Posts Tagged ‘Uncommon’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Tabaxi Rogue: Greater Lords’ Alliance  from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Tabaxi Rogue, Greater Lords' Alliance

Ruling – Experience Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Experience: While a character die with Experience is active, if you KO’d an opposing monster (as noted by the black Monster allegiance banner) during your turn, place one Experience Token on this character die’s card at the end of your turn. Each Experience Token provides each of this card’s dice with +1A and +1D (at each level). A card can only gain 1 Experience Token per turn (unless otherwise stated). Multiple cards can each gain an Experience Token during the same turn. An opposing player KOing their own Monster will not generate Experience Tokens.”

Experience is a keyword ability that functions like a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Experience allows the character(s) with the keyword to gain an Experience Token if at least one opposing Monster (represented by the black Monster Flag) was KO’d during your turn. You can use almost any type of gaming token to represent Experience Tokens. I use a regular die (D6 or D8 usually) but some folks like to use glass beads.

Each Experience Token on a character’s card grants the character dice a +1A and +1D.

KO’ing your own Monsters or Monsters KO’d during your opponent’s turn will not grant you an Experience Token.

You cannot gain more than one Experience Token on any one character card each turn, but multiple characters can each gain an Experience Token.

A character that leaves the Field Zone does not lose their Experience Tokens. Experience Tokens are not removed unless a card or game effect would remove them.

Characters with Experience do not need to be the character that KO’s a Monster; they only need to be active in the Field when the Monster gets KO’d.

Experience Tokens are placed on the characters at the end of turn, so if a character with Experience is KO’d or unblocked, they are no longer active at the end of turn to receive an Experience Token.

Characters with Experience are typically considered Adventurers – though there are several exceptions. Those characters state that they are not Adventurers on their card.

Ruling – Ability

When fielded, move target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone to the Used Pile.”

A When Fielded ability will trigger when the character’s die is fielded by either paying the fielding cost and moving it from your Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by using an ability that instructs you to ‘field’ the character die. Abilities that move, swap, or place dice will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

When you field a Tabaxi Rogue die, you will move a target opposing Trap die from the Field Zone and place it into the Used Pile.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

If fielding the Tabaxi Rogue’s die triggers a trap, the active player resolves the Tabaxi Rogue’s ability, then the Trap will be able to resolve.

Ruling – Equip Icon

The Tabaxi Rogue has the Equip icon, meaning it can be equipped with Gear.

WizKids Keywords Page:
Equip: When this die is fielded, and at the beginning of each turn that this die is active (any player’s turn), you may attach this die to a character with the Equip icon immediately below their alignment icon. You may switch the attachment from one character die to another. If the character die the equipped die leaves the Field Zone, the equipped die remains in the Field Zone (unattached). As with all non-character dice, Gear dice can’t attack or block.”

When a character that has Gear attached to it leaves the Field Zone, the Gear stays in the Field Zone. It will stay unattached until you could attach it to another character.

If a character would lose the Equip Icon, the Gear would become unattached and stay in the Field Zone until such a time you could attach it to a legal target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Tabaxi Rogue is a Mask type character card.
~ It has the Lords’ Alliance affiliation and has a Neutral alignment.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #83 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card but there is a relevant ruling, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I absolutely disagree with the ruling on Skeleton Key vs Green Devil Mask. The conditions of using a trap require you to send it to the Used Pile. If it’s already there, it shouldn’t be able to resolve if it’s later in the queue. Sorry – Bad ruling in my opinion. But it’s what WORF says and that’s how it must be ruled.

I still like this version of the Tabaxi Rogue for removing all the silly and obnoxious traps that are out there. But you have to dedicate a slot to the Tabaxi Rogue and that takes up a slot something else could go in. Since Traps are not a huge deal in regular constructed play, I can’t see myself slotting this character in for that. It’s a great card for a limited format that uses the Tomb of Annihilation set and I wouldn’t play without it if that’s the case.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jay Garrick: The Crimson Comet from the DC Green Arrow and The Flash set.

* Note – There are two other articles that may be beneficial to read prior to this article. One is Dice Masters Confusing Card of the Week #141 – Hal Jordan: Green Lantern’s Light for Crossover character explanation, and the other is Dice Masters Confusing Card of the Week #142 – Free Chimichangas: Delicious for Impulse.

W Jay Garrick, The Crimson Comet

Ruling – Crossover

For a full breakdown of Crossover character dice, see my Confusing Card of the Week article about Hal Jordan: Green Lantern’s Light, here.

Ruling – Keyword Ability: Crosspulse

We’ll discuss this card’s individual Crosspulse ability in the Ruling – Ability section below. This section is focusing on the keyword and not the ability granted by the keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Crosspulse: Crosspulse is a special version of Impulse found only on Crossover Characters. When you only spend the matching type of energy to purchase them, you get to use their Crosspulse ability.

You can read about Impulse, here.

When you purchase a die with the Crosspulse ability, you will be able to activate the bonus listed as the Crosspulse ability. Crosspulse abilities vary from card to card.

All of the energy used to purchase the die must match the energy types of the Crossover die you’re purchasing. You can use Wild energy to purchase a die with Crosspulse and it will count as the required energy and allow you to trigger Crosspulse.

For example: If I were wanting to purchase Jay Garrick, I could purchase him normally with one Bolt, one Shield, and two Fist energy. If I do, his Crosspulse ability will not trigger. If I purchased him with one Bolt, one Shield, and two Wild energy, his Crosspulse will trigger.

You do not need to have a copy of the die active in the Field Zone (which isn’t possible in some cases), you only need to purchase the die to trigger Crosspulse.

You can reduce the purchase cost to the minimum, which would be a Bolt and a Shield energy for Jay Garrick, and still trigger Crosspulse. Crosspulse only requires that you spend specific energy types to purchase the die, not a specific amount.

Ruling – Ability

Crosspulse – When you purchase a Jay Garrick die, all of your character dice in the Field Zone gain Fast (until end of turn). (You can only use a Crosspulse ability if you paid this character’s purchase cost using only their energy types.) (Character dice with Fast deal combat damage before non-Fast characters.)”

When you purchase a Jay Garrick die using only Bolt and Shield energy, his Crosspulse ability will trigger and all of your character dice that are in the Field Zone will gain Fast until the end of the turn. Only your character dice that are in the Field Zone at the time you purchase Jay Garrick will gain Fast. Any character dice you field after purchasing his dice will not benefit from his Crosspulse ability.

Ruling – Keyword Ability: Fast

WizKids Keywords Page:

Fast: Characters with Fast deal combat damage before other characters, all at the same time, instead of at the regular time for combat damage.”

A die with Fast will deal its combat damage before character dice without Fast. If two or more character dice have Fast, they all deal their combat damage simultaneously, but before character dice without Fast.

If an attacker with Fast is blocked by a character die without Fast, the attacker assigns and resolves its damage first and could potentially KO the blocker before it can assign and resolve its combat damage. For example: I’m attacking with a Sidekick die that has Fast from Jay Garrick’s Crosspulse. My opponent blocks my Sidekick with one of their Sidekicks, which doesn’t have Fast. My Sidekick will deal its combat first, which is enough to KO the blocking Sidekick. The blocker was not able to deal damage to my attacking Sidekick because of Fast.

If an attacker with Fast is blocked by a character die with Fast, they assign and resolve their combat damage to each other, like normal, but before the other character dice in that combat.

If an attacker with Fast is blocked by a character die with Fast and another without Fast, it may be possible for the attacker to KO the blocker without Fast before it can deal its combat damage to the attacker. But, the other blocker with Fast would also assign and resolve its combat damage at the same as the attacker.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jay Garrick is a Bolt and a Shield type character card.
~ He has the JSA (Justice Society of America) affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #62 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I think Fast is an underappreciated keyword. I love using characters with Fast, and I actually used this Jay Garrick more than a few times. This particular card is a great card for casual play and draft, but he’s not going to see much Golden Age competitive play.

I like that he’s not really expensive to purchase, and you can use Blue-Eyes White Dragon Global to reduce his cost so you only need a Bolt and a Shield to purchase him and still get his Crosspulse trigger. Fast characters are very useful as attackers and blockers, especially since there are Globals that force dice to attack and Globals that force dice to block.

For the next casual event that comes your way, give some consideration to Fast and test play with it – especially if you haven’t before!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Absorbing Man: Harold’s Ice Cream from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Absorbing Man, Harold's Ice Cream

Ruling – Ability

“While Absorbing Man is active, when a “when KO’d” effect is used, you may use a copy of that effect.”

Absorbing Man’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Absorbing Man is active, if a “When KO’d” effect is used, he may use a copy of that effect. This ability is optional and not mandatory, and you only get one copy of a ‘When KO’d’ ability, regardless of how many Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone. If a second copy of a character die is KO’d that turn, you can copy that ability again, but only once regardless of the number of Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone.

If you copy a “When KO’d” ability from another character, Absorbing Man does not have to be KO’d for you to copy that effect.

You can copy the “When KO’d” effect from one of your characters or one of your opponent’s characters, but the ability must be used for you to be able to copy it. If the ‘When KO’d’ ability is optional and they do not use it, you can’t copy it.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Absorbing Man is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Absorbing Man has a pretty cool ability that you can easily build around. In Golden Age, this guy is loads of fun for casual events. I think he may be a little more difficult to build around in Modern Age. In Golden Age, there are lots of different ‘When KO’d’ abilities that would be great to copy, especially when you have Blue-Eyes White Dragon’s Global to KO your own character dice. But, you aren’t limited to your own dice abilities. You can copy opposing ‘When KO’d’ abilities which adds to his usefulness in Golden Age.

I like that Absorbing Man is not expensive to purchase, so you can keep several in the Field. His stats are not terrible, but he’s manageable if you’re trying to get around him.

I saw the question pop up on WORF about this card and the rare version of Absorbing Man and I thought this would be a good one to cover this week. Newer and inexperienced players don’t realize that you can use his ability to copy an opposing character’s ‘When KO’d‘ ability. As regular players, and a more experienced players, we sometimes forget that these abilities aren’t as obvious to other players of different skill levels. I like when WORF answers questions like this because it helps me choose CCW cards that would be more appealing to the newer players – which are my target audience.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Madame Masque: Nefaria’s Schemes  from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Madame Masque, Nefaria's Schemes

Ruling – Ability

While Madame Masque is active, your opponent’s “When fielded” abilities do not trigger.”

Madame Masque’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

 

You must have at least one Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone to gain the benefits of her ability. Having more than one will not affect how her ability functions.

While you have a Madame Masque die in the Field Zone, your opponent can’t use any abilities that say ‘When Fielded’. This does not apply to keywords that function like a When Fielded ability. For example: Intimidate acts like a When Fielded ability, but Madame Masque won’t stop it because the character’s ability does not say When Fielded. Reminder text in parentheses is not considered to be the character’s actual ability, only a reminder of how the ability works.

If your opponent has a Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone, and you try to borrow one of their characters (via an ability like the one on Collector: Tanaleer Tivan) with a When Fielded ability, you will not get to use that ability. When you borrow the die, it’s temporarily yours for game effects.

Madame Masque’s ability is not optional. You can’t pick and chose which ability is ignored and which isn’t.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Madame Mask is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Villain affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #59 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Madame Masque, here.

You can find a ruling about ‘When Fielded’ abilities being ignored, here.

You can find a ruling about Keyword abilities vs ‘When Fielded’ abilities here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I totally understand the confusion with this card, especially for newer players. I’ve gotten a few questions about her ability vs Keywords as well as the Collector question. Before they ruled on her officially, I was using the Global ruling as a basis for my ruling – which they used as well. When you use a Global on an opponent’s card, it’s not your opponent’s Global when you use it – you are the one using it. Same applies to borrowing character dice.

I’ve heard lots of argument on both sides for using Madame Masque over Wonder Woman: Reflections. There are lots of pros and cons and each player should weigh them individually for their own team and play style. Wonder Woman costs one more to purchase, but she also shuts down When Attacks abilities, like the nasty Bard and Guy Gardner. Wonder Woman has better stats, but does cost one more to field on level three. They’re both Mask characters. Madame Masque is a Villain and there are plenty of anti Villain cards. Wonder Woman has the Justice League affiliation, which really doesn’t matter in Modern Age, but you could loosely build around it in Golden Age.

Personally, I prefer Wonder Woman over Madame Masque, but each player should look at both of them and decide for themselves which they prefer. Madame Masque has her uses. She could be invaluable for a Villain only event!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Thor: A God Amongst Men from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Thor, A God Amongst Men

Ruling – Ability

While Thor is active, when you would take damage, redirect that damage to Thor.

Thor’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While you have at least one Thor die in the Field Zone, when you would take damage, you must redirect that damage to Thor. Redirecting damage changes the intended target of the damage to Thor, but it does not change the source of the damage. For example: My opponent uses a Get Thee Hence action die and targets me. I would take one damage, but it is instead redirected to one of my Thor dice instead.

If you have more than one Thor die in the Field Zone and a source would deal more than one damage to you, you would choose one Thor die to redirect that source’s damage to. You can’t split a source’s damage unless an ability or effect specifically tells you that you can.

If there are multiple sources dealing damage to you simultaneously, such as from unblocked attackers, you would redirect all of that damage to your Thor die. If you had multiple Thor dice in the Field Zone, you can choose a different Thor die for a different source. For example: My opponent is attacking me with a Hulk (7A), another Hulk (6A), and a Sidekick (1A). I have two Thor dice in the Field Zone on level one (6D) and level two (8D). I do not block so that all of the attackers would deal damage to me. I now redirect that damage from each source to whichever Thor die I choose for that source’s damage. I redirect the seven damage from one Hulk to the level one Thor die. I redirect the six damage from the other Hulk to my level two Thor die. I then redirect the one damage from the Sidekick to my level one Thor die. Now that I have redirected the damage, it resolves simultaneously. My level one Thor die will take eight damage and be KO’d, and my level two Thor die will take six damage but not be KO’d. I could have redirected all three sources of damage to one Thor die, or redirected the damage to both Thor dice in such a way that they would both be KO’d.

When you redirect damage from an attacker that’s not blocked, it does not become blocked. The attacker is still unblocked and will go Out of Play when the damage is resolved, then to the Used Pile during Clean Up.

Attacking characters that are not blocked will not take damage from Thor because he’s not blocking those characters. The damage is being moved from the player to Thor.

Thor can redirect any type of damage, but he can’t redirect loss of life. Losing life and paying life are not considered damage.

Thor’s ability is not optional. When you take damage – any damage – it is redirected to a Thor die. Thor’s ability would have the word ‘may’ in it if it were optional to use.

Ruling – Global

Global: Pay [Bolt] [Bolt]. Once per turn, deal 1 damage to target character die.”

Thor’s Global is only able to be used once per turn, per Thor card. If you and your opponent both have the same Thor card, you may use each Global once.

To use this Global, you must spend two Bolt energy. You may spend one die showing two Bolts or two dice showing any combination of Bolt and Wild energy. Energy spent for this Global on your turn will go Out of Play. Energy spent for this Global on your opponent’s turn will go to your Used Pile.

Thor’s Global can only target a character die, unless an effect says otherwise. This Global does target, so if an ability prevents a character die from being targeted, you can not target that character die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Thor’s Global, because you can’t use a Global for no effect.

Thor’s Global will deal one damage to a target character die. If the character’s defense is one, then the die is KO’d when it’s damaged by this Global.

This Global can be used by either player during the Main Step or during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Thor is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #87 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Relevant Rulebook Text on Redirecting:
“Other powers redirect a game effect (usually damage). When an effect is redirected, the target of the effect changes from its original target to the new one as described in the game text…”

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This is a whopper of character and I thought he’d be a great feature this week since I’ve seen some discussion about him recently. His Global is a little lack luster when compared to other Globals that deal direct damage to characters, because his has a ‘once per turn’ limitation and it cost two Bolt energy. Unstable Canister outshines his Global, so it’s safe to say that we won’t be seeing him on teams for that reason – unless he’s the only option for that type of Global.

But that ability of his is just silly. His ability is like a supercharged Ronin: Between Employers. Ronin can only redirect one source per turn, but he is much cheaper at a cost of three versus Thor’s seven. Thor’s purchase cost is appropriate for his ability, but it’s still a little expensive for competitive play. If you have a way to effectively ramp up to seven energy to buy Thor, I would have to wonder why you’re buying him and not a win condition. If you’re playing casual settings, you may see some folks playing this card. I highly doubt we’ll be seeing him outside of the casual scene, even though he’s got an ability worthy of a Norse God.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Hellfire Club: Members Only from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W The Hellfire Club, Members Only

Ruling – Ability

If you control the character die with the highest A, KO all other character dice

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step.

“Character dice” refer to the individual character dice and not the character card. For example: I have two Wolverine dice in the Field Zone, one with an attack of six and the other with an attack of two. When I use the Hellfire Club die, it will look at both of my Wolverine dice as separate character dice.

You can only use this die if you have a character die with the highest attack in the Field Zone. If you do not have a character die that has the highest attack, you will not be able to use this die because it will not have an effect.

If you have multiple character dice that are tied for the highest attack, you can still use the Hellfire Club, but you may only keep one of those dice and KO the rest. For example: If I have two Wolverine dice and Batman die in the Field Zone, all tied for the highest attack, I must choose one of them to remain in the Field Zone and KO the rest.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellfire Club is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #77 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I have been trying desperately to get this card to work with Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night. I’m not sure I’ll be able to get that team running as smooth as I’d like, but it’s definitely a fun team to play on a casual night. The Hellfire Club is devastating when your opponent is trying to keep characters active and it’s amazing to see it go off – when it works. There are plenty of great characters that have a high printed attack that are easy to purchase. I think the Hellfire Club is perfect for casual players that want to find a way around some of those pesky characters like Blob and Shriek. Those characters have low attack stats and they can be easily KO’d with Hellfire Club to allow your team some breathing room.

While I’ve been trying to work this team into a meta build, I don’t believe that it’s possible. I think my Jessica Jones team is still too slow and too vulnerable for it to be effective in any kind of major competitive play. I still would like to see this card find its way onto a competitive team because I believe it has potential. But if it doesn’t, it’s still an awesome card for casual play!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

The Mighty Thor Dice Masters set has released! I unboxed a Draft Pack Display and thought I’d share the breakdown of my pulls. You can see the video on my YouTube channel, here. I will not be featuring favorite cards in this article – be looking for that article in the future!

Each pack’s contents are listed below. Foil cards are in red text. The boxes are listed from the front of the display, to the back of the display.

Rules Insert

Rules Insert

Draft Pack #1

Basic Action Cards
Investigation
Shockwave

Commons
Absorbing Man
Hulk
Jarnbjorn
Loki
Ragnarok
Thor (Male)

Uncommons
Balder
Hulk
Sif
Thor (Male)

Rares
Mjolnir
Punisher

Draft Pack #2

Basic Action Cards
Big Entrance
Surprise Attack

Commons
Balder
Billy Club
Crystal
Odin
Punisher
SP//dr
Samantha Wilson

Uncommons
Hogun
Samantha Wilson
Wrecker

Rares
Fandral
Odin

Draft Pack #3

Basic Action Cards
Don the Helm
Investigation

Commons
Crystal
Jane Foster
Kate Bishop
Nick Fury
Sif
The Bifrost

Uncommons
Destroyer
Jane Foster
Loki
Samantha Wilson

Rares
Jarnbjorn

Kate Bishop

Draft Pack #4

Basic Action Cards
Big Entrance
Released from the Ice

Commons
Absorbing Man
Balder
Chipmunk Hunk
Hulk
Loki
Samantha Wilson
Thor (Male)

Uncommons
Absorbing Man
Jarnbjorn
Surtur

Rares
Daredevil
US Agent

Draft Pack #5

Basic Action Cards
Released from the Ice
Villainous Pact

Commons
Billy Club
Destroyer
Heimdall
Karnak
Thorbuster Iron Man
Volstagg
Wrecker

Uncommons
Fandral
Nick Fury
Pepper Potts

Rares
Iron Man
Sif

Draft Pack #6

Basic Action Cards
Odin’s Fury
Shockwave

Commons
Beta Ray Bill
Fandral
Hogun
Malekith
Mr. Fixit
Pepper Potts
Surtur

Uncommons
Enchantress
Mr. Fixit

Rares
The Bifrost
The Bifrost (Duplicate Rare – no dice)
Earth X Thor (SUPER RARE)

Draft Pack #7

Basic Action Cards
Archnemesis!
Get Thee Hence

Commons
Blackheart
Enchantress
Mjolnir
Punisher
Ragnarok
SP//dr

Uncommons
Punisher
Kate Bishop
The Bifrost
Thor (Female)

Rares
Crystal
SP//dr

Draft Pack #8

Basic Action Cards
Don the Helm
Shockwave

Commons
Daredevil
Hela
Iron Man
Jarnbjorn
Odin
Thor (Female)
US Agent

Uncommons
Crystal
Daredevil
Pepper Potts

Rares
Balder
Thorbuster Iron Man

Note – Draft Pack #6

In Draft Pack number six, I opened two The Bifrost rare cards, but didn’t get four dice in the pack. I went back and examined the dice more closely and discovered I had Odin dice, but no Odin card in that pack. When you look at the breakdown of the packs, you can almost immediately guess that the missing card was supposed to be an uncommon, non-foil Odin.I don’t believe it was a foil because there was already a foil uncommon card and three foils total in the pack. But, because this pack had the super rare in it, it could throw off the regular formula. But I’m certain it was an uncommon Odin because there were only two uncommon cards in the pack and the minimum I’ve seen is three.

That’s not a huge loss when you look at what I got in it’s place – a rare Bifrost. I’m definitely not upset about it, but I do not like that there was a miss-pack like this. This could mean that someone out there is missing a rare Bifrost and got an extra uncommon Odin. Miss-packs are bound to happen, but it’s not pleasant when it goes the other way.

Basic Action Card Reprint/Revamps

I pulled ten of the twelve BACs. Here is a list with a list of their previous versions. The orange cards are the two I did not pull. It appears that all the BACs are reprints or revamped versions of previous BACs.

#1 – Archnemesis!
~ Archnemesis (Amazing Spider-Man): Reprint

#2 – Big Entrance
~ Big Entrance (War of Light): Reprint
~ Promo(s): Reprint

#3 – Don the Helm
~ Transfer Power (Uncanny X-Men): Don the Helm is a revamp of Transfer Power. Don the Helm loses the Global and has updated wording, but is otherwise functionally the same.

#4 – Flying Hammer
~ Smash! (Avengers vs X-Men): Flying Hammer cost one more to purchase but has updated wording and is functionally the same.
~ Smash! (Iron Man War Machine): Flying Hammer cost one more to purchase but is functionally the same.

#5 – Get Thee Hence
~ Dark Avenger (World’s Finest): but the Batman affiliation is replaced with the Immortal keyword. Get Thee Hence is not a direct reprint.

#6 – Investigation
~ Gearing Up (Avengers vs X-Men): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but is worded the same.
~ Superhero Registration Act (Civil War): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but doesn’t have the Enlistment keyword. Otherwise, worded the same.
~ Special Delivery (TMNT Box 1): Investigation costs one less to purchase, but is worded the same.

#7 – Midgard
~ Save Civilians (Justice League): Midgard is a reprint.
~ Save Civilians (Superman Wonder Woman): Midgard is a reprint.

#8 – Odin’s Fury
~ True Believer (Amazing Spider-Man): Odin’s Fury has clarified wording but is functionally the same.

#9 – Released from the Ice
~ Reclaim (Heroes in a Half Shell): Released from the Ice is reworded but functionally the same.

#10 – Shockwave
~ Shockwave (Justice League): Reprint

#11 – Surprise Attack
~ Surprise Attack (Age of Ultron): Surprise Attack from Mighty Thor has updated wording but functionally the same.
~ Surprise Attack (Iron Man War Machine): The version in Mighty Thor is a direct reprint of this version.

#12 – Villainous Pact
~ Villainous Pact (Justice League): Villainous Pact from Mighty Thor has the updated wording but functionally the same.
~ Promo (M2016): Villainous Pact from Mighty Thor has is a direct reprint of this version.

Final Thoughts

It’s no secret that I’m not a fan of the Draft Packs. I don’t like the extra hoops folks need to jump through in order to get all the Basic Actions. There are a total of sixteen BACs in a display – and there is no reason a sealed display shouldn’t have at least one copy of all twelve BACs. It’s bad enough you need a regular and foil set (if you’re collecting a foil set too), but to open a sealed display and still be missing two to three BACs is just silly.

I also don’t like that I end up missing somewhere around fifteen or sixteen uncommons, especially when I get duplicate uncommons, regardless of them being foil duplicates. I ended up with duplicate rares in the D&D display and that was a little frustrating as well. As a collector, I am greatly displeased with the draft packs and there is no way to convince me that they’re equal or better than a feed (for my collecting) – unless they were $15-$20 cheaper than a feed instead of only $10 cheaper. But if you’re only looking for rare cards, you can guarantee two rares or a rare and a super rare from a $10 pack. For that cost, I’d still rather buy a feed and then buy singles, like I’ve been doing since the dawn of Uncanny X-Men (AvX was a little different and harder to collect).

So, I’m very happy there is a gravity available for Mighty Thor. I wish WizKids would have made a BAC pack for folks that only want the regular BACs from the set and don’t want or have access to the Draft Packs. They could have brought back the Collector’s Box and put foil BACs in it with the cool premium dice. I don’t care about characters, character dice, or boosters – I just want the Collector’s Boxes back with foil BACs and premium dice! That would be awesome to have a Collector’s Box for starters and team packs with foil versions of the cards too.

I like the Draft Pack idea for pre-release events or other special sealed type events, but not as a standard product. I’ve heard several of my locals voice this same opinion.

What do you think of the Draft Packs?
Are you finding it difficult to get a full set of the BACs?
Do you like that they’re all reprints or revamped versions of previous BACs?

Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty! Thanks for reading and please remember to like, follow, and subscribe!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I’m back! I hope that everyone had a wonderful holiday season and started the new year off in good spirits! Now, it’s back to work and back to my regularly scheduled Confusing Card of the Week articles. I want to start the year off with a monster that will hopefully keep the bad spirits away for the entire year!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Basilisk: Greater Monstrosity from the Dungeons and Dragons Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Basilisk, Greater Monstrosity

Ruling – Deadly Ability

WizKids Keywords page:
Deadly: Character dice that are engaged with a character die that has Deadly are KO’d at the end of the turn (even if the character with Deadly has been KO’d or leaves the Field Zone).

Supplemental Definition:
Engaged: A character blocking or being blocked is engaged with the opposing character.”

Any character die that blocks or is blocked by a character die with the Deadly keyword, will be KO’d at the end of the turn, during the Clean Up Step. This applies to all character dice that are engaged with a Deadly character die.

If the blocked/blocking character die with Deadly is KO’d or removed, the character dice that were engaged with it are still KO’d at the end of turn.

For Example:
I have a single level one Basilisk die in my Field Zone. If I attack with that die and it’s blocked by three character dice, all three of those dice will be KO’d at the end of turn. Even if my Basilisk die is KO’d, all three of those blocking character dice are still KO’d at the end of turn.

Ruling – Ability

Basilisk has an additional ability on its card that says:
“When Basilisk attacks, target opposing character die must block this turn (if able).”

This ability triggers for each individual Basilisk die that attacks, but only when they attack. When a Basilisk die attacks, it will target one opposing character die and that die must block the Basilisk die.

If an ability would prevent a character die from being able to block, then it does not block the Basilisk. This falls under the general game rule of “can’t beats can”, which means any ability that prevents something from happening will overrule an ability that tries to force it to happen.

The Basilisk’s ability does not prevent the opponent from choosing additional blockers. The opponent can choose other blockers to block the Basilisk aside from the forced blocker, but all the blockers will be KO’d at the end of turn because of the Deadly keyword on the Basilisk’s card.

This ability is not optional. If there are legal targets to choose from, the Basilisk must choose a target.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Basilisk is a Bolt type character card.
~ It has the Monster affiliation and Evil alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #58 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The Basilisk is a nasty dude. If you pull him in a draft or use him in a limited type event, he could be very problematic for your opponent. He can take out the biggest threat in your opponent’s field, thanks to the Deadly keyword. One downside to this guy is that your opponent will get the chance to reroll the guys you just KO’d on their next turn. When using the Basilisk to clear dice from the field, you want to be sure you’ll benefit from it without helping your opponent – if possible. Letting them reroll a Shriek or DWiz might not be a good idea, depending on what their targets were to begin with.

Basilisk is not expensive to buy, which makes him great for drafts. He’s also got decent defense overall, but that fielding cost is not the best for a character that’s likely going to need to be fielded a few different times in a game. I still think he’s a great draft pick, and possibly even decent for a limited format that uses only D&D sets. His fielding cost is what will likely keep him from seeing a lot of major meta play, but seeing him across from you is not out of the realm of possibility!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Kobold Trap: Greater Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Kobold Trap, Greater Trap

Ruling – Keywords and Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent fields an Adventurer character die.
Effect: Purchase one of your character dice with Swarm for free and place it into your bag.”

Keyword Definitions

Kobold Trap has the Trap keyword.  WizKids Keywords Page:
Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

The definition for Adventurer can be found on the Keywords page:
Adventurer: Any character with the Experience ability.

How To Use/Trigger This Trap

When you use a Trap die, you place it into the Field Zone. This is considered ‘using’ it for card abilities that reference using an action die. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability can remove an action die.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

When an opponent fields any Adventurer character die, you will trigger all of your Kobold Traps in the Field Zone. For each of your Kobold Traps that are triggered, you can purchase a character die for free, so long as it has the Swarm keyword.

The die you purchase must be from one of your cards, and the die is free, meaning you do not need to spend any energy.

After you purchase the character die, you must put that die into your bag.

Kobold Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Kobold Trap.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Kobold Trap is a Fist type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #74 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I think this card is great if you use it within the set, or even in a limited Dungeons and Dragons event. All three D&D sets are loaded with great Adventurer cards so it’s likely you would get some use from this card within the D&D IP. I’m not certain it’ll be used much outside of limited constructed or sealed/draft type events though. The major meta doesn’t have any highly used Adventurers except for Dwarf Wizard: Paragon Zhentarim and I’ve seen less of him with the emergence of Shriek: Sonic Beam. I wouldn’t write this card off yet, especially if we see the increase use of an Adventurer card.

We have a limited constructed event coming up this Saturday and the only legal cards for the event are ones from the D&D sets. I’ve been looking at this card for my team so I can use some of the more expensive Swarm characters, like my Stirge: Epic Beast.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

If you know me, then you know how much I love my TMNT Clix and that’s mostly all I play with. There are a few exceptions, like Doctor Strange and the DC Bombshells, but I play with what I like to play with. I have always loved the Tactics sets, but since they aren’t legal for regular events, like Modern Age stuff, I never get to play with them. I’m a huge Star Trek fan, Next Generation being my favorite, but I love the property as a whole. When I saw there was going to be an actual set, with actual dudes, I got super excited! WizKids was really nice to me and sent me the Starter and Dice & Token Pack for a preview article (here). I pre-ordered a brick of the boosters and anxiously awaited its release. Well, that happened yesterday!

I did a very clumsy (but fun!) unboxing video, which you can find on my YouTube channel, here.

Out of my brick, I pulled all of the commons and all but one uncommon. I also got six rares, three super rares, and one chase figure. I got several common and uncommon duplicates but I didn’t get duplicates of anything rare or better.

Scans

I scanned all the individually numbered cards, which you can see below. Just click on the image for a better view.

Favorites

I’m totally a Klingon at heart, so of course the Klingon pieces are going to be some of my favorites, even if they are afflicted with the Qu’Vat virus. I won’t talk about these pieces much since I’ll likely do articles on them later. Kor is probably my favorite piece out of my entire brick. I also really like the Klingon’s team ability, Klingon Empire.

Naked Time Sulu is pretty awesome, and totally playable as a regular team piece or from your Sideline. There are so many great Starfleet pieces and with the team ability, United Federation of Planets, they all get that additional +1 to their speed when they take a move action. One of my other favorite Starfleet pieces is Yeoman Rand. She is unique for good reason! Being able to give her a power action to remove an action token from an adjacent friendly Starfleet dude of 100 points or less is great! She’s only 25 points and has Willpower on her first click.

But aside from those two factions, we also have Romulans who have the team ability Romulan Star Empire. That gives them Stealth, which is very much like a Romulan, to hide and sneak around. I noticed that none of the pieces I pulled have an improved movement though. This makes it very inconvenient to hide them in hindering terrain… unless you’re using the Romulan Lieutenant! His star trait gives all friendly characters that are adjacent or have the Romulan keyword the ability to move unhindered through hindering terrain.

There are lots of generic aliens that look like loads of fun to play with. I love using Mind Control and the Orion Female has Mind Control as a star trait, plus a bonus! The target has to reduce its defense for each Seduction token on its card. They get those from the Orion Female’s other star trait which is a free action to put a Seduction token on a character within four squares and line of fine. I can’t wait to try out this piece! And everyone has likely seen the Tribbles before today. They’re just silly fun, but as a Klingon, I hope I never face them in battle!

Final Thoughts

As a Star Trek fan, this set is very thematic and should be lots of fun to play within itself. I’m not versed well enough in the current meta to know if anything is going to make a splash or not, but I’m not overly concerned with that aspect. I want to play HeroClix and I want to use pieces that are of familiar characters and that I love. Sure, superheroes are cool and I have plenty of those pieces that I like, but I absolutely love these type of sets – the ones that break away from the normal drone of ‘Superhero’ and ‘comic book’. Yes, I’m aware that Star Trek has comics too – I have quite a few Gold Key issues. But these pieces are straight from the TV show and I love that! I really hope we get sets for each of the shows.

While I understand that this set won’t be for everyone, I encourage players to try some of the pieces, even if it’s just in a sealed event. Or maybe sit down with your Trekkie friend(s) and introduce them to Clix. I have a friend that’s never bought a HeroClix product in his life – until yesterday. He bought an entire case, starter, and Dice & Token pack, just so he could learn the game and play Clix with the Star Trek dudes he loves. So, if you aren’t a fan of Star Trek, please, don’t discourage fans from checking it out. Use their love of the property to get them into this amazing world of HeroClix!

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to subscribe, like, and follow!

Live long and Prob it!