Greetings Fellow Comic Fans!

 

In my Comic Box Recap article series, I want to talk about each of the comics that I read from my subscriptions that week. I don’t always read all the comics I order, because I’m only collecting some of them. Others are ones I may have started reading, but lost interest in but I still order them. You never know when you may want to go back and revisit a series at a later date.

*** SPOILER WARNING ***
Do not read any further if you are trying to avoid SPOILERS!
Marvel
Captain Marvel #13

Well, my disappointment was overwhelming for this particular issue. It started off fine, with Carol going after Tony. Then it all fell apart when she went into her pocket dimension…

It appears that she’s killing clones of the Avengers. Carol gives her reasoning behind what she’s doing – to save Kree refugees, which is admirable and she’s doing in it in typical Carol fashion. I’m not digging Vox Supreme. I really don’t like the idea that Carol barfed up her new suit – it’s just gross. None of this story is going the way I expected and certainly not he way I like.

Fantastic Four #17

I enjoy this book, most of the time. This issue was fine until the very end. I’m not down for a change to their origin story and I may be dropping this book. I thought the whole thing was going to be some weird connection for Johnny, not all of the Fantastic Four.

I like the wholesome messages in the story, but I’m just not down for anything like an adjustment to their origin story. It was totally fine the way it was. I don’t know why they have to change it from an accident to something more… malicious.

IDW
Star Trek: Voyager: Mirrors & Smoke One-Shot

I was super excited to pick this up and read it after reading two disappointing books this week. I thoroughly enjoyed this book! There are far too few Voyager comics, and almost no Mirror Universe Voyager content – but that’s because the Terran Empire had almost fallen to the Klingon-Cardassian Alliance. I think the date (non-official canon date) of the Empire’s fall is around 2500 – give or take ten years.

I.S.S. Voyager gets lost in the Delta Quadrant, just like U.S.S. Voyager does in the prime universe. But MU Janeway decided to conquer it as a pirate queen instead of looking for a way home. She’s much harsher and takes literally no smack from anyone. She’s totally bad and I love it! Sign me up! I’ll serve under MU Janeway any day!

Image
Battlepug #4

I was just as excited for Battlepug as I was the Trek book this week. I love this book so much and this issue was awesome! I will admit, I was a little worried about the whole dimensional portal thing though. I didn’t want like a weird multiverse thing going on, but it appears to just be different worlds rather than different realities. (Please… don’t be different realities – just different worlds…) The giant people are keepers of sorts and Siglund’s actions have had repercussions that a child couldn’t have predicted. I don’t think Missus Queen has any idea what she’s unleashed either. I can’t wait to see how the Kinmundian takes on this challenge!

I also noticed the Star Wars reference, which I thought was absolutely great! The part where Kinmundian is in the ice cave with the giant white hairy creature is a reference to when Luke was upside down in the Wampa cave. The scene is pretty close to the Star Wars scene, until the Kinmundian uses the creature like a hammer to break the ice loose around his feet. I loved it!

I’m still curious about where Sprinkles is going to end up. Will he stay with the Kinmundian or go back to Siglund? I can’t wait for issue #5 – it can’t get here soon enough!

Conclusion

I really hope that Captain Marvel gets back on track after this arc. I wanted Star to be the ‘dark’ Captain Marvel. I want Fantastic Four to get back on track too. I will continue to buy Captain Marvel, regardless of where the story goes but not Fantastic Four. If it doesn’t get back on track in the next issue or two, I’ll cancel my FF sub. Star Trek books are always great reads for me. Battlepug has delivered once again and left me in high anticipation of the next issue!

What are you reading?
Is there a series I should be reading?
You can drop me a line here or find me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!
Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and subscribe!

A good book is the best vacation!

Leave a comment