Greetings Fellow Comic Fans!

 

In my Comic Box Recap article series, I want to talk about each of the comics that I read from my subscriptions that week. I don’t always read all the comics I order, because I’m only collecting some of them. Others are ones I may have started reading, but lost interest in but I still order them. You never know when you may want to go back and revisit a series at a later date.

*** SPOILER WARNING ***
Do not read any further if you are trying to avoid SPOILERS!
Marvel
Captain Marvel #12

Well, I was thrown for a loop in this issue. I thought Star was going to be the dark Captain Marvel. Guess what – I was WRONG! This issue starts with an epic fight between Carol and Thor, which ultimately ends with Thor’s beheading. We don’t actually see Carol do the deed, so it’s possible that it could be a facade, but there’s no way to really know until we’re told for sure. But something is obviously going on because Carol does NOT want to hurt Thor. But in the end, she delivers Thor’s head to Vox Supreme. If you read Death of the Inhumans, you’d know that the Vox are the next stage of evolution for Inhumans. They were engineered by the Kree to rid their subjects of the humanity in them. The Vox leader is Vox Supreme, who we see here – and he’s terrifying! We know that Carol is part Kree, but because she’s on the side of Humanity, she probably has no ability to control or manage Vox Supreme.

I want to know how this all started. How did he get Carol under his influence? Did she really kill Thor? Is she really going to kill the other Avengers? We know comics like to resurrect characters all the time, so if the Avengers die, are they going to stay dead? Where was Vox Supreme hiding? Is the Kree behind this? So many questions and more keep coming to mind. It’s times like this that I wish I was able to read the entire story in one sitting, but I have to wait for the next issue to release!

Heycat Comics
David #1

Well, I wish there was more to this first issue because I’m not completely sure where this is going. The writing isn’t bad, and it’s a good issue as far as background context goes, but I need more. It’s a tragic story about a kid who’s zombie-like. The cause was from a curse put on his mother while she was pregnant with him, by a woman in New Orleans. His mother died in childbirth and his father hid him from the world. His father died and so he went looking for the woman that cursed his mother. We end with him burning her shop down. So, I’m confused as to where this story is going. I need issue two to be able to make a solid opinion on the story as a whole.

I love the art for the story, and it’s in black and white – not color. I like some stories being done in black and white, like this one. I think the decision to not do color was a good one for this title.

IDW
Star Trek: Discovery – Aftermath #3

This story was good. It wasn’t amazing or great, but it was a good filler story for the gap after season two. It gives us the events that led Spock to his decision for returning to Starfleet and it also shows us more of L’rell’s resolve and her love for the Klingon Empire. She will do what it takes to protect the Empire, even if it means she has to destroy her own ship.

The Shadows of Kahless seem like a group of radicals and homegrown terrorists. I wonder if they’re going to show up anymore in future Star Trek content? If you like seeing additional story material, this series is a good one to read.

Image
Outer Darkness #12

WOAH!!! I thought the crew was DEAD! I had no clue that it was a hallucination. Well played, Mr. Layman. Did Afu Chan know they weren’t dead when he did the art for issue 11? If he did, he didn’t put any indicators in the art for that previous issue. I was also convinced Admiral Prakash was dead too. Surprise! He’s not! My heart can’t take this! Admiral Prakash kind of planned on Rigg pulling these shenanigans. He didn’t plan on his daughter staying on the Charon though so there’s a wrench thrown into his plan now, whatever that plan may be. I think it’s something to do with bringing Rochelle back. This should be a wild ride in season two!

We still have a pregnant, time-displaced nun hiding on the ship, and Satalis with his own ship now en-route to catch the Charon. I’m so excited to see what happens with all of this! Everything I thought I knew is a lie! Rigg isn’t as cold and cruel as I thought he was – because he didn’t actually murder a bunch of folks.

I want to see this as a TV series… someone please make this. This is too good to not be a series!

Conclusion

I enjoyed all the books this week, and even had an additional book – David. I picked that book up at the Memphis Comic and Fantasy Convention on November 16, so I worked it into this week’s recap. That weekend was the release of David. I wasn’t disappointed with any of the books this week. Outer Darkness is the gem of the bunch with Captain Marvel shining almost as bright.

What are you reading?
Is there a series I should be reading?
You can drop me a line here or find me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty!
Thanks for reading and remember to like, follow, and subscribe!

A good book is the best vacation!

Leave a comment