Posts Tagged ‘Villain’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Power Girl: Kara Zor El  from the DC Harley Quinn Team Pack.

W Power Girl, Kara Zor El

Ruling – Ability

“While Power Girl is active, if you control at least one Villain character, at the end of your Main Step, roll an unpurchased Basic Action Die. If it rolls an energy face, Power Girl cannot attack. If it rolls an action face, Power Girl gets +2A and +2D (until end of turn). Return the unpurchased Basic Action Die to its card.”

Power Girl’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

There is another condition to Power Girl’s ability, besides her die needing to be in the Field Zone, and it must be met in order to use her ability. You must also have at least one active Villain character die. The Villain can be from Marvel or DC because the Marvel Hydra Villain logo and the DC Stylized V Villain logo are interchangeable. Evil characters from the D&D sets are not Villains unless otherwise stated.

Once the two conditions are met, you must activate Power Girl’s ability. You must activate it at the end of you Main Step, before your Attack Step. (See the Turn Summary picture below.)

At the end of your Main Step, if you have Power Girl and an active Villain die in the Field Zone, you choose any Basic Action die that’s still on the card and roll it. If it rolls an energy face, that Power Girl die can’t attack. If you rolled and action face (the face with the Pow!), then that Power Girl die will get +2A and +2D until the end of the turn. The Basic Action die is then returned to the card.

This ability is not optional unless you don’t meet the requirements to activate the ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Power Girl is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Team Superman affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #18 of 24.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I’m not a huge fan of Power Girl as a character and I’m definitely not a fan of the ability on this card. If I’m going to use a character that costs five energy to purchase, it’s going to have an ability that I can benefit from. The best you get out of her ability is a +2/+2 and there are much better ways to get that to happen. There’s a 50/50 chance that your Power Girl is going to get benched that turn too and I don’t like that at all. But, I had some folks ask me about this card so I thought I’d feature her this week. But take my word for it – there are better cards for Team Superman!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Triceraton: Loyal to a Fault  from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell set.

W 48 Triceraton, Loyal to a Fault

Ruling – Overcrush Keyword Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:
Overcrush: When attacking, if this character KOs all of its blockers (or they are removed for other reasons), it deals any remaining damage to your opponent.”

An attacking character die must have been blocked by another character die for it to deal its combat damage as ‘Overcrush damage’. If the attacker was not blocked, the damage is not ‘Overcrush damage’. Overcrush damage isn’t a different type of damage, just a different means of how combat damage is being dealt.

If the character dice blocking the attacker are KO’d by the attacker’s combat damage, the remaining damage is dealt to the opponent. For example: If I attack with a level three Triceraton and my opponent blocks with two 1A/1D Sidekick dice, my Triceraton can deal one damage to each Sidekick die to KO them and then deal the remaining three damage to my opponent.

If the blocker(s) are KO’d or removed before the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step, the attacker will deal it’s full attack value in combat damage to the defending player. For example: I attack with my level three Triceraton and my opponent blocks with a 1A/1D Sidekick die. I use the Global on Unstable Canister to deal one damage to the blocking Sidekick die. Because my Triceraton was blocked and it’s blocker is no longer blocking the Triceraton, it deals its full attack value of five to my opponent.

All character dice that are blocking an attacking die with Overcrush must be KO’d or removed in order for the attacker to deal any Overcrush damage to the defending player.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Triceraton is a Fist type character card.
~ It has the Villain affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #48 of 58.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card, but you can find some Overcrush rulings here, here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I really wanted to cover Overcrush again, because I’ve recently heard players saying that the blockers have to be KO’d before you can do Overcrush damage. That’s only partly correct. As long as the blocker(s) is KO’d or removed as a blocker, the attacker gets its Overcrush. Removed blockers usually enable an attacking die with Overcrush to deal their full attack value to the defending player, which is a major benefit of removing those blockers as opposed to letting them get KO’d by the attacker. It really bothers me when folks leave out that part about removing blockers, because it’s part of the ability description.

Overcrush is a nasty and effective ability. I love Overcrush and I build around it when I’m able to do so. I usually try to use characters that have additional abilities or abilities that compliment their Overcrush. Using a character that only has Overcrush, like this Triceraton, is not something I would recommend. I only chose this card for this week so I could focus on Overcrush.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Absorbing Man: Harold’s Ice Cream from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Absorbing Man, Harold's Ice Cream

Ruling – Ability

“While Absorbing Man is active, when a “when KO’d” effect is used, you may use a copy of that effect.”

Absorbing Man’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Absorbing Man is active, if a “When KO’d” effect is used, he may use a copy of that effect. This ability is optional and not mandatory, and you only get one copy of a ‘When KO’d’ ability, regardless of how many Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone. If a second copy of a character die is KO’d that turn, you can copy that ability again, but only once regardless of the number of Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone.

If you copy a “When KO’d” ability from another character, Absorbing Man does not have to be KO’d for you to copy that effect.

You can copy the “When KO’d” effect from one of your characters or one of your opponent’s characters, but the ability must be used for you to be able to copy it. If the ‘When KO’d’ ability is optional and they do not use it, you can’t copy it.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Absorbing Man is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Absorbing Man has a pretty cool ability that you can easily build around. In Golden Age, this guy is loads of fun for casual events. I think he may be a little more difficult to build around in Modern Age. In Golden Age, there are lots of different ‘When KO’d’ abilities that would be great to copy, especially when you have Blue-Eyes White Dragon’s Global to KO your own character dice. But, you aren’t limited to your own dice abilities. You can copy opposing ‘When KO’d’ abilities which adds to his usefulness in Golden Age.

I like that Absorbing Man is not expensive to purchase, so you can keep several in the Field. His stats are not terrible, but he’s manageable if you’re trying to get around him.

I saw the question pop up on WORF about this card and the rare version of Absorbing Man and I thought this would be a good one to cover this week. Newer and inexperienced players don’t realize that you can use his ability to copy an opposing character’s ‘When KO’d‘ ability. As regular players, and a more experienced players, we sometimes forget that these abilities aren’t as obvious to other players of different skill levels. I like when WORF answers questions like this because it helps me choose CCW cards that would be more appealing to the newer players – which are my target audience.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Madame Masque: Nefaria’s Schemes  from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Madame Masque, Nefaria's Schemes

Ruling – Ability

While Madame Masque is active, your opponent’s “When fielded” abilities do not trigger.”

Madame Masque’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

 

You must have at least one Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone to gain the benefits of her ability. Having more than one will not affect how her ability functions.

While you have a Madame Masque die in the Field Zone, your opponent can’t use any abilities that say ‘When Fielded’. This does not apply to keywords that function like a When Fielded ability. For example: Intimidate acts like a When Fielded ability, but Madame Masque won’t stop it because the character’s ability does not say When Fielded. Reminder text in parentheses is not considered to be the character’s actual ability, only a reminder of how the ability works.

If your opponent has a Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone, and you try to borrow one of their characters (via an ability like the one on Collector: Tanaleer Tivan) with a When Fielded ability, you will not get to use that ability. When you borrow the die, it’s temporarily yours for game effects.

Madame Masque’s ability is not optional. You can’t pick and chose which ability is ignored and which isn’t.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Madame Mask is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Villain affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #59 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Madame Masque, here.

You can find a ruling about ‘When Fielded’ abilities being ignored, here.

You can find a ruling about Keyword abilities vs ‘When Fielded’ abilities here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I totally understand the confusion with this card, especially for newer players. I’ve gotten a few questions about her ability vs Keywords as well as the Collector question. Before they ruled on her officially, I was using the Global ruling as a basis for my ruling – which they used as well. When you use a Global on an opponent’s card, it’s not your opponent’s Global when you use it – you are the one using it. Same applies to borrowing character dice.

I’ve heard lots of argument on both sides for using Madame Masque over Wonder Woman: Reflections. There are lots of pros and cons and each player should weigh them individually for their own team and play style. Wonder Woman costs one more to purchase, but she also shuts down When Attacks abilities, like the nasty Bard and Guy Gardner. Wonder Woman has better stats, but does cost one more to field on level three. They’re both Mask characters. Madame Masque is a Villain and there are plenty of anti Villain cards. Wonder Woman has the Justice League affiliation, which really doesn’t matter in Modern Age, but you could loosely build around it in Golden Age.

Personally, I prefer Wonder Woman over Madame Masque, but each player should look at both of them and decide for themselves which they prefer. Madame Masque has her uses. She could be invaluable for a Villain only event!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Wrecker: Enchanted Crowbar  from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Wrecker, Enchanted Crowbar

Ruling – Ability

“While Wrecker is active, players can only use the Global Abilities of active characters.”

Wrecker’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While there is at least one Wrecker die in the Field Zone, players can’t use any Global unless it’s on a character that’s active in the Field Zone.

This ability applies to all players, and is not an optional ability. If a Wrecker die is active, his ability is in effect and applies to all players.

Players can not use the Global abilities on Actions. Wrecker specifically states that players can only use the Globals on active ‘characters’. Continuous action dice are not characters.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Wrecker is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #128 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Wrecker, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I understand why folks may have been confused about Wrecker’s ability, given WizKids track record. For example – The Bifrost. I had been putting off featuring Wrecker because I thought they might errata him, and it wasn’t until Mr. DDK brought him up again that I decided to go ahead and feature him – potential errata or no. Luckily for me, WizKids answered a question about him earlier in the week that matches my initial ruling for Wrecker. Now I’m kicking myself for not posting the article sooner.

Wrecker has a really great ability that someone can easily build around. There are lots of popular Globals on actions that would be rendered useless when he hits the Field. Rip Hunter’s Chalkboard, True Believer, Unstable Canister, Villainous Pact, and Resurrection to name a few. Even with rotation that was just announced, most of those are still Modern Age legal, with the exception of True Believer. There is a similar Global on Odin’s Fury. And now, if someone brought Heimdall or Ra’s al Ghul only for their Globals, they’re gonna have to buy those dice and get the characters active in order to use them.

In Golden Age formats, this guy is a beast. He stops BEWD, Red Dragon, PXG, and all those utility type Globals on characters unless the player buys those dice. Wrecker is gonna wreck someone’s day if they aren’t prepared to deal with him. He can be easily dealt with, with a Shriek or DWiz. But, if someone is wasting a control resource on him, they aren’t using it on something more important – like a win condition.

Wrecker’s purchase cost is only four energy, he has a fielding cost of one on all levels, and his lowest defense is three. That’s actually really good for he does and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him pop up in a competitive event somewhere. He may not fit every team, but there are teams that he can work well on. And don’t be surprised to see him in casual events either. He’s a great card that’s not getting the love he deserves.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I have a ‘mighty’ cool treat for you today, courtesy of WizKids! In celebration of the release of The Mighty Thor set, they’ve sent me a few ‘worthy’ card scans to share! And before you start wondering when you can get your hands on this set, it’s available right now! You can find foil booster packs and draft packs at your friendly local game store.

Preview #1 – Beta Ray Bill: A Worthy Opponent

First up, we’ve got a Guardians of the Galaxy affiliated character, Beta Ray Bill: A Worthy Opponent.

MDM9 Cards Reg95

This is a whopper of a character! He’s got some huge defense stats and his attack is sure to pack a punch! As an added bonus to his glorious stats, when Beta Ray Bill attacks, he can KO a Bolt character die that’s the same level or lower as his die. If you have multiple Beta Ray Bill dice to attack with, each one gets to KO a Bolt character that’s equal or lower level than their level. I know his purchase cost is high, but there are plenty of ways to lower that purchase cost a little. One way is to use Big Entrance: Basic Action Card. Using that action die will reduce his cost by one and also put him in your bag when you buy him. You could get lucky and find a Big Entrance card in one of The Mighty Thor draft packs!

Preview #2 – Enchantress: Fatal Attraction

Next up, we have an addition to the Mystics affiliation, Enchantress: Fatal Attraction.

MDM9 Cards Reg102

If simple brute force isn’t what you want, Enchantress is a card you might want to look at. She’s got a high purchase cost, but just like Beta Ray Bill, you can reduce it with cards like Big Entrance. Her ability is a really good one if she’s on your side! She’s got the ability to tax your opponents when they try to use a Global Ability or an action die. Her ability doesn’t say basic action die, which means she forces them to pay that one extra energy for ANY action die they try to use! She also taxes the Global Abilities they try to use too, which could give you an advantage if your opponent is relying heavily on Globals or action dice. If your opponent isn’t using a lot of Globals or action dice, Enchantress can still deal a decent amount of damage to them with her high attack stats. She’s got the wit and the muscle!

Preview #3 – Hela: Even in Death…

Next up is a very menacing looking Villain, Hela: Even in Death….

MDM9 Cards Reg105

Hela is a super tough character with her huge stats, so it makes perfect sense for her to have a While Active ability. She’s a really useful character if your opponent is using Immortal characters.

Immortal: Except when purchased, when this die would go to the Used Pile, instead add it your bag.”

When an opposing character with the Immortal keyword is KO’d, you get to Prep a die from your bag. It’s usually beneficial to roll more than four dice at the start of your turn, because this gives you more opportunities to purchase crucial elements of your win condition or it can provide the energy you need for a super important Global Ability, like Hela’s. Hela’s Global is a double edged sword though. You need a loophole to prevent your dice from being chosen by your opponent. One way is be sure all of the dice you don’t want back on their cards are in your bag or Reserve Pool before using her Global. Another is with the Global on True Believer: Basic Action Card from the Amazing Spider-Man Starter. This will only help one of your character dice in the Field Zone, but that may be all you need!

W True Believer, BAC

Preview #4 – Pepper Potts: Behind Every Great Man

With this next card, we see the return of the Stark Industries affiliation. I’m super excited about this because it’s the first set we’re seeing it in, outside of the Iron Man and War Machine Starter! Thank you, Pepper Potts: Behind Every Great Man, you are my hero today!

MDM9 Cards Reg118

Rescue: Resilient and Rescue: Catching a Jet needed a new Pepper Potts and I’m so glad we’re getting her! This Pepper Potts is particularly handy while you have Iron Man active. Her stats get a nice boost as long as Iron Man is also in the Field Zone. She’ll become a 4A/4D on level one, 4A/6D on level two, and 5A/5D on level three – all with a zero fielding cost! You just need to be sure to bring an Iron Man – in case your opponent didn’t bring Iron Man to the battle. I like Iron Man: Secretary of Defense because his Enlistment ability puts your opponent in a tough spot!

W Iron Man, Secretary of Defense

Conclusion

While I’m not a fan of the more expensive characters, I totally have my eye on that Enchantress and Hela for her Global! I’m a control player and they’re both my type of cards. My favorite of all four of these cards is most definitely Pepper Potts! I can’t wait to get my hands on one and build a team with her, Iron Man, and Rescue. Now, we need a new Iron Man! I’m super excited to see what I get from my draft pack display that I’ll be picking up from FLGS later today. I’ll be posting an article with my pulls and an unboxing video soon! Keep an eye on my YouTube channel for it.

Huge thanks go to WizKids for allowing me to bring you these previews and I hope that you’re just as excited as I am for what The Mighty Thor set will bring to the game!

Thanks so much for reading and remember folks, if you like the content I provide, be sure to click that like button! Every follower and subscription matters!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Scarlet Witch, Careful What You Wish For

Ruling – Ability

“While Scarlet Witch is active, during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, your opponent must reroll any Action dice that land on an Action face and cannot reroll any Action dice on energy faces.”

Scarlet Witch’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Scarlet Witch is active, only during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, if they roll any action dice and those dice land on an action face, they must choose to reroll them. They are not able to choose to reroll any action dice that show an energy face.

Scarlet Witch’s ability applies to all action dice: basic action dice, non-basic action dice, equipment, etc. Anything that is considered to be an action die will be affected by her effect.

If you have Scarlet Witch active, any action dice that show an action face after your opponent rolls their dice during the Roll and Reroll Step, must be chosen by the opponent to be rerolled. They can choose any other dice, except action dice showing an energy face, to reroll with the chosen action dice.

If the rerolled action dice land on an action face after they are rerolled, your opponent does not have to reroll them again. Scarlet Witch’s ability only forces them to choose to reroll them once during the Roll and Reroll Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Scarlet Witch is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants and Villain affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a ruling for Scarlet Witch, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

This Scarlet Witch could be powerful in almost any format where action dice are highly utilized. She’s a great soft counter for action dice teams or even a team that only uses one really powerful action die, like Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination. With Scarlet Witch active, your opponent would essentially need to roll their action dice on an action face twice to keep them. Any action dice that are rolled on an energy face are stuck that way. Cards like Parallax will come in handy against Scarlet Witch, so if you’re using Scarlet Witch, don’t bring Parallax too!

I’m highly considering a spot for her on my Modern Age constructed team, mainly because there are so many good action dice out there that could be a problem. I plan to do some test playing with her very soon. It’s so difficult to test play right now because there are still so many sets scheduled for release and there could be something new or something better that would just take her place or make her obsolete.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

Banner

WizKids is cranking out the sets lately! We have another new set, just in time for the Fall WKO season. This set features mutants from all over the X-Men universe – heroes and villains alike! Build your own team of X-Men, Exiles, or Brotherhood of Evil Mutant characters and face off against other Dice Masters!

WizKids has not put the checklist online yet. When they do, you can find it on this page, here. I will update this article when they make the link available.

Box

Promo Card and Pack Insert

W Wolverine, James Howlett

Just like with the Guardians of the Galaxy set, we get an alternate art card as the incentive promo. This is different from the blank sketch variants that we used to get. I really miss the blank sketch variants though and I hope that they bring those back at some point in the future. The art on this Wolverine is pretty amazing though and I’m very thankful to WizKids for giving out free promo cards!

Rules Insert_0001

WizKids has not put the rules insert online yet. When they do, you can find it on this page, here. I will update this article when they make the link available. Make sure to check the WizKids Keywords page to see the current and updated wording on Keyword Abilities.

Gravity Feed
Commons

We pulled 112 common cards; 10 of our commons were foil. We didn’t get any duplicate foil commons. I highlighted the ones we pulled foils of with red text, and the total includes the foil version.

x2     #01     Angel
x3     #02     Avalanche
x3     #03     Banshee
x2     #04     Beast
x3     #05     Bishop
x3     #06     Blink
x3     #07     Blob
x2     #08     Boom Boom
x3     #09     Colossus
x2     #10     Cyclops
x5     #11     Danger Room
x2     #12     Doop
x2     #13     Emma Frost
x2     #14     Havok
x2     #15     Iceman
x2     #16     Jean Grey
x3     #17     Jubilee
x3     #18     Juggernaut
x2     #19     Kitty Pryde
x3     #20     Magneto
x3     #21     Mimic
x3     #22     Morph
x3     #23     Nocturne
x3     #24     Onslaught
x4     #25     Polaris
x3     #26     Professor X
x4     #27     Pyro
x3     #28     Quicksilver
x2     #29     Sabretooth
x3     #30     Sasquatch
x4     #31     Scarlet Witch
x3     #32     Sebastian Shaw
x2     #33     Sentinel
x2     #34     Storm
x2     #35     Sunfire
x4     #36     The Blackbird
x3     #37     The Hellfire Club
x3     #38     Thunderbird
x3     #39     Wolverine
x3     #40     Xavier’s School

Uncommons

We pulled 50 uncommon cards; 9 of our uncommons were foil. We pulled all but one of the uncommons and none of our foils were duplicates.

x1     #41     Angel
x1     #42     Avalanche
x1     #43     Banshee
x2     #44     Beast
x1     #45     Bishop
x2     #46     Blink
x2     #47     Blob
x2     #48     Boom Boom
x1     #49     Colossus
x1     #50     Cyclops
x2     #51     Danger Room
x1     #52     Doop
x1     #53     Emma Frost
x1     #54     Havok
x1     #55     Iceman
x1     #56     Jean Grey
x2     #57     Jubilee
x2     #58     Juggernaut
x1     #59     Kitty Pryde
x0     #60     Magneto
x1     #61     Mimic
x1     #62     Morph
x0     #63     Nocturne
x1     #64     Onslaught
x2     #65     Polaris
x1     #66     Professor X
x2     #67     Pyro
x2     #68     Quicksilver
x0     #69     Sabretooth
x2     #70     Sasquatch
x1     #71     Scarlet Witch
x2     #72     Sebastian Shaw
x1     #73     Sentinel
x2     #74     Storm
x1     #75     Sunfire
x1     #76     The Blackbird
x1     #77     The Hellfire Club
x1     #78     Thunderbird
x1     #79     Wolverine
x1     #80     Xavier’s School

Rares and Super Rares

You won’t get all the rares in one feed, but you get a good amount of them. We pulled 16 rares and none of them were duplicates; 4 of our rares were foil. We also pulled two Super Rares, which are foil.

#84     Beast
#86     Blink
#87     Blob
#89     Cyclops
#90     Danger Room
#92     Havok
#93     Iceman
#94     Jean Grey
#97     Magneto
#99     Nocturne
#101     Polaris
#103     Pyro
#106     Sasquatch
#107     Scarlet Witch
#109     Sentinel
#110     Storm

#117     Boom Boom (Super Rare)
#121     Blink In-Betweener (Super Rare)

New Ability Keywords

Awaken – When a die with Awaken spins up 1 or more levels, you may use its Awaken effect. You get to use the effect for each individual die that spins up, so if you have two copies of the same die active and they both spin up, you will get two instances of the effect.

Awaken seems like a really cool ability and lots of cards have interesting benefits when they use their Awaken ability. My favorite of all of them is on the uncommon Jubilee: A Real Firecracker, which I featured in this week’s Confusing Card of the Week article, here. Just like with the Guardians of the Galaxy set’s new keywords, WizKids has put more effort into making sure the description is detailed.

Even with the better keyword descriptions, there are still questions that come up. There has been lots of discussion over whether or not a character die needs to be active in order to use its Awaken effect. Based off their answer to this ruling, I’m of the mind that Awaken will only work if the die is in the Field Zone. Also, if you look a little closer at the wording in the description from the WizKids Keywords page, it says, ‘if you have two copies of the same die active and they both spin up…’ which also leads me to believe that a character die must be active in the Field Zone to use Awaken.

Returning Keywords

Remember to always check WizKids Keywords page for the most recent and updated definitions. There may be other keywords in this set. Not all of the cards have been revealed yet so some of the card text is unknown.

Impulse
Infiltrate
Overcrush
Regenerate

Affiliations

There are returning affiliations and some new affiliations too. Not all of the cards have been revealed yet, so there could be other returning affiliations.

New!

Brotherhood of Evil Mutants
Brotherhood of Evil Mutants

Exiles
Exiles

Returning

X-Men
X-Men

DC Villain Affiliation
Villain

Favorites

Here are several of my favorite cards from my Gravity Feed. Be sure to check out my Gravity Feed Unboxing  and Preview videos to see all of our pulls! You can also find my preview article, here.

Blob

Blob: “Crash” Diet (left) – This guy is going to be a beast in drafts! He’s going to clear out all those troublesome Sidekick walls and clear the way for your attackers. He’s got a ridiculously good purchase cost of three and a TFC of three. His defense stats are really good too so you don’t have to worry about someone pinging him for a few points and KO’ing him. It’s gonna take a little bit more to get rid of him.

Blob: Nothing Moves the Blob! (center) – All the Blobs are just silly good with their inexpensive purchase costs. This one costs four, but rightfully so. He captures any target opposing character die for as long as he’s in the field. Each Blob you field is gonna snatch up another dude and they’re not getting free until he’s gone. That’s just absolutely amazing.

Blob: Appetite for Destruction (right) – I like the other two Blob cards a lot, but this one takes the cake! Well, probably the whole bakery – he is the Blob after all. This card stops the purchase and fielding of any opposing card! That could be an action, basic action, or character card, and that’s ridiculous! Sure, he can fall victim to DWiz and Shriek – but he’s still so good! And he’s another Blob that works as long as he’s active and with a defense like his, your opponent better hope they have an answer or one of their cards is getting locked out!

Boom Boom

Boom Boom: Time Bomb (left) – Her name says it all. She’s another direct damage character that only needs to be active when you use a Basic Action Die to deal damage to your opponent or a character die. Storm: Extra Lighting might have just got replaced on teams that use Unstable Canister. Boom Boom has a TFC of four which is painful to think about, but once she’s out there, she’s working for you. She has a low defense and can easily be pinged out of the field, but that makes your opponent waste their resources to get rid of her instead of buying s die they need.

Boom Boom: Mutate 35 (center) – This Boom Boom is another one that needs to be active, but she deals damage to your opponent the first time you use a Global each turn – that’s one on your turn and one on your opponent’s turn. She’s also inexpensive to purchase and can be a serious headache for anyone playing against her.

Boom Boom: Meltdown (right) – Here’s a Boom Boom I can get behind. She deals one damage to your opponent for each of your active characters when you field her. Sure, you need several different dudes, but there are plenty of cheap ones that are easy to buy and field, and she’s also a cheaper character. That makes purchasing multiples of her easy and even with that scary fielding cost, you’re gonna get your ‘bang’ for your buck.

Danger Room

Danger Room: Training is Key (left) – This is a great way to potentially clear your opponent’s field of a Sidekick wall, making this card a great draft pick if you don’t see that common Blob. It could also potentially get rid of characters that are in your way or ones that have kidnapped some of your dice. Danger Room does cost four to buy, so it’s not cheap, but it’s totally possible in drafts.

Danger Room: Housing Hidden Perils (center) – This Danger Room is gross with Unstable Canister or any card that does at least one damage to all opposing character dice, like the common Jubilee: Life on the Streets. I didn’t feature her, but her Awaken ability deals one damage to all opposing character dice. Talk about a combo field wiper! If you’re lucky enough to get these two cars together, you’ll never have a problem getting damage across to your opponent!

Danger Room: Flame-Throwers and Rotating Knives (right) – Oh my Pinkie Pie. Hello Norman Osborn: Don’t Call Me “Gobby”! combo card! This is just silly. It makes every character die in the field a Villain and ‘Nobby’ (as he’s called) deals one damage to your opponent for each Villain character die in the field – yours and your opponent’s. Sure, the Global is cool, especially if you have a Villain that does something when they take damage, but this Danger Room is likely going to be Nobby’s new home.

Scarlet Witch and Emma Frost

Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For (left) – This Scarlet Witch could end up seeing some meta play if action dice keep going the way they are. Not only does she stop your opponent from rerolling the actions that land on an energy face, but she forces them to reroll any actions that land on an action face. There definitely needs to be a clarification on this card though. It’s not clear if they continue to reroll the action dice until the die lands on energy or if the opponent is simply forced to choose those action dice as dice to reroll. I would rule in favor of the latter because she says that they must reroll the action dice during the Roll and Reroll Step, which leads me to believe that she works similar to Black Cat: Possessive. Check with your TO’s on this one!

Scarlet Witch: Reshaping Reality (center) – I really like this Scarlet Witch because she helps you set up your characters with Awaken before you field them. If you roll a Jubilee on level three, you can spin her down a level and then place her in your Reserve Pool. This ability also helps if you really need a character on a particular face for a burst ability. I think this Scarlet Witch is a handy utility card for specific teams, but I doubt she’ll be a big meta card. She doesn’t trigger Awaken abilities since the dice are not in field when they’re being spun.

Emma Frost: All That Glitters (right) – I really like this Emma Frost, even though she only prevents the first point of damage each turn. That’s a whole point of damage that could be enhanced by a Cosmic Cube. And while there isn’t a ruling on this officially, I believe the Cosmic Cube only enhances the damage if it’s actually dealt. If it’s prevented, there isn’t any damage to increase, so this Emma Frost could potentially save you three points of damage that’s coming from King Black Bolt’s ability. I like her more for drafts and casual play though, where I think she’s be more useful.

Mimic Banshee The Blackbird

Mimic: Borrowed Talent (left) – I love this Mimic! I can copy a Sidekick die with his ability because his ability doesn’t specify non-Sidekick character die. If he’s copying a Sidekick, then every time either player fields a Sidekick the turn he’s fielded, I get to prep two dice from my bag! This is likely going to be my go-to card for ramp in a draft, or possibly casual play too. I’d like to see if Mimic has what it takes to find a foothold in competitive play.

UPDATE! Rulings just came out for this card. I did a strike through on the text that is not accurate. Here are the rulings, Morph and Mimic. Morph’s ruling mentions this Mimic.

Banshee: Fallen Hero (center) – This Banshee makes me smile. He’s daring you to use that Cosmic Cube. You won’t take one damage when you do – you’ll take three! It may not be a huge amount of damage, but if they’re using multiple Cubes in a turn, they may want to rethink that. He does that damage even if they put a Cold Gun or any other Continuous die into the field. He can be popped out of the field fairly easily, but it still makes the opponent choose between using resources to get rid of him, or using those resources for something else.

The Blackbird: Under the Radar (right) – The Blackbird is a card that’s likely going to be used primarily for its Global. Rightfully so! I can’t say if it’ll be meta or not, but I wouldn’t rule it out. If your opponent wants to stop you from using this Global on one of their Globals, then they have to waste an energy every turn to shut down Blackbird’s Global. That’s energy that likely needs to go somewhere else. If they don’t do it, they’re losing a Global that they obviously have for a reason. Or you can use it on one of your own Globals that you don’t want them to have access to on their turn. For the Golden Age meta, this card has the potential to be really good.

Hellfire Club Polaris Blink

The Hellfire Club: Members Only (left) – This is where Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night likes to hang out. I’m itching to try that build and fully plan to do so on Saturday. You use Hellfire Club to KO everything except your big nasty, then field any characters you may be holding in your Reserve Pool, and then go in for a big hit! It cost four to buy, but it’s totally worth it! You can even add this on a team with Infiltrate characters if you don’t have the super rare Angela from the Guardians of the Galaxy set so you can get that Infiltrate damage in and still have blockers.

Polaris: Mistress of Magnetism (center) – Polaris is the ultimate card to pair with any Awaken card. Throw in a cheap shield type character or the rare Cyborg: Technis Imperative and keep a shield energy handy. I’m totally building a team with Polaris and uncommon Jubilee, so I can easily get Jubilee back into my field at level one. She definitely has other uses, but she goes so well with this set’s featured keyword.

Blink In-Betweener: Agent of Order and Chaos (right) – I like to feature any super rare cards I pull, whether they’re good or not. Like many of the Max 1 cards (What If?, White Lanterns, and Black Lanterns), Blink is overpriced for what she does. Not only is she a Crossover character but she also has the stipulation on her purchase which makes her that much harder to purchase. And I absolutely dislike When Fielded abilities on Max 1 characters. If you can get her ability to work for you, it would be cool. As a collector, I adore this card for the aesthetics and I’m happy to have her in my collection.

Final Thoughts

Fave Dice

There are lots of pretty dice in this set. It was hard to narrow it down, but I did… to six. I really love the rainbow sparkle swirl that Scarlet Witch’s die has. It’s really hard to see, even up close in person, but I tried to catch it in a picture. Kitty Pryde and Blink have gorgeous translucent colors, which I tried very hard to capture as well. Sentinel and The Blackbird both have a shimmer swirl type die and the colors are very pretty. Jubilee’s die is so cute! I love the pink-red firework icon on the yellow background of the die. One of my favorite things to do with a new set and sit and study all the new dice. I’ve never enjoyed it as much as I have with the dice in this set.

Not only are the dice pretty, but the selection for the card art is excellent as well. There is a nice variety of art styles and all of the characters are represented well. The only art selection that I don’t like is Scarlet Witch. And it’s not because the art is bad, it’s because it’s too similar to the Scarlet Witch from the Deadpool set.

The set overall seems to have some interesting card abilities and maybe even some cards that could see major competitive play. With every new set, I usually have several cards that I don’t like at all. It’s not like that with this new X-Men set. I even like the Sentinel cards, though they won’t see any major competitive play. This set looks like a great set to draft with because there are so many cards that work together or work off of each other. There are also lots of inexpensive characters with decent abilities and I can’t wait to get these cards onto constructed teams too!

What are some of your favorite cards in the set?
How do you think the meta will shift, if at all?
What cards are you excited to try in a casual setting?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at
Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Agent Venom: Losing Control from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Agent Venom, Losing Control

Ruling – Call Out Ability

“When a character die with Call Out attacks, you target an opposing character die. The targeted die can only legally block the attacking die that used Call Out on it, and no other die can legally blocked the die that used Call Out. If the die that used Call Out cannot legally be blocked for any reason (an effect made it unblockable, two different dice chose the same target for their Call Out, the die targeted with Call Out was KO’d, etc.) then the effect of Call Out is cancelled.”

The Call Out ability will trigger automatically when the die with Call Out attacks. This ability is not optional because it does not say you ‘may’ target an opposing character die. Each die with Call Out will trigger the Call Out ability when it attacks, even if the dice are the same character. For example, I attack with an Agent Venom die and that die’s Call Out ability triggers. I attack with a second Agent Venom die and Call Out triggers again. Each die should target a different opposing die, or the effects will be cancelled.

Call Out is an ability that targets. If a character is not eligible to be targeted, you cannot target it for Call Out. For example, Raven: Azarath, Metrion, Zinthos! says “While Raven is active, your Mask Type and Teen Titan affiliated characters cannot be targeted by your opponents.” If my opponent has a Mask type character, a Sidekick, and Raven active, I cannot use the Call Out ability on any of their characters, except for the Sidekick die.

When you use Call Out on an opposing character die, the die you targeted is the only die that can block the character that used Call Out on it. None of the remaining opposing character dice can block the die that used Call Out. The die that is targeted for a Call Out ability can’t block any other attackers on that turn. For example, if I use Agent Venom’s Call Out on a Sidekick die, that is the only die that can block Agent Venom. Even if my opponent has four other character dice in the Field Zone, only that one Sidekick die that Agent Venom targeted can block him. And that same Sidekick die can’t block any of my other attacking dice.

A character die that’s been targeted by Call Out is not required to block, but if it does block, it can only block the die that targeted it with Call Out.

If the die that used Call Out is unblockable, the Call Out ability is cancelled and the die that was targeted for the Call Out ability can then choose to block a different attacking character die.

If the die that was targeted by Call Out is KO’d or removed before blockers are assigned, the effect is cancelled and the die that used Call Out can be blocked by other character dice that turn. For example, if I use Agent Venom’s Call Out to target a Sidekick die, but another character’s When Attacks ability deals damage to the Sidekick and KO’s it, my Agent Venom’s Call Out is cancelled and he can be blocked by other character dice as normal this turn.

If two dice use Call Out on the same opposing die, the effect of Call Out is cancelled and the opposing dice can choose to block as normal.

Ruling – Ability

Agent Venom has an additional effect on his card that says he can’t be KO’d the turn he uses Call Out, but only if he targets a Villain with his Call Out ability.

The Villain affiliation has two different affiliation icons. One is a red Hydra logo, commonly found in Marvel sets. The other is a stylized V, commonly found in DC sets and the TMNT sets. There have been Marvel sets that featured the V on their Villain cards.

Marvel Villain Affiliation     DC Villain Affiliation

Both of these symbols have the exact same meaning and are interchangeable. If a card has the Hydra icon in the text box, like Agent Venom, it applies to characters with the V icon as well.

If Agent Venom uses Call Out to target a Villain die, that die that used Call Out can’t be KO’d by combat damage, ability damage, or any other effect that says “KO”. The targeted die must have the Villain affiliation at the time it’s targeted. If the die gains the Villain affiliation later in the same turn, Agent Venom can still be KO’d because the targeted die was not a Villain at the time it was targeted. For example, when Agent Venom attacks, he targets a Sidekick die with Call Out. Blockers are assigned and then during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step, I use a Global to give that same Sidekick the Villain affiliation. Agent Venom can still be KO’d this turn, because the Sidekick was not a Villain at the time Agent Venom targeted it with Call Out.

If Agent Venom’s Call Out effect is cancelled, he still gets the benefit of his second ability, as long as the die he targeted was a Villain. His ability only requires that he target a Villain with Call Out and not that the Call Out effect remains on the targeted die. For example, I attack with two Agent Venom dice. The first Agent Venom targets an opposing Villain die. The second Agent Venom die targets the same opposing Villain die. Both Call Out abilities are cancelled and both Agent Venom dice can be blocked by any opposing character die, but neither Agent Venom die can be KO’d this turn because they each targeted a Villain with their Call Out ability.

If the Villain that was targeted by Agent Venom’s Call Out blocks, Agent Venom will deal his attack value in combat damage to the blocker. He will also take damage from the Villain, but regardless of how much damage he has accumulated, he won’t be KO’d.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Agent Venom is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Guardians of the Galaxy affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #2 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I had a chance to use this card in our draft, but because there were so few Villains being played, I never used his second ability. I think he could possibly have a spot on a few teams out there in the casual scene. I’m not sure just how good he’ll be in competitive metas though. His stats are good and his purchase cost is okay, but I’m not sure Villains are that much of a nuisance yet to bring something like this. They reused the Civil War Venom die, which I find very amusing. Agent Venom seems to get the Venom hand-me-downs as far as dice icons go.

I really like this card for a casual Guardians team. My old GotG team had trouble against Villains, but with an ability like this, it helps to clear out some of those more troublesome Villains without risking the loss of one of your pieces. If there were more Villains in the GotG set, this guy would be a bomb in drafts!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Casey Jones: Lunatic Vigilante from the first Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles box set.

W 12 Casey Jones, Lunatic Vigilante

Ruling – Ability

Casey Jones has an ability that says he cannot be blocked by Sidekicks or Villain character dice. This ability works only when Casey Jones is attacking and it applies to each of his attacking character dice.

A die can be given the Villain affiliation through a card effect, and that would make that die unable to block. This will only work if the die is given the Villain affiliation during the Main Step, before Casey Jones attacks. If a character die is given the Villain affiliation after they are assigned as a blocker, it will have no effect on that die being able to block.

Character dice with the Ally Keyword cannot block Casey Jones because they are considered to be Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Villain Affiliation

The Villain affiliation has two different affiliation icons. One is a red Hydra logo, commonly found in Marvel sets. The other is a stylized V, commonly found in DC sets and the TMNT sets. There have been Marvel sets that featured the V on their Villain cards.

Marvel Villain Affiliation     DC Villain Affiliation

Both of these symbols have the exact same meaning and are interchangeable. If a card has the V in the text box, like Casey Jones, it applies to characters with the Hydra logo as well.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Casey Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ He does not have an affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #12 of 58.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There isn’t a ruling for this specific card, but you can find the cross-IP terminology, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like characters that can’t be blocked because it puts pressure on your opponent to find a way to stay alive long enough to get their team to go off. I like Casey Jones because he’s a cheaper character with a good ability, and his stats aren’t terrible. I like using him and characters like him as a back up, in case my original plan goes wrong or doesn’t work. He tends to scare some folks when they’re using mostly Villains and Sidekicks/Allies. There are also Globals that can make a character die into a Villain so they can’t block. He’s best paired with a Global like the one on Lantern Power Ring: Energy Projection in Golden Age. For Modern Age, you have to use the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, because it’s the only card with a Global that grants the Villain affiliation. It works, but not as well because it requires a Mask and Fist energy where all the other Villain making Globals require one energy.

He seems fun to pair with Batwoman: Code of Honor. You make him a Villain and both of them are practically unblockable while attacking together. It’s a combo I’ve been thinking about and I hope to put it into action soon to see if it works well enough in a casual setting.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!