Posts Tagged ‘While Active’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Elektra: Way of the Stick from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Elektra, Way of the Stick

Ruling – Ability

Elektra has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Elektra’s ability says that while she active, all of your character dice that have a purchase cost of two or less cannot be the target of either player’s Global abilities. This means your opponent can’t target your characters with a purchase cost of two or less with a Global, but you can’t target those characters with a Global either.

Elektra’s ability references the printed purchase cost on a character card. If you use a cost reducer to reduce the cost of a character to two or less, her ability will not apply to that character.

Elektra’s ability will also include Sidekicks. Sidekicks are character dice while in the Field Zone, and they have a purchase cost of zero. Since Elektra blocks Globals for character dice with a purchase cost of two or less, this would include your Sidekick dice.

If Elektra’s ability text is blanked or becomes ignored, the character dice under her protection would be vulnerable to Global abilities once again.

Global abilities that do not target can still be applied to the character dice that Elektra is protecting.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Elektra is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Thunderbolts affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #92 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a ruling for this card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Part of me is always surprised when folks ask about this card. But then the other part of me is not surprised. The rulebook is a great resource to help you start the game, but it doesn’t explain everything and WORF is becoming increasingly difficult to navigate and locate specific rulings. One of those rulings is an older one about the Sidekick dice and their purchase cost being zero, which I can’t find now. I also can’t find it anywhere in the rulebook. Basic information shouldn’t be this difficult for newer players to find. Page 6 and 7 is where most of the Sidekick info can be found, but there is no mention in this section about a Sidekick’s level or purchase cost. On page 24, it briefly mentions that Sidekicks only have one level, but that’s something that should be in the basic information about Sidekicks – not tucked away under the Levels and Spinning section. And since that information is relevant to that section, it should be mentioned there too, but not as the only reference.

But this is the reason that I continue to write these articles. I want to help new players understand card abilities that may be confusing. But I don’t feel like I’m up to writing a comprehensive rules document as most folks would probably disregard it anyway since it wouldn’t be an official document.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Question: Find the Answers from the DC Batman set.

W The Question, Find the Answers

Ruling – Gadgeteer Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Gadgeteer: When a character die with Gadgeteer attacks, you may roll a gear die or an action die with the Continuous keyword in your Used Pile.  If you roll a non-energy face, you may move it unto your Field Zone.  Otherwise, return it to your Used Pile.

I think there is a typo in on the WizKids Keywords page. Where it says ‘you may move it unto your Field Zone’, I think it’s supposed to say into and not unto. But I’m certain we all know what they mean.

Gadgeteer is a new Keyword in the Batman set. This ability only works when the character with Gadgeteer attacks and only if you have a Gear or Continuous action die in your Used Pile. Gear dice will have the Equip Keyword on their card.

You cannot use the Gadgeteer ability for a non-Continuous action die.

When your Gadgeteer character attacks, you get to choose a qualifying action die from your Used Pile and roll it. It can be a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, so long as it’s Gear or has the Continuous keyword.

After you roll the action die, if it shows an Action face (non-energy face), you get to move it into your Field Zone. Moving a die is not the same as using it, much like moving a character die is not the same as fielding it. If it shows an energy face, you must return it to the Used Pile. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Action and Energy Faces

This ability is optional and not mandatory because it uses ‘may’ in the text. If your Gadgeteer character attacks and you have a Continuous die in your Used Pile, you are not required to use the Gadgeteer ability. If you forget to use it and the Attack Step has moved into the Assign Blockers portion, you have missed your opportunity to use Gadgeteer.

Ruling – Ability

The Question’s other ability works like a While Active ability even though it doesn’t say While Active. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

 

while-active-light

Whenever you use an action die, The Question gains +1A and +1D until the end of the turn. You can use multiple action dice on the same turn and his ability will trigger for each one.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Question is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Justice League affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #75 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Gadgeteer and Using Action Dice.

Game State
~ I have one level three Question (2A/4D) die in the Field Zone. I also have two Kryptonite: Green Death dice, one Unstable Canister die, and one Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” die, all showing action faces, in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Kryptonite dice, moving it Out of Play, and target one of my opponent’s Sidekick dice. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D.
~ I use my other Kryptonite die, moving it Out of Play, and target my opponent’s Sidekick die again. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +2A and +2D.
~ I use my Unstable Canister die, moving it Out of Play, and target that same Sidekick die which KO’s it. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +3A and +3D.
~ I use my Cold Gun die, moving it to the Field Zone. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +4A and +4D.
~ I activate my Cold Gun die, moving it Out of Play, to target my opponent’s second Sidekick die which KO’s it. This does not trigger Question’s ability.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Question (6A/8D) to attack, moving him to the Attack Zone.
~ The Question’s Gadgeteer ability triggers when he attacks and I check my Used Pile for Continuous action dice. I have one Turtle Van and one Bat-Signal die in my Used Pile and I choose the Turtle Van Basic Action and roll it. It lands on an Action face and I move it into my Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not have any blockers to assign.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Action Dice or Globals.
~ My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ The Question assigns all six of his attack to my opponent and my opponent loses six life. The Question die is immediately moved Out of Play because he attacked and was not blocked.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability). The Question will lose all of the +1A and +1D bonuses he gained this turn.
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like this version of Question better than the other two versions. It’s easy to build up lots of action dice for a single turn with Boomerang or even Scarlet Witch: Hex Bolts from the Doctor Strange Team Pack. Since I love Overcrush so much, using Proton Cannon just makes sense, because his stats can become massive! I love that he has Gadgeteer too, which can help you get your Continuous action die back in play. He’s got a great purchase cost and while his attack stats are not the best, his stats can get a boost and even be swapped with Kal-L’s Global. I think this card is great for casual play and possibly good for a rogue team in Modern Age competitive play too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

My FLGS (Friendly Local Game Store) finally got the new Batman: The Animated Series Villains OP Kit in. This OP Kit was due out on June 28, 2017 according to the WizKids Solicits page. I highly suggest bookmarking that page! You can keep up to date on the most accurate release info because it comes straight from WizKids. It’s not always perfect, but it’s far more accurate than asking the distributors. Our OP Kit was delayed due to an internal error with the distributor. But now that we have it in hand, I want to do a short review for it and show folks these cool cards that they could get!

Organized Play Kits

An Organized Play Kit (OP Kit), is a package of special promotional prize cards that stores can purchase to use as prize support for their local level events. These kits are paid for by stores, so most events that have OP prize support will have a small entry fee or require players to purchase a small amount of product as an entry fee. My FLGS asks players to to purchase at least two booster packs of Dice Masters or pay one dollar for their entry fee. If a player were to purchase a starter, that would cover the entry fee and they wouldn’t be required to purchase the boosters as well. This type of entry requirement works great for our locals. Different venues may have different requirements so check with your FLGS to see what they require for their entry fees.

Most OP Kits come with twenty participation prizes, five fellowship cards, and five first place prize cards. The kit is set up to support four-five weeks of organized play.

OP events are suggested to be run as Rainbow Drafts, but our locals could not do a Rainbow Draft for each week of the entire kit. Most of our local events are constructed, but we try to get drafts in where we can. Be sure to check with your FLGS to see what formats they host for their OP events.

Participation Prize

Participation cards are usually given to all players that participate in the event. I usually give out the participation prizes to all players, even if they received one from the previous OP event. This may be different at each venue based on how many players and kits the store has available.

W 01 Harley Quinn, Tough Cookie

Harley Quinn: Tough Cookie

This is the participation prize for the Batman TAS Villains Kit – and yes! That’s an alternate art version of the rare Harley Quinn from the Batman set! That’s so awesome that such a great card is the participation prize! You only need to attend an event to get one of these cards.

While she’s active, at the beginning of your turn, if you control at least two different Villain character dice, your opponent loses one life and you gain one life. This is such a good ability because she makes your opponent lose life and not take damage. Losing life is different from taking damage and while damage can be negated by many card abilities, losing life usually can’t. And you gain life too, which is also great! Villains are very strong in Golden Age, and this card helps boost them a little in Modern Age. She’s not expensive to purchase, her fielding stats are great, and her combat stats aren’t too bad, but her defense stats are the important ones and they’re decent. You probably aren’t going to attack with her since you want her active at the beginning of your turn.

First Place Prize

The first place cards are given to the player that wins the event. These cards are typically new cards and not alternate art or reprint cards.

W 02 The Riddler, If You're So Smart, Why Aren't You Rich

The Riddler: If You’re So Smart, Why Aren’t You Rich?

Wow, what a sub-name but I totally love this Riddler’s ability! While he’s active, when your opponent’s Sidekick dice roll a Wild energy, they must reroll them. This card denies your opponent all their Wild energy so long as he’s active. That’s so crazy! Especially since he only cost four energy to purchase! He uses the Riddler dice from the Batman set and his stats are really good for a character with a While Active ability. I can’t wait to get this guy on a team with Harley Quinn: Tough Cookie. I’m such a sucker for these control type cards.

Fellowship Prize

The Fellowship Prize is an additional prize for a player, usually one that hasn’t won another prize yet. We used to take votes, but that took way too long. Now, we have each player (except the first place player) roll a D20 in the order of their standings and the player that rolls the highest number, gets the Fellowship card. We also require that players be present to be able to roll for the Fellowship Prize. Some stores give the Fellowship Prize to the player in last place and I’ve even seen stores draw names from a bucket. How you determine the Fellowship player is different for each venue so check with your FLGS to see how they choose their Fellowship player. 

 

The Joker: The Laughing Fish

I like that the Fellowship cards aren’t typically ‘must have’ cards in regards to abilities. That’s mainly because most Fellowship Prizes are given out randomly and are not always easy to obtain. I love the Batman Family affiliated side (side b), because it helps you field Batman for free since he’s got some awful fielding costs. The Villain side (side a) lets you field Harley for free which isn’t that exciting because she’s got really good fielding stats to begin with. This card is still really cool and definitely worth having for casual Batman Family teams that use a high fielding cost Batman. His defense is great for a While Active ability so you don’t have to worry too much about him getting taken out easily. He also pairs well with the Harley Quinn from this OP kit, since you can Flip the Joker to suit what’s going on with team’s current state. This card uses the Joker dice from the Batman set.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I love this OP kit. It’s got unique character abilities that can be fun to use in both casual and competitive atmospheres. Harley and Riddler make a great pair for a control player like myself. I love silly card combinations, even if they don’t make up my win condition. I got to play against someone using the rare Harley from the set and she definitely adds another level of concern for the player sitting across from her. The Riddler is just silly and is a super awesome control card. He could potentially make your opponent waste a DWiz or Shriek on him while your other pieces are wreaking havoc. The Joker could find his way onto some Batman teams if there’s room for him.

I love the art on the cards because they’re screenshots from Batman: The Animated Series, well, except for the Harley card art. That art is more in the style of The New Batman Adventures. I couldn’t find the exact image in a brief Google search, so I can’t confirm that it’s a screenshot, but it appears to be.

Harley and Ivy

Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn in Batman: The Animated Series

While Poison Ivy obviously looks different, Harley Quinn looks much the same. I still like the art on the card, but I definitely wish it had been consistent with OP Kit’s theme of Batman: TAS. In the end, it’s a minor issue that doesn’t really affect much of anything. It’s just something I thought I should note for those that notice this type of stuff.

However, There is a misprint on the Harley Quinn card with her set number. Her number in the set is #94, yet the OP card has #95 which is actually Hawk: The Agent of Chaos. WizKids might announce an errata for her promo card number since it could matter later on, or they may not say anything about it at all. In the end, we all know exactly what card it’s supposed to be, so don’t be silly about it.

I give major kudos to WizKids for this awesome OP Kit. The last few kits have been fairly good with playable, but not overpowered, cards and abilities. I’m really impressed with how they’re handling all the aspects of the kits. I know that our locals definitely prefer this style of kit as opposed to the original AvX story line kits. My players are very excited for this event to start at our local venue!

What do you think about the kit overall?
Which card is your favorite?
Leave me a comment here or on my Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and let me know!

Thanks so much for reading and please remember to subscribe!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hawkgirl: Princess of Thanagar from the DC Batman set.

W Hawkgirl, Princess of Thanagar

Ruling – Ability

Hawkgirl has multiple parts to her ability. The first part of Hawkgirl’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

The second part of Hawkgirl’s ability will only apply to characters that are not Villains, and only when they attack. While Hawkgirl is active, when a non-Villain character die attacks (yours or your opponent’s), you may to spin that character die up one level.

This is an optional ability because it says may. This means you do not have to spin your opponent’s non-Villain character die up a level, but you could if you wanted to.

Hawkgirl does not have to attack for you to use her ability on other characters. So long as she’s active, and the attacking character is not a Villain, you can spin that die up one level. You can spin Hawkgirl dice up one level when they attack because her ability says non-Villain character dice, and she’s not a Villain.

If you can remove the Villain affiliation (Ra’s al Ghul Global), you must do so before you attack. Once the character is already assigned to attack, the window to use Hawkgirl’s ability has passed.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hawkgirl is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Justice League affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #96 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
How Hawkgirl’s ability triggers.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one Krypto: Super Dog (2A/2D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s the beginning of my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and Krypto to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, I may spin each die up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and Krypto spins to level two (3A/3D).
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Example Two:
Removing the Villain affiliation before attacking.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one The Riddler: Prince of Puzzles (1A/5D) die in the Field Zone.
~ I also have one Mask energy in my Reserve Pool and Ra’s al Ghul: Mystery and Power is on my team, but he is not active.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend the Mask, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Ra’s al Ghul’s Global and target my Riddler die. His Villain affiliation is now gone until the end of turn.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals. They pass priority back and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and The Riddler to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, they will each get to spin up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and The Riddler spins to level two (2A/6D).
~ The Riddler’s ability will also trigger and his attack and defense values are now swapped, making him a 6A and 2D.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling that applies to the wording of Hawkgirl’s ability, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

What I wouldn’t have given to have this card with my Colossus during the WKO this year in Owensboro! Using her and Blink – Transmutation with Colossus is like a dream team, and that also makes room for a different BAC in place of Polymorph/Mutation. I love Mutation, but there were other BACs I could have used for that particular event.

In a draft, this card is a beast! Using her with Batgirl + Ace, Conner Kent, The Riddler or any other beefy attacker is great, but she is a rare. The chances of getting her are not high, but if you open her, take her and build around her!

For Modern Age, I think she has some potential, especially with the aggressive teams that are shaping the current meta. She’s definitely affordable at a cost of three, and she’s a Mask character which she should fit nicely on some of those more aggressive Mask Ring teams. Her TFC of two isn’t bad at all, and her attack and defense stats are about what you’d expect. She’s a really good card to consider for a competitive team.

I really like her for casual play too. She’s not too overpowered and she’s got stats that are appropriate. She also has the Justice League affiliation which means she can beef up those Golden Age JL teams!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time  from the DC Batman set.

Rip Hunter, Navigate the Sands of Time

 

Ruling – Ability

Rip Hunter’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Rip Hunter’s ability can only be used once during your turn and only during the Clear and Draw Step. Rip Hunter must be active at the start of your turn to be able to use his ability that same turn. To use Rip Hunter’s ability, you draw dice for your Clear and Draw Step, and then you can send any number of those dice to the Used Pile and draw that many dice. You may choose any number of the dice you’ve drawn to go the Used Pile. You do not have to send them all.

The dice that you send to the Used Pile, go directly to the Used Pile and not Out of Play. This is because those dice have not entered the Reserve Pool.

If a card ability would allow you to draw extra dice during the Clear and Draw Step, you can use Rip Hunter’s ability for those dice as well. For example, if you have a Swarm trigger that allowed you to draw an extra die, for a total of five dice, you can send all five dice to the Used Pile and then draw five more dice using Rip Hunter’s ability. If any of those dice have the Swarm keyword and match an active character of the same name, you get to trigger Swarm again.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Rip Hunter is a Shield type character card.
~ He does not have any affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Rip Hunter’s ability.

Game State
~
I have two Rip Hunter dice and a Sidekick die active. I have seven Sidekick dice and one Batman die in my bag.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I don’t have any dice to clear.
~ I draw four Sidekick dice.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability, sending three of my Sidekick dice to the Used Pile and I draw three more dice.
~ I draw two Sidekick dice and my Batman die.

Example Two:
Rip Hunter’s ability with Swarm.

Game State
~ I have one Multiple Man: Pile On! die, one Goblin: Lesser Humanoid die, and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone.
~ I have a Goblin, Multiple Man, and four Sidekick dice in my bag, and two Sidekick dice in my Use Pile.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I draw four dice: one Multiple Man, one Goblin, two Sidekick dice.
~ I trigger the Swarm ability on Multiple Man and Goblin and draw two more dice: two Sidekicks.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability and send Multiple Man and Goblin to the Used Pile.
~ I now draw two more dice, but my bag is empty, so I refill it with the Used Pile (two Sidekicks, Multiple Man, and Goblin). I draw a Goblin and a Sidekick.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Goblin die, drawing one more die – Multiple Man.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Multiple Man die and draw my last die, which is a Sidekick.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ I roll all eight dice and proceed with the rest of my turn.

 

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I will continue to stand by my opinion that the dice moved by Rip Hunter need to go Out of Play. I’ve seen Ultraman abuse this to devastating results, as well as Parademon Swarm Burn. However, I will never rule against anything that’s been officially ruled on by WORF and I completely understand the reasoning behind their ruling. I just think it’s absolutely silly.

That being said, Parademon’s Burning Swarm is a team that Mr. DDK and I have been discussing since before they officially ruled Rip Hunter. I really want to use Darkseid: Force of Entropy with Parademon: Strength in Numbers and a cheap Swarm dude, like Multiple Man: Pile On!, because that’s just too silly. Rip Hunter’s ability can make a team like that more lethal. I’ve already played against someone that’s headed that direction with their team anyway, and the Parademon with Goblin Swarm is bad enough.

Rip Hunter has his benefits outside of breaking things. He’s exceptionally handy in drafts and he makes for a great addition to many teams that are desperately missing their PXG Global. He’s obviously not as good as PXG, but it’s totally better than nothing! I’ve been using the Uncommon Rip Hunter with my New Gods, but I might have to swap him for this version, unless I can speed the team up some other way.

I think that Rip Hunter is a good card in the competitive scene, but he does cost four to purchase. It’s not too much, but it could be too slow to use against some teams. Be sure you’re not adding him to your team as a necessary purchase, because if you’re buying him, you’re not buying your win condition (unless he contributes to that win condition). Your team shouldn’t be relying on him to function. If you’re using the rare Dwarf Wizard, this is probably going to be the character you want to target, unless of course there is a much larger threat at the time. But using DWiz to slow their churn is a really good idea early in the game.

If you’re playing casual, he’s a great addition and I don’t think he should be overlooked. He could help some of those casual teams churn through their dice a little faster to get to the good stuff!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

17 Jessica Jones, Ladies' Night

Ruling – Ability

Although her ability doesn’t say it, it acts as a While Active ability. You can find that ruling here. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Jessica Jones says that whenever one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, she will get +1A and +1D. Her ability is not limited to opposing Globals and character abilities. If you target one of your own character dice, including a Jessica Jones die, her ability will trigger. Her ability does not target, so she would not get additional bonuses from her ability triggering.

Her ability will trigger each time one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, and not just once in a turn.

When Jessica Jones’s ability is triggered, it will apply to each of her dice that are active at the time it was triggered.

Action dice abilities can affect Jessica Jones and characters friendly to her without triggering her ability. Targeting her, or a character friendly to her, with a Global on an Action card will trigger her ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jessica Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Jessica Jones and a friendly character targeted during my opponent’s Main Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level one Shredder: Dining on Turtle Soup in their Reserve Pool and two Bolt energy.
~ It’s during their Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays one energy, sending it Out of Play, to field Shredder.
~ They use Shredder’s ability and target my Sidekick, which is now KO’d and placed in the Prep Area and I lose one life.
~ Because a character die I control was targeted by a character ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My opponent spends their last Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, for the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card. They target my Jessica Jones die.
~ My Jessica Jones die takes one damage from the Global ability, but because a character die that I control was targeted by a Global ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +2A/+2D, making her attack an 8 and her defense a 5. But because that die has taken one damage this turn, she can only take 4 more damage before she’s KO’d.
~ My opponent passes priority to me, but I choose to not use any Globals. I return priority and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns Shredder to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I assign Jessica Jones to block Shredder, moving her die to the Attack Zone in front of Shredder.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Shredder assigns his four damage to Jessica Jones’s remaining defense of four.
~ Jessica Jones assigns her eight damage to Shredder’s defense of four.
~ Both characters are KO’d.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Two:
Jessica Jones die targeted during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. I also have one Fist energy and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent doesn’t have any characters in the Field Zone and no energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ None of my characters stats have been altered.
~ We’re moving into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Jessica Jones die and my Sidekick die to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not assign any blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I spend one Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones takes one damage and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my opponent’s Haymaker Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones gets a +1A from the Haymaker Global and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of a Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +3A/+2D making her attack a 9 and her defense a 5.
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Both of my character dice are unblocked. They each deal their attack directly to my opponent.
~ My opponent is dealt 10 damage and both of my character dice are immediately placed Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities that need the character to be active, but the card doesn’t say While Active, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Out of all the cards in the Defenders Team Pack, this Jessica Jones and Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm are the only cards I like. I went straight for Iron Fist instead of test playing Jessica Jones because I loved his ability. But after playing with him a little and trying to make him work, I think Jessica Jones is the route I need to go.

When playing a card like this, you want to bring Globals that tempt your opponent into using them on your dudes, like Unstable Canister. They can target Jessica Jones as much as they want, but unless they have some other way to deal her damage, she won’t get KO’d by Canister Global strikes alone. Using Haymaker isn’t a bad idea either – or Goliath if you want to use a different Basic Action besides Haymaker. You don’t have to rely on your opponent to use Globals/character abilities on your characters. You could just pump her up on your own and then give her Overcrush for those potential blockers. You could make her unblockable with an ability like the on Silver Sable: Hero for Hire. And because it targets, it buffs her stats too.

For the competitive scenes, I think she might fall just short of being a top tier card. It’s not her purchase cost that’s the issue – I think it’s very reasonable for her ability and stats. There is way too many Cold Guns out there that can take her out. Her ability doesn’t trigger off of Action abilities, just Globals and character abilities. But even if it did trigger off of Action abilities, a Cold Gun shuts her down before she attacks. You would need to put pressure on your opponent with multiple Jessica Jones dice, which can be difficult since she cost five to purchase.

I don’t think she’s too overpowered on her own for a casual setting, but I would be mindful of what your other locals are playing.

I like this card and I think she’s probably the best card in the Team Pack. I can’t wait to give her a go this week! I might even pair her with some of this crazy new Batman stuff. And just because I don’t think she’s good enough for meta competitive play, doesn’t mean I won’t try her!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hellcat: It’s Patsy!  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

07 Hellcat, It's Patsy

Ruling – Ability

Hellcat has two different types of abilities on her card. One is a When Fielded ability and the other is a While Active ability.

Hellcat’s When Fielded Ability

A When Fielded ability only triggers when the character die is placed into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool by paying it’s fielding cost, or by a card ability that specifically says to ‘field’ the character die and not move or place the character die.

Hellcat’s When Fielded ability says that you must name a target opposing non-Sidekick character when you field her die, which will replace any previous choices. Hellcat can only target an opposing non-Sidekick character die that’s in the Field Zone for her ability.

A character with the Ally Keyword can not be targeted by Hellcat because Ally means that the dice is considered a Sidekick while in the Field Zone.

If you field a second Hellcat die while one is still active, you can name the same target opposing character. For example: I field Hellcat and name Batman. In the same turn, I field a second Hellcat and name Batman again.

Hellcat’s When Fielded ability is not optional and must be used if there is a legal target.

Hellcat’s While Active Ability

The second ability on Hellcat is her While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Hellcat’s While Active ability says that your opponent is dealt two damage the first time that they field the named character die. Your opponent will take that two damage each turn, but only the first time they field the character that Hellcat targeted with her When Fielded ability.

Hellcat’s While Active ability is not optional. If Hellcat is active and your opponent fields the named character, they must take two damage. The damage can be redirected, reduced, etc with other game effects or abilities.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hellcat is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #7 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example:
Using Hellcat.

Game State
~
I have a level one Hellcat die and a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has an Alfred die and a level one Batman: Speedy Recovery die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend my one Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Hellcat’s fielding cost.
~ I move Hellcat to the Field Zone and activate her When Fielded ability.
~ There is only one legal target for her ability, which is Batman. I can’t target Alfred because he’s an Ally and considered a Sidekick.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ I decide not to attack, so the Attack Step is bypassed and we proceed into the Clean Up Step.
(Clean Up Step)
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Now my opponent begins their turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ My opponent moves leftover dice from their Reserve Pool into their Used Pile.
~ My opponent draws four dice; two Sidekicks and two Batman dice.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ My opponent rolls their dice and they get two level one Batman characters, a Fist on a Sidekick die, and a Mask on a Sidekick die.
~ They choose to not reroll any of their dice.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays a Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for one of the Batman’s fielding costs.
~ They field the Batman die and Hellcat’s While Active ability triggers.
~ My opponent takes two damage, which will trigger Batman’s Vengeance ability – “Whenever you take damage, KO a Batman die and return it to the Field Zone at level 2.”
~ My opponent chooses to KO the Batman die they just fielded and then return him to the Field Zone at level two.
~ My opponent pays a Mask energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for the other Batman’s fielding cost.
~ They field the Batman die on his level one side. Hellcat’s ability will not trigger again because my opponent has already fielded a Batman this turn.

As long as Hellcat remains active with Batman as her target, my opponent will take two damage the first time they field a Batman die – every turn.

Official Sources

You can find a ruling about this card here, on WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF).

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I was very confused about Hellcat’s While Active ability and took it to WORF – adding in a few other questions about her that the locals were asking too. I’m so glad they returned with an answer as quick as they did. Thanks WizKids!

I do not like her anywhere near as much as Lyssa Drak and as long as Lyssa is in Modern, I don’t see any good reason to use this Hellcat. She’ll likely be the Lyssa replacement when War of Light eventually rotates from Modern. As for Prime, I’m not sure if she’s worth playing or not. She’s worth testing out for Prime, and it will likely come down to the individual’s style of play.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Bob, Agent of Hydra: The H Stands For Hopeless  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Bob, Agent of Hydra, The H Stands For Hopeless

Ruling – Ability

Bob’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Bob is active, Deadpool affiliated character dice can’t be targeted by opposing actions. Bob’s ability applies to Basic Action dice and Non-Basic Action dice.

An opposing action is an action die that the opponent uses, regardless of which player’s Basic Action card it was purchased from. For example, if I have Unstable Canister as one of my Basic Actions and my opponent buys one of those dice, that action die is considered to be my opponent’s action die for game effects.

As long as Bob is active, an opponent can’t target any Deadpool affiliated characters with any action die. If you have Bob active on your side of the Field and your opponent has a Deadpool affiliated character on their side of the Field, you can’t target their character with any action die. Bob does not only protect your Deadpool affiliated characters; he protects all Deadpool affiliated characters from opposing actions.

Bob’s ability will protect his own dice from being targeting by opposing action dice because he has the Deadpool affiliation and his ability does not say ‘other’ Deadpool character dice’.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Bob, Agent of Hydra is a Fist type character card.
~ He has the Deadpool affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #88 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Opponent using a Basic Action purchased from my card.

~ My Basic Actions are Unstable Canister and Reclaim.
~ My opponent’s Basic Actions are Shocking Grasp and Superhero Registration Act.
~ My opponent has an Unstable Canister die showing an action face in their Reserve Pool.
~ I have Bob and Dogpool active.
~ My opponent cannot target Bob or Dogpool with the Unstable Canister die that they purchased from my card because the die is considered to be an opposing action die while my opponent is using it.

Example Two:
Opponent has an active Deadpool affiliated character, I have Bob.

~ My Basic Actions are Unstable Canister and Reclaim.
~ My opponent’s Basic Actions are Shocking Grasp and Superhero Registration Act.
~ I have a Shocking Grasp die showing an action face in my Reserve Pool.
~ I have Bob active.
~ My opponent has Dogpool active.
~ I cannot target Dogpool with the Shocking Grasp die. I can target Bob because the action die is not considered an opposing action die since I control Bob and I’m using the action die.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Opposing Globals relevant ruling, here.

Abilities benefiting or affecting opponent’s characters relevant rulings, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy
I want to take this opportunity to thank a fellow Dice Master for reaching out to me with their question about Bob. They were unclear as to what would qualify as an opposing action. This was an excellent question to ask and I also wanted to mention that the same ruling applies for the use of Globals. The game state only cares about who is using the Action or Global. Thanks for reaching out with your question, because it gave me the perfect card to use for today’s article! I love having inspiration for my articles as opposed to just hitting the random card button in Retrobox, because then I know someone out there is getting some benefit from my article.
I’m not a huge fan of using characters that potential benefit my opponent unless it’s part of my strategy. So far, I haven’t found a good use for this version of Bob. I know there are a few other players out there looking at working with this particular version and I hope that they find a way to make him work for them. In a casual setting, I could see where this version of Bob would make for some interesting games. He’s not an expensive character to purchase and his fielding costs are very good, but his attack and defense are not the best. He’s not a character you’d necessarily want to attack with since his ability requires that he be active, so low attack isn’t really an issue. His defense is lower than what I like for a character with a While Active ability. It makes him an easy target for burn Globals like the one on Unstable Canister. That’s a huge downside if you’re wanting to use Canister and Bob on the same team. It only takes one or two Bolts to be rid of Bob! He’s probably not a character I would choose for one of my teams, and not likely one I’d draft either.
That is just my personal opinion on this version of Bob and just because he’s not my type of card, doesn’t mean he’s bad. Everyone has a different play style and someone out there may have a build using him that works great for them! If you have a team build using him, feel free to share it! It’s fun to see what everyone else is playing with and how other folks build their teams.
Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!

Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Shiklah: Succubus  from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Shiklah, Succubus

Ruling Ability

Shiklah has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Shiklah’s ability says that while she’s active, you move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to your Prep Area, but only at the beginning of your turn. If Shiklah is not active when your turn starts, you can not use her ability even if you field her later that turn. The beginning of your turn is before your Clear and Draw Step, so if you don’t have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile before your Clear and Draw Step, you won’t be able to use her ability.

Ally characters only count as Sidekicks while they are in the Field Zone. Allies do not count as Sidekicks anywhere else, so you could not move an Ally character with Shiklah’s ability.

Any dice put into your Prep Area before your Roll and Reroll Step, cannot be rolled during your Roll and Reroll Step. Sidekick dice that are moved using Shiklah’s ability are not eligible to be rolled during the Roll and Reroll Step on the turn they are moved. They can be rolled that turn using other game effects such as Momentum or X-23.

Shiklah’s ability is not optional because it does not say that you ‘may’ move a Sidekick die from your Used Pile to your Prep Area. As long as she’s active at the beginning of your turn and you have any Sidekick dice in your Used Pile, you must move one into your Prep Area.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Shiklah is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Deadpool affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #112 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Shiklah’s ability.

~ I have two Shiklah dice in my Field Zone and three Sidekick dice in my Used Pile. I have no dice in my Prep Area.
~ At the beginning of my turn, before my Clear and Draw Step, I must use Shiklah’s ability. I move one Sidekick die from my Used Pile to my Prep Area.
~ (Clear and Draw) I move any leftover dice from my Reserve Pool and place them into my Used Pile. I draw four dice from my bag and place them in my Prep Area – but keeping them separate from the Sidekick die I just moved there.
~ (Roll and Reroll) I roll the four dice that I drew this turn, but not the Sidekick that was put into my Prep Area at the beginning of my turn.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

You can find a ruling about dice placed in the Prep Area before the Roll and Reroll Step, here.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Ratings

You can find a guide to my ratings, here.
These are personal opinion of the card being showcased and not an official reflection of current major meta.

Golden Age Rating

I would be really surprised to see this card make it onto any competitive level Golden Age team. There are way too many other cards that are much more effective and easier to utilize. I can’t give her a zero rating though because she is an alternative form of churn that doesn’t rely on a Global. While she’s not the best option for churn, she can’t be shut down by Global nullification like PXG can.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of one out of five stars.
1 Star

Modern Age Rating

I could see Shiklah finding her way onto a few teams in the Modern Age format. She’s a more delayed form of churn, but if you keep her active, you’re always gonna have at least a Sidekick in your Prep Area every turn. I’m not quite convinced that she’s better than a rogue team character. She’s got a unique ability that requires her to be active at the beginning of your turn. This gives your opponent a whole turn to get rid of her if they want to. She can be blasted out of the field with a Cold Gun, or even bolted with the Global on Unstable Canister. But I guess if your opponent is spending their resources for that, they aren’t spending them on anything else.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Rating

I’m not crazy about this card in Prime either. Her defense stats aren’t the best if you’re looking at an uncommon or rare Cold Gun across the table from you. It can take her out on two of her sides and mess with your churn flow. Personally, I’d rather use Stepford Cuckoos than Shiklah because I’m guaranteed a character or Sidekick die with Cuckoos, where Shiklah relies on there being Sidekicks in the Used Pile. She’s not a first pick for me in any format. She’s not a terrible card and I’ve seen others use her effectively for their team, but I’m not feeling her for my teams.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I do not like this card for casual play. She causes so much confusion, like Lockjaw does if he KO’s dice with his ability. I just had a discussion about X-23 and this card with several different folks, trying to explain how the dice moved via her ability interact with dice drawn for the Roll and Reroll Step and with X-23. She’s a great card to use for X-23, but the confusion over the Roll and Reroll Step makes her very difficult for beginners to use. I’ve watched advanced players get confused over this card, and Lockjaw too. Many players do not realize that they can’t roll those dice that were just placed there on that turn. It’s a very common mistake and one that I know I’ve made several times. I do not recommend beginners use this card right away. I would recommend that players on a more advanced level try using her with cards like X-23 and Momentum to help teach other players.

Shiklah: Succubus gets a rating of two out of five stars.
2 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at the Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Heroes in a Half Shell box set.

w-35-renet-tillet-79th-dimension-of-null-time

Ruling – Ability

Renet Tilley has a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Renet Tilley’s ability lets you spin an action die that’s on an action face to any other side, but only right after you complete your Roll and Reroll Step and before you begin your Main Step. The action die must be on a non-energy face for you to be able to use her ability for that die. You can spin the die to any energy face or any action face.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Renet Tilley is a Bolt Character.
~ She does not have an affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of three.
~ This card is a Common and is #35 of 58.

If you purchase either of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Box Sets, you will have one copy of each card in the entire set, as well as the maximum number of dice for each card.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Renet Tilley for one Action Die.

~ I have one level one Renet Tilley in the Field Zone.
~ (Clear and Draw Step) I draw four dice from my bag. I draw two Captain Cold’s Cold Gun action dice and two Sidekick dice.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) I roll my four dice and they land on two Wild energy, one Cold Gun on an action face with no bursts, and one Cold Gun showing its single generic energy side. I choose to reroll the Cold Gun on the energy face and it lands on the same single generic energy face.
~ (Roll and Reroll Step) If I want to use Renet Tilley, I must do so now before I begin my Main Step. I choose to spin my Cold Gun on the action face to an energy face with the Bolt and Fist energy. I could have used her ability to spin it to an action face with bursts or even the single energy face, but I want the Bolt/Fist energy this turn instead.
~ (Main Step) I now begin my main step.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have a ruling for this specific card.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Unlimited Competitive Play Rating

I could see her being a useful rogue level card. There are not many action cards that benefit from a burst ability in the unlimited meta, but Cold Gun is definitely the biggest one. She can be useful in getting energy from a die that rolled an action face that you didn’t want an action for in that particular turn. In an unlimited setting, she is a good card, but I don’t think she’s that good to make a huge splash in the major meta. There are too many ways to get rid of her – easily. Her defense stats make her an easy target for the Magic Missile/Unstable Canister burn Global (or even the action ability). I think the most useful spot she can find is on a Bolt Ring team variant. She can spin those Kryptonite action faces over to bolt faces to help boost your damage. She does make for an easy DWiz distraction if your opponent is worried about you benefiting too much from her ability which could keep some of your other major pieces safe from the DWiz. But overall, I don’t think she’ll be as useful as some players have thought, and mainly because I think some folks have misread her ability. She doesn’t spin energy faces to action faces, which definitely would have made her over powered.

Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time gets a rating of three out of five stars.
3 Stars

Prime Play Rating

As far as Prime goes, the limited ramp and churn options make Renet Tilley a little more valuable. You don’t have to worry about a whiffed energy roll on an action die, or you could easily spin that Momentum to it’s double burst from its other action face. I think we’ll see her a lot more in Prime than unlimited. There are definitely less threats out there for direct removal in Prime too. A Cold Gun would KO her on any side because of her low defense, so she makes for a great no-burst Cold Gun target. I really like this card for Prime and I think we’ll see a lot of her in this format.

Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time gets a Prime rating of four out of five stars.
4 Stars

Casual Play Rating

I love how easy this card is to understand for a new player. The ability is worded well and there isn’t a lot of room for confusion. This is one of the many awesome cards in the newest TMNT box. That box is truly a comprehensive box of goodness and I will be recommending it to every new player! I’m really happy that the characters in this box are easy for beginners to understand and use, including this Renet Tilley. A new player will benefit from using this character because she’s not one that they would want to attack with, teaching newer players about the benefit of leaving your character active instead of attacking. I definitely recommend this card and the Heroes in a Half Shell box set for every player out there!

Renet Tilley: 79th Dimension of Null-Time gets a casual play rating of five out of five stars.
5 Stars

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?
Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!