Comic Box Recap for December 4, 2019

Posted: December 5, 2019 in Comic, Comic Box Recap
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Greetings Fellow Comic Fans!

 

In my Comic Box Recap article series, I want to talk about each of the comics that I read from my subscriptions that week. I don’t always read all the comics I order, because I’m only collecting some of them. Others are ones I may have started reading, but lost interest in but I still order them. You never know when you may want to go back and revisit a series at a later date.

*** SPOILER WARNING ***
Do not read any further if you are trying to avoid SPOILERS!
IDW
Star Trek: Year Five #8

I don’t know where to start. I guess, with what I didn’t like – the Tholians floating in space is an issue for me. I’m still bothered that they’re floating in space without a heat suit or something to keep their body temperatures up. I don’t know why it bothers me as much as it does, but it’s definitely something I wish I could find an explanation for.

I really liked how the gender identity discussion was handled. It showed two different viewpoints being discussed in a civil manner. It’s a shame that people can’t have more discussions like this. Neither Ayal or Sulu are wrong in their view of gender identity. Gender identity is a personal thing and it doesn’t ultimately define who we are as people. It was a great moment that I enjoyed reading, but I felt like it was rushed. I wanted more romance build up between the two. I think that’s just my repressed romantic trying to surface.

And then, OH MY GOODNESS – Isis and Gary Seven! I didn’t think that the shapeshifter would actually be Isis! That’s crazy awesome! This series just got a million times more interesting and there are so many things buzzing around in my head. I am so excited for issue nine!

Conclusion

I want to see more of the relationship between Sulu and Ayal. I also want to see what’s going on with Gary and Isis and why they’re back. So much excitement and my brain continues to remind me of the Tholians floating in space… I still want an answer to that.

What are you reading?
Is there a series I should be reading?
You can drop me a line here or find me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!
Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and subscribe!

A good book is the best vacation!

Leave a comment