Posts Tagged ‘Tabaxi Rogue’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Tabaxi Rogue: Greater Lords’ Alliance  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Tabaxi Rogue, Greater Lords' Alliance

Ruling – Experience Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Experience: While a character die with Experience is active, if you KO’d an opposing monster (as noted by the black Monster allegiance banner) during your turn, place one Experience Token on this character die’s card at the end of your turn. Each Experience Token provides each of this card’s dice with +1A and +1D (at each level). A card can only gain 1 Experience Token per turn (unless otherwise stated). Multiple cards can each gain an Experience Token during the same turn. An opposing player KOing their own Monster will not generate Experience Tokens.”

Experience is a keyword ability that functions like a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Experience allows the character(s) with the keyword to gain an Experience Token if at least one opposing Monster (represented by the black Monster Flag) was KO’d during your turn. You can use almost any type of gaming token to represent Experience Tokens. I use a regular die (D6 or D8 usually) but some folks like to use glass beads.

Each Experience Token on a character’s card grants the character dice a +1A and +1D.

KO’ing your own Monsters or Monsters KO’d during your opponent’s turn will not grant you an Experience Token.

You cannot gain more than one Experience Token on any one character card each turn, but multiple characters can each gain an Experience Token.

A character that leaves the Field Zone does not lose their Experience Tokens. Experience Tokens are not removed unless a card or game effect would remove them.

Characters with Experience do not need to be the character that KO’s a Monster; they only need to be active in the Field when the Monster gets KO’d.

Experience Tokens are placed on the characters at the end of turn, so if a character with Experience is KO’d or unblocked, they are no longer active at the end of turn to receive an Experience Token.

Characters with Experience are typically considered Adventurers – though there are several exceptions. Those characters state that they are not Adventurers on their card.

Ruling – Ability

When fielded, move target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone to the Used Pile.”

A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Tabaxi Rogue die, you will move a target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone and place it into the Used Pile.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

If fielding the Tabaxi Rogue’s die triggers a trap, the active player resolves the Tabaxi Rogue’s ability, then the Trap will be able to resolve.

Ruling – Equip Icon

The Tabaxi Rogue has the Equip icon, meaning it can be equipped with Gear.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Equip: When this die is fielded, and at the beginning of each turn that this die is active (any player’s turn), you may attach this die to a character with the Equip icon immediately below their alignment icon. You may switch the attachment from one character die to another. If the character die the equipped die leaves the Field Zone, the equipped die remains in the Field Zone (unattached). As with all non-character dice, Gear dice can’t attack or block.”

When a character that has Gear attached to it leaves the Field Zone, the Gear stays in the Field Zone. It will stay unattached until you could attach it to another character.

If a character would lose the Equip Icon, the Gear would become unattached and stay in the Field Zone until such a time you could attach it to a legal target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Tabaxi Rogue is a Mask type character card.
~ It has the Lords’ Alliance affiliation and has a Neutral alignment.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #83 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card but there is a relevant ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I absolutely disagree with the ruling on Skeleton Key vs Green Devil Mask. The conditions of using a trap require you to send it to the Used Pile. If it’s already there, it shouldn’t be able to resolve if it’s later in the queue. Sorry – Bad ruling in my opinion. But it’s what WORF says and that’s how it must be ruled.

I still like this version of the Tabaxi Rogue for removing all the silly and obnoxious traps that are out there. But you have to dedicate a slot to the Tabaxi Rogue and that takes up a slot something else could go in. Since Traps are not a huge deal in regular constructed play, I can’t see myself slotting this character in for that. It’s a great card for a limited format that uses the Tomb of Annihilation set and I wouldn’t play without it if that’s the case.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements