Posts Tagged ‘The Mighty Thor’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Absorbing Man: Harold’s Ice Cream from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Absorbing Man, Harold's Ice Cream

Ruling – Ability

“While Absorbing Man is active, when a “when KO’d” effect is used, you may use a copy of that effect.”

Absorbing Man’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Absorbing Man is active, if a “When KO’d” effect is used, he may use a copy of that effect. This ability is optional and not mandatory, and you only get one copy of a ‘When KO’d’ ability, regardless of how many Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone. If a second copy of a character die is KO’d that turn, you can copy that ability again, but only once regardless of the number of Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone.

If you copy a “When KO’d” ability from another character, Absorbing Man does not have to be KO’d for you to copy that effect.

You can copy the “When KO’d” effect from one of your characters or one of your opponent’s characters, but the ability must be used for you to be able to copy it. If the ‘When KO’d’ ability is optional and they do not use it, you can’t copy it.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Absorbing Man is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Absorbing Man has a pretty cool ability that you can easily build around. In Golden Age, this guy is loads of fun for casual events. I think he may be a little more difficult to build around in Modern Age. In Golden Age, there are lots of different ‘When KO’d’ abilities that would be great to copy, especially when you have Blue-Eyes White Dragon’s Global to KO your own character dice. But, you aren’t limited to your own dice abilities. You can copy opposing ‘When KO’d’ abilities which adds to his usefulness in Golden Age.

I like that Absorbing Man is not expensive to purchase, so you can keep several in the Field. His stats are not terrible, but he’s manageable if you’re trying to get around him.

I saw the question pop up on WORF about this card and the rare version of Absorbing Man and I thought this would be a good one to cover this week. Newer and inexperienced players don’t realize that you can use his ability to copy an opposing character’s ‘When KO’d‘ ability. As regular players, and a more experienced players, we sometimes forget that these abilities aren’t as obvious to other players of different skill levels. I like when WORF answers questions like this because it helps me choose CCW cards that would be more appealing to the newer players – which are my target audience.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

Welcome to the next installment of my HeroClix Figure Spotlight series! For this month’s article, I chose a figure that I’ve used many times over to teach new players – Hulk #106 from The Mighty Thor starter!

Hulk TMT Starter

Figure Information

Point Value: 100/50 points
Dial Depth: 7 Clicks, 1-7 for 100 points and 5-7 for 50 points
Keywords: Avengers, Brute

Team Ability
AVENGERS:
When this character is given a MOVE action, modify speed +1.

Standard Powers/Abilities
They will be listed as Power: Click Number(s). This list does not include traited powers and abilities.

Movement
Leap/Climb: 1-7

Attack
Super Strength: 1-2, 5-7

Defense
Invincible: 1-3
Impervious: 4-7

Damage
Exploit Weakness: 3-4

Improved Abilities, Traits, and Special Powers
Hulk has one Trait.

Trait:
Hulk Smash
When Hulk moves, after resolutions he can use Quake at no cost.

Opinion and Strategy

There is something to be said for the simpler pieces. This particular piece has probably seen more play with my locals than any other individual piece. Now, this Hulk isn’t a super big meta piece, but he’s a great casual piece for all kinds of players. He’s got a nice 100 point dial, and his 50 point is okay, but there are better casual pieces for the same amount of points.

This is one of my favorite pieces to use when teaching new players. He doesn’t have a bunch of crazy abilities on him, but he has a really awesome Trait. He’s a great piece for beginners to use and learn about Traits and actions at ‘no cost’. His Leap/Climb is perfect for his Trait as well, and helps me to teach new players about Breakaway tactics.

I love that he has Invincible and Impervious because this is a great opportunity to show a new player the difference between the two – in action! His Exploit Weakness is great as well, though I wish he had it on his 50 point dial too. Super Strength is also very useful in teaching players about using Objects in a game and Knockback from an attack. Being able to knock a character back could set you up for a future Leap/Climb + Quake!

I can’t say enough good things about this particular Hulk. I like to pair him with the Iron Man from the Sidekick kit (100 points) and Hercules from The Mighty Thor starter (100 points) for a 300 point tutorial team.

Using two pieces from the same starter and a piece from the Sidekick kit has been very effective for me in introducing new players to HeroClix. They get a Sidekick set during the Sidekick event and then purchase a starter and now they have several possible team combinations for Avengers theme teams. If the Sidekick kits are no longer available, there is a Thor in the Starter that works too, but he has more special powers than I like for a teaching team. But Hulk is always the center focus for my teaching teams because he’s incredible!

What do you think of this figure?
Do you have a figure you would use in place of this one?
Is there a figure you would like me to Spotlight?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and sub for more HeroClix content!

     LLAPLive long, and Prob it!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jarnborn: And My Axe  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Jarnborn, And My Axe

Ruling Using Action Dice

Jarnborn is a Non-Basic Action Card and it’s dice are Non-Basic Action Dice. If an ability or game text refers to an Action Card or an Action Die, then it could affect Jarnborn. If the text refers to a Basic Action Card or Basic Action Die, it will not affect Jarnborn. Non-Basic Action dice can not be purchased by an opponent, unlike Basic Action dice.

There are two main ways to use an action die. The first is when the die is in your Reserve Pool, you use the ability that’s on the card and then place the die Out of Play. The second is to move the action die from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, but those dice can only be fielded if they have the Continuous keyword, they’re considered to be Gear, or the ability tells you to attach that die to another die that’s in the Field Zone.

Action dice can be used during two different steps, but only on our turn. You can use an action die at any time during your Main Step, or after blockers have been assigned during the Attack Step (referred to as the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step).

Action dice cannot be used for no effect. This means, if you can’t legally use the ability of the action die, then you can’t use the die and it remains in your Reserve Pool until the end of your turn. If you do not use an action die, it will go into your Used Pile at the end of your turn.

Ruling – Ability

“Replace target character die’s A with double its printed A (until end of turn).”

In order to use Jarnborn, you must be able to target a character die that’s active in the Field. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Jarnborn.

When you use Jarnborn, you can target a character die that belongs to either player.

When used, Jarnborn’s ability will replace the targeted character die’s current attack value with a value equal to double its printed attack value. If a character has applied bonuses to its attack value, those will not be added and will be lost. Static bonuses will still apply. For example, if I have a character in the Field Zone with a printed attack of 4, when I use Jarnborn, that character’s attack value will now be 8 until the end of my turn.

This effect will last until the end of your turn. Jarnborn does not alter the character die’s printed attack value.

You can use this die during your Main Step or wait until after your opponent assigns blockers and then use it during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step. You can use the die for one of your characters that are blocked or one that is unblocked. You can even use this die on one of your opponent’s dice, whether they’re blocking or not.

If you use a second Jarnborn on the same character die, it will replace that character die’s current attack value with double its printed attack value. Even if the value is unchanged, the effect still happens.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jarnborn is a Fist type Non-Basic Action Card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of 4.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There are no rulings for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I noticed a few players asking about non-basic actions so I thought I’d pick one that I think is a fantastic tactical card. You can wait and use until the Attack Step, after blockers are assigned, to try and maximize your damage against your opponent. Or you can use it on a character die during the Main Step to entice your opponent to block a particular character. You could even use it to help your opponent’s blocker KO one of your attackers with a When KO’d ability.

I love the versatility of this card and I can’t wait to use it more. I’ve been toying around with a few teams and this is a card that might fit nicely on to some of them. One team in particular has the super rare Mister Miracle on it. While he’s active, your action dice gain the Boomerang keyword. I want to use him, Jarnborn, and a heavy hitter or two and I can’t wait to finish that team!

I also love that my opponent can’t buy it, because it’s not a Basic Action. I can bring this card and know that I’m safe from them using it against me – unless they bring it too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Wrecker: Enchanted Crowbar  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Wrecker, Enchanted Crowbar

Ruling – Ability

“While Wrecker is active, players can only use the Global Abilities of active characters.”

Wrecker’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While there is at least one Wrecker die in the Field Zone, players can’t use any Global unless it’s on a character that’s active in the Field Zone.

This ability applies to all players, and is not an optional ability. If a Wrecker die is active, his ability is in effect and applies to all players.

Players can not use the Global abilities on Actions. Wrecker specifically states that players can only use the Globals on active ‘characters’. Continuous action dice are not characters.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Wrecker is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #128 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Wrecker, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I understand why folks may have been confused about Wrecker’s ability, given WizKids track record. For example – The Bifrost. I had been putting off featuring Wrecker because I thought they might errata him, and it wasn’t until Mr. DDK brought him up again that I decided to go ahead and feature him – potential errata or no. Luckily for me, WizKids answered a question about him earlier in the week that matches my initial ruling for Wrecker. Now I’m kicking myself for not posting the article sooner.

Wrecker has a really great ability that someone can easily build around. There are lots of popular Globals on actions that would be rendered useless when he hits the Field. Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard, True Believer, Unstable Canister, Villainous Pact, and Resurrection to name a few. Even with rotation that was just announced, most of those are still Modern Age legal, with the exception of True Believer. There is a similar Global on Odin’s Fury. And now, if someone brought Heimdall or Ra’s al Ghul only for their Globals, they’re gonna have to buy those dice and get the characters active in order to use them.

In Golden Age formats, this guy is a beast. He stops BEWD, Red Dragon, PXG, and all those utility type Globals on characters unless the player buys those dice. Wrecker is gonna wreck someone’s day if they aren’t prepared to deal with him. He can be easily dealt with, with a Shriek or DWiz. But, if someone is wasting a control resource on him, they aren’t using it on something more important – like a win condition.

Wrecker’s purchase cost is only four energy, he has a fielding cost of one on all levels, and his lowest defense is three. That’s actually really good for he does and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him pop up in a competitive event somewhere. He may not fit every team, but there are teams that he can work well on. And don’t be surprised to see him in casual events either. He’s a great card that’s not getting the love he deserves.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Punisher: Bringing Down The Exchange from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Punisher, Bringing Down The Exchange

Ruling – Ability

While Punisher is active, each time a character die you control is damaged during an opponent’s turn, deal 1 damage to target opponent.

Punisher’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Punisher’s ability will only trigger while she’s active during an opponent’s turn and only when a friendly character die is dealt damage. For example: I have two Punisher dice and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone on my opponent’s turn. My opponent uses a Global ability to deal two damage to one of my Sidekick dice. My opponent will be dealt one damage.

Punisher’s ability will trigger for each instance of damage to each character die, not necessarily for each point of damage. For example: My opponent has a Force Beam basic action die with a burst. They use it on their turn to deal two damage to all three of my character dice. I have an active Punisher die and three character dice that are damaged. Punisher will deal three damage to my opponent. If my opponent had used Force Beam without the burst, the damage that Punisher would deal would still have been three damage.

Even if Punisher is KO’d by damage, her ability will still trigger. This is because she was still active when her ability was triggered.

Punisher’s ability is not optional and will trigger each time one of your character dice are dealt damage during an opponent’s turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Punisher is a Bolt type character card.
~ She does not have an affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #119 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities triggering when the character is KO’d, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Pairing this card with Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders could be a very nasty combo. But, I don’t think this particular combo will see any kind of competitive play because Cube teams usually work much, much faster. Punisher’s purchase cost is the biggest drawback for competitive play. I wouldn’t be surprised if it popped up in some local scenes though. I also would not be surprised to see folks using Punisher as a Cube-deterrent card either. Why would I want to use my Cube while my opponent has an active Punisher, just to help kill myself?! You aren’t really relying on your opponent to damage your characters with that type of strategy. You would want to save energy for Globals that deal damage to target character dice, and damage your own characters during the turn your opponent used a Cube or two.

If Babs or Hulk: Green Goliath were still major contenders in the competitive scene, I’d say Punisher might have a place. Most major competitive scenes have drifted towards direct damage to the player instead of going for the character dice. Punisher’s defense leaves something to be desired for a character that has a While Active ability because she can be very easily KO’d. She’s also an easy target for DWiz, Cold Gun, Shriek, and even Blob.

Most casual scenes don’t see those crazy blanking cards, so Punisher definitely has a chance to see some play in those areas. Give her a try some time on a casual team!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Thor: A God Amongst Men from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Thor, A God Amongst Men

Ruling – Ability

While Thor is active, when you would take damage, redirect that damage to Thor.

Thor’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While you have at least one Thor die in the Field Zone, when you would take damage, you must redirect that damage to Thor. Redirecting damage changes the intended target of the damage to Thor, but it does not change the source of the damage. For example: My opponent uses a Get Thee Hence action die and targets me. I would take one damage, but it is instead redirected to one of my Thor dice instead.

If you have more than one Thor die in the Field Zone and a source would deal more than one damage to you, you would choose one Thor die to redirect that source’s damage to. You can’t split a source’s damage unless an ability or effect specifically tells you that you can.

If there are multiple sources dealing damage to you simultaneously, such as from unblocked attackers, you would redirect all of that damage to your Thor die. If you had multiple Thor dice in the Field Zone, you can choose a different Thor die for a different source. For example: My opponent is attacking me with a Hulk (7A), another Hulk (6A), and a Sidekick (1A). I have two Thor dice in the Field Zone on level one (6D) and level two (8D). I do not block so that all of the attackers would deal damage to me. I now redirect that damage from each source to whichever Thor die I choose for that source’s damage. I redirect the seven damage from one Hulk to the level one Thor die. I redirect the six damage from the other Hulk to my level two Thor die. I then redirect the one damage from the Sidekick to my level one Thor die. Now that I have redirected the damage, it resolves simultaneously. My level one Thor die will take eight damage and be KO’d, and my level two Thor die will take six damage but not be KO’d. I could have redirected all three sources of damage to one Thor die, or redirected the damage to both Thor dice in such a way that they would both be KO’d.

When you redirect damage from an attacker that’s not blocked, it does not become blocked. The attacker is still unblocked and will go Out of Play when the damage is resolved, then to the Used Pile during Clean Up.

Attacking characters that are not blocked will not take damage from Thor because he’s not blocking those characters. The damage is being moved from the player to Thor.

Thor can redirect any type of damage, but he can’t redirect loss of life. Losing life and paying life are not considered damage.

Thor’s ability is not optional. When you take damage – any damage – it is redirected to a Thor die. Thor’s ability would have the word ‘may’ in it if it were optional to use.

Ruling – Global

Global: Pay [Bolt] [Bolt]. Once per turn, deal 1 damage to target character die.”

Thor’s Global is only able to be used once per turn, per Thor card. If you and your opponent both have the same Thor card, you may use each Global once.

To use this Global, you must spend two Bolt energy. You may spend one die showing two Bolts or two dice showing any combination of Bolt and Wild energy. Energy spent for this Global on your turn will go Out of Play. Energy spent for this Global on your opponent’s turn will go to your Used Pile.

Thor’s Global can only target a character die, unless an effect says otherwise. This Global does target, so if an ability prevents a character die from being targeted, you can not target that character die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Thor’s Global, because you can’t use a Global for no effect.

Thor’s Global will deal one damage to a target character die. If the character’s defense is one, then the die is KO’d when it’s damaged by this Global.

This Global can be used by either player during the Main Step or during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Thor is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #87 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Relevant Rulebook Text on Redirecting:
“Other powers redirect a game effect (usually damage). When an effect is redirected, the target of the effect changes from its original target to the new one as described in the game text…”

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This is a whopper of character and I thought he’d be a great feature this week since I’ve seen some discussion about him recently. His Global is a little lack luster when compared to other Globals that deal direct damage to characters, because his has a ‘once per turn’ limitation and it cost two Bolt energy. Unstable Canister outshines his Global, so it’s safe to say that we won’t be seeing him on teams for that reason – unless he’s the only option for that type of Global.

But that ability of his is just silly. His ability is like a supercharged Ronin: Between Employers. Ronin can only redirect one source per turn, but he is much cheaper at a cost of three versus Thor’s seven. Thor’s purchase cost is appropriate for his ability, but it’s still a little expensive for competitive play. If you have a way to effectively ramp up to seven energy to buy Thor, I would have to wonder why you’re buying him and not a win condition. If you’re playing casual settings, you may see some folks playing this card. I highly doubt we’ll be seeing him outside of the casual scene, even though he’s got an ability worthy of a Norse God.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Heimdall: The All-Seeing from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Heimdall, The All-Seeing

Ruling – Immortal Keyword

WizKids Keywords Page does not have Immortal listed yet. The rule insert has the definition as:
Immortal: When a character die with Immortal would go to the Used Pile (except when it is purchased, swapped, or sent as energy), instead add that character die to its owner’s bag.”

If a character die with Immortal would be placed in the Used Pile, it goes to the player’s bag instead. When a character die with Immortal attacks and is not blocked, it will go Out of Play after damaging the opposing player. But, instead of going to the Used Pile at the end of turn, it will go their owner’s bag instead.

If an ability blanks or removes the Immortal keyword from the character’s card or from the character dice in other areas besides the Field Zone, Immortal will not work.

Immortal is not optional. If a character with Immortal would go to the Used Pile, it will go to the bag instead (except for when it is purchased, swapped, or sent as energy). You cannot choose to leave it in the Used Pile.

Ruling – Ability

“When fielded, draw a die. If it is a character die with Immortal, field it for free at level 1. Otherwise, Prep it.”

Heimdall has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will only trigger when the die with the ability is considered to have been Fielded and not swapped, placed, moved, etc. There are abilities on cards that will tell you to Field a character die, and those abilities will trigger When Fielded abilities.

Heimdall’s ability says that when his die is fielded, you draw a die from your bag. If the die that you draw is a character die and it has the Immortal keyword, you field it for free at level one. If it doesn’t have the Immortal keyword, you place it in your Prep Area.

If you attempt to draw a die and there are no dice in your bag, you refill your bag from your Used Pile.

If you draw a die and it’s a character die that has the Immortal keyword on its card, or has the keyword granted to it by an ability, you must field that die for free at level one.

If the die you drew is not a character die with the Immortal keyword, you must place it in your Prep Area.

If draw an Immortal character die and it has a When Fielded ability, it will trigger because Heimdall’s ability says to field that die.

These abilities are not optional. When Heimdall is fielded, you must draw a die. If you draw an Immortal character die, it must be fielded at level one. If you draw a die that’s not an Immortal character die, you must place it in your Prep Area.

Ruling – Global

“Global: Pay MASK. Once per turn, on your turn, you may Prep 2 Sidekick dice from your Used Pile.”

A Global is available for both players to use. There is no inherent ability to prevent a player from using a Global, though you may be able to use the ability on a card to prevent the use of a Global. For a player to use a Global on their opponent’s team, they must meet the proper requirements. Globals cannot be used for no effect.

Heimdall’s Global requires that a player spend one Mask energy. A player may only activate this Global one time on their turn, because the Global places those limits on its use. However, if you and your opponent both have the same Heimdall card on your teams, you can use each Heimdall’s Global one time on your turn. This is because each Heimdall is a different card, and each Global belongs to a different player.

During your turn, if you use Heimdall’s Global, you may move two Sidekick dice from your Used Pile to your Prep Area. You can still use this Global even if you only have one Sidekick die in your Used Pile. You cannot use the Global if you don’t have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile. If you have two or more Sidekick dice in your Used Pile, you must move two of them. You are not permitted to choose one when there are two available, because the Global specifically says ‘Prep 2 Sidekick dice’ and not ‘Prep up to 2 Sidekick dice’.

Character dice with the Ally keyword are not eligible to be selected as Sidekick dice for this Global ability because Ally character dice are only considered Sidekick dice while in the Field Zone.

Sidekick dice that are spent are not available for Heimdall’s Global on that same turn. Spent dice are Out of Play until the end of turn.

You can only use the Global on your turn, and only once for each Heimdall card.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Heimdall is a Mask type character card.
~ He does not have an affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #24 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

The Immortal ruling can be found, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

PXG has returned as HXG! Credit to Andy and Chris (True Mister Six) from the Ministry of Dice for their acronym. Those two have an awesome podcast that I highly recommend. It’s fun and I always enjoy hearing Andy’s new aka.

But, it’s nice to have a form of PXG back in the game. I was never on the ‘Ban PXG’ bandwagon, because I didn’t think he needed to be banned. I felt he needed a hefty errata, but didn’t deserve a ban. HXG is what PXG should have been to begin with. A once per turn, on your turn Global is more than appropriate. The Global is quite useful, though I’m not certain the rest of his common card is all that useful outside of casual events. You could probably build a casual Immortal team using him, but he won’t be played in the competitive scenes for his ability. Players will definitely look at all the rarities of Heimdall, mainly for the Global.

I wanted to feature an Immortal character this week, and I couldn’t resist choosing Heimdall for Immortal and his Global.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

There has been an errata!

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

I will strikeout text that does not follow this errata and make any corrections needed. The corrections will be in red.

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Bifrost: Bridge Between Realms from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W The Bifrost, Bridge Between Realms

Ruling – Ability

“When you field a character die, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free.”

“When you field a character die from your Reserve Pool, you may field target character die in your Used Pile on the same level for free. (The Bifrost doesn’t trigger itself.)”

When you use this action die, it will go out of play, but the effect will remain until the end of your turn.

Fielding a character die is when you pay the fielding cost and move a character from your Reserve Pool into the Field Zone. Characters can also be fielded by other means, such as character abilities or action dice, but they are only considered ‘fielded’ if the wording on the card specifically says to ‘field’ the character die.

When you field a character die while this effect is active, you have the option of fielding a character die from your Used Pile. You will be able to field the character die from your Used Pile for free, meaning you will not have to pay the fielding cost associated with the character’s level. For example, if the character die you field is level three, the character die you field from your Used Pile will also be fielded at level three and not cost any energy to field.

Fielding a Sidekick will allow you to field a character die from your Used Pile at level one, because Sidekicks only have one level. However, you cannot field a Sidekick from your Used Pile with this ability because Sidekick dice are not character dice while in the Used Pile.

Fielding a character from your Used Pile with The Bifrost’s ability will trigger any When Fielded abilities, including this ability. The Bifrost’s ability will only trigger from character dice that you field from your Reserve Pool. This ability is optional because the card uses the word ‘may’. Even if the ability is triggered, you are not required to activate the ability.

Ruling – Global Ability

The Bifrost has a Global ability on its card that says:
“Global: Pay 0. Once per turn on your turn, spin one of your Sidekick character dice to its [SHIELD] face.”

This Global does not cost anything to activate. You only need to state that you are using the Global.

When you activate this Global, you choose one of your Sidekick dice in your Field Zone or Reserve Pool that’s showing a Sidekick character face, and then spin that die to its Shield energy face.

You can spin an Ally character to a single Shield energy face. The Ally character die must have a Shield energy face and also be in the Field Zone. Unlike Sidekick dice in the Reserve Pool, an Ally is only considered a Sidekick character while in the Field Zone.

This Global does not target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Bifrost is a Shield type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #124 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

There is a ruling for a Global similar to The Bifrost’s Global, and you can find it, here.
There is a ruling about spinning Ally character dice to energy faces, here.
There is an errata for this card and you can find it, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I know lots of folks are going completely bonkers for this card and many believe this card is very over powered. I do not believe this card is the meta buster that lots of folks think it is.  If the goal is to use The Bifrost for the When Fielded abilities on characters being fielded from the Used Pile, then Wonder Woman: Reflections is a solid counter. The Bifrost is a four cost non-basic action, and most of the meta worthy When Fielded type cards are three or four to purchase as well, which means you can cycle those dice before ever buying The Bifrost. I know some folks in the groups have mentioned using it with a Guy Rush type build, but I believe The Bifrost is not necessary for those builds. I think it would clunk up the bag too much and slow the team down.

There are lots of folks calling for an errata but it really doesn’t need it. In practice, this card works well when you happen to have lots of characters in your Used Pile. But the setup to get those dice in position is no easy feat. I think we’ll see this card in major competitive scenes as folks try their hardest to break it and exploit it. This card is fun in draft and likely going to be fun in casual play as well. I think it might become a nuisance in Golden Age play if used with the right cards, but I don’t think it’s powerful enough that it needs an errata or a ban – yet. There could be another perfect storm, like Bard Blitz, waiting for its time to shine, but only time will tell.

If you have a build that you think is perfect for this card, I’d love to see it and try it! This card seems like it would be lots of fun to use with the right team, but I don’t plan to build around it myself. But I’m definitely open to seeing builds and trying them out. I’d also love to see what others think about this card, so please, leave me a comment!

~ If an errata or ruling should happen, I’ll most definitely add it to this article!

And – the errata happened. I believe it only happened because the ability wasn’t functioning the way they truly intended it. Now, the card is definitely not a meta-buster. I don’t think we’ll see this card much, if at all, in major competitive play now.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

The Mighty Thor Dice Masters set has released! I unboxed a Draft Pack Display and thought I’d share the breakdown of my pulls. You can see the video on my YouTube channel, here. I will not be featuring favorite cards in this article – be looking for that article in the future!

Each pack’s contents are listed below. Foil cards are in red text. The boxes are listed from the front of the display, to the back of the display.

Rules Insert

Rules Insert

Draft Pack #1

Basic Action Cards
Investigation
Shockwave

Commons
Absorbing Man
Hulk
Jarnbjorn
Loki
Ragnarok
Thor (Male)

Uncommons
Balder
Hulk
Sif
Thor (Male)

Rares
Mjolnir
Punisher

Draft Pack #2

Basic Action Cards
Big Entrance
Surprise Attack

Commons
Balder
Billy Club
Crystal
Odin
Punisher
SP//dr
Samantha Wilson

Uncommons
Hogun
Samantha Wilson
Wrecker

Rares
Fandral
Odin

Draft Pack #3

Basic Action Cards
Don the Helm
Investigation

Commons
Crystal
Jane Foster
Kate Bishop
Nick Fury
Sif
The Bifrost

Uncommons
Destroyer
Jane Foster
Loki
Samantha Wilson

Rares
Jarnbjorn

Kate Bishop

Draft Pack #4

Basic Action Cards
Big Entrance
Released from the Ice

Commons
Absorbing Man
Balder
Chipmunk Hunk
Hulk
Loki
Samantha Wilson
Thor (Male)

Uncommons
Absorbing Man
Jarnbjorn
Surtur

Rares
Daredevil
US Agent

Draft Pack #5

Basic Action Cards
Released from the Ice
Villainous Pact

Commons
Billy Club
Destroyer
Heimdall
Karnak
Thorbuster Iron Man
Volstagg
Wrecker

Uncommons
Fandral
Nick Fury
Pepper Potts

Rares
Iron Man
Sif

Draft Pack #6

Basic Action Cards
Odin’s Fury
Shockwave

Commons
Beta Ray Bill
Fandral
Hogun
Malekith
Mr. Fixit
Pepper Potts
Surtur

Uncommons
Enchantress
Mr. Fixit

Rares
The Bifrost
The Bifrost (Duplicate Rare – no dice)
Earth X Thor (SUPER RARE)

Draft Pack #7

Basic Action Cards
Archnemesis!
Get Thee Hence

Commons
Blackheart
Enchantress
Mjolnir
Punisher
Ragnarok
SP//dr

Uncommons
Punisher
Kate Bishop
The Bifrost
Thor (Female)

Rares
Crystal
SP//dr

Draft Pack #8

Basic Action Cards
Don the Helm
Shockwave

Commons
Daredevil
Hela
Iron Man
Jarnbjorn
Odin
Thor (Female)
US Agent

Uncommons
Crystal
Daredevil
Pepper Potts

Rares
Balder
Thorbuster Iron Man

Note – Draft Pack #6

In Draft Pack number six, I opened two The Bifrost rare cards, but didn’t get four dice in the pack. I went back and examined the dice more closely and discovered I had Odin dice, but no Odin card in that pack. When you look at the breakdown of the packs, you can almost immediately guess that the missing card was supposed to be an uncommon, non-foil Odin.I don’t believe it was a foil because there was already a foil uncommon card and three foils total in the pack. But, because this pack had the super rare in it, it could throw off the regular formula. But I’m certain it was an uncommon Odin because there were only two uncommon cards in the pack and the minimum I’ve seen is three.

That’s not a huge loss when you look at what I got in it’s place – a rare Bifrost. I’m definitely not upset about it, but I do not like that there was a miss-pack like this. This could mean that someone out there is missing a rare Bifrost and got an extra uncommon Odin. Miss-packs are bound to happen, but it’s not pleasant when it goes the other way.

Basic Action Card Reprint/Revamps

I pulled ten of the twelve BACs. Here is a list with a list of their previous versions. The orange cards are the two I did not pull. It appears that all the BACs are reprints or revamped versions of previous BACs.

#1 – Archnemesis!
~ Archnemesis (Amazing Spider-Man): Reprint

#2 – Big Entrance
~ Big Entrance (War of Light): Reprint
~ Promo(s): Reprint

#3 – Don the Helm
~ Transfer Power (Uncanny X-Men): Don the Helm is a revamp of Transfer Power. Don the Helm loses the Global and has updated wording, but is otherwise functionally the same.

#4 – Flying Hammer
~ Smash! (Avengers vs X-Men): Flying Hammer cost one more to purchase but has updated wording and is functionally the same.
~ Smash! (Iron Man War Machine): Flying Hammer cost one more to purchase but is functionally the same.

#5 – Get Thee Hence
~ Dark Avenger (World’s Finest): but the Batman affiliation is replaced with the Immortal keyword. Get Thee Hence is not a direct reprint.

#6 – Investigation
~ Gearing Up (Avengers vs X-Men): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but is worded the same.
~ Superhero Registration Act (Civil War): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but doesn’t have the Enlistment keyword. Otherwise, worded the same.
~ Special Delivery (TMNT Box 1): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but is worded the same.

#7 – Midgard
~ Save Civilians (Justice League): Midgard is a reprint.
~ Save Civilians (Superman Wonder Woman): Midgard is a reprint.

#8 – Odin’s Fury
~ True Believer (Amazing Spider-Man): Odin’s Fury has clarified wording but is functionally the same.

#9 – Released from the Ice
~ Reclaim (Heroes in a Half Shell): Released from the Ice is reworded but functionally the same.

#10 – Shockwave
~ Shockwave (Justice League): Reprint

#11 – Surprise Attack
~ Surprise Attack (Age of Ultron): Surprise Attack from Mighty Thor has updated wording but functionally the same.
~ Surprise Attack (Iron Man War Machine): The version in Mighty Thor is a direct reprint of this version.

#12 – Villainous Pact
~ Villainous Pact (Justice League): Villainous Pact from Mighty Thor has the updated wording but functionally the same.
~ Promo (M2016): Villainous Pact from Mighty Thor has is a direct reprint of this version.

Final Thoughts

It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of the Draft Packs. I don’t like the extra hoops folks need to jump through in order to get all the Basic Actions. There are a total of sixteen BACs in a display – and there is no reason a sealed display shouldn’t have at least one copy of all twelve BACs. It’s bad enough you need a regular and foil set (if you’re collecting a foil set too), but to open a sealed display and still be missing two to three BACs is just silly.

I also don’t like that I end up missing somewhere around fifteen or sixteen uncommons, especially when I get duplicate uncommons, regardless of them being foil duplicates. I ended up with duplicate rares in the D&D display and that was a little frustrating as well. As a collector, I am greatly displeased with the draft packs and there is no way to convince me that they’re equal or better than a feed (for my collecting) – unless they were $15-$20 cheaper than a feed instead of only $10 cheaper. But if you’re only looking for rare cards, you can guarantee two rares or a rare and a super rare from a $10 pack. For that cost, I’d still rather buy a feed and then buy singles, like I’ve been doing since the dawn of Uncanny X-Men (AvX was a little different and harder to collect).

So, I’m very happy there is a gravity available for Mighty Thor. I wish WizKids would have made a BAC pack for folks that only want the regular BACs from the set and don’t want or have access to the Draft Packs. They could have brought back the Collector’s Box and put foil BACs in it with the cool premium dice. I don’t care about characters, character dice, or boosters – I just want the Collector’s Boxes back with foil BACs and premium dice! That would be awesome to have a Collector’s Box for starters and team packs with foil versions of the cards too.

I like the Draft Pack idea for pre-release events or other special sealed type events, but not as a standard product. I’ve heard several of my locals voice this same opinion.

What do you think of the Draft Packs?
Are you finding it difficult to get a full set of the BACs?
Do you like that they’re all reprints or revamped versions of previous BACs?

Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty! Thanks for reading and please remember to like, follow, and subscribe!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I have a ‘mighty’ cool treat for you today, courtesy of WizKids! In celebration of the release of The Mighty Thor set, they’ve sent me a few ‘worthy’ card scans to share! And before you start wondering when you can get your hands on this set, it’s available right now! You can find foil booster packs and draft packs at your friendly local game store.

Preview #1 – Beta Ray Bill: A Worthy Opponent

First up, we’ve got a Guardians of the Galaxy affiliated character, Beta Ray Bill: A Worthy Opponent.

MDM9 Cards Reg95

This is a whopper of a character! He’s got some huge defense stats and his attack is sure to pack a punch! As an added bonus to his glorious stats, when Beta Ray Bill attacks, he can KO a Bolt character die that’s the same level or lower as his die. If you have multiple Beta Ray Bill dice to attack with, each one gets to KO a Bolt character that’s equal or lower level than their level. I know his purchase cost is high, but there are plenty of ways to lower that purchase cost a little. One way is to use Big Entrance: Basic Action Card. Using that action die will reduce his cost by one and also put him in your bag when you buy him. You could get lucky and find a Big Entrance card in one of The Mighty Thor draft packs!

Preview #2 – Enchantress: Fatal Attraction

Next up, we have an addition to the Mystics affiliation, Enchantress: Fatal Attraction.

MDM9 Cards Reg102

If simple brute force isn’t what you want, Enchantress is a card you might want to look at. She’s got a high purchase cost, but just like Beta Ray Bill, you can reduce it with cards like Big Entrance. Her ability is a really good one if she’s on your side! She’s got the ability to tax your opponents when they try to use a Global Ability or an action die. Her ability doesn’t say basic action die, which means she forces them to pay that one extra energy for ANY action die they try to use! She also taxes the Global Abilities they try to use too, which could give you an advantage if your opponent is relying heavily on Globals or action dice. If your opponent isn’t using a lot of Globals or action dice, Enchantress can still deal a decent amount of damage to them with her high attack stats. She’s got the wit and the muscle!

Preview #3 – Hela: Even in Death…

Next up is a very menacing looking Villain, Hela: Even in Death….

MDM9 Cards Reg105

Hela is a super tough character with her huge stats, so it makes perfect sense for her to have a While Active ability. She’s a really useful character if your opponent is using Immortal characters.

Immortal: Except when purchased, when this die would go to the Used Pile, instead add it your bag.”

When an opposing character with the Immortal keyword is KO’d, you get to Prep a die from your bag. It’s usually beneficial to roll more than four dice at the start of your turn, because this gives you more opportunities to purchase crucial elements of your win condition or it can provide the energy you need for a super important Global Ability, like Hela’s. Hela’s Global is a double edged sword though. You need a loophole to prevent your dice from being chosen by your opponent. One way is be sure all of the dice you don’t want back on their cards are in your bag or Reserve Pool before using her Global. Another is with the Global on True Believer: Basic Action Card from the Amazing Spider-Man Starter. This will only help one of your character dice in the Field Zone, but that may be all you need!

W True Believer, BAC

Preview #4 – Pepper Potts: Behind Every Great Man

With this next card, we see the return of the Stark Industries affiliation. I’m super excited about this because it’s the first set we’re seeing it in, outside of the Iron Man and War Machine Starter! Thank you, Pepper Potts: Behind Every Great Man, you are my hero today!

MDM9 Cards Reg118

Rescue: Resilient and Rescue: Catching a Jet needed a new Pepper Potts and I’m so glad we’re getting her! This Pepper Potts is particularly handy while you have Iron Man active. Her stats get a nice boost as long as Iron Man is also in the Field Zone. She’ll become a 4A/4D on level one, 4A/6D on level two, and 5A/5D on level three – all with a zero fielding cost! You just need to be sure to bring an Iron Man – in case your opponent didn’t bring Iron Man to the battle. I like Iron Man: Secretary of Defense because his Enlistment ability puts your opponent in a tough spot!

W Iron Man, Secretary of Defense

Conclusion

While I’m not a fan of the more expensive characters, I totally have my eye on that Enchantress and Hela for her Global! I’m a control player and they’re both my type of cards. My favorite of all four of these cards is most definitely Pepper Potts! I can’t wait to get my hands on one and build a team with her, Iron Man, and Rescue. Now, we need a new Iron Man! I’m super excited to see what I get from my draft pack display that I’ll be picking up from FLGS later today. I’ll be posting an article with my pulls and an unboxing video soon! Keep an eye on my YouTube channel for it.

Huge thanks go to WizKids for allowing me to bring you these previews and I hope that you’re just as excited as I am for what The Mighty Thor set will bring to the game!

Thanks so much for reading and remember folks, if you like the content I provide, be sure to click that like button! Every follower and subscription matters!

Roll on, Dice Masters!