Archive for the ‘Rules’ Category

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Batarang: What Goes Around Comes Around from the DC Batman set.

W Batarang, What Goes Around Comes Around

Ruling – Ability

When you use this action die, you deal three damage to one target Villain character die. If you use a second Batarang die, you can choose to target the same die again if it’s still active in the Field Zone, or you can choose a new Villain to target.

You can target opposing Villains or your own Villains with Batarang action dice.

A Sidekick die or character die that does not have a printed Villain affiliation on their card can be legal targets if they have been given the Villain affiliation through a game effect. For example: Superman is not a Villain. I can pay a Mask energy and a Fist energy for the Global on the Monument to Evil: Basic Action Card, and target Superman so he gains the Villain affiliation. This makes him a legal target for Batarang.

A character with a printed Villain affiliation can have the Villain affiliation removed by a card effect and no longer be a legal target for Batarang. Removing the Villain affiliation will not affect Batarang dice that have been used prior to the removal of the affiliation. For example: My Joker (Villain), with a defense of six, has been hit with a Batarang for three damage. In the same turn, I can remove his affiliation with Ra’s al Ghul‘s Global and he will still have three damage on him until the Clean Up Step. He can no longer be targeted by Batarang dice this turn, unless he regains the Villain affiliation.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Ruling – Boomerang Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Boomerang: Action dice with boomerang are re-rolled after they’re used. If they reveal an action face, add them to your Prep Area.

 

After you roll the action die, if it shows an action face (non-energy face), you get to add it to your Prep Area. If it shows an energy face, the die will move Out of Play as normal. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Boomerang is mandatory. If you use an Action Die with Boomerang, you must reroll it.

Action and Energy Faces 2

 

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Batarang is a Bolt type non-Basic Action card.
~ It does not have an affiliation.
~ It has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 124.

Batarang is a special Action called a non-Basic Action. You place this card in a character slot on your team. Your opponent can not purchase your non-Basic Action dice.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Batarang during the Main Step and the Attack Step.

Game State
~ I have two Batarang dice showing action faces in my Reserve Pool. I have a level three Huntress (4A/3D) die and a level three Hawkgirl (4A/4D) die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level three Killer Croc (7A/7D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Batarang dice, targeting my Huntress die. Huntress takes three damage, KO’ing her and sending her to my Prep Area. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an energy face and is placed Out of Play.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they choose to not use any Globals, passing priority back to me.
~ We now move into the Attack Step – or – Skip the Attack Step and go straight to Clean Up. I decide that I want to attack, so we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Hawkgirl to attack, moving her into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Killer Croc to block Hawkgirl, moving Killer Croc into the Attack Zone and placing him in front of Hawkgirl.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I use my second Batarang die and target Killer Croc. Killer Croc takes three damage and since it wasn’t enough to KO him, he remains in the Attack Zone blocking Hawkgirl. I must use the Boomerang ability on my Batarang die, rerolling Batarang. It lands on an action face and is added in my Prep Area.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Hawkgirl deals her four attack to Killer Croc’s seven defense, but he already has three damage on him. This will be enough to KO him. Killer Croc deals his seven attack to Hawkgirl’s four defense, which is enough to KO her. They will both go their respective Prep Areas during Clean Up.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. Killer Croc is placed in my opponent’s Prep Area and Hawkgirl is placed in my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I think Boomerang is a really neat ability, but I have yet to play it. I’ve seen plenty of Unstable Miracle teams floating around, but I want to use a die that already has Boomerang, like Batarang. I’ll have to use Batarang if I want to play with Boomerang because it’s the only action card with the Keyword and all three versions have Boomerang.

I am definitely looking forward to adding this to my “FREEZE!” team. While useful against opposing Villains, I think it’ll be much more of an asset when it comes to KO’ing your own Villains that have When Fielded abilities. Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries has a cool When Fielded ability that puts Stun Tokens on your opponent’s character cards. Sometimes, it’s hard to get those type of character dice back into your Prep Area to reuse quickly. Batarang definitely provides a viable option that your opponent won’t have access to, like Unstable Canister. Mr. Freeze has a defense line of 2/3/4, making him a prime target for Batarang. The only level that would give you trouble is level three.

Some other characters that I would love to pair this Batarang with are Huntress: No Rest for the Wicked and Firefly: Ted Carson. I absolutely love the idea of using Huntress to potentially KO their dudes and then field Firefly to blast them for some damage. Batarang would help cycle those two in the early game because they’re both Villains and make for great targets for Batarang.

And if blasting your own Villains into the Prep Area for next turn wasn’t good enough, Batarang has the potential to come back too, thanks to Boomerang!

I think all versions are great for casual level play and especially for drafting. I’m not sure it has what it takes to stand alone in the Modern Age competitive meta, but I’m holding out hope that someone finds a creative way to use this card.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool and WizKids for the use of their sites.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at The Question: Find the Answers from the DC Batman set.

W The Question, Find the Answers

Ruling – Gadgeteer Keyword

From the WizKids Keywords page:

Gadgeteer: When a character die with Gadgeteer attacks, you may roll a gear die or an action die with the Continuous keyword in your Used Pile.  If you roll a non-energy face, you may move it unto your Field Zone.  Otherwise, return it to your Used Pile.

I think there is a typo in on the WizKids Keywords page. Where it says ‘you may move it unto your Field Zone’, I think it’s supposed to say into and not unto. But I’m certain we all know what they mean.

Gadgeteer is a new Keyword in the Batman set. This ability only works when the character with Gadgeteer attacks and only if you have a Gear or Continuous action die in your Used Pile. Gear dice will have the Equip Keyword on their card.

You cannot use the Gadgeteer ability for a non-Continuous action die.

When your Gadgeteer character attacks, you get to choose a qualifying action die from your Used Pile and roll it. It can be a Basic Action die or a Non-Basic Action die, so long as it’s Gear or has the Continuous keyword.

After you roll the action die, if it shows an Action face (non-energy face), you get to move it into your Field Zone. Moving a die is not the same as using it, much like moving a character die is not the same as fielding it. If it shows an energy face, you must return it to the Used Pile. The image below shows where you can find the different faces on the Die Face Reference part of the card.

Action and Energy Faces

This ability is optional and not mandatory because it uses ‘may’ in the text. If your Gadgeteer character attacks and you have a Continuous die in your Used Pile, you are not required to use the Gadgeteer ability. If you forget to use it and the Attack Step has moved into the Assign Blockers portion, you have missed your opportunity to use Gadgeteer.

Ruling – Ability

The Question’s other ability works like a While Active ability even though it doesn’t say While Active. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

 

while-active-light

Whenever you use an action die, The Question gains +1A and +1D until the end of the turn. You can use multiple action dice on the same turn and his ability will trigger for each one.

What is considered ‘using’ an Action Die?
~ When you have a non-Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool and you use it for it’s effect, moving it Out of Play, that is considered using it.
~ When you have a Continuous action die showing an action face in your Reserve Pool, using it means putting it into the Field Zone. When you activate a Continuous action die for it’s effect, that is not the same as using the action die because the die was used by fielding it.
~ Abilities that say ‘use an action die’ or ‘use the effect of an action die’ are all considered to be using an action die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ The Question is a Mask type character card.
~ He has the Justice League affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #75 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Gadgeteer and Using Action Dice.

Game State
~ I have one level three Question (2A/4D) die in the Field Zone. I also have two Kryptonite: Green Death dice, one Unstable Canister die, and one Captain Cold’s Cold Gun: Frozen “Firearm” die, all showing action faces, in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ It is currently during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I use one of my Kryptonite dice, moving it Out of Play, and target one of my opponent’s Sidekick dice. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D.
~ I use my other Kryptonite die, moving it Out of Play, and target my opponent’s Sidekick die again. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +2A and +2D.
~ I use my Unstable Canister die, moving it Out of Play, and target that same Sidekick die which KO’s it. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +3A and +3D.
~ I use my Cold Gun die, moving it to the Field Zone. The Question’s ability triggers and he gains +1A and +1D, which brings his total to +4A and +4D.
~ I activate my Cold Gun die, moving it Out of Play, to target my opponent’s second Sidekick die which KO’s it. This does not trigger Question’s ability.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Question (6A/8D) to attack, moving him to the Attack Zone.
~ The Question’s Gadgeteer ability triggers when he attacks and I check my Used Pile for Continuous action dice. I have one Turtle Van and one Bat-Signal die in my Used Pile and I choose the Turtle Van Basic Action and roll it. It lands on an Action face and I move it into my Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not have any blockers to assign.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Action Dice or Globals.
~ My opponent does not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ The Question assigns all six of his attack to my opponent and my opponent loses six life. The Question die is immediately moved Out of Play because he attacked and was not blocked.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability). The Question will lose all of the +1A and +1D bonuses he gained this turn.
~ All damage is cleared.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling about similar text for using an action die, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about Continuous actions and abilities, here.
You can find a relevant ruling about While Active text being missing from the card, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I like this version of Question better than the other two versions. It’s easy to build up lots of action dice for a single turn with Boomerang or even Scarlet Witch: Hex Bolts from the Doctor Strange Team Pack. Since I love Overcrush so much, using Proton Cannon just makes sense, because his stats can become massive! I love that he has Gadgeteer too, which can help you get your Continuous action die back in play. He’s got a great purchase cost and while his attack stats are not the best, his stats can get a boost and even be swapped with Kal-L’s Global. I think this card is great for casual play and possibly good for a rogue team in Modern Age competitive play too.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Captain America: Anti-Reg from the Marvel Civil War Starter set. I wanted to go with a patriotic theme since today is Independence Day here in the US, and what better character to choose than Captain America himself!

04 Captain America, Anti-Reg

Ruling – Resistance Ability

Resistance is a keyword that can be found in the Civil War set. A character with Resistance will grant you some kind of benefit if a character you control was KO’d. These benefits from the different Resistance abilities will vary and the keyword can be found on characters, Basic Actions, and non-Basic Actions.

Any game effect that KO’s a character could trigger a Resistance ability. For example, Fabricate – if you have Captain America active and you Fabricate two characters, you will gain the benefit from his Resistance ability and gain one life at the end of your turn. Another example would be if your opponent used the Unstable Canister Global during your turn to KO one of your Sidekick dice while you have Captain America active.

When you Sacrifice a character die, that is not the same as KO’ing them, which will not trigger a Resistance ability.

If a character with Regenerate is successful in regenerating, you will not gain the Resistance ability. Regenerate is a considered a KO replacement effect.

Captain America’s Resistance ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Captain America’s Resistance ability says that as long as he’s active at the end of your turn, if a character die you control was KO’d this turn, you gain one life. This ability only checks that the requirements were met and not how many times they were met.

This ability is not optional and you must gain life if the Resistance ability was triggered. You cannot go above 20 life, so if you’re already at 20 life, you will not gain life.

Ruling – Ability

Captain America has a second ability on his card and it is also a While Active ability. At the end of your turn, as long as Captain America is active, you spin each of your Captain America dice up one level.

Dice Levels

In the picture above, you can see the sides of the dice as shown on the bottom of Captain America’s card. All character dice levels are displayed in the same place on character cards. The first three images are of the energy faces and do not have levels. The first character face is Level 1, the second character face is Level 2, and the third character face is Level 3. This is the same for all character dice, except for basic Sidekick dice. Basic Sidekick dice don’t have a character card and while they are in the Field Zone, they’re only Level 1.

If an ability instructs you to spin a character die to a different level, always reference the character card to confirm the correct level, then spin that character die accordingly. Basic Sidekick dice do not have multiple levels and they cannot spin to a different level.

This ability is not an optional ability. At the end of your turn, you must spin all of your active Captain America dice up one level from their current level. A level two Captain America die will spin up to level three and a level one die will spin up to level two. Any level three Captain America dice will not be affected by this ability because they are at the maximum level for a character die.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Captain America is a Shield type character card.
~ He has the Avengers affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #4 of 142.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Triggering Captain America’s abilities.

Game State
~ I have a level one and a level two Captain America die in the Field Zone. I also have a Sidekick die.
~ My opponent has two Sidekick dice in the Field Zone.
~ My Attack Step has just begun.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Sidekick die and my level one Captain America die to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent decides to block with both of their Sidekick dice.
~ My opponent assigns the first Sidekick to block my attacking Sidekick, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my attacking Sidekick.
~ My opponent assigns the second Sidekick to block my attacking Captain America die, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my attacking Captain America die.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ My Sidekick deals one damage to the blocking Sidekick and the blocking Sidekick deals one damage to my Sidekick. Both will be KO’d.
~ My Captain America die deals two damage to the Sidekick die that’s blocking him, and that Sidekick deals one damage to Captain America. Captain America has a defense of four, so that one damage will not KO him. The Sidekick will be KO’d because it only has a defense of one.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d by combat damage during the Attack Step are now placed in the Prep Area. My opponents two Sidekick dice go to their Prep Area and my Sidekick goes to my Prep Area.
~ Characters blocked, but not KO’d are removed from the Attack Zone, but stay in the Field Zone. The Attack Zone is part of the Field Zone, but only attacking and blocking characters can be in the Attack Zone.
~ All effects end unless otherwise specified (like a While Active or ‘End of Turn’ ability).
~ All damage is cleared, so Captain America will no longer have the one damage from the Sidekick.
~ End of turn abilities will resolve. Captain America’s Resistance ability will trigger and allow me to gain one life if my life total is below 20 because a character that I control was KO’d this turn. His other ability triggers as well and my level one Captain America die spins up to level two and my level two Captain America die spins up to level three. Since both abilities happen at the same time and I control both abilities, I can choose the order in which they resolve.
~ My turn is now over and my opponent’s turn will begin.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

This is one of my favorite Captain America cards that is currently legal for Modern Age. I love the art, love the die, and really dig the ability on it. There are plenty of ways to KO your Sidekick dice, like a force block Global, Fabricate, or even a burn Global. Captain America is one of those cards that just dares your opponent to Unstable Canister Global your little dudes. When they do and Cap sees it happen, you gain life back! I have yet to really be able to play with this card outside of Limited constructed events that we held for Civil War. I think I may try to add him onto a current Lockout League build I’m working on for Saturday. I don’t think he’s necessarily worthy of a competitive team spot, but I’ve seen much less deserving cards on highly successful teams in the past. I hope someone sees what a gem this guy can be and tries using him. His major downside is that atrocious fielding cost, but at least he’s not really expensive to purchase. A four cost character that just needs to stay in the Field is not a terrible purchase. I think the best place for this Cap to shine is in the casual and Limited areas.

I also want to take a moment to say Happy Independence Day to all my fellow Dice Masters here in the US. I hope that everyone has a safe and fun holiday!

captain-america-wwii-pose-with-flag-5469

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Mr. Freeze: Dr. Victor Fries from the DC Batman set.

W Mr. Freeze, Dr. Victor Fries

Ruling – Ability

Mr. Freeze has a When Fielded ability. A When Fielded ability will trigger when that character die is ‘fielded’ either by paying its fielding cost and placing it into the Field Zone from the Reserve Pool, or when an ability allows you to ‘field’ that character die. An ability that swaps, moves, places, etc. will not trigger a When Fielded ability.

Mr. Freeze’s ability allows you to put a Stun Token on an opposing character card. That character does not need to be active in order to use his When Fielded ability on a character card.

Ruling – Stun Tokens

Stun Tokens prevent a character’s dice from attacking or blocking. If a character card has any number Stun Tokens on it, none of those character dice can attack or block.

A character card can have more than one Stun Token on it. Stun Tokens can be removed, but the owner of the character card must pay two generic energy each. Removing a Stun Token can be done at any time the player could use a Global.

Removing a Stun Token during the Attack Step must be done during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step, after the Assign Blockers portion. This means the character that just had all their Stun Tokens removed has missed the opportunity to block that same turn.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Mr. Freeze is a Bolt type character card.
~ He has the Villain affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #23 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Mr. Freeze’s ability.

Game State
~ I have a level one Mr. Freeze die and a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent does not have any character dice in the Field Zone.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Mr. Freeze’s fielding cost.
~ I then field Mr. Freeze’s die by moving it from the Reserve Pool to the Field Zone and his When Fielded ability triggers.
~ I choose any character card on my opponent’s team and place a Stun Token on that card.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Example Two:
Removing multiple Stun Tokens.

Game State
~ I have a level one character die in my Field Zone and that character’s card has two Stun Tokens on it.
~ I have two Bolt energy, one Mask energy, and one Fist energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ It’s the end of my opponent’s Main Step and they have passed me priority.
(Main Step)
~ I spend one Mask and one Fist energy, moving them to the Used Pile, to remove one of the Stun Tokens on my character’s card.
~ I spend my two Bolt energy, moving them to the Used Pile, to remove the second Stun Token from my character’s card.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

The more I read this card, the more I really like him. Using him with Parallax and Fabricate could be a great way to get multiple Stun Tokens on several character cards, forcing your opponent to waste precious resources to free up those characters. I really love the idea of Stun Tokens too, and I think it’s really silly that they can stack! It’s not over powered though because Mr. Freeze is a five cost character (the cheapest one too) and his fielding cost is one on all levels. It balances out a little and makes you work for those Stun Tokens, but if you can get a good flow going, you could lock down your opponent’s team and then attack with your Mr. Freeze dice for a chilling victory!

Yes, I went there.

How could I not when my favorite Mr. Freeze of all time is the Arnold Schwarzenegger?! I know… everyone hates him except for me, but I don’t care! I want an alt art Arnold Freeze card!

Arnold Freeze

Arnold aside – This Mr. Freeze card has lots of potential in Modern Age and casual play, but I think it may be just a bit too slow for Golden Age. I could be surprised though and someone could find a team build that works. As far as drafts go, this guy is ridiculous. I’ve not had the opportunity to use him, but I’ve seen him in action, and folks that use him have an easier time against those troublesome Red Hoods.

I have a Modern Age team build that I want to test with this particular version of Freeze, and I’m itching to try it. I’ve been too busy trying to make my Jessica Jones/Goliath/Proton Canon work and I need to move on to something else. I would totally recommend this card for other players to test in Modern Age and play around with in casual settings.

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Hawkgirl: Princess of Thanagar from the DC Batman set.

W Hawkgirl, Princess of Thanagar

Ruling – Ability

Hawkgirl has multiple parts to her ability. The first part of Hawkgirl’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

The second part of Hawkgirl’s ability will only apply to characters that are not Villains, and only when they attack. While Hawkgirl is active, when a non-Villain character die attacks (yours or your opponent’s), you may to spin that character die up one level.

This is an optional ability because it says may. This means you do not have to spin your opponent’s non-Villain character die up a level, but you could if you wanted to.

Hawkgirl does not have to attack for you to use her ability on other characters. So long as she’s active, and the attacking character is not a Villain, you can spin that die up one level. You can spin Hawkgirl dice up one level when they attack because her ability says non-Villain character dice, and she’s not a Villain.

If you can remove the Villain affiliation (Ra’s al Ghul Global), you must do so before you attack. Once the character is already assigned to attack, the window to use Hawkgirl’s ability has passed.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Hawkgirl is a Mask type character card.
~ She has the Justice League affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Rare and is #96 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
How Hawkgirl’s ability triggers.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one Krypto: Super Dog (2A/2D) die in the Field Zone.
~ It’s the beginning of my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and Krypto to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, I may spin each die up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and Krypto spins to level two (3A/3D).
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Example Two:
Removing the Villain affiliation before attacking.

Game State
~
I have one level two Hawkgirl die, one level two Conner Kent: Project Cadmus (3A/3D) dice, and one level one The Riddler: Prince of Puzzles (1A/5D) die in the Field Zone.
~ I also have one Mask energy in my Reserve Pool and Ra’s al Ghul: Mystery and Power is on my team, but he is not active.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I spend the Mask, moving it Out of Play, to pay for Ra’s al Ghul’s Global and target my Riddler die. His Villain affiliation is now gone until the end of turn.
~ I pass priority to my opponent and they do not use any Globals. They pass priority back and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign Conner Kent and The Riddler to attack, moving them into the Attack Zone.
~ Hawgirl’s ability will trigger and check both dice for the Villain affiliation. Since neither of them are Villains, they will each get to spin up one level. Conner Kent spins to level three (5A/5D) and The Riddler spins to level two (2A/6D).
~ The Riddler’s ability will also trigger and his attack and defense values are now swapped, making him a 6A and 2D.
~ The rest of the turn proceeds as normal.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find a relevant ruling that applies to the wording of Hawkgirl’s ability, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

What I wouldn’t have given to have this card with my Colossus during the WKO this year in Owensboro! Using her and Blink – Transmutation with Colossus is like a dream team, and that also makes room for a different BAC in place of Polymorph/Mutation. I love Mutation, but there were other BACs I could have used for that particular event.

In a draft, this card is a beast! Using her with Batgirl + Ace, Conner Kent, The Riddler or any other beefy attacker is great, but she is a rare. The chances of getting her are not high, but if you open her, take her and build around her!

For Modern Age, I think she has some potential, especially with the aggressive teams that are shaping the current meta. She’s definitely affordable at a cost of three, and she’s a Mask character which she should fit nicely on some of those more aggressive Mask Ring teams. Her TFC of two isn’t bad at all, and her attack and defense stats are about what you’d expect. She’s a really good card to consider for a competitive team.

I really like her for casual play too. She’s not too overpowered and she’s got stats that are appropriate. She also has the Justice League affiliation which means she can beef up those Golden Age JL teams!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Rip Hunter: Navigate the Sands of Time  from the DC Batman set.

Rip Hunter, Navigate the Sands of Time

 

Ruling – Ability

Rip Hunter’s ability is a While Active ability. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Rip Hunter’s ability can only be used once during your turn and only during the Clear and Draw Step. Rip Hunter must be active at the start of your turn to be able to use his ability that same turn. To use Rip Hunter’s ability, you draw dice for your Clear and Draw Step, and then you can send any number of those dice to the Used Pile and draw that many dice. You may choose any number of the dice you’ve drawn to go the Used Pile. You do not have to send them all.

The dice that you send to the Used Pile, go directly to the Used Pile and not Out of Play. This is because those dice have not entered the Reserve Pool.

If a card ability would allow you to draw extra dice during the Clear and Draw Step, you can use Rip Hunter’s ability for those dice as well. For example, if you have a Swarm trigger that allowed you to draw an extra die, for a total of five dice, you can send all five dice to the Used Pile and then draw five more dice using Rip Hunter’s ability. If any of those dice have the Swarm keyword and match an active character of the same name, you get to trigger Swarm again.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Rip Hunter is a Shield type character card.
~ He does not have any affiliation.
~ He has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #30 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Using Rip Hunter’s ability.

Game State
~
I have two Rip Hunter dice and a Sidekick die active. I have seven Sidekick dice and one Batman die in my bag.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I don’t have any dice to clear.
~ I draw four Sidekick dice.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability, sending three of my Sidekick dice to the Used Pile and I draw three more dice.
~ I draw two Sidekick dice and my Batman die.

Example Two:
Rip Hunter’s ability with Swarm.

Game State
~ I have one Multiple Man: Pile On! die, one Goblin: Lesser Humanoid die, and two Sidekick dice active in the Field Zone.
~ I have a Goblin, Multiple Man, and four Sidekick dice in my bag, and two Sidekick dice in my Use Pile.
~ It’s the beginning of my turn.
(Clear and Draw)
~ I draw four dice: one Multiple Man, one Goblin, two Sidekick dice.
~ I trigger the Swarm ability on Multiple Man and Goblin and draw two more dice: two Sidekicks.
~ I use Rip Hunter’s ability and send Multiple Man and Goblin to the Used Pile.
~ I now draw two more dice, but my bag is empty, so I refill it with the Used Pile (two Sidekicks, Multiple Man, and Goblin). I draw a Goblin and a Sidekick.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Goblin die, drawing one more die – Multiple Man.
~ I trigger Swarm on the Multiple Man die and draw my last die, which is a Sidekick.
(Roll and Reroll)
~ I roll all eight dice and proceed with the rest of my turn.

 

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

I will continue to stand by my opinion that the dice moved by Rip Hunter need to go Out of Play. I’ve seen Ultraman abuse this to devastating results, as well as Parademon Swarm Burn. However, I will never rule against anything that’s been officially ruled on by WORF and I completely understand the reasoning behind their ruling. I just think it’s absolutely silly.

That being said, Parademon’s Burning Swarm is a team that Mr. DDK and I have been discussing since before they officially ruled Rip Hunter. I really want to use Darkseid: Force of Entropy with Parademon: Strength in Numbers and a cheap Swarm dude, like Multiple Man: Pile On!, because that’s just too silly. Rip Hunter’s ability can make a team like that more lethal. I’ve already played against someone that’s headed that direction with their team anyway, and the Parademon with Goblin Swarm is bad enough.

Rip Hunter has his benefits outside of breaking things. He’s exceptionally handy in drafts and he makes for a great addition to many teams that are desperately missing their PXG Global. He’s obviously not as good as PXG, but it’s totally better than nothing! I’ve been using the Uncommon Rip Hunter with my New Gods, but I might have to swap him for this version, unless I can speed the team up some other way.

I think that Rip Hunter is a good card in the competitive scene, but he does cost four to purchase. It’s not too much, but it could be too slow to use against some teams. Be sure you’re not adding him to your team as a necessary purchase, because if you’re buying him, you’re not buying your win condition (unless he contributes to that win condition). Your team shouldn’t be relying on him to function. If you’re using the rare Dwarf Wizard, this is probably going to be the character you want to target, unless of course there is a much larger threat at the time. But using DWiz to slow their churn is a really good idea early in the game.

If you’re playing casual, he’s a great addition and I don’t think he should be overlooked. He could help some of those casual teams churn through their dice a little faster to get to the good stuff!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

I wanted to post the show notes here so everyone could see what we were referencing in the round table video. You can find that video, here.

 

Batman Round Table Show Notes

 

Segment One – General Stats (Aaron and North)
  1. Purchase Costs
    a. Commons (40)
    (2) 11     (3) 9     (4) 10     (5) 9     (6)
    b. Uncommons (40)
    (2) 5 (3) 10     (4) 14     (5) 6     (6) 5
    c. Rares (36)
    (1) 1 (2) 2     (3) 12     (4) 8     (5) 7     (6) 4     (7) 2
    d. Super Rares (8)
    (2) 5 (3) 10     (4) 14     (5) 6     (6) 5
  2. Energy Type Totals
    • Shield 10/10/8
    • Bolt 10/10/9
    • Fist 10/10/10
    • Mask 10/10/9
    • Crossover 4
    • Non-Crossover Super Rares – Two Shields, One Bolt, One Mask

3. Fielding Cost
(1) 11 (2) 6     (3) 6     (4) 10     (5) 2     (6) 1     NBA – 4
~ Catwoman and Robin have the same fielding costs of 0/0/2.

4. Character Stats
~ White Lantern Dove on level 3, she’s a 4/10, with a purchase of 4.
~ Conner Kent, cheap Team Superman character with good stats.

Segment Two – Cosmetics (Hannah)
  • Art
    • Batgirl – gorgeous
    • Batwoman – gorgeous
    • Classic art is great for a few cards, like The Riddler and Ace.
    • The Penguin – super creepy in a cool creepy way.
  • Foils
    • Catwoman – Diamonds
    • The Joker – Crazy Eyes
    • White Lantern Dove – gorgeous
    • Firefly – well done and very pretty
  • Dice
    • White Lantern dice are a different color from previous White Lantern dice, but the Black Lanterns are all the same.
    • Cool Dice – Batwoman, Mr. Freeze, Owlman, Dove, Utility Belt
Segment Three – Abilities and Globals (Jamie and North)
  • Jervis and his confusing wording.
  • Batwoman (u) and Ra’s Global (c) – Kat
  • Bat Signal (r) and The Riddler (r) – North
  • Red Hood (c) (for Hannah) and Rip Hunter (c) – Travis
  • Parademon (u) – Jamie
  • Darksied (sr) – North
Segment Four – Highlights (Aaron and Jamie)
  • The Flip mechanic is really fun in casual games and could be better than folks give it credit for in a more competitive setting.
  • Drafting – can be difficult if your plan goes awry, but it’s still really fun.
  • There are plenty of cheaper characters that have decent abilities, or just good stats, that can help existing affiliations.
  • The synergy between the character abilities in set is really good, and it blends well with already existing character abilities.
Card Scans

All of these cards were ones we talked about from the Batman set. These first two scans are not mine. I borrowed them from Google.

DarkseidTeh Riddler

These are my scans.

Ace the Bat Hound, Taking a Bite Out of CrimeBatgirl, Carrying the MantleCatwoman, Slippery Allegiance aCatwoman, Slippery Allegiance bConner Kent, Project CadmusFirefly, Ted Carson_0001Ra's al Ghul, Mystery and PowerRip Hunter, Navigate the Sands of TimeThe Penguin, Iceberg LoungeBatwoman, Code of Honor aBatwoman, Code of Honor bParademon, Strength in NumbersBat-Signal, Out of the DarknessZ The Joker, One Bad Day aZ The Joker, One Bad Day bZz White Lantern Dove, The Awareness to Live

Thanks for checking out the show notes and watching our second episode of DDK’s Round Table!

Roll on, Dice Masters!

 

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Dove: Danger!  from the DC Batman set.

Dove, Danger

 

Ruling – Ability

Dove has a special ability that does not require her to be active to use. Dove’s ability says that if she’s in your Used Pile and you take damage, you move her die to your Prep Area. Most of the abilities in the game require that the character be active to use their abilities, but her ability does not say While Active.

Dove’s ability is not optional. If you take damage, you must move Dove to your Prep Area.

Dove’s ability will trigger from any kind of damage, like ability or combat. Any ability or effect that makes you lose a life or pay life will not trigger her ability.

Ruling – Global

To use the Global on a card, you only need to pay the cost. The die does not need to be active to use the Global, unless it specifically says so.

Dove’s Global says that an attacking character die will get -1A when you pay a Shield. You can pay for her Global as many times as you have the energy to do so. Each time that you use her Global, the target attacking character die will get a -1 to their attack.

You do not have to target the same character die if you use her Global more than once.

You cannot use her Global during the Main Step, because there aren’t any attacking characters to target.   Her Global can only be used during the Actions and Globals portion of the Attack Step, and only to target an attacking character die. A character that is not attacking cannot be targeted.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Dove is a Shield type character card.
~ She has the Teen Titans affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Uncommon and is #53 of 124.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Dove’s ability used during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have one Dove die in my Used Pile and no character dice in the Field Zone.
~
My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns their Sidekick die to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I do not have any character dice to assign as blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any Actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Because the Sidekick is unblocked, it deals one damage to me and goes Out of Play.
~ Dove’s ability will trigger, allowing me to move her die from the Used Pile to the Prep Area.

Example Two:
Dove’s ability used during the Main Step.

Game State
~ I have one Dove die in my Used Pile, a Fist energy in my Reserve Pool, and Luke Cage: Bulletproof is on my opponent’s team.
~ It’s during my Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ I pay a Fist energy (placing it Out of Play) to use Luke Cage’s Global, dealing one damage to both players.
~ Dove’s ability triggers, allowing me to move her die from the Used Pile to the Prep Area.

Example Three:
Dove’s Global Timing.

Game State
~ I have a Sidekick in the Field Zone. I have Dove: Danger! on my team, but have not purchased any of her dice yet.
~ My opponent has a Sidekick in the Field Zone and a Shield energy in their Reserve Pool.
~ It’s my turn and we’re headed into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Sidekick to attack, moving it into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent assigns their Sidekick to block, moving it into the Attack Zone and placing it in front of my Sidekick.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I do not use any Actions or Globals.
~ My opponent spends their Shield energy (moving it to their Used Pile) to pay for Dove’s Global and targets my Sidekick. My Sidekick now has a -1 to its attack, making its attack a 0.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF)
You can find the official ruling, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

So, I’m brewing a new Teen Titans team and this is one of the Dove cards that I’m considering. I want to pair her with Hawk: Might Makes Right. My only concern in using this particular version of Dove is that my opponent can use her Global against me when I attack with Hawk. I’ve been thinking about adding Raven: Azrath, Metrion, Zinthos! to the team to protect my Teen Titans from Dove’s Global, but I’m not completely sure if want another character that I need to purchase on the team. Using this Dove won’t backfire on me that much though, because my main damage is done during the Main Step – with Hawk’s ability. I use Dove and a Sidekick to Fabricate a Golem and because Dove is KO’d for the Fabricate ability, Hawk’s ability triggers. Dove’s Global is only usable during the Attack Step, and even if it wasn’t, my opponent would still have to wait for me to pass them priority.

I’m just so torn between this Dove and the rare version of her. I like being able to spin her up, but I think I like being able to move her from my Used Pile to my Prep Area better. That makes my opponent think a little harder about swinging with a Sidekick while I have Dove in my Used Pile.

I’m also thinking about ways to utilize her ability that won’t necessarily be accessible to my opponent. For example, Luke Cage is not the character I want to use. I don’t want my opponent having access to a Global like that. I’ve thought about Rocket Raccoon: Not a Raccoon. I think he might be more useful and help me control when I trigger her ability without giving my opponent full access to a burn Global.

I like this Dove and the more I think about it, the more I like her. I don’t think she’ll see much play in the major competitive metas, but for casual play, she’s definitely a great Teen Titan to consider. I can’t wait to finish brewing this team and put it together!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

 

For this week’s confusing card of the week article, we’re going to take a look at Jessica Jones: Ladies’ Night  from the Marvel Defenders Team Pack.

17 Jessica Jones, Ladies' Night

Ruling – Ability

Although her ability doesn’t say it, it acts as a While Active ability. You can find that ruling here. A While Active ability is one that works regardless of how many of the character’s dice are in the Field Zone. While Active abilities are like a light – it’s either on, or it’s off.

while-active-light

Jessica Jones says that whenever one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, she will get +1A and +1D. Her ability is not limited to opposing Globals and character abilities. If you target one of your own character dice, including a Jessica Jones die, her ability will trigger. Her ability does not target, so she would not get additional bonuses from her ability triggering.

Her ability will trigger each time one of your character dice are targeted by a Global or character ability, and not just once in a turn.

When Jessica Jones’s ability is triggered, it will apply to each of her dice that are active at the time it was triggered.

Action dice abilities can affect Jessica Jones and characters friendly to her without triggering her ability. Targeting her, or a character friendly to her, with a Global on an Action card will trigger her ability.

Miscellaneous Card Information

~ Jessica Jones is a Fist type character card.
~ She has the Defenders affiliation.
~ She has a max dice of four.
~ This card is a Common and is #17 of 24.

Examples

These examples are for information purposes only, to show what would happen in certain scenarios. I am not suggesting that these examples are the best outcomes for each scenario and each example only features relevant parts of the turn, not the entire turn.

Example One:
Jessica Jones and a friendly character targeted during my opponent’s Main Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone.
~ My opponent has a level one Shredder: Dining on Turtle Soup in their Reserve Pool and two Bolt energy.
~ It’s during their Main Step.
(Main Step)
~ My opponent pays one energy, sending it Out of Play, to field Shredder.
~ They use Shredder’s ability and target my Sidekick, which is now KO’d and placed in the Prep Area and I lose one life.
~ Because a character die I control was targeted by a character ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My opponent spends their last Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, for the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card. They target my Jessica Jones die.
~ My Jessica Jones die takes one damage from the Global ability, but because a character die that I control was targeted by a Global ability, Jessica Jones gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +2A/+2D, making her attack an 8 and her defense a 5. But because that die has taken one damage this turn, she can only take 4 more damage before she’s KO’d.
~ My opponent passes priority to me, but I choose to not use any Globals. I return priority and we move into the Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ My opponent assigns Shredder to attack, moving his die to the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ I assign Jessica Jones to block Shredder, moving her die to the Attack Zone in front of Shredder.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
~ I do not use any Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Shredder assigns his four damage to Jessica Jones’s remaining defense of four.
~ Jessica Jones assigns her eight damage to Shredder’s defense of four.
~ Both characters are KO’d.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Example Two:
Jessica Jones die targeted during the Attack Step.

Game State
~
I have a level three Jessica Jones die and a Sidekick die in the Field Zone. I also have one Fist energy and one Bolt energy in my Reserve Pool.
~ My opponent doesn’t have any characters in the Field Zone and no energy in the Reserve Pool.
~ None of my characters stats have been altered.
~ We’re moving into my Attack Step.
(Attack Step – Assign Attackers)
~ I assign my Jessica Jones die and my Sidekick die to attack, moving both of them into the Attack Zone.
(Attack Step – Assign Blockers)
~ My opponent does not assign any blockers.
(Attack Step – Actions and Globals)
~ I spend one Bolt energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my Unstable Canister Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones takes one damage and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ I spend my Fist energy, moving it Out of Play, to use the Global on my opponent’s Haymaker Basic Action Card and target my Jessica Jones die.
~ Jessica Jones gets a +1A from the Haymaker Global and her ability triggers because one of my character dice was the target of a Global ability. My Jessica Jones die gets a +1A/+1D.
~ My Jessica Jones die now has a +3A/+2D making her attack a 9 and her defense a 5.
~ My opponent does not use any actions or Globals.
(Attack Step – Assign and Resolve Damage)
~ Both of my character dice are unblocked. They each deal their attack directly to my opponent.
~ My opponent is dealt 10 damage and both of my character dice are immediately placed Out of Play.
(Clean Up Step)
~ Character dice that were KO’d during the Assign and Resolve Damage portion of the Attack Step are moved to the Prep Area.
~ All dice Out of Play are moved to the Used Pile.
~ All damage on character dice is cleared.
~ All effects end unless otherwise stated.

Official Sources

WizKids Official Rules Forum (WORF) does not have an official ruling for this specific card.

Ruling about abilities that need the character to be active, but the card doesn’t say While Active, here.

Basic Information

You can find more info about specific Keywords on the WizKids Keywords page.

Turn Order Summary Reference

turn-order

Opinion and Strategy

Out of all the cards in the Defenders Team Pack, this Jessica Jones and Iron Fist: Holding Back the Storm are the only cards I like. I went straight for Iron Fist instead of test playing Jessica Jones because I loved his ability. But after playing with him a little and trying to make him work, I think Jessica Jones is the route I need to go.

When playing a card like this, you want to bring Globals that tempt your opponent into using them on your dudes, like Unstable Canister. They can target Jessica Jones as much as they want, but unless they have some other way to deal her damage, she won’t get KO’d by Canister Global strikes alone. Using Haymaker isn’t a bad idea either – or Goliath if you want to use a different Basic Action besides Haymaker. You don’t have to rely on your opponent to use Globals/character abilities on your characters. You could just pump her up on your own and then give her Overcrush for those potential blockers. You could make her unblockable with an ability like the on Silver Sable: Hero for Hire. And because it targets, it buffs her stats too.

For the competitive scenes, I think she might fall just short of being a top tier card. It’s not her purchase cost that’s the issue – I think it’s very reasonable for her ability and stats. There is way too many Cold Guns out there that can take her out. Her ability doesn’t trigger off of Action abilities, just Globals and character abilities. But even if it did trigger off of Action abilities, a Cold Gun shuts her down before she attacks. You would need to put pressure on your opponent with multiple Jessica Jones dice, which can be difficult since she cost five to purchase.

I don’t think she’s too overpowered on her own for a casual setting, but I would be mindful of what your other locals are playing.

I like this card and I think she’s probably the best card in the Team Pack. I can’t wait to give her a go this week! I might even pair her with some of this crazy new Batman stuff. And just because I don’t think she’s good enough for meta competitive play, doesn’t mean I won’t try her!

Opinions on this card? Leave a comment!
Is there a card your confused on?

Is there a combo that seems too good to be true?
Leave me a comment here or message me on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

Special thanks to The Reserve Pool for the use of their site.

Roll on, Dice Masters!

Greetings Fellow Dice Fans!

I’ve been super excited about drafting this new Batman set and I was not disappointed.

You can check out our featured matches from this event on my YouTube channel, Dice Dice Kitty.

You can find the videos for the featured matches in the May 27, 2017 Batman Dice Masters Draft playlist. The footage from round one was somehow corrupted by my editing software.

I did a live stream on my Facebook page of my draft picks. You can find the video, here.

My Team

MyBatmanDraftTeam1

I started with what I thought was solid strategy, but ended up having to change it after seeing the spread of dice on the table. I never intended to draft any Parademon cards, but I opened a total of three! I got the uncommon in the first pile of packs and two commons in the second pile. I knew I could guarantee myself two Parademon dice and I didn’t want to let someone else grab them.

I really wanted to try the common Batgirl. I thought she might be decent for a draft, but I forgot all about grabbing another Batman Family character. I waited way too late in the draft picks to start grabbing Ace cards, leaving me with fewer dice than I liked. I’m glad I got at least two dice for Ace because I didn’t want to rely on the Trusted Friend Global to make Batman Family characters.

I really wanted to get more Red Hood dice, but there were only three total. I couldn’t let him get slide by me because someone would certainly take him. Even if I wasn’t going to use him, I didn’t want him used against me – especially if the other Red Hood cards weren’t commons. There was only one Rip Hunter in our five person pod, so when I saw the opportunity to take him, I did. Hawk, Firefly, and Two-Face’s Coin were all picked because I wanted to try them or I didn’t want someone else to have too many of those dice.

I only used Rip Hunter’s ability twice in the entire event, but I like him for drafts. He’s a great way to speed up a team – you just need to buy him and use him. I never bought him in my first match, forgot about his ability almost every turn in my second match, and never fielded him in my third match. I only used Firefly and Two-Face’s coin one time each and only bought them in my second match.

For my Basic Action Cards, I chose Cloudkill and Haymaker. I knew I would need a way to help my Batgirl and Ace dice get past any defenses my opponent had and the Haymaker Global would help boost their attacks.

Round One

In my first match, Batgirl and Ace were definitely my MVPs. I was a little worried when I saw Catwoman (Common), Batgirl (Common), and Nightwing (Rare) all on the same team across the table from me. That’s a ton of cheap characters with mostly decent stats for a draft. I purchased both Ace dice and all three of my Batgirl dice in hopes of racing my opponent. I purchased a Cloudkill as well to help my chances of getting those characters through. Parademon actually came in handy a few times, giving me that one extra die a few times. My opponent would blast him out of the Field when she had a chance to keep me from getting the full benefit from him.

Round Two

My opponent was using the common Rip Hunter with Unstable Canister, in hopes of taking his opponents out with direct damage. If he had rolled his Canisters on Action faces every time he rolled them, I would have lost the match really, really fast. I got extremely lucky in that he only rolled them a third of the time.

Hawk helped me win my second match before he burned me down. His seven attack on level three with the addition of attack boosters is just nasty when your opponent can’t block. Hawk softened up my opponent and then I went in for lethal damage with a field of Batgirl and Ace dice.

Round Three

In round three, I lost rather quickly to the uncommon Hawkgirl (spins up a level when a Sidekick attacks) and common Ace the Bat Hound (Ally) combo. My opponent used the Globals on his Invulnerability and Anger Issues to increase their attack stats and deal lots of damage, rather quickly. I made the mistake of going for Rip Hunter first when I should have been going for Batgirl and my Ace. I didn’t have time to fix it before he got lethal damage in.

Final Thoughts

I ended the night with a record of 2-1-0, which is not bad at all. My Strength of Schedule (SOS), or tiebreakers as they’re often called, boosted me to second place. My only loss was to Joey, who took first place. His Hawkgirl and Ace combo was just too fast to deal with!

While I was drafting, I was looking at the cards and trying to decide if I wanted a card to use it, or wanted it so someone else couldn’t use it against me. This set is a really good draft set. It forces players to make difficult decisions on the fly, without having all the information they want.

“Do I take this character with beefy stats, or do I take the character with weaker stats but decent ability and try to build off of it?”

“This card has a really good ability but doesn’t go with my current strategy. Do I pass it to someone else that can potentially use it against me, or do I take it just so they can’t?”

“I don’t see anymore cards for my current strategy and we’re almost done with the first pack. Can I afford to swap to something else?”

“I really want this rare/foil for my set, but I think I could use this common that I already have ten of. Which do I take?”

In the gravity feed that Mr. DDK and I opened, we actually pulled a foil rare Big Barda. I really wanted to draft the foil rare Big Barda that I saw, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. She could have been a great addition instead of Two-Face’s Coin. I just couldn’t take her. If you watch the draft video, I think it shows where I almost take her, but I chose a different card. I didn’t think it would be fair to the other players to take a card I knew I wouldn’t need for my collection even though I fully intended on using her for my draft team. Even though she would have been better for my team, she wouldn’t have changed the outcome of the one match I lost.

I will sometimes draft for my collection (rare/foil-drafting) and sometimes I draft to win. I don’t have any issues with other players rare-drafting or foil-drafting, even if that’s what I’m doing in the same pod. In this particular draft, I wanted to win because there were additional packs as prizes and I wanted to win some of those!

The feedback I got from all the players in our draft was that they love the set for all levels of play and they all had a lot of fun drafting. I can easily echo their feedback. I’m really digging this set and I can’t wait to draft it more!

How do you draft – Aggro, Control, etc?
Do you like to draft to win, or draft to collect?
Leave me a comment here or on Facebook at Dice Dice Kitty and thanks for reading!

You can find videos from this event and many other events on my YouTube channel.

Roll on, Dice Masters!