Posts Tagged ‘WizKids’

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

If you know me, then you know how much I love my TMNT Clix and that’s mostly all I play with. There are a few exceptions, like Doctor Strange and the DC Bombshells, but I play with what I like to play with. I have always loved the Tactics sets, but since they aren’t legal for regular events, like Modern Age stuff, I never get to play with them. I’m a huge Star Trek fan, Next Generation being my favorite, but I love the property as a whole. When I saw there was going to be an actual set, with actual dudes, I got super excited! WizKids was really nice to me and sent me the Starter and Dice & Token Pack for a preview article (here). I pre-ordered a brick of the boosters and anxiously awaited its release. Well, that happened yesterday!

I did a very clumsy (but fun!) unboxing video, which you can find on my YouTube channel, here.

Out of my brick, I pulled all of the commons and all but one uncommon. I also got six rares, three super rares, and one chase figure. I got several common and uncommon duplicates but I didn’t get duplicates of anything rare or better.

Scans

I scanned all the individually numbered cards, which you can see below. Just click on the image for a better view.

Favorites

I’m totally a Klingon at heart, so of course the Klingon pieces are going to be some of my favorites, even if they are afflicted with the Qu’Vat virus. I won’t talk about these pieces much since I’ll likely do articles on them later. Kor is probably my favorite piece out of my entire brick. I also really like the Klingon’s team ability, Klingon Empire.

Naked Time Sulu is pretty awesome, and totally playable as a regular team piece or from your Sideline. There are so many great Starfleet pieces and with the team ability, United Federation of Planets, they all get that additional +1 to their speed when they take a move action. One of my other favorite Starfleet pieces is Yeoman Rand. She is unique for good reason! Being able to give her a power action to remove an action token from an adjacent friendly Starfleet dude of 100 points or less is great! She’s only 25 points and has Willpower on her first click.

But aside from those two factions, we also have Romulans who have the team ability Romulan Star Empire. That gives them Stealth, which is very much like a Romulan, to hide and sneak around. I noticed that none of the pieces I pulled have an improved movement though. This makes it very inconvenient to hide them in hindering terrain… unless you’re using the Romulan Lieutenant! His star trait gives all friendly characters that are adjacent or have the Romulan keyword the ability to move unhindered through hindering terrain.

There are lots of generic aliens that look like loads of fun to play with. I love using Mind Control and the Orion Female has Mind Control as a star trait, plus a bonus! The target has to reduce its defense for each Seduction token on its card. They get those from the Orion Female’s other star trait which is a free action to put a Seduction token on a character within four squares and line of fine. I can’t wait to try out this piece! And everyone has likely seen the Tribbles before today. They’re just silly fun, but as a Klingon, I hope I never face them in battle!

Final Thoughts

As a Star Trek fan, this set is very thematic and should be lots of fun to play within itself. I’m not versed well enough in the current meta to know if anything is going to make a splash or not, but I’m not overly concerned with that aspect. I want to play HeroClix and I want to use pieces that are of familiar characters and that I love. Sure, superheroes are cool and I have plenty of those pieces that I like, but I absolutely love these type of sets – the ones that break away from the normal drone of ‘Superhero’ and ‘comic book’. Yes, I’m aware that Star Trek has comics too – I have quite a few Gold Key issues. But these pieces are straight from the TV show and I love that! I really hope we get sets for each of the shows.

While I understand that this set won’t be for everyone, I encourage players to try some of the pieces, even if it’s just in a sealed event. Or maybe sit down with your Trekkie friend(s) and introduce them to Clix. I have a friend that’s never bought a HeroClix product in his life – until yesterday. He bought an entire case, starter, and Dice & Token pack, just so he could learn the game and play Clix with the Star Trek dudes he loves. So, if you aren’t a fan of Star Trek, please, don’t discourage fans from checking it out. Use their love of the property to get them into this amazing world of HeroClix!

Thanks for reading and don’t forget to subscribe, like, and follow!

Live long and Prob it!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Yuan-Ti Pureblood: Epic Humanoid from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Yuan-Ti Pureblood, Epic Humanoid

Ruling – Attune Ability

WizKids Keywords Page:

Attune: While a character you control with Attune is active, when you use an action die, that character deals 1 damage to target player or character die (no matter how many of that character’s dice are active).”

Attune is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Attune triggers when you use any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die. Using a Continuous type action die requires you to place the die in the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool. If you activate a Continuous die’s ability from the Field Zone, this is not considered using it. For example, activating a Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” after it’s in the Field Zone is not considered to be the same as using it. Using it would be placing the Cold Gun die into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool.

While a character die with Attune is active, when you use an action die, the character die with Attune will deal one damage to a target character die or player. For example, if you have three Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone when you use an action die, your Yuan-ti Pureblood will deal only one damage total (not three damage) to a target character die or player.

Attune abilities are mandatory and not optional. When you have an active character with Attune and you use an action die, you must deal one damage to target player or character die, even if you would be forced to target one of your character dice or yourself.

Ruling – Ability

“While Yuan-ti Pureblood is active, when you purchase an action die, trigger the Attune ability of all active character dice.”

Yuan-ti Pureblood’s ability is a While Active ability. While you have at least one Yuan-ti Pureblood die in the Field Zone, you will trigger her ability when you purchase an action die. Her ability triggers when you purchase any kind of action die, whether it’s a basic action die or a non-basic action die.

When you purchase an action die while you have an active Yuan-ti Pureblood character die, you will trigger each character die’s Attune ability. Attune abilities will only trigger once for each character, regardless of how many of that character’s dice are in the Field Zone, because Attune is a While Active ability.

For example, if you have three Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone, and purchase an action die, you will trigger the Attune ability of your Yuan-ti Pureblood. You will deal one damage (not three damage) to target player or character die. This is because all three dice are from the same character – your Yuan-ti Pureblood. Her Attune ability can only be triggered once, per instance, while there are any of her dice active in the Field Zone. If you were to purchase another action die, you would trigger her Attune ability a second time and deal one damage again.

This ability will also trigger the Attune ability on your opponent’s character dice. If your opponent has the same Yuan-ti Pureblood dice in the Field Zone, you still trigger her Attune ability as well as yours, because the two character cards are considered to be different characters. One is your Yuan-ti Pureblood, and the other is your opponent’s Yuan-ti Pureblood, making them different characters for game effects such as this ability.

If you trigger an opponent’s Attune ability, you do not get to choose the target of that ability because you are not in control of the ability. Triggering an ability is not the same as controlling or using the ability.

Yuan-ti Pureblood’s ability is mandatory. If you purchase an action die while she’s active, you must trigger the Attune abilities on all active character dice with Attune.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Yuan-ti Pureblood is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Monster affiliation and the Evil alignment.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Super Rare and is #132 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Yuan-ti Pureblood: Epic Humanoid, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Yuan-ti Pureblood is great for action centered teams, but if your opponent is using characters with Attune, her ability could become a nuisance for you. Her ability is still great and definitely worth trying out. She only cost two energy to purchase, but she can be blasted out of the Field Zone very easily. She’s got a defense of one on level one and level two, making her an easy target for Unstable Canister‘s Global. Her level three side is slightly safer with a defense of three, but she still falls victim to uncommon and rare Cold Guns.

I think she’ll be fun in casual play with the Satchel teams I’ve seen floating around, and she might even have a place in the major competitive meta, even though she could be troublesome against a similar team. I’m not sure I’d recommend using her as a main win condition in a draft, only because there are plenty of other characters out there with Attune and her ability could cost you in the end. But at the same time, because she’s so inexpensive, she could allow you to race your opponent to victory!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Poison Dart Trap: Lesser Trap from the Dungeons and Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation set.

W Poison Dart Trap, Lesser Trap

Ruling – Ability

Trap (Place in your Field Zone when used. Send to your Used Pile when triggered.)
Trigger: Your opponent would roll 2 or more of the same non-NPC character die at the same time.
Effect: Before the roll occurs, place one of those character dice into your opponent’s Used Pile.”

Poison Dart Trap has the Trap keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Traps: Traps are action dice that move to the Field Zone when used, and stay there until Triggered. When the criteria of the Trap die’s Trigger is met, you must immediately send the die to your Used Pile and use its Effect.”

Using this die places it into the Field Zone. It will only leave the Field Zone if its effect is triggered or another card ability removes an action die.

Poison Dart Trap is a non-basic action die. Anything that affects action dice could affect this die. If the effect says ‘Basic Action’, it would not apply to Poison Dart Trap.

When the ability is triggered, you must send the trap to the Used Pile. This is not an optional ability. When a trap is triggered, it will grant you its effect.

The term non-NPC means non-Sidekick. NPC is the wording on Dungeons and Dragons cards that means Sidekick. This applies to Ally characters, which are considered Sidekicks while in the Field Zone.

Poison Dart Trap’s trigger is when your opponent would roll two or more of the same character dice, that aren’t Sidekicks. For example, I have an active Poison Dart Trap and my opponent is about roll three Guy Gardner dice. Poison Dart Trap triggers and goes to the Used Pile. I get to choose one of the Guy Gardner dice and it goes to their Used Pile. My opponent gets to roll the other two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Poison Dart Trap is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation, but has the Neutral alignment.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #35 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is no official ruling for this card.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I like the new Trap keyword, as well as how they clarified when the trap die is actually used. I would like for other abilities, like the one on Cold Gun, to eventually be worded similar to this. That would clarify a lot of confusion over using action die and activating them.

But as for this card’s ability, it’s great against Swarm! You would be able to reduce the number of dice they roll by one, which could be a big deal. Outside of drafting, I’m not sure how much play this card will see. If Swarm characters are a pain and someone has room, they could add this card to see if it helps. It’s not expensive with a cost of three and it only needs to be in the Field Zone.

I’m don’t think this card will see major meta play, but some casual scenes probably will – especially if Swarm is big. This card could be useful in drafts as well, but only if players are drafting multiple copies of a character and using three or four of that character’s dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

My FLGS in Dyersburg, Tennessee was lucky enough to be chosen to host a WKO for the Fall 2017 season. It was a day full of fun with friends from out of town and I hope we have an opportunity to host another in the future. We drafted from the Marvel X-Men First Class set. We had a total of nine players, four rounds, and a top cut of four. I have featured matches on my YouTube channel, here.

Oops! Mistakes Happen

I was asked a ruling question in round one, regarding Xaviers School: Unique Curriculum, which says, Draw dice from your bag until you draw an [X-Men Affiliation] character die or your bag is empty. Prep 1 of the drawn dice, and add the rest to your Used Pile.” The question was, ‘can I refill my bag with dice in my Used Pile until I draw an X-Men character die?’ I said yes, because somehow, my eyes and brain didn’t see or register the text on the card that said “or your bag is empty”. That was totally a bad call on my part and I take full responsibility for that poor ruling. The mistake was caught in round two and I apologized to the players and the TO for my error. If you watch the featured match for round one and see an error in regards to that card, that’s what happened.

Team Lists

Click the player’s name below to view their team list on RetroBox.

Bailee R.
Jared W.
Ryan K.
Travis F.
Kat F.
Craig H.
Craig R.
Craig T.
Rusty L.

Round One – Rusty L.

Rusty is for the most part a local. He lives out of town, but makes it in when he can for drafts or other important events. He’s there enough that we consider him a local. Anytime Rusty and I play, we have lots of fun and this time was no different. My entire team was built using X-Men and Villain character dice. Rusty had two characters that would completely shut down my team and I didn’t realize it until it was too late. I immediately noticed his Sentinel, so I went for several X-Men early game, as well as Emma Frost to help my defend against his Boom Boom. I struggled throughout this entire game to create a field presence, but it was all in vain. Emma Frost was a double edged sword in this match. I was preventing one damage from Boom Boom, but she was leaving me completely vulnerable to Onslaught. I put up the best fight I could, but I couldn’t break through his defenses and he defeated me.

Record: 0-1-0

Round Two – Craig R.

Craig R. and I had the opportunity to play against each other, not once – but twice, at the WKO in Owensboro earlier in the year. We played against in each other in the Swiss rounds, and again in top eight where he defeated me to move on to top four. We had fun then and this time was no different. He’s a great player and definitely fun to play against because while we both take the game seriously, we’re more relaxed and are able to joke with each other and just enjoy the match. We had such a close game in this event, with the game coming down to single digit life totals and who could draw and roll what they needed. Boom Boom is a tough character to contend with and I didn’t purchase my Emma Frost until very late in the game. I don’t know that she would have helped me achieve victory, but she definitely would have slowed my defeat if I’d bought her sooner. In the end, his dice came through and he was able to defeat me for a glorious round two victory!

Record: 0-2-0

Round Three – Bailee R.

I got to play against one of my closest Dice Masters friends in round three. Bailee is strong player and I knew that her Blob could give me some trouble if he scooped up one of my important dice. I also knew Havok could be problematic for me too. I knew I needed to be careful of Avalanche, since I brought Mutation – which would help his ability. We had fun, but our dice would not cooperate with us at all. It didn’t seem like either of us could get anything we wanted or needed. We both struggled against our own dice more than we did against each other. That’s the way it goes sometimes, and because of both our bad luck, it resulted in a tie. Bailee and I always have fun with each other, regardless of dice rolls. She’s such a great person to play with and I was thrilled to see her at the event and just as happy to play against her!

Record: 0-2-1

Round Four – Bye

bye-player-pony

I scored a victory! I had to defeat the bye player for it, and with how my team had been rolling in this event, I thought the bye player might actually defeat me. But I was able to secure my one and only victory in round four!

Record 1-2-1

Final Thoughts

When Jeff, the TO, saw that there were nine players, he offered up an additional top eight prize for the ninth place spot. He also added in additional prizing in the form of boosters, based off of standings. There was an additional top four prize card that players in fifth through ninth place were allowed to roll for. Each player in those placings rolled a D20 and the highest roll won the Shocking Grasp card. This was really awesome of him to do and all the players were super nice and appreciative of the additional prizes. To Jeff, on behalf of all the locals and visitors, thank you for all you do for our community!

Well, I saw my final standing was ninth place out of nine players, but I was not disappointed in myself or the way I handled my team. I did the very best I could with what I had, but it just wasn’t enough. That’s something that I’m totally okay with because I hope for the best and prepare for the worst. I was prepared to be in last place before we were ever handed our draft bags. I’ve said this many times in many of my articles, what really matters is that you have fun! I had a lot of fun and I enjoyed seeing my fellow players from out of town and can’t wait to see them again! Thanks to Mr. Craig (Craig H.) for being so awesome and hooking me up with lots of trades.

We had several players that were planning to attend, but due to unforeseen circumstances, most of them culdn’t make it. I hate that I missed out on seeing some of our friends from out of town and I hope all is well! As for our locals, we’re very thankful that Rusty was able to make the drive up. We’re also extremely grateful to Bailee for being able to make the event before having to go straight to work right after round four. That’s some serious dedication! I hope that all my other locals are finally over whatever struck them so suddenly.

I look forward to our next event and I hope we’re able to host other WKO’s in the future! Thanks to WizKids for selecting my FLGS as a host. I’m not sure you know how much that meant to all of us.

Good luck to everyone that’s attending future WKO’s!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Nocturne: Shadowy Lineage from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Nocturne, Shadowy Lineage

Ruling – Ability

While Nocturne is active, the first time your opponent uses an Action die each turn, you may redirect the effect to another legal target.

Nocturne’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Nocturne’s ability will only trigger the first time your opponent uses an action die each turn. Activating an action die’s ability, like Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm”, is not considered the same as using the action die and will not trigger Nocturne’s ability.

Nocturne can only redirect the action die if there is a legal target for the action die’s ability. For example, Betrayal: Basic Action Card says, “Deal 1 damage to target opponent for each character die in their Field Zone.” If that’s the first action die your opponent uses, Nocturne cannot redirect it to your opponent because they are the one using the action die. Betrayal would still deal damage to you for each character die in your Field Zone.

Nocturne can redirect an ability from a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, because her text does not specify a type of action die.

If the action die has multiple legal targets, you may choose any legal target. For example, Power Bolt: Basic Action Card says, Deal 2 damage to one target character or player. If that’s the first action die your opponent uses and they target a character die, Nocturne can redirect the effect to your opponent, another character die, or yourself. Any of those targets are legal targets for the effect of the action die.

Nocturne’s ability is not a mandatory trigger. Because her ability is optional, if you forget to use it when her trigger condition is met, you cannot back up once the game has progressed beyond the resolution of the action die’s ability. Also, if the trigger condition is met, but there are no legal targets, you will not be able to use her ability that turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Nocturne is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Exiles affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #99 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for Nocturne, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

Nocturne has an interesting ability, but because she requires a ‘legal’ target for the redirect, her ability can easily be avoided. You only need to play an action die that she can’t redirect before you play any other action die. The only difficulty in that strategy is getting multiple action dice on the same turn, unless your team is set up for such plays. She’s not expensive, but her defense is kinda terrible because a Cold Gun can easily blast her out of the field on any of her levels.

I like her for drafts and limited constructed events, but as far as Modern Age or Golden Age constructed, I don’t think she’s as useful as other cards. Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For and Bishop: Butterfly Effect are two highly useful cards that I would use over Nocturne.

Fun fact – Nocturne is from not from Earth 616 (Earth Prime). She’s the daughter of Nightcrawler and Scarlet Witch from Earth 2182.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Kyln: Pangalactic Prison from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W The Kyln, Pangalactic Prison

Ruling – Ability

Continuous: Players must spend [1 Generic Energy] more to purchase each character die for every character die in their Field Zone.”

WizKids Keywords page has the definition for Continuous:

Continuous: Actions with Continuous move from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone and can stay there at the end of the turn. Sometimes they’ll send themselves to the Used Pile for an effect whenever you could use a Global Ability.”

The Kyln does not need to be activated in order to gain the benefit of its ability. Each Kyln die that you have in the Field Zone will automatically apply its ability. For every Kyln die you have in the Field Zone, your opponent will need to pay one additional generic energy for each character die in their Field Zone, when they purchase a character die.

For example: If I have two Kyln dice in the Field Zone and my opponent has three character dice in the Field Zone, they will need to pay an additional six energy to purchase a character die.

The Kyln will apply its ability to both players, not just the opposing player. Generic energy can be paid with any type of energy.

The Kyln dice will not leave the Field Zone on their own. To remove a Kyln die from the Field Zone, a player would need to use an ability on a card like Bleez: Controlled Rage or Oni: Greater Giant.

The Kyln’s ability places something like a tax on the purchase of a character die. This ability does not alter the printed cost of a character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Kyln is a Shield type non-basic card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #37 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find an official ruling for The Kyln, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I do not like playing against this card at all. I would rather play against it than a Bard though! Bards aside, this card is devastating to teams that need character dice in the Field while still trying to purchase more character dice. Just one character on your side and three Kyln on the Field will tax the purchase of a character die for three additional energy, making that two cost Guy Gardner ultimately cost you five instead. That’s really painful and Kyln is only two to purchase. The Kyln is a very nasty card and I wouldn’t be surprised if it showed up on teams in various metas. If someone is trying to make a Satchel team work, Kyln is likely going to be a go-to for that team. For all the nasty that this card brings, you can still play around it by not fielding too many character dice while you’re still trying to purchase character dice.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Scarlet Witch: Careful What You Wish For from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Scarlet Witch, Careful What You Wish For

Ruling – Ability

“While Scarlet Witch is active, during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, your opponent must reroll any Action dice that land on an Action face and cannot reroll any Action dice on energy faces.”

Scarlet Witch’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Scarlet Witch is active, only during your opponent’s Roll and Reroll Step, if they roll any action dice and those dice land on an action face, they must choose to reroll them. They are not able to choose to reroll any action dice that show an energy face.

Scarlet Witch’s ability applies to all action dice: basic action dice, non-basic action dice, equipment, etc. Anything that is considered to be an action die will be affected by her effect.

If you have Scarlet Witch active, any action dice that show an action face after your opponent rolls their dice during the Roll and Reroll Step, must be chosen by the opponent to be rerolled. They can choose any other dice, except action dice showing an energy face, to reroll with the chosen action dice.

If the rerolled action dice land on an action face after they are rerolled, your opponent does not have to reroll them again. Scarlet Witch’s ability only forces them to choose to reroll them once during the Roll and Reroll Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Scarlet Witch is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants and Villain affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #31 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a ruling for Scarlet Witch, here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

This Scarlet Witch could be powerful in almost any format where action dice are highly utilized. She’s a great soft counter for action dice teams or even a team that only uses one really powerful action die, like Lantern Ring: Limited Only By Imagination. With Scarlet Witch active, your opponent would essentially need to roll their action dice on an action face twice to keep them. Any action dice that are rolled on an energy face are stuck that way. Cards like Parallax will come in handy against Scarlet Witch, so if you’re using Scarlet Witch, don’t bring Parallax too!

I’m highly considering a spot for her on my Modern Age constructed team, mainly because there are so many good action dice out there that could be a problem. I plan to do some test playing with her very soon. It’s so difficult to test play right now because there are still so many sets scheduled for release and there could be something new or something better that would just take her place or make her obsolete.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jubilee: A Real Firecracker from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

W Jubilee, A Real Firecracker

Ruling – Ability

“When an opposing character die is KO’d, spin this character up 1 level.”

When an opposing character die is KO’d, each active Jubilee die on your side will spin up one level. Dice that are removed, swapped, sacrificed, etc. are not considered KO’d. The card ability must say that the die is KO’d. For example, Lethal Blow: Basic Action Card says, “Move target level 1 character die from the Field Zone to the Prep Area.” This is not the same as KO’ing that die and will not allow Jubilee to spin up a level.

The opposing character die can be KO’d by combat damage from blocking or being blocked and Jubilee will spin up a level. You can KO an opposing character with non-combat damage and it will allow Jubilee to spin up a level. For example, the Global on Unstable Canister: Basic Action Card says, Pay [BOLT]. Deal 1 damage to target character die.” If you use that Global to deal enough damage to KO an opposing character die, Jubilee will spin up a level.

And example of a card ability that KO’s a character die without dealing damage can be found on Smash!: Basic Action Card. It says, Knock out a target level 1 character. This type of ability would allow Jubilee to spin up a level.

Character dice can’t spin beyond level three or below level one, unless otherwise stated in a card ability.

This ability is not optional. Each time an opposing character die is KO’d, all active Jubilee dice on your side will spin up one level.

Ruling – Awaken Keyword

Awaken Keyword Definition:
“When a die with Awaken spins up 1 or more levels, you may use its Awaken effect. You get to use the effect for each individual die that spins up, so if you have two copies of the same die active and they both spin up, you will get two instances of the effect.”

Jubilee’s Awaken:
“Deal 1 damage to target opponent.”

Each instance that Jubilee would spin up one or more levels, you will get to use her Awaken effect. Each of her dice that spin up will deal one damage to your opponent.

If Jubilee is level one and an effect spins her up to level three, she will only deal one damage. For example, With Great Power…: Basic Action Card says, “Spin all of your character dice up 1 level. [BURST][BURST] Instead spin all of your character dice to level 3.” If you use a With Great Power action die that’s showing a double burst face to spin Jubilee from level one to level three, she will only deal one damage and not two damage. 

If Jubilee is level one and an effect spins her up to level two, she deals one damage. In the same turn, if an effect spins her from level two to level three in a separate instance, she deals one damage to your opponent again. For example, Giganta: Standing Tall has a Global ability that says,Pay [FIST]. Spin target character die up 1 level.” If you use that Global to spin Jubilee from level one to level two, she deals one damage to your opponent. If you use the Global a second time in the same turn to spin Jubilee from level two to level three, she deals one damage to your opponent.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jubilee is a Bolt type character card.
~ She has the X-Men affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #57 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There are no official rulings for this card yet.

Page 11 of the Superman Wonder Woman Rulebook has the most up to date info on the progression through the Attack Step.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I can’t wait to play with this card! I really love building and playing around combo cards and this card screams “Combo!” I really love cards that have a built in function for a keyword or other ability, just like Jubilee! She has her own spin trigger that can be easily used with a variety of cards. This makes her Awaken ability really good for various levels of play. She’s got a great purchase cost of two energy and her level one and two fielding costs are good. Her level three fielding cost isn’t horrible, but two is pricey if you’re trying to use that energy for other things. Her defense tops out at three which can be a problem against the uncommon and rare Cold Guns. She’s a great addition for teams that need a way to deal damage early game. I think she’s going to be a super powerful card in drafts because of Unstable Canister and Magic Missile. I think this is a great card for players of all skill levels as well.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Wonder Woman: Reflections from the DC Superman Wonder Woman set.

W 24 Wonder Woman, Reflections

 

Ruling – Ability

“While Wonder Woman is active, “When fielded” and “When attacks” abilities are ignored.”

Wonder Woman’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While there is at least one Wonder Woman die in the Field Zone, all When Fielded and When Attacks abilities will be ignored. This ability will apply to both your opponent’s characters and your own characters and this ability is not optional.

Wonder Woman’s ability will not affect keyword abilities that have a When Fielded or When Attacks effect. For example, Wonder Woman’s ability will not affect Intimidate or Call Out.

Wonder Woman’s ability does not blank the text from the card. Her ability ignores the effects of the ability without blanking the text.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Wonder Woman is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Justice League affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #24 of 34.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a ruling for this card, here and here.

You can find the cross IP compatibility wording, here.
You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Strategy and Opinion

I fell in love with this card the moment I saw it. I knew she was the answer to many of the more troublesome cards, like Half-Elf Bard: Master Lords’ Alliance and Green Goblin: “Gobby”. She’s an absolute treasure in Golden Age events and very likely in future Modern Age events as well. with the release of Norman Osborn: Don’t Call Me “Gobby”! from the Guardians of the Galaxy set, she’s already a card that should be considered for your teams. She’s not too difficult to purchase even for a five cost and her stats are very good for a character that needs to stay in the Field Zone. Most folks worry about Shriek hitting her card before they can buy and field her, but a well placed Captain Cold’s Cold Gun (uncommon or rare) will dispose of Shriek dice and then she won’t be able to blank Wonder Woman again without help. I think she’s worth heavy consideration for any team, and she could be a very valuable asset.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

It seems WORF has been very busy in the month that they’ve been silent! They’ve compiled a large list of errata of sorts. It’s not so much of an errata as it is a streamline clarification of older text. You can find the post, here.

I would copy and paste it, but there is a lot of text. Please be sure to go read up on it because there are lots of clarifications from as far back as AvX, up to Guardians of the Galaxy.

Thanks for this WizKids! Hoping to see new rulings soon!

Roll on, Dice Masters!