Posts Tagged ‘Marvel’

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Free Chimichangas: Delicious from the Marvel Deadpool set.

W Free Chimicangas, Delicious

Ruling – Non-Basic Action

Free Chimichangas is a non-basic action card with non-basic action dice. Any card that references an action card or die could affect this card or die. If an ability only references basic action cards or dice, this card and its dice are not affected.

This card takes up a character card slot on your team and the dice count towards your 20 dice maximum. You can only purchase non-basic action dice that are on your team. For example: If I have Free Chimichangas on my team, it’s placed in a character card slot and its dice count toward my 20 dice maximum. My opponent can’t purchase my Free Chimichangas dice.

When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. If you have a any action dice in your Reserve Pool after your Attack Step, those dice are sent to the Used Pile. You can only use action dice on your turn.

Ruling – Keyword Ability: Impulse

We’ll discuss this card’s individual Impulse ability in the Ruling – Ability section below. This section is focusing on the keyword and not the ability granted by the keyword.

WizKids Keywords Page:

Impulse: Impulse abilities happen when you purchase a character die with the Impulse ability.  The character does not need to be already active to use the Impulse ability.”

The description from the WizKids Keywords page is a little dated. It specifically mentions a ‘character die’ with Impulse, but as you can see, other card types can have the Impulse ability.

When you purchase a die with the Impulse ability, you will be able to activate the bonus listed as the Impulse ability. Impulse abilities vary from card to card.

You do not need to have a copy of the die active in the Field Zone (which isn’t possible in some cases), you only need to purchase the die to trigger Impulse.

Ruling – Ability

Impulse – Target character die gets +2D (until end of turn). (Impulse abilities happen when you purchase the character die with Impulse.)

Target character die gets +2D.”

When you trigger the Impulse ability on Free Chimichangas, you target a character die that will get +2D until the end of turn. You must target a character die if there are legal targets available. You can’t trigger the Impulse ability and choose to not use it if there are legal targets. If you don’t have a character die of your own to target, you must target an opposing character die. If there are no character dice to target, you may still purchase a Free Chimichangas die, but the Impulse ability will fizzle.

When you use a Free Chimichangas action die, you target a character die that will get +2D until the end of turn. You must target a character die. If you don’t have a character die of your own to target, you must target an opposing character die. If there are no legal targets for the action die’s ability, you can’t use the action die. Players are not allowed to use an action die for no effect.

Both of these effects give a target character die +2D, until the end of the turn. This is an applied effect. If you were to swap the character’s A and D with another ability, the +2D that was applied will swap to the A.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Free Chimichangas is a Mask type non-basic action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Free Chimichangas is fun in casual and drafts. I don’t think this card would ever have a spot in a competitive meta, which it would only be legal for Golden Age competitive events now.

But for casual play, this is a fun action to use on a team with Ant-Man: Pym Particles from the Uncanny X-Men set. You can use your Free Chimichangas to boost the defense of one of your characters, like any of the Blobs from X-Men First Class, and then swap his attack and defense with Ant-Man’s Global for a super heavy hitting character!

You can use Free Chimichangas to boost the defense of an opposing character so you don’t KO it. If you Polymorph a troublesome character (like Shriek) into the field to prevent your opponent from getting her ability, you don’t want to KO her with a Dragon’s Breath Weapon. Just use Free Chimichangas to boost her defense and an ability to prevent her from blocking, then attack with your dragon!

Free Chimichangas has plenty of uses. It’s really up to each individual player to test it on their various teams or build a team around it to see if the card fits their play style.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Advertisements

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Absorbing Man: Harold’s Ice Cream from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Absorbing Man, Harold's Ice Cream

Ruling – Ability

“While Absorbing Man is active, when a “when KO’d” effect is used, you may use a copy of that effect.”

Absorbing Man’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While Absorbing Man is active, if a “When KO’d” effect is used, he may use a copy of that effect. This ability is optional and not mandatory, and you only get one copy of a ‘When KO’d’ ability, regardless of how many Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone. If a second copy of a character die is KO’d that turn, you can copy that ability again, but only once regardless of the number of Absorbing Man dice in the Field Zone.

If you copy a “When KO’d” ability from another character, Absorbing Man does not have to be KO’d for you to copy that effect.

You can copy the “When KO’d” effect from one of your characters or one of your opponent’s characters, but the ability must be used for you to be able to copy it. If the ‘When KO’d’ ability is optional and they do not use it, you can’t copy it.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Absorbing Man is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for this card, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Absorbing Man has a pretty cool ability that you can easily build around. In Golden Age, this guy is loads of fun for casual events. I think he may be a little more difficult to build around in Modern Age. In Golden Age, there are lots of different ‘When KO’d’ abilities that would be great to copy, especially when you have Blue-Eyes White Dragon’s Global to KO your own character dice. But, you aren’t limited to your own dice abilities. You can copy opposing ‘When KO’d’ abilities which adds to his usefulness in Golden Age.

I like that Absorbing Man is not expensive to purchase, so you can keep several in the Field. His stats are not terrible, but he’s manageable if you’re trying to get around him.

I saw the question pop up on WORF about this card and the rare version of Absorbing Man and I thought this would be a good one to cover this week. Newer and inexperienced players don’t realize that you can use his ability to copy an opposing character’s ‘When KO’d‘ ability. As regular players, and a more experienced players, we sometimes forget that these abilities aren’t as obvious to other players of different skill levels. I like when WORF answers questions like this because it helps me choose CCW cards that would be more appealing to the newer players – which are my target audience.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Madame Masque: Nefaria’s Schemes  from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Madame Masque, Nefaria's Schemes

Ruling – Ability

While Madame Masque is active, your opponent’s “When fielded” abilities do not trigger.”

Madame Masque’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

 

You must have at least one Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone to gain the benefits of her ability. Having more than one will not affect how her ability functions.

While you have a Madame Masque die in the Field Zone, your opponent can’t use any abilities that say ‘When Fielded’. This does not apply to keywords that function like a When Fielded ability. For example: Intimidate acts like a When Fielded ability, but Madame Masque won’t stop it because the character’s ability does not say When Fielded. Reminder text in parentheses is not considered to be the character’s actual ability, only a reminder of how the ability works.

If your opponent has a Madame Masque character die in the Field Zone, and you try to borrow one of their characters (via an ability like the one on Collector: Tanaleer Tivan) with a When Fielded ability, you will not get to use that ability. When you borrow the die, it’s temporarily yours for game effects.

Madame Masque’s ability is not optional. You can’t pick and chose which ability is ignored and which isn’t.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Madame Mask is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Villain affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #59 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a ruling for Madame Masque, here.

You can find a ruling about ‘When Fielded’ abilities being ignored, here.

You can find a ruling about Keyword abilities vs ‘When Fielded’ abilities here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I totally understand the confusion with this card, especially for newer players. I’ve gotten a few questions about her ability vs Keywords as well as the Collector question. Before they ruled on her officially, I was using the Global ruling as a basis for my ruling – which they used as well. When you use a Global on an opponent’s card, it’s not your opponent’s Global when you use it – you are the one using it. Same applies to borrowing character dice.

I’ve heard lots of argument on both sides for using Madame Masque over Wonder Woman: Reflections. There are lots of pros and cons and each player should weigh them individually for their own team and play style. Wonder Woman costs one more to purchase, but she also shuts down When Attacks abilities, like the nasty Bard and Guy Gardner. Wonder Woman has better stats, but does cost one more to field on level three. They’re both Mask characters. Madame Masque is a Villain and there are plenty of anti Villain cards. Wonder Woman has the Justice League affiliation, which really doesn’t matter in Modern Age, but you could loosely build around it in Golden Age.

Personally, I prefer Wonder Woman over Madame Masque, but each player should look at both of them and decide for themselves which they prefer. Madame Masque has her uses. She could be invaluable for a Villain only event!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Clix Fans!

 

Welcome to the next installment of my HeroClix Figure Spotlight series! For this month’s article, I chose a figure that I’ve used many times over to teach new players – Hulk #106 from The Mighty Thor starter!

Hulk TMT Starter

Figure Information

Point Value: 100/50 points
Dial Depth: 7 Clicks, 1-7 for 100 points and 5-7 for 50 points
Keywords: Avengers, Brute

Team Ability
AVENGERS:
When this character is given a MOVE action, modify speed +1.

Standard Powers/Abilities
They will be listed as Power: Click Number(s). This list does not include traited powers and abilities.

Movement
Leap/Climb: 1-7

Attack
Super Strength: 1-2, 5-7

Defense
Invincible: 1-3
Impervious: 4-7

Damage
Exploit Weakness: 3-4

Improved Abilities, Traits, and Special Powers
Hulk has one Trait.

Trait:
Hulk Smash
When Hulk moves, after resolutions he can use Quake at no cost.

Opinion and Strategy

There is something to be said for the simpler pieces. This particular piece has probably seen more play with my locals than any other individual piece. Now, this Hulk isn’t a super big meta piece, but he’s a great casual piece for all kinds of players. He’s got a nice 100 point dial, and his 50 point is okay, but there are better casual pieces for the same amount of points.

This is one of my favorite pieces to use when teaching new players. He doesn’t have a bunch of crazy abilities on him, but he has a really awesome Trait. He’s a great piece for beginners to use and learn about Traits and actions at ‘no cost’. His Leap/Climb is perfect for his Trait as well, and helps me to teach new players about Breakaway tactics.

I love that he has Invincible and Impervious because this is a great opportunity to show a new player the difference between the two – in action! His Exploit Weakness is great as well, though I wish he had it on his 50 point dial too. Super Strength is also very useful in teaching players about using Objects in a game and Knockback from an attack. Being able to knock a character back could set you up for a future Leap/Climb + Quake!

I can’t say enough good things about this particular Hulk. I like to pair him with the Iron Man from the Sidekick kit (100 points) and Hercules from The Mighty Thor starter (100 points) for a 300 point tutorial team.

Using two pieces from the same starter and a piece from the Sidekick kit has been very effective for me in introducing new players to HeroClix. They get a Sidekick set during the Sidekick event and then purchase a starter and now they have several possible team combinations for Avengers theme teams. If the Sidekick kits are no longer available, there is a Thor in the Starter that works too, but he has more special powers than I like for a teaching team. But Hulk is always the center focus for my teaching teams because he’s incredible!

What do you think of this figure?
Do you have a figure you would use in place of this one?
Is there a figure you would like me to Spotlight?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!

Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and sub for more HeroClix content!

     LLAPLive long, and Prob it!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Captain America: Superhero  from the Marvel Uncanny X-Men set.

W Captain America, Superhero

Ruling – Keyword

Heroic: When fielded, Captain America may pair up with a different Heroic character until the start of your next turn.”

WizKids Keywords Page:
Heroic: Dice with Heroic can pair up with other dice (different character) that you control that have the Heroic ability. Place paired up dice side by side. Heroic takes place at the same time a character is fielded. Dice may only be paired up with one other die (the new partner replaces the old one). They attack and block separately. 

Heroic acts as a When Fielded ability. When you field a character die with the Heroic keyword, you get to use that ability. Characters can be fielded by paying their fielding cost and moving them from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone, or by an ability that uses the term ‘field’ instead of swap, move, place, etc.

When you field a Captain America die, you may choose a different character die you control to be paired up with Captain America. The chosen die must also have the Heroic keyword.

If a character die is already paired with a different Heroic character die, the new pairing replaces the previous one, ending any static abilities from the previous pairing.

Each paired die may choose to attack or block and does not require the other die to attack or block (unless the ability would state otherwise).

The Heroic ability will only apply to the two character dice that paired up. Other copies of the same character dice in the Field Zone will not be affected when you use the Heroic ability on a different die. For example: I have two Storm dice with Heroic in the Field Zone. When I field a Captain America die, he can choose one of the Storm dice to pair up with. The Storm die that was not chosen will not get the benefit of being paired.

If one of the paired dice leave the Field Zone, the other die looses any static bonus for being paired up because the paired die is no longer in the Field Zone. Any applied effects would remain.

Unless otherwise stated, the Heroic pairing lasts until the start of your next turn. Using the Heroic keyword is optional.

Ruling – Ability (From Being Paired)

While Captain America is paired up, he and his partner each gain +4A and +4D.

When you field Captain America and choose to pair him with another Heroic character, each of those two dice will have +4A and +4D until your next turn begins. For example: I have a level one Storm die (2A/1D) with Heroic in the Field Zone. I field a level two Captain America (5A/4D) and pair his die with my Storm die. They both gain +4A and +4D until the start of my next turn.

This Heroic bonus is a static bonus. If one of the paired dice leave the Field Zone before the effect ends, the bonus will end.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Captain America is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #100 of 126.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)

You can find a rulings for Heroic, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I went old-school this week, back to Golden Age stuff! Interesting facts – there are only 13 characters with the Heroic keyword in the entire game and they’re all from Uncanny X-Men.

I realized I had never featured a Heroic character… there’s a reason for that. I know there are folks out there that have tried their hardest to make Heroic work. It’s an ability that sounds awesome on paper but is so very terrible in execution. I wanted Heroic to be cool and I tried so hard… but it’s not good for constructed casual events and certainly not for any Golden Age competitive formats. It’s not even good in an Uncanny X-Men sealed event. But, I’ve had some newer players ask about some older cards and Heroic popped up.

Out of all the 13 Heroic dudes out there, Captain America and Storm are probably the better ones. And for all my trying with Heroic, back in the Uncanny X-Men days, it was never fun to use. This keyword caused me so much frustration and irritation. It didn’t feel worth it to try and make it work because of all the frustration.

But everyone has to try at least once. Go ahead and check out all 13 Heroic dudes and find at least two that you like (because you literally have to have two of them and at least one in the Field to even kick-start this ability). Give them a go and let me know how it turns out!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Polaris: Polar Opposites  from the Marvel X-Men First Class set.

Polaris

Ruling – Ability

While Polaris is active, when an opponent uses a Global Ability or Action die, your character dice gain +2D (until end of turn).

Polaris’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Regardless of how many of her dice are in the field, when her triggering condition is met, the effect from her ability will give your character dice +2D. The While Active on her card is there to show that you would not get +2D for each of her dice in the Field Zone, only that she needs to be active for her ability to work.

When your opponent uses an Action die or a Global, while Polaris is in the Field Zone, your character dice will get +2D until the end of the turn. For example: If your opponent uses an Action die or Global, your active character dice will get +2D until the end of turn. If your opponent uses another Action die or a Global in that same turn, your active character dice will get another +2D. This effect will end at the end of the turn that it was applied.

Character dice that enter the Field Zone after Polaris’s ability has been triggered will not gain the +2D. The character dice must already be in the Field Zone to gain the defense boost.

Polaris’s ability will only trigger if your opponent uses an Action die or Global.

Polaris’s ability will also give her +2D because her ability does specify ‘other’ character dice.

If your opponent uses a Action die or Global ability that would KO one of your character dice, that die could be KO’d, but only if the damage was enough to KO the character die after Polaris’s effect is applied. For example: Your opponent uses the Global on Unstable Canister: Basic Action Card and targets one of your Sidekick dice that has 1D. Polaris’s ability will trigger and grant that Sidekick +2D. If Polaris is KO’d by an Action die or Global, her ability is still in the queue, meaning your other character dice will get the +2D.

If an Action or Global effect, like the one on the non-Basic Action Prismatic Spray: Lesser Spell is used, Polaris will not be able to trigger her ability. Again, this is because the ability on the Action die must fully resolve first. Polaris’s ability would be up next, but because her card text has been lost or blanked, she no longer has an ability to resolve.

Polaris’s ability is not optional. If her ability is triggered (and not blanked), your character dice will be given +2D.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Polaris is a Shield type character card.
~ She has the X-Men affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Common and is #25 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I would like this ability if there was a more reliable trigger. Her ability is way too easy to play around and her fielding costs are too expensive. Her stats are not bad at all, but her fielding costs are not in line with her stats. I really like Polaris as a character, but this version of her is not all that amazing.

In a draft, this card is not terrible. I’ve played with her before and she’s really handy to have when your opponent is using Action dice on their turn and they forget she’s in the field. Her ability boosts the defense of your character dice, making them great blockers. But outside of sealed or limited events, I don’t see her getting much play. Her ability is very conditional and even though Cosmic Cube is a big deal, boosting defense on character dice is not going help against those type of teams. I don’t think she’s got a place in the current competitive meta scene.

I saw some folks asking about this card recently and some of my locals had questions about her ability when we were drafting this set. I thought I should go ahead and feature her card since she’s been turning up in conversations lately.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Punisher: Bringing Down The Exchange from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Punisher, Bringing Down The Exchange

Ruling – Ability

While Punisher is active, each time a character die you control is damaged during an opponent’s turn, deal 1 damage to target opponent.

Punisher’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Punisher’s ability will only trigger while she’s active during an opponent’s turn and only when a friendly character die is dealt damage. For example: I have two Punisher dice and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone on my opponent’s turn. My opponent uses a Global ability to deal two damage to one of my Sidekick dice. My opponent will be dealt one damage.

Punisher’s ability will trigger for each instance of damage to each character die, not necessarily for each point of damage. For example: My opponent has a Force Beam basic action die with a burst. They use it on their turn to deal two damage to all three of my character dice. I have an active Punisher die and three character dice that are damaged. Punisher will deal three damage to my opponent. If my opponent had used Force Beam without the burst, the damage that Punisher would deal would still have been three damage.

Even if Punisher is KO’d by damage, her ability will still trigger. This is because she was still active when her ability was triggered.

Punisher’s ability is not optional and will trigger each time one of your character dice are dealt damage during an opponent’s turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Punisher is a Bolt type character card.
~ She does not have an affiliation.
~ She has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Rare and is #119 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities triggering when the character is KO’d, here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

Pairing this card with Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders could be a very nasty combo. But, I don’t think this particular combo will see any kind of competitive play because Cube teams usually work much, much faster. Punisher’s purchase cost is the biggest drawback for competitive play. I wouldn’t be surprised if it popped up in some local scenes though. I also would not be surprised to see folks using Punisher as a Cube-deterrent card either. Why would I want to use my Cube while my opponent has an active Punisher, just to help kill myself?! You aren’t really relying on your opponent to damage your characters with that type of strategy. You would want to save energy for Globals that deal damage to target character dice, and damage your own characters during the turn your opponent used a Cube or two.

If Babs or Hulk: Green Goliath were still major contenders in the competitive scene, I’d say Punisher might have a place. Most major competitive scenes have drifted towards direct damage to the player instead of going for the character dice. Punisher’s defense leaves something to be desired for a character that has a While Active ability because she can be very easily KO’d. She’s also an easy target for DWiz, Cold Gun, Shriek, and even Blob.

Most casual scenes don’t see those crazy blanking cards, so Punisher definitely has a chance to see some play in those areas. Give her a try some time on a casual team!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Thor: A God Amongst Men from the Marvel The Mighty Thor set.

W Thor, A God Amongst Men

Ruling – Ability

While Thor is active, when you would take damage, redirect that damage to Thor.

Thor’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

While you have at least one Thor die in the Field Zone, when you would take damage, you must redirect that damage to Thor. Redirecting damage changes the intended target of the damage to Thor, but it does not change the source of the damage. For example: My opponent uses a Get Thee Hence action die and targets me. I would take one damage, but it is instead redirected to one of my Thor dice instead.

If you have more than one Thor die in the Field Zone and a source would deal more than one damage to you, you would choose one Thor die to redirect that source’s damage to. You can’t split a source’s damage unless an ability or effect specifically tells you that you can.

If there are multiple sources dealing damage to you simultaneously, such as from unblocked attackers, you would redirect all of that damage to your Thor die. If you had multiple Thor dice in the Field Zone, you can choose a different Thor die for a different source. For example: My opponent is attacking me with a Hulk (7A), another Hulk (6A), and a Sidekick (1A). I have two Thor dice in the Field Zone on level one (6D) and level two (8D). I do not block so that all of the attackers would deal damage to me. I now redirect that damage from each source to whichever Thor die I choose for that source’s damage. I redirect the seven damage from one Hulk to the level one Thor die. I redirect the six damage from the other Hulk to my level two Thor die. I then redirect the one damage from the Sidekick to my level one Thor die. Now that I have redirected the damage, it resolves simultaneously. My level one Thor die will take eight damage and be KO’d, and my level two Thor die will take six damage but not be KO’d. I could have redirected all three sources of damage to one Thor die, or redirected the damage to both Thor dice in such a way that they would both be KO’d.

When you redirect damage from an attacker that’s not blocked, it does not become blocked. The attacker is still unblocked and will go Out of Play when the damage is resolved, then to the Used Pile during Clean Up.

Attacking characters that are not blocked will not take damage from Thor because he’s not blocking those characters. The damage is being moved from the player to Thor.

Thor can redirect any type of damage, but he can’t redirect loss of life. Losing life and paying life are not considered damage.

Thor’s ability is not optional. When you take damage – any damage – it is redirected to a Thor die. Thor’s ability would have the word ‘may’ in it if it were optional to use.

Ruling – Global

Global: Pay [Bolt] [Bolt]. Once per turn, deal 1 damage to target character die.”

Thor’s Global is only able to be used once per turn, per Thor card. If you and your opponent both have the same Thor card, you may use each Global once.

To use this Global, you must spend two Bolt energy. You may spend one die showing two Bolts or two dice showing any combination of Bolt and Wild energy. Energy spent for this Global on your turn will go Out of Play. Energy spent for this Global on your opponent’s turn will go to your Used Pile.

Thor’s Global can only target a character die, unless an effect says otherwise. This Global does target, so if an ability prevents a character die from being targeted, you can not target that character die. If there are no legal targets, you can’t use Thor’s Global, because you can’t use a Global for no effect.

Thor’s Global will deal one damage to a target character die. If the character’s defense is one, then the die is KO’d when it’s damaged by this Global.

This Global can be used by either player during the Main Step or during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Thor is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is an Uncommon and is #87 of 136.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There is not a ruling for this specific card.

Relevant Rulebook Text on Redirecting:
“Other powers redirect a game effect (usually damage). When an effect is redirected, the target of the effect changes from its original target to the new one as described in the game text…”

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

This is a whopper of character and I thought he’d be a great feature this week since I’ve seen some discussion about him recently. His Global is a little lack luster when compared to other Globals that deal direct damage to characters, because his has a ‘once per turn’ limitation and it cost two Bolt energy. Unstable Canister outshines his Global, so it’s safe to say that we won’t be seeing him on teams for that reason – unless he’s the only option for that type of Global.

But that ability of his is just silly. His ability is like a supercharged Ronin: Between Employers. Ronin can only redirect one source per turn, but he is much cheaper at a cost of three versus Thor’s seven. Thor’s purchase cost is appropriate for his ability, but it’s still a little expensive for competitive play. If you have a way to effectively ramp up to seven energy to buy Thor, I would have to wonder why you’re buying him and not a win condition. If you’re playing casual settings, you may see some folks playing this card. I highly doubt we’ll be seeing him outside of the casual scene, even though he’s got an ability worthy of a Norse God.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to find a card? Check out The Dice Coalition‘s Team Builder!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

The Exiles are a group of various time displaced characters that are trying to correct issues that have occurred in the various timelines. I’m not a huge fan of time travel, time displacement, etc, but I like many of the characters associated with the Exiles. I know very little about the affiliation or what those characters have done while part of the Exiles.

Participation Prize – Blink: Warp-Powered Crystals

Participation cards are usually given to all players that participate in the event. I usually give out the participation prizes to all players, even if they received one from the previous OP event. This may be different at each venue based on how many players and kits the store has available.

W Blink, Warp-Powered Crystals

This is a direct reprint of the common card from the X-Men First Class set. Blink: Warp-Powered Crystals is somewhat pricey for what her ability does. Her ability requires you to pay a Mask to use it, which is appropriate. I just wish she had a purchase cost of four instead. If her ability didn’t have a cost associated with it, then the purchase cost of five would feel more appropriate.

Her ability makes her a great blocker, because if she’s KO’d, you can bring her right back. You need to keep a Mask in your Reserve Pool for her ability, but it’s not stretch with all the ways there are to manipulate dice. Having her around could make your opponent think twice about attacking. They could lose their character die while yours comes right back. I think she’s a good Participation Prize and I also think she’s a decent card choice for a newer player to experiment with. I don’t think she has the potential to make her way into any major meta scenes at the moment.

Fellowship Prize – Morph: Exile

The Fellowship Prize is an additional prize for a player, usually one that hasn’t won another prize yet. We used to take votes, but that took way too long. Now, we have each player (except the first place player) roll a D20 in the order of their standings and the player that rolls the highest number, gets the Fellowship card. We also require that players be present to be able to roll for the Fellowship Prize. Some stores give the Fellowship Prize to the player in last place and I’ve even seen stores draw names from a bucket. How you determine the Fellowship player is different for each venue so check with your FLGS to see how they choose their Fellowship player. 

W Morph, Exile

Morph: Exile is a brand new card, and you can find his dice in the X-Men First Class set. This guy is a great way to protect your Mimic: Borrowed Talent dice from being pinged out of the Field! Lots of folks like to use Mimic with their Sidekick dice for ramp, but that means Mimic is a 1A/1D die – making him easy to get rid of. With this Morph, that’s no longer as big an issue! Morph can absorb two or three times as much damage as Mimic if he copied a Sidekick die. Not only is he Mimic’s protector, but he can protect your Blink if you don’t have a Mask to bring her back with.

First Place Prize – Sabretooth: Exile

The first place cards are given to the player that wins the event. These cards are typically new cards and not alternate art or reprint cards.

W Sabretooth, Exile

Sabretooth: Exile is also a brand new card and you can find his dice in the X-Men First Class set. I love that he only cost four to purchase, especially since you need him to boost your other Exiles attack and defense. I have never liked expensive boost characters. I like being able a character like this without needing to ramp up for it. Sabretooth is super awesome because he not only boosts your other Exiles, but he gives the bonus to himself as well! It’s a While Active, so only one Sabretooth die is needed in the Field Zone. But, combine him with a card that gives him Overcrush and you’ve got a heavy hitting dude! You could even use Mimic to copy him and then you’ve got more heavy hitting dudes with Morph to protect them.

Conclusion

These cards are all pretty or cool looking, and they all have decent abilities, especially Morph and Sabretooth for an Exiles team. I’m pretty sure you won’t see these cards much in competitive play, but I think they have the best chance to shine in casual. I want to build an Exiles team with Sabretooth, Morph, Mimic, and Sasquatch! But I have to get my hands on Morph and Sabretooth first.

If you want to play with any of these cards, you should check your FLGS for events! I definitely recommend playing to try and get these cards because they are worth having, especially if you like building fun teams!

Thanks for reading and be sure to follow me on social media and YouTube!
Need to look up a card? Check out DM RetroBox for all you card searching needs!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Cosmic Cube: Energy of the Beyonders from the Marvel Guardians of the Galaxy set.

W Cosmic Cube, Energy of the Beyonders

Ruling – Ability

Whenever an Action die or character ability deals damage this turn, increase that damage by 2.

The die for this card is a non-basic action die. Any card that references an action die could affect this die. When you use this die on your turn, it goes Out of Play until the Clean Up Step. The effect of the die will remain until end of turn.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is applied to each instance of damage. For example, if a character ability allows you to divide ability damage among two character dice, you will increase the damage dealt to each of those dice by two.

Any time an Action die or character ability deals damage, it will be increased by two for each Cosmic Cube die that was used that turn. For example, if two Cosmic Cube dice were used, damage from an Action die or character ability will be increased by a total of four.

The damage boost from Cosmic Cube is added to the damage total first, then the damage is applied to the target of the Action die or character ability. Reducing or preventing the initial damage from the Action die or character ability will not prevent the additional damage from Cosmic Cube.

This ability will also apply to any Action die character ability that your opponent can use on your turn. For example: If you you use one Cosmic Cube die and your opponent has Batgirl: Babs active, when you deal damage to her, she will increase her damage by two. Typically, an opponent will not be able to use an action die on your turn, but if they have a way to do so, damage dealt with that action die will also be increased by two.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Cosmic Cube is a Bolt type non-basic action card.
~ It has no affiliation.
~ It has a Max Dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #86 of 124.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
There are rulings for this card, here and here.

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion

I don’t have much to say about this card, and not because it’s a bad card. There is no denying that this card is super powerful, especially with the new Attune ability that debuted in the Tomb of Annihilation set. There are plenty of crazy builds around this card, and that makes Bishop: Butterfly Effect from the X-Men First Class set a very important character for your team. He will prevent all of the non-combat damage you would be subjected to, until they Shriek him.

I would not recommend using this card in smaller, local scenes that are mostly casual. This is definitely a powerful and meta worthy card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Need to look up a card? Be sure to check out DM RetroBox! It’s the best searchable card database I’ve found for when I’m at the computer.

Roll on, Dice Masters!