Posts Tagged ‘Ruling’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Luke Cage: Harlem Raised  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

22 Luke Cage, Harlem Raised

Ruling – Ability

Luke Cage’s ability triggers only when he is blocked. When he’s blocked, you may reroll him and if he rerolls into a character face, he gains Overcrush. If he rerolls into energy, you put him on his level one face and place him into the Field Zone and he will no longer be attacking.

Luke Cage’s ability says that you may reroll him if he’s blocked. This ability is optional, meaning if he’s blocked, you aren’t required to reroll him. If he’s blocked and you decide to reroll him, he will remain on the character face that you rerolled him on and gain Overcrush.

If you choose to reroll a blocked Luke Cage die and it lands on an energy face, you will have to place his die back into the Field Zone at level one. This will remove him from the Attack Zone and he will no longer be considered attacking. Characters that blocked him will not take damage from him and he will not take damage from the blocking character dice.

It’s worth noting that the normal rules for rerolling a character from the Field/Attack Zone into energy, would move that die to the Reserve Pool. Luke Cage has a special part to his ability that allows him to be placed on his level one side in the Field Zone instead.

Ruling – Overcrush

Overcrush is an ability that allows a blocked attacking character to deal damage to the defending player, so long as it’s attack value is higher than the blocking character’s defense value. If an attacking character has an attack of five and the blocking character has a defense of three, the defending player would take damage equal to the difference. In this example, the defending player would take two damage.

A character with Overcrush that’s blocked can deal damage to the defending player only if all of their blockers are KO’d or REMOVED as blockers by other means. An example of removing the blocker would be the attacking player using an Imprisoned die on blocking characters during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

If a blocking character is removed or KO’d before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, the attacking character with Overcrush would deal their full attack value to the defending player.

Another important aspect about Overcrush that needs to be noted is how the damage is assigned and resolved. The blocking character is assigned the attacker’s full attack value. Overcrush is a special ability that allows the excess damage, the amount greater than the blockers defense, to be dealt to the opponent. For example: I’m attacking with a character that has a seven attack and Overcrush. My opponent blocks with a Sidekick that only has one defense. The Sidekick is assigned seven damage, but Overcrush will allow me to deal six of that to my opponent.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Luke Cage is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Defenders affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #22 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on a character face.

Game State
I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
– We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
– I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
– My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
– Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
– He lands on his level two character face and now has Overcrush.
– He is still attacking and still blocked by the two Sidekicks because he never left the Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
– I do not use any Actions or Globals.
– My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
– Luke Cage must KO all of his blockers in order to deal damage to my opponent.
– Luke Cage assigns one damage to one Sidekick and two damage to the other.
– Both Sidekicks assign their one damage to Luke Cage.
– Both the Sidekicks are KO’d by Luke Cage’s combat damage and will go to the Prep Area.
– Because Luke Cage has Overcrush, the excess damage (greater than the Sidekick’s defense) will be dealt to the defending player.
– My opponent will take one damage.
– Luke Cage will take two damage total from the blockers, but it’s not enough to KO him.
– Luke Cage will return to Field Zone. He does not go Out of Play because he was blocked and not KO’d.

Example Two:
Rerolling Luke Cage and he lands on an energy face.

Game State
I have a level one Luke Cage die and my opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
– We are moving into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
– I assign my Luke Cage die as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
– My opponent decides to assign both of his Sidekick dice to block Luke Cage, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of my Luke Cage die.
– Luke Cage is blocked, so I can now activate his ability if I choose to do so, which I do, and reroll Luke Cage.
– He lands on the single energy face.
– Luke Cage’s die is now placed in the Field Zone on his level face. He is no longer attacking or blocked.
– The two Sidekick dice return the Field Zone as well, because the blocked character is no longer attacking.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
– I do not use any Actions or Globals.
– My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
– There isn’t any damage to assign or resolve.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Here are all the relevant Overcrush rulings:
Removed Blockers
Assigning Damage and Damage Dealt
Overcrush Clarifications

You can find a relevant rerolling ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I’m definitely not a fan of this card, but I can see why he appeals some players. There is that possibility of a rolling him onto his level three side with a six attack and Overcrush. But honestly, there are far better characters that just have Overcrush and better level one and level two attack stats. She-Hulk: Sensational is a perfect example. I think Carnage: Sinister and even Hill Giant: Apprentice Giant are better than this Luke Cage. All those example cost the same or less than this Luke Cage. Hill Giant is the only one with really low defense but for a purchase cost of three, he’s still better in my opinion. Folks have mentioned that you can pump his attack with a Global, or spin him up after the reroll with Mutation’s Global, but those are far too unreliable. I think this Luke Cage has a purchase cost that’s too high for his stats and ability, when there are characters that are better with the same purchase cost.

 The image choice for the die is a little odd. There are plenty of folks out there that had no clue it was a flexing arm – including me. I thought it was a wonky heart or a cracked stone of some kind. While a flexing arm is perfect for Luke Cage, I think it could have been executed a little better. The art choice for this card is awesome! I like when they occasionally choose art that shows the more casual side of the characters.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Ranx: Malevolent Metropolis  from the DC War of Light set. This randomly selected card is brought to you by DM Retrobox.

Before we get into the game related part of this week’s article, I want to briefly talk about who Ranx is. I’m not that familiar with the DC Universe – or more specifically the Lantern part of it. I had no idea who Ranx was, so I went to Wikipedia for some answers. In short, Ranx is a sentient city that is often viewed as a villain of sorts. It is classified as a planetoid and has many unique abilities, including powers granted to it by the yellow power ring. I found this character to be interesting and if not for Dice Masters, I probably wouldn’t have known Ranx existed.

W Ranx, Malevolent Metropolis

Ruling Ability

Ranx has an ability that can be used during the Assign Blockers part of the Attack Step. Due to the nature of the ability, you may only use the ability if the character is active.

Ranx may block any number of Bolt type character dice that are attacking you. Those characters must be assigned as attackers in order for Ranx to block them. If you choose to use Ranx’s ability to block multiple Bolt characters, you may not block a character that isn’t a Bolt character. Characters with abilities like the one on Ranx may choose to block normally or may use their special blocking ability, but not both.

You may choose to use the ability or choose not to use it for each individual Ranx die that can block.

Standard Sidekick dice are not considered to be any energy type and would not be eligible for Ranx’s ability if you choose to use it. An Ally that is a Bolt type would be eligible.

A Crossover character that has a Bolt in its energy type is considered a Bolt character.

When a character is blocking more than one attacker, you do not get to deal your blocker’s full amount of damage to each blocked character. You can choose to assign all of it to one attacker or divide it among any number of blocked attackers.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Ranx is a Shield type character card.
~ It has the Villain and Sinestro Corps affiliations.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #96 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using multiple Ranx dice.

~ I have two level three Ranx dice (4/8) in the Field Zone. My opponent has five Bolt characters, a Mask character, and two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with all five Bolt characters, the one Mask character, and the two Sidekick dice. My opponent moves all the attackers into the Attack Zone to show that they are attacking.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign one Ranx die to block all five Bolt characters, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the five Bolt characters. I assign the second Ranx die to block the Mask character, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the Mask character. The Sidekicks are unblocked.

Example Two:
Assigning damage while blocking two or more characters.

~ I have one level three Ranx die (4/8) in the Field Zone. My opponent has two Hal Jordan dice (level one 3/2 and level two 4/3) and one Sidekick die (1/1) in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with both Hal Jordan dice and the Sidekick die, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign my Ranx die to block both Hal Jordan dice, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of the Hal Jordan dice. The Sidekick is unblocked.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Ranx assigns three of its four damage to the level two Hal Jordan die and the last point of damage to the level one Hal Jordan die. This is enough to KO the level two Hal Jordan, but not the level one Hal Jordan. The two Hal Jordan dice assign their combined total of seven damage to Ranx, which is not enough to KO Ranx. The Sidekick die assigns and resolves its one damage to my life total and is then placed Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up) The KO’d Hal Jordan die is placed in the Prep Area. The characters that are not KO’d are moved out of the Attack Zone, back into the Field Zone. All effects end. Dice that are Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about a similar ability, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

I am temporarily removing my ratings from the Confusing Card of the Week articles. I plan to redo my ratings system and improve it!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Shiklah: Succubus  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Shiklah, Succubus

Ruling Ability

Shiklah has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Shiklah’s ability says that while she’s active, you move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to your Prep Area, but only at the beginning of your turn. If Shiklah is not active when your turn starts, you can not use her ability even if you field her later that turn. The beginning of your turn is before your Clear and Draw Step, so if you don’t have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile before your Clear and Draw Step, you won’t be able to use her ability.

Ally characters only count as Sidekicks while they are in the Field Zone. Allies do not count as Sidekicks anywhere else, so you could not move an Ally character with Shiklah’s ability.

Any dice put into your Prep Area before your Roll and Reroll Step, cannot be rolled during your Roll and Reroll Step. Sidekick dice that are moved using Shiklah’s ability are not eligible to be rolled during the Roll and Reroll Step on the turn they are moved. They can be rolled that turn using other game effects such as Momentum or X-23.

Shiklah’s ability is not optional because it does not say that you ‘may’ move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to your Prep Area. As long as she’s active at the beginning of your turn and you have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile, you must move one into your Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Shiklah is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Deadpool affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #112 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Shiklah’s ability.

~ I have two Shiklah dice in my Field Zone and three Sidekick dice in my Used Pile. I have no dice in my Prep Area.
~ At the beginning of my turn, before my Clear and Draw Step, I must use Shiklah’s ability. I move one Sidekick die from my Used Pile to my Prep Area.
~ (Clear and Draw) I move any leftover dice from my Reserve Pool and place them into my Used Pile. I draw four dice from my bag and place them in my Prep Area – but keeping them separate from the Sidekick die I just moved there.
~ (Roll and Reroll) I roll the four dice that I drew this turn, but not the Sidekick that was put into my Prep Area at the beginning of my turn.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about dice placed in the Prep Area before the Roll and Reroll Step, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

You can find a guide to my ratings, here.
These are personal opinion of the card being showcased and not an official reflection of current major meta.

Golden Age Rating

I would be really surprised to see this card make it onto any competitive level Golden Age team. There are way too many other cards that are much more effective and easier to utilize. I can’t give her a zero rating though because she is an alternative form of churn that doesn’t rely on a Global. While she’s not the best option for churn, she can’t be shut down by Global nullification like PXG can.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Modern Age Rating

I could see Shiklah finding her way onto a few teams in the Modern Age format. She’s a more delayed form of churn, but if you keep her active, you’re always gonna have at least a Sidekick in your Prep Area every turn. I’m not quite convinced that she’s better than a rogue team character. She’s got a unique ability that requires her to be active at the beginning of your turn. This gives your opponent a whole turn to get rid of her if they want to. She can be blasted out of the field with a Cold Gun, or even bolted with the Global on Unstable Canister. But I guess if your opponent is spending their resources for that, they aren’t spending them on anything else.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Rating

I’m not crazy about this card in Prime either. Her defense stats aren’t the best if you’re looking at an uncommon or rare Cold Gun across the table from you. It can take her out on two of her sides and mess with your churn flow. Personally, I’d rather use Stepford Cuckoos than Shiklah because I’m guaranteed a character or Sidekick die with Cuckoos, where Shiklah relies on there being Sidekicks in the Used Pile. She’s not a first pick for me in any format. She’s not a terrible card and I’ve seen others use her effectively for their team, but I’m not feeling her for my teams.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I do not like this card for casual play. She causes so much confusion, like Lockjaw does if he KO’s dice with his ability. I just had a discussion about X-23 and this card with several different folks, trying to explain how the dice moved via her ability interact with dice drawn for the Roll and Reroll Step and with X-23. She’s a great card to use for X-23, but the confusion over the Roll and Reroll Step makes her very difficult for beginners to use. I’ve watched advanced players get confused over this card, and Lockjaw too. Many players do not realize that they can’t roll those dice that were just placed there on that turn. It’s a very common mistake and one that I know I’ve made several times. I do not recommend beginners use this card right away. I would recommend that players on a more advanced level try using her with cards like X-23 and Momentum to help teach other players.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Shocking Grasp: Basic Action Card  from the Faerûn Under Siege Starter set.

W Shocking Grasp, BAC

Ruling Ability

Shocking Grasp is a Basic Action. If a card ability would affect an Action Die, Shocking Grasp could be chosen for the effect. One such example is Constantine: Antihero.

When you use Shocking Grasp, it deals one damage to a target character die. If the damage that Shocking Grasp does would KO that character, you can place the Shocking Grasp die in your Prep Area instead of Out of Play. If the character is not KO’d by the damage from Shocking Grasp, you must place the Shocking Grasp die Out of Play.

Shocking Grasp can target one of your opponent’s character dice or one of your own character dice. Players will sometimes target one of their own Sidekick dice or a character that has a When Fielded ability and KO that character with their own Shocking Grasp. This will enable them to reroll their character die next turn, as well as the Shocking Grasp die.

You can use other means to deal damage to a character with a defense larger than one, and then use the Shocking Grasp die to deal the final point of damage, allowing you to put Shocking Grasp into your Prep Area. Shocking Grasp must do the damage that KO’s the character in order for you to place the Shocking Grasp die in your Prep Area.

If you use Shocking Grasp and the damage KO’s a character, you are not required to put the Shocking Grasp die in your Prep Area. Putting the Shocking Grasp die in your Prep Area after KO’ing a character with it is optional because it says that you ‘may’ put this die in your Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Shocking Grasp is a Basic Action Card with no energy type.
~ It does not have any affiliations, but it does have the Neutral type symbol.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #34 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Shocking Grasp during your Main Step.

~ I have a Shocking Grasp die in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use my Shocking Grasp die to deal one damage to my opponent’s Sidekick. This KO’s the Sidekick, which allows me to place the Shocking Grasp die in my Prep Area instead of sending it Out of Play.

Example Two:
Using Shocking Grasp during your Attack Step.

~ I have a Shocking Grasp die in my Reserve Pool and a Sidekick in my Field Zone. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick as an attacker, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block mine by moving their die into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Sidekick die (to show that it’s blocking that die).
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Shocking Grasp die to deal one damage to my opponent’s Sidekick. This KO’s the Sidekick, which allows me to place the Shocking Grasp die in my Prep Area instead of sending it Out of Play. My opponent declines to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My Sidekick was blocked by my opponent’s Sidekick. Even though I KO’d that Sidekick, my Sidekick will not deal any damage to my opponent.
~ (Clean Up) My Sidekick returns to the Field Zone because it was blocked and not KO’d. All dice Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile. All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Three:
Using Shocking Grasp on one of your own characters.

~ I have a Shocking Grasp die in my Reserve Pool and a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I use my Shocking Grasp die to deal one damage to my Sidekick. This KO’s the Sidekick (sending it to the Prep Area), which allows me to place the Shocking Grasp die in my Prep Area instead of sending it Out of Play.

Example Four:
Using Shocking Grasp on a character with more than one defense.

~ I have a Shocking Grasp die and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool. I also have a level two Storm die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Bolt energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Magic Missile, dealing one damage to my Storm’s two defense. This means she can only take one more damage this turn before she’s KO’d.
~ (Main Step) I use my Shocking Grasp die to deal one damage to Storm. This KO’s Storm (sending her to the Prep Area), which allows me to place the Shocking Grasp die in my Prep Area instead of sending it Out of Play.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

You can find a guide to my ratings, here.
These are personal opinion of the card being showcased and not an official reflection of current major meta.

Golden Age Rating

Shocking Grasp definitely has its uses, but it’s a card that requires a specific team – especially in Golden Age. You could just throw this card on any team, but you likely aren’t going to get the full benefit unless the team has an actual use for it. A good character with a When Fielded ability and a low defense is a good reason to look at Shocking Grasp. It not only helps you churn your character, but it also gives you a bit a churn/ramp by letting you prep the action die if you KO its target. Sometimes it’s better to use an action die than bring a nasty Global. I can easily give this card a rogue rating for Golden Age. It’s a great card in the hands of the right pilot.

Shocking Grasp: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Modern Age Rating

I haven’t seen a bunch of teams that would find this card as an easy plug-and-play in Modern Age. I think this is a very useful card for the same reasons that it’s useful in Golden Age. If Bat-Family finds a meta spot in Modern Age, I could see this card potentially finding its way onto a few variants of that team, but probably not with a majority of them. It can be a good way to KO a level one Alfred, but Unstable Canister provides clearer and more effective option. Someone that’s staying away from Globals would be more likely to use this card. Again – great card, but requires the right pilot, which is why it earns another rogue rating.

Shocking Grasp: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Rating

At the time of writing, this card was not legal for play in the Prime format.

Casual Play Rating

Shocking Grasp has text that’s very easy to understand for most beginners. I’ve seen several players asking about advanced tactics and strategy with this card so that’s one reason why I thought I would feature it. I’ve also noticed that the text on this card can be slightly confusing for those that do not speak and/or read English very well, which was another reason I chose to feature this card for this week’s article. However, the language barrier issue is not part of my consideration for my casual rating system. I wanted to put this article out there to help my friends in other countries to better understand this card. I know it’s easier for many of my friends to translate my articles than it is to translate card text. I’m here for all players across the world. I hope this article helps shed some light on this card for anyone out there that may be having trouble with it. I also hope it helps newer players with some uses for it that they may not have noticed before. I can easily recommend this card for players of all skill levels.

Shocking Grasp: Basic Action Card gets a rating of five out of five stars.
5 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Iron Spider: Waldoes  from the Iron Man and War Machine Starter set.

W 11 Iron Spider, Waldoes

Ruling – Suit Up Keyword

Suit Up is a new Keyword in the Iron Man and War Machine starter. Suit Up is an optional ability that allows you to field a die you just purchased by KO’ing another die. Suit Up only works for specific characters listed after the Suit Up keyword. For example, Iron Spider has Suit Up – Iron Spider or Spider-Man. When you purchase an Iron Spider die, you can KO an active Iron Spider die or a Spider-Man die to field the newly purchased die at level two. You can only KO character dice that you control for Suit Up.

A die that you field using Suit Up counts as being fielded for abilities that reference fielding.

The die you KO for a Suit Up ability counts as being KO’d for abilities that reference a character die being KO’d. Example: Vibranium Shield: Deflecting Bullets‘s ability would trigger when an Iron Spider or Spider-Man is KO’d for Iron Spider’s Suit Up.

The character die that is KO’d for the Suit Up ability must match the name. For example, you couldn’t KO an Iron Spidey die for Iron Spider’s Suit Up. Also, you wouldn’t be able to KO a Space Armor Iron Man for Suit Up – Iron Man.

* Note! *
You can use both Iron Spidey and Iron Spider on the same team. You cannot use Iron Spidey for Suit Up – Iron Spider. Iron Spidey is a different name from Iron Spider.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Iron Spider is a Fist Character.
~ He has the Stark Industries and Spider-Friends affiliations.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #11 of 34.

If you purchase the Iron Man and War Machine starter set, you will get all the cards, but not maximum dice for each character. You will need two starters for maximum character dice because those dice are not available in any other set.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Suit Up.

~ I have one level two Iron Spidey and one level one Iron Spider die in the Field Zone. At the beginning of my Main Step, I have a Sidekick, two Fist energy, and a Mask energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I decide to field my Sidekick by moving it from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone. The fielding cost is zero, so I do not need to pay energy to field the Sidekick.
~ (Main Step) I decide to purchase another Iron Spider die. I spend all three of my energy (moving it Out of Play). I decide to use Suit Up on Iron Spider. I KO my level one Iron Spider die that’s in the Field Zone and then field my newly purchased Iron Spider at level two.

Example Two:
Missing the Suit Up window.

~ I have one level two Iron Spidey and one level one Iron Spider die in the Field Zone. At the beginning of my Main Step, I have a Sidekick, two Fist energy, and a Mask energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I decide to purchase another Iron Spider die. I spend all three of my energy (moving it Out of Play) and placing the Iron Spider die in my Used Pile.
~ (Main Step) I decide to field my Sidekick by moving it from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone. The fielding cost is zero, so I do not need to pay energy to field the Sidekick. I realize that I forgot to use Suit Up on Iron Spider. I have to use Suit Up at the time I purchase the die, meaning the window to use Suit Up has passed. I am not allowed to use Suit Up and must continue with my turn.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a relevant ruling regarding character names, here.

*EDIT*
New ruling from WORF today, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

You can find a guide to my ratings, here.
These are personal opinion of the card being showcased and not an official reflection of current major meta.

Golden Age Rating

While this ability is definitely unique and interesting, this is not a card I see being used in Golden Age. He’s a cheaper character with big attack stats, but his defense could get him blown up quickly and he doesn’t have any other benefit, like Fast. With Bard being the big dog in Golden Age, this card just doesn’t have its own place. It could be used on Bard teams, for that extra pow, but his fielding costs are a whole other issue. Bard teams like cheap to buy and cheap to field. He doesn’t quite fit the bill for Golden Age.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Modern Age Rating

I don’t know if this card can find a place in Modern Age either. I think if someone is going to use Suit Up, it’s going to be on a different card, like Rescue or Space Armor Iron Man. He is a cheaper character, but we do have Unstable Canister in Modern. His highest defense is three – totally in the range to be blown up, which is very possible since Superwoman is a Modern Age card. There are still cheap cards in Modern Age with better stats and just as useful or better abilities that you could put in place of this particular card.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Rating

As the pool of cards narrows, this card begins to look better, but still not completely awesome. Cheaper characters with decent abilities begin to get scarce when you approach Prime. One of the unfortunate things about this card for Prime is that there aren’t any decent Spider-Man characters to pair him with. We are limited to the three from Civil War and they aren’t the greatest with two of them being five costs and one being a four cost character. His stats aren’t any better than Iron Spider’s either. While I still don’t like him for Prime, he’s got the best chance in this format to make it on a competitive team.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Casual Play Rating

Suit Up has a well written description on most of the Suit Up cards. I don’t think it’s too confusing of an ability, but many players do ask about using characters like Iron Spidey for Suit Up – Iron Spider and Space Armor Iron Man for Suit Up – Iron Man. After explaining that the names on the cards must match the names on the ability, players usually don’t have any further issues with it. I really like this card for casual play. He’s cheap and has big attack stats. That’s something that appeals to many beginners, and he also has a cool ability that could easily be used as a teaching tool for strategy and tactics. I can easily recommend this card for players of all skill levels.

Iron Spider: Waldoes gets a rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at the Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell box set.

w-35-renet-tillet-79th-dimension-of-null-time

Ruling – Ability

Renet Tilley has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Renet Tilley’s ability lets you spin an action die that’s on an action face to any other side, but only right after you complete your Roll and Reroll Step and before you begin your Main Step. The action die must be on a non-energy face for you to be able to use her ability for that die. You can spin the die to any energy face or any action face.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Renet Tilley is a Bolt Character.
~ She does not have an affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #35 of 58.

If you purchase either of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Box Sets, you will have one copy of each card in the entire set, as well as the maximum number of dice for each card.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Renet Tilley for one Action Die.

~ I have one level one Renet Tilley in the Field Zone.
~ (Clear and Draw Step) I draw four dice from my bag. I draw two Captain Cold’s Cold Gun action dice and two Sidekick dice.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) I roll my four dice and they land on two Wild energy, one Cold Gun on an action face with no bursts, and one Cold Gun showing its single generic energy side. I choose to reroll the Cold Gun on the energy face and it lands on the same single generic energy face.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) If I want to use Renet Tilley, I must do so now before I begin my Main Step. I choose to spin my Cold Gun on the action face to an energy face with the Bolt and Fist energy. I could have used her ability to spin it to an action face with bursts or even the single energy face, but I want the Bolt/Fist energy this turn instead.
~ (Main Step) I now begin my main step.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

I could see her being a useful rogue level card. There are not many action cards that benefit from a burst ability in the unlimited meta, but Cold Gun is definitely the biggest one. She can be useful in getting energy from a die that rolled an action face that you didn’t want an action for in that particular turn. In an unlimited setting, she is a good card, but I don’t think she’s that good to make a huge splash in the major meta. There are too many ways to get rid of her – easily. Her defense stats make her an easy target for the Magic Missile/Unstable Canister burn Global (or even the action ability). I think the most useful spot she can find is on a Bolt Ring team variant. She can spin those Kryptonite action faces over to bolt faces to help boost your damage. She does make for an easy DWiz distraction if your opponent is worried about you benefiting too much from her ability which could keep some of your other major pieces safe from the DWiz. But overall, I don’t think she’ll be as useful as some players have thought, and mainly because I think some folks have misread her ability. She doesn’t spin energy faces to action faces, which definitely would have made her over powered.

Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Play Rating

As far as Prime goes, the limited ramp and churn options make Renet Tilley a little more valuable. You don’t have to worry about a whiffed energy roll on an action die, or you could easily spin that Momentum to it’s double burst from its other action face. I think we’ll see her a lot more in Prime than unlimited. There are definitely less threats out there for direct removal in Prime too. A Cold Gun would KO her on any side because of her low defense, so she makes for a great no-burst Cold Gun target. I really like this card for Prime and I think we’ll see a lot of her in this format.

Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I love how easy this card is to understand for a new player. The ability is worded well and there isn’t a lot of room for confusion. This is one of the many awesome cards in the newest TMNT box. That box is truly a comprehensive box of goodness and I will be recommending it to every new player! I’m really happy that the characters in this box are easy for beginners to understand and use, including this Renet Tilley. A new player will benefit from using this character because she’s not one that they would want to attack with, teaching newer players about the benefit of leaving your character active instead of attacking. I definitely recommend this card and the Heroes in a Half Shell box set for every player out there!

Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time gets a casual play rating of five out of five stars.
5 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at the Turtle Van: Basic Action Card from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles box set. This is in celebration of the release of the new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half-Shell box set that’s due out tomorrow!

w-turtle-van-bac

Ruling – Ability

Turtle Van is a Continuous Basic Action. If a card ability would affect an Action Die, Turtle Van could be chosen for the effect. One such example is Constantine: Antihero.

Continuous is a keyword found on Action cards. When you use the action die, it is placed in the Field Zone and will remain in the Field Zone until the ability is activated or triggered. Activating or triggering the ability is not considered ‘using’ the die. Using the die is when you move it from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. It can remain in the Field Zone after your turn.

Turtle Van’s ability says that you can send Turtle Van to your Used Pile and prevent all damage to a target blocking character. This ability targets a single character die when you activate it. You may target one of your character dice or one of your opponent’s character dice. When activated, the target blocking character die will take no damage from the character it’s blocking. It will also be protected from any Globals or abilities that would damage it after the activation of Turtle Van.

There is a specific timing window for when you can activate Turtle Van. You can only activate the ability on a Turtle Van die after blockers have been assigned, during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step. If you’re the active player, you will have priority to use Actions and Globals. If you’re not the active player, you will have to wait until your opponent passes you priority before you can activate Turtle Van. That means your character can still take ability damage before you’re passed priority and able to activate Turtle Van.

When you activate Turtle Van, it will go directly to the Used Pile, as per the card text.

Turtle Van has a special interaction with Overcrush. Overcrush will only work if all of the attacking character die’s blockers have been KO’d or removed by an effect. If the blocker is still present, but the damage to the blocker is prevented by an ability like Turtle Van, Overcrush will not work.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Turtle Van is a Basic Action with no energy type.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #58 of 58.

If you purchase the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turltes Box Set, you will have one copy of each card in the entire set, as well as the maximum number of dice for each card.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Turtle Van on your turn.

~ I have one Turtle Van die and a level three Gorilla Grodd: Force of Mind die in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Gorilla Grodd as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Grodd, moving it into the Attack Zone in front of my Grodd die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I activate my Turtle Van, targeting my opponent’s Sidekick die and placing my Turtle Van into the Used Pile. The Sidekick will take no damage for the rest of the turn. I don’t activate/use any other Actions or Globals, and my opponent doesn’t use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My Grodd’s seven damage is assigned to the Sidekick, but the Sidekick will take no damage. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Grodd, but it’s not enough to KO him.
~ (Clean Up Step) Both character dice are returned to the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Example Two:
Turtle Van interaction with Overcrush, on your opponent’s turn.

~ I have one Turtle Van die and two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone. My opponent has a level three Gorilla Grodd die in the Field Zone. My opponent has one Bolt energy in the Reserve Pool and has Magic Missile: Basic Action Card.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns Gorilla Grodd as an attacker, moving him into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign both of my Sidekick dice to block Grodd, moving them into the Attack Zone in front of the Grodd die.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) My opponent has priority on Actions and Globals, so they use their Bolt energy (moving it Out of Play) to activate the Global on Magic Missile and target one of my blocking Sidekick dice. The Sidekick is KO’d and placed in my Prep Area. My opponent passes priority to me and I activate my Turtle Van, targeting my remaining blocking Sidekick and placing my Turtle Van die in the Used Pile.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Grodd’s seven damage is assigned to the Sidekick, but the Sidekick will take no damage. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Grodd, but it’s not enough to KO him.
~ (Clean Up Step) Both character dice are returned to the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

Overcrush is not a huge deal in the current meta, but as soon as you don’t bring an answer for it, you’ll face off against a rogue Overcrush team. This action isn’t just good for stopping Overcrush, it’s also handy in preventing your opponent’s blocking character from taking damage and getting some crazy effect to go off or even save one of your own blockers from being KO’d. I could see someone adding this to a team if they’re worried about Overcrush and it’s not a terrible card. But since Overcrush isn’t a major meta thing, I can’t give Turtle Van more than a rogue rating. It’s useful for other things besides stopping Overcrush, but there are also tons of other really good BACs out there that someone may want to use instead.

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Play Rating

Turtle Van has been a huge deal in our local Prime meta. Everyone has an Overcrush team of some kind and Turtle Van is a great tech against it. If other meta scenes even slightly resemble ours, then I could see this particular BAC making it onto lots of teams. It’s also great for stopping double damage that a character may be dealing with against Lady Bullseye’s ability. I really like this card and I’d be surprised if it didn’t make at least Prime rogue status, even with the new versions of Polymorph and Magic Missile coming out tomorrow in the new TMNT Box Set.

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I’ve seen this card in lots of casual matches. It’s not a super confusing ability, but the tricks of how to use it against Overcrush are not as apparent to new players. Learning to use the card in that way is something that comes with experience. The one major thing about this card that confuses players is the Continuous part. Even after some explanation, beginners and less experienced players still have a hard time understanding that action dice do not stay in your Reserve Pool – you can’t use action dice on your opponent’s turn. Newer players confuse using an action die with activating an action die’s ability. That’s really the only thing holding Turtle Van back from a five star casual rating. I still recommend this card to our newer players because it’s a great way to learn how to use action dice and how/when to activate Continuous action dice. Don’t discourage new players from Continuous actions just because they can be difficult to understand at first. If you’re a newer player reading this, I encourage you to add at least one Continuous action to your team and play with it. There are lots of great Continuous actions out there, including Turtle Van!

Turtle Van: Basic Action Card gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Batcave: Home Sweet Cave from the DC World’s Finest set.

w-batcave-home-sweet-cave

Ruling – Ability

Batcave is a Continuous, Non-Basic Action. If a card ability would affect an Action Die and does not specify Basic Action Die, Batcave could be chosen for the effect. One such example is Constantine: Antihero.

Continuous is a keyword found on Action cards. When you use the action die, it is placed in the Field Zone and will remain in the Field Zone until the ability is activated or triggered. Activating or triggering the ability is not considered ‘using’ the die. Using the die is when you move it from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. It can remain in the Field Zone after your turn.

Batcave’s ability says that when one of of your character dice is KO’d, you can place it under your Batcave die instead. This is optional, which means if you forget to place a KO’d character die under Batcave and realize it later in the turn, you can’t back up to place it under Batcave. If a character ability would put the character die somewhere other than your Prep Area, you may still place that die under Batcave. When KO’d abilities on character dice would still happen but if there is a timing conflict, the active player’s abilities would happen first. If the active player controls both abilities, that player chooses the order in which they happen.

During your Main Step, you can move your Batcave die to your Used Pile and take all of your character dice that were under it and return them to the Field Zone. Those dice return to the Field Zone at level one, and they are not considered to be fielded for When Fielded effects. You can only activate Batcave on your turn. You can have multiple Batcave dice active and you can choose which die to place your KO’d character under. You can also activate as many Batcave dice as you have during your Main Step.

If a card ability would remove your Batcave die (sending it Out of Play, to the Used Pile, etc), then your character dice that were under Batcave would go to your Used Pile.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Batcave: Home Sweet Cave is a Shield Action.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #37 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Characters KO’d during the Main Step and the Attack Step.

~ I have two Sidekick dice and one level two Zatanna: Actual Magician die in the Field Zone. I also have a Batcave active in the Field Zone and three Wild energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Wild energy as a Bolt (moving it Out of Play) and KO my Zatanna die to use Blue-Eyes White Dragon‘s Global. I choose to put Zatanna in the Prep Area and not under Batcave.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Wild as a Mask (moving it Out of Play) to purchase another Zatanna die, placing it in the Used Pile. Blue-Eyes Global allowed me to purchase the die for two less.
~ (Main Step) I pass priority to my opponent and they don’t use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my two Sidekick dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns each of their Sidekick dice to block mine, moving them into the Attack Zone and placing each one in front of mine.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Each Sidekick has one attack and one defense. All Sidekicks will deal one damage and KO each other. I choose to place both of my Sidekick dice under Batcave instead of the Prep Area.
~ (Clean Up Step) All character dice that were KO’d by damage from blocking or by being blocked are now sent to their respective Prep Area, unless otherwise stated. My two Sidekicks will go under my Batcave. All effects clear from active dice (unless otherwise stated). All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Example Two:
Activating Batcave.

~ I have a Batcave die in the Field Zone with three Sidekick dice and three Guy Gardner dice under it. It’s currently my Main Step.
~ (Main Step) I choose to activate Batcave. I move my Batcave die directly to the Used Pile, and then all the character dice that were under it are returned to the Field Zone at level one.
~ (Main Step) I now have three level one Guy Gardner dice and three Sidekick dice in my Field Zone.

Official Sources

You can find an official ruling here, on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF).

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

I can’t think of a team that this would be good for in the current Unlimited meta. With Antihero being such a widely used piece in the meta, I can’t see this card being used much – if at all. The card isn’t bad but it’s not good to use something like Batcave when there is a counter for it being played on numerous teams.

Batcave: Home Sweet Cave gets a rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Prime Play Rating

From the matches I’ve played in the prime format, I could see someone being able to pull off some fun things with this card. I don’t see it making a top tier list, but I could see it squeaking into the rogue tier somewhere. We don’t have major threats like Antihero to worry about in prime, unless I missed them. If you find some, don’t be shy – leave your findings and ideas in the comments! But even in the slower prime format, I don’t know if this card has a place in the meta. I’m sure someone can find a creative way to build around this card and surprise us all.

Batcave: Home Sweet Cave gets a Prime rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I have played this card a bunch of times in a casual setting, and it’s actually really fun. A team with the Batcave and Guy Gardner is effective and fun to play. But the use of the card and die leaves many folks confused, especially when they don’t know what to do with characters when their Batcave gets removed by another effect. It left me stumped for a while too, until they posted the official ruling. A beginner may have trouble with this card until they have a better understanding of the game, but a more advanced player may find it useful. I have shown this card to newer players and explained how it works. They seemed to understand it well enough and some have even picked it up and played with it. They had additional questions, but with a little explanation, they were able to figure out some strategy and uses for it on their own. I can recommend this card for advanced casual players, and some beginners that have backgrounds in other games.

Batcave: Home Sweet Cave gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Stepford Cuckoos: Celeste from the Marvel Deadpool set.

w-stepford-cuckoos-celeste

Ruling – Ability

Stepford Cuckoos has a When Fielded ability. This type of ability only works when you move the character die into field either from your Reserve Pool by paying its fielding cost or by an ability that specifically tells you to field the character die. Swapping the die into the Field Zone or moving/placing the die by other means will not allow you to use the When Fielded ability.

This ability is not optional, meaning you must do as much as you can of her ability as you’re able to do. If you field her and your opponent doesn’t have any character dice in the Field Zone, you must still move one of your character dice to your Prep Area.

If you only have the Stepford Cuckoos die that you just fielded in the Field Zone, she must target herself. You may choose her as your target for her ability instead of another one of your character dice. Your opponent gets to choose which of their character dice to target. The wording of her ability suggests that each player choose one of their own character dice and not that the controller of Stepford Cuckoos gets to choose both.

Character dice that are moved by the Stepford Cuckoos’ ability are not considered to have been KO’d. You would not gain the benefit of a KO ability, like the ability on Jade: Jennifer-Lynn Hayden.

Stepford Cuckoos’ ability does not say that one player should reveal their choice before the other. If this becomes an issue, the active player should reveal their choice first, since the active player has priority.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Stepford Cuckoos: Celeste is a Mask Character.
~ She has the X-Men affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #76 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Stepford Cuckoos fielded with other characters in the Field Zone.

~ I have one level one Stepford Cuckoos die in the Reserve Pool, and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. My opponent has two Sidekick dice and an Oracle die in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I field my Stepford Cuckoos. I choose to target Stepford Cuckoos with her ability and my opponent chooses to target one of their Sidekicks. Both dice are then placed in the appropriate Prep Areas.

Example Two:
Stepford Cuckoos fielded with no other characters in the Field Zone.

~ I have one level one Stepford Cuckoos die in the Reserve Pool. There are no other characters in the Field Zone on either side.
~ (Main Step) I field my Stepford Cuckoos. My opponent doesn’t have any characters to move. I only have the Stepford Cuckoos, so I must target her and move her to my Prep Area.

Example Three:
Stepford Cuckoos and KO abilities.

~ I have one level one Stepford Cuckoos die in the Reserve Pool and no characters in the Field Zone. My opponent has a Jade: Jennifer-Lynn Hayden in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I field my Stepford Cuckoos. I only have the Stepford Cuckoos, so I must target her and my opponent must choose Jade, but they will not get to use her ability because she’s not being KO’d.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

You can find a relevant When Fielded ability ruling on Miri Riam: Beacon In The Darkhere.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

I don’t see this card being particularly useful in the current meta. She has the potential to rid the field of troublesome characters without KO’ing them, but your opponent still controls which one of their characters gets targeted by her ability. They could easily target and move a Sidekick instead of their big nasty. She’s rather handy for unique form of ramp, but not completely reliable – and PXG is still legal in the unlimited meta. I don’t think folks should throw her in a box and forget she exists though. There could be a card or cards in a future set that make her very worthwhile. She’s worth keeping in the back of your mind, but she’s not a card I expect to see in many major unlimited format events.

Stepford Cuckoos: Celeste gets a rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Prime Play Rating

I played with this card over the weekend in our Prime event and I absolutely love this card! My only mistake was not using enough of her dice. She’s a form of ramp and partial control in prime. I would definitely recommend her if you’re having trouble purchasing larger characters or having issues with your opponent’s characters that are in the Field. Even though they have the power of choice, you’re still making them choose a character that won’t be in the field the rest of the turn. That’s a tough choice between a Ronin and an Oracle when you know you’re opponent could use attack pumping Globals and they have potential Overcrushing attackers. Her fielding costs make me love her even more, because even on her level three side, I still feel like I’m benefiting from her. I would not be surprised to see Celeste or even Mindee on prime teams. Do not overlook this card – she is worth testing with!

Stepford Cuckoos: Celeste gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

The only reason Stepford Cuckoos does not get a five star rating from me is because beginners or newer players may not realize that she can be targeted with her own ability. This could potentially lead to misplays or even a dispute over how her ability is supposed to work. She’s still a great card for a beginner, so long as they understand that she can be your target for her ability. Newer players may not fully understand why you would want to move one of your own characters to the Prep Area, but that’s strategy that comes with experience. I think Celeste is perfect for teaching beginners and newer players about the benefits of having those extra dice in your Prep Area every so often – Especially one that can move an opponent’s character out of the Field Zone. Some players may not realize that they do not get to pick both character dice when they field her, but that’s easily explained. She’s a great card for a new player to add to a team and highly recommend her for players of all skill levels.

Stepford Cuckoos: Celeste gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey from the Marvel Deadpool set.

w-hit-monkey-hes-a-hitman-whos-a-monkey

Ruling – Ability

Hit-Monkey has an ability that can be activated when he’s blocked. When he’s blocked, you may pay a fist energy to assign Hit-Monkey’s combat damage to the defending player as if he wasn’t blocked, but only for that turn.

His combat damage has no effect on the character or characters that block him, because you are using his ability to redirect his combat damage to a different source other than the blockers. Hit-Monkey would not deal damage to his blockers, but they would deal their combat damage to him, possibly KO’ing him.

If you pay the fist to use Hit-Monkey’s ability and an effect would remove his card text, you would no longer be able to assign his damage to your opponent. This is because his card would have been blanked before the Assign Damage portion of the Attack Step. You would only be able to assign damage to the characters blocking Hit-Monkey. You would not get the fist energy spent for his ability back.

It is also important to remember that even though you’re able to assign his combat damage to your opponent, Hit-Monkey is still considered blocked and would gain no benefit from effects that affect unblocked characters.

If the blockers are not able to KO Hit-Monkey, he would return the Field Zone during the Clean Up Step. This is because he was blocked, but not KO’d. It does not matter that he assigned his combat damage somewhere else, only that he was blocked and not KO’d. If he’s KO’d, then he will go to the Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey is a Fist Character.
~ He has no affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:
Hit-Monkey blocked and not KO’d.

~ I have one level three Hit-Monkey die in the Field Zone and one fist energy in the Reserve Pool. My opponent has one Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Hit-Monkey as an attacker, placing his die in the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Hit-Monkey, placing it in front of his die in the Attack Zone. Since Hit-Monkey has been blocked, I can now activate his ability. I spend the fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to activate Hit-Monkey’s ability. Hit-Monkey will now be able to assign his combat damage to my opponent instead of the Sidekick.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I do not use any Action dice or Globals. I pass priority to my opponent and they choose not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Hit-Monkey assigns his four damage to my opponent. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Hit-Monkey. Damage resolves simultaneously after it’s been assigned, so my opponent takes four damage and Hit-Monkey takes one damage. Hit-Monkey has a defense of three, so he is not KO’d by the one damage from the Sidekick. The Sidekick is not dealt any damage, so it’s not KO’d.
~ (Clean Up Step) Hit-Monkey is blocked and not KO’d, so he is placed back in the Field Zone. The Sidekick blocked and was not KO’d, so it’s placed back in the Field Zone. All effects end and all dice that are Out of Play are placed in the Used Pile.

Example:
Hit-Monkey blocked and card text is blanked after his ability has been used.

~ I have one level three Hit-Monkey die in the Field Zone. I also have one fist energy and a Flying Car: Buckle Up! action die in the Reserve Pool. My opponent has one Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Hit-Monkey as an attacker, placing his die in the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block my Hit-Monkey, placing it in front of his die in the Attack Zone. Since Hit-Monkey has been blocked, I can now activate his ability. I spend the fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to activate Hit-Monkey’s ability. Hit-Monkey will now be able to assign his combat damage to my opponent instead of the Sidekick.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I use my Flying Car action to give Hit-Monkey a +3A/+3D, but it removes all of Hit-Monkey’s ability text. I pass priority to my opponent and they choose not to use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Hit-Monkey assigns his seven damage to Sidekick that’s blocking him. The Sidekick assigns its one damage to Hit-Monkey. Damage resolves simultaneously after it’s been assigned, so the Sidekick takes seven damage and Hit-Monkey takes one damage. Hit-Monkey has a defense of six, so he is not KO’d by the one damage from the Sidekick. The Sidekick has one defense and is KO’d by Hit-Monkey’s seven attack.
~ (Clean Up Step) Hit-Monkey is blocked and not KO’d, so he is placed back in the Field Zone. The Sidekick is placed in the Prep Area because it was KO’d. All effects end and all dice that are Out of Play are placed in the Used Pile.

Official Sources

You can find an official ruling about the card on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF), here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

As much as I like this card, I think he’s too difficult to work with in an Unlimited format where there are better cards. His ability is good and I think that the right pilot with the right team build might be able to make him work. It takes special care and specific building to make something like this viable though, so I don’t think he’s a card that will see a lot of Unlimited play in the current meta. He’s still a good card, just not the best choice for this particular format. I don’t think he’s fast enough for the current speed of the meta.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Play Rating

I don’t think this card is getting the recognition it deserves for the Prime format. I think this card may see more play, and even a few top positions in some upcoming PDC events. If it doesn’t, I would be very disappointed, but not surprised since he doesn’t get much love anyway. I could be totally wrong about this card, but it seems like such a good card with the current list of available cards. There are still plenty of build options for using a card like this and not a whole lot of ways around it. I suspect Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” is going to make every team list, but there are ways to play around those. Hit-Monkey may not be everyone’s style, but I think he has great potential and folks would be remiss to not give this card a shot on a team.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey. gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

It’s not often that a card receives a five star rating from me, especially for a beginning or casual player. I don’t think a card ability can be written any more clear than how this one is written. It even has reminder text that helps remind the player that the combat damage is not dealt to the blocking character(s). The confusion around this card begins when you get into more advanced level of play, like the examples in the WORF ruling. But for beginners and casual players that don’t see a lot of the competitive type cards, this is probably one of the best cards to start someone off with. This character’s ability is great to play on its own or with some combo cards, which is one of the reasons it’s such a good card for beginners. I can easily recommend this card for a player of any skill level.

Hit-Monkey: He’s A Hitman. Who’s a Monkey gets a casual play rating of five out of five stars.
5 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!