card, I think he’s too difficult to work with in an Unlimited format where there are better cards. His ability is good and I think that the right pilot with the right team build might be able to make him work. It takes special care and specific building to make something like this viable though, so I don’t think he’s a card that will see a lot of Unlimited play in the current meta. He’s still a good card, just not the best choice for this particular format. I don’t think he’s fast enough for the current speed of the meta.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Play Rating

I don’t think this card is getting the recognition it deserves for the Prime format. I think this card may see more play, and even a few top positions in some upcoming PDC events. If it doesn’t, I would be very disappointed, but not surprised since he doesn’t get much love anyway. I could be totally wrong about this card, but it seems like such a good card with the current list of available cards. There are still plenty of build options for using a card like this and not a whole lot of ways around it. I suspect Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” is going to make every team list, but there are ways to play around those. Hit-Monkey may not be everyone’s style, but I think he has great potential and folks would be remiss to not give this card a shot on a team.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey. gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

It’s not often that a card receives a five star rating from me, especially for a beginning or casual player. I don’t think a card ability can be written any more clear than how this one is written. It even has reminder text that helps remind the player that the combat damage is not dealt to the blocking character(s). The confusion around this card begins when you get into more advanced level of play, like the examples in the WORF ruling. But for beginners and casual players that don’t see a lot of the competitive type cards, this is probably one of the best cards to start someone off with. This character’s ability is great to play on its own or with some combo cards, which is one of the reasons it’s such a good card for beginners. I can easily recommend this card for a player of any skill level.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey gets a casual play rating of five out of five stars.
5 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today, we’re going to take a look at Ronin: Between Employers from the Marvel Civil War set.

ronin-between-employers

Ruling – Ability

While Ronin is active, you may redirect all damage from one source to one of your Ronin dice, but you can only do this once per turn.

Ronin’s ability is a While Active ability. While Active abilities work regardless of how many of that character’s dice are in the Field Zone. I’ve heard it compared to a light switch – it’s either on, or it’s off.

This ability also says may, which means you do not have to use the ability unless you choose to use it. This also means that if you forget to use the ability, you do not get backtrack to use it.

Ronin’s ability to redirect damage does not change the damage type or alter the damage in any way. If the source is dealing ability damage, then Ronin’s ability is redirecting ability damage. If the source is dealing combat damage, then Ronin’s ability is redirecting combat damage.

If you only have one Ronin die active and he is the target of damage, he may not redirect the damage from that source to himself. I do not have an official ruling on this, but I base it off of the wording in the Rulebook on page 21-22. It says:

Other powers redirect a game effect (usually damage). When an effect is redirected, the target of the effect changes from its original target to the new one as described in the game text, even if the new target is your opponent’s character. The source of the effect remains unchanged from the original.

If Ronin is already the target of the damage, he can’t make himself the ‘new’ target. If you have more than one Ronin active and one is being targeted by damage, you can redirect the damage to the Ronin die that isn’t being targeted.

If a character has an ability that can be triggered or activated multiple times in a turn, each trigger or activation is considered a separate source of damage. This means that an ability that can be used more than once each turn can not be fully redirected by Ronin, only one source or instance can be redirected. A character with an ability that does damage can have that damage redirected, but if that same character attacks, the combat damage cannot be redirected because the combat damage is a different source.

Ronin can only redirect damage and cannot redirect life payment or life loss, such as the one associated with the Global on The Front Line: Basic Action Card.

Ronin’s ability is a reactive ability.

Affiliations and Types

Ronin: Between Employers is a Mask Character and has the Avengers affiliation.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Ronin redirecting ability damage.

~ I have one level two Ronin (2A/4D) die active and my opponent has one level one Cheetah: Cursed Archeologist (2A/2D) die active.
~ (Attack Step) My opponent declares Cheetah as an attacker. Her ability triggers and my opponent chooses me as the target.
~ (Attack Step) I tell my opponent that I want to use Ronin’s ability to redirect the damage from Cheetah’s ability to Ronin’s die. Ronin has one damage on him now.
~ (Attack Step) I declare Ronin as a blocker and block Cheetah.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent doesn’t use any Action Dice or Globals. I decide not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) Ronin and Cheetah each deal their attack value in damage to each others’ defense. Cheetah is KO’d and placed in the Prep Area. Ronin has three damage on him now but his defense is four, so he isn’t KO’d and stays in the Field Zone.

Example Two:
Ronin redirecting combat damage.

~ I have one level three Ronin (3A/5D) die and one Sidekick die active in the Field Zone. My opponent has a level two Blue Beetle: Jamie Reyes (4A/1D) active in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) My opponent spends one Fist energy for the Global on The Front Line: Basic Action Card and targets my Ronin die.
~ (Attack Step) My opponent declares Blue Beetle as an attacker.
~ (Attack Step) I declare my Sidekick as a blocker.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent doesn’t use any Action Dice or Globals. I decide not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) I tell my opponent that I want to use Ronin’s ability to redirect the damage from Blue Beetle’s attack to my Ronin die. The damage that Blue Beetle would have done to the Sidekick is now done to Ronin. Ronin is not KO’d because he has a defense of five and has taken no other damage this turn. Blue Beetle takes one damage from the Sidekick that’s blocking him. Blue Beetle is KO’d and sent to the Prep Area because he only has a defense of one. The Sidekick and Ronin remain in the Field Zone.

Example Three:
One Ronin die vs a character with Overcrush.

~ I have one level one Ronin (1A/2D) die in the Field Zone. My opponent has one level two Martian Manhunter: Green Martian (6A/2D) die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step) My opponent declares an attack with Martian Manhunter.
~ (Attack Step) I declare Ronin as a blocker and block the Martian Manhunter.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent doesn’t use any Action Dice or Globals. I decide not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) Ronin takes six damage from Martian Manhunter. Martian Manhunter takes one damage from Ronin. Ronin is KO’d and sent to the Prep Area. Martian Manhunter will remain in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) Because Martian Manhunter has Overcrush, I will take the difference in damage between Martian Manhunter’s attack and Ronin’s defense. I take four damage. I cannot use Ronin to redirect the damage because Ronin is already being damaged by the source.

Example Four:
Two blocking characters (one Ronin) vs a character with Overcrush.

~ I have one level one Ronin (1A/2D) die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. My opponent has one level two Martian Manhunter: Green Martian (6A/2D) die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step) My opponent declares an attack with Martian Manhunter.
~ (Attack Step) I declare Ronin and the Sidekick as blockers and block the Martian Manhunter.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent doesn’t use any Action Dice or Globals. I decide not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) I tell my opponent that I want to use Ronin’s ability to redirect all Martian Manhunter’s damage to Ronin so the Sidekick doesn’t take any damage.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) Ronin takes all six of Martian Manhunter’s damage and the Sidekick takes zero damage. Because there is still a blocker, Martian Manhunter’s Overcrush does not hit my life total.

Example Five:
One Ronin blocking and one Ronin not blocking vs a character with Overcrush.

~ I have two level one Ronin (1A/2D) dice in the Field Zone. My opponent has one level two Martian Manhunter: Green Martian (6A/2D) die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step) My opponent declares an attack with Martian Manhunter.
~ (Attack Step) I declare one Ronin as a blocker and block the Martian Manhunter.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent doesn’t use any Action Dice or Globals. I decide not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) I tell my opponent that I want to use Ronin’s ability to redirect all Martian Manhunter’s damage to the Ronin die that isn’t blocking.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) The Ronin die that isn’t blocking takes all six of Martian Manhunter’s damage and the Ronin that is blocking takes zero damage. Because there is still a blocker, Martian Manhunter’s Overcrush does not hit my life total.

Example Six:
Two Ronin dice blocking two characters with Overcrush.

~ I have two level one Ronin (1A/2D) dice in the Field Zone. My opponent has two level two Martian Manhunter: Green Martian (6A/2D) dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step) My opponent declares an attack with both Martian Manhunter dice.
~ (Attack Step) I declare each Ronin as a blocker and block each Martian Manhunter die with a Ronin die.
(Ronin 1 blocking Martian Manhunter 1, Ronin 2 blocking Martian Manhunter 2)
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent doesn’t use any Action Dice or Globals. I decide not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) I tell my opponent that I want to use my Ronin 1’s ability to redirect all of the Martian Manhunter 2’s damage to Ronin 1’s die.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) Ronin 1 is KO’d and Martian Manhuter 1 hits my life total for six because his blocker was KO’d. Ronin 2 is not KO’d and Martian Manhunter 2 doesn’t deal any damage to my life total.

Example Seven:
Ronin vs multiple triggers from one character.

~ I have a level two Ronin (2A/4D) die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a level two Nova: The Human Rocket (5A/6D) die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step) My opponent declares an attack with Nova.
~ (Attack Step) I declare Ronin as a blocker and block Nova.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent doesn’t use any Action Dice, but does use the Global on the Magic Missile: Basic Action Card to do one damage to Nova.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) I tell my opponent that I want to use Ronin’s ability to redirect the ability damage from Nova to my Ronin die.
~ (Attack Step – Action Dice and Globals) My opponent chooses to use the Global on Magic Missile a second time. I cannot redirect the damage this time because this is a new source of damage. I take two damage.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Damage) Nova takes two damage from Ronin, and Ronin takes five damage from Nova. Nova ended up taking a total of four damage, one from each Magic Missile Global and two from Ronin. Ronin has already taken two damage from Nova’s ability and now takes five from his attack for a total of seven. Nova is not KO’d and remains in the Field Zone. Ronin is KO’d and sent to the Prep Area. Because Ronin dealt damage to Nova, I will take two damage from Nova’s ability.

Official Sources

You can find an official ruling referencing Ronin: Between Employers, here.

Page 21-22 of the Civil War Rulebook Preventing and Redirecting can be found towards the bottom of the page.
Page 21 of the Civil War Rulebook – Active and Fielded explains how While Active abilities work.

Competitive Play Rating

Ronin is a very powerful card and can easily turn the tides in your favor. His ability can be super complicated and even ruled differently in different venues, so I would recommend you clarify rulings about him with the TO beforehand. I’ve seen first hand how much Ronin can change the outcome of a game. His purchase cost is so good for such a powerful ability and since he’s a Mask character, you could easily benefit from his energy faces if he doesn’t roll a character face. His fielding costs are near perfect and his level two and three defenses are decent enough that he can survive most individual sources of damage. He’s definitely a card to consider on almost any team for competitive play.

Ronin: Between Employers gets a competitive play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Ronin is very powerful for competitive play, but I wouldn’t recommend him for casual play. His ability is very complicated to use and could be very intimidating for a beginner to play against. If you want to use Ronin because you like the character, I would suggest either Ronin: Continuing the Name or Ronin: Lone Warrior when you play in a casual setting. Save the big nasty for the competitive scene. The ability of Lone Warrior is close to the ability of Between Employers, but it’s less intimidating. If the casual players in your scene play on a more competitive level, then Between Employers might not be a big deal. But I always look at my casual ratings as though the card is being used around a group of beginners. Use your best judgement when it comes to your local casual scene and always remember that casual settings should be about enjoying the game play and not have so much focus on always winning.

Ronin: Between Employers gets a casual play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

Today, we’re going to take a look at Flesh Golem, Lesser Construct from the Dungeons and Dragons Faerûn Under Siege set.

        Flesh Golem, Lesser Construct

Ruling – Fabricate Ability

Fabricate is a new ability in the Dungeons and Dragons Faerûn Under Siege set. New abilities can bring some confusion until players get used to them. You do not need a die with Fabricate in the field to be able to use this ability and you cannot use your opponent’s character dice.

Fabricate 2-3 is what this version of Flesh Golem has. It means that you can KO two character dice with a total purchase cost of three or more in order to purchase one of your Flesh Golem dice for free. So if you have a Fabricate 3-5, you would need to KO three character dice that have a total purchase cost of five or more.

Another point that’s worth mentioning is that if you use a character that has an ability that triggers when it’s KO’d, you must complete the Fabricate game action before starting another game action.

Example:
I have a Sidekick, Solomon Grundy, Buried on a Sunday, and an Elf Thief, Lesser Harper active. I want to purchase an Iron Golem, Lesser Construct by using its Fabricate 3-5. I can KO Solomon Grundy and the Elf Thief to accomplish this. When I KO Grundy, his ability will not trigger until I complete my Fabricate.

Step 1 – KO the Sidekick, Solomon Grundy, and Elf Thief. (Fabricate game action – start)
Step 2 – Buy an Iron Golem for free. (Fabricate game action – finish)
Step 3 – Trigger Solomon Grundy’s KO ability and KO an opposing character.

You cannot use Fabricate without an effect. If you have purchased all of your Fabricate character’s dice, you cannot Fabricate again unless a game effect would return one to the card.

Example:
I have three Flesh Golem dice total. I have purchased two of them and one remains on the card. I use the Fabricate ability to purchase the last one. I don’t have any dice left on my Flesh Golem’s card. I cannot use Flesh Golem’s Fabricate again.

Ruling – Damage Redirection Ability

Flesh Golem has another ability on his card. He allows you to redirect one damage from you to his die. This is a ‘While Active’ ability and that means you can only do it once a turn, regardless of how many Flesh Golems you have active.

If you were to have Iron Golem, Lesser Construct active, you could redirect up to three damage from you to an Iron Golem die. You could even split the damage up so long as it never adds up to more than three total.

If I have an Iron Golem active and my opponent uses Power Bolt, I can redirect the two damage to my Iron Golem. In the same turn, my opponent uses Relentless‘s Global on my Iron Golem and then attacks with a Sidekick. I can redirect the one damage the Sidekick would do to me to my Iron Golem. If my opponent used anything to make that Sidekick’s attack more than one, I could only redirect one of the Sidekick’s damage. This redirection ability works the same regardless of the number of Iron Golem dice in the Field Zone.

If you have multiple dice in the Field Zone, you can choose which one takes the damage. But that only works for Golems with a redirection ability higher than one.

Here is the official Ruling on Fabricate.
Here is the official Ruling on damage redirection.

Competitive Play Rating
This particular Flesh Golem is not a favorite of mine for any form of constructed competitive event. He’s just a little underwhelming for my tastes. I can see some of the other Golems making a possible appearance on a rogue team, but I can’t see this one making the cut. The Fabricate ability makes for an easy way to KO your characters that you want KO’d, like Solomon Grundy and Elf Thief (so you can reroll him), but I’m not sure how much these cards will be used. I give the Flesh Golem, Lesser Construct a one out of five stars because you may encounter someone, somewhere that tries to use him because of his Fabricate and his damage redirection. He has a good defense stat, but his steep fielding cost on level one and two make me cringe a little at using him on any competitive team.

Flesh Golem, Lesser Construct gets a competitive play rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating
For casual play, this card is great. It helps teach new game mechanics and how to use certain ‘while active’ abilities. His ability is easy to understand once explained and not difficult to play with. He makes for a great draft pick as well. His fielding cost is high for level one, but I feel like his stats offset this in a casual setting. He can be purchased easily and even be used as a combo card for characters that do something when KO’d. I wouldn’t say that this character is for everyone, but he definitely has a place on a few casual teams.

Flesh Golem, Lesser Construct gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
You can post a question in our Facebook group and we’ll take a look at it.

Roll on, Dice Masters!