Posts Tagged ‘Steps’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

This is the corrected article. Thanks to Michaela for making me think about my original ruling and dig a little deeper!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Howard Stark: Expert Businessman  from the Marvel Iron Man and War Machine Starter set.

w-02-howard-stark-expert-businessman

Ruling – Ally

Ally is a keyword that means the character will count as a Sidekick in addition to any other type that it currently has, but only while the character is active in the Field Zone. A character with the Ally keyword does not count as a Sidekick in the bag, Prep Area, Reserve Pool, etc.

A character with Ally will become a Sidekick the very moment that it enters the Field Zone. This is not an optional keyword and you cannot trigger it because it applies the instant the character is fielded. This matters specifically for abilities like the one on Punisher: War Journal.

Ruling – Ability

Howard Stark’s ability is definitely a interesting one. You can only use it at the beginning of your turn, before you start your Clear and Draw Step. You can sacrifice a Howard Stark die to give the characters your active characters that you control a +2A for the rest of the turn. You may sacrifice any number of Howard Stark dice and each will give a +2A, but you must do it before your Clear and Draw Step. This ability is optional to use. If you start your Clear and Draw Step and didn’t sacrifice a Howard Stark die first, you cannot back up because you missed the timing window for his ability.

When you sacrifice a character die, that die goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step where it then goes to the Used Pile. When a die is Out of Play, game effects cannot affect those dice. Examples – Professor X: Recruiting Young Mutants Global cannot be used on Sidekicks Out of Play and Reclaim cannot be used to get a Howard Stark die into the Prep Area on the same turn it was sacrificed.

The buff that Howard Stark’s effect gives affects all characters you have active in the Field Zone at the time you sacrifice his die. Each of his dice that you sacrifice will give your active characters a +2A. If you sacrifice two Howard Stark dice, you characters that are in the Field Zone will get a +4A until the end of your turn. This type of ability is an applied bonus.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Howard Stark is a Mask Character.
~ He has the S.H.I.E.L.D. affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #2 of 34.

If you purchase the Iron Man and War Machine starter set, you will get all the cards, but not maximum dice for each character. You will need two starters for maximum character dice because those dice are not available in any other set.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Sacrificing more than one Howard Stark.

~ I have two level one Howard Stark dice and three Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ I begin my turn by sacrificing one of my Howard Stark dice. This will give my three Sidekick dice a +2A until end of turn. I sacrifice my second Howard Stark die, giving my Sidekick dice an additional +2A for a total of +4A until end of turn.
~ (Clear and Draw Step) I clear any dice remaining in my Reserve Pool from the previous turn and draw four dice from my bag. Any character dice that I draw, roll, and field, will not get the +4A buff.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find an Ally ruling in the Punisher: War Journal ruling, and many other rulings, here.

You can find a ruling about Sacrifice, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

While I think this card is quite good, I don’t see anyone playing it unless Bard gets an errata or somehow makes the banned list (not likely). He costs one less than Bard, but you have to sacrifice him for his ability. Someone like me would try to use Stark in a major event, but I don’t see him making many team lists out there. There are better options for his type of ability – the big one being Bard. He does have the advantage of getting around Cold Guns though, so he’s not a card I’d forget about anytime soon just on the chance that we see a WizKids rotation that hits Bard.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Prime Play Rating

I think this card is great for Prime, but I don’t expect a lot of folks to play him if they aren’t using Overcrush. He’s got great fielding costs, especially since you may be sacrificing him! But if you’re using Reclaim, he could easily be churned many times over for some pretty devastating results. Just remember that you don’t want a Reclaim die the same turn you sacrifice him, because he’ll be Out of Play on the turn he’s sacrificed. I have the perfect place for this card on my Grodd team and I can’t wait to try him out.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a Prime rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Howard Stark’s ability is absolutely confusing. I’m not sure why I thought it was a static type bonus, but he had all of us here confused. Thankfully, Michaela mentioned that it might be applied and not static, which got me to thinking and digging deeper. Glad she said something! So, Stark is lucky I don’t knock him down to a three for causing so much confusion. The needed knowledge for sacrifice can be obtained easily if the player is looking for it. Some new players may confuse sacrificing for KO’ing, but once they know the difference, it’s not usually an issue. Lots of players forget or don’t know that sacrificed characters go Out of Play instead of the directly to the Used Pile. It’s a common mistake among players of all skill levels. I can still easily recommend Howard Stark for players of all skill levels, even with his earlier confusion. He’s a great card, and he offers a great way to showcase the rarely used game mechanic, sacrifice.

Howard Stark: Expert Businessman gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Mistakes Were Made!

And this goes to show everyone – I absolutely do make mistakes. I’m definitely not perfect and for all my understanding of the game, this one card tripped me up today. I’m a one person operation here, but I will usually consult with Mr. DDK and a few of the other locals that are more competitive for their opinions, just to be sure I’ve got my interpretation right. Very rarely do we have this issue, but Howard Stark had all of us fooled today! But I’m still so glad I picked him for the Confusing Card of the Week. Never be afraid to question things you think may not be accurate. You could save someone a world of problems, like Michaela did for me today! And don’t be ashamed or embarrassed by a mistake. Admit the mistake, pick yourself up, and roll on!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Batcave: Home Sweet Cave from the DC World’s Finest set.

w-batcave-home-sweet-cave

Ruling – Ability

Batcave is a Continuous, Non-Basic Action. If a card ability would affect an Action Die and does not specify Basic Action Die, Batcave could be chosen for the effect. One such example is Constantine: Antihero.

Continuous is a keyword found on Action cards. When you use the action die, it is placed in the Field Zone and will remain in the Field Zone until the ability is activated or triggered. Activating or triggering the ability is not considered ‘using’ the die. Using the die is when you move it from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. It can remain in the Field Zone after your turn.

Batcave’s ability says that when one of of your character dice is KO’d, you can place it under your Batcave die instead. This is optional, which means if you forget to place a KO’d character die under Batcave and realize it later in the turn, you can’t back up to place it under Batcave. If a character ability would put the character die somewhere other than your Prep Area, you may still place that die under Batcave. When KO’d abilities on character dice would still happen but if there is a timing conflict, the active player’s abilities would happen first. If the active player controls both abilities, that player chooses the order in which they happen.

During your Main Step, you can move your Batcave die to your Used Pile and take all of your character dice that were under it and return them to the Field Zone. Those dice return to the Field Zone at level one, and they are not considered to be fielded for When Fielded effects. You can only activate Batcave on your turn. You can have multiple Batcave dice active and you can choose which die to place your KO’d character under. You can also activate as many Batcave dice as you have during your Main Step.

If a card ability would remove your Batcave die (sending it Out of Play, to the Used Pile, etc), then your character dice that were under Batcave would go to your Used Pile.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Batcave: Home Sweet Cave is a Shield Action.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #37 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Characters KO’d during the Main Step and the Attack Step.

~ I have two Sidekick dice and one level two Zatanna: Actual Magician die in the Field Zone. I also have a Batcave active in the Field Zone and three Wild energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Wild energy as a Bolt (moving it Out of Play) and KO my Zatanna die to use Blue-Eyes White Dragon‘s Global. I choose to put Zatanna in the Prep Area and not under Batcave.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Wild as a Mask (moving it Out of Play) to purchase another Zatanna die, placing it in the Used Pile. Blue-Eyes Global allowed me to purchase the die for two less.
~ (Main Step) I pass priority to my opponent and they don’t use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my two Sidekick dice to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns each of their Sidekick dice to block mine, moving them into the Attack Zone and placing each one in front of mine.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) Each Sidekick has one attack and one defense. All Sidekicks will deal one damage and KO each other. I choose to place both of my Sidekick dice under Batcave instead of the Prep Area.
~ (Clean Up Step) All character dice that were KO’d by damage from blocking or by being blocked are now sent to their respective Prep Area, unless otherwise stated. My two Sidekicks will go under my Batcave. All effects clear from active dice (unless otherwise stated). All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.

Example Two:
Activating Batcave.

~ I have a Batcave die in the Field Zone with three Sidekick dice and three Guy Gardner dice under it. It’s currently my Main Step.
~ (Main Step) I choose to activate Batcave. I move my Batcave die directly to the Used Pile, and then all the character dice that were under it are returned to the Field Zone at level one.
~ (Main Step) I now have three level one Guy Gardner dice and three Sidekick dice in my Field Zone.

Official Sources

You can find an official ruling here, on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF).

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

I can’t think of a team that this would be good for in the current Unlimited meta. With Antihero being such a widely used piece in the meta, I can’t see this card being used much – if at all. The card isn’t bad but it’s not good to use something like Batcave when there is a counter for it being played on numerous teams.

Batcave: Home Sweet Cave gets a rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Prime Play Rating

From the matches I’ve played in the prime format, I could see someone being able to pull off some fun things with this card. I don’t see it making a top tier list, but I could see it squeaking into the rogue tier somewhere. We don’t have major threats like Antihero to worry about in prime, unless I missed them. If you find some, don’t be shy – leave your findings and ideas in the comments! But even in the slower prime format, I don’t know if this card has a place in the meta. I’m sure someone can find a creative way to build around this card and surprise us all.

Batcave: Home Sweet Cave gets a Prime rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I have played this card a bunch of times in a casual setting, and it’s actually really fun. A team with the Batcave and Guy Gardner is effective and fun to play. But the use of the card and die leaves many folks confused, especially when they don’t know what to do with characters when their Batcave gets removed by another effect. It left me stumped for a while too, until they posted the official ruling. A beginner may have trouble with this card until they have a better understanding of the game, but a more advanced player may find it useful. I have shown this card to newer players and explained how it works. They seemed to understand it well enough and some have even picked it up and played with it. They had additional questions, but with a little explanation, they were able to figure out some strategy and uses for it on their own. I can recommend this card for advanced casual players, and some beginners that have backgrounds in other games.

Batcave: Home Sweet Cave gets a casual play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at Motorcycle: Vroom! from the Marvel Deadpool set. I get lots of questions about when a player can use an Action die, so I chose one of the newer Non-Basic Actions for this week’s CCW. This is also the only card with a Global Ability on it in the entire Deadpool set.

2-motorcycle-vroom

Ruling – Ability

Motorcycle will give a blocked character that you control +1A and +1D. This bonus will last until the end of turn.

The only time you can use an Action die is during your turn in the Main Step or after blockers have been assigned in the Attack Step. The timing for this die is specific. You must have a blocked character to be able to use this Action die. You can only use this die during the Attack Step, after blockers have been assigned.

You can only target your blocked character with this die. This ability does not allow you to target an opponent’s character. If you were to take control of an opponent’s character die, it would then be a legal target.

Action dice that are not used during the turn will go to the Used Pile during the Clean Up Step. If the Action dice are on an energy face, they stay in the Reserve Pool.

Ruling – Global

The Global Ability says that you can pay a Fist energy to remove a blocked character die from the Attack Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone.

If you do not have a legal target for this Global, you cannot pay the cost for no effect. There must be a blocked attacker in the Attack Zone. The target can be either yours or your opponent’s.

Affiliations and Types

Motorcycle: Vroom! is a Fist Non-Basic Action and does not have an affiliation. This card also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Regular use of the Action ability.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I decide to use my Motorcycle Action and target my blocked Sidekick die, giving it a +1A and +1D. I pass priority to my opponent so that they can use Globals if they can or want to do so. They do not use any Globals.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals two damage to the blocking Sidekick’s one defense and the blocking Sidekick deals one damage to my Sidekick’s two defense.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My opponent’s Sidekick took enough damage for it to be KO’d and it is sent to the Prep Area.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Sidekick did not take enough damage to get KO’d and will move back into the Field Zone. All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Example Two:
No legal targets for the Action.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Motorcycle on an Action side in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent does not assign any blockers.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I cannot use my Motorcycle because I do not have a blocked character to target. I do not use any Globals and neither does my opponent.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) My Sidekick deals one damage to my opponent’s life total and is moved Out of Play.
~ (Clean Up Step) My Motorcycle die is moved to the Used Pile. All dice that are Out of Play are moved into the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated). 

Example Three:
Turn player using Global.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my Sidekick. My Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my opponent. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO’d. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Example Four:
Non-Turn player using Global.

~ I have one Sidekick in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool. My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign a Sidekick to block, moving it to the Attack Zone and placing it in front of the attacker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions/Globals) My opponent has a chance to use Actions. They don’t use any. They now can use Globals, but choose not to and pass priority to me. I spend my Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to use the Global on Motorcycle targeting my opponent’s Sidekick. Their Sidekick is moved out of the Attack Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign/Resolve Damage) There are no attackers to deal damage to the blocking Sidekick or my life total. The blocker does not have an attacker to deal damage to. No damage is dealt.
~ (Clean Up Step) The blocking Sidekick is moved back into the Field Zone because it was not KO’d. All dice that are Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile and all effects end (unless otherwise stated).

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

You can find the ruling about using a Global for no effect, here.

The picture below is the Turn Order Summary from the back of the Civil War Rulebook.

turn-order

Clean Up Step detailed on page 11-12 of the Civil War Rulebook.

Competitive Play Rating

This card seems to be pretty terrible for competitive play. One might think the Global would make it worthwhile, but even the Global seems poor. We have Distraction and Blink – Transmutation which are much better versions of the Motorcycle Global because they don’t require the character to be blocked in order for you to pull them back. The ability on the card isn’t particularly useful. Unless we have a rotation that includes sets all the way up to Faerûn Under Siege, I don’t see this card making it onto any serious competitive team.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a competitive play rating of zero out of five stars.
0 Stars

Casual Play Rating

Motorcycle may not have the most useful ability or Global for the competitive scene, but I could see someone trying to use it on a casual team with the Deadly Keyword. This is great teaching tool for timing, but I can’t recommend this card for a beginner. A player with a better understanding of the turn order could probably find a fun use for this card. I still don’t feel like the card itself is particularly useful with other cards that do similar things or have better versions of the abilities.

Motorcycle: Vroom! gets a casual play rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Today, we’re going to take a look at  Giganta: Larger Than Life  from the DC Green Arrow and The Flash set.

giganta-larger-than-life

Ruling – Ability

Gigants’s ability says that you can spin up a Giganta die by one level at the beginning of your Clear and Draw Step. If you use this ability, that Giganta die gains Overcrush until the end of turn.

When you look at the bottom of the character card, you will see the Dice Face Reference. This reference shows you all six sides of the character die, in order. The character faces are shown from level one to level three. If you have a Giganta die active in the Field Zone on level two, her attack and defense are both five. When you use her ability, this die would spin up to level three and her stats would now be six for both her attack and defense.

If Giganta is already level three, you cannot use her ability to spin her die up a level because she is already at her max level, and her die will not gain Overcrush because you were not able to spin her up.

You must use Giganta’s ability before you draw your dice for the turn and you may use this ability for each eligible Giganta die you have active in the Field Zone.

Overcrush

I also want to detail some points about Overcrush. Overcrush is a special ability for attackers that gives them the potential to deal damage to an opponent even if they’re blocked.

Overcrush is the difference in the attacker’s attack value and the blocker’s defense value. If a blocker’s defense is equal to or higher than the attacker’s attack value, there won’t be any Overcrush damage to deal. If the blocker’s defense is lower than the attacker’s attack value, then the difference will be dealt to the opponent during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step.

The Overcrush damage happens at the same time as all other combat damage. Overcrush damage is still considered to be combat damage and not ability damage. It’s an ability that’s allowing the combat damage to be dealt differently than it normally would be.

Very Important! Recently, there have been folks saying that the blocker has to be KO’d before Overcrush damage will go through, which is not correct. If a blocker is KO’d or removed before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, Overcrush damage will still happen. For example: a level three Giganta with Overcrush is attacking and is blocked by a Sidekick. If that Sidekick is removed by the attacking player with Imprisoned during the Actions and Global portion of the Attack Step, Giganta will deal all six of her damage to the opponent.

Attackers with Overcrush that are blocked will return to the Field Zone if they are not KO’d. This is also an overlooked and commonly misunderstood function in regards to Overcrush. Page 11 of the Civil War Rulebook states: “Characters that blocked or were blocked but not KO’d return to the Field Zone.” The Overcrush ability does not have any special stipulation that the character would go to the Used Pile if it is blocked and still damages the opponent.

Ruling – Global

Giganta’s Global says that you can pay one of any energy type and spin one of your character dice down one level. You can only target dice you control, and those dice must be active in the Field Zone.

If a character has been dealt damage and then spun up or down and their defense is equal to or less than the damage previously done, that character will be KO’d. For example: I have a level two Giganta die in the Field Zone. My opponent used the Global on Magic Missile twice and does a total of two damage to Giganta. I pay one energy and spin her to level one. She would then be KO’d since her defense is two and she’s been dealt a total of two damage earlier in the turn.

Affiliations and Types

Giganta: Larger Than Life is a Fist Character and has the Legion of Doom and Villain affiliations. She also has a Max Dice of four.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario.

Example One:
Ability timing.

~  I have a level two Giganta in the Field Zone.
~ (Clear and Draw) I spin Giganta up one level to level three and that die gains Overcrush.
~ (Clear and Draw) I clear any dice from my Reserve Pool into my Used Pile.
~ (Clear and Draw) I draw my four dice from my bag.

Example Two:
Global use Main Step.

~  (Main Step) I have one level two character die in the Field Zone and one Fist energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ (Main Step) I spend one Fist energy (moving it Out of Play) to spin my level two character to level one.

Example Three:
Global use in Attack Step (turn player).

~ (Attack Step) I am the turn player, or active player. I have one Mask energy in my Reserve Pool. I have one level three Hulk: Jade Giant in the Field Zone. My opponent has a level three character and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) I assign my Hulk die to attack.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) My opponent assigns a Sidekick to block Hulk.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I can now use Action Dice, but I don’t have any that I want to use. I then look at Globals and abilities that can be used as Globals. I choose to use Giganta’s Global.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I spend one Mask energy (moving it Out of Play) to use Giganta’s Global to spin my Hulk die down one level to level two.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I pass priority to my opponent. They do not use any Globals and pass priority back. I choose not to do anything, proceeding to Assign and Resolve Damage.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My level two Hulk takes one damage from the Sidekick and the Sidekick takes seven damage from Hulk and is KO’d (which will send it to the Prep Area). I can trigger Hulk’s ability when he takes damage and because he’s on his level two side with the burst ability, I can KO the level three character my opponent has in their Field Zone, sending it to the Prep Area. Hulk returns to the Field Zone.
~ (Clean Up Step) All of the dice that are Out of Play move to the Used Pile. All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Four:
Global use in Attack Step (non-turn player).

~ (Attack Step) I am the non-turn player, or inactive player. I have one Mask energy in my Reserve Pool. I have one level two Beast: Genetic Expert in the Field Zone. My opponent has a character with two attack and two defense in the Field Zone.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Attackers) My opponent attacks with their character.
~ (Attack Step – Assign Blockers) I assign my Beast as a blocker.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) My opponent does not use any Actions or Globals and passes priority.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) I spend one Mask energy (moving it Out of Play) to use Giganta’s Global to spin my Beast die down one level to level one. I pass priority back to my opponent.
~ (Attack Step – Actions and Globals) They do not use any Actions or Globals, passing back to me. I choose to not do anything else, proceeding to Assign and Resolve Damage.
~ (Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage) My Beast will take two damage from the attacker and deal one damage back to the attacker’s defense of two. Beast is KO’d and his ability triggers, which allows me to gain one life and because he was on his burst side, he also deals two damage to my opponent. Beast will go to the Prep Area and the attacker will return to the Field Zone because it wasn’t KO’d.
~ (Clean Up Step) All of the dice that are Out of Play move to the Used Pile. All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

You can find the official ruling for Giganta’s Global on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF), here.

Competitive Play Rating

I don’t think Giganta is a bad character for a competitive team. I think she has huge potential, especially with how well her Global works with her ability. There are plenty of other characters that benefit from being on lower levels with bursts and would also benefit from her Global. She definitely has the potential to find herself on a rogue team. Her purchase cost isn’t terrible and is definitely possible in the current meta. Her fielding costs and stats are pretty good too, especially with her ability and Global. She can be a very aggressive character or a utility character and I hope that someone finds a way to sneak her into a competitive scene somewhere!

Giganta: Larger Than Life gets a competitive play rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

For a more casual setting, this character is amazing. She has lots of teaching potential as well as being a fun and playable character. She can help teach new players how the turn order works and how they can use abilities effectively in the proper order. I overlooked her in the draft we had and I regret that. She’s not only a great casual character, but she’s a wonderful limited character as well. Her stats are really good for her fielding costs and she has the potential to give herself Overcrush without the use of an additional card. Having that built in mechanic is a huge advantage for a casual team. She’s also a Villain and there are loads of casual Villain teams that are fun. She would make a great addition to almost any Villain team.

Giganta: Larger Than Life gets a casual play rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!